Opinion

McNamara v. American Security Insurance Company

Court
District Court, E.D. Louisiana
Filed
Jan 15, 2025
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.7%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

SONIA MCNAMARA CIVIL ACTION

VERSUS NO. 24-607

AMERICAN SECURITY SECTION M (5)

INSURANCE COMPANY, et al.

ORDER & REASONS

Before the Court is a motion for summary judgment filed by defendants American Security

Insurance Company (“American Security”) and Assurant, Inc. (“Assurant”) (together,

“Defendants”).1 Plaintiff Sonia McNamara responds in opposition,2 and Defendants reply in

further support of their motion.3 Having considered the parties’ memoranda, the record, and the

applicable law, the Court grants the motion.

I. BACKGROUND

This action arises out of alleged damage to McNamara’s home in Houma, Louisiana (“the

Property”), caused by Hurricane Ida on August 29, 2021.4 McNamara alleges that Defendants

issued a homeowners insurance policy to her for the Property under policy number

2MR1500412921 and/or MIP-RCH-01500-00 (“the Policy”).5 McNamara reported the alleged

losses to Defendants, who made payments of $60,613.87 and $7,862.59 for damage to her dwelling

and other structures on the Property, respectively.6 McNamara alleges that Defendants “failed to

timely and adequately tender payment” to her under the Policy, and asserts claims for breach of

1 R. Doc. 12.

2 R. Doc. 15.

3 R. Doc. 16.

4 R. Doc. 1-1 at 3.

5 Id.

6 R. Doc. 1-4 at 1-2.

insurance contract, violations of La. R.S. 22:1892 and 1973, intentional infliction of emotional

distress, and negligent claims adjusting.7

II. PENDING MOTION

In their motion for summary judgment, Defendants contend that the Policy issued by

American Security is a force-placed policy whereby all benefits are payable to McNamara’s

lender, Specialized Loan Servicing, LLC (“Specialized Loan Servicing”), not McNamara.8

Defendants further assert that the Policy identifies McNamara as “borrower,” which does not

render her a payee or third-party beneficiary of the Policy.9 Defendants thus argue that McNamara

lacks standing to enforce the Policy or to assert insurance bad-faith claims against them.10

Defendants also contend that McNamara has no cognizable claims against Assurant, a holding

company which owns American Security, as it is not an insurer, and there is no evidence that

Assurant issued any policy for the Property.11

In opposition, McNamara first argues that summary judgment is premature as discovery is

incomplete.12 McNamara also contends that Defendants have not presented competent evidence

in support of their motion because no affidavit or certification was attached to the copy of the

Policy Defendants provided.13 Next, McNamara asserts that Defendants’ actions during the

claims-handling process contradict their assertion that McNamara is not an insured under the

7 R. Doc. 1-1 at 4-8 (quote at 4).

8 R. Doc. 12-1 at 2-3.

9 Id. at 2-3, 5-6.

10 Id. at 5-6.

11 Id. at 2, 5.

12 R. Doc. 15 at 3-4.

13 Id. at 4-5. On these same grounds, McNamara moves to strike the version of the Policy Defendants attached

as an exhibit to their motion for summary judgment. R. Doc. 14. Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

only requires that summary-judgment evidence be “presented in a form that would be admissible in evidence.” Fed.

R. Civ. P. 56(c)(2) (emphasis added). Thus, certification of the Policy was not necessary for purposes of summary

judgment. Nonetheless, Defendants submit a certified copy of the Policy with their opposition to McNamara’s motion

to strike. R. Docs. 17; 17-1. Accordingly, McNamara’s motion to strike (R. Doc. 14) is DISMISSED AS MOOT.

