Opinion

City of Philadelphia v. L. Thompson (WCAB)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Mar 19, 2025
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Leavitt
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 34.5%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

City of Philadelphia, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 923 C.D. 2021

: Submitted: October 8, 2024

Larry Thompson (Workers’ :

Compensation Appeal Board), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE MATTHEW S. WOLF, Judge

HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BY SENIOR JUDGE LEAVITT FILED: March 19, 2025

The City of Philadelphia (Employer) petitions for this Court’s review

of an adjudication of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) that

awarded survivor benefits to Robin Thompson (Claimant) for the work-related death

of her husband, Larry Thompson (Decedent). In doing so, the Board affirmed the

decision of a workers’ compensation judge (WCJ) that Decedent’s cancer was

caused by his work as a firefighter. On appeal, Employer argues that the WCJ and

the Board erred because the fatal claim petition was untimely filed and because

Claimant did not satisfy the prerequisites for the statutory presumption in the

Workers’ Compensation Act (Act)1 that can be used to establish that a firefighter’s

cancer was caused by his employment.

1

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1-1041.4, 2501-2710.

Background

In 2016, Claimant filed a fatal claim petition alleging that Decedent’s

lymphoma, which caused his death on May 11, 2013, resulted from his work as a

firefighter for Employer. On May 4, 2018, the WCJ granted the petition, concluding

that Decedent’s non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma was work related. Employer appealed,

asserting that because the fatal claim petition was filed more than three years after

Decedent’s date of death, it was untimely under Section 315 of the Act, 77 P.S. §602.

The Board remanded the matter to the WCJ to determine whether Claimant’s petition

was filed on May 6, 2016, or on June 7, 2016. The Board explained that in their

respective arguments, the parties used documents that were not in the record. The

Board remanded for the WCJ to make a finding on the filing date. The Board also

directed that, on remand, the WCJ should consider the petition in light of the

Supreme Court’s then-recent decision in City of Philadelphia Fire Department v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Sladek), 195 A.3d 197 (Pa. 2018) (Sladek

II).

On September 14, 2020, a different WCJ issued the remand decision.

The WCJ found that the petition was electronically filed on May 6, 2016, which fell

within three years of Decedent’s death; thus, the petition was timely under Section

315 of the Act. One summary in the Workers’ Compensation Automation and

Integration System (WCAIS) showed a “received date” of June 7, 2016, for the

petition. Reproduced Record at 554 (R.R. __).2 Another document in the WCAIS

showed a “date filed” of May 6, 2016. R.R. 256. This latter date was confirmed in

2

Pennsylvania Rule of Appellate Procedure 2173 requires that the reproduced record be numbered

in Arabic figures followed by a small “a.” Pa.R.A.P. 2173. The reproduced record does not

comply with Rule 2173 because it only utilizes Arabic figures. For convenience, we cite to each

page as paginated by Employer.

2

a letter from Claimant’s counsel to Employer dated May 6, 2016, and it was the date

used by the WCJ to make her finding.

As to Sladek II, the WCJ concluded that Claimant’s evidence

established the prerequisites to the statutory presumption set forth in Sections 108(r)3

and 301(f)4 of the Act and, thus, proved that Decedent’s cancer was caused by his

employment.

The WCJ credited Claimant’s testimony that Decedent worked for

Employer as a firefighter from 1985 to October of 2010; worked in many firehouses;

and often came home smelling like smoke. The WCJ also credited the testimony of

Joseph Discher, who worked with Decedent at Task Force 30 and then as his

supervisor at Ladder 25. Discher saw Decedent fight fires in which he was exposed

to smoke with no self-contained breathing apparatus or other personal protective

equipment. Discher testified that Decedent was also exposed to diesel exhaust

emissions from the ladder trucks that were operated inside the firehouse during daily

equipment checks. “[E]very couple months or so,” the firefighters would have to

scrub the soot from the diesel exhaust from the walls. Discher Dep. at 11; R.R. 206.

The firehouses were not equipped with diesel fuel capture systems. Discher

acknowledged that he did not fight fires with Decedent after 2001 and agreed that

although some fire calls involved accidents and not fires, “[l]adder companies

basically just go to structure fires.” Discher Dep. at 25; R.R. 220.

The WCJ credited the expert testimony of Tee Guidotti, M.D., who is

board certified in internal, pulmonary and occupational medicine and trained in the

fields of toxicology and epidemiology. Dr. Guidotti opined that Decedent probably

3

Added by the Act of July 7, 2011, P.L. 251, 77 P.S. §27.1(r).

