Opinion

David Byron Fugler & Cindy Diane Fugler

Court
United States Tax Court
Filed
Nov 17, 2025
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Carluzzo
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 37.0%

The opinion

United States Tax Court

T.C. Summary Opinion 2025-10

DAVID BYRON FUGLER AND CINDY DIANE FUGLER,

Petitioners

v.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent

—————

Docket No. 27150-21S. Filed November 17, 2025.

—————

David B. Fugler and Cindy D. Fugler, pro sese.

Peter N. Tran, Jeffrey Phillips, and Yvette Nunez, for respondent.

SUMMARY OPINION

CARLUZZO, Special Trial Judge: This case was heard pursuant

to the provisions of section 7463 1 of the Internal Revenue Code in effect

when the Petition was filed. Pursuant to section 7463(b), the decision

to be entered is not reviewable by any other court, and this Opinion shall

not be treated as precedent for any other case.

In a Notice of Deficiency (Notice) dated May 24, 2021, respondent

determined a deficiency in petitioners’ 2018 federal income tax and a

section 6662(a) accuracy-related penalty for that year.

1 Unless otherwise indicated, statutory references are to the Internal Revenue

Code, Title 26 U.S.C. (I.R.C.), in effect at all relevant times, and Rule references are to

the Tax Court Rules of Practice and Procedure.

Served 11/17/25

2

Background

Some of the facts have been stipulated and are so found. When

the Petition was filed, petitioners lived in Texas. David Fugler

(petitioner) is an attorney with more than 25 years of experience.

Petitioners are married to each other and have several children.

They timely filed a joint 2018 federal income tax return. As relevant

here, there is no income from Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Co.

(Mass Mutual) reported on that return.

On December 14, 1987, petitioner applied for and purchased a

whole life insurance policy from Mass Mutual insuring one of

petitioners’ children. On that date, Mass Mutual issued Policy No. 1 2

with a face amount of $16,394 with respect to that child. Petitioner was

the owner and beneficiary of Policy No. 1. He paid $2,500 for Policy

No. 1, of which $150 was the cost of the initial premium and $2,350 was

the cost of the Additional Life Insurance Rider. Annual premiums of

$150 were payable to Mass Mutual for Policy No. 1 until the child’s 65th

birthday or to the date of the child’s death, whichever occurred first.

Also in December 1987, petitioner applied for and purchased a

whole life insurance policy from Mass Mutual insuring another one of

his children. On December 28, 1987, Mass Mutual Issued Policy No. 2

with a face amount of $18,692 with respect to that child. Petitioner was

the owner and beneficiary of Policy No. 2. He paid $2,500 for Policy

No. 2, of which $150 was the cost of the initial premium and $2,350 was

the cost of the Additional Life Insurance Rider. Annual premiums of

$150 were payable to Mass Mutual for Policy No. 2 until that child

attained age 65 or to the date of the child’s death, whichever occurred

first.

From 1988 through 2006, petitioner paid $150 in annual

premiums for each policy.

Policy Nos. 1 and 2 allowed for borrowing against each policy for

a maximum amount equal to the policy’s cash surrender value. Interest

was chargeable on the loans and payable on the policies’ annual

anniversary date; loans were subject to a flexible interest rate charge

2 We use Policy No. 1 and Policy No. 2 to refer to the policies in this Opinion.

Those are not the actual numbers of the policies.

3

not to exceed 8% per year. Any unpaid interest was added to the loan

balance and subject to interest at the rate payable on the loan.

On August 29, 2006, petitioner borrowed $10,500 from Policy

No. 1 and $11,000 from Policy No. 2.

From 2007 through 2016, 3 petitioner did not pay annual

premiums on either of the policies out of his own pocket. Instead he

borrowed from Policy Nos. 1 and 2 to cover the annual premiums for the

policies. Interest on the borrowed premiums was added to the loan

balance on each policy.

On February 14, 2018, the policies had the following loan

balances:

Policy No. 1 Policy No. 2

Initial Loan (2006) $10,500 $11,000

Premiums Paid by Loan 1,500 1,500

(2006–17)

Capitalized Interest 7,125 7,448

(2006–16)

Uncapitalized Interest 720 751

(2017)

Total Loan Balance $19,845 $20,699

(2018)

Policy Nos. 1 and 2 could be surrendered for their cash surrender

values at any time before the insureds’ death. The cash surrender

values of the policies increased over time as accumulated dividends built

up within the policies but were reduced by the amounts of outstanding

policy debt set out in the table above.

