Opinion

Booker, Veatrice v. US Farathane

  • 2024 TN WC App. 32
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Sep 5, 2024
Status
Published
On the bench
Weaver, Conner, Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.5%

The opinion

FILED

Sep 05, 2024

11:25 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Veatrice Booker ) Docket No. 2022-07-0638

)

v. ) State File No. 111982-2019

)

US Farathane )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

In this appeal of a compensation order, the employee alleges she retained a permanent

impairment as a result of a fall at work and is entitled to permanent partial disability

benefits. The employee alleged injuries to her neck, shoulder, and back when she slipped

and fell onto a piece of machinery. The employer acknowledged the compensability of the

accident and provided a panel of medical providers. Following authorized medical

treatment with several providers, a spine specialist released the employee at maximum

medical improvement with no permanent medical impairment rating. The employee

obtained her own medical examination and sought additional medical care for her neck and

treatment for her shoulder. Following an expedited hearing, the court denied the

employee’s request for medical benefits related to the shoulder, determining the employee

was not likely to prevail at trial in proving her shoulder complaints were primarily related

to the work injury. However, the court ordered the employer to provide additional medical

benefits related to her neck and lumbar spine complaints. Thereafter, the employee

returned to the spine specialist, who again released her at maximum medical improvement.

At trial, the court determined that the injuries to the employee’s neck and back were

compensable, entitling her to future reasonable, necessary, and causally-related medical

care. However, the trial court determined the employee did not prove that she retained any

permanent disability as a result of the work accident and denied her claim for permanent

disability benefits. The employee has appealed. After careful consideration of the record,

we affirm the trial court’s order and certify it as final.

Judge Meredith B. Weaver delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

1

Veatrice Booker, Brownsville, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

John D. Burleson, Jackson, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, US Farathane

Factual and Procedural Background

Veatrice Booker (“Employee”) was working on a production line at a facility

operated by US Farathane (“Employer”) on November 5, 2019, when she slipped on some

oil and fell onto a piece of equipment. She immediately reported pain in her right upper

neck, the back of her right shoulder, and the right side of her low back. Employer provided

a panel of urgent and primary care clinics, from which Employee selected Physician’s

Quality Care. Employee began treating with Dr. Peter Gardner on November 11, 2019, at

which time she complained about symptoms in her neck, back, and right shoulder. Dr.

Gardner prescribed an anti-inflammatory medication and physical therapy, and he assigned

work restrictions. When Employee’s symptoms did not improve, Dr. Gardner referred

Employee to an orthopedist, Dr. Jason Hutchison.

At her initial appointment with Dr. Hutchison on February 17, 2020, Employee

reported low back pain. Dr. Hutchison recommended continued physical therapy and

prescribed muscle relaxers. Following that appointment, Dr. Hutchison included an

addendum to his February 17 office note stating that Employee had previously treated with

another doctor in his practice, Dr. David Sickle, in 2019 for left hip pain under her private

insurance and that Dr. Hutchison was only treating Employee for “cervical strain and bone

bruise of the lumbar spine.” At Employee’s telehealth appointment in April 2020, due to

increased pain complaints and indications of potential radiculopathy following her physical

therapy, Dr. Hutchison recommended a lumbar MRI. 1 After reviewing the MRI films from

both July 2019 and April 2020, Dr. Hutchison opined that both showed “significant lumbar

spondylosis.” He further stated Employee’s lumbar contusion and cervical strain were

resolved but that the “herniation” at L5-S1 “may be a little worse” than indicated in the

2019 MRI. Dr. Hutchison went on to say, “[B]ased upon the MRI I have seen, it is very

likely the underlying pathology that was present in July is what predisposed her to undergo

the current problem that she has, more so than the fall.”

Due to the MRI findings, Dr. Hutchison referred Employee to a spine specialist, Dr.

John Brophy, who examined her on April 22, 2020. He also reviewed both MRIs as well

as previous medical records and diagnosed Employee with lumbar and cervical/trapezius

myofascial pain. However, Dr. Brophy found no indication for surgical treatment and

released Employee at maximum medical improvement with no permanent medical

impairment or permanent work restrictions.

1

Employee had previously undergone an MRI in July 2019 for her hip complaints during her treatment

with Dr. Sickle. Dr. Hutchison specifically indicated he wanted a new MRI in order to compare it to the

MRI obtained prior to the work accident.