4

Added by the Act of July 7, 2011, P.L. 251, 77 P.S. §414.

3

had marginal zone B-cell lymphoma, which is an uncommon cancer, or else a diffuse

large B-cell lymphoma, which is more common. They are “all part of a big family[]”

and can “transform into one another” because they are “the same cell type[.]”

Guidotti Dep. at 21; R.R. 46.

Dr. Guidotti testified that the “B-cell line” of lymphomas can be

elevated by carcinogens found at fire scenes. Guidotti Dep. at 35; R.R. 60. Dr.

Guidotti identified the Group 1 carcinogen, trichloroethylene (TCE), as one related

to the formation of B-cell lymphoma. Decedent’s assignment to ladder companies

indicated his frequent exposure to fire smoke. In addition, diesel-powered engines

and ladders filled the firehouses with diesel exhaust, exposing the firefighters “to a

variety of potential carcinogens that arise from [] diesel exhaust that are well-

documented [International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC)] group 1 and 2A

carcinogens.”5 Guidotti Dep. at 26; R.R. 51.

Dr. Guidotti testified that while “not many studies have been done that

hone down on particular lymphomas,” the relationship between TCE and diffuse B-

cell lymphoma “is not under serious dispute.” Guidotti Dep. at 36-37; R.R. 61-62.

The scientific literature shows an elevated risk for diffuse large B-cell lymphoma

5

The Supreme Court has explained IARC as follows:

The IARC is a specialized research group within the World Health Organization

that attempts to identify the causes of human cancers. The agency evaluates various

agents, mixtures, and exposures, and classifies them into one of five groups. Group

1 substances are considered “carcinogenic to humans;” Group 2A substances are

“probably carcinogenic to humans;” Group 2B substances are “possibly

carcinogenic to humans;” Group 3 substances are “not classifiable as to human

carcinogenicity;” and Group 4 substances are “probably not carcinogenic to

humans.”

Sladek II, 195 A.3d at 200 n.4 (citing IARC Monographs on the Evaluation of Carcinogenic Risks

to Humans, WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION, https://www.iarc.who.int/wp-

content/uploads/2018/07/Monographs_Back_QA.pdf (last visited March 18, 2025)).

4

given the exposures known to occur in firefighting. Dr. Guidotti opined that

Decedent’s occupation as a firefighter put him at an increased risk for the cancer

from which he died.

Dr. Guidotti also considered Decedent’s potential risk factors and his

medical history of smoking, diabetes, hepatitis C, and a heart condition. Hepatitis C

can cause splenic marginal zone lymphoma, a subtype of marginal zone lymphoma

that would cause a “massively enlarged spleen,” but Decedent did not have an

enlarged spleen. Guidotti Dep. at 22; R.R. 47. Guidotti testified that people who

have diabetes “are at some slight increased risk” for developing B-cell lymphoma,

but that risk is less than the risk reported for firefighters. Guidotti Dep. at 45; R.R.

70.

On cross-examination, Dr. Guidotti noted that IARC recognized 2, 3,

7, 8 tetrachloro dibenzo-para-dioxin (dioxin) as a Group 1 carcinogen related to the

formation of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Guidotti testified that dioxin is present at

fire scenes and is “a very potent promoter” of cancer. Guidotti Dep. at 135; R.R.

160. Dr. Guidotti acknowledged that his report stated that the IARC classifies TCE

as a Group 1 carcinogen for kidney cancer and a Group 2A carcinogen for

lymphomas.

Employer presented the testimony of Howard Sandler, M.D., an expert

in occupational and environmental medicine. Dr. Sandler agreed that Decedent died

from B-cell lymphoma, specifically diffuse large B-cell lymphoma. People in their

late 50s and 60s have an increased risk of developing B-cell lymphoma, and

Decedent fit into that age group. Dr. Sandler testified that it is not known what

causes the majority of B-cell lymphomas. TCE is a Group 1 carcinogen for kidney

cancer, and it has been primarily studied for those who work in the aerospace

5

manufacturing industry. In Dr. Sandler’s view, TCE is not correlated to the

development of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, regardless of exposure duration or

intensity. He opined that Decedent’s cancer was not the result of working in a ladder

or engine company and stated that there was no correlation between his cancer and

his work as a firefighter. Dr. Sandler testified that studies have associated hepatitis

C and diabetes with an increased risk for development of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma,

which could have caused Claimant’s disease.

