Opinion

TN Farmers v. Roger Hostetler

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Jul 28, 2000
Status
Published
On the bench
Presiding Judge Alan E. Highers
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.0%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT JACKSON

FEBRUARY 2000 Session

TENNESSEE FARMERS MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY v. ROGER

E. HOSTETLER, JO ANN FINCHER AND JAMES DURHAM DRAKE1

A Direct Appeal from the Circuit Court for Lauderdale County

No. 4819; The Honorable Joseph H. Walker, Judge

No. W1999-00368-COA-R3-CV - Filed July 28, 2000

This appeal arises from a declaratory judgment action filed in the Lauderdale County Circuit Court

by Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company. The complaint sought a declaration that

Tennessee Farmers was not obligated to defend or indemnify its insureds against a wrongful death

lawsuit filed by James Drake, executor of the estate of Mattie Lee Drake. After both sides filed

motions for summary judgment, the trial court ruled that coverage did not exist under the Personal

Liability Insurance Policy and entered summary judgment in favor of Tennessee Farmers Mutual

Insurance Company.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3; Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court Reversed and

Remanded

ALAN E. HIGHERS , J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which FARMER , J., and LILLARD , J.,

joined.

Robert B. Vandiver, Jr., Jackson, for Appellant Drake

Charles L. Trotter, Jr., Huntingdon, for Appellee

OPINION

In this declaratory judgment action, James D. Drake appeals from the order of the Lauderdale County

Circuit Court granting summary judgment in favor of Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance. For the

reasons stated herein, we reverse the decision of the trial court.

1

W e have styled this case as it app eared in th e trial court; howev er, Hostetler and Finc her are no t parties to this

appeal.

Facts and Procedural History

On March 19, 1996, Mattie Lee Drake was attacked and killed by two rottweiler dogs

allegedly owned by Roger Hostetler. On May 3, 1996, James Drake, as Administrator of his

mother’s estate, filed a complaint against Hostetler asserting claims for wrongful death.

At the time of the attack which led to Mrs. Drake’s death, Hostetler was insured under a

personal liability insurance policy issued by Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company

(“Tennessee Farmers” or “TFM”). This policy was first issued on January 19, 1989. At the time

of its issuance, the policy contained an “intentional acts” exclusion which stated:

Under Personal Liability Coverage and Medical Payments to Others

Coverage, we do not cover:

...

5. Bodily injury or property damage expected or intended by an insured

person.

On November 7, 1989, the following endorsement was placed on the insurance policy:

The Personal Liability and Medical Payments to Others Coverage

provided by this policy shall not provide coverage arising from or

in connection with the dog owned by or in the care, custody or

control of any insured person.2

(emphasis added). Both of the above exclusions were part of the policy and in full force at the time

of the attack.

Burnie Norman, an independent agent for Tennessee Farmers, testified to the circumstances

which led to the dog exclusion being placed on Hostetler’s policy. In essence, the dog exclusion was

placed on the policy after Mr. Norman, in or around November of 1989, had occasion to view

Hostetler’s dog and determine that it might, in fact, be a dangerous animal. At that time, Hostetler

owned only one dog, a rottweiler named Damien. However, subsequent to the exclusion being

placed on the policy, Hostetler acquired two additional rottweiler dogs named Max and Maxine.3

On July 15, 1996 Tennessee Farmers filed a complaint for declaratory judgment alleging that

no coverage existed under the policy for the dogs that attacked and killed Mattie Lee Drake. TFM

sought a declaration that it was not obligated to defend Hostetler against the tort action filed by

2

The pa rties have re ferred to th is as “the dog exc lusion.” For the sake of simplicity, we shall refer to the

exclusion in the same manner.

3

Apparently, Max and Maxine were the only two dogs involved in the attack on Mattie Lee Drake. This fact

is important to note insofar as these two dogs were acquired by Hostetler after the “b ad dog ” exclusio n was ad ded to

his policy.

-2-

James Drake, nor was it obligated to pay any judgment rendered against him. TFM’s position was

based on both the “intentional acts” and “bad dog” exclusions to Hostetler’s policy of insurance.

The trial court rejected the argument that the intentional acts exclusion served to preclude coverage

under the policy. The court found that the attack was neither an expected nor intended act on the

part of Hostetler. However, the court found that the bad dog exclusion was applicable and rendered

summary judgment in favor of TFM on that basis. The trial court found that it was the intent of the

parties to exclude from coverage any dog owned by Hostetler.

