Opinion

CNL Insurance v. Smith

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Oct 27, 1995
Status
Published
On the bench
Presiding Judge Alan E. Highers
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.2%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

CNL INSURANCE AMERICA, INC. v. MISTY D. SMITH, ET AL.

An Appeal from the Chancery Court for Warren County

No. 6501; The Honorable Charles Haston, Chancellor

No. M1999-00198-COA-R3-CV - Decided May 5, 2000

This appeal arises out of a declaratory judgment action filed by CNL Insurance seeking a

determination of its obligations under an automobile insurance policy. The Warren County Chancery

Court entered a jury verdict finding CNL liable for coverage under the policy. For the reasons stated

herein, we reverse the trial court decision.

Tenn.R.App. 3; Appeal as of right; Judgment of the Chancery Court is reversed.

HIGHERS , J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which CRAWFORD , P.J., W.S., and LILLARD , J.,

joined.

Joseph B. Klockenkemper, II, ORTALE, KELLEY, HERBERT & CRAWFORD, LLP,

Nashville, for Appellant, CNL Insurance America, Inc.

B. Timothy Pirtle, McMinnville, for Appellees, Misty D. Smith, et al

OPINION

I. Facts and Procedural History

The basic facts of this case are not in dispute. CNL Insurance America, Inc.,

(“CNL”)(“Appellant”) is a foreign insurance company authorized to transact business in the State

of Tennessee. Two of the named defendants in this action, Frank and Sallie Smith, were insured

under a personal automobile insurance policy issued by CNL. On October 27, 1995, Misty Smith,

the adult daughter of Frank and Sallie Smith, was involved in an automobile accident while driving

her mother’s vehicle with permission. Michael L. Simons and Jim Simons, also named defendants

in the present action, were involved in the accident and subsequently filed a civil action against both

Misty and Sallie Smith.

On July 2, 1997, CNL filed the present action seeking a declaration that they were not liable

for damages arising out of the aforementioned automobile accident, nor were they obligated to

defend the action on behalf of the Smiths. CNL alleged that it was not liable for coverage because

both the application for insurance and the Declaration page listed Misty Smith as an “Excluded

Driver.” It is undisputed that neither Sallie Smith, as owner of the vehicle, or Misty Smith, as the

excluded driver, signed the documents which purported to exclude coverage for Misty. Frank Smith,

as a named insured, signed the document denoting his acceptance of the exclusion.

The allegations in the complaint were denied in an answer filed by Michael and Jim Simons.

However, no answer was filed on behalf of Frank, Sallie, or Misty Smith. As such, an order of

default judgment was entered against those defendants on May 21, 1993. Michael Simons

subsequently filed a motion seeking relief from the default judgment entered against Frank, Sallie,

and Misty Smith arguing that his answering of the complaint and his interest in the underlying tort

action was sufficient to defeat the motion for default judgment.1

The case was ultimately presented to a jury. The jury returned a verdict finding that the

exclusionary language did not apply, and an order of judgment was accordingly entered against CNL.

CNL filed a motion seeking to have the verdict set aside. The motion was denied, and this appeal

followed.

Law and Analysis

CNL has presented numerous issues for this court’s consideration. However, we consider

all of those issues to be subsumed in the single question of whether the exclusionary language

contained in the policy application and declarations page served to preclude coverage. We find the

exclusionary language to be applicable, and thus reverse the decision of the trial court.

As an initial matter, we express our reservations as to whether this case should have

proceeded to trial. CNL actively sought dismissal of this case through summary judgment, arguing

that the only issues to be resolved were pure questions of law. Based on our review of this case, we

find that argument to be well-taken. Issues relating to the interpretation of written contracts involve

legal rather than factual issues. See Rapp Constr. Co. v. Jay Realty Co., 809 S.W.2d 490, 491

(Tenn. Ct. App. 1991); Taylor v. Universal Tire Inc., 672 S.W.2d 775, 777 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1984).

Accordingly, issues relating to the scope of coverage and an insurer's duty to defend likewise present

questions of law. See Pile v. Carpenter, 99 S.W. 360, 362 (1907); Pennsylvania Lumbermens Mut.

Fire Ins. Co. v. Holt, 223 S.W.2d 203, 206 (1949). These essentially legal questions can be resolved

through summary judgment when the relevant facts are not in dispute. See St. Paul Fire & Marine

Ins. Co. v. Torpoco, 879 S.W.2d 831, 834 (Tenn. 1994); Rainey v. Stansell, 836 S.W.2d 117, 118

(Tenn. Ct. App. 1992).

Rule 56.04 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure contains two requirements for granting

summary judgment. First, there must be no genuine issue with regard to the material facts relevant

1

Although the record does not contain an order addressing the motion to se t aside the de fault judg ment, it

appears that the m otion w as granted , insofar as th e case pro ceeded to trial.