In response, Claimant presented a June 29, 2017, rebuttal report from

Dr. Guidotti. He again opined that there was no question, given the chemicals to

which Decedent was exposed and the elevated risk for non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma

among career firefighters, that Decedent’s occupation substantially contributed to

his risk of lymphoma. He opined that Decedent’s lymphoma arose out of his

firefighting exposures.

The WCJ credited Dr. Guidotti’s testimony over Dr. Sandler’s,

explaining that Dr. Guidotti was more qualified to testify in light of the many articles

he had published on the issue of cancer in firefighting service. Further, Dr.

Guidotti’s opinion was supported by IARC monographs and the medical literature.

Based on the credited testimony of Dr. Guidotti, Claimant, and Discher,

the WCJ found that Decedent last worked as a firefighter in October 2010; that he

worked more than four years in continuous firefighting duties prior to his cancer

diagnosis; and that his pre-employment physical examination did not reveal any

evidence of cancer. Decedent’s employment exposed him to soot, smoke, and diesel

fuel emissions that included Group 1 carcinogens. Claimant’s evidence established

a causative link between Decedent’s B-cell, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and the

Group 1 carcinogen, dioxin. Given these findings, Claimant was entitled to the

6

statutory presumption in Section 301(f) of the Act that Decedent’s cancer was caused

by his firefighting duties. Employer did not rebut the presumption because Dr.

Sandler did not provide an unequivocal opinion that Decedent’s cancer was caused

by another agent.

The WCJ awarded Claimant 51% of Decedent’s average weekly wage

that he was earning when he last worked in 2010. The WCJ ordered Employer to

prepare a statement of wages using October 2010 as the date of injury and to begin

paying Claimant 51% of Decedent’s average weekly wage, in no event to be less

than 51% of the statewide average weekly wage for 2010, which was $430.95.6

Employer appealed. The Board affirmed the WCJ’s decision and held

that substantial evidence supported the WCJ’s finding that the fatal claim petition

was electronically filed and received in the WCAIS on May 6, 2016, which was

within three years of Decedent’s death under Section 315 of the Act. The Board

agreed that Claimant’s evidence established her entitlement to the presumption of

compensability under Section 301(f) of the Act. As such, the burden shifted to

Employer to establish that firefighting did not cause Decedent’s cancer. Because

the WCJ rejected the testimony of Employer’s expert, Employer did not rebut the

presumption.

Employer petitioned for this Court’s review.

Appeal

On appeal,7 Employer raises three issues for our consideration. First,

Employer argues that the Board erred in affirming the WCJ’s finding that Claimant

6

The WCJ calculated 51% of the statewide average weekly wage for 2010 to be $422.50. The

Board noted that the statewide average weekly wage for 2010 was $845.00, and 51% of that

amount should be $430.95. Board Adjudication at 13, n.6.

7

Our review of an adjudication of the Board determines whether the necessary findings of fact are

supported by substantial evidence, whether the Board procedures were violated, whether

7

filed a timely fatal claim petition. Second, and in the alternative, Employer argues

that the Board erred in holding that Claimant met her evidentiary burden under

Sections 108(r) and 301(f) of the Act and, thus, was entitled to the statutory

presumption that Decedent’s cancer was work related. Third, Employer argues that

the WCJ erred in calculating Claimant’s survivor benefits on the basis of Decedent’s

earnings in 2010, as opposed to his earnings at the time of death. We address these

issues seriatim.

I. Timeliness of Fatal Claim Petition

In its first issue, Employer argues that the Board erred in holding that

Claimant filed a timely fatal claim petition. A regulation of the Bureau of Workers’

Compensation (Bureau) states that where a petition does not contain a postmark or

postal receipt, the filing date is the date on which the Bureau received the petition.

34 Pa. Code §121.3(c). Employer’s documentary evidence showed that Claimant’s

fatal claim petition was “received” by the Bureau on June 7, 2016. R.R. 554.

Because that was more than three years after Decedent’s death on May 11, 2013, the

petition was untimely under Section 315 of the Act.

Claimant counters that the WCJ found that she filed the fatal claim

petition electronically on May 6, 2016, and that finding is supported by substantial

evidence. A log in the WCAIS showed a filing date of May 6, 2016, and a letter of

counsel to Employer confirmed that date. Claimant noted that this issue has been

litigated twice before two WCJs, and they reached the same conclusion: the claim

petition was electronically filed, and received, on May 6, 2016.

