Opinion

State ex rel. Richard v. Bd. of Trustees of Police & Firemen's Disability & Pension Fund

  • 1994 Ohio 126
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Jun 7, 1994
Status
Published
Cited by
5 cases
Authority
More cited than 61.0%

The opinion

OPINIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

The full texts of the opinions of the Supreme Court of

Ohio are being transmitted electronically beginning May 27,

1992, pursuant to a pilot project implemented by Chief Justice

Thomas J. Moyer.

Please call any errors to the attention of the Reporter's

Office of the Supreme Court of Ohio. Attention: Walter S.

Kobalka, Reporter, or Deborah J. Barrett, Administrative

Assistant. Tel.: (614) 466-4961; in Ohio 1-800-826-9010.

Your comments on this pilot project are also welcome.

NOTE: Corrections may be made by the Supreme Court to the

full texts of the opinions after they have been released

electronically to the public. The reader is therefore advised

to check the bound volumes of Ohio St.3d published by West

Publishing Company for the final versions of these opinions.

The advance sheets to Ohio St.3d will also contain the volume

and page numbers where the opinions will be found in the bound

volumes of the Ohio Official Reports.

The State ex rel. Richard, Appellee, v. Board of Trustees of

the Police and Firemen's Disability and Pension Fund, Appellant.

[Cite as State ex rel. Richard v. Bd. of Trustees of Police &

Firemen's Disability & Pension Fund (1994), Ohio

St.3d .]

Police and Firemen's Disability and Pension Fund -- Benefit and

pension payments -- R.C. 742.37(C)(8) precludes a retiree

who is already receiving maximum partial disability

benefits pursuant to R.C. 742.37(C)(3) from applying for

permanent total disability benefits under R.C.

742.37(C)(2).

(No. 93-2121 -- Submitted April 5, 1994 -- Decided June 8,

1994.)

Appeal from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No.

92AP-1722.

The Board of Trustees of the Police and Firemen's

Disability and Pension Fund, respondent-appellant, appeals from

a judgment by the Franklin County Court of Appeals granting

John E. Richard, relator-appellee, a writ of mandamus to compel

the board to consider his post-retirement application for

increased disability benefits.

Appellee was employed by the Springfield, Ohio Police

Department from 1961 until 1983. Appellee suffered injuries in

the course of his employment as a police officer and stopped

working on October 21, 1983. In November 1983, appellee

applied for permanent total disability benefits from

appellant. On February 1, 1984, appellant granted appellee

maximum partial disability retirement benefits which

represented approximately sixty-two percent of the average of

his three years of highest earnings. Appellant's letter

notifying appellee of the grant further advised him that if his

disability deteriorated and rendered him unfit for gainful

employment in any occupation for which he was reasonably

suited, he could request that appellant change the grant from

partial to total disability. Appellee has continued to receive

maximum partial disability benefits from appellant.

In May 1992, appellee submitted to appellant a

post-retirement disability application to change his maximum

partial disability benefits to permanent total disability

benefits. On June 25, 1992, appellant notified appellee that

it would take no action on his application "because the law in

effect at the time the application was submitted does not

permit changing a maximum partial grant to a total disability

grant." After appellee requested a review of appellant's

decision, appellant reiterated on July 29, 1992 that it would

not take any action.

Appellee then brought this mandamus action to compel

appellant to consider the merits of his post-retirement

disability application. The court of appeals granted

appellee's requested mandamus relief.

This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of

right.

David M. Hollingsworth, for appellee.

Lee Fisher, Attorney General, and Doug S. Musick,

Assistant Attorney General, for appellant.

Per Curiam. Appellant asserts in its sole proposition of

law that the court of appeals erred in granting appellee a writ

of mandamus since, pursuant to amended R.C. 742.37(C)(8), a

member receiving maximum partial disability benefits under R.C.

742.37(C)(3) is not eligible for permanent total disability

benefits under R.C. 742.37(C)(2). In order for a writ of

mandamus to issue, a relator must demonstrate that (1) he or

she has a clear legal right to the relief prayed for, (2)

respondent is under a corresponding legal duty to perform the

requested act, and (3) relator has no plain and adequate remedy

in the ordinary course of law. State ex rel. Glass, Molders,

Pottery, Plastics & Allied Workers Internatl. Union, Local 333,

AFL-CIO, CLC v. State Emp. Relations Bd. (1993), 66 Ohio St.3d

157, 158, 609 N.E.2d 1266, 1267.

A member of the Police and Firemen's Disability Pension

Fund who is partially disabled as the result of performing

official duties may receive benefits if the disability prevents

him from performing those duties and impairs his earning

capacity. R.C. 742.37(C)(3). The board may increase or

decrease such benefits whenever the impairment of the member's

earning capacity warrants a change, but if the member has

completed less than twenty-five years of active service in the

department, the benefits paid shall not exceed sixty percent of

his average salary. Id. Conversely, a member of the fund who

is permanently and totally disabled as a result of the

performance of official duties is entitled to benefits equal to

seventy-two percent of his annual salary for the last year he

was in active service. R.C. 742.37(C)(2).