2

to the claim or defense embodied in the motion. Byrd v. Hall, 847 S.W.2d 208, 211 (Tenn. 1993).

Second, the moving party must be entitled to a judgment as a matter of law based on the undisputed

facts. Anderson v. Standard Register Co., 857 S.W.2d 555, 559 (Tenn. 1993). Simply stated, there

is really no dispute regarding the material facts in the present case. The dispositive question, at least

to this court, is whether the purported exclusion was effective. Since this question is purely one of

law, the second requirement of Rule 56.04 appears to have been satisfied.

Ultimately, however, there is little practical significance regarding the standard of review

which we employ. Even under the standard of review applicable to jury verdicts, namely, whether

there is any material evidence to support the jury’s decision, See Rule 13(d), T.R.A.P., the outcome

would be the same. The overwhelming evidence in this case indicates that the exclusion was in full

force and effect.

We must reject any argument that the exclusion is inapplicable due to Sallie Smith’s failure

to sign the insurance application. Mrs. Smith’s deposition testimony clearly shows that she was well

aware of the exclusion.

Q: Did you know that your husband had signed these insurance papers excluding

her [Misty Smith] from being covered under your insurance?

A: At the time I told her she could drive it, I did

...

Q: And even though you knew she was excluded, - -

A: Yes, I knew that.

Q: - - you let her do it anyway?

A: Yes, sir.

If we are to presume that a person’s signature serves as an acknowledgment of the provisions on

the page they are signing, Mrs. Smith’s failure to sign the application was apparently remedied.

Whether her knowledge of the exclusion derived from her signature on the application or from

some other source, it is obvious from her testimony that she had full knowledge regarding the

exclusion.

The defendants in this case have argued that Sallie Smith’s failure to sign the application

renders the exclusionary language invalid. If this contention be true, we must question whether there

can be any coverage at all. Essentially, the defendants are attempting to have an unfavorable

provision dropped from the agreement based on Mrs. Smith’s failure to sign the application. In our

estimation, such an outcome is untenable. The parties either entered into an insurance contract or

they did not. We find no rational basis for concluding that Mrs. Smith’s failure to sign the

application would allow certain terms of the insurance coverage to fall out, while still providing

coverage. We find no reason to allow such “picking and choosing” by the defendants.

3

A review of the insurance documents leads us to conclude that the exclusionary language was

effective.2 In addition to the fact that the exclusion appears on the application for insurance, Misty

Smith is also listed as an excluded drive on the Declaration page. This page contains diverse

information relating to the policy. The Declaration page is referenced in the main body of the

“policy” under a section entitled “Definitions.”3 Every indication in the record is that the Smiths

received exactly what they bargained for. To question whether the application and Declaration page

were part of the “policy” would serve only to frustrate the clear intentions of the parties.

There is no ambiguity in the insurance agreement at issue.4 Sallie Smith simply chose to

disregard the fact that her daughter was not covered under the policy of insurance issued by CNL.

It was a calculated risk that turned out badly for all involved. Our role is to construe the insurance

agreement so as to give effect to the intention and express language of the parties. Blaylock &

Brown Construction, Inc. v. AIU Insurance Co., 796 S.W.2d 146, 149 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1990). The

exclusion of Misty Smith as an insured was both deliberate and calculated. It was done with the full

knowledge of Frank Smith and, at some point, became known to Sallie Smith. The point at which

Sallie Smith obtained this knowledge is irrelevant except to note that it happened before the accident.

Even if we were to assume that this matter should have been presented to a jury, there is no evidence

to support the verdict.

Conclusion

For the forgoing reasons, the decision of the trial court is reversed, and a judgment is entered

in favor of the Appellant, CNL Insurance. Costs of this appeal are taxed to the Appellees, Misty D.

Smith, et al, for which execution may issue if necessary.

2

There is m uch deb ate in this case regarding the different documents. The application for insurance contains

the exclusionary language. CNL argues that this application is part of the “policy.” The defendants take the contrary

position. There is also a “Declaration” page which lists Misty Smith as an excluded driver. The parties take a similar

stance in regard to this docu ment. It is no t our end eavor to a scertain w hat is enco mpasse d by the word “ policy.”

However, insureds sh ould not be able to plead ignorance as to an exclusion where said exclusion appears on numerous

docum ents. This is especially true when one notes that the Declaration pag e basically c ontains all im portant asp ects

of the agreement, including the policy premium.

3

The langua ge states:

A. Throughout this policy, “you” and “your” refer to:

1. The “nam ed insured” sho wn in the D eclarations;

4

"Ambiguity" in a contract is doubt or uncertainty arising from the possibility of the same language being

fairly und erstood in more w ays than o ne. Hillis v. Powers, 875 S.W.2d 273, 27 6 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1993).

4

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.