Policy.14 Specifically, McNamara points to documents in which Defendants “continuously

referred to [McNamara] as the named insured, insured, and client” that she contends would “lead[]

any reasonable person to conclude that [she] was in fact an insured under the policy.”15 In the

alternative, McNamara argues that this conduct, and payments “issued and made payable directly

to [her],” raise a genuine issue of material fact as to whether she is a third-party beneficiary of the

Policy.16

In their reply, Defendants deny that any genuine issue of material fact exists as to the terms

and provisions of the Policy, noting that the copies of the Policy produced by McNamara in

discovery and attached to Defendants’ motion are identical.17 Defendants also assert that they are

not required to authenticate or produce a certified copy of the Policy under Rule 56.18 Defendants

then reiterate that the Policy terms clearly identify Specialized Loan Servicing as the “named

insured” and McNamara as “borrower,” and the Policy identifies no “additional insureds.”19 Next,

Defendants argue that McNamara is not a third-party beneficiary under Louisiana law because the

Policy does not “manifest a clear intention to benefit [McNamara].”20 Defendants conclude by

asserting that the “casual references” to McNamara as “named insured,” “insured,” “client,” or

“additional insured” during the claims-handling process do not alter the terms of the Policy,21

citing in particular the Policy’s non-waiver clause.22

14 R. Doc. 15 at 5-6.

15 Id. (quote at 5).

16 Id. at 6-7 (quote at 7).

17 R. Doc. 16 at 1-2.

18 Id. at 2.

19 Id. at 3.

20 Id. at 4.

21 Id. at 5-7.

22 Id. at 7.

III. LAW & ANALYSIS

A. Legal Standard

Summary judgment is proper if the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986); Fed. R. Civ. P. 56. “Rule 56(c) mandates the entry of

summary judgment, after adequate time for discovery and upon motion, against a party who fails

to make a showing sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential to that party’s case,

and on which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial.” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322. A party

moving for summary judgment bears the initial burden of demonstrating the basis for summary

judgment and identifying those portions of the record, discovery, and any affidavits supporting the

conclusion that there is no genuine issue of material fact. Id. at 323. If the moving party meets

that burden, then the nonmoving party must use evidence cognizable under Rule 56 to demonstrate

the existence of a genuine issue of material fact. Id. at 324.

A genuine issue of material fact exists if a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the

nonmoving party. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). The substantive

law identifies which facts are material. Id. Material facts are not genuinely disputed when a

rational trier of fact could not find for the nonmoving party upon a review of the record taken as a

whole. See Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986); EEOC

v. Simbaki, Ltd., 767 F.3d 475, 481 (5th Cir. 2014). Unsubstantiated assertions, conclusory

allegations, and merely colorable factual bases are insufficient to defeat a motion for summary

judgment. See Anderson, 477 U.S. at 249-50; Little v. Liquid Air Corp., 37 F.3d 1069, 1075 (5th

Cir. 1994); Hopper v. Frank, 16 F.3d 92, 97 (5th Cir. 1994). In ruling on a summary-judgment

motion, a court may not resolve credibility issues or weigh evidence. See Delta & Pine Land Co.

v. Nationwide Agribusiness Ins. Co., 530 F.3d 395, 398-99 (5th Cir. 2008). Furthermore, a court

must assess the evidence, review the facts, and draw any appropriate inferences based on the

evidence in the light most favorable to the party opposing summary judgment. See Tolan v. Cotton,

572 U.S. 650, 656-57 (2014); Daniels v. City of Arlington, 246 F.3d 500, 502 (5th Cir. 2001). Yet,

a court only draws reasonable inferences in favor of the nonmovant “when there is an actual

controversy, that is, when both parties have submitted evidence of contradictory facts.” Little, 37

F.3d at 1075 (citing Lujan v. Nat’l Wildlife Fed’n, 497 U.S. 871, 888 (1990)).

After the movant demonstrates the absence of a genuine issue of material fact, the

nonmovant must articulate specific facts showing a genuine issue and point to supporting,

competent evidence that may be presented in a form admissible at trial. See Lynch Props., Inc. v.