The present appeal arises out of the trial court’s grant of summary judgment in favor of TFM.

The issues for our consideration are whether the “bad dog” and/or the intentional acts exclusion

serves to preclude insurance coverage.

Law and Analysis

Since this case comes before us on a summary judgment dismissal, our standard of review

is well settled. Summary judgment is appropriate only when the moving party demonstrates that

there are no genuine issues of material fact and that he or she is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law. Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.03; Byrd v. Hall, 847 S.W.2d 208, 210 (Tenn. 1993). We review the

summary judgment motion as a question of law in which our inquiry is de novo without a

presumption of correctness. Finister v. Humboldt General Hosp., Inc., 970 S.W.2d 435, 437 (Tenn.

1998); Robinson v. Omer, 952 S.W.2d 423, 426 (Tenn. 1997). We must view the evidence and all

reasonable inferences in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party. Byrd, 847 S.W.2d at

210-11. If both the facts and conclusions to be drawn therefrom permit a reasonable person to reach

only one conclusion, then summary judgment is appropriate. Robinson, 952 S.W.2d at 426; Bain

v. Wells, 936 S.W.2d 618, 622 (Tenn. 1997).

Additionally, we are mindful of the principles applicable to our review of insurance policies.

Issues relating to the interpretation of written contracts involve legal rather than factual issues. See

Rapp Constr. Co. v. Jay Realty Co., 809 S.W.2d 490, 491 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1991); Taylor v.

Universal Tire Inc., 672 S.W.2d 775, 777 (Tenn. Ct. App.1984). Accordingly, issues relating to the

scope of coverage and an insurer's duty to defend likewise present questions of law. See Pile v.

Carpenter, 99 S.W. 360, 362 (1907); Pennsylvania Lumbermens Mut. Fire Ins. Co. v. Holt, 223

S.W.2d 203, 206 (1949). When, as in the present case, the only issues to be resolved are legal, the

scope of our review is well settled.

“Insurance contracts like other contracts should be construed so as to give effect to

the intention and express language of the parties." Blaylock & Brown Construction,

Inc. v. AIU Insurance Co., 796 S.W.2d 146, 149 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1990). Words in

an insurance policy are given their common and ordinary meaning. Where language

in an insurance policy is susceptible of more than one reasonable interpretation,

however, it is ambiguous. See e.g., Moss v. Golden Rule Life Insurance Co., 724

S.W.2d 367, 368 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1986). Where the ambiguous language limits the

coverage of an insurance policy, that language must be construed against the

-3-

insurance company and in favor of the insured. Allstate Insurance Co. v. Watts, 811

S.W.2d 883, 886 (Tenn. 1991).

Tata v. Nichols, 848 S.W.2d 649, 650 (Tenn. 1993).

I. The “intentional acts” exclusion

The policy of insurance issued to Hostetler contained an exclusion whereby no coverage

exists for “bodily injury expected or intended by an insured person.” The trial court concluded

that this exclusion was not applicable. We concur with the decision of the trial court.

In order for the “intentional acts” exclusion to apply, it must be established that the insured

intended the act and also intended or expected that injury would result. Tennessee Farmers Mut.

Ins. Co. v. Evans, 814 S.W.2d 49 (Tenn. 1991). These are separate and distinct inquiries. Id.

Therefore, the threshold question is whether Hostetler intended for the dogs to attack (i.e, the act).4

We find nothing in the record which would support the conclusion that Hostetler intended the act.

In this regard, we agree with the trial court’s statement on this issue:

The court finds that the dogs attacking and killing the victim was not an expected or

intended act by an insured person. The uncontroverted facts show that the dogs were

kept in a pen, although apparently they did escape. The facts established that

Hostetler took several actions to keep the dogs inside the pen. His actions may have

been negligent, but not intentional in allowing the dogs to attack and kill.

Since there is no basis upon which to conclude that Hostetler intended for the dogs to attack Mattie

Lee Drake, we affirm the trial court’s decision that the intentional acts exclusion does not serve to

preclude coverage.

II. “Bad dog” exclusion

The “bad dog” exclusion serves to preclude coverage for any injuries “arising from or in

connection with the dog owned by, . . . , any insured.” The dispute in regard to this exclusion arises

out of the language found in the exclusion itself. Specifically, the exclusion refers to “the dog” in

the singular. At the time the exclusion was added, Hostetler owned only one dog, Damien. There

can be little doubt that the exclusion applies to Damien. However, at the time of the attack, Hostetler

owned three dogs, Damien, Max, and Maxine. Once Hostetler acquired the additional dogs, the

question becomes whether the exclusion also covers them.