Section 315 of the Act provides, in pertinent part:

constitutional rights were violated, or whether an error of law was committed. Walter v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Evangelical Community Hospital), 128 A.3d 367, 371 n.5 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2015).

8

In cases of personal injury all claims for compensation shall be

forever barred, unless, within three years after the injury, the

parties shall have agreed upon the compensation payable under

this article; or unless within three years after the injury, one of

the parties shall have filed a petition as provided in article four

hereof. In cases of death all claims for compensation shall be

forever barred, unless within three years after the death, the

parties shall have agreed upon the compensation under this

article; or unless, within three years after the death, one of the

parties shall have filed a petition as provided in article four

hereof.

77 P.S. §602 (emphasis added). Section 121.3(c) of the Bureau regulation further

provides:

(c) The filing date is the date indicated on the United States

Postal Service postmark or postal receipt. If the postmark or

postal receipt is absent or unreadable, the filing date is the date

of receipt by the Bureau. In all other instances, including

electronic filing or hand-delivery, the filing date is the Bureau’s

date of receipt.

34 Pa. Code §121.3(c) (emphasis added). In short, the “date of receipt” governs the

filing date whenever a petition is filed electronically. Id.

On remand before the WCJ, the parties submitted additional evidence

relevant to the date of the petition’s filing. Claimant’s counsel produced a copy of

a letter she sent to Employer, dated May 6, 2016, stating “[e]nclosed please find a

copy of a Fatal Claim Petition, that we filed electronically with the Bureau [].” R.R.

557. A printout from WCAIS, titled “Claim Summary-External,” showed that the

fatal claim petition was “received” on June 7, 2016. R.R. 554. However, a business

event log on WCAIS showed “petition filed” on May 6, 2016; “address changed”

for both Claimant and Employer on June 7, 2016; and “petition accepted” on June

8, 2016. R.R. 561. Based on the log and counsel’s letter, the WCJ found that

Claimant filed the fatal claim petition electronically on May 6, 2016.

9

The relevant inquiry in a substantial evidence analysis is not whether

“there is evidence in the record which supports a factual finding contrary to that

made by the WCJ” but, rather, “whether there is any evidence which supports the

WCJ’s factual finding.” Hoffmaster v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Senco Products, Inc.), 721 A.2d 1152, 1155 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998). The Court views

the evidence in a light most favorable to the party that prevailed before the factfinder.

Id. While there are inconsistencies in the documentary evidence, the WCJ’s finding

that Claimant filed her fatal claim petition electronically on May 6, 2016, is

supported by substantial evidence, and the Board did not err in affirming the WCJ

in this regard.

II. Statutory Presumption for Occupational Diseases

Employer argues, next, that the Board erred in holding that Claimant

met her burden on the prerequisites to the presumption in Sections 108(r) and 301(f)

of the Act that Claimant used to establish that Decedent’s cancer was related to his

firefighting duties. Employer concedes that Decedent had non-Hodgkin’s

lymphoma; that he was a firefighter for more than four years in continuous

firefighting duties prior to his diagnosis; and that a physical examination did not

reveal any evidence of cancer prior to his employment as a firefighter. However,

Employer argues that Claimant did not establish that Decedent’s cancer was caused

by his direct exposure to an IARC Group 1 carcinogen that has been proven to cause

non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. This type of cancer has not been studied enough to allow

an expert to opine on cause; its cause is unknown, as Dr. Sandler testified. Further,

Dr. Guidotti did not state how many exposures to a Group 1 carcinogen were needed

in order to demonstrate that it was a substantial factor in the development of

Decedent’s cancer. The only documented carcinogen exposure came from a report

10

in Decedent’s personnel file, i.e., exposure to polychlorinated bi-phenyls (PCBs) in

1988. While Dr. Guidotti testified that dioxin was a cause of non-Hodgkin’s

lymphoma, he did not opine that exposure to dioxin can cause marginal zone

lymphoma, the subtype of B-cell lymphoma he believed Decedent had.

Employer asserts that TCE, the other carcinogen discussed in Dr.

Guidotti’s testimony and report, was not designated as a Group 1 carcinogen by the

IARC when Section 108(r) was added to the Act on July 7, 2011. For this reason,

TCE cannot serve as the basis for benefits under Section 108(r) of the Act. This

would violate the non-delegation doctrine, as established in Protz v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Derry Area School District), 161 A.3d 827 (Pa. 2017).

