Opinion

Dagmar Moss v. Alvin Moss

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Sep 20, 2002
Status
Published
On the bench
Judge W. Frank Crawford
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.9%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT JACKSON

September 20, 2002 Session

DAGMAR GABRIELE MOSS v. ALVIN WARREN MOSS

A Direct Appeal from the Chancery Court for Hardeman County

No. 13292 R.D. The Honorable Dewey C. Whitenton, Chancellor

No. W2001-02809-COA-R3-CV - Filed November 19, 2002

Wife filed a complaint for divorce alleging inappropriate marital conduct and, in the

alternative, irreconcilable differences, and husband filed a counterclaim for divorce on the same

grounds. The chancery court awarded the wife an absolute divorce and alimony in solido in the

amount of $1,000.00, to be paid toward her attorney fees, but denied wife’s claim for alimony in

futuro. Wife appeals. We affirm as modified and remand.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3; Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Chancery Court Affirmed as

Modified and Remanded

W. FRANK CRAWFORD , P.J., W.S., delivered the opinion of the court, in which ALAN E. HIGHERS,

J. and HOLLY KIRBY LILLARD, J., joined.

Harriet S. Thompson, Bolivar, For Appellant, Dagmar Gabriele Moss

H. Morris Denton, Bolivar, For Appellee, Alvin Warren Moss

OPINION

Plaintiff-appellant, Dagmar Gabriel Moss (“Wife”), appeals the Final Decree of Divorce of

the trial court as to the denial of an award of alimony in futuro and the award of only $1,000.00 as

alimony in solido against defendant-appellee, Alvin Warren Moss (“Husband”), for attorney fees and

expenses totaling $1,500.00.

Parties were married on November 25, 1994, after a five month courtship. In the months

leading up to their marriage, the parties lived together in a home owned by Wife.1 Upon their union,

1

At the time of the m arriage , Husband ow ned a separate home which he subsequently deeded to his son, Warren

Moss, Jr. Shortly before trial, Husband purchased real property in his son’s name, valued at approximately $25,000.00.

Husband testified that he m ade a $15,00 0.00 dow n paym ent on this property.

Husband established this home as his permanent residence. Parents of adult children from previous

marriages, the parties do not have any offspring together.

On December 20, 2000, Wife filed for divorce after seven years of marriage. As grounds for

divorce, Wife alleged that Husband engaged in inappropriate marital conduct. In her testimony at

trial, Wife alluded to several instances of inappropriate conduct on Husband’s behalf. Specifically,

Wife alleged that Husband engaged in multiple extramarital affairs, drank excessively, gave marital

property to his son without her consent, refused marriage counseling, moved out of the couple’s

marital bedroom, and refused to bathe. Husband admitted to drinking heavily on occasion and

engaging in sexual relations with other women after his separation, but denied having extramarital

affairs while he was living with Wife. Husband also admitted to refusing counseling and failing to

bathe.

At the time of the parties divorce, Wife was an unemployed2, 56 year-old woman with severe

health concerns. Her only income was and is derived from social security disability benefits that she

has been receiving since October 13, 1994.3 Currently, Wife receives benefits in the amount of

$569.00 a month for complications that she suffers as a result of her “organic brain disorder with a

secondary impairment of late effects of cerebrovascular accident,” and the disabling effects from the

left cerebella stroke she suffered in 1986, and the several minor strokes she has experienced since.

As a result of her deteriorating health, Wife is unable to work outside her home.

According to an Affidavit of Income and Expenses submitted by Wife, her monthly living

expenses total $1,188.00. Husband admits, and the record indicates, that this amount far exceeds

the income she receives from social security disability benefits. In her affidavit, wife listed several

general expenses, including utilities, mortgage payments, health and automobile insurance

premiums, telephone, cable, and groceries. Aside from these general expenses, Wife also testified

to having outstanding medical bills that are not covered by her health insurance, and owing

$1,500.00 to her daughter Sheila as repayment for funds advanced to Wife for payment of attorney

fees in the case at bar.

Wife’s 35 year-old adult son, Thomas McCommon (“McCommon”), resides with Wife in

her home. McCommon testified that he has lived with his mother most of his life, and that he lived

in the marital home of Wife and Husband for the greater part of the marriage. Wife admitted that

McCommon dedicates a portion of his salary from Maytag to the payment of Wife’s expenses that

exceed her monthly income. Without this assistance, McCommon commented that it would be

difficult for his mother to meet her financial obligations.

The underlying theory of Wife’s claim for alimony in futuro is that she is economically

disadvantaged as a result of her disabilities and, because of the substantial non-monetary

2

Prior to her marria ge to H usband, W ife was employed in the payroll and personnel department for Master

Apparel/Master Slack. As a result of her deteriorating health, and with her husband’s urging, W ife quit her job with the

factory less than one week after the parties were married. Shortly thereafter, Wife applied for soc ial security disability.

