Opinion

State ex rel. Jeep Corp. v. Indus. Comm.

  • 64 Ohio St. 3d 378
  • 1992 Ohio 106
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Aug 11, 1992
Status
Published
Cited by
5 cases
Authority
More cited than 56.5%

The opinion

OPINIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

The full texts of the opinions of the Supreme Court of

Ohio are being transmitted electronically beginning May 27,

1992, pursuant to a pilot project implemented by Chief Justice

Thomas J. Moyer.

Please call any errors to the attention of the Reporter's

Office of the Supreme Court of Ohio. Attention: Walter S.

Kobalka, Reporter, or Justine Michael, Administrative

Assistant. Tel.: (614) 466-4961; in Ohio 1-800-826-9010.

Your comments on this pilot project are also welcome.

NOTE: Corrections may be made by the Supreme Court to the

full texts of the opinions after they have been released

electronically to the public. The reader is therefore advised

to check the bound volumes of Ohio St.3d published by West

Publishing Company for the final versions of these opinions.

The advance sheets to Ohio St.3d will also contain the volume

and page numbers where the opinions will be found in the bound

volumes of the Ohio Official Reports.

The State ex rel. Jeep Corporation, Appellant, v.

Industrial Commission of Ohio et al., Appellees.

[Cite as State ex rel. Jeep Corp. v. Indus. Comm.

(1992), Ohio St.3d .]

Workers' compensation -- Where statement of maximum medical

improvement of an allowed condition is made by claimant's

doctor, not only is that report not "some evidence"

supporting continued temporary total compensation for that

condition, it is justification for a self-insured employer

to cease temporary total compensation without prior

commission hearing.

(No. 91-316 -- Submitted April 27, 1992 -- Decided August

12, 1992.)

Appeal from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No.

89AP-568.

Claimant-appellee, Larry Chickeral, was injured on March

12, 1985 while in the course of and arising from his employment

with appellant, Jeep Corporation ("Jeep"). Jeep, a self-insured

employer, immediately began paying temporary total disability

compensation. On July 15, 1986, Jeep had claimant examined by

Dr. F.B. Hawkins. Dr. Hawkins concluded that claimant's

allowed condition had reached maximum medical improvement.

Shortly thereafter, Jeep moved appellee Industrial

Commission ("the commission") to terminate claimant's temporary

total disability compensation, submitting Dr. Hawkins' report

in support. A district hearing officer on September 18, 1986

denied Jeep's motion, writing:

"Claimant can not return to his former position of

employment within the restrictions indicated by Fred B.

Hawkins, M.D.

"* * *

"Temporary Total Disability compensation to be awarded

from date last paid through 9-29-86 and to continue upon the

submission of supporting medical evidence.

"This decision is based on the medical reports of Drs.

Fred B. Hawkins (7-15-86) and Gerald O'Conner [sic, O'Connor]."

Neither party appealed.

After paying temporary total compensation prospectively

through March 1, 1987, Jeep obtained the September 19, 1986

narrative of Dr. Gerald A. O'Connor, claimant's attending

physician. In that report, O'Connor indicated that claimant

had reached maximum medical recovery. Based on that report,

Jeep refused to pay further temporary total compensation. A

March 12, 1987 C-84 Attending Physician's Report from Dr.

O'Connor reiterated his conclusion that claimant had reached

maximum improvement.

On August 20, 1987, a hearing was held on claimant's

entitlement to further temporary total compensation. The

hearing officer held:

"Based on the allowed conditions of this claim and the

reports of Drs. Hein, Hawkins and O'Connor, it is found that

claimant's condition is permanent as defined in Vulcan

Materials [Co.] v. Industrial Commission [(1986), 25 Ohio St.3d

31, 25 OBR 26, 494 N.E.2d 1125] and that no further

compensation for Temporary Total Disability is to be paid

effective 8-20-87. Based on the reports of Drs. Hein, Hawkins

and O'Connor, the allowed conditions of this claim and the

provisions of [R.C.] 4123.56, it is found that claimant was not

able to return to his former position of employment through

8-19-87 and that compensation for Temporary Total Disability is

to be paid from last date of payment through 8-19-87 only."

The order was administratively affirmed.