Although Decedent’s last date of work as a firefighter was in October

2010, Employer argues there is no evidence that Decedent was exposed to Group 1

carcinogens in October 2010. The WCJ assumed the last date of Decedent’s

employment was also his last date of exposure to an occupational hazard. This

assumption constitutes reversible error.

In response, Claimant argues that the WCJ’s decision was fully

consonant with the record evidence and the Act. Decedent fought fires for 25 years.

Based upon his review of the epidemiological evidence, Dr. Guidotti testified that

the risk of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is substantially increased among firefighters

and that it is caused by IARC Group 1 carcinogens including TCE and dioxin, which

are present at fire scenes. The record supported the Board’s finding that it is possible

that Group 1 carcinogens caused the type of cancer with which Decedent had been

afflicted, thereby entitling Claimant to the statutory presumption under Section

301(f) of the Act that Decedent’s cancer was work related.

11

A. Applicable Statutory and Case Law

We start with a review of the relevant law. A claimant seeking benefits

for a work-related injury bears the burden of establishing the elements necessary to

support an award. Coyne v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Villanova

University), 942 A.2d 939, 945 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008). Section 301(c)(2) of the Act

provides that the term “injury” includes an occupational disease, as defined in

Section 108 of the Act. 77 P.S. §411(2). Section 108 of the Act provides a list of

occupational diseases, one of which is “[c]ancer suffered by a firefighter which is

caused by exposure to a known carcinogen [that] is recognized as a Group 1

carcinogen by [IARC].” Section 108(r) of the Act, 77 P.S. §27.1(r) (emphasis

added). The Act establishes a presumption for firefighters asserting an occupational

disease of cancer. Section 301(f) of the Act states, in pertinent part, as follows:

Compensation pursuant to cancer suffered by a firefighter shall

only be to those firefighters who have served four or more years

in continuous firefighting duties, who can establish direct

exposure to a carcinogen referred to in section 108(r) relating to

cancer by a firefighter and have successfully passed a physical

examination prior to asserting a claim under this subsection or

prior to engaging in firefighting duties and the examination

failed to reveal any evidence of the condition of cancer. The

presumption of this subsection may be rebutted by substantial

competent evidence that shows that the firefighter’s cancer was

not caused by the occupation of firefighting.

77 P.S. §414 (emphasis added).

In sum, to use the Section 301(f) presumption, the firefighter must

establish four or more years of continuous firefighting duties; direct exposure to a

Group 1 carcinogen; and a physical examination prior to engaging in firefighting

that did not reveal cancer. The firefighter must also show that his cancer is a type

12

caused by exposure to a Group 1 carcinogen.8 At that point, the burden of proof then

shifts to the employer to offer evidence that “the firefighter’s cancer was not caused

by the occupation of firefighting.” Section 301(f) of the Act, 77 P.S. §414.

Section 301(f) of the Act also imposes a time limitation on the filing of

Section 108(r) claims. “First, a claimant must file the claim within 300 weeks of the

last date of work with exposure to a known Group 1 carcinogen; if the claimant fails

to do so, he is not foreclosed from bringing a claim by Section 301(f), but he loses

the statutory presumption of Sections 301(e) and 301(f).” Fargo v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (City of Philadelphia), 148 A.3d 514, 520 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2016) (emphasis added). Second, “if the claimant does not file the claim

until more than 600 weeks after the date of the last workplace exposure, the claimant

is foreclosed from bringing that claim in its entirety.” Id. (emphasis added). The

last date of exposure to a Group 1 carcinogen is critical in determining whether the

claimant is eligible for the evidentiary presumption of entitlement to compensation

in accordance with Section 301(f).

In Sladek II, 195 A.3d at 208, our Supreme Court held that Section

108(r) of the Act requires the claimant to establish only “a general causative link

between the claimant’s type of cancer and a Group 1 carcinogen.” In other words,

8

On the evidence of direct exposure, this Court has explained:

Notably, Section 301(f) does not require career firefighters to identify and

document the carcinogens encountered at every incident. Rather, a career firefighter

may establish direct exposure to a Group 1 carcinogen by evidence of his

occupational exposure to fire smoke, soot, diesel exhaust, and other hazardous

substances such as asbestos, and expert medical/scientific evidence identifying the

Group 1 carcinogens present in those substances.