3

Acco rding to the reco rd, W ife also receives app roximately $6 1.00 each mo nth in food stamp s.

-2-

contributions that she made to the marriage, her former husband, who is in a financially superior

condition, should be obligated to pay temporary and permanent support. At trial, Wife specifically

requested monthly alimony in the amount of $600.00.

Husband is a 54 year-old, over the road truck driver who currently owns and operates his own

trucking business. Husband’s business income tax records for the years 1998-2000 were submitted

as trial exhibits as proof of his ability to provide spousal support. These records indicate that

Husband’s annual income from his trucking business for this three-year period was $32,259.00,

$43,898.00, and $35,592.00 respectively. Husband’s primary business vehicle is a 1993 Freightliner

truck that he purchased in December of 1995 while the parties were still married. According to

Husband, he applied a $10,000.00 C.D. obtained prior to his marriage to Wife, toward the purchase

of the cab. The remainder of the truck balance was paid off during the course of the marriage. The

parties agree that the truck has a current depreciated value of $8,000.00.

In addition to the income Husband derives from his trucking business, Wife asserted that

Husband is capable of providing spousal support as a result of funds he has accumulated in an

individual retirement account (“IRA”) and a Woodmen of the World (“Woodmen”) fund. The IRA

is currently valued at $18,827.00. Wife alleged that marital funds were deposited into these accounts

on a monthly basis during the marriage. Although Husband admitted that the accounts were financed

through automatic monthly deductions from the couple’s joint bank account,4 he noted that he

purchased the IRA and Woodmen fund several years prior to the marriage. Further, Wife admitted

that she never contributed any portion of her disability payments or personal funds toward the joint

account, the IRA, or the Woodmen fund.5

As further support for her argument that Husband is financially able to provide spousal

support, Wife asserted that the couple held $10,000.00 in cash savings in a home safe at the time of

their separation in July of 2000. According to Wife, Husband took the entire $10,000.00 with him

when he moved out of the home. While Husband admitted to taking the money that was in the safe,

he disputed the total submitted by Wife in her testimony. In his cross examination testimony,

Husband testified that the safe contained $7,500.00 in savings in July of 2000, the balance of which

he deposited in a savings account and later used to pay the couple’s 2000 income taxes, and purchase

tags for his business vehicle.

The record indicates that throughout the course of the parties’ seven year marriage, Husband

made substantial financial contributions toward the payment of household expenditures, mortgage

debts, home improvement, and annual income taxes. Husband paid $12,800.00 on the principal of

Wife’s home mortgage. In addition to these payments, Husband provided a detailed list in his

counterclaim for divorce of improvements to Wife’s home that he personally financed over the

4

According to H usband’s testim ony, W ife was free to write checks out of the joint account.

5

The chancery court prohibited Wife from testifying about how she spent her disability funds because she was

unable to produce any records or bank statements to verify how the money was applied.

-3-

course of the marriage.6 Included among these improvements were the addition of a swimming pool,

payment of home and auto insurance premiums, purchase of furniture and yard tools, general home

repair expenses, and the purchase of a 1987 Jeep Cherokee for Wife. Husband totaled the

improvements at $51,387.00.

Wife argued that regardless of the financial contributions bestowed by Husband, the non-

monetary contributions that she made to the marriage warranted an award of temporary and

permanent support. In her testimony Wife asserted that she made valuable contributions to the

marriage as a wife, homemaker, babysitter, hostess, and helpmate in Husband’s trucking business.

Q. Okay, I would like for you to tell the Court everything you did.

A. Well, I kept the house clean, clothes clean, kept the big truck

clean. I kept his little truck clean. I went on the road with him. I

mowed the yard. I did everything.

Q. Did you do anything specifically with the business besides

cleaning the big truck?

A. Yeah, I did his book work and paid the drivers and, you know,

when you pay them you got to make quarterly deposits for taxes and

stuff.

.

Q. Did you do those – complete those?

A. Yes.

Q. So you did all the paperwork involved with the business?

A. Yes.

Q. Was there anything else that you did for Mr. Moss in the marriage

in the social skills?

A. Well, I straightened up after his friends. I picked up cigarette

butts, beer bottles. You name it.

Q. Did Mr. Moss entertain there – entertain friends?

A. It was mostly his family, yes.

6

Although wife does not dispute that these improvements were made, she maintains tha t these expenditures did

not increase the value of her home.

-4-

Q. Is there anything else that you did that wasn’t a money

contribution during the marriage?

A. Well, I kept the pool up, baby-sat Tiffany. He always wanted

Tiffany –

Q. Who is Tiffany?

A. His granddaughter. He would get drunk and pass out and I would

have Tiffany to play with.

