Opinion

Leon Brooks v. Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey

Court
New Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
Filed
Aug 7, 2025
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 38.6%

"[W]e must defer to the judge of compensation's expertise in fixing percentages of disability . . . ."

How later courts described this case

  • "[W]e must defer to the judge of compensation's expertise in fixing percentages of disability . . . ."

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE

APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION

This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court ." Although it is posted on the

internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited. R. 1:36-3.

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

DOCKET NO. A-1013-23

LEON BROOKS,

Petitioner-Respondent/

Cross-Appellant,

v.

RUTGERS, THE STATE

UNIVERSITY OF NEW JERSEY,

Respondent-Appellant/

Cross-Respondent.

_____________________________

Argued March 12, 2025 – Decided August 7, 2025

Before Judges Currier and Torregrossa-O'Connor.

On appeal from the Division of Workers'

Compensation, Department of Labor and Workforce

Development, Claim Petition No. 2013-27948.

Jennifer A. Cottell argued the cause for appellant/cross-

respondent (Capehart & Scatchard, PA, attorneys; John

H. Geaney, of counsel; Liliya V. Bondarenko and

Jennifer A. Cottell, on the briefs).

Allan L. Lockspeiser argued the cause for

respondent/cross-appellant (Wysoker, Glassner,

Weingartner, Gonzalez & Lockspeiser, PA, attorneys;

Allan L. Lockspeiser, on the brief).

Cheryl B. Kline, Deputy Attorney General, argued the

cause for respondent Second Injury Fund (Matthew J.

Platkin, Attorney General, attorney; Melissa H. Raksa,

Assistant Attorney General, of counsel; Cheryl B.

Kline, on the brief).

PER CURIAM

Appellant Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, the former

employer of petitioner Leon Brooks, appeals from the judge of workers'

compensation's November 14, 2023 order after trial finding petitioner suffered

a 74% partial permanent disability as a result of injuries incurred during his

employment. Petitioner cross-appeals the order, claiming the judge erred in

failing to find him 100% disabled. We have carefully reviewed the record in

light of applicable legal principles, and we affirm.

I.

A. Testimony and Evidence at Trial

The trial spanned several days and included testimony from petitioner,

treating doctors, and the parties' experts. Although the experts disagreed as to

causation, the circumstances surrounding petitioner's impaired physical mobility

and medical condition before and during his employment at Rutgers were largely

undisputed.

A-1013-23

2

Petitioner worked full time at Rutgers as a custodian between 2000 and

2013, when Rutgers terminated petitioner's employment, finding him physically

unable to perform the duties of his position. Petitioner filed a claim with the

Division of Workers' Compensation on October 9, 2013, alleging "[p]ulmonary,

elbow[], back, hand[] and knee[]" impairment "[d]ue to arduous labor with

standing and exposure to pulmonary irritants" on Rutgers's premises. The

parties settled the pulmonary aspect of petitioner's claim in July 2020. On

December 18, 2014, petitioner filed a Verified Petition against the Second Injury

Fund alleging he was "totally and permanently disabled as a result of a

combination of [his] pre-existing physical and/or psychiatric conditions and

[his] last compensable injury or disease." 1

Before commencing work at Rutgers in 2000, petitioner had previously

received benefits through settlements for two workers' compensation claims: in

1995, for disability "for residuals of lumbosacral sprain with possible bulging

discs" and in 1996 for "disability for the post-operative residuals of bilateral

carpal tunnel release." He had prior surgeries on each knee decades earlier. Due

1

"The Second Injury Fund . . . is a legislatively-created fund requiring

contributions from workers' compensation insurance carriers and self-insured

employers to absorb part of the impact upon employers of awards in certain

cases involving permanent and total disability." Lewicki v. N.J. Art Foundry,

88 N.J. 75, 82-83 (1981).

A-1013-23

3

to learning disabilities, defendant was unable to read or write, and always

worked physical jobs.

Petitioner passed the physical examination before starting his

maintenance position at Rutgers. He explained in detail his daily job duties,

which included "housekeeping," moving furniture, mopping floors, cleaning

windows, shoveling snow, and unloading trailers. Petitioner testified he would

scrub the showers and toilets, and mop, wax, and buff the floors, in eight

different bathrooms, tasks that required him to bend repeatedly. He mopped the

floors and scrubbed the toilets "every day." His back "was constantly in motion

carrying, pulling, pushing, [and] moving."

