Opinion

Carcamo v. Allstate Vehicle and Property Insurance Company

Court
District Court, E.D. Louisiana
Filed
Nov 18, 2024
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.0%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

JUAN CARCAMO CIVIL ACTION

VERSUS NO. 23-3813

ALLSTATE VEHICLE AND PROPERTY SECTION “A” (1)

INSURANCE COMPANY

ORDER AND REASONS

Before the Court is Defendant Allstate Vehicle and Property Insurance Company’s

(“Allstate”) Motion for Summary Judgment (Rec. Doc. 15). For the following reasons, the

motion is GRANTED.

I. Background

This case concerns alleged property damage from Hurricane Ida on August 29, 2021. (Rec.

Doc. 1). Plaintiff, Juan Carcamo, filed this action against Allstate alleging breach of contract and

state law violations. (Id. ¶¶ 26–30). Allstate moved for summary judgment on October 8, 2024.

(Rec. Doc. 15).

The motion was originally set for submission on Wednesday, October 30, 2024. (Rec. Doc.

15-4). Pursuant to Local Rule 7.5 of the Eastern District of Louisiana, Plaintiff’s response in

opposition was due eight days prior to the noticed submission date, but Plaintiff failed to file an

opposition to Defendant’s motion. In the interest of justice, the Court sua sponte reset the motion

for consideration on November 13, 2024 (Rec. Doc. 16). The motion remains unopposed.

Plaintiff seeks recovery for losses caused by Hurricane Ida pursuant to Allstate Insurance

Policy number 985353902 (“the Policy”). (Rec. Doc. 1, ¶ 7). Allstate argues it is entitled to

summary judgment because the alleged losses were excluded under the Policy. (Rec. Doc. 15-1,

at 1). It is undisputed that Allstate issued Plaintiff an insurance policy and that it was effective

during Hurricane Ida. (Id. at 1-2). However, the Policy contained a Windstorm and Hail Exclusion,

which states:

For a reduction in premium:

We do not cover any loss to any property covered by this policy

caused by or consisting of Windstorm or Hail. Such loss is excluded

regardless of any other cause or event contributing currently or in

any sequence to the loss.

We do cover sudden and accidental direct physical loss caused by

fire or explosion resulting from Windstorm or Hail.

(Rec. Doc. 15-3, at 26). Because the Windstorm and Hail Exclusion unambiguously excludes

damages from Windstorms, Allstate argues it did not provide coverage for Plaintiff's property

losses that arose from “the winds and rains of Hurricane Ida.” (Rec. Doc. 15-1, at 3).

II. Law & Analysis

Summary judgment is proper where there is “no genuine dispute of material fact” and “the

movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” FED. R. CIV. P. 56(a). That is, it is appropriate

where “the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with

the affidavits, if any,” when viewed in the light most favorable to the non-movant, “show that there

is no genuine issue as to any material fact.” TIG Ins. Co. v. Sedgwick James, 276 F.3d 754, 759

(5th Cir. 2002) (citing Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 249–50 (1986)). A dispute

about a material fact is “genuine” if the evidence is such that a reasonable jury could return a

verdict for the non-moving party. Id. (citing Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248). The court must draw all

justifiable inferences in favor of the non-moving party. Id. (citing Anderson, 477 U.S. at 255).

Once the moving party has initially shown “that there is an absence of evidence to support the non-

moving party’s cause,” Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325 (1986), the non-movant must

come forward with “specific facts” showing a genuine factual issue for trial. Id. (citing FED. R.

CIV. P. 56(e); Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio, 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986)).

The Court may not grant Allstate’s motion “simply because there is no opposition.”

Hibernia Nat. Bank v. Administracion Cent. Sociedad Anonima, 776 F.2d 1277, 1279 (5th Cir.

1985). But it may “accept[] as undisputed the facts so listed in support of the motion,” Eversley v.

