Opinion

Kean, Carma v. Navion BKE Bellevue, LLC

  • 2024 TN WC App. 34
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Sep 26, 2024
Status
Published
On the bench
Conner, Godkin, Weaver
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.7%

The opinion

FILED

Sep 26, 2024

02:17 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Carma Kean ) Docket No. 2023-06-4955

)

v. ) State File No. 21448-2022

)

Navion BKE Bellevue, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Joshua D. Baker, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

The employee sustained injuries to her knees, right hand, and back when she tripped and

fell at work. The employer authorized medical treatment for the injuries, and each

authorized doctor released the employee from treatment and assigned ratings of 0%

permanent medical impairment. The employee filed a petition disputing the extent of her

impairments, asserting that two providers had indicated she retained some degree of

permanent impairment arising from the work accident. The employer filed a motion for

summary judgment, contending that no genuine issue of material fact existed regarding

the employee’s lack of permanent impairment as a result of her work injuries. After a

hearing, the court granted the employer’s motion and issued a compensation order

finding the employee was not entitled to permanent disability benefits but ordering the

employer to continue providing reasonable and necessary medical treatment for the

employee’s compensable injuries. The employee has appealed. Upon careful

consideration of the record, we affirm the trial court’s order and certify it as final.

Judge Pele I. Godkin delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

Carma Kean, Nashville, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

John W. Barringer, Jr., Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Navion BKE

Bellevue, LLC

1

Factual and Procedural Background

On February 7, 2022, Carma Kean (“Employee”) suffered injuries to her knees

and right hand after she tripped and fell at work. In April, Employee reported

experiencing pain in the center of her back, which she believed was also related to the

initial fall in February. Navion BKE Bellevue, LLC (“Employer”) accepted Employee’s

claims and initially authorized medical treatment at Care Now Urgent Care. When she

did not improve, the treating provider referred her to an orthopedic specialist. Employer

provided a panel from which Employee selected Dr. Stuart Smith. Upon seeing Dr.

Smith, Employee reported bilateral knee pain and denied any history of pain in either

knee prior to her fall, stating that her left knee “hurts her as much as the right” and that

she had a “stretching feeling anteriorly” with tightened knees. Dr. Smith noted that

Employee was not walking with a limp and that both knees had full range of motion with

no swelling. X-rays of both knees were normal, and Dr. Smith determined she was

“primarily symptomatic from patellofemoral chondromalacia bilaterally” noting that he

believed “a fall on her knee has exacerbated that.” Dr. Smith provided conservative

treatment, including physical therapy and medication, and placed Employee on light duty

restrictions. In September, Dr. Smith ordered an MRI of both knees, which revealed mild

chondromalacia of the left knee and moderate chondromalacia of the right knee. Dr.

Smith released Employee at maximum medical improvement on November 1, 2022, and

assigned no restrictions and 0% permanent anatomical impairment for her knees.

Employee obtained authorized treatment for her back from Dr. Ryan Snowden.

During her initial examination in August 2022, Employee was seen by a physician’s

assistant, who assessed Employee with midback pain and midback sprain. A physical

examination and imaging of Employee’s thoracic spine were “unremarkable for any acute

or chronic issue seen.” She was prescribed physical therapy, anti-inflammatories as

needed, and work restrictions of no lifting greater than 10 pounds, no patient contact, and

no pushing and pulling. The medical note signed by the physician’s assistant and Dr.

Snowden noted that Employee’s “symptoms are greater than 51% related to work-related

injury.” In October, Employee was seen again, this time by Dr. Snowden, and he noted

that objective studies “showed no evidence of fractures or acute or chronic issue.” Dr.