Bristol Borough v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Burnett), 206 A.3d 585, 602 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2019).

13

the claimant must produce evidence that it is possible that the

carcinogen in question caused the type of cancer with which the

claimant is afflicted.[] It does not require the claimant to prove

that the identified Group 1 carcinogen actually caused [the]

claimant’s cancer.

Sladek II, 195 A.3d at 208 (emphasis in original; footnote omitted). The Supreme

Court instructed that “epidemiological evidence is clearly relevant and useful” at this

first stage of litigation to the extent it “can provide insight into whether the agent

can cause the disease.” Id. (internal quotation omitted). To rebut the presumption

that a firefighter’s cancer was caused by his firefighting duties, the employer must

identify the specific agent that caused the claimant’s cancer and demonstrate that

exposure to that agent did not occur in the course of firefighting duties. Id. at 209.

The employer must “produce a medical opinion regarding the specific, non-

firefighting related cause of [the] claimant’s cancer.” Id. Epidemiological evidence

is not sufficient to rebut the presumption. Id. at 209-10.

B. Analysis

With this statutory framework in mind, we first address Employer’s

challenge to the WCJ’s finding on Decedent’s last date of exposure to a Group 1

carcinogen, which date triggers the statute of limitations. In this regard, we view the

evidence in the light most favorable to Claimant, the prevailing party. Hoffmaster,

721 A.2d at 1155.

The WCJ found that Decedent’s last date of work was in October 2010

and that “during his employment” Decedent was exposed to Group 1 carcinogens.

WCJ Decision at 10, Finding of Fact No. 16. The WCJ also found that Decedent

was exposed to “all types of smoke, soot, and diesel fuel emissions” while employed

as a career firefighter, and Group 1 carcinogens were present in this smoke and

vehicle emissions. Id. These findings are supported by the credited testimony of

14

Claimant’s fact witnesses and expert. Employer contends, however, that there is no

evidence that Claimant fought fires in October of 2010 and that fact cannot be

presumed. We rejected this argument in City of Philadelphia v. Estate of Thomas

Burke (Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board) (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1215 C.D. 2020,

filed July 30, 2021) (unreported),9 slip op. at 15-16 (holding that career firefighter’s

last date of work is the last day of exposure to an occupational hazard). We will not

revisit that decision and follow it here.

Next, Employer argues that Claimant did not establish that Decedent’s

cancer was caused by his direct exposure to an IARC Group 1 carcinogen. Section

108(r) does not require the claimant to prove that the identified carcinogen “actually

caused [his] cancer.” Sladek II, 195 A.3d at 208 (emphasis added). The general

causation requirement “weeds out claims for compensation for cancers with no

known link to Group 1 carcinogens.” Id. The Supreme Court observed that the

burden imposed by Section 108(r) “is not a heavy burden.” Id.

Here, the WCJ credited the testimony of Claimant and Discher, and it

showed that Decedent, a career firefighter since 1985, had been frequently exposed

to fire smoke, soot, and diesel fuel emissions during his employment as a firefighter.

Based upon his experience and review of the medical literature, Dr. Guidotti opined

that the constituents of fire smoke, particularly TCE, are associated with an elevated

risk of B-cell, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Dr. Guidotti identified dioxin, a Group 1

carcinogen present at fire scenes, as a primary promoter of non-Hodgkin’s

lymphoma. Dr. Guidotti testified within a reasonable degree of medical certainty

9

This Court’s unreported memorandum opinions, issued after January 15, 2008, may be cited “for

[their] persuasive value, but not as a binding precedent.” Section 414(a) of the Commonwealth

Court’s Internal Operating Procedures, 210 Pa. Code §69.414(a).

15

that Claimant’s cancer, a specific form of B-Cell, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, arose

out of his occupation as a firefighter. The WCJ credited his opinion.

Employer contends that the WCJ erred because Dr. Guidotti did not

state how many times Decedent had to be exposed to any Group 1 carcinogen in

order for that exposure to be a substantial factor in his type of cancer. The only

documented carcinogen exposure was a report in Decedent’s personnel file that

suggested exposure to PCBs in 1988.

