Opinion

Slater, Ronnie v. ADECCO USA, Inc.

  • 2025 TN WC App. 36
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 20, 2025
Status
Published
On the bench
Godkin, Weaver, Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 38.9%

The opinion

FILED

Aug 20, 2025

06:55 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Ronnie Slater ) Docket No. 2020-01-0512

)

v. ) State File No. 49580-2020

)

ADECCO USA, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee alleges the trial court erred in declining to order

the employer to authorize additional medical treatment, including left knee surgery. The

employee initially injured his low back while working in the course and scope of his

employment. After the employee underwent lumbar surgery, the employer offered him a

transitional light duty position at a local nonprofit organization, which he accepted. While

working in that position, the employee reported a fall that he claimed caused a left knee

injury. Following a previous expedited hearing, the trial court ordered the employer to

provide a panel of physicians for evaluation and treatment of the left knee. The panel-

selected physician initially offered an opinion that the employee’s left knee condition was

primarily caused by the work-related fall the employee had described. He subsequently

recommended left knee surgery. Later, in response to a questionnaire from the employer,

the physician appeared to rescind his original causation opinion. During his subsequent

deposition, the physician testified that the left knee condition could have been caused by

the incident the employee described, but that causation was difficult to ascertain under the

circumstances. Following receipt of all evidence, declarations, and briefs filed by the

parties, the trial court issued a decision on the record in which it found the employee had

not come forward with sufficient evidence indicating he was likely to prevail at trial in

proving the cause of the need for additional left knee treatment, and the employee appealed.

Upon careful consideration of the record, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the

case.

Presiding Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which

Judge Pele I. Godkin and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

1

Carmen Y. Ware, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Ronnie Slater

Charles E. Pierce, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, ADECCO USA, Inc.

Factual and Procedural Background

Ronnie Slater (“Employee”), a 58-year-old resident of Chattanooga, was employed

by ADECCO USA, Inc. (“Employer”), a staffing agency, and was assigned to work at a

company in Georgia. On January 20, 2020, Employee was helping maneuver large rolls

of material at work when he felt a pop in his back and experienced pain radiating down his

left leg. He reported the accident to Employer and eventually came under the care of Dr.

Alex Sielatycki, who diagnosed an L5-S1 disc herniation with radiculopathy. Employee

underwent surgical treatment of this condition in September 2020. At a follow-up visit in

November 2020, Employee reported “significant improvement” in his low back pain but

complained of persistent pain in his left leg. Nevertheless, Dr. Sielatycki concluded he was

“fully recovered” from the lumbar surgery and should proceed with physical therapy.

According to Dr. Sielatycki’s report, Employee expressed interest in pain management

treatment, and Dr. Sielatycki made a referral for that treatment. Employee was instructed

to follow up with Dr. Sielatycki six weeks after starting physical therapy.

According to Dr. Sielatycki’s February 12, 2021 report, Employee developed

COVID-19 at some point after his previous appointment and was hospitalized for several

weeks. Employee reported that he recovered from that illness and returned to work

performing light duty at a local nonprofit company. He also told Dr. Sielatycki that, in late

January 2021, an incident occurred at work when “he was reaching and lifting some empty

boxes and tripped over a pallet and fell backwards landing on his back.” Employee

reported that he experienced “more soreness in his lower and upper back.” He also reported

“discomfort in his left leg,” but there was no specific reference to the left knee. Under

“Review of Symptoms,” Dr. Sielatycki noted “no muscle pain, no muscle weakness, and

no joint pain.” He diagnosed “ongoing troubles with back pain” and concluded the recent

fall had “merely exacerbated his underlying condition of lumbar spondylolisthesis,” but he

offered no diagnosis concerning the left knee. He recommended that Employee see a

chiropractor, and he also commented that Employee “reported to me significant

depression . . . and feeling out of control of his life and he is requesting a psychiatric

evaluation.” Dr. Sielatycki agreed and made a referral to a psychiatrist.

Over the course of the following six months, Employee continued to follow up with

Dr. Sielatycki. In his May 2021 report, Dr. Sielatycki noted that “[t]he patient has

requested a referral to psychiatry, but because this issue was not work related, workers’

compensation was not able to provide this service.” However, in that same report, Dr.

Sielatycki commented that “I do believe his injury, with need for surgery . . . contributed

2

to his psychiatric distress and depression.” There was no mention of left knee pain in that

report.

In a September 2021 report, Employee complained of low back pain and reported

he was taking hydrocodone as prescribed by a pain management specialist. Employee

advised Dr. Sielatycki that his symptoms were “well managed” with the pain medication,

but he also reported “residual numbness and weakness in his left foot.” Dr. Sielatycki

again diagnosed lumbar radiculopathy and stated that, “[f]rom a back standpoint, I believe

he is at maximum medical improvement.” Dr. Sielatycki ordered a functional capacity

evaluation. He also stated, “[a]s far as the knee pain is concerned, I am going to refer him

over to one of our knee specialists to evaluate that joint.” He did not offer any opinion in

that report regarding any left knee diagnosis or the cause of any left knee dysfunction.

