Opinion

S.R. v. New Jersey Department of Community Affairs, Etc.

Court
New Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
Filed
Sep 22, 2025
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.4%

The opinion

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE

APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION

This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court ." Although it is posted on the

internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited. R. 1:36-3.

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

DOCKET NO. A-2369-23

S.R.,1

Petitioner-Appellant,

v.

NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT

OF COMMUNITY AFFAIRS,

DIVISION OF HOUSING AND

COMMUNITY RESOURCES,

Respondent-Respondent.

___________________________

Argued September 10, 2025 – Decided September 22, 2025

Before Judges Rose and Torregrossa-O'Connor.

On appeal from the New Jersey Department of

Community Affairs, Docket No. SRAP 101-22.

John M. Corcoran argued the cause for appellant (South

Jersey Legal Services, Inc., attorneys; Justine

Digeronimo, John M. Corcoran and Kenneth M.

Goldman, on the briefs).

1

We use initials consistent with the record provided on appeal. Accord R. 1:38-

3(c)(11).

Andrew Hedin, Deputy Attorney General, argued the

cause for respondent (Matthew J. Platkin, Attorney

General, attorney; Janet Greenberg Cohen, Assistant

Attorney General, of counsel; Andrew Hedin, on the

brief).

PER CURIAM

Petitioner S.R. appeals from a March 13, 2024 final agency decision of

the Department of Community Affairs (DCA), adopting an initial decision of

the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ), which terminated S.R. from the State

Rental Assistance Program (SRAP).2 We affirm.

I.

Although both parties moved for summary decision before the ALJ,

because judgment was granted in favor of DCA, we consider the facts in a light

most favorable to S.R. See Brill v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. of Am., 142 N.J. 520,

523 (1995). We summarize the pertinent facts and events from the record

provided on appeal, including the joint stipulation of material facts and the

certifications provided on behalf of S.R.

2

SRAP is "a rental assistance program for low-income individuals or

households, who are not recipients of Federal housing choice vouchers under

the Housing Choice Voucher Program (formerly known as the 'Section 8

Housing Assistance program')." N.J.A.C. 5:42-1.1(a); N.J.S.A. 52:27D-287.1.

A-2369-23

2

Since 2010, S.R.'s rent for his one-bedroom apartment in Sea Girt was

subsidized by SRAP. In 2016, S.R. pled guilty to fourth-degree criminal sexual

contact, N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3(b), as amended from second-degree sexual assault by

contact, N.J.S.A. 2C:14-2(b), for intentionally touching a twelve-year-old girl's

sexual or intimate parts. Accordingly, S.R. was classified as a Tier I sex

offender under Megan's Law, N.J.S.A. 2C:7-1 to -23, and therefore was required

to maintain lifetime sex offender registration with the state.

On February 22, 2017, DCA issued an initial decision terminating S.R.

from SRAP for violating the program's requirements because he was a Megan's

Law registrant. In its decision, DCA noted it "may deny admission for an

applicant or terminate assistance for a participant . . . . [i]f any member of the

family has committed . . . [a] corrupt or criminal act."

S.R. timely requested an informal hearing contesting his termination.

Thereafter, DCA issued an amended initial decision terminating S.R. from

SRAP because S.R. "ha[d] been arrested and convicted of . . . criminal sexual

contact."

A-2369-23

3

In August 2022, the matter was transmitted to the Office of Administrative

Law as a contested case.3 In an October 4, 2022, letter to DCA, S.R.'s attorney

sought a reasonable accommodation, under the Americans with Disabilities Act

(ADA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 to 12213, requesting DCA withdraw S.R.'s

termination from SRAP. In the letter, S.R.'s attorney stated S.R. "has been

developmentally disabled his entire life" and his "mental impairments

significantly impacted him [sic] committing a sexual offense in 2013." S.R.'s

counsel argued S.R. continued to receive psychological treatment for his

disability, he was "otherwise in good standing with the DCA and his current

landlord," and the "modification would not 'fundamentally alter' the nature of

the DCA's SRAP program."

