Opinion

Peggy Gaston v. Tennessee Farmers Mutual Ins.

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Feb 13, 2002
Status
Published
On the bench
Judge Houston M. Goddard
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.9%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT KNOXVILLE

February 13, 2002 Session

PEGGY GASTON v. TENNESSEE FARMERS MUTUAL INSURANCE

COMPANY

Appeal from the Circuit Court for McMinn County

No. 21,673 Lawrence H. Puckett, Judge

FILED OCTOBER 28, 2002

No. E2001-01487-COA-R3-CV

This appeal from the Circuit Court of McMinn County questions whether the Trial Court erred in

granting a directed verdict in favor of Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company because it

refused to pay its policyholder, Peggy Gaston, under the uninsured motorist provision of her policy

which covered Peggy Gaston. We vacate and remand.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court Vacated;

Cause Remanded

HOUSTON M. GODDARD , P.J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which HERSCHEL P. FRANKS and

J. MICHAEL SWINEY, JJ., joined.

Larry B. Nolen, Athens, Tennessee, for the Appellant, Peggy Gaston.

H. Chris Trew, Athens, Tennessee, for the Appellee, Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company.

OPINION

The genesis of this appeal is an automobile accident occurring on June 10, 1996, when the

automobile owned and operated by Peggy Gaston collided with an automobile operated by Stephanie

Wise and owned by her father, Timothy Wise. According to Mrs. Gaston’s testimony, Ms. Wise was

driving on the wrong side of the road and struck Mrs. Gaston’s automobile causing substantial

property damage to her 1996 Honda Civic and significant bodily injury to Mrs. Gaston. At the time

of the accident, Mrs. Gaston was insured by Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company

(hereinafter referred to as “Tennessee Farmers”), wherein she carried liability insurance limits of

$50,000 per person, in addition to insurance for property damage, medical payments, comprehensive

and collision coverage. Mrs. Gaston’s policy also provided uninsured and underinsured motor

vehicle coverage with limits of $50,000 per person. Ms. Wise was insured by CNL Insurance

America Company (hereinafter referred to as “CNL”) with policy limits of $10,000 property damage

and $25,000 bodily injury.

On June 11, 1996, Mrs. Gaston’s daughter, Dana Watson, notified Tennessee Farmers of the

accident and of the seriousness of her mother’s injuries. Shortly after the accident, Mr. Gaston

visited David Brown, Senior Claims Adjustor for Tennessee Farmers, to inquire as to the insurance

coverage available to Mrs. Gaston. According to testimony by Mr. Gaston, he was informed that

Mrs. Gaston had $25,000 available to her through her underinsured coverage in addition to the

$25,000 available from Ms. Wise’s bodily injury coverage through CNL for a total of $50,000.

An appraisal of Mrs. Gaston’s automobile was made on June 17, 1996. It was determined

that Mrs. Gaston’s automobile was a total loss and Tennessee Farmers paid Mrs. Gaston

$15,221.251 for property damage to her car. Mrs. Gaston testified that her medical bills exceeded

$30,000. On August 19, 1996, Mr. and Mrs. Gaston wrote the following letter to CNL, forwarding

copies of Mrs. Gaston’s medical bills and requesting payment of the $25,000 insurance coverage.

The Gastons mailed a copy of the correspondence to Mr. Brown. Mr. Brown testified that he

received the letter and that he did not contact CNL nor the Gastons regarding the correspondence as

he was waiting for the Gastons to notify him of any response they received from CNL:

August 19, 1996

Betty Kinnas

CNL Insurance America

P O Box 6097

Macon, GA 31208

REF: Claim Number 10638D

Enclosed you will find copies of the bills received to date for the injuries received

by Peggy Gaston in the automobile accident on June 10, 1996, involving the liable

party which you insure, Stephanie Wise (Tim Wise).

Please let us know, as soon as possible, the status of this claim and when we

might expect payment of your clients $25,000.00 insurance coverage.

Sincerely,

1

On June 25, 1996, Tennessee Farmers paid Mrs. Gaston $15,200.25, and on September 16, 1996,

Tennessee Farmers, apparently having collected the full property damage claim from CNL, reimbursed Mrs. Gaston her

$200.00 deductible for a total of $15,400.25.

-2-

/s/ Peggy & Dane Gaston

Peggy & Dane Gaston

Enclosures

cc: David Brown - Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Co.

On September 30, 1996, following their receipt of $25,000 from CNL, Mr. and Mrs. Gaston

signed a “RELEASE AND SETTLEMENT OF CLAIM,” which did not release Stephanie Wise, but

did release her father, Timothy Wise and CNL.2 In November 1996, Mr. and Mrs. Gaston met with

Mr. Brown in his office at which time they became aware that Tennessee Farmers was denying their

underinsured claim. On May 8, 1997, Mr. and Mrs. Gaston filed suit against Tennessee Farmers.

Following the close of proof by the Gastons at trial, Tennessee Farmers moved for a directed verdict

which was granted by the Trial Court on the grounds that the Gastons had violated certain policy

provisions by a release they signed without the written consent of Tennessee Farmers.

