when a defendant files a Rule 12(b) motion after filing its answer to the plaintiff’s complaint, the court should “trea[t] the motion as a Rule 12(c) motion”
How later courts described this case
- when a defendant files a Rule 12(b) motion after filing its answer to the plaintiff’s complaint, the court should “trea[t] the motion as a Rule 12(c) motion”
- finding no waiver because the insurer rejected the insured’s stated loss amount and invoked Section 99 “in both its response to [the insured’s] Chapter 93A letter and its answer to the Amended Complaint”
- “There was no waiver” because the insurer “raised the reference issue as an affirmative defense in its answer to [the insured’s] complaint and ha[d] repeatedly declined to waive its rights under the policy.”
- finding no waiver where the insurer “disputed the amount of the loss and repeatedly called attention . . . to the existence of the reference condition,” including in its chapter 93A response and raising it as an affirmative defense
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
)
THE 285 LYNN SHORE DRIVE )
CONDOMINIUM TRUST, )
)
Plaintiff, )
)
v. ) No. 1:24-cv-10049-JEK
)
SENECA INSURANCE COMPANY and )
ENGLE MARTIN & ASSOCIATES, )
)
Defendants. )
)
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER ON SENECA INSURANCE COMPANY’S
MOTION TO DISMISS COUNT I OF THE COMPLAINT
OR ALTERNATIVELY TO COMPEL APPRAISAL
KOBICK, J.
This insurance dispute arises from damage caused by the bursting of frozen water pipes at
a residential property in Lynn, Massachusetts. The 285 Lynn Shore Drive Condominium Trust
sued Seneca Insurance Company and its adjuster, Engle Martin & Associates, alleging that Seneca
breached the operative insurance policy and that both defendants engaged in unfair trade practices
under M.G.L. c. 93A and 176D by improperly undervaluing, and inadequately compensating for,
the property’s extensive water damage. Pending before the Court is Seneca’s partial motion to
dismiss or alternatively to compel appraisal pursuant to the parties’ insurance policy and M.G.L.
c. 175, § 99. Seneca contends that the Condominium Trust failed to comply with a condition
precedent to this lawsuit—namely, that it participate with Seneca in the “referral” or “appraisal”
process outlined in the insurance policy and required by Section 99, whereby an objective panel
of referees resolves the parties’ dispute over the amount of the loss. Concluding that appraisal is a
condition precedent to litigation required both by Section 99 and the governing insurance policy,
the Court will grant Seneca’s motion to compel appraisal.
BACKGROUND
Seneca’s motion, styled as a partial motion to dismiss or alternatively to compel appraisal,
was filed two weeks after Seneca filed its answer. ECF 4, 7-8. The Court thus alerted the parties
that it would treat Seneca’s motion as a partial motion for judgment on the pleadings under Federal
Rule of Civil Procedure 12(c) or, in the alternative, a motion to compel appraisal. ECF 9 (citing
Villeneuve v. Avon Prod., Inc., 919 F.3d 40, 49 (1st Cir. 2019) (when a defendant files a Rule 12(b)
motion after filing its answer to the plaintiff’s complaint, the court should “trea[t] the motion as a
Rule 12(c) motion”). This “does not affect [the Court’s] analysis inasmuch as the two motions are
ordinarily accorded much the same treatment.” Aponte-Torres v. Univ. of Puerto Rico, 445 F.3d
50, 54 (1st Cir. 2006). In considering a motion for judgment on the pleadings under Federal Rule
of Civil Procedure 12(c), the Court accepts as true all well pleaded facts in the complaint. See Doe
v. Brown Univ., 896 F.3d 127, 130 (1st Cir. 2018). Where appropriate, the Court also
“‘supplement[s] those facts by reference to documents incorporated in the pleadings.’” Kando v.
R.I. State Bd. of Elections, 880 F.3d 53, 56 (1st Cir. 2018) (quoting Jardín de las Catalinas Ltd.
P’ship v. Joyner, 766 F.3d 127, 130 (1st Cir. 2014)).
The property located at 285 Lynn Shore Drive in Lynn, Massachusetts, was originally built
in 1893 as a hotel before it was converted into 82 residential units. ECF 1-1, ¶¶ 4-5. The
Condominium Trust, which represents the owners of those units, purchased a Master Common and
Property Insurance Policy for the building from a New York insurer, Seneca, effective October 10,
2022 through October 10, 2023. Id. ¶¶ 2, 6, 8-9. The policy insured the building against casualty
losses, including, subject to certain exclusions, physical loss or damage to the property. Id. ¶ 8;
ECF 8-1. Due to a cold snap in early February 2023, the property’s pipes froze and then burst,
causing water damage in 22 units and certain common areas. ECF 1-1, ¶¶ 10-13.
