Opinion

Morris, Damon Curry v. Select Services

  • 2025 TN WC App. 35
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 19, 2025
Status
Published
On the bench
Weaver, Godkin, Conner
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 38.8%

The opinion

FILED

Aug 19, 2025

07:10 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Damon Curry Morris Docket No. 2022-08-1069

v. State File No. 73213-2022

Select Services, et al.,

and

Troy Haley, Administrator of the Bureau

of Workers’ Compensation Subsequent

Injury and Vocational Recovery Fund

Appeal from the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge

Reversed and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee claimed he suffered arm and shoulder injuries

due to an alleged workplace assault committed by his supervisor. The employer denied

the assault occurred and denied the employee sustained any work-related injuries. Pursuant

to a prior expedited hearing order, the employer provided a panel of physicians and

authorized limited medical treatment. Thereafter, an MRI revealed a small partial tear in

the left rotator cuff. The employer declined to approve additional treatment recommended

by the authorized physician and declined to approve the authorized physician’s referral to

a specialist. As a result, the employee requested another expedited hearing, after which the

trial court ordered the employer to authorize the referral to a specialist for evaluation and

treatment of the left shoulder despite acknowledging the lack of any expert medical

evidence indicating that the employee’s left shoulder condition was primarily caused by

the alleged workplace assault. Upon careful consideration of the record, we reverse the

trial court’s order and remand the case.

Presiding Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which

Judge Pele I. Godkin and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

Eric E. Lindquester, London, Kentucky, for the employer-appellant, Select Services

Damon Curry Morris, Memphis, Tennessee, employee-appellee, pro se

Timothy Kellum, Memphis, Tennessee, for the appellee, Subsequent Injury and Vocational

Recovery Fund

Factual and Procedural Background

Damon Curry Morris (“Employee”) worked for Select Services (“Employer”) in

Memphis, Tennessee as an administrative assistant. On September 21, 2022, Employee

alleged he suffered a workplace injury when his supervisor grabbed his arm during a

confrontation. After Employee reported to work that morning, Employee’s supervisor,

Angelia Skipper, announced she was restructuring the business and had eliminated

Employee’s position. Ms. Skipper offered Employee the opportunity to work as a “Direct

Support Professional,” but he declined. Employee asked whether he was being terminated

or laid off, but Ms. Skipper allegedly declined to answer that question. Thereafter, the

discussion escalated into a confrontation. Ms. Skipper advised Employee she would pay

him for the day but that he needed to leave the premises because she had to leave the office.

According to one of his written statements filed in support of his petition for benefits,

Employee walked to his desk and “gathered my belongings. I placed my backpack on my

back over my right shoulder, I picked up my lunch with my right hand, and picked up the

stack of papers with my left hand.” Ms. Skipper then advised him that any materials

belonging to Employer needed to be left behind, including any work-related papers.

Employee stated that Ms. Skipper approached him from behind, grabbed his left arm near

the wrist, tried to take the papers from his left hand, and a struggle ensued. Employee

responded that she was assaulting him, and she let go. Employee then left the office and

called the police.

Employee acknowledged suffering from numerous preexisting medical conditions,

including congestive heart failure, kidney disease, pulmonary embolism, renal carcinoma,

and a kidney transplant. He required regular dialysis treatments and apparently had a port

in his left arm that Employee described as an “AV fistula.” 1 According to Employee, when

Ms. Skipper grabbed his left arm, it was near the site of the AV fistula. Employee claimed

that bruising began to form on his forearm immediately following the confrontation, and

1

An AV fistula is formed by “a procedure that connects an artery to a vein in preparation for dialysis.”

Preparing for Dialysis, https://www.yalemedicine.org/conditions/preparing-dialysis-av-fistula (last visited

Aug. 15, 2025).

2

that he showed the bruising to a co-worker, Patricia Spencer, and to the police officers who

responded to his call.

According to the police report, Employee’s description of the event to the officer

differed somewhat from his written statement. The police report suggests that Employee

was placing personal items in a box in preparation to leave when Ms. Skipper demanded

to see the items he was placing in the box. According to that report, Ms. Skipper

“approached him from behind, grabbed his personal documents, and grabbed and squeezed

his left arm extremely tight, resulting in pain and reddish bruising.” The officer confirmed

in his report that he “observed discoloration and bruising on victim[’s] left arm.” Employee

produced photographs of his left arm in support of his claim. However, neither Employee’s

written statement nor the police report contained any reference to complaints concerning

the left shoulder.