2

On April 7, 2021, Employee saw Dr. Samuel Chung for a medical examination at

the request of her attorney. Dr. Chung reviewed the radiologist’s report from the April

2020 MRI and other medical records and conducted a physical exam. He then assigned an

impairment rating of 12% for a lumbar disc injury with radiculopathy. Meanwhile,

Employee obtained unauthorized medical treatment under her personal insurance with Dr.

Eric Homberg, a pain management specialist in the same practice as Dr. Hutchison.

In May 2022, the parties deposed Dr. Hutchison, Dr. Brophy, and Dr. Chung. Dr.

Hutchison testified that he believed the April 2020 MRI of the lumbar spine showed some

progression of the herniation at L5-S1, although both scans indicated the presence of

spondylosis, or arthritic changes in the back. He did believe that there was some possible

nerve root compression at L5-S1, but he noted the symptoms of radiculopathy were

subjective in nature. Finally, he deferred to Dr. Brophy as a spine specialist on causation

of Employee’s back complaints.

Dr. Brophy testified in his deposition that he had compared the July 2019 MRI and

the April 2020 MRI “side-by-side” and there was “no change.” As such, it was his

assessment that there was no anatomical change as a result of the accident. Furthermore,

he testified that although the lumbar disc was “abnormal,” the abnormality did not result

in pressure on the nerve. Consequently, it was his opinion that Employee suffered

“subjective soft tissue pain” as a result of her fall at work with no permanent medical

impairment and that there was no further treatment indicated other than a home exercise

endurance program.

Finally, Dr. Chung was also deposed in May 2022. 2 During cross examination by

Employer’s counsel, Dr. Chung agreed he had not reviewed either MRI scan in preparing

his report. Dr. Chung testified he only reviewed the radiologist’s report from the April

2020 MRI, but he reiterated his 12% rating.

On November 22, 2022, Employee’s counsel filed a petition for benefit

determination seeking permanent disability benefits. 3 Sometime thereafter, Employee’s

counsel informed Employee he planned to withdraw as her attorney of record, and she

attended a January 2023 mediation in a self-represented capacity. 4 Employee then

submitted a request for expedited hearing, seeking medical benefits for her shoulder, as

2

The technical record contains only the cross-examination portion of Dr. Chung’s deposition, as that is all

Employer submitted into evidence at the compensation hearing.

3

Correspondence in the record indicates that Employee’s counsel had previously filed a petition for benefit

determination, which was voluntarily dismissed, and that Employee also filed her own petition for benefit

determination at some point. Neither document is contained in the record.

4

Employee’s counsel filed a motion to withdraw in March 2023, and the trial court subsequently entered

an order granting that motion.

3

well as continued medical benefits for her neck due to ongoing pain. A hearing was set for

August 2023 but was delayed because the issues of medical benefits and compensability

had not been certified by the mediator on a dispute certification notice. See Tenn. Code

Ann. § 50-6-239(b)(1). The parties returned to the mediator, a new dispute certification

notice was filed, and the expedited hearing was held on September 14, 2023.

Following the hearing, the court issued an order denying Employee’s request for

treatment of her shoulder, stating she had not provided sufficient evidence for the court to

find she will likely prevail at trial in showing that her need for shoulder treatment arose

primarily out of the work injury. The court noted that, other than her initial appointment

with Dr. Gardner, there was no indication Employee complained about or sought treatment

for her shoulder with the other authorized treating physicians, and she did not discuss her

shoulder at her evaluation with Dr. Chung. Furthermore, the court reasoned that although

Employee had obtained unauthorized treatment with other physicians, none of those

physicians opined that the need for treatment primarily arose out of her reported work

injury. However, in that same order, the court did grant Employee’s request to return to

Dr. Brophy for treatment of her neck and back based on his diagnosis of lumbar and

cervical/trapezius myofascial pain and the statement that she could return to him if she did

not improve. That order was not appealed.

Employee returned to Dr. Brophy on October 18, 2023, with complaints of lumbar

and cervical myofascial pain, at which time he examined her and found no clinical evidence

of radiculopathy and no need for further treatment from a workers’ compensation

standpoint. He indicated, however, that she might want to seek a formal evaluation through

her personal insurance to “rule out an occult inflammatory process.” Dr. Brophy again

released her at maximum medical improvement with no permanent impairment.

