Opinion

Shani Harrell v. Mody Management, LLC

Court
New Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
Filed
Oct 23, 2024
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 31.1%

The opinion

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE

APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION

This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court ." Although it is posted on the

internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited. R. 1:36-3.

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

DOCKET NO. A-1679-23

SHANI HARRELL,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

MODY MANAGEMENT, LLC, d/b/a

DUNKIN', DUNKIN' BRANDS

GROUP, INC., DUNKIN' BRANDS

INC., INSPIRE BRANDS,

and DUNKIN' DONUTS

FRANCHISING, LLC,

Defendants,

and

PROGRESSIVE GARDEN

STATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant-Respondent.

_________________________________

Argued October 9, 2024 – Decided October 23, 2024

Before Judges Smith and Chase.

On appeal from the Superior Court of New Jersey, Law

Division, Essex County, Docket No. L-3202-22.

Ana Rita Ferreira argued the cause for appellant (Starr,

Gern, Davison & Rubin, PC, attorneys; Ana Rita

Ferreira, of counsel and on the brief).

Allison L. Silverstein argued the cause for respondent

(Vella & Maren, attorneys; Allison L. Silverstein, on

the brief).

PER CURIAM

Plaintiff, Shani Harrell, appeals the trial court's order granting summary

judgment in favor of defendant Progressive Garden State Insurance Company

and denying her personal injury protection (PIP) benefits. Plaintiff suffered

severe burns to her body after a restaurant employee spilled a hot beverage on

her at a Dunkin' Donuts drive-through. She applied for PIP benefits under her

insurance policy, and defendant denied coverage.

Plaintiff sued, and both parties moved for summary judgment on the

question of coverage. The trial court ultimately granted summary judgment for

defendant, finding plaintiff was not operating her vehicle at the time she was

injured, and that there was no "causal relationship" between plaintiff's use of the

vehicle and her injuries.

We reverse for the reasons which follow.

I.

A-1679-23

2

The record shows that plaintiff was stopped in the drive-through of a

Dunkin' Donuts while purchasing hot tea. When the tea was passed to her

through the driver's side window, the beverage cup and its top became dislodged

from the holder, and the contents spilled into the driver's compartment of the car

onto plaintiff. The hot liquid flowed into plaintiff's lap, between her legs, and

onto the seat beneath her, burning her.

Plaintiff subsequently filed a claim for PIP benefits pursuant to her auto

insurance policy with defendant. Page 7 of her policy contains the relevant

language. It states:

Part II-PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION (PIP)

COVERAGE

....

Subject to the Limits of Liability . . . we will pay

benefits incurred because of bodily injury caused by an

accident and sustained by an injured person:

while occupying, entering into, alighting from, getting

on, getting off of, loading, unloading, or using an

automobile . . . .

A-1679-23

3

Defendant denied the claim, stating, "there is no connection between the

injuries being claimed and any qualifying automobile." Defendant further stated

that plaintiff's injuries were not the "result of occupying, entering into, alighting

from or using an automobile," under N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4 and plaintiff's policy.

Plaintiff sued, seeking coverage and corresponding benefits under the

policy, including personal injury protection, wage loss, and essential service

benefits.

The parties cross-moved for summary judgment, and the trial court

initially denied both motions. After cross-motions for reconsideration, the

parties stipulated to the facts and sought a declaration of coverage under the

policy.

The trial court found that "there [was] no nexus between the use of the

automobile and the injuries that. . . subsequently occurred and that the car was

not being operated at the time of the injury." The trial court then issued two

orders. In its first order, the trial court granted defendant's cross-motion for

reconsideration and granted defendant summary judgment. In a second order,

the trial court denied plaintiff's motion for reconsideration.

A-1679-23

4

Plaintiff appeals both orders, arguing before us that the trial court

misapplied N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4 and its related substantial nexus jurisprudence.

II.

We use an abuse of discretion standard to review a trial court's

reconsideration orders. Branch v. Cream-O-Land Dairy, 244 N.J. 567, 582

(2021) (citing Kornbleuth v. Westover, 241 N.J. 289, 301 (2020)).