In February 2023, DCA denied S.R.'s request for an accommodation under

the ADA. In its correspondence, DCA stated an accommodation would "directly

contravene" N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(g), which provides: "DCA shall deny admission

or terminate [SRAP] to sex offenders subject to a lifetime registration

requirement under a state sex offender registration program."

3

As the ALJ noted in her decision, the record does not explain the five-year

delay in transmitting the case. Nor do the parties provide an explanation on

appeal.

A-2369-23

4

On September 18, 2023, both parties simultaneously moved for summary

decision before the ALJ, who decided the matter on the papers. In support of

his claimed disability and request for reasonable accommodation, S.R. provided

certifications of his psychiatrist, mother, pastor, and community resource

workers. DCA did not file opposing certifications.

In her initial decision that followed, the ALJ concluded DCA did not abuse

its discretion in terminating S.R. from SRAP in view of his conviction and sex-

offender registration requirement. The ALJ recognized "the present language of

N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(g) removes all discretion" from DCA and now "compel[s

DCA] to terminate S.R." from SRAP in view of his lifetime sex offender

registration requirement under Megan's Law.

Noting DCA did not counter S.R.'s certifications and reports, the ALJ

further found S.R. established his disability. The ALJ stated DCA also failed to

use "the interactive process in response to [S.R.'s] request" for a reasonable

modification under the ADA to determine if any accommodation was possible.

Although the ALJ found DCA technically violated the interactive process,

she concluded that analysis would have been "unfruitful" because DCA was

compelled to terminate S.R. from SRAP under N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(g). The ALJ

A-2369-23

5

determined, notwithstanding S.R.'s disability, S.R. "[wa]s not exempt from the

requirement of N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(g)."

On December 12, 2023, S.R. filed exceptions to the initial decision,

arguing the ALJ's decision was "arbitrary, capricious, unreasonable, contrary to

law, and . . . otherwise not supported by the substantial credible evidence ."

Claiming he "made a prima facie case for a reasonable accommodation," S.R.

requested DCA rescind his termination from SRAP.

On March 13, 2024, DCA's Acting Commissioner issued a final decision,

adopting the ALJ's conclusion that N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(g) compelled DCA to

terminate S.R. from SRAP. The Acting Commissioner stated "the ALJ correctly

held that the current version of N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(g) controls in this case and

compelled termination because [S.R.] is a lifetime registrant sex offender."

However, the Acting Commissioner rejected the ALJ's "additional

background facts, and the conclusions that [S.R.] has a disability," noting a

factual hearing was not conducted "to question the authors" of the letters and

certifications submitted by S.R. in support of his disability. The Acting

Commissioner thus found the ALJ's finding on S.R.'s disability was

unnecessary. The Acting Commissioner reasoned "[t]he current regulation

requires [DCA] to terminate [S.R.] from SRAP because he is a lifetime sex

A-2369-23

6

offender registrant; there is no reasonable accommodation that could have been

made in this case because there is no middle ground between termination and

non-termination." The Acting Commissioner concluded "any accommodation

would completely eviscerate the purpose of the regulation."

On appeal, S.R. argues DCA erroneously concluded N.J.S.A. 5:42-4.1(g)

is not preempted by the ADA and maintains he is entitled to a reasonable

modification. S.R. contends "there is no dispute" he is disabled and would

otherwise meet all the essential requirements to receive SRAP benefits. In S.R.'s

view, his criminal conviction was "the direct result of his diagnosed disabilities"

as his mental impairment led him to engage in criminal behavior. S.R. therefore

asserts DCA wrongfully denied rental assistance based on his disability.

II.

Our review of an agency decision is well settled. Ordinarily, we defer to

the Commissioner's determination unless it was "arbitrary, capricious, or

unreasonable." Melnyk v. Bd. of Educ. of the Delsea Reg'l High Sch. Dist., 241

N.J. 31, 40 (2020). In making that determination, we consider:

(1) whether the agency's action violates express or

implied legislative policies, that is, did the agency

follow the law; (2) whether the record contains

substantial evidence to support the findings on which

the agency based its action; and (3) whether in applying

the legislative policies to the facts, the agency clearly

A-2369-23

7

erred in reaching a conclusion that could not reasonably

have been made on a showing of the relevant factors.

