Opinion

State ex rel. Corona v. Indus. Comm.

  • 81 Ohio St. 3d 587
  • 1998 Ohio 605
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
May 6, 1998
Status
Published
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 47.7%

The opinion

[This opinion has been published in Ohio Official Reports at 81 Ohio St.3d 587.]

THE STATE EX REL. CORONA, APPELLEE, v. INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION OF OHIO

ET AL., APPELLANTS.

[Cite as State ex rel. Corona v. Indus. Comm., 1998-Ohio-605.]

Workers’ compensation—Industrial Commission’s order denying application for

permanent total disability compensation does not satisfy requirements of

Noll and is returned for further consideration and amended order, when.

(No. 95-1539—Submitted March 3, 1998—Decided May 6, 1998.)

APPEAL from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No. 94APD06-813.

__________________

{¶ 1} Appellee-claimant, Gennaro Corona, was injured in the course of and

arising from his employment with Pioneer Contracting Corporation. His workers’

compensation claims have collectively been allowed for “contusion to lumbar spine

with secondary muscular spasms; dysthymic disorder; deep laceration right hand,

laceration chest.”

{¶ 2} In 1991, he moved appellant Industrial Commission of Ohio for

permanent total disability compensation. He accompanied his application with the

report of Ralph J. Siegenthaler, D.C., who certified claimant’s inability to work.

Commission specialist Dr. W. Jerry McCloud found claimant to lack objective

lumbar symptoms other than a loss of flexion. He restricted claimant from

repetitive bending and lifting in excess of fifty pounds. Claimant’s permanent

partial impairment from his laceration was set at five percent.

{¶ 3} Commission specialist Dr. Donald L. Brown evaluated claimant’s

psychiatric condition. Dr. Brown found “only a very mild indication of

depression.” He nevertheless assessed a twenty-five to twenty-eight percent

permanent partial impairment, which he felt would not impede claimant’s

employment or rehabilitation.

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

{¶ 4} Combined-effects reviews from Drs. Paul H. Dillahunt and J.J. Fierra

assessed permanent partial impairments of sixty percent and eighty-five percent,

respectively. Dr. Fierra felt that claimant was incapable of sustained remunerative

employment.

{¶ 5} Claimant also submitted a vocational report from William L. Fink.

Dr. Fink felt that Dr. Dillahunt’s assessment coupled with claimant’s nonmedical

factors precluded work.

{¶ 6} The commission denied permanent total disability compensation,

writing:

“The findings and order are based particularly on the medical reports of

Dr(s). McCloud, J.Q. Brown, D.L. Brown and Dillahunt, the evidence in the file

and the evidence at hearing.

“This 54 year old claimant has two active workers’ compensation claims.

Treatment in both of these claims has been conservative. It is also noted that the

claimant worked for 7 and 8 years after the industrial injuries and quit for some

reason at the age of 46. Medical evidence on file reveals the claimant’s physical

presentation permits him to engage in light duty work activity. W. Jerry McCloud,

M.D., orthopedic specialist, indicated his only positive physical finding was a loss

of forward flexion. He placed a restriction of no repetitive bending and lifting of

objects over 50 pounds. John Q. Brown, M.D., orthopedic specialist, concluded

the claimant is capable of performing light work. These opinions of ability to

perform light work and lift up to 50 pounds by two examining orthopedic specialists

are found to be more persuasive than the restrictions indicated by Dr. Dillahunt.

From a psychiatric perspective, D.L. Brown, M.D., psychiatrist, indicated the

psychiatric impairment is not work prohibitive. Dr. D.L. Brown recommended

rehabilitation to light or sedentary work activity. Therefore, the Commission finds

the medical evidence supports the conclusion that the claimant is capable of light

duty work activity.

2

January Term, 1998

“A review of the claimant’s vocational presentation leads the Commission

to conclude that the claimant does possess the requisite skills to perform light duty

work activity. While it is noted that the claimant’s work history has existed

primarily as a heavy construction laborer, the Commission finds that with a 5th

grade education and at 54 years old[,] the claimant would be capable of adjusting

to reduced capacity employment. The claimant attended school through the 5th

grade in Italy. He has demonstrated the ability to learn a new language (English)

and learn to operate construction equipment including an air hammer. The

Commission finds the claimant will be capable of undertaking an on-the-job

training program to enable him to return to the active work force in a light duty

capacity. Supportive of this is the fact that the claimant is 54 years of age and has

at least 11 years of industrial life remaining and the positive recommendation for

rehabilitation by D.L. Brown, M.D. Accordingly, the Commission finds the

evidence to relate that the claimant possesses the ability to adapt to and perform

light duty levels of employment such that the claimant is capable of engaging in

sustained remunerative employment. Therefore, the instant application for

permanent total disability is denied.”

{¶ 7} Claimant filed a complaint in mandamus in Court of Appeals for

Franklin County, alleging that the commission abused its discretion in denying him

permanent total disability compensation. The court of appeals ruled that the

commission’s order did not satisfy State ex rel. Noll v. Indus. Comm. (1991), 57

Ohio St.3d 203, 567 N.E.2d 245, and returned the cause for further consideration

and amended order.

{¶ 8} This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of right.

__________________

Gibson, Brelo, Ziccarelli & Martello and Robert A. Boyd, for appellee.

Betty D. Montgomery, Attorney General, and Jeffrey B. Duber, Assistant

Attorney General, for appellants.

3

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

__________________

Per Curiam.

{¶ 9} Absent a medical inability by claimant to do any sustained

remunerative work, the commission in determining permanent total disability must

consider two components—medical and nonmedical. State ex rel. Lawrence v. Am.

Lubricants Co. (1988), 40 Ohio St.3d 321, 533 N.E.2d 344. A clear indication by

the commission of the residual medical capacities it believes the claimant to possess

is vital to a nonmedical review, for it is within this framework that vocational

factors are analyzed. The lack of a high school diploma may be far less significant

to a claimant who is still capable of physical labor than to a claimant who is now

limited to desk work.

{¶ 10} It is within this context that a Noll “remand” may be justified. The

commission in this case expressly accepted two medical conclusions: (1) that

claimant was limited to light work and (2) that claimant could lift up to fifty pounds.

However, these findings are inconsistent. If claimant can lift up to fifty pounds, he

is capable of more than light work. He would be excluded only from heavy labor—

sedentary, light, and medium work would be within his abilities.

{¶ 11} It is critical that the commission clarify its position in this case, given

claimant’s nonmedical profile. Claimant has limited education and a work history

of physical labor. If claimant can do all but the heaviest work, then his background

may be a minimal impediment to a return to work. If claimant is limited to light

work, however, then his background might preclude employment.

{¶ 12} The judgment of the court of appeals is affirmed, and the cause is

returned to the commission for further consideration and amended order.

Judgment affirmed.

MOYER, C.J., DOUGLAS, RESNICK, F.E. SWEENEY, PFEIFER, COOK and

LUNDBERG STRATTON, JJ., concur.

__________________

4

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.