Opinion

Deborah Williams v. Tecumseh Products Company

  • 978 S.W.2d 932
  • 1998 Tenn. LEXIS 664
  • 1998 WL 758619
Court
Tennessee Supreme Court
Filed
Nov 2, 1998
Status
Published
Author
Birch
On the bench
Justice Adolpho A. Birch, Jr.
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 60.5%

The opinion

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE

AT JACKSON

FILED

November 2, 1998

) FOR PUBLICATIONCecil W. Crowson

DEBORAH WILLIAMS ) Appellate Court Clerk

) FILED: NOVEMBER 2, 1998

Plaintiff-Appellee )

) HENRY COUNTY

v. )

) HON. C. CREED MCGINLEY,

TECUMSEH PRODUCTS COMPANY ) JUDGE

)

Defendant-Appellant ) NO. 02-S-01-9702-CV-00012

For Appellee: For Appellant:

GAYDEN DREW IV DAVID F. HESSING

Jackson, TN Paris, TN

OPINION

JUDGMENT OF TRIAL COURT AFFIRMED BIRCH, J.

The Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel approved

the trial court’s award of benefits to Deborah Williams, the

plaintiff, who had suffered symptoms of carpal tunnel syndrome

related to her employment as an assembly-line worker for Tecumseh

Products Company, the defendant. At issue are the causation and

permanency of the worker’s injuries and the payment of

discretionary costs related to the deposition of an examining

physician. For the reasons appearing below, we adopt the panel’s

findings of fact and conclusions of law with respect to the issues

of causation and permanency. Although we affirm the award of

discretionary costs, we vacate the panel’s order invalidating

certain local procedures of the Twenty-Fourth Judicial District.

I

The plaintiff is a thirty-eight year old female who has

been an assembly-line worker, sewing machine operator, bail

bondsperson, cashier, and restaurant manager. In 1995, she began

operating a machine which required her to perform repetitive

motions with both hands throughout her entire shift at the

defendant’s facility.

The plaintiff testified that she had experienced no

problems with her hands, wrists, or arms prior to returning to the

defendant’s employment in March 1995. When she returned, however,

she elected to wear a set of wrist braces provided by the

defendant. Even so, in July 1995, the plaintiff reported having

experienced “burning and tingling” in both her hands and arms. The

2

defendant responded to this complaint by providing her with a list

of doctors to see.

Ronald Bingham, M.D., examined the plaintiff and

determined that she had a mild left tennis elbow, although her

nerve conduction tests were normal. The plaintiff continued to

work. On November 10, 1995, she injured her right hand at work

which required emergency treatment for minor lacerations, numbness,

and swelling. As a result, James McGee, M.D., placed the plaintiff

on light duty for a week due to continued swelling.

The plaintiff experienced further pain in her right arm

and was referred to Lowell Stonecipher, M.D., in January 1996.

Stonecipher noted that the plaintiff had a cyst, swelling, and a

positive Finkelstein’s test.1 He performed surgery on her right

wrist and subsequently released her to light duty in March 1996,

even though she complained of unexplained numbness and tenderness.

The plaintiff testified that the swelling and burning continued

after the surgery, although she did experience some relief in her

thumb.

The plaintiff returned to McGee in late March 1996,

complaining about continued pain and swelling. Although he

confirmed the swelling, he returned her to light duty and told her

to follow up with Stonecipher. On April 1, 1996, Stonecipher

1

The Finkelstein’s test is performed by placing the thumb in

the palm and then forcing the hand toward the little finger. If

the patient complains of pain, the test is considered positive. A

positive test is used to diagnose tenosynovitis which is an

inflammation of a tendon and its enveloping sheath.

3

opined that the plaintiff would retain no permanent impairment

secondary to her wrist surgery and could return to full duty. Upon

her return, she received a new job which required repetitive

motion. She performed this job until April 12, 1996, when she quit

because of continual pain. As of the date of trial, the plaintiff

had not secured a new job, although she had submitted several

applications.