A “career firefighter may establish direct exposure to a Group 1

carcinogen by evidence of his occupational exposure to fire smoke, soot, diesel

exhaust, and other hazardous substances . . . , and expert medical/scientific evidence

identifying the Group 1 carcinogens present in those substances.” Bristol Borough,

206 A.3d at 602. In Sladek II, the claimant, a career firefighter, testified about his

exposure to fire smoke, soot, ash, and diesel emissions, and presented medical

testimony as to the causal relationship between malignant melanoma and his

exposure to these substances. This suffices to show “direct exposure.” See also

Estate of Thomas Burke, slip op. at 13 (evidence of deceased career firefighter’s

occupational exposure to fire smoke, soot, and diesel exhaust, combined with expert

medical testimony, demonstrates exposure).

The testimony of Claimant and Discher established Decedent’s

exposure to fire smoke, soot, and diesel exhaust. Dr. Guidotti testified to the causal

relationship between B-cell non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and Decedent’s exposure to

TCE and dioxin, which are found in fire scenes. In sum, substantial evidence

supports the WCJ’s finding that Claimant established Decedent’s direct exposure to

an IARC Group 1 carcinogen during his tenure as a firefighter.

16

Employer next argues that while Dr. Guidotti testified that dioxin is a

Group 1 carcinogen related to non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, he did not testify that

exposure to dioxin can cause marginal zone lymphoma, the subtype of B-cell

lymphoma suffered by Decedent. Dr. Guidotti explained as follows:

[Dioxin] is thought to be a primary carcinogen for non-

Hodgkin’s lymphoma but it is also a very, very potent promoter.

So if you have a carcinogen and then you also give dioxin you

will get many more tumors than if you gave the primary

carcinogen alone or dioxin alone and added them up.

So it has a promoting effect, and it fits into the category of what

you were saying earlier about not exactly carcinogens but

carcinogen promoters or co-carcinogens that amplify the effect

of exposure to carcinogen, and dioxin is a classic example of that.

Guidotti Dep. at 135; R.R. 160 (emphasis added).

Taken as a whole, Dr. Guidotti explained that dioxin, a Group 1

carcinogen, amplified the effect of Decedent’s exposure to other carcinogenic

chemicals present in fire smoke, including TCE, that are associated with the

formation of B-cell, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Dr. Guidotti also testified the

subtypes of B-cell lymphomas, whether a marginal zone B-cell lymphoma or a

diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, can “transform into one another” because they are

“the same cell type[.]” Guidotti Dep. at 21; R.R. 46. While Dr. Guidotti and Dr.

Sandler disagreed on the subtype of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma Decedent had, they

“agreed that the distinction does not impact causation.” Employer Brief at 19.

Section 108(r) of the Act requires a claimant to produce evidence that

it is possible that the carcinogen in question caused the type of cancer from which

he suffered, not that “the identified carcinogen actually caused [his] cancer.” Sladek

II, 195 A.3d at 208 (emphasis added). Dr. Guidotti’s medical opinion on the

causation of Claimant’s B-cell, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma satisfies the general

17

causation requirement in Section 108(r) of the Act. Because the WCJ rejected the

opinion of Dr. Sandler, Employer did not overcome the presumption that Decedent’s

cancer was related to his work as a firefighter. On appellate review, this Court does

not reweigh evidence or review witness credibility. Casne v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Stat Couriers, Inc.), 962 A.2d 14, 17 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2008).

Finally, Employer argues that TCE cannot be the basis on which to

award death benefits under Section 108(r) of the Act because it was not designated

as a Group 1 carcinogen by the IARC when Section 108(r) was added to the Act on

July 7, 2011. The WCJ award violates the non-delegation doctrine under Protz, 161

A.3d 827. This Court considered, and rejected, this argument in City of Philadelphia

v. Healey (Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board), 297 A.3d 872, 882 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2023) (en banc), in which we explained:

[U]nlike Protz and Pennsylvania Builders Association v.

Department of Labor & Industry, 4 A.3d 215 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2010), wherein the General Assembly expressly authorized third

parties to set standards that substantively affected [workers’

compensation] recipients and builders without the necessary

safeguards in place, in Section 108(r) of the Act, the General

Assembly merely established the IARC’s Group 1 listings as the

evidentiary standard for claimants’ statutory presumption that

“weeds out” [workers’ compensation] claims “for cancer[ ] with

no known link to Group 1 carcinogens.” Sladek, 195 A.3d at

208. A claimant does not automatically receive [workers’

compensation] benefits merely because the IARC listed it as a

Group 1 carcinogen. A claimant still has the burden to prove that

he was exposed to such a substance and that the substance has

been linked to his type of cancer. A WCJ must ultimately

determine whether a claimant met his burden based on the

evidence presented. Thus, regardless of whether ongoing

research may change the IARC’s Group 1 list, a claimant’s

evidentiary threshold remains the same.

