Opinion

Allen, William v. MJ Resurrection, Inc.

  • 2025 TN WC App. 17
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
May 7, 2025
Status
Published
On the bench
Conner, Weaver, Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 35.1%

The opinion

FILED

May 07, 2025

01:54 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

William Allen ) Docket No. 2024-80-6984

)

v. ) State File No. 72735-2024

)

MJ Resurrection, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employer questions the trial court’s order requiring it to

provide a panel of physicians. The employee fell at work and reported the accident the

same day. The employer offered medical treatment, but the employee declined. At the

employer’s request, the employee signed a waiver stating that, although he reported a work-

related fall, he had declined medical treatment. The waiver specified that any future claim

related to the employee’s injuries would require a medical evaluation arranged through the

employer’s workers’ compensation insurer and that he must first notify his supervisor

before seeking medical treatment for his injuries. When the employee later requested

medical treatment, the employer asserted the employee was not entitled to a medical

evaluation because, after waiving treatment the day of the accident, he sought treatment a

month later only when he was denied short term disability benefits. Following a hearing,

the trial court ordered the employer to provide a panel of physicians to evaluate and treat

any work-related injuries but denied the employee’s request for temporary disability

benefits because there was inadequate medical proof to support an award of disability

benefits. The employer has appealed. Upon careful review of the record, we affirm the

trial court’s order and remand the case.

Judge Pele I. Godkin delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding Judge

Timothy W. Conner and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

Garrett P. Franklyn and Lauren N. Gray, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant,

MJ Resurrection, Inc.

William Allen, Memphis, Tennessee, employee-appellee, pro se

1

Factual and Procedural History

On August 16, 2024, William Allen (“Employee”) was working for MJ

Resurrection, Inc. (“Employer”), when he fell from a forklift in the course and scope of his

employment, resulting in hip, shoulder, and back symptoms. Employee reported the

incident to Employer and was offered medical treatment, but he declined such treatment at

that time. Employee’s supervisor completed an incident investigation that same day and

noted that Employee was performing repairs on a forklift when he stepped off the lift and

tripped, landing on his right side. The report indicated that Employee fell on his right side,

causing “soreness” in his right hip and shoulder, and that he had cut his right pinky from

trying to catch himself. Thereafter, Employer asked Employee to sign a “waiver” that

included language indicating the work incident had “occurred during the normal scope and

duties of employment,” Employer had offered medical treatment, and Employee

“decline[d] to be medically evaluated for the above noted condition.” The document also

contained the following language:

I understand that by signing this document, any future claims regarding this

injury will require a medical evaluation through my employer’s workers[’]

compensation or I may be responsible for any medical bills or lost wages. I

also understand that should I seek treatment for this injury, I must first notify

my supervisor.

On October 22, 2024, Employee filed a petition for benefit determination seeking

medical benefits and temporary disability benefits. In his petition, Employee claimed he

was not provided a copy of his injury report “until 9/30/24” and that he was “[t]erminated

as of 9/13/24 . . . for requesting [his] [i]ncident report.” Employee also requested a panel

of doctors for treatment of his work-related injuries. Following an unsuccessful mediation,

a dispute certification notice was filed on November 21 that identified compensability,

medical benefits, and temporary disability benefits as the disputed issues. As additional

asserted defenses, Employer identified “[n]otice. Subsequent and intervening event, no

injury or incident requiring treatment, pre-existing conditions, [and] prior workers’

compensation claims.”

On December 9, Employee filed a request for an expedited hearing, which took

place on February 26, 2025. During the hearing, Employee testified that, although he

signed the waiver of medical treatment, he did so because he feared being fired since he

was still in his probationary period. Employee testified that he also asked for a contact

person for workers’ compensation purposes within the next few weeks, but Employer never

provided this information until just before his termination on September 30. Although his

separation notice indicated Employee was terminated because he reached the end of his

probationary period, Employee testified that it was his belief he was fired because he

requested medical treatment.