Other physicians examined the plaintiff after she had

terminated her employment. Joseph Boals, M.D., a board-certified

orthopedic surgeon, examined her on June 4, 1996, at the request of

her attorney. Boals found that the plaintiff had prominent

swelling over the radial aspects of both wrists, patchy numbness on

the right side, and positive results on both Finkelstein’s and

Phalen’s tests.2 In his deposition, he opined that she suffered

from “occupational stress syndrome bilaterally manifested by

bilateral tenosynovitis, de Quervain’s tenosynovitis3 and bilateral

carpal tunnel syndrome” caused by her “multiple jobs and work done

at Tecumseh.” Based on her significant grip loss, he rated her as

having a 30 percent anatomical impairment to her right arm and a 20

percent anatomical impairment to her left arm.

2

The Phalen’s test is performed by flexing the wrist and

holding it flexed for up to one minute. If the patient complains

of tingling and numbness at the distribution of the median nerve of

the hand, the test is said to be positive at that time. This test

is used to determine whether a patient is suffering from carpal

tunnel syndrome.

3

De Quervain’s tenosynovitis is an irritation of the lining of

the tendons in the first dorsal compartment of the wrist. It is

characterized by swelling, irritation, and pain.

4

Next, Anthony Segal, M.D., a neurologic surgeon,

evaluated the plaintiff on October 3, 1996, at the request of the

defendant. In his report, Segal noted the plaintiff’s poor grip

strength and “very strange” symptoms, but he disagreed with Boals’s

diagnosis of carpal tunnel syndrome and reported that the plaintiff

had “no impairment rating from a neurological point of view.” He

wrote that he could not diagnose with certainty because the

plaintiff’s problems, if any, appeared to be orthopedic in nature.

He recommended that she be examined by a hand surgeon.

Finally, Work Solutions4 performed an evaluation of the

plaintiff. The evaluation report noted that while the plaintiff’s

fine motor dexterity was good, the results of materials-handling

and grasp-strength testing indicated submaximal effort on her part.

The trial court summarized all of the evidence from the

bench, noting the conflicts between the various medical reports.

The court credited Boals’s testimony and awarded the plaintiff

benefits for permanent impairments of 50 percent to her right arm

and 40 percent to her left arm. The Special Workers’ Compensation

Appeals Panel affirmed the trial court’s award in all respects.

4

Work Solutions is a Memphis business that performs evaluative

testing on injured employees. Through a “functional capacity

evaluation” including activities such as walking on a treadmill,

Work Solutions measures, inter alia, an individual’s grip strength,

overhead lifting ability, and endurance. These measurements are

then analyzed to determine the range of work activities that the

individual should be able to perform.

5

II

The defendant asserts that the trial court erred in

finding that the plaintiff’s injuries were caused by her

employment. In workers’ compensation cases, appellate review is de

novo on the record accompanied by a presumption that the findings

of the trial court are correct unless the preponderance of the

evidence is otherwise. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-225(e)(2) (Supp.

1997); Lawson v. Lear Seating Corp., 944 S.W.2d 340, 341 (Tenn.

1997). To satisfy this standard of review, we are required to

conduct an independent examination to determine where the

preponderance of the evidence lies. Wingert v. Government of

Sumner County, 908 S.W.2d 921, 922 (Tenn. 1995).

An injury arises out of employment if it has a rational,

causal connection to the work. Reeser v. Yellow Freight Sys.,

Inc., 938 S.W.2d 690, 692 (Tenn. 1997). In this case, the trial

court had but two expert opinions regarding causation: one

unequivocally finding causation and the other finding that the

plaintiff’s job tasks would not “place an employee at risk for

cumulative trauma disorders.”

The testimony of expert witnesses must be considered in

conjunction with the employee’s testimony as a lay witness. Thomas

v. Aetna Life & Cas. Co., 812 S.W.2d 278, 283 (Tenn. 1991). The

trial court found that the plaintiff’s “very credible testimony”

bolstered the medical evidence of causation. Given this

determination of credibility and the trial court’s careful review

6

of the medical evidence, we cannot say that the evidence

preponderates against the trial court’s finding of causation.