MBank Dall., 843 F.2d 172, 173–74 (5th Cir. 1988); accord White v. Coffield Med. Staff, No. 21-

40211, 2022 WL 1056103, at *2 (5th Cir. Apr. 8, 2022) (per curiam) (“Where, as here, a plaintiff

does not file an opposition to a defendant's motion for summary judgment, a district court may

properly take the facts put forward by defendant in support of his motion for summary judgment

to be undisputed.”); see also FED. R. CIV. P. 56(e)(3) (“If a party . . . fails to properly address

another party's assertion of fact as required by Rule 56(c), the court may . . . grant summary

judgment if the motion and supporting materials—including the facts considered undisputed—

show that the movant is entitled to it.”).

In Sims v. Mulhearn Funeral Home, Inc., 956 So. 2d 583 (La. 2007), the Louisiana

Supreme Court laid out a comprehensive framework for interpreting insurance policies under

Louisiana law. The Sims court explained, “[i]n analyzing insurance policies, certain elementary

legal principles apply. An insurance policy is a contract between the parties and should be

construed using the general rules of interpretation of contracts set forth in the Civil Code.” Id. at

588–89 (citations omitted). According to the general rules of interpretation of contracts, the court

must determine the parties’ common intent. Id. at 589 (citations omitted); see also La. Civ. Code

art. 2045. Courts begin their analysis of the parties’ common intent by examining the words of the

insurance contract itself. See La. Civ. Code art. 2046. In ascertaining the common intent, words

and phrases in an insurance policy are to be construed using their plain, ordinary and generally

prevailing meaning, unless the words have acquired a technical meaning, in which case the words

must be ascribed their technical meaning. See La. Civ. Code art. 2047. When the words of an

insurance contract are clear and explicit and lead to no absurd consequences, no further

interpretation may be made in search of the parties’ intent and courts must enforce the contract as

written. See La. Civ. Code art. 2046.

In the instant case, the plain language of the Windstorm and Hail Exclusion expressly and

unambiguously states that coverage is not provided for damage to the property caused by

windstorm or hail. With clear and explicit language, no further inquiry is allowed. See La. Civ.

Code art. 2046. Moreover, Louisiana courts—including other sections of this Court—have

interpreted similar windstorm exclusion endorsements in Allstate's insurance policies. In Pierce v.

Allstate Insurance Company, for example, the exact same provision as the one presently before

the Court was considered in a lawsuit filed after Hurricane Katrina. 542 F. Supp. 2d 495, 498 (E.D.

La. 2008) (Barbier, J.). The Pierce court held that “the endorsement issued by [Allstate] is clear

and unambiguous and must be enforced as written.” Id. (footnote omitted). The presiding judge

granted Allstate's motion for summary judgment and dismissed the plaintiff's claims against

Allstate that arose out of property damage caused by Hurricane Katrina.1 Id. at 496.

Here, like in in Pierce, the Policy clearly and plainly provides for an exclusion of damages

caused by wind or hail. (Rec. Doc. 15-3, at 26). Plaintiff has not otherwise responded in any way

to support his claim of coverage under the policy. He has not brought forward any evidence to

1 Since the Pierce ruling, courts in this district have routinely held that similar Allstate Windstorm and Hail

Exclusions are enforceable and preclude recovery for alleged property damage from hurricanes. See, e.g., Gardner v.

Allstate Ins. Co., No. 23-4620, 2024 WL 4651277 (E.D. La. Nov. 1, 2024) (Guidry, J.); Allison v. Allstate Vehicle &

Prop. Ins. Co., No. 23-3567, 2024 WL 3845988 (E.D. La. Aug. 16, 2024) (Ashe, J.); Valdosse v. Allstate Vehicle &

Prop. Ins. Co., No. 23-3571, 2024 WL 1177947 (E.D. La. Mar. 19, 2024) (Brown, J.); Cummings v. Allstate Vehicle

& Prop. Ins. Co., No. 23-4249, 2024 WL 1156617 (E.D. La. Mar. 18, 2024) (Fallon, J.).

refute Defendant's assertion that the policy exclusion applies to his damages. Therefore, the Court

finds merit in Allstate’s Motion for Summary Judgment.

Accordingly;

IT IS ORDERED that the Motion for Summary Judgment (Rec. Doc. 15) is

GRANTED and all claims asserted by Plaintiff are DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE.

November 18, 2024

4 6 4

Ry

(wiped St TAYC. ZAIN Y

D STATES BISTRICT JUDGE

Page 5 of 5

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.