After the work incident, Employee sought treatment at an emergency room.

According to the emergency room records, Employee reported on September 23, 2022, that

he was experiencing “left arm pain and bruising that radiates from the forearm up the

extremity.” He denied any neck pain, back pain, weakness, numbness, or any other

symptoms. An ultrasound of the left arm showed no acute abnormality, and x-rays showed

“no acute fracture or malalignment.” The physical examination showed left forearm

tenderness but no swelling. There were no physical findings or diagnoses related to the

left shoulder. Employee was diagnosed with “pain of left upper extremity.”

Following unsuccessful mediation, Employee filed a request for an expedited

hearing and a motion to add Tennessee’s Subsequent Injury and Vocational Recovery Fund

(“the Fund”) as a party-defendant. In a February 2023 order, the court granted Employee’s

motion to add the Fund.

In May 2023, approximately eight months after the alleged incident, Employee

sought treatment on his own with Dr. Shawn Price at OrthoSouth. Employee advised Dr.

Price that not only did his supervisor grab his left wrist, but she also twisted his left arm.

He reported suffering from pain in his wrist and “anterior shoulder” following the work

incident. Employee described his left shoulder pain as “sharp and achy,” but admitted he

was not currently taking any pain medications for his symptoms. Dr. Price ordered an MRI

of the left shoulder, which revealed a “small high-grade partial tear of the anterior

supraspinatus attachment.”

In October 2023, Employee was seen by Dr. Price’s colleague at OrthoSouth, Dr.

Thomas Giel. Dr. Giel concluded Employee was not a good surgical candidate and

recommended conservative treatment, including physical therapy. After undergoing some

therapy, Employee reported to Dr. Giel’s nurse practitioner in November 2023 that his

symptoms were “30% better.” As a result, she recommended additional therapy.

3

Following a period of discovery, the trial court issued an expedited hearing order in

March 2024 in which it determined Employee was likely to prevail at trial in proving the

occurrence of a compensable event. As a result, it ordered Employer to provide Employee

a panel of physicians from which Employee could select a provider “to treat and evaluate

his alleged work-related injury.” Employee’s claim for the payment of past medical bills

and temporary disability benefits was denied at that time. That order was not appealed.

Thereafter, Employer provided a panel of physicians, from which Employee

selected Dr. John Goodfred. In an April 2024 report, Dr. Goodfred stated that Employee

reported having “sustained a left shoulder injury while at work.” Employee told Dr.

Goodfred he had previously sought treatment on his own with Dr. Giel, who had diagnosed

a rotator cuff tear. However, according to Employee, he was unable to undergo surgery to

repair this condition due to his co-morbid cardiac and renal conditions. Consequently, Dr.

Goodfred prescribed physical therapy and referred Employee back to Dr. Giel for further

evaluation and treatment.

Employer declined to authorize any further treatment in response to Dr. Goodfred’s

report. It denied Employee’s rotator cuff condition was causally related to the alleged work

incident, which it maintained did not occur as described by Employee.

Thereafter, Employee requested a second expedited hearing. In support of his

request for benefits, he filed four Rule 72 Declarations, three of which were filed before

the first expedited hearing. In the first, dated February 17, 2023, Employee wrote that

“[t]he assault caused significant bruising to the left arm.” There was no mention of an

alleged twisting incident or any symptoms related to the left shoulder. In a second

statement dated July 21, 2023, Employee wrote he had sustained “severe bruising to left

arm,” with no mention of left shoulder symptoms. In the third statement, dated January 5,

2024, Employee wrote that he had suffered from “[s]evere contusion and bruising to the

left arm.” Again, there was no mention of the left shoulder or an alleged twisting incident.

Finally, in a Rule 72 Declaration dated February 3, 2025, Employee described “significant

bruising to left arm.” It also contained the statement, “Noticed [tear] in left shoulder,” but

it did not describe any alleged twisting incident.

For its part, Employer denied that the alleged assault occurred. Ms. Skipper signed

an affidavit in May 2025 stating, in relevant part, as follows:

9. I did not touch or grab [Employee] on September 21, 2022.

10. There has never been any physical altercation between [Employee]

and myself on that day or on any date.