In January 2018 petitioner notified Mass Mutual of his intent to

terminate both policies. On January 18, 2018, Mass Mutual

acknowledged petitioner’s decision and requested that he submit

surrender forms to finalize the terminations. Mass Mutual further

3 In 2016 the 2017 premium for the policies was paid via loan.

4

advised petitioner that surrendering the policies could result in taxable

income.

On or about January 29, 2018, petitioner sent Mass Mutual the

necessary surrender forms for both policies. Mass Mutual processed the

forms and terminated the policies on February 14, 2018. It also issued

two checks to petitioner, one for $3,033, representing the cash surrender

value of Policy No. 1, and the other for $2,729, representing the cash

surrender value of Policy No. 2.

Mass Mutual issued Form 1099–R, Distributions From Pensions,

Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance

Contracts, etc., for each policy. The Forms 1099–R show the following:

Policy No. 1 Policy No. 2

Gross distribution $22,878 $23,428

Taxable Amount 16,028 16,578

Insurance Premiums 6,850 6,850

For Policy No. 1, the gross distribution of $22,878 represents the

$3,033 cash paid to petitioner plus the $19,845 outstanding policy loan

balance. For Policy No. 2, the gross distribution of $23,428 represents

the $2,729 cash paid to petitioner plus the $20,699 outstanding policy

loan balance.

The taxable amount for each policy is the gross distribution

reduced by the $6,850 of policy premiums paid (or deemed paid for the

policy via loan).

In the Notice respondent increased petitioners’ income by the

taxable amounts shown in the Forms 1099–R, which income was not

included on petitioners’ return. Other adjustments/determinations

made in the Notice have been resolved between the parties or are

computational and will not be discussed further. Respondent now

concedes that petitioner Cindy Diane Fugler is entitled to relief under

the provisions of section 6015(b) for any income tax liability resulting

from determinations made in the Notice.

The issues for decision are whether (1) distributions from Policy

Nos. 1 and 2 are includible in petitioners’ 2018 income, (2) petitioners

are entitled to a deduction for interest expenses paid on policy loans on

5

those life insurance policies, and (3) petitioner is entitled to equitable

relief under section 6015(f).

Discussion

The Commissioner’s determinations in a Notice of Deficiency are

generally presumed correct, and the taxpayer bears the burden of proof

to establish error. Rule 142(a); Welch v. Helvering, 290 U.S. 111, 115

(1933). Petitioners do not argue that respondent bears any burden of

proof with respect to the issues before us, and we find that he does not.

Section 61(a) defines gross income to include income “from

whatever source derived,” including “[i]ncome from life insurance and

endowment contracts.” I.R.C. § 61(a)(9). Section 72(a)(1) further

provides that gross income includes any amount received under an

annuity, endowment, or life insurance contract. Amounts received from

a nonannuity life insurance contract are included in gross income to the

extent that those amounts exceed the investment in the contract. See

I.R.C. § 72(e)(1)(A), (3).

A loan against a life insurance policy’s cash value (a policy loan)

is a loan from the insurance company to the policyholder. See Brown v.

Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2011-83, 101 T.C.M. (CCH) 1374, 1376, aff’d,

693 F.3d 765 (7th Cir. 2012). Because policy loans are treated as loans,

they are not taxable distributions to the distributee when the funds are

received. See Minnis v. Commissioner, 71 T.C. 1049, 1057 (1979);

Mallory v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2016-110, at *8–9.

A taxpayer constructively receives proceeds from a terminated

life insurance policy to the extent that existing policy loans are satisfied

with the policy’s available proceeds. See Mallory, T.C. Memo. 2016-110,

at *9–10.

In 2006 petitioners took out loans against Policy Nos. 1 and 2, and

received the loan amounts of $10,500 and $11,000, respectively. When

petitioner terminated the policies on February 14, 2018, petitioners

constructively received proceeds in the amount of the outstanding policy

loan balances (which were completely satisfied) in addition to receiving

a check for the remaining balance of each policy.