Petitioner described bagging garbage daily, and hauling the heavy garbage

bags down stairs and loading them into the dumpster. This required him to

continually "bend" and "lift" to throw the bags into the dumpster. He performed

this duty twice daily. Petitioner recounted times during the summer months

when he was required to unload and move "a thousand" queen- and twin-sized

mattresses, which were "very difficult" and "awkward" to grasp. The process

involved "a lot of bending" and "a lot of lifting." He described the heavy tables

he regularly carried as requiring two people to move.

Petitioner acknowledged his earlier surgeries, prior health issues, and

A-1013-23

4

earlier workers' compensation awards, but testified that, after working for

Rutgers, the condition of his knees, hands, and back continued to worsen. In

2004, he received benefits after a job-related accidental injury, explaining he

slipped and fell, injuring his back. He described undergoing right knee surgery

in 2006. Petitioner described himself "in pretty bad shape" by the time Rutgers

terminated his employment. He recalled he "could[ not] stand long," and in later

years, could not lift more than around thirty pounds, as recommended by his

doctor, despite the job duties requiring him to lift heavier weight. He also

testified his knee and back pain forced him to "call in sick" as he did not feel "a

hundred percent." Petitioner indicated he also worked part-time at Retro Fitness

between 2008 and 2011, but he explained those job responsibilities involved

wiping equipment and did not require lifting.

Petitioner testified while still working at Rutgers he received "injections"

which never fully alleviated his back pain. He ultimately underwent right knee

replacement as "[t]hey could[ not] do [any] more steroid shots . . . [or]

injections." He explained he suffers daily back pain, and his back locks causing

"stab[bing]" pain impacting his ability to drive. His right knee swells,

sometimes making it difficult to dress without assistance.

Petitioner explained he did not wish to give up his job, but Rutgers

A-1013-23

5

suggested "[a] [d]isability retirement," and eventually sent a letter of

termination, explaining the decision to terminate was because he "could[ not] do

it anymore." He recalled that he "had no income" and applied for a disability

retirement pension and Social Security Disability, receiving both after being

found totally disabled.

Rutgers presented testimony from multiple witnesses including David J.

Lamb, M.D., who testified he examined petitioner in May 2004 for complaints

of lower back pain and "paresthesia[]," or "numbness and tingling[] into his

lower extremities and legs." Dr. Lamb testified he advised defendant that he

"ha[d] degenerative bulging discs in his lumbar spine," and would have

discussed "how [petitioner's] diagnosis might affect the performance of his job

or his activities of daily living," including that "heavy lifting and bending and

twisting could potentially re-injure or cause back pain or other injuries."

Accordingly, Dr. Lamb testified he "believed that [petitioner] could return

to work in a modified duty capacity . . . . [b]ecause [he] was concerned that

since [petitioner] was still in pain, [he] felt uncomfortable returning him back to

work in a full-duty capacity." The doctor agreed "the nature of [petitioner's]

job" and the accompanying job duties could "aggravate[ and] make worse[] his

back problem." Nonetheless, Dr. Lamb testified "[t]here was no anatomic

A-1013-23

6

structure to prevent him from returning to work."

Kenneth Chan, a physician's assistant in the Rutgers Occupational Health

Department, assessed petitioner in 2005. Chan recounted his notes on

petitioner's description of his injuries at the time, which included "worsening

back pain" and his "report[ing] that his [eight] out of [ten] sharp, intermittent,

nonradiating lower back pain associated with tingling to [the] left calf[ was]

aggravated with sweeping, vacuuming, or stripping floor[s]."

Orthopedic surgeon, Gregory S. Gallick, M.D., testified that he treated

petitioner after referrals by Rutgers Occupational Health. He examined

petitioner in 2003 after his work-related slip-and-fall accident and recalled "his

diagnosis at that point was a lumbar strain and contusion of his lumbar spine."