In response, the Condominium Trust claimed the loss with Seneca and hired JRM
Restoration to remediate the damage. Id. ¶¶ 14, 16. The Condominium Trust also engaged a public
adjuster, Robert Gillete, while Seneca retained its own adjuster, Engle Martin. Id. ¶¶ 3, 16, 19.
Gillete estimated that the cost of rebuilding would be $3.4 million, whereas Engle Martin proposed
an adjustment of $731,273.30 to rebuild the 22 affected units and associated common areas. Id.
¶¶ 24, 32.
The parties’ disagreement about the amount of the loss and the scope of Seneca’s liability
is reflected in their correspondence in the summer and fall of 2023, attached as exhibits to the
complaint. ECF 1-1, Exs. B-D. In July 2023, Seneca sent a letter to the Condominium Trust
“find[ing] coverage for the repair of the freeze damage piping and resultant water damage” and
estimating that “the undisputed replacement cost” of those repairs is $851,990.35. ECF 1-1, Ex.
B, at 2. The letter denied coverage, however, for the mold remediation and the associated
replacement costs because “the mold observed is unrelated and preexists this [February 2023]
loss.” Id. at 1.
The Condominium Trust responded in October 2023 with a “Demand for Unfair and
Deceptive Insurance Practices, M.G.L. c. 176D and G.L. c. 93A” letter claiming that Seneca and
Engle Martin engaged in unfair and deceptive insurance claim settlement practices by, among
other actions, “lowballing and stalling the rebuild” and unreasonably rejecting specific line items,
including the replacement of doorknobs, hinges, millwork, door jambs, and baseboards. ECF 1-1,
Ex. C, at 2-4. The letter also stated that the cost to rebuild is $3.3 million and that Seneca’s
adjustment of $700,000 “does not even pass the smell test it is so low” and “ignores certain
necessary work in various of the damaged units and associated common areas.” Id. at 2, 4.
In November 2023, Seneca rejected those claims, replying that it “has . . . complied fully
with its statutory and contractual obligations” by “conduct[ing] a reasonable investigation with
reputable consultants and adjusters” and by “undertak[ing] to find a pathway for resolution and
agreement concerning the insured’s claimed losses.” ECF 1-1, Ex. D, at 1. Seneca’s reply further
explained that “the insurance policy provides a mechanism to resolve disputes concerning the
amount of loss,” so if the Condominium Trust “disagrees with Seneca’s adjustment of the loss, it
is free to demand Appraisal, also known as Reference.” Id. at 5. In an appraisal or reference, a
neutral panel of three referees resolves the parties’ dispute over the amount of the loss. Id.
In December 2023, the Condominium Trust filed this action in Essex County Superior
Court. The complaint asserts two claims: breach of contract against Seneca (Count I), ECF 1-1,
¶¶ 62-70, and violation of M.G.L. c. 93A and 176D against Seneca and Engle Martin (Count II),
id. ¶¶ 71-80. The defendants timely removed the case to this Court, invoking diversity jurisdiction.
ECF 1, ¶¶ 2-3. After the defendants filed their answer, Seneca moved to dismiss Count I pursuant
to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) or alternatively to compel appraisal. ECF 7. The Court
explained that it would treat Seneca’s motion as a motion for judgment on the pleadings under
Rule 12(c). ECF 9.
STANDARD OF REVIEW
“After the pleadings are closed—but early enough not to delay trial—a party may move
for judgment on the pleadings.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(c). A motion for judgment on the pleadings
under Rule 12(c) “is treated much like a Rule 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss.” Pérez-Acevedo v.
Rivero-Cubano, 520 F.3d 26, 29 (1st Cir. 2008) (citing Curran v. Cousins, 509 F.3d 36, 43-44 (1st
Cir. 2007)). Accordingly, “‘the court must view the facts contained in the pleadings in the light
most favorable to the nonmovant and draw all reasonable inferences therefrom.’” Id. (quoting R.G.