Mr. and Mrs. Gaston raise for our review the following three issues:

First Issue

Whether the trial court properly dismissed with full prejudice insured

Peggy Gaston’s suit against her insurance carrier, Tennessee Farmers of which

claim was based upon the failure of Tennessee Farmers to pay Peggy Gaston

pursuant to her underinsured and medical payment provisions of her policy.

Second Issue

Whether the Trial Judge should have recused himself from presiding over

this case as he was personally insured by Tennessee Farmers.

Third Issue

Whether the Trial Court erred in refusing to allow Ness Judson, Peggy

Gaston’s expert, to testify.

The standard for our review of the propriety of the Trial Court’s granting a directed verdict

is enunciated by our Supreme Court in the case of City of Columbia v. C.F.W. Const. Co., 557

S.W.2d 734, 740, (Tenn.1977), as follows:

2

See App endix.

-3-

Motions for dismissal in non-jury cases under Rule 41.-02(2), Tennessee Rules

of Civil Procedure, and motions for directed verdicts in jury cases under Rule 50,

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure, are somewhat similar, but, there is a

fundamental difference between the two motions, in that, in the jury case, the

judge is not the trier of facts while in the non-jury case he is the trier of the facts.

In the jury case he must consider the evidence most favorably for the plaintiff,

allow all reasonable inferences in plaintiff’s favor and disregard all counteracting

evidence, and, so considered, if there is any material evidence to support a verdict

for plaintiff, he must deny the motion.

The automobile policy issued to Mrs. Gaston contains relevant provisions as follows:

“Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Columbia, Tennessee, agrees

to insure you according to the terms and conditions of this policy....”

By accepting this policy, you agree that:

1....

2....

3...

4. This policy contains all of the agreements and understandings between you and

us or any of our agents.”

“Additional Duties under Uninsured Motorist Coverage

In addition, persons and entities seeking coverage under Uninsured Motorist

Coverage must:

1...

2...

3. serve upon us in the manner prescribed by law copies of all suit papers, if suit

is brought.”

“WHAT IS COVERED

We will pay only compensatory damages which a covered person is legally

entitled to recover from the owner or operator of an uninsured motor vehicle

because of

1. Bodily injury sustained by a covered person;”

“WHAT IS NOT COVERED

-4-

We do not provide uninsured coverage for property damage or bodily injury

sustained by any person or entity:

1...

2. If that person or entity or the legal representative of that person settles the

bodily injury or property damage claim without our written consent.”

“When we make payments to any person or entity under this uninsured motorist

coverage, that person’s or entity’s rights of recovery from any other person or

entity become ours up to the amount paid. This includes the proceeds recoverable

from the assets of an insolvent insurer.”

“LEGAL ACTION AGAINST US

No legal action may be brought against us until there has been full compliance

with all the terms of this policy.

“OUR RIGHT TO RECOVER PAYMENT

If we make a payment under this policy and the person or entity to or for whom

payment was made has a right to recover damages from another, we shall be

subrogated to that right. That person or entity shall do whatever is necessary to

enable us to exercise our rights, including but not limited to (1) cooperating fully

with us in the prosecution of claims and suits (2) procuring and furnishing all

papers and documents necessary in each proceeding and (3) attending Court and

testify if we deem necessary, and shall do nothing after loss to prejudice our

rights.

If we make a payment under this policy and the person or entity to or for whom

payment is made recovers damages from another, that person or entity shall hold

in trust for us the proceeds of the recovery and shall reimburse us for our

payment.”

We believe the case of Rutherford v. Tennessee Farmers Mut. Ins. Co., 608 S.W.2d 843

(Tenn. 1980), is dispositive of the major question raised in this appeal. In that case, wherein the

facts are strikingly similar, to the ones in the case at bar, our Supreme Court found that the insurance

carrier had “waived the provisions requiring its written consent to a third-party settlement.”

Rutherford did find that the tort-feasor was judgment proof--or more accurately execution

proof--and, consequently, the insurance carrier had not been prejudiced. Rutherford suggests that

if the insurer could show that the released tort-feasor was financially able to respond to a judgment

the result might well have been different.

-5-

It would appear that in the case at bar that neither Mr. Wise nor his daughter had resources

to pay any judgment rendered in that Tennessee Farmers, which was subrogated to the property

damage claim on June 25, 1996, made no effort to bring suit against them prior to the release being

signed on September 30, 1996.

As to Tennessee Farmers’ insistence that it was prejudiced, we again point out that only Mr.

Wise and CNL were released and the party operating the car, Mr. Wise’s daughter, was not. Thus,

Tennessee Farmers was free to pursue its subrogation claim against the daughter. Additionally, there

is no concrete proof that the vehicle driven by the daughter was a family purpose vehicle, or that the

doctrine of respondeat superior obtained. However, we note that under T.C.A. 55-10-311, proof of

ownership of a vehicle is “prima facie evidence that the vehicle was then and there being operated

by the owner, or by the owner’s servant for the owner’s use and benefit and within the scope of the

servant’s employment.”