In reviewing a trial court's decision to grant or deny a motion for summary

judgment de novo, appellate courts apply the same standard governing the trial

courts. Boyle v. Huff, 257 N.J. 468, 477 (2024) (citing Samolyk v. Berthe, 251

N.J. 73, 78 (2022)). Under these standards, courts should grant a motion for

summary judgment if they find that "there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact challenged and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment or order as a

matter of law." R. 4:46–2(c). "When no issue of fact exists, and only a question

of law remains, [appellate courts] afford[] no special deference to the legal

determinations of the trial court." Boyle, 257 N.J. at 477 (quoting Templo

Fuente De Vida Corp. v. Nat'l Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, 224 N.J. 189,

199 (2016)).

We review matters of statutory interpretation de novo. Verry v. Franklin

Fire Dist. No. 1, 230 N.J. 285, 294 (2017). Courts "look first to the plain

A-1679-23

5

language of the statute, seeking further guidance only to the extent that the

Legislature's intent cannot be derived from the words that it has chosen."

McGovern v. Rutgers, 211 N.J. 94, 108 (2012).

III.

Plaintiff argues that "the [t]rial [c]ourt failed to apply the plain language

of N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4 and well-established law setting forth the 'substantial nexus'

test." We look to the relevant section of the statute, which states:

[E]very standard automobile liability insurance policy

issued or renewed . . . shall contain personal injury

protection benefits for the payment of benefits without

regard to negligence, liability or fault of any kind, to

the named insured and members of his family residing

in his household who sustain bodily injury as a result

of an accident while occupying, entering into, alighting

from or using an automobile, or as a pedestrian, caused

by an automobile or by an object propelled by or from

an automobile, and to other persons sustaining bodily

injury while occupying, entering into, alighting from or

using the automobile of the named insured, with

permission of the named insured.

Section 4 of New Jersey's Automobile Insurance Cost Reduction Act

("AICRA")1 requires insurers "to provide PIP benefits to their policyholders or

families for injuries sustained 'as a result of an accident while occupying,

entering into, alighting from or using an automobile.'" Svenson v. Nat'l

1

N.J.S.A. 39:6A–1.1 to –35.

A-1679-23

6

Consumer Ins. Co., 322 N.J. Super. 410, 413 (App. Div. 1999). Our Supreme

Court has held that AICRA "afford[s] the 'broadest possible coverage'" to

"ensur[e] that persons injured in automobile accidents will receive medical care

and that the bills for that care will be promptly paid." Bardis v. First Trenton

Ins. Co., 199 N.J. 265, 278 (2009). Therefore, "courts must favor the insured

and find coverage if possible." Lindstrom by Lindstrom v. Hanover Ins. Co. ex

rel. N.J. Auto. Full Ins. Underwriting Ass'n, 138 N.J. 242, 249 (1994).

To determine whether an insured party is covered by N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4,

we must decide "whether the facts reveal a substantial nexus between [an]

accident and the use of an automobile . . . ." Ibid.

"Under PIP claims, 'whether an event constitutes an 'accident' must be

determined from the perspective of the victim.'" Ibid. (quoting Pa. Nat'l Mut.

Cas. Ins. Co. v. Estate of Miller, 185 N.J. Super. 183, 187-88 (App. Div. 1982)).

'Accidents' in the context of N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4 include negligent and intentional

acts that produce an injury. Lindstrom, 138 N.J. at 250.

When determining whether a substantial nexus between an accident and

the use of an automobile exists, we ask:

[W]hether the negligent act which caused the injury,

although not foreseen or expected, was in the

contemplation of the parties to the insurance contract a

natural and reasonable incident or consequence of the

A-1679-23

7

use of the automobile, and thus a risk against which

they might reasonably expect those insured under the

policy would be protected.

[Ibid. (quoting Westchester Fire Ins. Co. v. Cont'l Ins.

Cos., 126 N.J. Super. 29, 38 (App. Div. 1973)).]