Husband admitted that he often invited friends and family to the house for drinks, and that Wife took

care of the cooking, cleaning, yard work, and pool maintenance. Although he admitted that Wife

was occasionally asked to act as a hostess to his family and care for his granddaughter, Husband

disputed that Wife was burdened with such responsibilities as often as she testified. With regard to

his wife’s duties in the operation of his trucking business, Husband admitted that Wife was

responsible for completing paperwork and bills, and keeping the interior of the truck clean.

Since the couple’s separation in July of 2000, Husband has provided temporary support to

Wife on several occasions. The record indicates, and wife admitted, that Husband paid her house

insurance in November of 2000, bought eyeglasses for Wife at a cost to Husband of more than

$200.00, and paid the entire balance of the income taxes owed by the couple for the year 2000.

Husband further alleged that Wife withdrew approximately $2,650.00 from the couple’s savings

account shortly after their separation.

On December 20, 2000, Wife filed a complaint for divorce against Husband on the grounds

of inappropriate marital conduct and, in the alternative, irreconcilable differences. Pursuant to her

complaint, Wife sought an absolute divorce and “alimony, both temporary and permanent.” Wife

further prayed for an award of one-half of the equity in Husband’s tractor-trailer truck, an equal

division of the couple’s $10,000.00 cash savings, attorney fees, and court costs. Husband filed a

counterclaim for divorce on February 6, 2001, alleging inappropriate marital conduct and

irreconcilable differences.

A non-jury trial was held before Chancellor Dewey C. Whitenton, Chancery Court,

Hardeman County, Tennessee, on August 21, 2001. The court issued its ruling by written Trial

Opinion on September 26, 2002. On October 17, 2001, a Final Decree of Divorce was entered

granting Wife an absolute divorce upon the grounds of inappropriate marital conduct. In its order,

the court awarded each party the real and personal property presently in their respective possession,

but refused to “make any further division of, or cash payment for, marital property.” Addressing

Wife’s claims for temporary and permanent alimony, the court ruled:

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED by the

Court, after considering all of the applicable factors, including the

-5-

duration of the marriage, there shall be no award of any additional

alimony in futuro to plaintiff; but since there is a substantial disparity

in the income of the parties, the Court does award to the plaintiff,

Dagmar Gabriele Moss, the sum of $1,000.00 as alimony in solido to

be paid for her attorney, Harriet S. Thompson, as payment on

plaintiff’s attorney fees.

Wife appealed, presenting the following issues, quoted from her brief, for review.

I. Whether the trial court erred in failing to award alimony in futuro

to the Wife, Dagmar Moss.

II. Whether the trial court erred in failing to award the entire sum of

the Wife’s attorney fees as alimony in solido to the Wife, Dagmar

Moss.

The first issue presented for review is whether the chancery court erred in failing to grant an

award of alimony in futuro to Wife. Guidelines for the determination of alimony are set forth in

T.C.A. § 36-5-101(d) (Supp. 1997). The trial court is afforded wide discretion concerning the award

of alimony, and an appellate court should reverse the trial court’s findings only in instances in which

this discretion “has manifestly been abused.” Hanover v. Hanover, 775 S.W.2d 612, 617 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 1989); Ford v. Ford, 952 S.W.2d 824, 827 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1997).

Need and the ability to pay are the critical factors in setting the amount of an alimony award.

Smith v. Smith, 912 S.W.2d 155, 159 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1995). From the evidence and testimony

presented in this case, it is clear that Wife is a woman of limited means and poor health, in desperate

need of financial assistance. However, the fact that Wife has demonstrated a need for temporary and

permanent support, alone, does not mandate an award of alimony in futuro by the chancery court.

The court, in analyzing a claim for alimony, must consider and weigh all of the relevant factors set

forth in T.C.A. § 36-5-101(d). We find no evidence that the chancellor neglected his duty under this

statute.

In his trial opinion, the chancellor offered the following rationale for his decision to deny

Wife’s claim for alimony.

After consideration of all of the proof and the record in this case, the

Court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the accumulation

of equity which Mr. Moss has received in his tractor-trailer truck and

IRA account during the marriage is more than offset by the payments

that he made on the principal of the mortgage note of the residence

and lot of Ms. Moss, and by the improvements that he made to that

property.

-6-

We find the chancellor’s interpretation convincing, and conclude, simply, that Husband has paid

enough. During the span of a seven year marriage, Husband paid at least $12,800.00 on the principal

of the mortgage note on Wife’s home, contributed over $50,000.00 toward improvements on said

home, and was the sole financial provider for the parties. There is uncontroverted evidence that Wife

directly benefitted from, and had access to, the income earned by Husband over the course of the

marriage. In contrast, the record is devoid of any evidence of any financial contributions made by

Wife to the marriage. As a point of fact, Wife was prohibited from testifying about how she spent

the disability benefits that she received during the marriage because she failed to produce bank

statements or receipts to verify her expenditures.