2

Employer asserted Employee was not entitled to a medical evaluation because he

waived treatment on the date of the incident, worked for another month, and then only

asked for treatment when he was denied short-term disability benefits. In addition,

Employer contended that Employee failed to present a prima facie case indicating a

likelihood of prevailing at trial because he failed to offer expert proof that his injuries were

caused by the accident. Further, Employer alleged that Employee had made claims for the

same body parts in previous workers’ compensation claims and may have fallen at home

following the incident. In response, Employee denied falling at home and testified that

none of his previous injuries were work related. He requested an evaluation and medical

treatment for his alleged injuries stemming from the work incident as well as temporary

disability benefits. During the hearing, Employer sought to introduce an affidavit of its

President and Chief Operating Officer, Mr. Gregory Lorenzo, for “impeachment/rebuttal”

purposes, but the court excluded the document because Employer failed to produce the

document ten days prior to the hearing as required by applicable regulations.

On February 28, the court ordered Employer to provide a panel of physicians

pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(i), which requires the

provision of a panel of three doctors if an injured employee has reported a work-related

injury and “expressed a need for medical care.” The court pointed to “unrebutted evidence”

that Employee requested medical evaluations in August and September 2024 and noted

that Employer had received proper notice of the accident. In addition, the court found that

the waiver signed by Employee expressly contemplated that he would be able to pursue

medical benefits in the future when it stated that any future claims for benefits related to

this accident would have to be evaluated by a physician arranged through Employer’s

insurer. The waiver, however, placed no particular time constraints on seeking medical

benefits in the future.

As a result, the court determined that Employer did not provide a sufficient defense

for its failure to provide a panel. In response to Employer’s argument that Employee is not

entitled to any benefits because he requested them after being terminated, the court found

such arguments “contrary to the evidence,” relying on Employee’s unrefuted testimony

that he had requested medical treatment prior to his termination. Finally, the court stated

that Employer cannot rely on its own interpretation of medical records in raising a defense

related to medical causation, which requires expert medical opinions. As a result, the court

ordered Employer to provide Employee with a panel of physicians to evaluate his hip,

shoulder, and back complaints and to authorize treatment for any work-related conditions.

Further, it denied Employee’s request for temporary disability benefits because Employee

offered no medical opinion addressing the cause of any period of disability. Employer has

appealed. 1

1

The trial court also referred Employer to the Bureau’s Compliance Program for its failure to timely provide

a panel.

3

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing the trial court’s decision presumes that the

court’s factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2024). When the trial judge has had the

opportunity to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give

considerable deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp.

of Tenn., Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar deference need

be afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.” Goodman v.

Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Moreover, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Batey v. Deliver This, Inc., 568

S.W.3d 91, 95-96 (Tenn. 2019). We are also mindful of our obligation to construe the

workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in accordance with basic principles

of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor either the employee or the

employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2024).

Analysis

In its notice of appeal, Employer raised five issues. However, in its brief on appeal,

Employer narrowed its focus to two issues: (1) whether it was an abuse of discretion for

the court to find “Employee presented sufficient evidence of a prima facie claim for

medical treatment such that he would prevail at a hearing on the merits notwithstanding

evidence of prior overlapping workers’ compensation claims and treatment, in addition to

a potential subsequent and intervening injury” and (2) whether the trial court abused its

discretion by excluding “evidence when it had significant and rebuttable purposes or by

allowing evidence in notwithstanding [] Employer’s objections.” We have chosen to

address the second issue first.

Evidentiary Issues

A trial court’s evidentiary rulings are reviewed for an abuse of discretion. See

Russell v. Crutchfield, 988 S.W.2d 168, 171 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1998). An appellate court

may “find an abuse of discretion only if the [trial] court ‘applied incorrect legal standards,

reached an illogical conclusion, based its decision on a clearly erroneous assessment of the

evidence, or employ[ed] reasoning that causes an injustice to the complaining party.’”