The trial court held a compensation hearing on May 15, 2023. In addition to other

evidence admitted at trial, the parties stipulated to the admissibility of Dr. Chung’s report,

and Employee also offered records from Dr. John Janovich, who provided Employee with

conservative treatment for cervical and lumbar radiculopathy following her release from

Dr. Brophy. Employee also submitted a letter from Dr. Janovich that was partially

illegible. The trial court asked for a clearer copy, but Employee did not submit one prior

to the trial court’s issuance of its compensation order. The trial court denied Employee’s

request for permanent disability benefits based on its determination Employee had not

presented evidence sufficient to rebut the presumption afforded Dr. Brophy’s opinion

regarding impairment pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-204(k)(7). It

further ruled that Employee was entitled to future reasonable, necessary, and causally-

related medical benefits arising from her work injury. Employee has appealed.

4

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the court’s

factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2023). When the trial judge has had the opportunity

to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give considerable

deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp. of Tenn.,

Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar deference need be

afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.” Goodman v.

Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2023).

Analysis

On her notice of appeal, Employee challenges the zero percent impairment rating

from Dr. Brophy and asserts the court erred in finding she did not retain any permanent

partial disability. Thus, the singular issue before us is whether the trial court erred in

accepting Dr. Brophy’s opinions regarding the lack of permanent medical impairment in

light of the 12% impairment rating assigned by Dr. Chung.

In this case, there is no question Employer accepted the work accident as

compensable and authorized medical treatment. Following conservative treatment,

Employee was referred directly to Dr. Hutchison, an orthopedist. Dr. Hutchison then

referred Employee to a neurosurgeon, Dr. Brophy. Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-204(a)(3)(A)(ii), an employer has the option to provide a panel of specialists

within three days of a referral or can accept the direct referral. See Rhodes v. Amazon.com,

LLC, No. 2018-01-0439, 2019 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 24, at *14 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. App. Bd. June 11, 2019). Here, once Employer accepted the direct referral to Dr.

Brophy, he became an authorized treating physician, and his opinion regarding permanent

impairment had a presumption of correctness pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated

section 50-6-204(k)(7). This presumption can be overcome by a preponderance of the

evidence. Id.

Employee avers the trial court erred in determining Dr. Chung’s assigned

impairment of 12% did not overcome Dr. Brophy’s impairment of zero percent. “When a

trial court is presented with conflicting medical testimony it is within the discretion of the

trial judge to conclude that the opinion of certain experts should be accepted over that of

5

other experts and that [the accepted opinion] contains the more probable explanation.”

Goodman v. Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at

*8 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018) (internal citations omitted). In this

instance, the court reviewed the expert opinions offered by both Dr. Brophy and Dr. Chung.

Dr. Chung admitted he did not review either MRI scan from July 2019 or April 2020 in

making his assessment and only reviewed the radiologist’s report for the second MRI.

Moreover, the record contains no expert opinion from Dr. Janovich regarding causation or

impairment. Thus, we conclude the trial court did not err in determining Employee failed

to overcome the presumption of correctness afforded Dr. Brophy’s impairment rating. 5 In

short, the preponderance of the evidence supports the trial court’s determination on this

issue.

Finally, we note that Employee did not file a transcript of the compensation hearing

or a statement of the evidence. “Without a transcript or statement of the evidence, we

presume that the evidence presented at the hearing supported the findings of the trial court.”

Webb v. Blakeford Management Services, Inc., No. 2022-06-2036, 2023 TN Wrk. Comp.

App. Bd. LEXIS 46, at *7-8 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 15, 2023) (citing Estate

of Cockrill, No. M2010-00663-COA-R3-CV, 2010 Tenn. App. LEXIS 754, at *11-12

(Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 2, 2010)). Consequently, we affirm the trial court’s denial of

permanent partial disability benefits.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order in all respects and certify

it as final. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

5

In her brief on appeal, Employee argues her termination due to absenteeism was part of the trial court’s

rationale for the denial of permanent partial disability benefits; however, the trial court’s order contains no

discussion of the circumstances of Employee’s termination or its relevance to the issue of permanent

disability.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Veatrice Booker ) Docket No. 2022-07-0638

)

v. ) State File No. 111982-2019

)

US Farathane )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 5th day

of September, 2024.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Veatrice Booker X veatrice36@gmail.com

John D. Burleson X jburleson@raineykizer.com

cjordan@raineykizer.com

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.