Ms. Skipper also alleged in her affidavit that, after telling Employee she had

eliminated his position, he threatened to “call the media” and “do a press conference.” She

4

further asserted Employee accused her of discriminating against him and stated he would

be contacting a lawyer. 2

Following the second expedited hearing, the trial court issued a June 4, 2025 order

in which it concluded Employer had failed to comply with its previous order for medical

benefits. Specifically, the trial court determined that “allowing [Employee] to select Dr.

Goodfred from a panel and then abruptly denying the claim after one visit does not comply

with the Court’s previous expedited hearing order.” However, the court also agreed with

Employer that Employee had not come forward with any evidence that his left shoulder

condition was causally related to the alleged work incident. Nevertheless, the court ordered

Employer to “promptly authorize and schedule the physical therapy recommended by Dr.

Goodfred and an appointment with Dr. Giel.” Employer has appealed.

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing the trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2024). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp.

of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar deference need

be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.” Goodman v.

Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2024).

Analysis

This appeal requires us to consider at what point in the course of litigation an

employee bears the burden of coming forward with evidence that he or she is likely to

prevail at trial in proving the medical condition requiring treatment arose primarily from

the alleged work-related incident. Previously, we have addressed this issue in other factual

contexts. For example, we first addressed an employee’s entitlement to a panel of

physicians in McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk.

2

In preparation for the first expedited hearing, Ms. Skipper signed an affidavit in November 2023

describing the incident. In her affidavit, she did not discuss the alleged physical altercation and did not

respond to Employee’s description of that part of the incident. Thus, at the first expedited hearing,

Employee’s testimony regarding the alleged physical altercation was unrefuted.

5

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). In McCord,

the employee asserted she had sustained an injury while lifting boxes at work. Id. at *3.

She did not immediately report the incident to the employer, but she sought medical

treatment at an emergency room twice over the following two days. Id. She then reported

the work accident to her employer several days later. Id. at *4-5. On appeal, we considered

whether the employee was entitled to medical benefits and stated as follows:

Employee testified without contradiction that she felt symptoms in her low

back while lifting boxes at work on October 3, 2014. The record is

uncontradicted that she visited the emergency room twice over the following

two days complaining of low back or right shoulder symptoms. Employer’s

representative . . . admitted that Employee’s job duties included lifting

boxes . . . . The on-site supervisor . . . stated that Employee attempted to give

him “medical paperwork” on October 7, and that he instructed her to give the

paperwork directly to her employer. Under the particular circumstances of

this case, Employee has come forward with sufficient evidence entitling her

to a panel of physicians. However, whether the alleged work accident

resulted in a compensable injury has yet to be determined.

Id. at *17. Thus, in McCord, the occurrence of the work accident and the complaints of

back pain were unrefuted. Since we issued the McCord opinion, it has been cited on

numerous occasions for the proposition that, to be entitled to a panel of physicians, an

employee must timely report a work-related accident and express a need for medical care,

yet need not produce evidence, at that early stage of the case, that he or she suffered a

compensable injury arising primarily from the work accident. See also Tenn. Comp. R. &

Regs. 0800-02-01-.06(1) (2018) (stating an employee is entitled to a panel of physicians

“[f]ollowing receipt of notice of a workplace injury and the employee expressing a need

for medical care”). Here, as of the date of the March 2024 expedited hearing, Employee’s

testimony regarding the alleged physical altercation was unrefuted, and the court ordered

Employer to provide a panel of physicians.

Conversely, in Berdnik v. Fairfield Glade Community Club, No. 2016-04-0328,

2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 32 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 18,

2017), we reversed a trial court’s interlocutory order for additional medical treatment. In

that case, the employee worked at a country club restaurant. Id. at *2. She asserted that,

while reaching into an ice machine to fill a five-gallon bucket with ice, she felt “something”

in her back. Id. at *2-3. She did not seek medical treatment immediately but reported the

incident to her supervisor four days later. Id. at *3. Her employer did not provide a panel

of physicians at the time she reported the incident and did not authorize any medical care.