In a subsequent visit, he found the injury "resolved." The doctor saw petitioner

again in 2005, and, "understanding that [petitioner] did maintenance and heavy

lifting in his job," told petitioner "if he d[id] lifting and maintenance for work,

he may have back pain and he may want to look for an alternative job," but

petitioner did not wish to change jobs. Dr. Gallick admitted in these evaluations

he did not diagnose petitioner with "a herniated disc," "multiple levels of disc

bulging," "lumbar degenerative disc disease," or "osteoarthritis."

Kenneth C. Peacock, M.D., testified for Rutgers as an expert in

A-1013-23

7

orthopedics and orthopedic surgery. Dr. Peacock examined petitioner on June

22, 2015, and again on April 15, 2019, to "assess[] [p]etitioner's disability under

the Workers' Compensation Statute."

He described that his examinations of petitioner revealed: limitation in

his left hand and fingers; "diminished" grip strength on both hands; "bilateral

carpal tunnel scars"; "tingling into the palms"; "positive provocative signs for

nerve irritation"; "unstead[iness] on his feet"; "weakness with muscle testing in

both lower extremities"; "bulging over the right lateral joint line in the right

knee"; "diminished sensation with two-part discrimination testing of the right

hand and the left hand"; "no effusion, synovitis, or crepitus in the elbows

bilaterally"; and limited knee range of motion. In 2015, he found "lumbar spine

degenerative arthritis, degenerative disc disease and disc herniation."

Dr. Peacock found no causal relationship between these injuries and

petitioner's employment. He testified that he found no scientific support for the

suggestion that petitioner's custodial work caused the knee, hand, or back

problems about which petitioner complained. The doctor found risk factors,

such as age, obesity, family history and "[p]revious trauma," such as prior

surgery, present in petitioner's case that "outweigh[ed] the force and repetitive

nature of . . . [p]etitioner's work."

A-1013-23

8

Regarding petitioner's back, Dr. Peacock conceded that performance of

job tasks similar to petitioner's can cause aggravation of existing injuries.

However, Dr. Peacock indicated that to show petitioner's job duties worsened

his condition, he would "have to show that his occupation would have increased

that risk[, a]nd there's no medical literature that shows . . . that." Dr. Peacock

further opined physical activity "does[ not] necessarily lead to pathology,"

adding that "hav[ing] a job where you're more physically active will give you a

healthier, . . . more robust physique."

Petitioner presented testimony from Morris Horwitz, M.D., as an expert

in forensic medicine, which he defined as applying "medical science" in

determining "causal relationship[s]" to injuries. He opined forensic medical

experts "would have a better idea of causal relation than a regular doctor."

Dr. Horwitz evaluated petitioner on four occasions dating back to prior

disability claims before his employment at Rutgers, and he reviewed petitioner's

medical history and records as well as his job responsibilities as a custodian at

Rutgers. Dr. Horwitz testified that, "within a reasonable degree of medical

certainty," based on petitioner's complaints, his documented medical history, his

demonstrated loss of function, and a "physiological understanding of [the] same

trauma so involved," that petitioner's job duties at Rutgers between 2000 and

A-1013-23

9

2013 "were competent in producing causes of disability to . . . [p]etitioner,

causing him to be permanently and totally disabled."

The doctor opined:

[Petitioner's right] knee and . . . back were

compromised and this basically caused more pressure,

undue pain, and [decreased] ability to perform th[is]

manual labor significantly, causing more stress and

strain and compromise to both body parts. On a daily

basis, there was no recovery period for this time. The

traumatic events caused inflammation, edema,

swelling, fibrous tissue replacing elastic tissue, causing

a functional disability with restriction of motion, as

well as causing the inability to do his work on a

consistent basis.

The doctor first assessed petitioner at the time of his previous workers'

compensation claims in 1995 and 1996. In 1996, he diagnosed petitioner with

"bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome, . . . and residuals of strain to the right and left

hands." He found a 30% disability in the right hand and 37.5% disability in the

left hand. Thereafter, Dr. Horwitz examined petitioner in 2004 relating to his

third workers' compensation claim and determined petitioner suffered 20% of

total disability to his back.

Dr. Horwitz testified that petitioner underwent arthroscopic right knee

surgery in 2006, including a "partial lateral meniscectomy"; and, while

continuing to work post-surgery, petitioner continued treatment throughout his

A-1013-23

10

employment. Dr. Horwitz explained that later MRI results between 2012 to

2013 for petitioner's back were "[a]bnormal," and showed "bulging and

herniation with the approximation of the vertebrae then causing . . . him to have

pain in the back." Epidural injections did not alleviate his back pain.

He evaluated petitioner again in 2014. The doctor characterized

petitioner's disability as "[p]rogressive," explaining that it was not possible

petitioner would improve. Dr. Horwitz memorialized his findings and

conclusions in his 2014 evaluation report admitted into evidence. He opined,

"[F]rom 2000 up until 2013, while in the course of his employment as a

custodian he sustained occupational injuries to his right hand, left hand, back,

right knee, and left knee." He specifically found petitioner's right and left hands

and knees had swelling with abnormal ranges of motion. He found "loss of the

normal lumbar orthotic curve and spasm were appreciated, objective. All ranges

of motion were objective and abnormal."

Dr. Horwitz explained:

I did come to a conclusion which was residuals

of repetitive stress and strain to the right and left hand;

disc bulging from L1 through S1; disc protrusion from

L1 through L5; lumbar degenerative disc disease;

residuals of repetitive stress and strain to lumbosacral

region; status post right knee surgery; residuals of

repetitive stress and strain to right and left knee.

A-1013-23

11

I did come to a conclusion within a reasonable

degree of medical certainty based on . . . [p]etitioner's

subjective complaints being consistent with the loss of

function with respect to the bodily parts so examined as

well as review of the medical records and a physiologic

understanding of the trauma so involved, I found that

there was [a] causal relationship between the

aforementioned diagnosis and the occupational injury

sustained from 2000 up until 2013 and have objective

medical findings noted . . . [showing] permanent

impairment of [twenty-five] percent of the right and left

hand, permanent impairment of [forty-seven] and a half

percent of the right leg, permanent impairment of

[thirty] percent of the left leg, and an orthopedic

disability of [fifty] percent of total with respect to the

lumbosacral spine. And I found that the patient was

permanently and totally disabled by a combination of

his entire medical conditions.

The doctor indicated he based his conclusions on "objective medical evidence

of abnormality and disability" in petitioner.

Dr. Horwitz examined petitioner again in 2018 and explained petitioner's

[r]ight knee total knee arthroplasty" in 2018 was "appropriate and necessary."

He testified he found during that examination "more objective evidence of

disability in the right knee in comparison to what [he] saw four years earlier."

He revised his prior assessment of petitioner's disability to seventy percent of

the right leg, but concluded petitioner "remained permanently and totally

disabled overall by a combination of his entire medical conditions." He noted

A-1013-23

12

the continued "stress and strain . . . aggravated and caused more and more

deterioration, both in the back and to the [right] knee."

He acknowledged risk factors "predispose[] some people to knee

osteoarthritis." However, the doctor explained he relied on petitioner's "history

and [his] objective medical findings" to support his opinion that petitioner's

condition was "causally related to his job duties."

B. The Compensation Judge's Decision

In her November 14, 2023 written decision, the compensation judge

identified as the disputed issues "whether petitioner suffered a compensable

occupational disease as defined by N.J.S.A. 34:15-31"; "what is the nature and

extent of disability suffered by petitioner"; and to what extent is that disability

"due to preexisting injuries/conditions."

Preliminarily, the judge found petitioner "was well spoken and very

credible," offering "clear, credible, competent, and descriptive testimony of his

condition before beginning work for Rutgers . . . and how his work duties

specifically caused changes for the worse," additionally finding "[h]is testimony

was believable and illustrative of the heavy and repetitive nature of his daily

duties." She acknowledged petitioner "suffered several injuries before he started

working for [Rutgers]," specifically recognizing his preexisting pain in his

A-1013-23

13

"knees, back, and hands." The judge found significant that petitioner passed the

pre-employment physical examination despite these ailments.

The judge noted that the only witness to testify about petitioner's job

duties was petitioner himself; Rutgers offered no alternative account of his daily

activities. She summarized the rigorous extent of his work that required

petitioner to "constantly [be] on his feet, lifting, bending, squatting, [and]

pushing," performing "daily work [that] was not easy or light." The judge

recognized the work "was strenuous and constant" causing petitioner "increased

pain in his knees, hands, and low back." The judge found Dr. Lamb and Dr.

Gallick confirmed this finding, as Dr. Gallick "specifically noted [the] work

require[d] heavy lifting which will cause back pain." The judge relied upon a

Rutgers custodial work evaluation as identifying work duties "substantially like

those described by" petitioner during his testimony. She specifically referenced

the documented tasks as including:

lifting 100 pounds maximum with []frequent lifting or

carrying of objects; use of arms and hands

"strenuously" examples given of mopping, sweeping,

vacuuming, wiping, dusting[,] lifting garbage, snow

shoveling and ice chopping seasonally; use of stairs

"frequently"; standing/walking for long periods;

sit[ting] for prolonged periods. Perform[ing] overhead

work[] [with] examples given of wiping down mirror,

cleaning overhead, using vacuum wand to vacuum

overhead and cleaning showers; kneel[ing]/squat[ting]

A-1013-23

14

to clean under toilets and sinks; work[ing] in "awkward

positions/twist[ing]/bend[ing]/crawl[ing]" examples

given of cleaning toilets in narrow toilet stalls, and

vacuuming in and around furniture.

The judge noted "[v]oluminous medical records were admitted into

evidence" documenting petitioner's need for "prescription medications to

function during his tenure at Rutgers." She recognized Dr. Gallick's opinion

that "the 'nature of [petitioner's] job' would cause back pain[,] . . . not[ing] that

petitioner d[id] heavy lifting and maintenance work." The judge also

acknowledged the records reflecting petitioner's "miss[ing] days from work

because of back pain," and, starting on September 13, 2005, "his back pain was

aggravated with sweeping, vacuuming or stripping floors."

The judge credited Dr. Horwitz's testimony that "while there is [a] natural

progression of degeneration following an injury, that progression of

degeneration can be accelerated by strenuous work," and found the doctor

"specifically recognized that the type of work petitioner performed[,] physical

labor with repetitive stress and strain[,] aggravated petitioner's preexisting

hand[], back, and knee conditions as well as positive MRI findings of disc

pathology at every level." She referenced Dr. Horwitz's pre-2000 examinations

and 2018 examination and report reflecting his diagnoses of petitioner.

A-1013-23

15

The judge reviewed Dr. Peacock's testimony, noting the doctor "declined

to opine that . . . petitioner's work effort as a custodian at Rutger[]s caused any

increase or aggravation to . . . petitioner's conditions," instead acknowledging

"[t]he opinion was based on his research including that the[re] [wa]s no evidence

that custodial duties in general lead to injury." Additionally, the judge found

Dr. Peacock "attributed the cause of [petitioner's] injuries to [his] obesity, age,

and family history," and recognized the doctor concluded "petitioner failed to

show an objective worsening of the conditions of his hands and back," instead

"attribut[ing] the cause of these disabilities to . . . petitioner['s] previous

compensable incidents as well as the natural and expected aging process." The

judge noted that "[w]hile Dr. Peacock testified at length concerning the various

articles he reviewed and the job descriptions [contained] in them, it [wa]s

apparent that he did not have a clear picture of . . . petitioner's day-to-day work

duties."

The judge highlighted that Rutgers "on one hand insists that despite

passing a prework physical and working for ten years, . . . petitioner's injuries

prevent him from continuing to hold his job while simultaneously arguing that

his job and the heavy repetitive nature of his daily work did not contribute to his

increased disability," without presenting "evidence of any subsequent accidents

A-1013-23

16

or injuries." After reviewing each remaining witness's testimony and

acknowledging she "carefully consider[ed] all the evidence and testimony," the

judge determined petitioner established the probability that the injuries stemmed

from his "decade plus of service as a custodian for [Rutgers]."

The judge next summarized petitioner's injuries:

Petitioner has constant pain in his back, legs, and hands.

He cannot lift anything heavier than light groceries.

His pain is worse in the winter. His back locks and

jams. He cannot clean his own apartment and has a

cousin who helps him. He has been unable to return to

work and receives both [S]ocial [S]ecurity and an

ordinary disability pension. His pension was awarded

because of the same injuries (his back) that are part of

this matter. Driving is difficult due to pain. My own

observation of . . . petitioner during his testimony was

that he was in pain as evidenced by his posture, constant

wincing, shifting in his seat and general appearance of

being uncomfortable due to pain.

The judge apportioned petitioner's injuries as follows:

[P]etitioner has suffered disability of 74% of permanent

partial total. Apportioned approximately 20% of the

left hand for residuals of repetitive sprain and strain;

17.5% of the right hand for residuals of repetitive sprain

and strain; 7.5% of the left leg for residuals of repetitive

sprain and strain; 55% of the right leg for osteoarthritis

and total knee replacement and 25% of the lumbar spine

for residuals of repetitive sprain and strain; disc bulges

at L1-12; L2-L3; L3-L4 and L5-S1; disc protrusions at

L1-[L]2; L3-L4 and L5-S1 levels.

A-1013-23

17

She further credited for preexisting injury 15% of both the right and left hands,

40% of the right leg, and 10% of partial total.

The accompanying November 14, 2023 order reflected the judge's finding

of a permanent partial total disability. On November 21, 2023, the judge also

dismissed petitioner's claim against the Second Injury Fund, finding

"[p]etitioner is not totally and permanently disabled."

II.

On appeal, Rutgers argues the compensation judge erroneously found

petitioner established that his employment caused his injuries. Rutgers contends

that, unlike Dr. Peacock who "cite[d] medical data and refer[red] to a medical

book that addressed petitioner's alleged occupational injuries," Dr. Horwitz's

opinions amounted to net opinion without objective scientific support. It also

contends the judge made insufficient credibility findings between the experts.

Petitioner cross-appeals, contending the compensation judge incorrectly

determined he was not 100% disabled. He argues the testimony showed he "has

significant and severe disability on a physical basis," "cannot read or write," and

all the doctors concurred that he "is no longer able to work." Cross-respondent

Second Injury Fund argues the judge correctly dismissed the claim against them,

finding petitioner was only partially disabled. The Second Injury Fund

A-1013-23

18

highlights only Dr. Horwitz found petitioner 100% disabled, whereas the others

opined that petitioner could still work a less strenuous job.

The scope of our review is limited and well-established. Indeed,

"[a]ppellate review of workers' compensation cases is 'limited to whether the

findings made could have been reached on sufficient credible evidence present

in the record . . . with due regard also to the agency's expertise[.]'" Hersh v.

Cnty. of Morris, 217 N.J. 236, 242 (2014) (second alteration in original)

(quoting Sager v. O.A. Peterson Constr., Co., 182 N.J. 156, 164 (2004)).

"Deference must be accorded the factual findings and legal determinations made

by the [j]udge of [c]ompensation unless they are 'manifestly unsupported by or

inconsistent with competent relevant and reasonable credible evidence as to

offend the interests of justice.'" Lindquist v. City of Jersey City Fire Dep't, 175

N.J. 244, 262 (2003) (quoting Perez v. Monmouth Cable Vision, 278 N.J. Super.

275, 282 (App. Div. 1994)). Our "deferential standard recognizes 'the

compensation court's expertise and the valuable opportunity it has had in hearing

live testimony.'" Ripp v. Cnty. of Hudson, 472 N.J. Super. 600, 606 (App. Div.

2022) (quoting Hager v. M&K Constr., 246 N.J. 1, 18 (2021)); see also Sager,

182 N.J. at 164.

"The New Jersey Workmen's Compensation Act [(WCA)], N.J.S.A.

A-1013-23

19

34:15-1 to -14[7], is 'humane social legislation designed to place the cost of

work-connected injury on the employer who may readily provide for it as an

operating expense.'" Valdez v. Tri-State Furniture, 374 N.J. Super. 223, 232

(App. Div. 2005) (quoting Livingstone v. Abraham & Straus, Inc., 111 N.J. 89,

94-95 (1988)). The provisions of the WCA are "applied in light of this broad

remedial objective" and "liberally construed in favor of employees to further its

beneficent purpose." Ibid.

The WCA requires an employer to compensate an employee if that

employee experiences "any compensable occupational disease arising out of and

in the course of his employment." N.J.S.A. 34:15-30. "Compensable

occupation disease" "include[s] all diseases arising out of and in the course of

employment, which are due in a material degree to causes and conditions which

are or were characteristic of or peculiar to a particular trade, occupation, process

or place of employment." N.J.S.A. 34:15-31. "[T]o receive an award for a

compensable occupational disease, 'a petitioner must show that the alleged

occupational exposure contributed to the resultant disability by an appreciable

degree or a degree substantially greater than de minimus.'" Singletary v. Wawa,

406 N.J. Super. 558, 565 (App. Div. 2009) (quoting Peterson v. Hermann

Forwarding Co., 267 N.J. Super. 493, 504 (App. Div. 1993)).

A-1013-23

20

"[A] successful petitioner in workers' compensation generally must prove

both legal and medical causation when those issues are contested." Lindquist,

175 N.J. at 259. "Medical causation means the injury is a physical or emotional

consequence of work exposure . . . [and] proof of medical causation means

proof that the disability was actually caused by the work-related event." Ibid.

"Proof of legal causation means proof that the injury is work connected." Ibid.

In making this assessment, "[i]t is sufficient . . . to prove that the exposure to a

risk or danger in the workplace was in fact a contributing cause of the injury.

That means proof that the work[-]related activities probably caused or

contributed to the employee's disabling injury as a matter of medical fact." Ibid.

Importantly, "[d]irect causation is not required; proof establishing that the

exposure caused the activation, acceleration or exacerbation of disabling

symptoms is sufficient." Ibid. The petitioner must "show by a preponderance

of the evidence that the link is probable . . . [but] need not prove that the nexus

between the [injury] and the place of employment is certain." Magaw v.

Middletown Bd. of Educ., 323 N.J. Super. 1, 11 (App. Div. 1999).

Applying these principles to the record, we conclude the compensation

judge did not misuse her discretion in finding petitioner met his burden of

establishing a probability that he suffered a compensable occupational injury as

A-1013-23

21

defined under N.J.S.A. 34:15-31. The judge exhaustively reviewed the

evidence, finding petitioner's testimony about the nature of the work he

performed and its impact on his physical condition particularly credible.

Buttressed by Dr. Horwitz's testimony, petitioner's medical records, and to some

extent the testimony of Rutgers's own witnesses, the judge's determination was

sufficiently anchored in credible evidence in the record. The judge's

determination did not rest impermissibly on petitioner's subjective complaints

as Rutgers suggests.

Dr. Horwitz's opinions and the medical records and testimony clearly

supported the compensation judge's finding that petitioner's condition worsened

during and as a result of his thirteen years of arduous labor as a custodian at

Rutgers. The judge accepted Dr. Horwitz's opinion that "while there is natural

progression of degeneration following an injury, that progression of

degeneration can be accelerated by strenuous work," and found Dr. Horwitz

"specifically recognized that the type of work petitioner performed[,] physical

labor with repetitive stress and strain[,] aggravated petitioner's preexisting

hand[], back and knee conditions as well as positive MRI findings of disc

pathology at every level."

By contrast, the judge found it "apparent" that "[w]hile Dr. Peacock

A-1013-23

22

testified at length concerning the various articles he reviewed and the job

descriptions described in them, . . . he did not have a clear picture

of . . . petitioner's day-to-day work duties." We afford deference to the court's

assessment of the experts, and are satisfied the judge supported her credibility

findings with sufficient evidence in the record.

Rutgers argues Dr. Horwitz offered only impermissible net opinion

unsupported by requisite facts or data. "The net opinion rule is a 'corollary of

[N.J.R.E. 703] . . . which forbids the admission into evidence of an expert's

conclusions that are not supported by the factual evidence or other data.'"

Townsend v. Pierre, 221 N.J. 36, 53-54 (2015) (alteration in original) (quoting

Polzo v. Cnty. of Essex, 196 N.J. 569, 583 (2008)). The rule requires that an

expert "'give the why and wherefore' that supports the opinion, 'rather than a

mere conclusion.'" Borough of Saddle River v. 66 E. Allendale, LLC, 216 N.J.

115, 144 (2013) (quoting Pomerantz Paper Corp. v. New Cmty. Corp., 207 N.J.

