Opinion

State ex rel. Bradley v. Indus. Comm.

  • 77 Ohio St. 3d 239
  • 1997 Ohio 48
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Jan 15, 1997
Status
Published
On the bench
Cook, J.
Cited by
15 cases
Authority
More cited than 71.5%

The opinion

[This opinion has been published in Ohio Official Reports at 77 Ohio St.3d 239.]

THE STATE EX REL. BRADLEY, APPELLEE, V. INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION OF

OHIO, APPELLANT, ET AL.

[Cite as State ex rel. Bradley v. Indus. Comm., 1997-Ohio-48.]

Workers’ compensation—Industrial Commission’s denial of application for

temporary total disability compensation not an abuse of discretion when

there is evidence in the record to support the commission’s stated basis

for its decision.

(No. 94-2680—Submitted November 12, 1996—Decided January 15, 1997.)

APPEAL from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No. 93AP-1019.

__________________

{¶ 1} Appellee-claimant, Carolyn H. Bradley, was injured in November

1989 in the course of and arising from her employment with Kellermeyer Building

Services, Inc. Appellant, Industrial Commission of Ohio, allowed appellee’s

workers’ compensation claim for “twisted right knee, strain low back, tear of lateral

& medial meniscus of the right knee & patellar chondromalacia of the right knee.”

{¶ 2} Nearly two years after being injured, appellee underwent surgery. In

an “operative report” prepared at the time of the surgery, Clark N. Hopson, M.D.,

claimant’s surgeon, set forth a preoperative diagnosis of “Bone tumor, right

proximal tibia[;] Chronic right knee pain” and a postoperative diagnosis of

“Chronic right knee pain secondary to hypertrophic medial synovial plica[;] Bone

tumor right proximal tibia—pathology pending.” Dr. Hopson also noted in the

operative report that a preoperative MRI taken of appellee’s knee was “suggestive

of a brown cell tumor or Brodie’s abscess. Because of persistent knee pain and

findings on bone scan and MRI she was brought to the operating room for the above

procedure.”

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

{¶ 3} Following the surgery, appellee filed with the commission a C-84

“Physician’s Report Supplemental” claim for temporary total disability

compensation (“TTD”) in which Dr. Hopson certified appellee as temporarily

totally disabled beginning on September 10, 1991, the date of surgery, to an

estimated return-to-work date of December 9, 1991. Dr. Hopson noted in the claim

that appellee’s “present complaints and condition(s)” were “Chondromalacia

Patella (R)Knee, Hypertrophic Medial Synovial Plica, Bone tumor (R)proximal

tibia.”

{¶ 4} In response to appellee’s claim for TTD, Dr. Chavez prepared a report

for the commission captioned “Physician Review Sheet,” in which he stated that

“Based on data in the file, there is no indication that the resected tibial tumor is

related to the claim.”

{¶ 5} A district hearing officer denied appellee’s claim for TTD, finding

that “claimant was disabled due to unrecognized conditions. The medical evidence

does not indicate claimant was disabled due to the recognized condition of this

claim.” The order stated that the decision was based on the reports of Drs. Hopson

and Chavez.

{¶ 6} Appellee appealed the hearing officer’s decision to the Dayton

Regional Board of Review, which conducted a hearing. At the hearing, appellee

submitted a letter from Dr. Hopson that stated: “As you are aware we did perform

surgery on Carolyn Bradley for an alleged bone tumor of her proximal tibia and

chronic right knee pain. No bone tumor was documented by biopsy. It was felt

that the patient’s knee pain was due to a hypertrophic medial synovial plica or

swollen lining of the knee in a localized area. This was resected arthroscopically

and documented by video. Therefore, the diagnosis of tumor should be deleted. I

would classify her as a chronic knee sprain secondary to her Workman’s Comp

[sic] injury and secondary hypertrophic medial synovial plica or localized synovial

swelling.”

2

January Term, 1997

{¶ 7} The board of review affirmed the hearing officer’s order, finding that

appellee had previously been allowed a claim “for twisted right knee, strain low

back, tear of lateral and medial meniscus of the right knee and patellar

chondromalacia of the right knee.”

{¶ 8} Appellee appealed the board of review’s decision to the commission

and presented a second C-84 report, in which Dr. Hopson extended appellee’s

return-to-work date to February 14, 1992, and stated appellee’s “present complaints

and condition(s)” as “(R)Knee pain 717.7.” Following a hearing, two staff hearing

officers affirmed the board of review’s order, finding that the regional board’s

decision was supported by proof in the record and citing particularly the reports of

Drs. Chavez and Hopson, including the operative report.

{¶ 9} Appellee filed a mandamus action in the Court of Appeals for

Franklin County, alleging that the commission had denied her TTD on the basis of

“no proper evidence.” The court of appeals issued a limited writ of mandamus

ordering the commission to vacate its order denying appellee TTD and to enter a

new order, either granting or denying TTD, setting forth “not only the evidence

relied upon but also the requisite explanation of the reasoning for the decision in

full compliance with State ex rel. Noll v. Indus. Comm. (1991), 57 Ohio St.3d 203

[567 N.E.2d 245].”

{¶ 10} This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of right.

_________________

Kondritzer, Gold, Frank & Crowley Co., L.P.A., and Lane N. Cohen, for

appellee.