Id. As a result, she sought treatment on her own. Id. An MRI completed the following

month showed evidence of degenerative disc disease and central canal stenosis, as well as

evidence of a prior fusion surgery. Id. Her claim for workers’ compensation benefits was

denied due to “chronic back issues[,] not work related.” Id. at *3-4. Thereafter, the

6

employer sent the employee for a medical evaluation with an orthopedic physician of its

choosing. Id. at *4. The physician concluded that there was no evidence of an acute low

back injury and that the employee had suffered, at most, a temporary exacerbation of her

preexisting condition. Id. Following an expedited hearing, however, the trial court ordered

the employer to authorize additional medical care despite its finding that the employee “had

not established she would likely prevail in proving a compensable injury.” Id. at *5-6. We

reversed that determination, concluding that the employee had not satisfied her burden of

proof at that interlocutory stage of the case. Id. at *17; see also Shannon v. United Parcel

Service, Inc., No. 2015-06-0052, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 47, at *8 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Dec. 3, 2015) (finding the lesser evidentiary burden at an

expedited hearing does not relieve an employee of the burden of producing evidence of an

injury by accident that arose primarily out of and in the course and scope of employment).

Moreover, in Pool v. Jarmon D&Q Transport, No. 2015-06-0510, 2016 TN Wrk.

Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 1 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 4, 2016), we addressed

whether an employee is entitled to a “causation opinion” paid for by the employer. In Pool,

the employee began suffering from headaches and respiratory problems while operating

the employer’s shuttle vans. Id. at *2. The employee alleged these conditions were caused

by “mold in the vehicles at work.” Id. The employer provided a panel of physicians, and

the selected physician diagnosed “allergic rhinitis, cause unspecified.” Id. at *4. Following

an expedited hearing, the trial court concluded that the employee had not come forward

with sufficient evidence of a compensable injury, but it ordered the employer to provide a

causation evaluation with a specialist. Id. at *5. On appeal, we vacated the trial court’s

order, stating:

While an injured worker who meets the applicable statutory requirements is

entitled to medical benefits, there is no “right to a causation opinion” as such.

If a trial court determines that medical benefits are appropriate, the court can

order the initiation of such benefits. However, it is the parties’ responsibility

to secure expert opinions or other evidence necessary to address any

applicable burden of proof.

Id. at *9 (emphasis added).

Here, following the alleged confrontation with his supervisor, Employee reported

left arm pain and bruising near the site of an AV fistula used to facilitate dialysis treatment.

However, Employee did not initially describe a “twisting” injury and did not complain of

any left shoulder symptoms during his initial medical evaluations. He sought treatment on

his own and has been seen by at least two orthopedic physicians, including Dr. Price and

Dr. Giel. Eight months after the alleged incident, Employee told Dr. Giel he suffered from

shoulder pain due to a twisting incident that had occurred during the confrontation with his

supervisor. To date, however, neither Dr. Price nor Dr. Giel have offered an opinion as to

the primary cause of the left shoulder condition.

7

Moreover, Employer provided Employee a panel of physicians, and he selected Dr.

Goodfred. Employee told Dr. Goodfred he had suffered a left shoulder injury at work, but

Dr. Goodfred did not offer an opinion as to the primary cause of the left shoulder condition.

Thus, to date, Employee has seen an emergency room provider and three physicians, none

of whom have offered any type of causation opinion. Hence, this is not a case in which an

injured worker has been denied any opportunity for a medical evaluation following a report

of a work-related accident. Instead, Employee has been evaluated on several occasions for

the work incident, and no physician has opined that Employee suffered a left shoulder

injury that arose primarily from the alleged altercation at work.

In sum, under the circumstances of this case, we conclude it is Employee’s

responsibility as the party seeking benefits to come forward with sufficient evidence

indicating a likelihood of prevailing at trial in proving: (1) the occurrence of a left shoulder

injury at work; and (2) that the need for medical treatment for the left shoulder arose

primarily out of the work incident. Although Employee is self-represented, we must apply

the same evidentiary and procedural standards as are applied to represented parties.

Burnette v. K-mart Corp., No. 2014-02-0020, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 2, at

*6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 20, 2015). Here, we conclude Employee has not

met his burden of proof at this interlocutory stage of the case.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we reverse the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

8

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Damon Curry Morris Docket No. 2022-08-1069

v. State File No. 73213-2022

Select Services, et al.

and

Troy Haley, Administrator of the Bureau

of Workers’ Compensation Subsequent

Injury and Vocational Recovery Fund

Appeal from the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced case

was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 19th day of

August, 2025.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Eric E. Lindquester X eric.lindquester@libertymutual.com

rachel.dornier@libertymutual.com

Damon Curry Morris X damon.currymorris@gmail.com

Timothy Kellum X timothy.kellum@tn.gov

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.