Snowden completed a Form C-30A on October 23, 2022, which indicated Employee had

a 1% whole body impairment rating. Thereafter, Employee returned to Dr. Snowden in

December, and he noted that Employee’s imaging was “consistent with age-appropriate

spondylolysis with low back pain” and recommended physical therapy with a “return to

unrestricted duties and placement at MMI.” He determined that objective imaging

revealed “age-appropriate degenerative changes with minimal aggravation of preexisting

degenerative issues” and changed his rating to 0% permanent anatomical impairment.

On January 30, 2023, Dr. Snowden stated in his medical notes that Employee was

“released” from his care.

2

Employee also came under the care of Dr. Tyler Staelin in August 2022 for right

wrist pain. On September 7, Dr. Staelin noted that her right wrist pain “resolved

uneventfully with no permanent damage or symptoms.” He anticipated no further

treatment and assigned a 0% impairment rating with no permanent work restrictions.

In July 2023, Employee filed a petition for benefit determination, disputing Dr.

Snowden’s 0% impairment rating and contending he had instead “assigned an

impairment rating of 1% to the body as a whole.” Following an unsuccessful mediation,

the mediator issued a dispute certification notice in September 2023, identifying the

disputed issues as permanent partial disability benefits, temporary disability benefits, and

medical benefits. The court entered a scheduling order with discovery deadlines, and the

parties engaged in discovery. On November 27, Employer filed a Motion in Limine to

Exclude Plaintiff’s Documentary Evidence as Substantive Evidence, contending that the

documentary evidence Employee submitted contained inadmissible hearsay due to her

addition of handwritten notes on certain documents. Employee filed a response, and, on

January 31, 2024, the court entered an order granting Employer’s motion, concluding that

Employee’s filings with notations and internet research constituted inadmissible hearsay.

In April 2024, Employer filed a notice of its intent to use Standard Form Medical

Reports (“Form C-32(s)”) of Dr. Smith and Dr. Snowden. In response, Employee filed a

motion to strike Employer’s notice of intent to use the Form C-32s, contending they were

deficient. In reply, Employer argued that the Form C-32s were admissible pursuant to

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-235(c)(2) and Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 0800-

02-01-.09. Employee also filed multiple motions seeking to compel the production of

various records from medical providers. On April 26, Employer filed the Form C-32 of

Dr. Staelin, a motion for summary judgment and supporting memorandum of law, and a

statement of undisputed facts. Employee filed a response to Employer’s motion on April

27, and agreed that it was undisputed that Dr. Staelin did not assign a permanent

impairment. However, Employee disputed two material facts related to her impairment

as alleged by Employer: (1) that Dr. Smith had assigned a 0% permanent partial

impairment rating for her knee condition; and (2) that Dr. Snowden had assigned a 0%

permanent partial impairment rating for her back condition.

On April 29, Employee filed an email and attached the previous Form C-30A

completed by Dr. Snowden reflecting his original 1% impairment rating. This document

was stamped filed, and there is nothing in the record indicating Employer objected or

sought to have the filing stricken. That same day, the court issued an order denying

Employee’s motions seeking to compel the production of medical records and her motion

to strike the Form C-32s. In its order, the court relied on Sadeekah v. Abdelaziz d/b/a

Home Furniture and More, No. 2020-06-0218, 2021 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS

19, at *11 (Tenn. Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. June 22, 2021) for the proposition that Form C-

32s are “admissible at any stage of a workers’ compensation claim in lieu of a

deposition” when filed in compliance with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

3

235(c). The court determined that although Employee lodged a timely objection to the

use of the Form C-32s, her objection only permits her an opportunity to “depose [the

doctors] within a reasonable period of time” or the “objection shall be deemed waived.”

Id. In addition, the court concluded that discrepancies noted in Employee’s motion were

not grounds for the exclusion of the Form C-32 pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-235. The court explicitly cautioned Employee that “handwriting her

arguments or any other notes onto documentation intended as an exhibit constitutes

inadmissible hearsay under Tenn. R. Evid. 802.” Although the court denied her motion,

it advised Employee that she still had time to depose any expert witness under the terms

of the scheduling order.