Prior to July 24, 1986, i.e. at the time appellee was

granted maximum partial disability benefits, appellant had a

clear legal duty pursuant to former R.C. 742.37(C) to consider

applications by fund members receiving partial disability

benefits seeking permanent total disability benefits based upon

a deterioration of their conditions. State ex rel. Manders v.

Bd. of Trustees of Police & Firemen's Disability & Pension Fund

(1981), 68 Ohio St.2d 79, 22 O.O.3d 275, 428 N.E.2d 151; see,

also, Dumas v. Bd. of Trustees of Police & Firemen's Disability

& Pension Fund (1986), 25 Ohio St.3d 10, 25 OBR 8, 494 N.E.2d

1129.

On July 24, 1986, in apparent response to this court's

decision in Manders, the General Assembly amended R.C.

742.37(C) to add the following language:

"With the exception of those persons receiving partial

disability benefits under division (C)(3) of this section who

may make application for increased benefits as provided in such

division, no person receiving a pension or other benefit under

division (C) of this section on or after the effective date of

this amendment shall be entitled to apply for any new, changed,

or different benefit." 141 Ohio Laws, Part III, 5583, amending

R.C. 742.37(C)(9).

The current version of R.C. 742.37(C)(8), in effect at the

time of appellee's application for permanent total disability

benefits, similarly provides:

"With the exception of those persons who may make

application for increased benefits as provided in division

(C)(3) or (5) of this section or those persons who may make

application for benefits as provided in section 742.26 of the

Revised Code, no person receiving a pension or other benefit

under division (C) of this section on or after July 24, 1986,

shall be entitled to apply for any new, changed, or different

benefit."

The court of appeals determined that R.C. 742.37(C)(8)

"clearly excepts partial disability benefit recipients under

R.C. 742.37(C)(3) from its general prohibition against

application for any new, changed or different benefit" and that

the "1986 legislative enactment clearly intended to continue to

allow partial disability benefit recipients to upgrade their

benefits if and when their medical condition worsened."

Appellant asserts that the court's rationale was erroneous. We

agree.

In construing a statute, a court's paramount concern is

the legislative intent in enacting the statute. State v. S.R.

(1992), 63 Ohio St.3d 590, 594, 589 N.E.2d 1319, 1323. "In

determining legislative intent, the court first looks to the

language in the statute and the purpose to be accomplished."

Id. at 594-595, 589 N.E.2d at 1323. Words used in a statute

must be taken in their usual, normal or customary meaning.

R.C. 1.42; Indep. Ins. Agents of Ohio, Inc. v. Fabe (1992), 63

Ohio St.3d 310, 314, 587 N.E.2d 814, 817. It is the duty of

the court to give effect to the words used and not to insert

words not used. S.R., supra, 63 Ohio St.3d at 595, 589 N.E.2d

at 1323. "Where the language of a statute is plain and

unambiguous and conveys a clear and definite meaning, there is

no need to apply rules of statutory interpretation." Cline v.

Ohio Bur. of Motor Vehicles (1991), 61 Ohio St.3d 93, 96, 573

N.E.2d 77, 80.

R.C. 742.37(C)(8) provides that R.C. 742.37(C)(3) partial

disability benefit recipients may apply for "increased

benefits" only "as provided in division (C)(3) or (5)." R.C.

742.37(C)(5) does not apply to appellee. R.C. 742.37(C)(3)

allows for an increase in benefits for members with appellee's

years of active service in an amount not to exceed sixty

percent of his average annual salary. Since appellee is

already receiving maximum partial disability benefits, the

plain language of R.C. 742.37(C)(8) precludes his application

for permanent total disability benefits. Consequently, the

court of appeals erred in holding otherwise. This

interpretation comports with Ohio Adm. Code 742-3-05(C)(1),

amended shortly after the 1986 amendment to R.C. 742.37(C),

which provides that "[a] member who is receiving a less than

maximum partial or off-duty disability and who believes that

deterioration of the disabling physical or mental condition has

increased the amount of disability, may apply for a

reconsideration. ***" (Emphasis added.) See, also, Ohio Adm.

Code 742-3-05(D).

Appellee claims that several troublesome issues raised

before but never reached by the court of appeals would arise if

we adopt appellant's interpretation of R.C. 742.37(C).