Jeep sought a writ of mandamus from the Court of Appeals

for Franklin County, contesting the award of temporary total

compensation from March 1, 1987 through August 19, 1987. The

appellate court found that a July 22, 1987 C-84 by Dr. O'Connor

was "some evidence" supporting the award and denied the writ.

This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of

right.

Eastman & Smith, John T. Landwehr and Thomas J. Gibney,

for appellant.

Lee I. Fisher, Attorney General, Michael L. Squillace,

Dennis L. Hufstader and Teresa Oglesby-McIntyre, for appellee

Industrial Commission.

Gallon, Kalniz & Iorio Co., L.P.A., and Theodore A.

Bowman, for appellee Chickeral.

Per Curiam. Jeep contends that the Hawkins, Hein and

O'Connor reports are not "some evidence" supporting temporary

total compensation from March 1, 1987 through August 19, 1987.

Appellees counter that some evidence did exist, and that

appellant cannot contest the award because appellant: (1) did

not appeal the September 18, 1986 order extending temporary

total compensation, and (2) was statutorily required to

continue payments until compensation was terminated by the

commission. Appellees' arguments fail.

The September 18, 1986 commission decision awarded

compensation from "date last paid through 9-29-86 and to

continue upon the submission of supporting medical evidence."

Appellees maintain that Jeep, by not appealing this order,

consented to pay temporary total compensation so long as

claimant submitted "supporting medical evidence" of temporary

total disability. Appellees' statement, while correct,

however, ignores the fact that medical evidence of maximum

medical improvement is not "some evidence" of temporary total

disability. Vulcan Materials Co. v. Indus. Comm. (1986), 25

Ohio St.3d 31, 25 OBR 26, 494 N.E.2d 1125.

Where a statement of maximum medical improvement of an

allowed condition is made by the claimant's doctor, not only is

that report not "some evidence" supporting continued temporary

total compensation for that condition, it is justification for

a self-insured employer to cease temporary total compensation

without prior commission hearing. State ex rel. Jeep Corp. v.

Indus. Comm. (1991), 62 Ohio St.3d 64, 577 N.E.2d 1095.

We must next determine whether the Hein, Hawkins or

O'Connor reports are "some evidence" supporting temporary total

disability compensation from March 1, 1987 through August 19,

1987. State ex rel. Burley v. Coil Packing, Inc. (1987), 31

Ohio St. 3d 18, 31 OBR 70, 508 N.E.2d 936. Dr. Hein's

narrative clearly is not. Hein's opinion is not probative over

the period preceding his June 24, 1987 exam. It cannot,

therefore, support temporary total compensation from March 1,

1987 through June 23, 1987. In contrast, while his opinion is

relevant for the period June 24, 1987 through August 19, 1987,

Dr. Hein stated that claimant had reached maximum recovery. As

a result, his report cannot be considered "some evidence" of

temporary total disability over this latter period.

Dr. Hawkins' report is also not "some evidence" for two

reasons. First, State ex rel. Zamora v. Indus. Comm. (1989),

45 Ohio St.3d 17, 543 N.E.2d 87, prohibits the commission from

relying on a medical report that the commission had earlier

found unpersuasive. In Zamora, the claimant simultaneously

applied to have an additional psychiatric allowance and to have

himself declared permanently totally disabled. The claimant

was examined by various specialists, including Dr. Dennis W.

Kogut, who stated that the claimant's depression preceded his

industrial injury and that the contribution of the industrial

injury to the depression was minimal.

The commission allowed the psychiatric condition and, in

so doing, implicitly rejected Kogut's report. However, ten

months later, the commission denied the application for

permanent total disability based partially on Dr. Kogut's same

narrative. The claimant challenged the commission's subsequent

reliance on that report, arguing that once rejected, the report

was removed from evidentiary consideration. We agreed.

Comparable facts exist here. Jeep, in initially moving to

terminate temporary total compensation in 1986, submitted Dr.

Hawkins' report as proof that claimant was not temporarily and

totally disabled. In granting temporary total compensation,

the commission inherently rejected, at a minimum, the doctor's

conclusion that claimant had attained maximum improvement. The

commission then relied on that report in its August 20, 1987

order. Under Zamora, the rejection of that report is

sufficient to remove that document from further evidentiary

consideration.