Wright ex rel. Wright v. Wright, 337 S.W.3d 166, 176 (Tenn. 2011).

Employer contends that the trial court’s “refusal to admit Employer’s proffered

affidavit as impeachment/rebuttal evidence” constituted an abuse of discretion.

Specifically, Employer relied on Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 0800-02-21-.15(1)(b), which

states:

4

Evidence or witnesses not disclosed in accordance with this rule, except for

witnesses or evidence intended for impeachment purposes, will not be

considered unless good cause is shown for why the evidence/witness was not

timely disclosed.

Employer contends that because it offered the affidavit for impeachment and/or rebuttal of

certain testimony offered by Employee, it did not have to be filed ten business days prior

to the hearing. We agree that the trial court abused its discretion in refusing to admit the

affidavit for the limited purpose of impeaching Employee’s testimony regarding certain

alleged communications with Employer after the work accident. At the hearing, counsel

for Employer asked Employee if he had fallen at home and if he had informed Mr. Lorenzo

that he had fallen at home, and Employee denied that either had occurred. This testimony

was directly refuted by the testimony contained in Mr. Lorenzo’s affidavit. As noted

above, the Bureau’s rules do not require impeachment evidence to be disclosed or provided

prior to its use at a hearing, and Employer’s pre-hearing statement preserved the right to

call witnesses and introduce evidence for impeachment purposes. In short, we conclude

the trial court applied an incorrect legal standard when it excluded the affidavit from

evidence.

However, under the circumstances presented in this case, we also conclude the

court’s ultimate decision to order Employer to provide a panel of physicians did not depend

on the information contained in the affidavit. There is no dispute that an accident occurred

at work, that Employee timely reported it and signed a waiver of medical care at that time,

and that Employee later requested treatment. Thus, under these circumstances, we

conclude the contents of the affidavit would not have altered Employer’s statutory

obligation to provide Employee with a panel of physicians for evaluation and, if

appropriate, treatment of any work-related injuries. Thus, the trial court’s error in

excluding the affidavit was harmless under the circumstances.

Employer also asserts the trial court erred by accepting Employee’s testimony that

he requested medical treatment on multiple occasions when that information had not been

disclosed in Employee’s discovery responses. We are not persuaded. The testimony

Employee presented during the expedited hearing that he requested medical treatment from

his supervisor prior to his September 30, 2024 email was unrefuted. Thus, we conclude

the preponderance of the evidence supports the trial court’s determination that Employee

requested medical treatment for his work-related accident after initially signing the medical

waiver. We further conclude the contents of the affidavit, even if admitted into evidence,

do not impact our finding regarding the preponderance of the evidence on this issue.

Panel of Physicians

Turning to Employer’s argument that the trial court “abused its discretion” when it

ordered Employer to provide a panel of physicians, we first note that we do not review a

5

trial court’s award of medical benefits under an abuse-of-discretion standard. Rather, we

review the case to determine where the preponderance of the evidence lies, giving a

presumption of correctness to the trial court’s factual findings. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-239(c)(7). Thus, the question is not whether the trial court abused its discretion but

whether the preponderance of the evidence supports the trial court’s finding that Employee

is likely to prevail on the merits of his claim for medical benefits. We conclude it does.

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(i) provides, in relevant part:

[I]n any case when the employee has suffered an injury and expressed a need

for medical care, the employer shall designate a group of three (3) or more

independent reputable physicians . . . from which the injured employee shall

select one (1) to be the treating physician.

(Emphasis added.) See also Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-01-.06(1). Here, there is

no dispute that a work incident occurred or that Employer was provided timely notice of

the accident and alleged injuries. Although Employee signed a waiver declining medical

treatment at that time, he provided unrefuted testimony that he later requested medical

evaluations within several weeks and again in September 2024. Further, the waiver itself

provided that Employee could seek medical benefits even after the waiver had been signed.