Fin. Corp. v. Vergara-Nuñez, 446 F.3d 178, 182 (1st Cir. 2006)). “[T]o survive a 12(b)(6) motion
(and, by extension, a Rule 12(c) motion) a complaint must contain factual allegations that ‘raise a
right to relief above the speculative level, on the assumption that all the allegations in the complaint
are true.’” Id. (quoting Bell Atl. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544, 555-56 (2007)). The Court must
examine whether the complaint “pleads factual content that allows [it] to draw the reasonable
inference that the defendant is liable for the misconduct alleged.” Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662,
678 (2009).
DISCUSSION
Seneca and the Condominium Trust agree that Massachusetts law governs this dispute and
rely on Massachusetts law in supporting and opposing the motion. Guided by “the parties’
reasonable agreement,” the Court will apply Massachusetts law. Martins v. Vermont Mut. Ins. Co.,
92 F.4th 325, 328 (1st Cir. 2024); see NextSun Energy Littleton, LLC v. Acadia Ins. Co., 494 F.
Supp. 3d 1, 13 n.7 (D. Mass. 2020) (applying Massachusetts law where “[t]he parties both
acknowledge that Massachusetts law applies” and “[t]he policy in dispute was issued in
Massachusetts to a Massachusetts company, and the underlying suit was filed in Massachusetts
courts asserting violations of Massachusetts state laws”).
“Under Massachusetts law, ‘[t]he proper interpretation of an insurance policy is a matter
of law to be decided by a court, not a jury.’” U.S. Liab. Ins. Co. v. Benchmark Constr. Servs., Inc.,
797 F.3d 116, 119 (1st Cir. 2015) (quoting Boazova v. Safety Ins. Co., 462 Mass. 346, 350 (2012)).
“[T]he court ‘must construe the words of the policy in their usual and ordinary sense.’” Id. (quoting
Bos. Gas Co. v. Century Indem. Co., 454 Mass. 337, 355 (2009)). If the policy language is
ambiguous, “‘doubts as to the intended meaning of the words must be resolved against the
insurance company that employed them and in favor of the insured.’” Boazova, 462 Mass. at 350-
51 (quoting August A. Busch & Co. of Mass. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 339 Mass. 239, 243 (1959)).
“An ambiguity arises when there is more than one rational interpretation of the relevant policy
language” but “‘is not created simply because a controversy exists between parties, each favoring
an interpretation contrary to the other.’” Bos. Gas Co., 454 Mass. at 356 n.32 (quoting Lumbermens
Mut. Cas. Co. v. Offices Unlimited, Inc., 419 Mass. 462, 466 (1995)).
Seneca contends that it is entitled to judgment on the breach of contract claim because the
Condominium Trust failed to plead that its claimed loss is payable under the insurance policy or
that it has complied with a condition precedent pursuant to that policy—namely, the so-called
“reference” or “appraisal” process required by the insurance policy and M.G.L. c. 175, § 99. In the
alternative, Seneca moves to compel the Condominium Trust to participate in reference or
appraisal to assess the amount of loss incurred in February 2023.
Enacted in the wake of the great Boston fire in 1872, M.G.L. c. 175, § 99 prescribes
mandatory conditions for standard fire insurance policies. Aquino v. United Prop. & Cas. Co., 483
Mass. 820, 826 (2020). Among other things, it adopts a “summary method of establishing the
amount of [a] loss” suffered by an insured entity, Hanley v. Aetna Ins. Co., 215 Mass. 425, 430
(1913), in order “to expedite the equitable settlement of claims,” Ems.’ Liab. Assur. Corp. v.
Traynor, 354 Mass. 763, 763 (1968). The Twelfth Clause of the statute provides, in pertinent part:
In case of loss under this policy and a failure of the parties to agree as to the amount
of loss, it is mutually agreed that the amount of such loss shall be referred to three
disinterested men . . . and the award in writing by a majority of the referees shall
be conclusive and final upon the parties as to the amount of loss or damage.
M.G.L. c. 175, § 99, cl. 12. Importantly, it also provides that “such reference, unless waived by
the parties, shall be a condition precedent to any right of action in law or equity to recover for such
loss.” Id. Section 99 is thus “explicit that ‘[i]n case of . . . a failure of the parties to agree as to the
amount of loss,’ reference, unless waived, shall be a ‘condition precedent’ to any right of action to
recover for such loss.” McCord v. Horace Mann Ins. Co., 390 F.3d 138, 142 (1st Cir. 2004); see
Molea v. Aetna Ins. Co. of Hartford, 326 Mass. 542, 547 (1950) (“The matter of reference to three
disinterested persons, unless waived by the parties, [is] a condition precedent to recovery upon the
policies, if the parties fai[l] to agree upon the amount of loss.”).