The proceeds that petitioners actually received (the checks) as

well as the proceeds that petitioners constructively received (the

amounts used to satisfy the outstanding policy loan balances) represent

taxable income to petitioners in 2018 to the extent that the proceeds

6

exceeded the premiums paid. See I.R.C. § 61(a)(9), (11); see also Mallory,

T.C. Memo. 2016-110, at *9–10.

In addition to their unclear reasons why the above analysis,

which is consistent with respondent’s position, is erroneous, petitioners

also argue that if the termination of the loans resulted in taxable

income, the income is includible for 2017, not 2018. As petitioners view

the matter, the “effective date” provision in the policies shows that the

termination of the policies was deemed to be effective in 2017. 4 The

policies were terminated on February 14, 2018, and the loan balances

were paid off and checks were cut on that day. Because petitioners

requested termination of the policies in January 2018 and received the

proceeds in February 2018, the resultant income from the terminations

is includible in their 2018 income (regardless of their method of

accounting). See I.R.C. § 451(b)(1)(C).

Next we consider petitioners’ claim for an interest expense

deduction made after the Notice was issued. We begin by noting, as we

have done in opinions too numerous to count, that deductions are

matters of legislative grace, and the burden is on the taxpayer to clearly

show the right to the claimed deduction. See Rule 142(a); INDOPCO,

Inc. v. Commissioner, 503 U.S. 79, 84 (1992).

According to petitioners, the proceeds of the policy loans were

used in connection with petitioner’s trade or business of mining and

logging. According to respondent, the interest is properly treated as

nondeductible personal interest.

Section 163(a) provides a general rule that “[t]here shall be

allowed as a deduction all interest paid or accrued within the taxable

year on indebtedness.” However, section 163(h) disallows a deduction

for personal interest paid or accrued during the taxable year.

Section 163(h)(2) defines personal interest as any interest other than

4 Although petitioners’ method of accounting has not been expressly addressed,

they have not shown that the terms of the contracts, which made the “effective date”

of the surrender December 2017, would make the income received from the policies

attributable to 2017 under any method of accounting. The “effective date” provision

might be important for certain terms of the policies between petitioner and Mass

Mutual, but petitioners have failed to show that the “effective date” provision affects

the timing of the income at issue in this case.

7

(A) interest paid or accrued on indebtedness

properly allocable to a trade or business (other than the

trade or business of performing services as an employee),

(B) any investment interest (within the meaning of

subsection (d)),

(C) any interest which is taken into account under

section 469 in computing income or loss from a passive

activity of the taxpayer,

(D) any qualified residence interest (within the

meaning of paragraph (3)),

(E) any interest payable under section 6601 on any

unpaid portion of the tax imposed by section 2001 for the

period during which an extension of time for payment of

such tax is in effect under section 6163, and

(F) any interest allowable as a deduction under

section 221 (relating to interest on educational loans).

While we agree with petitioners that interest “paid or accrued on

indebtedness properly allocable to a trade or business” is not treated as

personal interest, other than petitioner’s vague testimony on the point,

they have offered no evidence to show (1) that petitioner was engaged in

a mining and logging trade or business during 2018, or if so, (2) that the

loan proceeds were actually used in any such trade or business.

Petitioners have failed to show that interest paid on the policy

loans is other than personal interest, and their claim for such a

deduction is rejected.

Lastly we consider petitioners claim that petitioner is entitled to

section 6015(f) equitable relief from any income liability resulting from

the termination of the loan polices. As noted, respondent now concedes

that Cindy Diane Fugler is entitled to section 6015(b) relief from any

liability resulting from determinations made in the Notice, and

petitioners do not challenge that concession. Nevertheless, petitioners

argue that the Court has the authority to grant petitioner relief from the

federal income tax consequences resulting from the termination of the

life insurance loans. We disagree.

Aside from petitioners’ failure to show that any of the factors that

are taken into account in deciding whether a spouse is entitled to section

6015(f) relief apply to petitioner, it would seem to offend common sense

to allow both spouses section 6015 relief with respect to the same income

tax liability. As we have previously noted, section 6015 relief is

8

generally available to only one spouse for a single tax year, see Abelein

v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2004-274, 88 T.C.M. (CCH) 549, 559 (“The

purpose of section 6015 is to protect one spouse from the overreaching

or dishonesty of the other spouse.”), and in this case it is not petitioner.

To reflect the foregoing,

Decision will be entered under Rule 155.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.