Second, even if properly before the commission, Dr.

Hawkins' report concluded that claimant had reached maximum

recovery. His report, therefore, did not substantiate a

temporary total disability award.

The most controversial reports in this case are Dr.

O'Connor's, particularly his July 22, 1987 C-84 report. Prior

to that report, the doctor had, on September 19, 1986 and March

12, 1987, stated that his patient had reached maximum medical

improvement. On July 22, 1987, Dr. O'Connor extended

claimant's estimated return-to-work date to August, noting that

claimant would "never attain complete recovery." The appellate

court found that this report constituted "some evidence"

supporting temporary total compensation. We disagree. Dr.

O'Connor's July 22, 1987 impairment opinion is based in part on

degenerative joint disease in both of claimant's knees, which

is not an allowed condition in this claim. As such, the report

does not constitute "some evidence."

In consideration of the above, we reverse the judgment of

the court below.

Judgment reversed.

Moyer, C.J., Sweeney, Holmes and Wright, JJ., concur.

Douglas and Resnick, JJ., dissent.

H. Brown, J., not participating.

Douglas, J., dissenting. In this case, the Industrial

Commission granted claimant temporary total disability

compensation. A unanimous court of appeals, by denying

appellant's requested writ, affirmed the decision of the

fact-finding commission. The court of appeals found that this

was a "some evidence" case and found, in Dr. O'Connor's report

of July 22, 1987, some evidence to support the commission's

decision. I would affirm the court of appeals.

Alice Robie Resnick, J., dissenting. I respectfully

dissent from the majority decision. In this case relator's

motion to terminate compensation was heard on August 20, 1987

by a district hearing officer, who issued an order finding, in

pertinent part, as follows:

"Based on the allowed conditions of this claim and the

reports of Drs. Hein, Hawkins and O'Connor, it is found that

claimant's condition is permanent as defined in Vulcan

Materials v. Industrial Commission and that no further

compensation for Temporary Total Disability is to be paid

effective 8-20-87. Based on the reports of Drs. Hein, Hawkins

and O'Connor, the allowed conditions of this claim and the

provisions of 4123.56, it is found that claimant was not able

to return to his former position of employment through 8-19-87

and that compensation for Temporary Total Disability is to be

paid from last date of payment through 8-19-87 only."

By order dated January 13, 1988, the regional board of

review affirmed the district hearing officer's order. The

Industrial Commission refused review. It would appear that a

majority of this court are substituting their judgment for that

of the fact finder in this case by interpreting the report of

Dr. O'Connor and making a finding that his report does not

provide some evidence that respondent was experiencing

temporary total disability up to and including August 19, 1987.

It is an accepted premise that the determination of

disputed facts is solely within the jurisdiction of the

commission. Additionally, it is within the exclusive authority

of the commission to weigh credible evidence and to make

decisions based on that evidence. State ex rel. Hudson v.

Indus. Comm. (1984), 12 Ohio St.3d 169, 12 OBR 237, 465 N.E.2d

1289; State ex rel. Allerton v. Indus. Comm. (1982), 69 Ohio

St.2d 396, 23 O.O.3d 358, 433 N.E.2d 159; State ex rel. Haines

v. Indus. Comm. (1972), 29 Ohio St.2d 15, 58 O.O.2d 70, 278

N.E.2d 24.

The commission refused to hear the appeal from the

regional board and, thereby, in effect, found some evidence to

support the finding of temporary total disability until August

19, 1987. In view of that fact we should not sit as a Supreme

Industrial Commission and make a different factual finding as

to Dr. O'Connor's report. An important additional

consideration is that the reports of the doctors were factually

confusing. Since Dr. O'Connor's July 22, 1987 report did

contain some evidence of temporary total disability, the

decision should remain in effect and not be subject to an

action in mandamus. State ex rel. Hudson, supra; State ex rel.

G F Business Equip., Inc. v. Indus. Comm. (1981) 66 Ohio St.2d

446, 20 O.O.3d 379, 423 N.E.2d 99. Hence, based on those facts

I would affirm the decision of the court of appeals and deny

the writ.

Douglas, J. concurs in the foregoing dissenting opinion.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.