On October 15, 2021, Employee filed a petition seeking a court order compelling

Employer to provide treatment for both his psychiatric condition and his alleged left knee

injury, as well as additional temporary disability benefits and attorneys’ fees. Following a

period of discovery, Employer filed notices in March 2022 indicating it had provided

panels of physicians for both a psychiatric evaluation and a left knee evaluation. As a

result, the court issued an expedited hearing order that addressed only Employee’s claim

for additional disability benefits, which the court granted in part.

With respect to the left knee claim, Employee eventually came under the care of Dr.

Jason Rogers, an orthopedic specialist. Employee first saw Dr. Rogers in July 2022. Dr.

Rogers’s report from that date indicated Employee had experienced “left lower extremity

instability at work which caused him to fall.” Employee described “constant pain with an

occasional popping.” Dr. Rogers provided Employee with a cortisone injection and a knee

brace, and he prescribed physical therapy.

In August 2022, Dr. Rogers noted that Employee did not get relief from the cortisone

injection, and Employee rated his pain at 10 out of 10. He had not been approved for

physical therapy, which Dr. Rogers again recommended. However, Dr. Rogers’s report

also indicated that Employee “has reached maximum medical improvement.” Employee

returned in October, and Dr. Rogers noted that his attorney “is requesting a permanent

partial impairment rating.” In response, Dr. Rogers stated, “this does not usually occur

until after maximum medical improvement,” apparently not recalling the statement in his

August report addressing maximum medical improvement.

In December 2022, Employee filed another request for an expedited hearing to

address Dr. Rogers’s recommendation for physical therapy to treat the left knee condition

and for additional temporary disability benefits. Employer filed a response arguing there

was insufficient evidence to indicate the left knee condition arose primarily from a work-

related accident. Employer further asserted that Employee had “made inconsistent

3

accounts of the origin of the left knee pain.” In response, Employee asserted that Dr.

Rogers had confirmed a causal relationship between the January 2021 work incident and

the need for left knee treatment. In a March 14, 2023 expedited hearing order, the trial

court ordered Employer to authorize the physical therapy as prescribed by Dr. Rogers. That

order was not appealed.

Over the next several months, the court conducted periodic status conferences to

address preparations for trial. Meanwhile, Employee returned to Dr. Rogers in June 2023,

and the report of that visit reflected diagnoses of left knee pain and osteoarthritis. Dr.

Rogers again indicated that “Patient is at MMI.” In an August 2023 report, Dr. Rogers

noted that Employee’s condition had “worsened overall.” He recommended additional

physical therapy and “viscosupplementation.” In November 2023, Dr. Rogers noted that

the viscosupplementation “did not provide relief.” He discussed the possibility of surgery

with Employee and offered him an injection. In December 2023, Dr. Rogers ordered an

MRI of the left knee due to increasing instability. The MRI confirmed “degeneration in

the patellofemoral joint” and “a tear in the meniscus.” In his March 2024 report, Dr. Rogers

noted that Employee “has a history of arthritis in the kneecap and a meniscus tear, likely

caused by one of his falls,” as well as a history of “degeneration in his patellofemoral joint.”

Dr. Rogers also indicated that Employee had experienced “repeated falls.” He

recommended surgery to “clean out the meniscus” and the “patellofemoral area where the

arthritis and cartilage damage are present.” He also noted that knee replacement would

likely be necessary in the future.

In response to Dr. Rogers’s evaluation and recommendations, Employer declined to

authorize the left knee surgery, citing a dispute regarding the primary cause of the need for

that treatment. Following two more status conferences, Employee filed a third request for

an expedited hearing in August 2024, asking the court to compel Employer to authorize

the knee surgery. In support of his position, Employee provided Dr. Rogers’s responses to

a medical questionnaire prepared by his attorney in which Dr. Rogers agreed that the “need

for treatment to the left knee [is] greater than 50% related to the work injury.” Employer

then sought to depose several physicians, including Dr. Rogers, Dr. Vaughn, and Dr.

Musick. 1 In addition, Employer filed Dr. Rogers’s responses to its own medical

questionnaire, which it asserted contradicted his earlier causation opinions.

After several delays and requests for extensions of time, the court set filing

deadlines in a February 2025 order. Thereafter, Employee filed the deposition transcripts

of Dr. Rogers, whose deposition encompassed testimony on three separate occasions in

November 2024, January 2025, and March 2025, as well as the deposition transcript of Dr.

1

Employee sought to quash the deposition notices for Dr. Vaughn and Dr. Musick, but the court allowed

those depositions to proceed in a September 16, 2024 order.

4

Vaughn. Each party then filed briefs, and the trial court considered all evidence and briefs

submitted by the parties in making a decision on the record. 2

In its May 28, 2025 expedited hearing order, the trial court concluded that Employee

had not come forward with sufficient evidence indicating that the alleged January 2021 fall

at work was the primary cause of the need for additional left knee treatment. Specifically,

after reviewing Dr. Rogers’s deposition testimony, the Court determined that “Dr. Rogers

does not have a definitive opinion about the causation of [Employee’s] left knee injury.”