To perform this analysis, we look to the foreseeability of the injury based

on the use of the automobile. We have included the intentional torts of third

parties in that zone of foreseeability. See Stevenson v. State Farm Indem. Co.,

311 N.J. Super. 363, 375 (App. Div. 1998); Lindstrom, 138 N.J. at 252; Smaul

v. Irvington Gen. Hosp., 108 N.J. 474, 478 (1987).2

We note, however, "[t]he substantial nexus test is not without limits."

Svenson, 322 N.J. Super. at 415. "Accidents that do not arise out of the use of

an automobile or are not of the type that are within the contemplation of the

parties do not fulfill the [substantial nexus] test's requirements." Lindstrom, 138

N.J. at 251. See Vasil v. Zullo, 238 N.J. Super. 572, 577 (App. Div. 1990);

Kordell v. Allstate Ins. Co., 230 N.J. Super. 505, 509 (App. Div. 1989);

2

The "substantial nexus" test does not require a 'causal connection' between the

use of the automobile and the accident. See Svenson, 322 N.J. Super. at 413;

Smaul, 108 N.J. at 477 (quoting Westchester Fire Ins. Co., 126 N.J. Super. at

37) ("[An] insurance policy [under N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4] does not require that the

injury be directly or proximately caused by the automobile itself or by its motion

or operation.").

A-1679-23

8

Uzcatequi-Gaymon v. New Jersey Mfrs. Ins. Co., 193 N.J. Super. 71, 75 (App.

Div. 1984); Foss v. Estate of Cignarella, 196 N.J. Super. 378 (Law Div. 1984).

We begin by noting that there is no dispute on the material facts.

Therefore, our analysis turns solely on the legal question of whether, on this

record, plaintiff is entitled to PIP benefits under N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4 and the terms

of the insurance contract she purchased from defendant. R. 4:46–2(c). That

question requires us to consider whether a substantial nexus existed between the

accident plaintiff suffered and her use of the car. Lindstrom, 138 N.J. at 250.

Plaintiff suffered injuries when the hot tea spilled and burned her as it was

passed into her car. When we apply these uncontroverted facts to the plain

language of N.J.S.A. 39:6A-4, the answer to the legal question before us reveals

itself. Plaintiff obviously occupied her vehicle, as the record shows she was

sitting in the driver's seat at the time she was injured. Plaintiff clearly used her

vehicle to acquire her hot beverage from a business that expressly offers

customers the option to pick up their food and drinks while remaining in their

cars.3 Because plaintiff's injuries were a "natural and reasonable . . .

3

Drive-throughs are commonly used in the United States. See The Quantum

Pulse, QSR Drive-Thru Sector (Apr. 2021), www.qreadvisors.com/wp-

content/uploads/2021/04/Tenant-Spotlight-QSR-Drive-Thru-2.pdf ("Americans

visit drive-thru lanes about 6 billion times each year according to some

statistics.").

A-1679-23

9

consequence" of the use of her car, it follows that a substantial nexus existed

between the burn incident and her vehicle use. Westchester Fire Ins. Co., 126

N.J. Super. at 38.

We disagree with defendant's argument that plaintiff is not entitled to PIP

benefits because her vehicle was merely the location of her injuries and not a

contributory factor. We have rejected this approach. The substantial nexus test

"does not require that the injury be directly or proximately caused by the

automobile itself or by its motion or operation." Smaul, 108 N.J. at 477 (quoting

Westchester Fire Ins. Co., 126 N.J. Super. at 37). See Svenson, 322 N.J. Super.

at 416; Ohio Cas. Grp. of Ins. Cos. v. Gray, 323 N.J. Super. 338, 341 (App. Div.

1999); Clyburn v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 214 N.J. Super. 644, 648-49 (App. Div.

1987).

We conclude that plaintiff was covered under her insurance policy's PIP

terms. We reverse the orders granting defendant reconsideration and summary

judgment. We also reverse the orders denying reconsideration and summary

judgment to plaintiff. We remand to the trial court to enter judgment for plaintiff

as a matter of law on the coverage question, and for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion. R. 4:46–2(c).

Reversed.

A-1679-23

10

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.