Notwithstanding the foregoing code section, we believe it may be inferred that Mr. Wise was

not financially able to pay any judgment rendered against him.

Finally, as to prejudice, as noted in the case of American Justice Ins. v. Hutchison, 15 S.W.3d

811 (Tenn. 2000), involving failure to give notice of an accident, our Supreme Court held that

although prejudice must be shown, a rebuttable presumption arises that an insurer has been

prejudiced. Assuming that the rule of Hutchison obtains in this case, given the fact that no release

was given as far as his daughter was concerned, and the further fact that, as already noted, no effort

was made by Tennessee Farmers to collect approximately $5000 it paid for property damage over

and above the amount paid by CNL, any presumption that might have arisen has been rebutted given

our standard of review as to directed verdicts. Moreover, as to this point, the question of prejudice

may be fully explored at trial upon remand.

We also believe that Rutherford answers the contention of Tennessee Farmers that no

judgment could be rendered against it because the tort-feasor had not been sued. It is true that

Rutherford did not speak to this point, but does affirm a judgment against Tennessee Farmers under

the underinsured motorist coverage when the tort-feasor was the only defendant sued.3 Moreover,

it appears that this is a suit for breach of contract rather than one under the provisions of our

underinsured motorist statutes.

As to the testimony excluded, which was that of an independent insurance adjustor regarding

the duty and responsibilities of Mr. Brown, under the circumstances of this case we do not believe

that the Trial Court, given the wide discretion accorded it as to admission of evidence, especially

expert testimony, was in error in excluding this testimony. We also suggest that for the same reason

3

Rutherford was decided December 1, 1980, some eight and one-half years after Glover v. Tennessee

construed our uninsured and underinsured

Farmers Mutual Insurance Co., 468 S.W .2d 7 27 (Tenn. 19 71),

automobile statutes to preclude a direct action against the insurer.

-6-

we would not have found error had the testimony been admitted. Otis v. Cambridge Mut. Fire Ins.

Co., 850 S.W.2d 439 (Tenn. 1992).

We also note that under Tennessee law there is in every contract an implied duty of good

faith and fair dealing. Wallace v. National Bank of Commerce, 938 S.W.2d 684 (Tenn. 1996);

Brooks v. Networks of Chattanooga, Inc., 946 S.W.2d 321 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1996).

Given the letter above set out, copy of which went to Mr. Brown, the representative of

Tennessee Farmers, a reasonable inference can be drawn that the settlement with the tort-feasor was

imminent, and if accomplished without the written consent of Tennessee Farmers, Tennessee

Farmers would not be liable for payment of any underinsured motorist coverage.

We believe a jury could find, under proper instructions from the Court, that the implied

covenants above mentioned were breached by Mr. Brown remaining silent with the expectation that

the case would be settled without the written consent required in the policy. We accordingly find

that granting a directed verdict under the record presented was error.

As to the question of the Trial Judge recusing himself, the record discloses that during the

selection of the jury the Court excused any prospective juror who carried insurance with Tennessee

Farmers. During the course of the trial the Trial Judge apparently reflected upon his actions as to

Tennessee Farmers and felt it necessary to advise counsel for the parties that he likewise was insured

by Tennessee Farmers. He then asked whether there was any problem with his continuing the trial.

Both counsel answered in the negative. In light of this we find that error incident thereto, if any, was

waived by Mrs. Gaston’s counsel.

With regard to the allegation in the complaint that Tennessee Farmers violated the Tennessee

Consumer Protection Act, counsel for Tennessee Farmers argues that the circumstances of this case

do not bring it within the protection of this Act, which provides in part the following:

47-18-102. Purposes. -- The provisions of this part shall be liberally

construed to promote the following policies:

(1) To simplify, clarify, and modernize state law governing the protection of

the consuming public and to conform these laws with existing consumer

protection policies;

(2) To protect consumers and legitimate business enterprises from those who

engage in unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the conduct of any trade or

commerce in part or wholly within this state;

(3) To encourage and promote the development of fair consumer practices.

47-18-103. Definitions. -- As used in this part, unless the context

otherwise requires:

....

-7-

(2) "Consumer" means any natural person who seeks or acquires by

purchase, rent, lease, assignment, award by chance, or other disposition, any

goods, services, or property, tangible or intangible, real, personal or mixed, and

any other article, commodity, or thing of value wherever situated or any person

who purchases or to whom is offered for sale a franchise or distributorship

agreement or any similar type of business opportunity.

While this argument is appealing, our Supreme Court, in dealing with a similar factual

situation wherein the insurance company refused to pay a fire loss as to the policyholder’s rental

property, held that such an action was appropriate under the Tennessee Consumer Protection Act.

Myint v. Allstate Ins. Co., 970 S.W.2d 920 (Tenn. 1998).

For the foregoing reasons the judgment of the Trial Court is vacated and the cause remanded

for further proceedings not inconsistent with this opinion. Costs of appeal are adjudged against

Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company.

_________________________________________

HOUSTON M. GODDARD, PRESIDING JUDGE

-8-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.