The parties’ insurance policy includes language identical to the language used in the
Twelfth Clause of Section 99, including the phrase that “unless waived by the parties, [reference]
shall be a condition precedent to any right of action in law or equity to recover for . . . loss.” ECF
8-1, at 48.1 The policy further specifies that the “Appraisal . . . Provisions of [M.G.L. c. 175, § 99]
shall apply.” Id. at 45. And it explains that “Massachusetts law requires that the . . . Appraisal . . .
Provisions of [M.G.L. c. 175, § 99] supersede any similar provisions contained in [the] policy.”
Id. Where, as here, the parties disagree about the amount of the loss incurred by the Condominium
Trust in the cold snap of February 2023, the plain language of Section 99 and of their insurance
policy required the Condominium Trust to participate in a reference process before filing this
action.
Disputing that conclusion, the Condominium Trust contends that reference is not a
prerequisite to this lawsuit because, in addition to a dispute about the amount of loss, its breach of
contract claim involves a dispute about the scope of the policy’s coverage and the extent to which
Seneca is liable under the policy. According to the Condominium Trust, Seneca “has denied
liability and coverage for a large portion of the covered loss” by, among other things, “removing
1 In examining a Rule 12(c) motion, the Court can consider the parties’ insurance policy
because it is “‘central to [the Condominium Trust’s] claim[s]’” and “‘sufficiently referred to in the
complaint.’” Curran, 509 F.3d at 44 (quoting Watterson v. Page, 987 F.2d 1, 3 (1st Cir. 1993)).
units from the claim” and “unreasonably contesting salvageable materials.” ECF 13, at 1; see id.
at 6; ECF 1, ¶¶ 24, 39-40, 44, 46, 63-66. While the Condominium Trust is correct that a reference
proceeding does not determine questions of liability or coverage, “[q]uestions of ultimate liability
are determinable following action on the reference.” Traynor, 354 Mass. at 763; see F. & M. Skirt
Co. v. Rhode Island Ins. Co., 316 Mass. 314, 316 (1944) (“Obviously the referees would not have
the right under such a reference . . . to decide questions pertaining to liability.”). Thus, “[e]ven
though an insurer denies liability, the reference condition must be observed absent agreement as
to the loss amount.” McCord, 390 F.3d at 143. And here, as the Condominium Trust concedes, the
parties disagree about the total amount of loss at issue in the breach of contract claim. See ECF 13,
at 2 (“the Parties disagree on the ultimate amount” of damages). Because the Condominium Trust
admits that valuation “is part of the claim” and that “the ultimate amount is in dispute,” id. at 1,
the insurance policy and Section 99 require appraisal as a precondition to this lawsuit.
The Condominium Trust’s concern that the referees’ decisions as to liability and coverage
will have preclusive effect is unfounded. True, “the referees must reach their own conclusions as
to what they think that loss or damage is,” and those “conclusions must necessarily be affected by
what they think the coverage is.” Fox v. Emps.’ Fire Ins. Co., 330 Mass. 283, 288 (1953). But the
Supreme Judicial Court has emphasized that the referees’ “views so far as ultimate liability goes
are wholly tentative and in no sense a decision on that underlying question.” Id. Thus, while the
referees must “find the amount of loss in light of their own interpretation of the terms of the
policy,” the ultimate “question of construction . . . remain[s] open for reexamination” by a court
in an action on the policy. Augenstein v. Ins. Co. of N. Am., 372 Mass. 30, 37 (1977). The parties
will therefore be “free to litigate questions of liability after resolving any dispute about the amount
of loss in a reference proceeding.” McCord, 390 F.3d at 143. As this Court summarized: “If the
referees reach questions of ultimate liability, those issues can be relitigated; but that eventuality
does not excuse the contractual requirement that there be a reference before there be a law suit.”
F.C.I. Realty Tr. v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 906 F. Supp. 30, 33 (D. Mass. 1995).
The Condominium Trust also contends that Seneca waived appraisal as a condition
precedent to this lawsuit. “Waiver . . . may be inferred from the conduct of the insurer or its agents,
but the burden of proving such waiver or excuse falls on the party seeking to rely upon it.” Moran
v. Phoenix Ins. Co., 7 Mass. App. Ct. 822, 824 (1979). The Massachusetts Appeals Court has, for
example, concluded that an insurer’s “denial of liability and its failure to refer to reference in its
letter could . . . be found to be a waiver of the reference as a condition precedent to litigation.”