Betty D. Montgomery, Attorney General, and Dennis L. Hufstader,

Assistant Attorney General, for appellant.

COOK, J.

3

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

{¶ 11} The issues in this case are (1) whether the commission’s order

denying appellee’s claim for TTD satisfies the requirements of Noll, supra; and (2)

if the order complies with Noll, whether the commission abused its discretion in

denying appellee’s claim for TTD.

{¶ 12} In Noll, we stated in the syllabus that “[i]n any order of the Industrial

Commission granting or denying benefits to a claimant, the commission must

specifically state what evidence has been relied upon, and briefly explain the

reasoning for its decision.” The order must make it apparent “from the four corners

of the decision that there is some evidence supporting it.” Id., 57 Ohio St.3d at 206,

567 N.E.2d at 248. The order must be fact-specific in order that a meaningful

review can be undertaken upon appeal. Id.

{¶ 13} The hearing officer’s order states that appellee’s claim for TTD was

disallowed because appellee was “disabled due to unrecognized conditions.”

Although appellee’s supplemental claim for TTD stated that one of the complaints

and conditions supporting her claim was chondromalacia patella of the right knee,

an allowed condition, the claim also stated hypertrophic medial synovial plica and

bone tumor of the right proximal tibia, conditions that had not been allowed in the

original claim. The operative report prepared by Dr. Hopson, and relied upon by

the commission in its decision, indicated a preoperative diagnosis of tumor and a

postoperative diagnosis of “[c]hronic right knee pain secondary to hypertrophic

medial synovial plica,” conditions that were not included in appellee’s original

claim. Dr. Chavez’s report, also relied upon by the commission in its decision,

noted that there was no indication “that the resected tibial tumor is related to the

claim.” Although Dr. Hopson’s letter, prepared after surgery and submitted to the

board of review, “deleted” the diagnosis of tumor, this postoperative discovery does

not remove the suspected tumor as a reason for the surgery and does not, on this

record, prevent the commission from concluding that the surgery was performed

because of a nonallowed condition and that the surgery caused TTD.

4

January Term, 1997

{¶ 14} A party challenging a commission order bears the burden of

demonstrating that the commission’s determination manifests an abuse of

discretion. State ex rel. Burley v. Coil Packing, Inc. (1987), 31 Ohio St.3d 18, 20,

31 OBR 70, 72, 508 N.E.2d 936, 938. Abuse of discretion means that the

commission’s decision was rendered without some evidence to support it. Id. This

court’s role in reviewing a mandamus action challenging a decision of the

commission is limited to whether there is some evidence in the record to support

the commission’s stated basis for its decision. Id. at the syllabus.

{¶ 15} A claimant cannot be compensated for disability caused by

conditions unrelated to his employment injury or resulting from nonallowed

medical conditions. State ex rel. Waddle v. Indus. Comm. (1993), 67 Ohio St.3d

452, 454-455, 619 N.E.2d 1018, 1020. The mere presence of a nonallowed

condition in a claim for TTD does not in itself destroy the compensability of the

claim, but the claimant must meet his burden of showing that an allowed condition

independently caused the disability. The allowed condition cannot combine with a

nonallowed medical condition to produce TTD. Cf. State ex rel. LTV Steel Co. v.

Indus. Comm. (1992), 65 Ohio St.3d 22, 599 N.E.2d 265.

{¶ 16} Dr. Hopson’s operative report states that surgery was performed on

appellee because of a suspected bone tumor. His postoperative diagnosis again

refers to the presence of a suspected bone tumor, and adds a further condition not

previously allowed by the commission, hypertrophic medial synovial plica. Even

Dr. Hopson’s letter, clarifying that no bone tumor had been discovered by biopsy

following surgery, classified appellee’s injury as chronic knee sprain secondary to

her workers’ compensation injury, but attributed the injury only to the specific

nonallowed condition of hypertrophic medial synovial plica. The letter did not

attribute the TTD to any of the allowed conditions of appellee’s claim. Although

the first C-84 claim for TTD includes one of the allowed conditions along with the

nonallowed conditions, nothing in that claim or in the other evidence presented to

5

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

the commission demonstrated that the allowed condition independently caused

appellee’s TTD.

{¶ 17} Under the facts of this case, the hearing examiner’s report was

sufficiently specific to meet the requirements of Noll. The hearing officer’s order

explains that TTD was disallowed because appellee’s disability resulted from

“unrecognized conditions.” The reports of Drs. Chavez and Hopson constituted

some evidence to support the hearing officer’s finding that appellee was disabled

due to unrecognized conditions. The commission did not abuse its discretion in

denying appellee’s claim for TTD.

{¶ 18} For these reasons, we reverse the judgment of the court of appeals

and reinstate the decision of the commission denying appellee’s claim for TTD.

Judgment reversed.

MOYER, C.J., PFEIFER, COOK and STRATTON, JJ., concur.

DOUGLAS, RESNICK and F.E. SWEENEY, JJ., dissent.

__________________

DOUGLAS, J., dissenting.

{¶ 19} I respectfully dissent. I would affirm the judgment of the court of

appeals.

RESNICK and F.E. SWEENEY, JJ., concur in the foregoing dissenting opinion.

__________________

6

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.