Opinion

State ex rel. The Andersons v. Indus. Comm.

  • 1992 Ohio 90
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Sep 1, 1992
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.5%

The opinion

OPINIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

The full texts of the opinions of the Supreme Court of

Ohio are being transmitted electronically beginning May 27,

1992, pursuant to a pilot project implemented by Chief Justice

Thomas J. Moyer.

Please call any errors to the attention of the Reporter's

Office of the Supreme Court of Ohio. Attention: Walter S.

Kobalka, Reporter, or Justine Michael, Administrative

Assistant. Tel.: (614) 466-4961; in Ohio 1-800-826-9010.

Your comments on this pilot project are also welcome.

NOTE: Corrections may be made by the Supreme Court to the

full texts of the opinions after they have been released

electronically to the public. The reader is therefore advised

to check the bound volumes of Ohio St.3d published by West

Publishing Company for the final versions of these opinions.

The advance sheets to Ohio St.3d will also contain the volume

and page numbers where the opinions will be found in the bound

volumes of the Ohio Official Reports.

The State ex rel. The Andersons, Appellant, v. Industrial

Commission of Ohio et al., Appellees.

[Cite as State ex rel. The Andersons v. Indus. Comm.

(1992), Ohio St.3d .]

Workers' compensation -- Wage loss compensation -- Claimant's

layoff does not bar wage loss compensation, when --

Calculation of average weekly wage.

(No. 91-120 -- Submitted May 12, 1992 -- Decided September

2, 1992.)

Appeal from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No.

90AP-212.

Appellee-claimant, Todd Rosonowski, graduated from high

school in 1983. Unable to secure full-time employment, he took

a seasonal position with Johnston's Fruit Farm. On August 25,

1986, claimant was hired by appellant, The Andersons. Assigned

to the lawn fertilizer division, claimant was exposed to

chemicals while bagging, sealing and palletizing yard care

products.

At the time of hiring, appellant told claimant that the

work was strictly seasonal, lasting six to eight months. In

early 1987, claimant's hourly wage was raised from $6.04 to

$6.51 an hour. Shortly thereafter, claimant filed, and

appellant certified, a claim for "chemical rash, right hand."

On April 10, 1987, the lawn season ended and claimant was

laid off as planned. Because of disciplinary problems during

his tenure, appellant decided not to rehire claimant the next

season.

In June 1987, claimant saw Dr. Joseph Schneider for the

continuing rash on claimant's hand. Dr. Schneider diagnosed

claimant's condition as dyshidrotic eczema and contact

dermatitis with secondary infection. He released claimant to

return to work on July 13, 1987 with the restriction that he

avoid chemical exposure.

Claimant remained unemployed until January 1, 1988, and

became unemployed again on April 16, 1988.

On November 9, 1988, claimant asked appellee Industrial

Commission to set his average weekly wage ("AWW") at $260.40

and to award wage loss compensation under R.C. 4123.56(B). In

support, claimant submitted (1) Dr. Schneider's July 1987

report; (2) claimant's affidavits outlining his work history

and indicating an inability to find subsequent work due to his

allowed hand condition, and (3) his Ohio Bureau of Employment

Services card.

A commission district hearing officer, relying on Dr.

Schneider's reports, awarded wage loss compensation from April

10, 1987 through November 3, 1988 and "thereafter upon

submission of wage statements." Claimant's AWW was set at

$260.40, based on $6.51 per hour times forty hours. A regional

board of review modified the district hearing officer's order

to the extent that the wage loss award was to be offset by any

concurrent Ohio Bureau of Employment Services benefits. The

balance of the order was affirmed. Staff hearing officers, in

turn, affirmed the regional board in all but one respect,

resetting claimant's AWW at $237.37. Instead of multiplying

claimant's hourly wage by forty, staff hearing officers,

pursuant to R.C. 4123.61, divided claimant's total earnings for

the year prior to injury by the number of weeks he worked,

specifically excluding the period during which claimant was

laid off. Staff hearing officers reset claimant's AWW at

$237.37 by excluding weeks of unemployment from the number of

weeks divided into claimant's total wages.

