Opinion

Harger v. BISIGNANO

Court
District Court, E.D. Missouri
Filed
Jun 30, 2025
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 37.2%

noting a distinction between the use of a “medically required hand-held assistive device” and the use of a cane that “was not prescribed by any physician”

How later courts described this case

  • noting a distinction between the use of a “medically required hand-held assistive device” and the use of a cane that “was not prescribed by any physician”
  • district court summarily affirmed the ALJ
  • explaining that a treating physician’s opinion that consists of “conclusory statements—checked boxes, circled answer, and brief fill-in-the-blank responses” and “cite[s] no medical evidence and provide[s] little to no elaboration” can be rejected on that basis alone

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

STACEY HARGER, )

)

Plaintiff, )

v. ) Case No. 4:24-cv-01302-SEP

)

FRANK BISIGNANO,1 )

)

Defendant. )

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

This is an action under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) for judicial review of the final decision of

Defendant Frank Bisignano, the Commissioner of Social Security, denying the application of

Plaintiff Stacey Harger for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) under Title XVI of the Social

Security Act (Act), 42 U.S.C. §§ 1381, et seq. Because there is substantial evidence to support

the decision, the Court will affirm the Commissioner’s denial of Plaintiff’s application.

I. BACKGROUND

On September 21, 2015, Plaintiff filed for SSI (Tr. 297-302), alleging that she had been

unable to work due to disability since January 1, 2015. (Tr. 304). She alleged disability due to

congestive heart failure, high blood pressure, diabetes type II, joint disease, cholesterol,

Takahara’s disease, and kidney disease. (Tr. 325). Her application was initially denied, and she

requested review of that decision by an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). (Tr. 131-40). On May

29, 2018, after a hearing at which Plaintiff was represented by counsel, ALJ Julian Cosentino

issued a decision finding that Plaintiff had not been under a disability, as defined in the Act,

since August 21, 2015, when she filed her application. (Tr. 105-22). Plaintiff requested review

from the SSA Appeals Council, which vacated the ALJ’s decision and remanded for the ALJ to

give further consideration to treating source opinion and explain the weight given to such

evidence, and to give further consideration to Plaintiff’s maximum residual functional capacity

during the entire period at issue, taking into consideration the treating source opinion. (Tr.

123-27).

1 Frank Bisignano became Commissioner for the Social Security Administration in May 2025. Pursuant

to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 25(d), Bisignano is substituted as Defendant in this suit. See 42 U.S.C.

§405(g).

On December 1, 2022, after another hearing, ALJ Chandreka Allen issued a decision

finding again that Plaintiff had not been under a disability, as defined in the Act, since she filed

her application. (Tr. 6-20). Plaintiff requested review of the ALJ’s decision, which the SSA

Appeals Council denied on August 11, 2023. (Tr. 1-5, 295-96). The ALJ’s decision of

December 1, 2022, stands as the Commissioner’s final decision.

II. STANDARD FOR DETERMINING DISABILITY UNDER THE ACT

To be eligible for benefits under the Act, a claimant must prove she is disabled. Pearsall

v. Massanari, 274 F.3d 1211, 1217 (8th Cir. 2001); Baker v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs.,

955 F.2d 552, 555 (8th Cir. 1992). The Act defines as disabled a person who is unable “to

engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or

mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be

expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 1382c(a)(3)(A); see also Hurd v. Astrue, 621 F.3d 734, 738 (8th Cir. 2010). The impairment

must be “of such severity that he is not only unable to do his previous work but cannot,

considering his age, education, and work experience, engage in any other kind of substantial

gainful work which exists in the national economy, regardless of whether such work exists in the

immediate area in which he lives, or whether a specific job vacancy exists for him, or whether he

would be hired if he applied for work.” 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(B).

To determine whether a claimant is disabled, the Commissioner engages in a five-step

evaluation process. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a), 416.920(a);2 see also McCoy v. Astrue, 648

F.3d 605, 611 (8th Cir. 2011) (discussing the five-step process). At Step One, the Commissioner

determines whether the claimant is currently engaging in “substantial gainful activity”; if so, then

she is not disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(i); McCoy, 648 F.3d at 611. At Step Two, the

Commissioner determines whether the claimant has a severe impairment, which is “any

impairment or combination of impairments which significantly limits [the claimant’s] physical or

mental ability to do basic work activities”; if the claimant does not have a severe impairment, she

is not disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(ii), 404.1520(c); McCoy, 648 F.3d at 611. At Step

Three, the Commissioner evaluates whether the claimant’s impairment meets or equals one of

the impairments listed in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1 (the “listings”). 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(iii); McCoy, 648 F.3d at 611. If the claimant has such an impairment, the

2 All references are to the version of the regulations in effect on the date of the ALJ’s decision.

Commissioner will find the claimant disabled; if not, the Commissioner proceeds with the rest of

the five-step process. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(d); McCoy, 648 F.3d at 611.

Prior to Step Four, the Commissioner must assess the claimant’s “residual functional

capacity” (RFC), which is “the most a claimant can do despite [her] limitations.” Moore v.

Astrue, 572 F.3d 520, 523 (8th Cir. 2009) (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(1)); see also 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520(e). At Step Four, the Commissioner determines whether the claimant can return to

her past relevant work by comparing the claimant’s RFC with the physical and mental demands

of the claimant’s past relevant work. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(iv), 404.1520(f); McCoy, 648

F.3d at 611. If the claimant can perform her past relevant work, she is not disabled; if the

claimant cannot, the analysis proceeds to the next step. Id. At Step Five, the Commissioner

considers the claimant’s RFC, age, education, and work experience to determine whether the

claimant can make an adjustment to other work in the national economy; if she cannot make such

an adjustment, she will be found disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(v), 416.920(a)(4)(v);

McCoy, 648 F.3d at 611.

Through Step Four, the burden remains on the claimant to prove that she is disabled.

Moore, 572 F.3d at 523. At Step Five, the burden shifts to the Commissioner to establish that,

given the claimant’s RFC, age, education, and work experience, there are a significant number of

other jobs in the national economy that the claimant can perform. Id.; Brock v. Astrue, 674 F.3d

1062, 1064 (8th Cir. 2012).

III. THE ALJ’S DECISION

Applying the five-step analysis, the ALJ here found that Plaintiff had not engaged in

substantial gainful activity since she applied for SSI; that Plaintiff had the severe impairments of

stage 3 chronic kidney disease, degenerative disc disease of the lumbar spine, scoliosis,

degenerative joint disease, and obesity; and that Plaintiff did not have an impairment or

combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the severity of one of the listed

impairments in 20 C.F.R. § 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. (Tr. 12-13). The ALJ found that

Plaintiff had the RFC to perform light work with certain limitations: she could never climb

ladders, ropes, or scaffolds; she could occasionally climb ramps and stairs; she could frequently

balance, stoop, kneel, crouch, and crawl; she could tolerate no more than occasional exposure to

temperature extremes; and she must avoid hazards such as unprotected heights and dangerous

machinery. (Tr. 12).

The ALJ found that Plaintiff had no past relevant work. (Tr. 19). Considering Plaintiff’s

age, education, work experience, and RFC, and in reliance on the testimony of a vocational

expert, the ALJ found that Plaintiff was able to perform occupations that exist in significant

numbers in the national economy, including cleaner (Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT)

No. 323.687-014, 440,000 jobs in the national economy), hand packer (DOT No. 920.687-018,

317,000 jobs in the national economy), and production worker (DOT No. 222.687-014, 197,000

jobs in the national economy). (Tr. 20). Thus, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff had not been

disabled, as defined in the Act, since the date she filed her application for SSI. Id.

IV. STANDARD FOR JUDICIAL REVIEW

This Court must affirm the Commissioner’s decision if it complies with the relevant legal

requirements and is supported by substantial evidence in the record as a whole. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 1383(c)(3); Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971); Pate-Fires v. Astrue, 564 F.3d

935, 942 (8th Cir. 2009); Estes v. Barnhart, 275 F.3d 722, 724 (8th Cir. 2002). “Under the

substantial-evidence standard, a court looks to an existing administrative record and asks

whether it contains ‘sufficien[t] evidence’ to support the agency’s factual determinations.”

Biestek v. Berryhill, 587 U.S. 97, 102 (2019) (quoting Consolidated Edison Co. v. NLRB, 305

U.S. 197, 229 (1938)). “Substantial evidence is less than a preponderance, but is enough that a

reasonable mind would find it adequate to support the Commissioner’s conclusion.” Pate-Fires,

564 F.3d at 942; see also Biestek, 587 U.S. at 103 (“Substantial evidence . . . means—and means

only—‘such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a

conclusion.’” (quoting Consolidated Edison, 305 U.S. at 229)).

In determining whether substantial evidence supports the Commissioner’s decision, the

Court considers both evidence that supports that decision and evidence that detracts from that

decision. Renstrom v. Astrue, 680 F.3d 1057, 1063 (8th Cir. 2012). But the Court “‘do[es] not

reweigh the evidence presented to the ALJ, and [it] defer[s] to the ALJ’s determinations

regarding the credibility of testimony, as long as those determinations are supported by good

reasons and substantial evidence.’” Id. at 1064 (quoting Gonzales v. Barnhart, 465 F.3d 890,

894 (8th Cir. 2006)). “If, after reviewing the record, the court finds it is possible to draw two

inconsistent positions from the evidence and one of those positions represents the ALJ’s

findings, the court must affirm the ALJ’s decision.” Partee v. Astrue, 638 F.3d 860, 863 (8th

Cir. 2011) (quoting Goff v. Barnhart, 421 F.3d 785, 789 (8th Cir. 2005)).