4

Contrary to the arguments presented by TFM regarding reaso nable foreseeab ility, we believe that there m ust

be a showing that Hostetler intended for the attack to occur. The Evans case clearly states that the individu al must

“intend th e act.” We do not b elieve that th e foreseea bility of the a ct is dispositive .

-4-

In grammatical terms, “the dog” cannot simultaneously apply to three dogs. Clearly, TFM

should have amended the language in the exclusion if it had wished to avoid the present scenario.5

In fact, during a regular renewal of the policy, David Snell, a TFM agent, wrote “exclude dogs - keep

exclusion on policy.” He testified as to the circumstances of this notation, and he admitted that he

was aware Hostetler owned more than one dog. He also testified that the document which contained

this notation became part of TFM’s official file. Therefore, we are convinced TFM knew or should

have known that Hostetler owned more than one dog. Unfortunately, the language of the exclusion

was not amended after Hostetler acquired the additional dogs.6

TFM contends there is no ambiguity in regards to the present issue because the “intentions

and express language of the parties” clearly shows that all subsequently acquired dogs were covered

under the exclusion. We do not believe that this assertion is supported by the record. It is clear from

the testimony of Burnie Norman, the TFM agent who caused the exclusion to be placed on the

policy, that Hostetler only owned one dog at the time the exclusion was added. It is also clear from

the testimony that this one dog served as the impetus for the exclusion being added. Through the

testimony of David Snell, another TFM agent, we know that TFM knew or should have know that

Hostetler owned more than one dog. Whatever intent Tennessee Farmers had in regard to Hostetler’s

dogs, the language contained in the exclusion is far from clear.

A contract is ambiguous only if it is of uncertain meaning and may fairly be understood in

more ways than one. Rogers v. First Tennessee Bank Nat. Ass'n., 738 S.W.2d 635 (Tenn. Ct. App.

1987). Regardless of the conviction with which TFM advances its position, reasonable minds could

disagree over the present issue. There can be little debate that, as a general rule, “the dog” will be

understood to refer to only one dog. Therefore, even if TFM’s assertion that the exclusion applies

to all dogs could be accepted, it is very clear that the alternative position is just as easily acceptable.

As such, we find ourselves facing an ambiguity in a policy of insurance. The rules for such a

scenario are well settled and provide the resolution of the present case. Where the ambiguous

language limits the coverage of an insurance policy, as it does in the present case, that language must

be construed against the insurance company and in favor of the insured. See Tata, 848 S.W.2d at

650 (citing Allstate Insurance Co. v. Watts, 811 S.W.2d 883, 886 (Tenn. 1991); Purdy v. Tenn.

Farmers Mut. Ins. Co., 586 S.W.2d 128, 130 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1979). Accordingly, we find that the

“bad dog” exclusion does not apply to the dogs acquired after the exclusion was placed on the

policy. 7

5

The reco rd indicate s that the exc lusion w as amen ded after th e attack to in clude “an y dogs o r canines.”

6

TFM has argued that Hostetler is to blame because he did not inform TFM that he had acquired additional

dogs and he continued to pay his prem iums. W hatever th e goal of th ese argum ents may be, they are irrelevant to our

consideration of whether the language employed in the exclusion is ambiguous. We believe that the proper focus is on

TFM’s knowledge as oppo sed to Hostetler. TFM’s failure to amend the language in the exclusion cannot be remedied

by pointing the finger at the insured.

7

We ha ve cons idered all o f the issue raise d by TF M in their brief and are of the opinion that they are without

(continu ed...)

-5-

In conclusion, we agree with the trial court that the intentional acts exclusion is not

applicable in the present case. However, we find that the “bad dog” exclusion does not apply to Max

and Maxine, the dogs acquired after the exclusion was added. As such, to the extent that those dogs

were involved in the attack on Mattie Lee Drake, Tennessee Farmers must perform its obligations

under Hostetler’s policy of insurance.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the trial court granting summary judgment in favor

of Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company is reversed. We remand the case with directions

to enter summary judgment in favor of the appellant, James D. Drake, consistent with this opinion.

Costs of this appeal are taxed to the appellee, Tennessee Farmers, for which execution may issue if

necessary.

___________________________________

ALAN E. HIGHERS, JUDGE

7

(...continued)

merit as the y relate to the dispositive issu es in this case.

-6-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.