Lancaster v. Gen. Acc. Ins. Co. of Am., 32 Mass. App. Ct. 925, 926, aff’d, 413 Mass. 1007 (1992).
“In other cases finding waiver, there was an absence of evidence that the insurer disputed the
amount of loss.” McCord, 390 F.3d at 144 (citing Goodman v. Quaker City Fire & Marine Ins.
Co., 241 F.2d 432, 436 (1st Cir. 1957) and Moran, 7 Mass. App. Ct. at 824).
The Condominium Trust bases its waiver argument on Seneca’s November 13, 2023 letter
responding to the chapter 93A demand. That letter provides, in relevant part, as follows:
[I]n as much as there are outstanding questions bearing on the applicability or
availability of coverage for this loss, Reference does not and will resolve or concern
issues of coverage. Seneca expressly reserves all rights on matters affecting its
liability and coverage under the insurance policy and at law and does not and will
not consent to have any matter of or concerning coverage decided at Reference.
See G.L. c. 175, § 101E and Audubon Hill South Condominium Ass’n v. Community
Ass’n Underwriters of America, Inc., 82 Mass. App. Ct. 461 (2012).
ECF 1-1, Ex. D, at 5. This language merely reserves the issue of coverage and liability for
resolution by a court, rather than the referees. Indeed, it references another statute, M.G.L. c. 175,
§ 101E, that “preserves to an insurer ‘any legal defense to the claim in respect to which the
reference proceedings are held’ unless the parties agree in writing to empower the referees as
arbitrators under the terms of the Uniform Arbitration Act, G.L. c. 251.” Audubon Hill S. Condo.
Ass’n v. Cmty. Ass’n Underwriters of Am., Inc., 82 Mass. App. Ct. 461, 464 n.8 (2012). Seneca’s
reservation of defenses does not constitute waiver of the condition precedent, particularly where it
disputed the amount of loss in the same letter. ECF 1-1, Ex. D, at 3-4. Seneca also stated that the
Condominium Trust “is free to demand Appraisal, also known as Reference in Massachusetts,”
and that “[n]othing contained herein . . . shall constitute a waiver . . . of any of its rights with
respect to coverage.” Id. at 5. Seneca similarly raised the appraisal issue as its ninth affirmative
defense in its answer, stating that the Condominium Trust “failed to comply with the conditions
precedent to bringing this action as required by the terms and provisions of the policy, as well as
Massachusetts law, including . . . G.L. c. 175, § 99,” because it “never demanded Reference before
filing suit over a dispute over the amount of loss.” ECF 4, at 12-13.
Even when considered in the light most favorable to the Condominium Trust, Seneca has
not waived the reference provision. See McCord, 390 F.3d at 144 (finding no waiver where the
insurer “disputed the amount of the loss and repeatedly called attention . . . to the existence of the
reference condition,” including in its chapter 93A response and raising it as an affirmative
defense); Kiley v. Metro. Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 159 F. Supp. 3d 135, 143 (D. Mass. 2016) (finding
no waiver because the insurer rejected the insured’s stated loss amount and invoked Section 99 “in
both its response to [the insured’s] Chapter 93A letter and its answer to the Amended Complaint”);
F.C.I. Realty Tr., 906 F. Supp. at 33 (“There was no waiver” because the insurer “raised the
reference issue as an affirmative defense in its answer to [the insured’s] complaint and ha[d]
repeatedly declined to waive its rights under the policy.”). Accordingly, the Condominium Trust
must, pursuant to Section 99 and its contractual obligations under the insurance policy, comply
with the reference provision. Because reference is a condition precedent to litigation, the Court
will grant Seneca’s motion to compel appraisal and stay this action pending completion of the
reference proceedings. See Kiley, 159 F. Supp. 3d at 144 (staying action pending appraisal); Santos
v. Preferred Mut. Ins. Co., 939 F. Supp. 2d 67, 68 (D. Mass. 2013) (same).
CONCLUSION AND ORDER
For the foregoing reasons, Seneca’s motion to compel appraisal is GRANTED and its
motion for judgment on the pleadings is DENIED. This action shall be stayed pending completion
of the reference proceeding. The parties shall file a joint status report on or before October 16,
2024 regarding the status of the appraisal.
SO ORDERED.
/s/ Julia E. Kobick
JULIA E. KOBICK
Dated: July 18, 2024 UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE