Opinion

Rodriguez v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, M.D. Florida
Filed
Sep 10, 2024
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 31.3%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

TAMPA DIVISION

HIRAM V. RODRIGUEZ,

Plaintiff,

v. Case No.: 8:23-cv-2085-DNF

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL

SECURITY,

Defendant.

OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff Hiram V. Rodriguez seeks judicial review of the final decision of the

Commissioner of the Social Security Administration (“SSA”) denying his claim for

a period of disability and disability insurance benefits. The Commissioner filed the

Transcript of the proceedings (“Tr.” followed by the appropriate page number), and

the parties filed legal memoranda setting forth their positions. Plaintiff also filed a

reply. As explained below, the decision of the Commissioner is AFFIRMED under

§ 205(g) of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

I. Social Security Act Eligibility, Standard of Review, Procedural

History, and the Commissioner’s Decision

A. Social Security Eligibility

The law defines disability as the inability to do any substantial gainful activity

by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can

be expected to result in death, or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a

continuous period of not less than twelve months. 42 U.S.C. §§ 416(i), 423(d)(1)(A),

1382c(a)(3)(A); 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1505(a), 416.905(a). The impairment must be

severe, making the claimant unable to do his previous work, or any other substantial

gainful activity which exists in the national economy. 42 U.S.C. §§ 423(d)(2)(A),

1382c(a)(3)(A); 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1505–404.1511, 416.905–416.911.

B. Standard of Review

The Commissioner’s findings of fact are conclusive if supported by

substantial evidence. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). “Substantial evidence is more than a

scintilla and is such relevant evidence as a reasonable person would accept as

adequate to support a conclusion. Even if the evidence preponderated against the

Commissioner’s findings, we must affirm if the decision reached is supported by

substantial evidence.” Crawford v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 363 F.3d 1155, 1158 (11th

Cir. 2004). In conducting this review, this Court may not reweigh the evidence or

substitute its judgment for that of the administrative law judge, but must consider

the evidence as a whole, taking into account evidence favorable as well as

unfavorable to the decision. Winschel v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 631 F.3d 1176, 1178

(11th Cir. 2011) (citation omitted); Foote v. Chater, 67 F.3d 1553, 1560 (11th Cir.

1995); Martin v. Sullivan, 894 F.2d 1520, 1529 (11th Cir. 1990). Unlike findings of

fact, the Commissioner’s conclusions of law are not presumed valid and are

reviewed under a de novo standard. Keeton v. Dep’t of Health & Hum. Servs., 21

F.3d 1064, 1066 (11th Cir. 1994); Maldonado v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 20-14331,

2021 WL 2838362, at *2 (11th Cir. July 8, 2021); Martin, 894 F.2d at 1529. “The

[Commissioner’s] failure to apply the correct law or to provide the reviewing court

with sufficient reasoning for determining that the proper legal analysis has been

conducted mandates reversal.” Keeton, 21 F.3d at 1066.

The Commissioner must follow five steps in evaluating a claim of disability.

20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520, 416.920. At the first step, the Commissioner must determine

whether the claimant is currently engaged in substantial gainful employment. 20

C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(i), (b); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(i), (b). At step two, the

Commissioner must determine whether the impairment or combination of

impairments from which the claimant allegedly suffers is “severe.” 20 C.F.R. §

404.1520(a)(4)(ii), (c); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(ii), (c). At step three, the

Commissioner must decide whether the claimant’s severe impairments meet or

medically equal a listed impairment. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iii), (d); 20 C.F.R.

§ 416.920(a)(4)(iii), (d). If the Commissioner finds the claimant’s severe

impairments do not meet or medically equal a listed impairment, then the

Commissioner must determine whether the claimant has the residual functional

capacity (“RFC”) to perform his past relevant work. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iv),

(e)–(f); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(iv), (e)–(f).

If the claimant cannot perform his past relevant work, the Commissioner must

determine at step five whether the claimant’s RFC permits him to perform other

work that exists in the national economy. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(v), (g),

416.920(a)(4)(v), (g). At the fifth step, there are two ways in which the ALJ may

establish whether the claimant is capable of performing other work available in the

national economy. The first is by applying the Medical Vocational Guidelines, and

the second is by the use of a vocational expert. Phillips v. Barnhart, 357 F.3d 1232,

1239-40 (11th Cir. 2004); Atha v. Comm’r, Soc. Sec. Admin., 616 F. App’x 931, 933

(11th Cir. 2015).

The claimant bears the burden of proof through step four. Atha, 616 F. App’x

at 933. If the claimant meets this burden, then the burden temporarily shifts to the

Commissioner to establish the fifth step. Id.; 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(v), (g); 20

C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(v), (g). If the Commissioner presents evidence of other work

that exists in significant numbers in the national economy that the claimant is able

to perform, only then does the burden shift back to the claimant to prove he is unable

to perform these jobs. Atha, 616 F. App’x at 993.

C. Procedural History

Plaintiff applied for a period of disability and disability insurance benefits on

October 28, 2019, alleging disability beginning July 30, 2016. (Tr. 60, 252-53). The

application was denied initially and on reconsideration. (Tr. 60, 85). Plaintiff

requested a hearing and on July 6, 2022, a hearing was held before Administrative

Law Judge Anne Sprague (“ALJ”). (Tr. 33-59). On February 13, 2023, the ALJ

entered a decision finding Plaintiff had not been disabled from July 30, 2016,

through the date of the decision. (Tr. 17-26). On July 25, 2023, the Appeals Council

denied Plaintiff’s request for review. (Tr. 1-5). Plaintiff began this action by

Complaint (Doc. 1) filed September 14, 2023, and the case is ripe for review. The

parties consented to proceed before a United States Magistrate Judge for all

proceedings. (Doc. 18).

D. Summary of ALJ’s Decision

In this matter, the ALJ found Plaintiff meets the insured status requirements

of the Social Security Act through June 30, 2025. (Tr. 19). At step one of the

sequential evaluation, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had not engaged in substantial

gainful activity since July 30, 2016, the alleged onset date. (Tr. 19). The ALJ noted

that Plaintiff worked after the alleged disability onset date, but this work activity did

not rise to the level of substantial gainful activity. (Tr. 19). At step two, the ALJ

found that Plaintiff had the following severe impairments: “degenerative disc

disease; obesity; depressive disorder, anxiety disorder; history of substance abuse.”

(Tr. 19). At step three, the ALJ found that Plaintiff did not have an impairment or

combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the severity of any of

the listed impairments in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1 (20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520(d), 404.1525, 404.1526). (Tr. 20).

Before proceeding to step four, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had the following

RFC:

After careful consideration of the entire record, I find that the

claimant has the residual functional capacity to perform

medium work as defined in 20 [C.F.R.] § 404.1567(c) except

he is limited to frequent climbing of ramps or stairs, but must

never climb ladders, ropes, or scaffolds. The claimant is

limited to frequent exposure to unprotected heights, dangerous

equipment, extreme cold, and vibrations. He can concentrate,

persist, and maintain pace to perform simple, routine tasks with

occasional interaction with the public.

(Tr. 21).

At step four, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was not capable of performing

his past relevant work as a nurse. (Tr. 24). At step five, the ALJ found that

considering Plaintiff’s age (52 years old on the alleged disability onset date),

education (limited), work experience, and RFC, there were jobs that existed in

significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff could have performed.

(Tr. 24-25). Specifically, the vocational expert testified that a person with Plaintiff’s

limitations could have performed such occupations as:

(1) Warehouse worker, DOT1 921.667-026, medium, SVP 2

(2) Roll coverer, DOT 929.687-042, medium, SVP 2

1 DOT refers to the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

(3) Fish egg packer, DOT 529.687-086, medium, SVP 2

(Tr. 25). The ALJ concluded that Plaintiff had not been under a disability from July

30, 2016, through the date of the decision. (Tr. 26).

II. Analysis

On appeal, Plaintiff generally raises the issue that the ALJ erred in the RFC

assessment by not accounting for the full limiting effect of Plaintiff’s impairments,

in particular his degenerative disc disease. (Doc. 14, p. 1). In the brief, Plaintiff

specifically raises these two issues that relate to this general issue:

(1) The ALJ did not reasonably rely on the State agency’s administrative

findings on reconsideration that Plaintiff can perform medium work;

and

(2) The ALJ did not properly consider Plaintiff’s subjective complaints and

statements.

(Doc. 14, p. 10, 14). The Court will address these two specific issues.

A. Opinions of State Agency Medical Consultants

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ improperly considered the State agency medical

consultants’ opinions by failing to comply with the regulations. (Doc. 14, p. 10-14).

On February 27, 2020, consultative State agency medical consultant Navjeet Singh,

M.D. initially considered the medical and other evidence of record and completed a

residual functional capacity assessment. (Tr. 73-75). Dr. Singh determined, among

other things, that Plaintiff was limited to light work, and only able to occasionally

lift 20 pounds and frequently lift 10 pounds. (Tr. 73).

On November 29, 2021, State agency medical consultant Sharmishtha Desai,

M.D. on reconsideration considered the medical and other evidence of record and

completed a physical residual functional capacity assessment. (Tr. 90-93). Dr. Desai

found, among other things, that Plaintiff was capable of medium work and could lift

50 pounds occasionally and 25 pounds frequently. (Tr. 90).

The regulations for disability cases filed after March 27, 2017 – such as this

one – changed and an ALJ no longer defers or gives any specific evidentiary weight

to a medical opinion. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(a), 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(a). Thus, an

ALJ no longer uses the term “treating source” and does not defer or give specific

evidentiary weight, including controlling weight, to any medical opinion or prior

administrative medical finding. Torres v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 6:19-cv-1662-

ORL-PDB, 2020 WL 5810273, at *2 (M.D. Fla. Sept. 30, 2020) (citing 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1520c(a)).

Instead, an ALJ assesses the persuasiveness of a medical source’s opinions

given these five factors, with the first two being the most important: (1)

supportability; (2) consistency; (3) relationship with the claimant, including the

length, frequency, and purpose of the examining and any treatment relationship; (4)

specialization; and (5) other factors, such as the source’s familiarity with other

evidence concerning the claim, that tend to support or contradict the medical

opinion. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(a)-(c); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(a)-(c). An ALJ may

but is not required to explain how he considers factors other than supportability and

consistency, unless two or more opinions are equally persuasive on the same issue.

20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(b)(2); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(b)(2).

For supportability, the revised rules provide: “The more relevant the objective

medical evidence and supporting explanations presented by a medical source are to

support his or her medical opinion(s) or prior administrative medical finding(s), the

more persuasive the medical opinions or prior administrative medical finding(s) will

be.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(c)(1); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(c)(1). For consistency, the

revised rules provide: “The more consistent a medical opinion(s) or prior

administrative medical finding(s) is with the evidence from other medical sources

and nonmedical sources in the claim, the more persuasive the medical opinion(s) or

prior administrative medical finding(s) will be.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(c)(2); 20

C.F.R. § 416.920c(c)(2).

The new regulations also differentiate between medical opinions and “other

medical evidence.” 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1513(a)(2)-(3), 416.913(a)(2)-(3). “A medical

opinion is a statement from a medical source about what you can still do despite your

impairment(s) and whether you have one or more impairment-related limitations or

restrictions” in the abilities listed in paragraphs (a)(2)(i) through (iv). 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1513(a)(2), 416.913(a)(2). “Other medical evidence is evidence from a

medical source that is not objective medical evidence or a medical opinion, including

judgments about the nature and severity of your impairments, your medical history,

clinical findings, diagnosis, treatment prescribed with response, or prognosis.” 20

C.F.R. §§ 404.1513(a)(3), 416.913(a)(3).

In the decision, the ALJ considered the persuasiveness of the opinions of both

Dr. Singh and Dr. Desai:

The State agency medical [Dr. Singh] and psychological

consultant’s [sic] at the initial level were overly generous

regarding the claimant’s limitations (Ex. 3A). Their opinions

came some time ago. Thus, they did not review the longitudinal

medical evidence. In fact, they gave controlling weight to the

consultative examiner’s [sic]. Accordingly, I find the opinions

of the consultant’s [sic] at the initial level to be unpersuasive.

On the other hand, the opinions of the State agency medical

[Dr. Desai] and psychological consultant’s [sic] at the

reconsideration level are highly persuasive. They had the

benefit of reviewing the claimant’s medical records in addition

to the consultative examination reports. The medical

consultant’s opinion is consistent with the mild findings shown

in the lumbar x-rays (Ex. 2F; 5F). The psychological

consultant’s opinion is persuasive as it is consistent with the

claimant’s minimal treatment as well as his refusal to take

prescribed medication.

(Tr. 23-24).

Starting with Dr. Singh’s opinion – limiting Plaintiff to jobs at the light

exertional level – the ALJ found this opinion “overly generous regarding” Plaintiff’s

limitations, and thus unpersuasive. (Tr. 23-24). The ALJ reasoned that the opinion

was unsupported by relevant evidence and inconsistent with other medical sources

because it was completed in February 2020, about three years before the decision,

and Dr. Singh did not have the benefit of more recent medical evidence. (Tr. 23-24).

The ALJ also found that Dr. Singh relied almost exclusively on the consultative

exam performed by Sohail Shariff, M.D. on February 12, 2020, with almost no other

medical evidence mentioned. (Tr. 24, 75).

The ALJ then compared Dr. Singh’s opinion with Dr. Desai’s opinion on

reconsideration – which limited Plaintiff to jobs at the medium exertional level. (Tr.

24). In finding this opinion “highly persuasive,” the ALJ reasoned that the opinion

was supported by Dr. Desai having the benefit of more recent medical records in

addition to the 2020 consultative exam, as reflected in Dr. Desai’s November 2021

summary of the medical evidence. (Tr. 24, 92-93). The ALJ found Dr. Desai’s

opinion consistent with these records that included x-rays, showing mild findings in

the lumbar region. (Tr. 24).

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ improperly found Dr. Singh’s opinion

unpersuasive. (Doc. 14, p. 11). Plaintiff claims that the ALJ should have found it

persuasive, and then conducted a more detailed analysis under the regulations. (Doc.

14, p. 11). Under the regulations, if SSA finds two medical or prior administrative

medical findings equally persuasive, then the ALJ must not only consider

supportability and consistency, but must also consider the other factors listed in 20

C.F.R. § 404.1520c(b)(3)-(c).

Plaintiff argues that Dr. Singh had the benefit of medical records other than

just the consultative examination. (Doc. 14, p. 10). Even so, as the ALJ noted, to

assess Plaintiff’s RFC, Dr. Singh relied almost exclusively on the consultative

examination findings. (Tr. 75). And while both Dr. Singh and Dr. Desai reviewed

some of the same records, Dr. Desai also reviewed more recent medical records and

determined that even though Plaintiff had functional limitations based on back pain,

he was “able to do light work/activities, driving, shopping, etc.” and take [over the

counter] ibuprofen for pain. (T. 93). Dr. Desai found that based on the totality of

evidence in the file, there was no listing level impairment, no evidence of severe or

profound functional loss, and the level of severity of Plaintiff’s stated functional

limitations was disproportionate to his current objective exam in the file. (Tr. 93).

The ALJ properly considered these opinions under the applicable regulations.

In essence, Plaintiff invites the Court to reweigh the evidence, which it cannot

do. A court may not decide the facts anew, reweigh the evidence, or substitute its

judgment for that of the Commissioner. Mitchell v. Comm’r, Soc. Sec. Admin., 771

F.3d 780, 782 (11th Cir. 2014). “The ALJ need not refer to every piece of evidence

in his decision, so long as a reviewing court can conclude that the ALJ considered

the claimant’s medical condition as a whole.” Id. Even if the evidence preponderates

against the Commissioner’s decision, the Court must affirm if substantial evidence

supports the Commissioner’s decision. Buckwalter v. Acting Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 5

F.4th 1315, 1320 (11th Cir. 2021). Taking the record and the decision as a whole,

the ALJ did not err, and substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s findings on the

persuasiveness of the opinions of Dr. Singh and Dr. Desai. Based on the ALJ not

finding both opinions persuasive, the ALJ was not required to conduct a more

detailed analysis into the other factors.

B. Subjective Complaints

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ improperly rejected Plaintiff’s complaints of

pain. (Doc. 14, p. 16). Plaintiff first argues that the ALJ used the wrong standard to

evaluate Plaintiff’s subjective statements. (Doc. 14, p. 16). Second, Plaintiff argues

that the ALJ only referenced benign findings and inconsistent statements rather than

abnormal findings and consistent statements. (Doc. 14, p. 17). Third, Plaintiff argues

that the ALJ improperly considered that Plaintiff could not afford treatment. (Doc.

14, p. 17). Finally, Plaintiff argues that the ALJ should have considered Plaintiff’s

work history in considering his subjective statements. Each argument is considered

in turn.

1. Standard for Subjective Complaints

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ used the wrong standard in evaluating Plaintiff’s

subjective complaints. (Doc. 14, p. 16). As to Plaintiff’s subjective statements, the

ALJ generally found:

After careful consideration of the evidence, I find that the

claimant’s medically determinable impairments could

reasonably be expected to cause the alleged symptoms;

however, the claimant’s statements concerning the intensity,

persistence and limiting effects of these symptoms are not

entirely consistent with the medical evidence and other

evidence in the record for the reasons explained in this

decision.

(Tr. 22). Plaintiff argues that the term, “not entirely consistent” with the record is an

improper standard. (Doc. 14, p. 16). Instead, Plaintiff argues that the ALJ should

have considered Plaintiff’s subjective statements based on a preponderance of

evidence and requests remand. (Doc. 14, p. 16).

The Commissioner cites a Seventh Circuit case, Gedatus v. Saul, 994 F.3d

893 (7th Cir. 2021), that addressed the same argument as here. In Gedatus, the

plaintiff appealed the denial of an application for social security benefits. 994 F.3d

893 (7th Cir. 2021). The District Court affirmed the decision and the plaintiff

appealed to the Seventh Circuit. Id. As in this case, the ALJ in Gedatus found the

plaintiff’s statements “‘not entirely consistent with the medical evidence and other

evidence for the reasons explained in the decision.’” Id. As Plaintiff argues here, the

plaintiff in Gedatus criticized the ALJ for using the wrong standard and argued that

the correct standard was a preponderance-of-the-evidence standard. Id. The Court

found, “[b]ut we do not read the ALJ’s language that way. It is clear to us, given the

context, that the ALJ merely used a polite way to say the weight of the evidence did

not support all [of the plaintiff’s] claims.” Id. This reasoning is persuasive and the

Court adopts it for this case. Thus, the ALJ applied the correct legal standard to

analyze Plaintiff’s subjective statements.

2. Subjective Statements

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ selectively referenced only benign findings and

did not discuss Plaintiff’s abnormal findings. (Doc. 14, p. 17-18). Similarly, Plaintiff

argues that the ALJ did not consider Plaintiff’s statements that were consistent with

his subjective complaints. (Doc. 14, p. 17-18).

Generally, a claimant may establish that he is disabled through his own

testimony of pain or other subjective symptoms. Ross v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 794

F. App’x 858, 867 (11th Cir. 2019) (citing Dyer v. Barnhart, 395 F.3d 1206, 1210

(11th Cir. 2005)). In such a case, a claimant must establish:

“(1) evidence of an underlying medical condition and either (2)

objective medical evidence that confirms the severity of the

alleged pain arising from that condition or (3) that the

objectively determined medical condition is of such a severity

that it can be reasonably expected to give rise to the alleged

pain.”

Id. (quoting Dyer, 395 F.3d at 1210).

When evaluating a claimant’s testimony, the ALJ should consider: (1) the

claimant’s daily activities; (2) the location, duration, frequency, and intensity of the

claimant’s pain or other symptoms; (3) precipitating and aggravating factors; (4) the

type, dosage, effectiveness, and side effects of any medication to alleviate pain or

other symptoms; (5) treatment other than medication for relief of pain or other

symptoms; (6) any measures a claimant uses to relieve pain or other symptoms; and

(7) other factors concerning a claimant’s functional limitations and restrictions due

to pain or other symptoms. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1529(c)(3), 416.929(c)(3); Ross v.

Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 794 F. App’x 858, 867 (11th Cir. 2019).

The ALJ should consider these factors along with all the evidence of record.

Ross, 794 F. App’x 867. If the ALJ discredits this testimony, then the ALJ “‘must

clearly articulate explicit and adequate reasons for’ doing so.” Id. (quoting Dyer, 395

F.3d at 1210). The ALJ may consider the consistency of the claimant’s statements

along with the rest of the record to reach this determination. Id. Such findings “‘are

the province of the ALJ,’ and we will ‘not disturb a clearly articulated credibility

finding supported by substantial evidence.’” Id. (quoting Mitchell v. Comm’r of Soc.

Sec., 771 F.3d 780, 782 (11th Cir. 2014)). A decision will be affirmed as long as the

decision is not a “broad rejection which is not enough to enable [a reviewing court]

to conclude that the ALJ considered [the claimant’s] medical condition as a whole.”

Dyer, 395 F.3d at 1211 (quotation and brackets omitted).

As stated above, after carefully considering the evidence, the ALJ found that

Plaintiff’s subjective statements on the intensity, persistence, and limiting effects of

his symptoms were not entirely consistent with the medical and other evidence of

record. (Tr. 22). Prior to this statement, the ALJ considered Plaintiff’s subjective

statements from the hearing and from other documents of record. (Tr. 21-22). The

ALJ acknowledged that Plaintiff alleged disability based on a back disorder,

depression, and anxiety. (Tr. 21). The ALJ noted that Plaintiff claimed he could not

bend, lift, remember tasks, and be around others. (Tr. 21). The ALJ also noted that

Plaintiff stated he could go out alone, follow instructions, handle stress, and handle

changes in routine. (Tr. 22). In some reports, Plaintiff claimed he experienced pain

every minute of every day. (Tr. 21-22). In others, Plaintiff reported that his pain

lasted two hours, and in others, it lasted for weeks or months. (Tr. 22). The ALJ

found these statement inconsistent. (Tr. 22). In contrast to these severe allegations

of pain, the ALJ noted that Plaintiff only took over-the-counter pain relievers and

also noted that Plaintiff admitted to normally intact activities of daily living, such as

shopping, driving, handling personal finances, going out to eat, performing light

household tasks, and talking and texting on a phone. (Tr. 22).

As to abnormal findings, the ALJ noted that at a February 2020 consultative

examination, Plaintiff displayed a slow gait with normal stability, was slow to rise

from a seated to standing position secondary to pain, and could not squat, kneel, or

walk on heels and toes. (Tr. 22). The examiner found tenderness to palpation as well

as a limited range of motion in the lower back, with positive straight leg tests

bilaterally. (Tr. 22). The ALJ contrasted these findings with Plaintiff having 5/5

strength in his upper and lower extremities, no neurological deficits, no other

tenderness in the back, and a lumbar spine x-ray showing only mild diffuse

degenerative changes but otherwise unremarkable. (Tr. 22). At a July 2021

emergency room visit, the ALJ noted that a lumbar x-ray revealed only mild lumbar

spine spondylosis. (Tr. 22). Also worth noting, early in the decision, the ALJ

commented that Plaintiff worked after the alleged disability onset date, and even

though the work activity did not rise to the level of substantial gainful activity, the

ALJ “cannot ignore the fact that the claimant had been able to attain employment

during the period at issue.” (Tr. 19).

The ALJ then summarized her findings:

The claimant has severe mental and physical impairments, but

they are not disabling, not even in combination. Diagnostic

imaging of the claimant’s lumbar spine showed no more than

mild abnormalities (Ex. 2F; 5F). Nonetheless, the claimant had

positive objective findings and appeared to be in pain at the

consultative examination in February 2020 (Ex. 2F). Thus, I

limit the claimant to medium work with certain postural

restrictions and environmental precautions.

(Tr. 23).

Here, when reviewing Plaintiff’s subjective statements, the ALJ considered:

Plaintiff’s daily activities; the location, duration, frequency, and intensity of his pain;

the precipitating and aggravating factors; the over-the-counter medications he took

for pain; the treatment; and any measures he used to relieve pain or other symptoms.

Substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s subjective complaint analysis.

3. Ability to Afford Treatment

Third, Plaintiff argues that the ALJ improperly discounted Plaintiff’s

subjective statements because he could not afford emergent treatment or seek

treatment with low-cost or no-cost providers. (Doc. 14, p. 17). Plaintiff claims that

he did seek treatment through BayCare at an emergency room visit in July 2021.

(Doc. 14, p. 17).

In the decision, the ALJ did mention that Plaintiff had not sought regular

medical treatment for his physical condition. (Tr. 22). The ALJ also recognized that

Plaintiff presented to the emergency room in July 2021. (Tr. 22). The ALJ

acknowledged that “healthcare comes at a cost, but the claimant has not required

repeated emergent treatment, nor has he sought healthcare with no-cost or low-cost

healthcare providers.” (Tr. 22).

In evaluating a plaintiff’s symptoms and their functional effect, “the ALJ may

not draw any inferences about an individual’s symptoms and their functional effects

from a failure to seek or pursue medical treatment without first considering any

explanations that might explain the failure to seek or pursue treatment.” Beegle v.

Soc. Sec. Admin., Comm’r, 482 F. App’x 483, 487 (11th Cir. 2012). An ALJ must

consider evidence showing a plaintiff is unable to afford medical care before denying

benefits based on non-compliance with care. Id. (citing Ellison v. Barnhart, 355 F.3d

1272, 1275 (11th Cir. 2003)). When an ALJ relies on noncompliance with prescribed

medical treatment as the “sole ground for the denial of disability benefits,” and the

record contains evidence that a plaintiff was unable to afford the prescribed medical

treatment, then the ALJ must determine whether a plaintiff could afford the

prescribed medical treatment. Ellison, 355 F.3d at 1275. If a court determines the

failure to follow prescribed medical treatment is not one of the “principal factors in

the ALJ’s decision,” then the ALJ need not delve into a plaintiff’s ability to pay, and

this failure is not reversible error. Brown v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 425 F. App’x 813,

817 (11th Cir. 2011).

While the ALJ noted that healthcare may be expensive, the ALJ found

Plaintiff had not generally searched for no-cost or low-cost healthcare. Even so, the

ALJ did not deny benefits solely based on Plaintiff’s inability to afford treatment.

Nor did the ALJ solely find Plaintiff’s subjective statements not entirely consistent

with the medical and other evidence of record based on Plaintiff’s inability to afford

medication. The Court finds no error.

4. Work History

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ ignored the fact that prior to his claim being filed

he worked for 37 years, first as a nurse and then after a stroke, switching to jobs as

a cashier, stock clerk, and sanitation worker. (Doc. 14, p. 18). Plaintiff argues that

this work history supports his subjective statements about his limitations. (Doc. 14,

p. 18-19).

While prior work history is a consideration in evaluating a claimant’s

subjective complaints, the Eleventh Circuit has not had an occasion to determine

whether an ALJ’s failure to consider a claimant’s long work history in evaluating a

claimant’s subjective symptoms is erroneous. Mahon v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No.

8:16-cv-1462-T-JSS, 2017 WL 3381714, at *10 (M.D. Fla. Aug. 7, 2017); Wilson v.

Soc. Sec. Admin., Comm’r, No. 4:18-CV-00407-JHE, 2020 WL 1285927, at *6

(N.D. Ala. Mar. 16, 2020). At the hearing, the ALJ discussed Plaintiff’s long work

history as a nurse as well as his jobs of cashier, dishwasher, stock clerk, and

sanitation worker. (Tr. 38-39). And in the decision, the ALJ stated that Plaintiff had

past relevant work as a nurse, and noted that Plaintiff worked at other jobs during

the relevant period. (Tt. 19, 24). The Court finds that although the ALJ may have

not expressly discussed Plaintiff’s work history in assessing Plaintiff’s subjective

complaints, the ALJ did review Plaintiff’s work history. Thus, the Court finds no

error.

III. Conclusion

For the reasons discussed above, the Court finds that the decision of the

Commissioner is supported by substantial evidence and the Commissioner applied

the correct legal standard. The decision of the Commissioner is AFFIRMED. The

Clerk of Court is directed to enter judgment consistent with this opinion, terminate

all deadlines, and close the case.

DONE ad ORDERED in Fort Myers, Florida on September 10, 2024.

nou ILAS N. RATER

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Copies furnished to:

Counsel of Record

Unrepresented Parties

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.