V. DISCUSSION

Plaintiff challenges the ALJ’s decision, arguing that the ALJ improperly discounted the

medical opinion of her treating cardiologist, Dr. Paul Larsen, by not explaining how she

considered Dr. Larsen’s specialization in determining the weight to give his opinion. Doc. [6] at

5-6. Plaintiff also contends that substantial evidence did not support the ALJ’s discounting of

Dr. Larsen’s opinion that she requires an assistive device for walking. Id. at 6-7. Defendant

argues that the ALJ properly evaluated Dr. Larsen’s opinion and provided adequate reasons for

assigning minimal weight to his opinion. Doc. [7] at 3-11.

As described above, this Court’s role is to determine whether the ALJ’s findings are

supported by substantial evidence on the record as a whole. See 42 U.S.C. § 1383(c)(3);

Richardson, 402 U.S. at 401; Pate-Fire, 564 F.3d at 942; Estes, 275 F.3d at 724. As long as

there is substantial evidence in the record that supports the decision, this Court may not reverse it

simply because substantial evidence exists in the record that would have supported a contrary

outcome, or because the Court would have decided the case differently. Haley v. Massanari, 258

F.3d 742, 747 (8th Cir. 2001).

“Generally, [a] treating physician’s opinion is due controlling weight if that opinion is

well-supported by medically acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic techniques and is not

inconsistent with the other substantial evidence in the record.” Wildman v. Astrue, 596 F.3d 959,

964 (8th Cir. 2010) (alteration in original) (quoting Brown v. Barnhart, 390 F.3d 535, 540 (8th

Cir. 2004)). “However, ‘[a]n ALJ may discount or even disregard the opinion of a treating

physician where other medical assessments are supported by better or more thorough medical

evidence, or where a treating physician renders inconsistent opinions that undermine the

credibility of such opinions.’” Id. (alteration in original) (quoting Goff v. Barnhart, 421 F.3d

785, 790 (8th Cir. 2005)).

The Court has reviewed the entire transcript and the parties’ briefs. Based on a careful

review of the record, and for the reasons stated in the ALJ’s opinion and in the Government’s

brief, the Court finds that the record as a whole contains substantial evidence to support the

ALJ’s decision. See Sledge v. Astrue, 364 F. App’x 307 (8th Cir. 2010) (district court summarily

affirmed the ALJ). First, the ALJ did not err in affording Dr. Larsen’s opinion minimal weight

because his medical source statement (MSS) contained little in the way of explanation and

pointed to no objective testing or reasoning in support of his opinion that Plaintiff should use an

assistive device for walking. See Reed v. Barnharti, 399 F.3d 917, 921 (8th Cir. 2005) (“We

have upheld an ALJ’s decision to discount a treating physician’s MSS where the limitations

listed on the form ‘stand alone,’ and were ‘never mentioned in [the physician’s] numerous

records or treatment’ nor supported by ‘any objective testing or reasoning.’” (alterations in

original) (quoting Hogan v. Apfel, 239 F.3d 958, 961 (8th Cir. 2001))); Thomas v. Berryhill, 881

F.3d 672, 675 (8th Cir. 2018) (explaining that a treating physician’s opinion that consists of

“conclusory statements—checked boxes, circled answer, and brief fill-in-the-blank responses”

and “cite[s] no medical evidence and provide[s] little to no elaboration” can be rejected on that

basis alone)). Second, in assigning Dr. Larsen’s opinion minimal weight, the ALJ properly

considered that there was no record evidence that Plaintiff’s walker was prescribed by a

physician, see SSR 96-9p, 1996 WL 374185, at *7 (“To find that a hand-held assistive device is

medically required, there must be medical documentation establishing the need for a hand-held

assistive device to aid in walking or standing, and describing the circumstances for which it is

needed. . . .”); Toland v. Colvin, 761 F.3d 931, 936 (8th Cir. 2014) (noting a distinction between

the use of a “medically required hand-held assistive device” and the use of a cane that “was not

prescribed by any physician”), and that there was no convincing record evidence that Plaintiff

required an assistive device after two isolated falls that took place prior to the alleged onset date,

see 20 C.F.R. § 416.927(c)(4) (“Generally, the more consistent a medical opinion is with the

record as a whole, the more weight we will give to that medical opinion.”); Julin v. Colvin, 826

F.3d 1082, 1088 (8th Cir. 2016) (“Opinions of treating physicians . . . may be given limited

weight if they are conclusory or inconsistent with the record.” (citing Papesh v. Colvin, 786 F.3d

1126, 1132 (8th Cir. 2015))).

The Court acknowledges that the record contains conflicting evidence, and that the ALJ

could have reached a different conclusion. But this Court’s task is not to reweigh the evidence

presented to the ALJ. The ALJ’s weighing of the evidence here fell within the available “zone of

choice,” and the Court cannot disturb that decision merely because it might have reached a

different conclusion. See Buckner v. Astrue, 646 F.3d 549, 556 (8th Cir. 2011).

VI. CONCLUSION

Having reviewed the entire record, the Court finds that the ALJ made a proper RFC

determination based on a fully and fairly developed record, and that the ALJ’s decision is

supported by substantial evidence.

Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED that the decision of the

Commissioner of Social Security is AFFIRMED.

Dated this 30™ day of June, 2025.

SARAH E. PITLYK

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.