Opinion

State ex rel. Basye v. Indus. Comm.

  • 1992 Ohio 102
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Jun 16, 1992
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.5%

The opinion

OPINIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

The full texts of the opinions of the Supreme Court of Ohio

are being transmitted electronically beginning May 27, 1992,

pursuant to a pilot project implemented by Chief Justice Thomas

J. Moyer.

Please call any errors to the attention of the Reporter's

Office of the Supreme Court of Ohio. Attention: Walter S.

Kobalka, Reporter, or Justine Michael, Administrative Assistant.

Tel.: (614) 466-4961; in Ohio 1-800-826-9010. Your comments on this

pilot project are also welcome.

NOTE: Corrections may be made by the Supreme Court to the

full texts of the opinions after they have been released

electronically to the public. The reader is therefore advised to

check the bound volumes of Ohio St.3d published by West Publishing

Company for the final versions of these opinions. The advance

sheets to Ohio St.3d will also contain the volume and page

numbers where the opinions will be found in the bound volumes of

the Ohio Official Reports.

The State, ex rel. Basye, Appellee, v. Industrial Commission

of Ohio et al., Appellants.

[Cite as State, ex rel. Basye, v. Indus. Comm. (1992), Ohio

St.3d .]

Workers' compensation -- Commission denial of temporary

total disability compensation not supported by "some evidence,"

when.

(No. 91-149 -- Submitted April 7, 1992 -- Decided June 17, 1992.)

Appeal from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No.

90AP-94.

Claimant-appellee, Wilbur W. Bayse, injured his back in 1984

while in the course of and arising from his employment with Truck

Center of Columbus, Inc. He received temporary total disability

compensation until it was terminated in 1987 because the allowed

back conditions had become permanent.

In October 1988, appellee's claim was additionally allowed

for a psychiatric condition. One month later, claimant alleged

that the psychiatric condition had temporarily and totally

disabled him and sought renewed temporary total disability

compensation. A commission district hearing officer on January

11, 1989 denied the request, finding:

"* * * [T]emporary total compensation is denied on a basis

of permanency.

"Further temporary total is not in order as the claimant's

condition under his present treatment regime is permanent and

from a physical standpoint alone precludes him from returning to

his former position.

"The additional psychiatric condition was considered in

making this finding.

"This order is based on the medical reports [sic] of: Dr.

Llewelyn."

A regional board of review affirmed the district hearing

officer's order in its entirety, with additional reliance on the

reports of Drs. Cunningham and Brown. The commission refused

further appeal.

Claimant filed a complaint in mandamus in the Court of

Appeals for Franklin County, alleging that the commission abused

its discretion by denying temporary total disability

compensation. The appellate court vacated the commission's order

because: (1) none of the cited medical reports addressed the

permanency of claimant's psychiatric condition, and (2) the

commission appeared to use improper criteria to evaluate

permanency. The cause was returned to the commission for further

consideration and an amended order.

This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of

right.

John E. Huntley and Jeffrey L. Huntley, for appellee.

Lee I. Fisher, Attorney General, Jetta Mencer and Dennis L.

Hufstader, for appellants Industrial Commission and Administrator,

Bureau of Workers' Compensation.

Per Curiam. A claimant whose disability has become permanent

may not receive temporary total disability compensation. State, ex

rel. Ramirez, v. Indus. Comm. (1982), 69 Ohio St.2d 630, 23 O.O.3d

518, 433 N.E.2d 586. Until recently, permanency was perceived to

be an absolute bar to receipt of further temporary total

disability compensation. In State, ex rel. Bing, v. Indus. Comm.

(1991), 61 Ohio St.3d 424, 575 N.E.2d 177, however, we re-examined

"permanency" within the context of the commission's R.C. 4123.52

continuing jurisdiction and concluded that, in some situations,

temporary total disability compensation could be reinstated

despite a prior permanency finding.

In this case, the commission initially terminated temporary

total disability compensation after finding that claimant's

allowed conditions had become permanent. At that time, however,

only physical conditions had been allowed in the claim. The

commission's subsequent allowance of a psychiatric condition

prompted a renewed request for temporary total disability

compensation. Despite this additional allowance, however, the

commission denied temporary total disability compensation, again

basing its decision on permanency. We must determine whether the

commission's decision is supported by "some evidence." State, ex

rel

. Burley, v. Coil Packing, Inc. (1987), 31 Ohio St.3d 18, 31 OBR 70,

508 N.E.2d 936, syllabus. For the reasons that follow, we find

that it is not.

For permanency to be a basis for the denial of temporary

total disability compensation, the permanent condition must be

one that has been alleged as contributing to the disability. The

reports of Drs. Llewelyn, Brown and Cunningham -- all dealing

exclusively with claimant's physical condition -- are not,

therefore, "some evidence" supporting the commission's order.

The contents of these reports also indicate that despite the

commission's bare allegation to the contrary, claimant's

psychiatric condition was not truly considered.

The commission's reliance on State, ex rel. Rouch, v. Eagle Tool &

Machine Co. (1986), 26 Ohio St.3d 197, 26 OBR 289, 498 N.E.2d 464,

is misplaced since Rouch is distinguishable from the case at bar.

Unlike the claimant in Rouch, the present claimant does not allege

that the combined effects of his allowed physical and mental

conditions have temporarily and totally disabled him. He has

alleged that his psychiatric condition alone is temporarily and

totally disabling. Rouch is, therefore, not controlling.

We share the appellate court's concern over the permanency

standard used by the commission, since the district hearing

officer's 1989 order suggested that she evaluated permanency in

terms of claimant's inability to work. However, as we have

previously stated:

"* * * [Permanency] relates solely to the perceived

longevity of the condition at issue. It has absolutely no

bearing upon the claimant's ability to perform the tasks involved

in his former position of employment. * * * [Permanency is] * * *

a condition which will, * * * 'with reasonable probability,

continue for an indefinite period of time without present

indication of recovery therefrom.'" Vulcan Materials Co. v. Indus.

Comm. (1986), 25 Ohio St.3d 31, 33, 25 OBR 26, 27, 494 N.E.2d

1125, 1127.

The appellate court's decision to vacate and to return the

cause to the commission for reconsideration of the permanency

issue was thus proper.

Accordingly, the judgment of the court of appeals is

affirmed.

Judgment affirmed.

Moyer, C.J., Sweeney, Holmes, Douglas, H. Brown and Resnick,

JJ., concur.

Wright, J., concurs in judgment only.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.