[In re Stallworth, 208 N.J. 182, 194 (2011) (quoting In

re Carter, 191 N.J. 474, 482-83 (2007)).]

An agency decision will be upheld "unless there is a clear showing that

(1) the agency did not follow the law; (2) the decision was arbitrary, capricious,

or unreasonable; or (3) the decision was not supported by substantial evidence."

In re Virtua-West Jersey Hosp. Voorhees for a Certificate of Need, 194 N.J. 413,

422 (2008). In determining whether agency action is arbitrary, capricious, or

unreasonable, our role is restricted to three inquiries:

(1) whether the agency action violates the enabling act's

express or implied legislative policies; (2) whether

there is substantial evidence in the record to support the

findings upon which the agency based application of

legislative policies; and (3) whether, in applying the

legislative policies to the facts, the agency clearly erred

by reaching a conclusion that could not reasonably have

been made upon a showing of the relevant factors.

[R.S. v. Div. of Med. Assistance and Health Servs., 434

N.J. Super. 250, 261 (App. Div. 2014) (quoting H.K. v.

Div. of Med. Assistance and Health Servs., 379 N.J.

Super. 321, 327 (App. Div. 2005)).]

We note, however, a court is "in no way bound by [an] agency's

interpretation of a statute or its determination of a strictly legal issue." Carter,

191 N.J. at 483 (quoting Mayflower Sec. Co., Inc v. Bureau of Sec. in Div. of

A-2369-23

8

Consumer Affs., 64 N.J. 85, 93 (1973)). "Because an agency's determination on

summary decision is a legal determination, [appellate] review [of that decision]

is de novo." L.A. v. Bd. of Educ. of Trenton, 221 N.J. 192, 204 (2015).

The standard for summary decision motions pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:1-12.5

is "substantially the same as that governing a motion under Rule 4:46-2 for

summary judgment in civil litigation." Id. at 203. As such, an agency must

ascertain "whether the competent evidential materials presented, when viewed

in the light most favorable to the non-moving party in consideration of the

applicable evidentiary standard, are sufficient to permit a rational factfinde r to

resolve the alleged disputed issue in favor of the non-moving party." Id. at 204

(quoting Brill, 142 N.J. at 523); see also N.J.A.C. 1:1-12.5(b) (providing a

summary decision "may be rendered if the papers and discovery which have

been filed together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue

as to any material fact challenged and that the moving party is entitled to prevail

as a matter of law").

However, our review of an agency's summary decision differs slightly

from our de novo review of a court's decision on summary judgment. See St.

Peter's Univ. Hosp. v. Lacy, 185 N.J. 1, 15 (2005). Although we employ a de

novo standard of review to an agency's determination that there are no genuine

A-2369-23

9

issues of material fact, we aim to "give substantial deference to the interpretation

an agency gives to a statute that the agency is charged with enforcing." Ibid.

"DCA has adopted the procedures it follows in administering the [SRAP]

as administrative rules." Bouie v. N.J. Dep't of Cmty. Affs., 407 N.J. Super.

518, 529 n.2 (App. Div. 2009) (citing N.J.A.C. 5:42-1.1 to -7.3). The

Commissioner of DCA "acts as the final decision-maker in proceedings

involving the termination of rental subsidies under" SRAP. Id. at 530 n.3. When

denying or terminating assistance to an individual, DCA must provide the

grounds for doing so and the process to request a fair hearing. N.J.A.C. 5:42-

4.3(a).

N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(j) provides, in pertinent part: "DCA may deny

assistance to an applicant or terminate assistance to a participant family if any

member of the family has committed, based on the preponderance of the

evidence[,] . . . . a violent criminal act." In 2018, the regulation was amended,

adding: "DCA shall deny admission or terminate assistance to sex offenders

subject to a lifetime registration requirement under a state sex offender

registration program." N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(g).