Irrespective of Husband’s financial contributions to the marriage, we find that he is unable

to pay temporary or permanent support to Wife based on his limited income and meager personal

and real property possessions. Aside from the real property that he purchased shortly before trial,

Husband’s only significant possession is his 1993 Freightliner truck, currently depreciated to a net

value of $8,000.00. Based on these facts, we find that Husband does not enjoy the type of financial

stability or prosperity to warrant being saddled with monthly alimony obligations.

Though we cannot dispute that Wife has sincere financial concerns, we find that Wife is in

no worse a financial or material position than she was before her marriage to Husband. The

disability report submitted on behalf of Wife is evidence that Wife suffered from severe medical

complications prior to her marriage to Husband. This report states that Wife was deemed disabled

and thereby awarded disability benefits beginning on October 13, 1994. Although she argues that

she quit her job with Master Apparel/Master Slack at the urging of Husband, there is no evidence

in the record to indicate that Wife was physically capable of maintaining employment. In fact, the

record indicates that Wife was experiencing performance difficulties as a result of her disabilities

prior to her resignation.

While Wife is unable to provide for her monthly living expenses without assistance, she is

not without financial resources. First, Wife receives $659.00 each month in disability benefits and

$61.00 in food stamps. Second, Wife maintains possession of the marital home. Finally, Wife

testified that her son provides financial assistance to cover any bills or debts that she is unable to

satisfy on her fixed income. McCommon, who is employed full-time with Maytag, has lived with

his mother for nearly thirty-five years, and lived in the parties’ marital home for a substantial term

of the marriage. Based on these circumstances, we find that Wife has sufficient financial assistance

and resources at her disposal to adequately provide for her necessary living expenses.

While Husband’s behavior during the marriage, and Wife’s health concerns and non-

monetary contributions to the home and business are factors that strongly advocate an award of

alimony, we ultimately conclude that Wife is not entitled to an award of alimony in futuro when

considering the significant benefit she received from Husband’s financial contributions to the

marriage, and Husband’s current inability to provide such support. We therefore affirm the trial

court’s ruling, and find that he did not commit an abuse of discretion by denying Wife’s claim for

alimony in futuro.

-7-

The final issue for review is whether the trial court erred in failing to award Wife the entire

sum of her attorney fees as alimony in solido. Wife has presented sufficient evidence to demonstrate

that she has or will incur at least $1,500.00 in attorney fees for this litigation. However, the court,

in its final decree of divorce, awarded Wife only $1,000.00 as alimony in solido, with the direction

that Wife apply this sum as payment of attorney fees. Wife takes issue with the amount of the

alimony in solido award, and argues that she is entitled to an award for the full amount of $1,500.00.

The trial court’s decision to award attorney’s fees is considered an award of alimony. Long

v. Long, 957 S.W.2d 825, 829 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1997). An appellate court will not interfere with the

trial court’s decision to award attorney’s fees unless it is shown that “manifest injustice would be

done if the award is allowed to stand.” Id.

An award of attorney fees constitutes alimony in solido. Herrera v. Herrera, 944 S.W.2d

379, 390 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1996); Cranford v. Cranford, 772 S.W.2d 48, 52 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1989).

As with any alimony award, in deciding whether to award attorneys fees as alimony in solido, the

trial court should consider the relevant factors enumerated T.C.A. § 36-5-101(d). A spouse with

adequate property and income is not entitled to an award of alimony to pay attorney fees and

expenses. Umstot v. Umstot, 968 S.W.2d 819, 824 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1997); and Duncan v. Duncan,

686 S.W.2d 568, 573 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1984). “These awards are appropriate, however, only when

the spouse seeking them lacks sufficient funds to pay his or her own legal expenses,” Brown v.

Brown, 913 S.W.2d 163, 170 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1994) (citing Houghland v. Houghland, 844 S.W.2d

619, 623 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1992), and Ingram v. Ingram, 721 S.W.2d 262, 264 (Tenn. Ct. App.

1986)), or would be required to “deplete his or her resources in order to pay these expenses.” Id.

(citing Harwell v. Harwell, 612 S.W.2d 182, 185 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1980)).

Considering Wife’s obvious financial concerns and limitations, and no award of alimony in

futuro, the court’s decision to award only $1,000.00 of the attorney fees in the amount of $1,500.00

could be considered an abuse of discretion.

Accordingly, the award of alimony in solido is modified to award $1,500.00 for attorney fees.

As modified, the decree is affirmed. Costs of the appeal are assessed one-half to Appellant, Dagmar

Gabriele Moss, and her surety, and one-half to Appellee, Alvin Warren Moss. The case is remanded

to the trial court for such further proceedings as may be necessary.

__________________________________________

W. FRANK CRAWFORD, PRESIDING JUDGE, W.S.

-8-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.