III

The defendant next asserts that the evidence

preponderates against the trial court’s award of permanent

disability benefits. The defendant’s argument in this regard has

three points: (1) the evidence of permanency; (2) the disability

rating provided by Boals; and (3) the extent of vocational

disability found by the trial court.

The medical evidence in this record, as in many cases,

conflicts regarding whether the disability is permanent. In

resolving the conflict, the trial court gave great weight to the

deposition testimony of Boals who opined that the plaintiff’s

injuries were permanent, although she “could” experience some

improvement while the underlying condition persists. The trial

court did not abuse its discretion in crediting Boals’s opinion

more than the other physicians’ opinions. See Johnson v. Midwesco,

Inc., 801 S.W.2d 804, 806 (Tenn. 1990).

Additionally, we do not agree with the defendant that

Boals’s disability rating is erroneous because it was based solely

on the plaintiff’s loss of grip strength. An examination of

Boals’s testimony as a whole makes it clear that he considered all

of the evidence in assessing the plaintiff’s condition. He did not

find any evidence that the plaintiff malingered, and he testified

7

that his ratings were in accordance with the American Medical

Association’s Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment.

See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-204(d)(3) (Supp. 1997) (requiring

adherence to specified treatises for assessing the degree of

anatomical impairment).

Moreover, consideration of the extent of the plaintiff’s

vocational disability is a question of fact. Jaske v. Murray Ohio

Mfg. Co., 750 S.W.2d 150, 151 (Tenn. 1988). The trial court may

make an independent examination of the evidence, see Cooper v.

Insurance Co., 884 S.W.2d 446, 451 (Tenn. 1994), and is not bound

to accept any expert’s opinion regarding vocational disability.

Prost v. City of Clarksville Police Dep’t, 688 S.W.2d 425, 428

(Tenn. 1985). Tennessee Code Annotated § 50-6-241(a)(1) (Supp.

1997) lists the relevant factors to be considered those being: lay

and expert testimony; the employee’s age; the employee’s education;

the employee’s skills and training; the local job opportunities;

and the employee’s capacity to work at types of employment

available in the employee-claimant’s disabled condition.

In this case, the trial court specifically noted its

consideration of many factors, including the plaintiff’s testimony

concerning how the impairments affect her daily life. In cases

such as this, great deference must be given to the trial court’s

findings. See Krick v. City of Lawrenceburg, 945 S.W.2d 709, 712

(Tenn. 1997) (considerable deference where issues of credibility

and weight of oral testimony are involved). We thus cannot find

8

that the evidence preponderates against the trial court’s rating of

vocational disability.

IV

The final issue raised by the defendant concerns the

trial court’s award of costs to the plaintiff. The award included

the costs of giving and transcribing Boals’s deposition. The

defendant argues that Boals’s submission of a standard medical

report made his deposition unnecessary. Although Boals failed to

indicate causation on the form, the defendant asserts that this

omission could have easily been rectified without the need for a

costly deposition.

Tennessee Code Annotated § 50-6-226(c)(1) (Supp. 1997)

provides:

The fees charged to the claimant by

the treating physician or a

specialist to whom the employee was

referred for giving testimony by

oral deposition relative to the

claim, shall, unless the interests

of justice require otherwise, be

considered a part of the costs of

the case, to be charged against the

employer when the employee is the

prevailing party.

Boals was “a specialist to whom the employee was referred” for an

evaluation. We do not think it was unreasonable for the plaintiff

to take his deposition, especially where the defendant argued

against both Boals’s causation and permanency findings. In

addition, where the trial court did not abuse its discretion in

9

awarding the physician’s deposition fee, the court clearly had

discretion to also award the plaintiff the court reporter’s costs

for transcribing that deposition. See Tenn. R. Civ. P. 54.04(2).

Despite this seemingly uncomplicated resolution, a

majority of the Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals Panel invoked

Tenn. R. App. P. 13(b) to address an issue not raised by the

parties with respect to these discretionary costs. Specifically,

the panel addressed the question whether some procedures of the

Twenty-Fourth Judicial District5 for workers’ compensation cases

conflicted with state statutes and court rules such that the

procedures should be invalidated.

Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 13(b) provides that

review on appeal will generally only extend to those issues raised

by the parties. The rule further provides that an appellate court

has discretion to consider issues not raised by the parties in

order, among other reasons:

(1) to prevent needless litigation,

(2) to prevent injury to the interests

of the public, and

5

The specific local procedures reviewed by the panel in this

case were as follows:

1) Whether the requirement of scheduling a benefit

review conference within thirty days of a request

for such conference conflicts with Tenn. Code Ann.

§ 50-6-239(c)(1) (Supp. 1997);

2) whether prescribing the nature of the evidence to

be presented at a benefit review conference

conflicts with Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-235(c) (Supp.

1997); and

3) whether limiting the evidence which can be

presented at a trial and limiting the ability of

parties to take a deposition conflicts with Tenn.

Code Ann. § 50-6-235(c)(1) and Tenn. R. Civ. P. 30.

10

(3) to prevent prejudice to the judicial

process.

According to the majority, the second and third reasons quoted

above “not only justif[ied], but dictate[d]” that the local

procedures be reviewed by the panel. Such review led the panel

majority to declare the local procedures in question null and void

and to direct the affected judges to “enter an order in their

respective courts to reflect the change in their Local Rules as

brought about herein.”

Justice Holder, a member of the panel, invoked Tenn. Code

Ann. § 50-6-225(e)(5)(A) (Supp. 1997) to obtain review by the other

members of the Court. The Court has reviewed this issue and finds

no compelling reason to review the local procedures. Accordingly,

the Court adopts the views expressed by Justice Holder in the

separately filed concurring opinion, which is, in words and figures

as follows:

While I concur in the

majority's affirmance of the trial

court's judgment, I write separately

to express my discomfort with the

majority's decision to invalidate

the local rules of the Twenty-Fourth

Judicial District pertaining to

workers' compensation cases. The

issue of whether the local rules

were valid was not raised by either

party and was unnecessary to the

disposition of the issues properly

before us.

Since 1983, trial judges have

been required to adopt local rules.6

6

Tennessee Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 18 requires all

trial courts to adopt in writing local rules prescribing procedures

for setting cases for trial, obtaining continuances, disposition of

pre-trial motions, settlement or plea bargaining deadlines for

11

In this case, the validity of the

local rules addressing workers'

compensation cases for the Twenty-

Fourth Judicial District was not

raised by either party.

Accordingly, the issue has not been

squarely placed before this panel

for disposition. Rule 13(b) of the

Tenn. R. App. Proc. provides:

Review generally will

extend only to those

issues presented for

review. The appellate

court shall consider

whether the trial and

appellate court have

jurisdiction for review,

and may in its discretion

consider other issues in

order, among other

reasons: (1) to prevent

needless litigation, (2)

to prevent injury to the

interests of the public,

and (3) to prevent

prejudice to the judicial

process.

None of these reasons appear to

apply to the determination of the

validity of these local rules. I

would find that it is improper for

this panel to raise this issue sua

sponte in the absence of a

compelling reason recognized under

Rule 13(b).

V

It results that the panel’s conclusions that the evidence

does not preponderate against the trial court’s findings of

causation, permanency, and vocational disability ratings of 50

percent to the plaintiff’s right arm and 40 percent to the

criminal cases, and preparation, submission and entry of orders and

judgments. In addition, trial courts may adopt "other rules not

inconsistent with the Rules of Civil Procedure and Rules of

Criminal Procedure."

12

plaintiff’s left arm are approved and affirmed. We approve and

affirm also the award of discretionary costs to the plaintiff. We

vacate, however, the order invalidating the Twenty-Fourth Judicial

District’s procedures for workers’ compensation cases, expressing

neither approval nor disapproval of those procedures.

Costs are taxed to the defendant, for which execution may

issue if necessary. No appellate costs, however, shall be taxed to

either party for the review in this Court under Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-225(e)(5)(A).

_____________________________

ADOLPHO A. BIRCH, JR., Justice

CONCUR:

Anderson, C.J.

Drowota, J.

13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.