Appellant sought a writ of mandamus from the Court of

Appeals for Franklin County, claiming that the commmission had

abused its discretion both in computing claimant's AWW and in

awarding wage loss compensation. The court of appeals

disagreed and denied the writ.

This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of

right.

Marshall & Melhorn and Michael S. Scalzo, for appellant.

Lee I. Fisher, Attorney General, Dennis L. Hufstader and

Teresa Oglesby McIntyre, for appellee Industrial Commission.

Gallon, Kalniz & Iorio Co., L.P.A., and Theodore A.

Bowman, for appellee claimant.

Per Curiam. Appellant challenges both the commission's

award of wage loss compensation and the commission's

computation of claimant's AWW. Our review reveals that the

commission's order was based in part on an abuse of discretion

and, accordingly, the judgment below is affirmed in part and

reversed in part.

Effective August 22, 1986, R.C. 4123.56(B) states:

"Where an employee in a claim allowed under this chapter

suffers a wage loss as a result of returning to employment

other than his former position of employment or as a result of

being unable to find employment consistent with the claimant's

physical capabilities, he shall receive compensation at

sixty-six and two-thirds of his weekly wage loss not to exceed

the statewide average weekly wage for a period not to exceed

two hundred weeks."

Supplementing the statute, Ohio Adm.Code 4121-3-32(D)

provides:

"In injury claims in which the date of injury, or in

occupational disease claims in which the date of disability, is

on or after August 22, 1986, the payment of compensation or

wage loss pursuant to division (B) of Section 4123.56 of the

Revised Code shall commence upon application with the finding

of any of the following:

"(1) The employee, as a direct result of the allowed

conditions in the claim, returns to employment other than his

former position of employment and suffers a wage loss.

"(2) The employee returns to his former position but

suffers a wage loss.

"(3) The employee, as a direct result of the allowed

conditions in the claim, is unable to find work consistent with

the employee's physical capabilities and suffers a wage loss."

The commission's award was premised on subsection (3) and

the commission's determinations: (1) that claimant received no

wages from April 10, 1987 through November 3, 1988, and (2)

that his lack of wages stemmed from his inability to work at

The Andersons or secure other employment because of his allowed

conditions. Appellant responds: (1) that the layoff is

evidence that there was no causal relationship between injury

and wage loss, and (2) that there is no contrary evidence of

the requisite causal relationship. We disagree.

We find initially that the commission abused its

discretion in awarding wage loss compensation from January 1,

1988 through April 15, 1988. The commission apparently found

that claimant did not work between April 10, 1987 and November

3, 1988. However, sworn wage statements substantiated total or

partial loss of wages only from April 10, 1987 through December

31, 1987 and April 16, 1988 forward. There is no evidence of

any wage loss from January 1, 1988 through April 15, 1988.

Claimant admits in his brief that he worked for Johnston's

Fruit Farm from January 1, 1988 through April 15, 1988.

Appellant asserts that claimant's layoff shows that any

wage loss was not caused by the allowed conditions. Prior

decisions have not addressed a layoff's effect on R.C.

4123.56(B) wage loss benefits. We have, however, discussed the

issue with respect to the companion provision for temporary

total disability compensation, now at R.C. 4123.56(A). State

ex rel. B.O.C. Group v. Indus. Comm. (1991), 58 Ohio St.3d 199,

569 N.E.2d 496.

Like R.C. 4123.56(B) benefits, temporary total disability

compensation replaces lost wages. State ex rel. Ashcraft v.

Indus. Comm. (1987), 34 Ohio St.3d 42, 517 N.E.2d 533.

Similarly, the temporarily and totally disabled claimant must

always causally relate the claimed disability to the industrial

injury. The requisite causal connection in temporary total

disability cases, can, under certain circumstances, be broken

when an employment relationship ends. Voluntary departure, for

example, severs the causation chain. "Involuntary" departure

does not. Ashcraft; State ex rel. Rockwell Internatl. v.