We recently addressed an employer’s statutory obligation to provide medical

benefits and the legal difference between a work-related accident and a work-related injury:

[A]n employer’s statutory obligation to provide a panel of physicians is

triggered by the occurrence of a work-related accident and a request for

medical treatment, irrespective of whether any injury has been identified.

After receiving a report of a work-related accident and a request for medical

care, an employer is statutorily obligated to provide a panel of physicians

unless the employer asserts some affirmative defense that would disqualify

the employee from receiving benefits. Employers are entitled to investigate

claims and make preliminary determinations as to the compensability of the

accident based on that investigation. Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-14-

.04(6). Employers are not, however, in a position to make medical

determinations regarding whether an accident has caused an injury.

Thompson v. Comcast Corp., No. 2017-05-0639, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App.

Bd. LEXIS 1 (Tenn Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 30, 2018) (“[P]arties and

their lawyers cannot rely on their own medical interpretations of the evidence

to successfully support their arguments.”); see also McCord v. Advantage

Human Resourcing, No. 2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 6 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015) (The employee

“has come forward with sufficient evidence entitling her to a panel of

6

physicians . . . whether the alleged work accident resulted in a compensable

injury has yet to be determined.”).

Thompson v. Weigel Stores, Inc., No. 2023-03-6769, 2025 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 1, at *6-7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 17, 2025). Further, we conclude

that an employer cannot insulate itself from its statutory obligations with a waiver, contract,

or any other written agreement. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-114(a). Although a waiver

may be helpful in documenting an employee’s decision not to accept an employer’s offer

of medical treatment after reporting a work-related accident, it cannot change the

employer’s statutory obligation to provide a panel of physicians in circumstances as

described above.

Here, Employee timely reported a work accident, and Employer prepared a report

on the same day detailing the employee’s medical complaints arising from that accident,

including “soreness in [his] right hip and shoulder.” 2 Although Employee signed a waiver

indicating he did not want medical care at the time, within approximately one month, he

had requested medical care from his supervisor. There is no dispute in this record that

Employee experienced an accident at work that he claimed resulted in injuries, that he

properly notified Employer of the accident, and that he subsequently requested medical

care. 3 In short, the preponderance of the evidence supports the trial court’s order requiring

Employer to provide a panel of physicians.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the trial court’s order is affirmed and the case is

remanded. Costs on appeal have been taxed to Employer.

2

In its brief on appeal, Employer also contends that Employee’s inconsistent testimony “paired with the

trial court’s failure to weigh the witness’s credibility . . . qualifies as a clearly erroneous assessment of the

facts resulting in an abuse of discretion, especially when viewed within the context of the trial court’s

refusal to consider the . . . [a]ffidavit as impeachment/rebuttal evidence.” We disagree. As noted above,

Employer’s obligation to provide a panel was triggered by Employee’s work-related accident and

subsequent request for medical treatment.

3

We further note that this case is distinguishable from Berdnik v. Fairfield Glade Community Club, No.

2016-04-0328, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 32 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 18, 2017),

in which we reversed an interlocutory order for a panel of physicians. Unlike the present case, the employer

in Berdnik presented an unrefuted expert medical opinion at the expedited hearing supporting its argument

that the employee’s alleged medical condition did not arise primarily out of the work-related incident. Id.

at *14. Yet, even in Berdnik, we stated that “our resolution of this issue should not be viewed by employers

or their insurers as license to skirt their obligations under section 50-6-204 or Tenn. Comp. R & Regs. 0800-

02-01-.25, for to do so exposes them to distinct, and significant, risks.” Id. at *16-17.

7

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

William Allen ) Docket No. 2024-80-6984

)

v. ) State File No. 72735-2024

)

MJ Resurrection, Inc., et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Allen Phillips, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 7th day

of May, 2025.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Garett P. Franklyn X gpfranklyn@mijs.com

Lauren N. Gray lngray@mijs.com

clbailey@mijs.com

William Allen X w38134@yahoo.com

Allen Phillips, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.