Also on April 29, Employee filed medical records of an unauthorized physician,

Dr. James N. Johnson. Employer filed a standing objection to Employee’s filing of

medical records, asserting they constituted inadmissible hearsay. On May 15, Employee

filed a C-30A Final Medical Report from Dr. Douglas Long, an unauthorized

chiropractor, to which Employer also objected. Although Dr. Long’s statement of

qualifications was attached, the permanent impairment section of the form was left blank.

On June 3, 2024, the trial court heard Employer’s motion for summary judgment.

Thereafter, it issued a compensation order granting the motion, concluding there was no

genuine issue of material fact regarding Employee’s lack of permanent medical

impairment. 1 Given the acknowledged compensability of the work accident, however,

the court ordered Employer to provide any future reasonable and necessary medical

treatment for Employee’s work-related injuries.

Employee filed a notice of appeal on July 9 and a statement of the evidence on

July 18. Employer filed an objection to Employee’s statement, and, on July 25, the court

issued an order noting that a statement of the evidence is not necessary in this appeal as

the parties presented no witness testimony for the court’s consideration.

Standard of Review

The grant or denial of a motion for summary judgment is a matter of law that we

review de novo with no presumption that the trial court’s conclusions are correct. See

Rye v. Women’s Care Ctr. of Memphis, MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250 (Tenn. 2015). As

such, we must “make a fresh determination of whether the requirements of Rule 56 of the

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied.” Id. We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

1

The trial court characterized its order as granting partial summary judgment. However, because the

court resolved all disputed issues in the case, it appropriately issued a compensation order in accordance

with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-239(c)(2).

4

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not

favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2023).

Analysis

As noted on multiple occasions, the Tennessee Supreme Court has explained the

requirements for a movant to prevail on a motion for summary judgment:

[W]hen the moving party does not bear the burden of proof at trial, the

moving party may satisfy its burden of production either (1) by

affirmatively negating an essential element of the nonmoving party’s claim

or (2) by demonstrating that the nonmoving party’s evidence at the

summary judgment stage is insufficient to establish the nonmoving party’s

claim or defense. We reiterate that a moving party seeking summary

judgment by attacking the nonmoving party’s evidence must do more than

make a conclusory assertion that summary judgment is appropriate on this

basis. Rather, Tennessee Rule 56.03 requires the moving party to support

its motion with “a separate concise statement of material facts as to which

the moving party contends there is no genuine issue for trial.” Tenn. R.

Civ. P. 56.03. “Each fact is to be set forth in a separate, numbered

paragraph and supported by a specific citation to the record.” Id.

Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 264-65 (emphasis in original). Here, the first question is whether

Employer met its burden of either affirmatively negating an essential element of

Employee’s claim or demonstrating that Employee’s evidence is insufficient to establish

her claim for permanent disability benefits at the summary judgment stage. If that initial

burden has been met, we must then consider whether Employee has presented any

evidence that establishes the existence of a disputed issue of material fact.

In her notice of appeal, Employee provided the following statement of her issues

on appeal:

[Forms] C30 and C32 for Dr. Stuart Smith and Dr. Ryan Snowden.

Causation, work status, medical opinion, impairment rating, timely filing

with Bureau of Workmans [sic] Comp, no state file numbers, MMI dates

changed.

In her brief on appeal, Employee provides a summary of the medical care she received

for her work-related injuries and asserts that Dr. Smith’s 0% impairment rating is

incorrect because he “stated the injury resulted in permanent impairment on original C30

in 2022.” She also disputes the rating assigned by Dr. Snowden, contending he “gave a

1% impairment rating on [the] original C30 final med report” and argues that Dr. Long’s

Form C-32 should have been considered by the trial court. Employer contends the trial

5

court did not err in granting its motion. It further argues that Employee failed to come

forward with any admissible evidence supporting entitlement to a permanent partial

disability award “in light of the fact that no permanent partial impairment has ever been

assigned as required by Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(3)(A).”