18

We will not revisit that decision.

The findings of the WCJ are supported by substantial evidence, and

they support the WCJ’s conclusion that Claimant was entitled to the statutory

presumption in Section 301(f) of the Act to prove that his non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma

was an occupational disease under Section 108(r) of the Act. We discern no error in

the Board’s adjudication to affirm the WCJ.

III. Average Weekly Wage

In its final issue, Employer argues that the WCJ incorrectly calculated

Decedent’s average weekly wage. Employer argues that Decedent’s wages should

be calculated as of the date his disability arose in 2013, when he was diagnosed with

cancer. At that time, Decedent was employed by Presbyterian Hospital. Employer

argues that Decedent’s 2013 wages, not those earned as a firefighter, should govern

the calculation of compensation. Employer argues that Fisk v. Workmen’s

Compensation Appeal Board (General Electric), 633 A.2d 1305 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1993), is distinguishable from the case at bar because the issue in Fisk was about

“rate of compensation,” which does not provide “precedential authority regarding

the calculation of average weekly wage in an occupational disease case[.]”

Employer Brief at 41 (emphasis in original omitted). Employer argues that the WCJ

improperly placed Claimant’s burden of establishing Decedent’s wages upon

Employer.

In Fisk, the decedent last worked for the employer that exposed him to

asbestos on November 30, 1980. After he retired, he went to work for another

employer. The decedent was diagnosed with asbestos-related lung disease in 1986

and died in 1987. The issue presented before this Court was whether the award

19

should be “based upon the decedent’s wage at the time that he was last exposed to

asbestos[.]” Fisk, 633 A.2d at 1306.

This Court held that a claimant in an occupational disease case is

entitled to benefits calculated on the basis of his wages at the time of his last

exposure to the occupational hazard. A Bureau regulation states: “For cases

involving occupational diseases under the act, the weekly wage will be determined

in accordance with [S]ection 309 of the [A]ct (77 P.S. §582), and a claimant’s

compensation rate shall be subject to the maximum compensation payable rate in

effect at the date of last exposure.” 34 Pa. Code §121.14 (emphasis added). This

Court observed that setting the compensation rate as of the date a claimant’s

occupational disease manifested itself would be unjust to employees who are

unemployed or retired. Fisk, 633 A.2d at 1307. They would have no earnings upon

which to base an award. Therefore, we concluded that “for the purpose of

calculating benefits in occupational disease cases under the Act, the date of injury

must be the date of last exposure.” Id.

In City of Johnstown v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Sevanick) (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1156 C.D. 2019, filed January 10, 2020) (unreported),

this Court considered, and rejected, the argument that Fisk is limited in scope. We

held that “Fisk leaves no uncertainty that the rate of compensation in an occupational

disease case is fixed in the year during which the claimant is last exposed and that

the [average weekly wage] is subject to the maximum rate in effect at the date of the

claimant’s last exposure.” Sevanick, slip op. at 18-19.

Because Decedent’s last date of exposure to the occupational hazard

was October 2010, the WCJ directed the payment of benefits based on Decedent’s

wage as of October 2010. This did not improperly place Claimant’s burden of

20

proving Decedent’s loss of wages upon Employer. Employer has records of

Decedent’s employment, and Employer has not asserted that such information is

unavailable. See Estate of Thomas Burke, slip op. at 17.

Conclusion

We conclude that Claimant timely filed her fatal claim petition and met

her evidentiary burden under Sections 108(r) and 301(f) of the Act and, thus,

established that Decedent’s cancer was related to his employment as a firefighter.

The record supports the WCJ’s finding that Decedent’s last date of exposure to an

occupational hazard was in October 2010, and the WCJ correctly held that

Claimant’s benefits should be calculated as of Decedent’s last date of exposure.

Thus, we affirm the Board’s adjudication.

____________________________________________

MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge Emerita

Judge Dumas did not participate in the decision in this case.

21

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

City of Philadelphia, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 923 C.D. 2021

:

Larry Thompson (Workers’ :

Compensation Appeal Board), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 19th day of March, 2025, the adjudication of the

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board, dated July 21, 2021, in the above-captioned

matter, is AFFIRMED.

____________________________________________

MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge Emerita

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.