Appellee first contends that R.C. 742.37(C)(8), so construed,

would be an unconstitutionally retroactive law because it

impairs his "vested right" to "apply for an increase in

disability from partial to total." The court of appeals relied

upon its erroneous interpretation of R.C. 742.37(C)(8) to hold

that appellee possessed a "vested right to apply for a change

in benefits from partial disability to permanent total

disability, which right may be exercised regardless of whether

his initial award was for maximum partial disability or some

lesser percentage." (Emphasis sic.)

Section 28, Article II of the Ohio Constitution provides

that the "general assembly shall have no power to pass

retroactive laws * * *." Every statute which takes away or

impairs vested rights acquired under existing laws, or creates

a new obligation, imposes a new duty, or attaches a new

disability, with respect to transactions or considerations

already past, is retroactive. State ex rel. Matz v. Brown

(1988), 37 Ohio St.3d 279, 281, 525 N.E.2d 805, 807, citing

Soc. for the Propagation of the Gospel v. Wheeler (N.H.1814), 2

Gall. 105, 139. As to appellee's claim that he had a vested

right to apply for permanent total disability benefits, R.C.

742.46 provides:

"The granting of a benefit or pension to any person under

sections 742.01 to 742.49, inclusive, of the Revised Code,

vests a right in such person to obtain and receive the amount

of such benefit or pension granted to him subject to sections

742.01 to 742.49, inclusive, of the Revised Code.***"

(Emphasis added.)

Pursuant to R.C. 742.46, the granting of partial

disability benefits to appellee vested his right only to those

benefits and not to a possible future increase. Additionally,

his vested right to even partial disability benefits is subject

to R.C. 742.37(C)(8)'s prohibition against future applications

for permanent total disability benefits. Rights to a benefit

or pension granted by R.C. 742.46 are vested only for those

beneficiaries who are not subject to other provisions of R.C.

Chapter 742. State ex rel. Brunson v. Bedner (1971), 28 Ohio

App.2d 63, 57 O.O.2d 124, 274 N.E.2d 565. Therefore, appellee

had no vested right to a change in benefits from partial

disability to permanent disability. Consequently, the 1986

amendment to R.C. 742.37(C) did not retroactively impair any

vested right.

Although appellee's contentions on appeal in this regard

are limited to his assertion that he had a vested interest in a

future application for permanent disability benefits, his lack

of a vested right does not end the inquiry concerning the

alleged retroactive nature of R.C. 742.37(C)(8). The

definition of a retroactive statute set forth in Matz

encompasses either impairing of a vested right or creating a

new disability with respect to past transactions or

considerations. State ex rel. Matz, supra, 37 Ohio St.3d at

281, 525 N.E.2d at 807. A subsequent enactment will not burden

a past transaction or consideration in the constitutional

sense, unless the past transaction or consideration created, if

not a vested right, at least a reasonable expectation of

finality. Id. at 281, 525 N.E.2d at 807-808. Maximum partial

disability beneficiaries such as appellee have no reasonable

expectation that their right to apply for different benefits

would never be terminated by subsequent changes in the

applicable law. To hold otherwise would mean that the General

Assembly would never be able to limit some benefits in order to

retain the solvency of financially strapped disability or

retirement funds. Thus, R.C. 742.37(C)(8) is not

unconstitutionally retroactive.

All legislative enactments must be afforded a strong

presumption of constitutionality, and the party asserting that

a statute is unconstitutional must prove this assertion beyond

a reasonable doubt. State v. Collier (1991), 62 Ohio St.3d

267, 269, 581 N.E.2d 552, 553. Appellee failed to meet that

burden here.

Appellee finally asserts that appellant's 1984 letter

granting him maximum partial disability benefits also gave him

the right to have appellant consider any future application for

permanent total disability benefits. However, the language

referred to by appellee correctly set forth the law as it

applied to him prior to the 1986 amendment to R.C. 742.37(C).

As noted previously, this did not confer any vested right upon

appellee pursuant to R.C. 742.46. Moreover, there is no

equitable estoppel against appellant since that doctrine

generally requires actual or constructive fraud, see, e.g.,

Ohio State Bd. of Pharmacy v. Frantz (1990), 51 Ohio St.3d

143, 145, 555 N.E.2d 630, 633, and appellant did not

misrepresent the law or mislead appellee concerning his

rights. In other words, appellant did not advise appellee that

there would never be a modification in the law that might

affect his right to future benefits.

In sum, the manifest language of R.C. 742.37(C)(8)

precludes a retiree who is already receiving maximum partial

disability benefits pursuant to R.C. 742.37(C)(3) from applying

for permanent total disability benefits under R.C.

742.37(C)(2). The court of appeals thus erred in granting

appellee's request for a writ of mandamus.

Accordingly, the judgment of the court of appeals is

reversed.

Judgment reversed.

Moyer, C.J., A.W. Sweeney, Douglas, Wright, Resnick and

F.E. Sweeney, JJ., concur.

Pfeifer, J., dissents.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.