We first note that Employee is self-represented in this appeal, as she was in the

trial court. Parties who decide to represent themselves are entitled to fair and equal

treatment by the courts. Whitaker v. Whirlpool Corp., 32 S.W.3d 222, 227 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 2000). Yet, as explained by the Tennessee Court of Appeals:

[C]ourts must also be mindful of the boundary between fairness to a pro se

litigant and unfairness to the pro se litigant’s adversary. Thus, the courts

must not excuse pro se litigants from complying with the same substantive

and procedural rules that represented parties are expected to

observe. . . . Pro se litigants should not be permitted to shift the burden of

the litigation to the courts or to their adversaries.

Hessmer v. Hessmer, 138 S.W.3d 901, 903-04 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2003) (citations omitted).

Nonetheless, we must “make a fresh determination of whether the requirements of Rule

56 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied.” Rye, 477 S.W.3d at

250.

Here, Employer complied with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-235 by

timely notifying Employee of its intent to use Form C-32s of the physicians in lieu of

depositions. Although Employee objected to their use, she did not depose the doctors

within a reasonable time or request a continuance; in fact, she indicated to the court that

she did not intend to depose the physicians prior to trial. The trial court also reminded

Employee of the deadline to depose witnesses in its denial of her motion to strike

Employer’s Form C-32s. 2 As the court noted in its order, a permanent impairment rating

is an essential element of a claim for permanent partial disability benefits, and it cannot

award permanent partial disability benefits without such a rating. See Baumgardner v.

United Parcel Service, Inc., No. 2015-05-0619, 2017 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS

63, at *11 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Oct. 18, 2017) (“[A]bsent a permanent

medical impairment rating, there is no statutory mechanism by which a trial court can

award permanent partial disability benefits.”) Thus, we agree that Employer met its

burden of production under Rule 56 and shifted the burden to Employee to come forward

with evidence of a disputed issue of material fact.

2

The Form C-32s were copies of originals and, thus, admissible unless Employee raised a genuine

question as to their authenticity pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-235(c)(2), which she

did not do at the trial level. To the extent Employee questions their authenticity now, we deem that

argument waived. See, e.g., Long v. Hamilton-Ryker, No. 2015-07-0023, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 23, at *14-15 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. July 31, 2015) (stating that issues not raised in the

trial court are generally considered waived).

6

Because Employer met its burden, we must now consider whether Employee

submitted any documentation allowed by Rule 56 to create a genuine issue of material

fact such that summary judgment was inappropriate. Rule 56 contemplates that a judge

may consider, in the context of a motion for summary judgment, “pleadings, depositions,

answers to interrogatories, admissions on file, [and] affidavits, if any.” Here, although

Employee filed voluminous medical records and other medical documents, including the

Form C-32 of Dr. Long and Form C-30As from Dr. Snowden and Dr. Smith, these

documents were not submitted in an admissible form. Medical records, standing alone,

are not included within the scope of materials a court can consider in response to a

motion for summary judgment. Sadeekah, 2021 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 19, at

*13. Thus, we conclude Employee failed to meet her burden of establishing that a

genuine issue of material fact exists regarding the existence of permanent medical

impairment, and summary judgment was appropriate.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the trial court’s order granting Employer’s motion for

summary judgement is affirmed. Employee is not entitled to permanent partial disability

benefits, but she remains entitled to reasonable and necessary medical care that is

causally related to her compensable work-related injuries. The trial court’s order is

certified as final. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

7

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Carma Kean ) Docket No. 2023-06-4955

)

v. ) State File No. 21448-2022

)

Navion BKE Bellevue, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Joshua D. Baker, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 26th day

of September, 2024.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Carma Kean X carmaiskean@gmail.com

John W. Barringer, Jr. X jbarringer@manierherod.com

pcarr@manierherod.com

Joshua D. Baker, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.