344, 372 (2011)). Dr. Horwitz, board certified in forensic medicine, reviewed

petitioner's records, examined petitioner several times over the duration of hi s

injuries, reviewed his job requirements, and applied "a physiological

understanding" to reach his opinions and conclusions. He explained thoroughly

the reasons for his conclusions both in his reports and testimony. We conclude

A-1013-23

23

the doctor's opinions were sufficiently supported and did not constitute net

opinion.

Importantly, the judge did not rely exclusively on Dr. Horwitz. She

greatly relied on petitioner and the medical evidence and records. She also cited

to Dr. Gallick's opinion that the "'nature of [petitioner's] job' would cause back

pain," and generally acknowledged that Dr. Gallick and Dr. Lamb both noted

"[t]he difficulty of petitioner['s] work." Overall, the judge determined the

objective medical evidence, as explained by Dr. Horwitz's testimony and

gleaned from the medical reports and records, supported petitioner's claims and

showed sufficient nexus to petitioner's employment. We are satisfied the

records and testimony presented sufficient objective medical evidence to

support the judge's determination of a disability restricting the function of

petitioner's hands, knees, and back.

Rutgers claims that the absence of scientific studies to support the

compensation judge's causation finding is fatal. We are mindful that generally

"[t]he absence of any objective medical or scientific evidence establishing a

causal link between [the] petitioner's place of employment and a claimed

occupational disease will usually be fatal to the petitioner's workers'

compensation case." Magaw, 323 N.J. Super. at 13. We have held that when,

A-1013-23

24

an employee seeks to recover on an occupational

disease because of exposure to the general environment

to which the rest of the public is also exposed, the

employee must present sufficient, credible, objective

evidence that will raise the compensation court's

determination from one of conjecture to one of cautious

reasoned probability.

[Laffey v. City of Jersey City, 289 N.J. Super. 292, 308

(App. Div. 1996).]

This does not, however, require that scientific data be presented in every case.

Unlike cases in which injuries result from conditions "to which the rest of

the public is also exposed," this case turned greatly on the work specifically

performed by petitioner. See ibid. The judge credited petitioner's testimony

regarding the nature of that physical labor and the evidence of his medical

condition in its entirety and found those injuries sufficiently linked to the work

he performed. Although Dr. Horwitz did not cite scientific studies, he provided

an expert opinion based on his medical findings that the repeated physical stress

inherent in the work petitioner performed for thirteen years contributed to the

progressive degeneration of his medical condition. The judge's finding of the

necessary causal connection was additionally supported by the testimony of the

other medical witnesses, who in part warned petitioner risked worsening of his

condition should he continue his custodial work without any modification.

Further, the compensation judge found inherent inconsistency in Rutgers's

A-1013-23

25

position. She emphasized that Rutgers once hired petitioner as qualified to

perform the physically rigorous maintenance role after "passing a prework

physical." She noted, however, after thirteen years of petitioner's performing

this work activity, Rutgers terminated him, finding he had physically

deteriorated and could no longer perform those duties, but maintained that the

job "did not contribute to his increased disability." The court noted "[n]o

evidence of any subsequent accidents or injuries" outside of work, and

highlighted that Rutgers, not petitioner, prompted their "forced separation" by

terminating him "due to his inability to perform [work duties] due to his

injuries." The court reasoned the record supported the conclusion that the

rigorous repeated daily work exacerbated his condition to a compensable degree.

Accordingly, we will not disturb her finding of compensable occupational

injury.

We likewise defer to the judge's determination of the degree of petitioner's

disability. See Perez v. Capitol Ornamental, Concrete Specialties, Inc., 288 N.J.

Super. 359, 368 (App. Div. 1996) ("[W]e must defer to the judge of

compensation's expertise in fixing percentages of disability . . . ."). The record

was comprehensive and amply supported the judge's apportionment of

petitioner's injuries, which she made in detail. The experts varied as to

A-1013-23

26

percentages and the judge made a determination in her judgment and experience.

She made specific findings as to each condition, providing her reasons, and

making appropriate credits and offsets. Based upon our careful review of the

record, we defer to the judge's discretion in fashioning the award and discern no

improper exercise of discretion.

Affirmed.

A-1013-23

27

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.