Potomac Ins. Co., 140 F.3d 622, 625 (5th Cir. 1998); Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)(1)(A), (c)(2). Such

facts must create more than “some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts.” Matsushita, 475

U.S. at 586. When the nonmovant will bear the burden of proof at trial on the dispositive issue,

the moving party may simply point to insufficient admissible evidence to establish an essential

element of the nonmovant’s claim in order to satisfy its summary-judgment burden. See Celotex,

477 U.S. at 322-25; Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)(1)(B). Unless there is a genuine issue for trial that could

support a judgment in favor of the nonmovant, summary judgment must be granted. See Little, 37

F.3d at 1075-76.

B. Analysis

Under Louisiana law, an insurance policy, like any other contract, is construed according

to the general rules of contract interpretation set forth in the Louisiana Civil Code. Q Clothier

New Orleans, L.L.C. v. Twin City Fire Ins. Co., 29 F.4th 252, 256-57 (5th Cir. 2022) (citing

Supreme Servs. & Specialty Co. v. Sonny Greer, Inc., 958 So. 2d 634, 638 (La. 2007)). “Courts

must first consider the parties’ intent by examining the words of the policy.” Id. at 257 (citing

Sims v. Mulhearn Funeral Home, Inc., 956 So. 2d 583, 589 (La. 2007); La. Civ. Code arts. 2045-

2046). In examining the terms of the policy, “‘words and phrases in an insurance policy are to be

construed using their plain, ordinary and generally prevailing meaning, unless the words have

acquired a technical meaning, in which case the words must be ascribed their technical meaning.’”

Id. (quoting Sims, 956 So. 2d at 589). “‘When the words of an insurance contract are clear and

unambiguous and lead to no absurd consequences, courts must enforce the contract as written and

may make no further interpretation in search of the parties’ intent.’” Id. (quoting Gorman v. City

of Opelousas, 148 So. 3d 888, 982 (La. 2014)). A court cannot exercise “inventive powers to

create an ambiguity where none exists or [make] a new contract when the terms express with

sufficient clearness the parties’ intent.” Cadwallader v. Allstate Ins. Co., 848 So. 2d 577, 580 (La.

2003).

“A plaintiff may sue under an insurance policy if she is a named insured, an additional

named insured, or a third-party beneficiary.” Butler v. Am. Sec. Ins. Co., 2019 WL 1714231, at *1

(M.D. La. Apr. 17, 2019) (citing Joseph v. Hosp. Serv. Dist. No. 2 of Par. of St. Mary, 939 So. 2d

1206, 1211-12 (La. Oct. 15, 2006)). The Policy is a force-placed policy, which is meant to protect

Specialized Loan Servicing’s interest in the Property as mortgage lender. See Williams v. Certain

Underwriters at Lloyd’s of London, 398 F. App’x 44, 45 (5th Cir. 2010) (“[A] ‘force-placed’ (also

known as ‘lender-placed’) policy … insures the lender’s collateral when the borrower fails to

maintain a specific type of insurance. A force-placed policy allows the lender to protect its

exposure on a property up to the amount of the mortgage on the date of issuance.”). The Policy

declarations therefore identify Specialized Loan Servicing as the “named insured” and McNamara

as “borrower.”23 The “Loss Payment” provision of the Policy, found at paragraph 12(c) of the

Policy’s “Conditions” section (the “Loss Payment Provision”), states:

Loss will be made payable to the named insured. No coverage will be available to

any mortgagee other than that shown as the named insured on the Declarations.

The undisputed portion of the loss will be payable within 30 days after we receive

your proof of loss.24

McNamara does not deny that Specialized Loan Servicing is the only named insured identified by

the Policy but contends that Defendants’ conduct, specifically their “continuously referr[ing] to

[McNamara] as the named insured, insured, and client” in claim documents and correspondence

and issuing payment to McNamara and Specialized Loan Servicing as co-payees, raises a genuine

issue of material fact as to whether McNamara is an insured under the Policy or, alternatively, a

third-party beneficiary of the Policy.25

The conduct cited by McNamara does not alter the terms of the Policy. McNamara points

out that the Policy “can be changed in writing” and that “[t]he named insured per all of the claim

file documentation cited above is [McNamara].”26 However, the same provision that requires any

“waiver or change of a provision of [the Policy to be] in writing” also states:

No course of conduct nor any … nonenforcement of [Policy] conditions, or the like,

extended at or over any time or from time to time by [American Security] to …

anyone shall waive, nullify, or modify any [Policy] provision as to any other

occasion or waive, nullify, or modify any other [Policy] provision.27

Thus, to the extent that McNamara argues that Defendants’ conduct or statements during the

claims-handling process amended the Policy to make her a “named insured” or waived the terms

of the Loss Payment Provision, such an argument is precluded by the Policy’s waiver provision.

