Opinion

State ex rel. Long v. Mihm

  • 1992 Ohio 142
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Sep 1, 1992
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.5%

The opinion

OPINIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

The full texts of the opinions of the Supreme Court of

Ohio are being transmitted electronically beginning May 27,

1992, pursuant to a pilot project implemented by Chief Justice

Thomas J. Moyer.

Please call any errors to the attention of the Reporter's

Office of the Supreme Court of Ohio. Attention: Walter S.

Kobalka, Reporter, or Justine Michael, Administrative

Assistant. Tel.: (614) 466-4961; in Ohio 1-800-826-9010.

Your comments on this pilot project are also welcome.

NOTE: Corrections may be made by the Supreme Court to the

full texts of the opinions after they have been released

electronically to the public. The reader is therefore advised

to check the bound volumes of Ohio St.3d published by West

Publishing Company for the final versions of these opinions.

The advance sheets to Ohio St.3d will also contain the volume

and page numbers where the opinions will be found in the bound

volumes of the Ohio Official Reports.

The State ex rel. Long, Appellant, v. Mihm, Admr., et al.,

Appellees.

[Cite as State ex rel. Long v. Mihm (1992), Ohio

St.3d .]

Workers' compensation -- Election of compensation under R.C.

4123.57 -- Unforeseen changed circumstances sufficient to

justify an election change -- Evidentiary basis of hearing

officer's decision specified, when.

(No. 91-1244 -- Submitted July 8, 1992 -- Decided

September 2, 1992.)

Appeal from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No.

90AP-1062.

Claimant-appellant, David L. Long, was injured in the

course of and arising from his employment with R.B.

Manufacturing Co. in 1977. His workers' compensation claim was

allowed for "amputation right second finger, laceration right

thumb." In early 1979, claimant was found to have a

fifteen-percent permanent and partial disability. Pursuant to

former R.C. 4123.57, he elected to receive his award as R.C.

4123.57(B) permanent partial disability compensation. In 1987,

his disability increased to twenty-two percent.

In 1989, claimant sought to change his election from R.C.

4123.57(B) permanent partial disability compensation to

4123.57(A) impaired earning capacity compensation.

Accompanying his motion was the medical report of attending

physician James C. Cameron, indicating that the medical

impairment caused by the allowed conditions had diminished

claimant's earning capacity. Claimant also submitted his own

affidavit, averring that:

"* * * At the time he made the initial election he was

unable to foresee the impact this injury would have upon him:

"(a) He is a laborer with no formal education or

skilled/semi-skilled training;

"(b) He is right handed;

"(c) The loss of feeling in his thumb, decreased strength

and pain in his right hand have substantially impacted his

ability to work:

"(1) He has to work harder now than he did in 1977-1979 in

order to perform the same tasks;

"(d) He must work harder than his co-workers in order to

get similar pay raises because he works slower;

"(e) He has been unable to perform certain job tasks and

duties which resulted in lost pay and/or lost opportunities for

overtime compensation;

"(f) He has been unable to advance or go into other work

situations because of his injury;

"(g) He would be able to work longer, more effectively and

more efficiently if it were not for this injury[.] * * *"

An Industrial Commission district hearing officer denied

claimant's motion, stating:

"The issue of change of elections is moot as District

Hearing Officer finds that claimant has not proven an

impairment in earning capacity. Claimant has not received any

treatment in his claim since 1978. He has been able to

continue working in the job he was working at the time of

injury. There has been no documented change in circumstances

since claimant's original election in 1979 such as an

additional allowance. Claimant testified that co-employees

with less seniority are getting paid more due to claimant's

industrial injury but there has been no factual evidence

submitted to support this contention. As such, claimant has

not proven good cause to change elections nor an impairment in

earning capacity."

The regional board of review affirmed. Industrial

Commission staff hearing officers ultimately modified the order

to reflect an affirmative denial of an election change, not

merely the issue's dismissal as moot.

Claimant filed a complaint in mandamus in the Court of

Appeals for Franklin County, alleging that the commission

abused its discretion in denying the change. The appellate

court disagreed and denied the writ.

This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of

right.

Ronald J. Koltak, for appellant.

Lee I. Fisher, Attorney General, and Jetta Mencer, for

appellees.

Per Curiam. Former R.C. 4123.57 required a successful

applicant for partial disability compensation to choose the

method of payment - - as permanent partial disability

compensation under R.C. 4123.57(B) or as 4123.57(A) impaired

earning capacity benefits. All future partial disability

awards were to be paid according to the method selected.

However, for "good cause shown" a claimant could change his or

her election. R.C. 4123.57(A). (136 Ohio Laws, Part I, 1160.)

"To establish good cause, a claimant must prove (1)

unforeseen changed circumstances subsequent to the initial

election, and (2) actual impaired earning capacity." State ex

rel. Combs v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. (1992), 62 Ohio St.3d

378, 381, 582 N.E.2d 990, 992.

"Unforeseen changed circumstances" has two elements, with

changed circumstances being a condition precedent to

consideration of foreseeability. The term appears to be

deliberately flexible in order to accommodate the many possible

situations that could merit a change of election. In our

limited encounters with "good cause," we have thus far provided

three examples of unforeseen changed circumstances sufficient

to justify an election change: (1) significant worsening of

claimant's condition (State ex rel. Simpson v. Indus. Comm.

[1991], 62 Ohio St.3d 162, 580 N.E.2d 779); (2) unexpected

transformation of a nonwork-preventive injury into a

work-prohibitive one (id.), and (3) recognition of additional

conditions after election (Combs, supra).

None of these elements is present here. Claimant stresses

his alleged post-election limitation on promotions and

overtime. The commission, however, was unpersuaded by

claimant's assertion. This determination was within the

commission's prerogative since it "alone shall be responsible

for the evaluation of the weight and credibility of the

evidence before it." State ex rel. Burley v. Coil Packing,

Inc. (1987), 31 Ohio St.3d 18, 20-21, 31 OBR 70, 72, 508 N.E.2d

936, 938. The commission thus did not abuse its discretion in

finding that claimant's statement, absent independent

verification, lacked credibility.

Procedurally, claimant asserts that the commission

violated State ex rel. Mitchell v. Robbins & Myers, Inc.

(1983), 6 Ohio St.3d 481, 6 OBR 531, 453 N.E.2d 721. This

claim is unpersuasive. The district hearing officer

specifically cited three reasons for her decision: (1) work

continuation, (2) lack of treatment, and (3) lack of

independent verification of lost pay. This explanation

comports with Mitchell.

Accordingly, the judgment of the court of appeals is

affirmed.

Judgment affirmed.

Moyer, C.J., Sweeney, Holmes, Douglas, Wright, H. Brown

and Resnick, JJ., concur.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.