As a result, the court concluded that Employee had not shown a likelihood of prevailing on

that issue at trial, and it denied his request for an order compelling additional treatment for

the left knee. Employee has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing the trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2024). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp.

of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar deference need

be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.” Goodman v.

Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2024).

Analysis

At an expedited hearing in which an employee seeks additional temporary disability

and/or medical benefits, the employee has the burden of coming forward with sufficient

evidence to convince the trial court he is likely to prevail at trial in proving entitlement to

such benefits by a preponderance of the evidence. See, e.g., Ridley v. Mature Care of

Standifer Place, LLC, No. 2022-01-0478, 2024 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 24, at

*15 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. July 9, 2024). A trial court is often tasked with

2

In lieu of conducting an in-person evidentiary hearing, a trial court is authorized in certain circumstances

to issue a decision following a review of the record. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(d)(2); Tenn. Comp.

R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.15(1)(e).

5

reviewing expert medical testimony in assessing an employee’s entitlement to additional

benefits, and the court has discretion to accept the medical opinion that offers the more

probable explanation. Kelley v. Express Services, Inc., No. 2023-06-1638, 2024 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 4, at *12-13 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Feb. 26, 2024).

However, when the expert medical proof is presented by deposition, an appellate court is

in an equivalent position with the trial court to assess that evidence. See, e.g., Lavender v.

Saturn Corp., No. M2002-00759-WC-R3-CV, 2003 Tenn. LEXIS 348, at *3-4 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel May 5, 2003) (“We may make an independent assessment of the

medical proof which is submitted by deposition, reports or records.”). Finally, on appeal,

we are to apply a presumption that the findings and conclusions are of the workers’

compensation judge are correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7).

Here, the critical issue is whether Employee came forward with sufficient evidence

to convince the court he is likely to prevail at trial in proving his left knee condition arose

primarily from a work-related accident. To date, Employee has not clearly addressed

whether he claims the left knee injury arose as a direct and natural consequence of the

original January 2020 work accident, whether the left knee condition arose primarily from

a new and distinct work accident in January 2021, or whether a work-related accident

caused a compensable aggravation of a preexisting left knee condition. Regardless of

which theory of recovery Employee ultimately pursues, however, we cannot conclude the

trial court erred in determining the causation opinions offered by Dr. Rogers to date are

insufficient to meet Employee’s burden of proof.

As the trial court noted, Dr. Rogers’s records contain various inconsistent statements

regarding maximum medical improvement and causation. Dr. Rogers responded

differently to medical questionnaires submitted by each party, but the trial court

specifically discounted the questionnaire presented by Employer’s counsel because, in the

court’s view, it included factual allegations not supported by the record. Nevertheless, the

court determined that Dr. Rogers’s deposition testimony was inadequate to meet

Employee’s burden of proof because it was equivocal as to the issue of medical causation.

Specifically, the court noted Dr. Rogers’s testimony that he could not determine when the

cartilage damage occurred and his statement that “there is no way of knowing the timing

or chronicity of the degeneration in the patellofemoral joint.” He also expressed difficulty

in assessing causation in circumstances where he did not have the opportunity to examine

the patient close in time to the alleged accident and no diagnostic study was performed

until several years after the alleged accident. Ultimately, in Dr. Rogers’s view, a

determination of causation is driven primarily by the timing of the patient’s pain and other

symptoms, which he could not determine based on the record.

Moreover, Dr. Sielatycki’s February 2021 report, which is the only medical record

close in time to the alleged January 2021 fall, does not indicate that Employee described a

6

knee injury, a twisting injury, or knee pain caused by that fall. Instead, according to Dr.

Sielatycki’s report, Employee complained of low back pain. Although Dr. Sielatycki noted

a complaint of “discomfort in his left leg,” he also noted “no joint pain.” In addition,

several of Dr. Sielatycki’s reports from before the January 2021 fall documented

Employee’s complaints of pain and discomfort in the left leg, even after the September

2020 back surgery. Ultimately, Dr. Sielatycki concluded the January 2021 fall had “merely

exacerbated his underlying condition of lumbar degenerative spondylolisthesis.” In short,

the February 2021 report contains no mention of a knee-twisting incident as later described

by Employee, and there was no complaint regarding the left knee specifically. This report

is consistent with and helps further explain Dr. Rogers’s testimony describing the difficulty

in assessing causation of the left knee condition. Thus, under the circumstances, we agree

with the trial court that Employee has not come forward with sufficient evidence to indicate

a likelihood of prevailing at trial in proving the left knee condition arose primarily from a

work-related accident.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

7

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Ronnie Slater ) Docket No. 2020-01-0512

)

v. ) State File No. 49580-2020

)

ADECCO USA, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced case

was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 20th day of

August, 2025.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Carmen Y. Ware X cyware@thewarelawfirm.com

Charles E. Pierce X cepierce@mijs.com

jdhaynes@mijs.com

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.