23 R. Doc. 17-1 at 5.

24 Id. at 20 (emphasis omitted).

25 R. Doc. 15 at 5-7 (quote at 5).

26 Id. at 5, 6.

27 R. Doc. 17-1 at 14.

McNamara alternatively argues that she is a third-party beneficiary of the Policy. Under

Louisiana law, a contract that benefits and is enforceable by a third party, or a stipulation pour

autrui, is only created when “1) the stipulation for a third party is manifestly clear; 2) there is

certainty as to the benefit provided the third party; and 3) the benefit is not a mere incident of the

contract between the promisor and the promisee.” Joseph, 939 So. 2d at 1212. Courts are not to

presume the existence of a stipulation pour autrui in a contract. Id. Moreover, “[t]he party

claiming the benefit [of a stipulation pour autrui] bears the burden of proof.” Id. Here, the Loss

Payment Provision clearly manifests an intent that Policy benefits be paid to Specialized Loan

Servicing as the “named insured,” not McNamara. Other courts interpreting the same Loss

Payment Provision have reached the same conclusion. See Brown v. Am. Mod. Home Ins. Co.,

2017 WL 2290268, at *6 (E.D. La. May 25, 2017) (“[T]here is no manifestly clear intention for

the American Security policy to provide a benefit to plaintiffs that would be sufficient to create a

stipulation pour autrui, and plaintiffs cannot sue American Security for breaching the insurance

contract.”); Turner v. Am. Sec. Ins. Co., 2022 WL 696907, at *2 (W.D. La. Mar. 8, 2022) (“Here

the policy clearly identifies plaintiff as ‘borrower,’ but not as a named insured. It does not reflect

an intent, let alone a clear one, to benefit plaintiff.”); Butler, 2019 WL 1714231, at *2 (“This

language [i.e., the Loss Payment Provision] reflects an intent to benefit [the lender]. It does not

reflect an intent – much less a ‘clear’ one – to provide a ‘certain benefit’ to Plaintiff that is not

‘merely incidental’ to the insurance contract between [the lender] and American Security.”

(alterations and footnote omitted)).

And Defendants’ conduct, including issuing payment to McNamara as co-payee with

Specialized Loan Servicing,28 has no bearing on whether a stipulation pour autrui was created by

28 R. Doc. 15-7 at 2-3.

the Policy. See Butler, 2019 WL 1714231, at *2 n.5 (“To find support for her third-party-

beneficiary argument, Plaintiff looks beyond the language of the policy [to] argue[] that because

American Security issued a claim payment naming [her] and [lender] as co-payees, [lender] and

American Security ‘clearly intended’ that she benefit from the policy. The argument fails to

persuade: it is the contract – not the parties’ conduct – that must ‘manifest a clear intention to

benefit the third party.’” (alterations and internal citations omitted) (quoting Joseph, 939 So. 2d at

1212)).

In sum, then, McNamara is neither an insured nor a third-party beneficiary under the Policy

and therefore lacks standing to enforce it. Consequently, she also lacks standing to pursue bad-

faith claims against Defendants under La. R.S. 22:1892 and 1973. See Team Contractors, L.L.C.

v. Waypoint NOLA, L.L.C., 780 F. App’x 132, 134-36 (5th Cir. 2019).

IV. CONCLUSION

Accordingly, for the foregoing reasons,

IT IS ORDERED that Defendants’ motion for summary judgment (R. Doc. 12) is

GRANTED, and McNamara’s claims against them are DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 15th day of January, 2025.

________________________________

BARRY W. ASHE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.