Title II of the ADA provides "no qualified individual with a disability

shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in or be denied

A-2369-23

10

the benefits of the services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be

subjected to discrimination by any such entity." 42 U.S.C. § 12132 (emphasis

added). The ADA regulations require public entities make "reasonable

modifications in policies, practices, or procedures when the modifications are

necessary to avoid discrimination on the basis of disability, unless the public

entity can demonstrate that making the modifications would fundamentally alter

the nature of the service, program, or activity." 28 C.F.R. § 35.130(b)(7)(i)

(emphasis added). "Title II 'requires only "reasonable modifications" that would

not fundamentally alter the nature of the service provided, and only when the

individual seeking modification is otherwise eligible for the service.'" Lasky v.

Moorestown Twp., 425 N.J. Super. 530, 539 (App. Div. 2012) (quoting

Tennessee v. Lane, 541 U.S. 509, 532 (2004)); see also 42 U.S.C. § 12131(2).

With these governing legal principles in view, we reject S.R.'s preemption

argument. DCA does not dispute the ADA preempts conflicting state law. As

DCA correctly argues, however, the issue turns on whether S.R. was terminated

from SRAP pursuant to his disability or his Megan's Law registration.

It is undisputed S.R. was convicted of criminal sexual contact with a minor

and is subject to lifetime sex offender registration under Megan's Law. The

plain language of N.J.A.C. 5:42-4.1(g) makes clear DCA must terminate a SRAP

A-2369-23

11

participant who is required to maintain lifetime sex offender registration.

Accordingly, we discern no error in DCA's final decision concluding S.R. is

ineligible to receive SRAP benefits in view of his lifetime Megan's Law

registration status.

Although we are satisfied DCA properly terminated S.R.'s SRAP benefits,

for the sake of completeness, we address S.R.'s contention he was terminated

from SRAP because of his disability and he was entitled to an accommodation

under the ADA. Citing his unrefuted certifications, S.R. contends "there is no

dispute" he is disabled and he "meet[s] all essential [SRAP] requirements." S.R.

argues his criminal conviction was "the direct result of his diagnosed

disabilities" because his mental impairment led him to engage in criminal

behavior. S.R. therefore argues he established a prima facie case of disability

discrimination. S.R. asserts DCA failed to show his proposed accommodation

"would fundamentally alter the nature of the SRAP program."

To make a prima facie showing of disability discrimination under Title II

of the ADA for failure to make a reasonable accommodation, a party must show:

"(1) he [or she] is a qualified individual; (2) with a disability; (3) [who] was

excluded from participation in or denied the benefits of the services, programs,

or activities of a public entity, or was subjected to discrimination by any such

A-2369-23

12

entity; (4) by reason of his [or her] disability." Haberle v. Troxell, 885 F.3d

170, 178-79 (3d Cir. 2018) (second alteration in original) (quoting Bowers v.

Nat'l Collegiate Athletic Ass'n, 475 F.3d 524, 553 n.32 (3d Cir. 2007)).

In the present matter, S.R. failed to establish DCA terminated his SRAP

assistance "by reason of his disability." See ibid. Although S.R.'s certifications

aver his sexual conduct was the result of his disability, S.R.'s purported

disability does not excuse his criminal conviction, which subjected him to

lifelong Megan's Law registration. Nor do his certifications otherwise "link" his

termination from SRAP to his disability, as S.R. contends. Accordingly, we

discern no error in DCA's decision terminating S.R. from SRAP.

To the extent not addressed, S.R.'s remaining arguments lack sufficient

merit to warrant discussion in a written opinion. R. 2:11-3(e)(1)(E). Pursuant

to our governing standard of review, see Melnyk, 241 N.J. at 40, we affirm

substantially for the reasons expressed in the Acting Commissioner's cogent

final decision, which "is supported by sufficient credible evidence on the record

as a whole," R. 2:11-3(e)(1)(D).

Affirmed.

A-2369-23

13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.