Indus. Comm. (1988), 40 Ohio St.3d 44, 531 N.E.2d 678.

An injury-induced departure is always considered

involuntary. Rockwell. The character of other departures,

however, can depend on many factors. Layoff is often

considered involuntary since it is initiated by the employer,

not the employee. State ex rel. B.O.C. Group, supra. In this

case, claimant's departure was initiated by the employer,

without evidence of any intent on claimant's part to abandon

employment. Appellant nonetheless in effect urges us to find

that the departure was voluntary, since claimant accepted

employment knowing that he would be released at season's end.

Appellant's position, however, conflicts with our policy of

encouraging gainful employment. See, e.g., State ex rel.

Wireman v. Indus. Comm. (1990), 49 Ohio St.3d 286, 551 N.E.2d

1265, and State ex rel. Diversitech Gen. Plastic Film Div. v.

Indus. Comm. (1989), 45 Ohio St.3d 381, 544 N.E.2d 677. Its

argument ignores the possibility that claimant took the

temporary position with The Andersons because it was the only

job he could find. For this reason, we reject appellant's

argument and find that claimant's layoff does not bar wage loss

compensation in this instance.

We must next determine whether "some evidence" supports a

causal relationship between claimant's allowed conditions and

his lack of wages. We find that "some evidence" exists. Dr.

Schneider's reports establish that claimant's allowed condition

would have prevented him from resuming his former position of

employment. Claimant's Ohio Bureau of Employment Services card

indicates that he was looking for work, presumably consistent

with Dr. Schneider's restrictions. Claimant's sworn wage

statements, however, indicate that his efforts were

unsuccessful. Taken together, these documents are "some

evidence" supporting claimant's alleged wage loss due to the

allowed conditions. State ex rel. Burley v. Coil Packing, Inc.

(1987), 31 Ohio St.3d 18, 31 OBR 70, 508 N.E.2d 936.

Turning to claimant's AWW, the commission, as a general

rule, computes AWW by dividing claimant's total wages for the

year preceding the date of injury by fifty-two weeks. R.C.

4123.61. The statute, however, also provides in part:

"In ascertaining the average weekly wage for the year

previous to the injury, or the date the disability due to the

occupational disease begins any period of unemployment due to

sickness, industrial depression, strike, lockout, or other

causes beyond the employee's control shall be eliminated."

In the case at bar, the commission calculated claimant's

AWW at $237.37 by excluding periods of unemployment. The

appellant claims that because claimant voluntarily accepted

seasonal work, layoff periods were not beyond his control and,

therefore, should not have been excluded. For the reasons

stated previously, this argument is rejected.

Appellant also alleges that the AWW creates a windfall for

claimant since it exceeds any weekly wage received by claimant

when he was working. This, too, fails. Wage loss compensation

is paid at sixty-six and two-thirds percent of the AWW.

Two-thirds of claimant's AWW, as set by the commission, is

$158.24. Claimant's weekly wage with appellant, based on a

forty-hour week, was $260.40. Claimant's AWW thus does not

provide a windfall for the claimant.

Appellant's claim that the commission did not adequately

explain its calculation also lacks merit. The commission's

order specifically indicated that it omitted weeks of

unemployment in arriving at its figure. Contrary to

appellant's representation, this explanation satisfies State ex

rel. Mitchell v. Robbins & Myers, Inc. (1983), 6 Ohio St.3d

481, 6 OBR 531, 453 N.E.2d 721.

We reverse that portion of the appellate court's judgment

sustaining the commission's wage loss award from January 1,

1988 through April 15, 1988. We order the commission to

recalculate the award in accordance with this decision.

The balance of the judgment is affirmed.

Judgment reversed in part,

affirmed in part

and writ allowed in part.

Moyer, C.J., Sweeney, Holmes, Douglas, Wright, H. Brown

and Resnick, JJ., concur.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.