Opinion

Barbara D. Lowe v. Ruth F.Chenevert, A/K/A Ruth Robertson

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Jul 20, 2004
Status
Published
On the bench
Judge Alan E. Highers
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.5%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

MARCH 17, 2004 Session

BARBARA D. LOWE, ET AL. v. RUTH C. CHENEVERT a/k/a RUTH

ROBERTSON

Direct Appeal from the Circuit Court for Coffee County

No. 30,107 John W. Rollins, Judge

No. M2003-00450-COA-R3-CV - July 20, 2004

This case arises from an automobile accident in which Ms. Lowe was injured by an uninsured

motorist. Ms. Lowe and her husband filed suit against the motorist and were awarded a total of

$25,000 in damages, which they sought to have satisfied by Tennessee Farmer’s Mutual Insurance

Company under the terms of their uninsured motorist insurance policy. Tennessee Farmer’s refused

to pay the claim, asserting that Ms. Lowe had already signed a complete release in exchange for a

settlement in excess of $5,000. In the ensuing litigation, the trial court granted Tennessee Farmer’s

motion for summary judgment, finding that Ms. Lowe had, indeed, signed a release as part of a

settlement with Tennessee Farmer’s. For the following reasons, we reverse the judgment of the trial

court and remand for further proceedings.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3; Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court Reversed and

Remanded

ALAN E. HIGHERS, J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which W. FRANK CRAWFORD , P.J., W.S.,

and HOLLY M. KIRBY , J., joined.

Rick L. Moore, Tullahoma, TN, for Appellants

Walter F. Nichols, Manchester, TN, for Appellee

OPINION

Facts and Procedural History

On November 6, 1998, Barbara Lowe (“Ms. Lowe”) was involved in a car accident with

uninsured motorist Ruth Chenevert (“Ms. Chenevert”), in which Ms. Lowe sustained injuries that

required medical treatment. At that time, Ms. Lowe and her husband, James Lowe (“Mr. Lowe”),

were insured by Tennessee Farmer’s Mutual Insurance Company (“Tennessee Farmer’s ” or

“insuror”) under a policy that provided them with uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 and

medical payment coverage of $5,000. Following the accident, Ms. Lowe received treatment from

Dr. Robert M. Canon until at least January 19, 1999. On August 10, 1999, Ms. Lowe met with

David Brown, a claims adjuster for Tennessee Farmer’s. At this meeting, Ms. Lowe signed a

document entitled “Uninsured Motorist Coverage Receipt and Subrogation Agreement”

(“Agreement”), and she received a check in the amount of $2500. The first paragraph of the

Agreement contained a full release of Tennessee Farmer’s for personal injuries and/or medical

expenses incurred as a result of the accident with Ms. Chenevert. The Agreement further established

the subrogation rights of the insuror.

The Lowes then filed the instant action against Ms. Chenevert on November 4, 1999. A copy

of the complaint was served on Tennessee Farmer’s, as the uninsured motorist carrier for the Lowes,

pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-7-1206 (2001). Neither Ms. Chenevert nor insuror ever filed an

answer or entered an appearance. Tennessee Farmer’s did, however, file a motion for summary

judgment on November 14, 2001, arguing that the Agreement signed by Ms. Lowe on August 10,

1999 released insuror from further liability. Ms. Lowe responded that summary judgment was

inappropriate because there remained factual issues as to whether Tennessee Farmer’s breached its

duty to settle her claim fairly and in good faith by obtaining her signature on the Agreement through

misrepresentation. The trial court conducted hearings on this motion twice, and, on August 22,

2002, the lower court granted Tennessee Farmer’s summary judgment. The trial court then set the

case against Ms. Chenevert for trial on January 13, 2003. Following the trial, the lower court

rendered judgment for the Lowes, granting $13,000 to Ms. Lowe for her damages and $12,000 to

Mr. Lowe for loss of companionship and payment of his wife’s medical expenses. On February 12,

2003, Ms. Lowe appealed the lower court’s grant of summary judgment in favor of Tennessee

Farmer’s. On March 3, 2003, Mr. Lowe filed an application for writ of execution, seeking to have

his $12,000 award enforced against insuror, rather than Ms. Chenevert. The lower court denied Mr.

Lowe’s application in an order dated March 17, 2003, which Mr. Lowe then appealed on March 27,

2003.

Issues

Appellant raises two issues for our consideration:

I. Whether the trial court erred in granting Tennessee Farmer’s summary judgment

where there are genuine issues of material fact as to whether Tennessee Farmer’s

dealt “fairly and in good faith” in obtaining Ms. Lowe’s signature on the settlement

Agreement.

II. Whether the trial court erred in finding that Ms. Lowe’s signature on the Agreement

releases Tennessee Farmer’s from any duty to satisfy Mr. Lowe’s derivative claims.

-2-

Standard of Review

In Pero’s Steak and Spaghetti House v. Lee, 90 S.W.3d 614 (Tenn. 2002), the Tennessee

Supreme Court set forth the standard of appellate review for a grant of summary judgment:

An appellate court reviews a grant of summary judgment de novo with no

presumption that the trial court’s conclusions were correct. See Mooney v. Sneed, 30

S.W.3d 304, 306 (Tenn. 2000). Summary judgment is appropriate only when the

moving party demonstrates that there are no genuine issues of material fact and that

he or she is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.04; see also

Webber v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co., 49 S.W.3d 265, 269 (Tenn. 2001). In

reviewing the record, courts must view the evidence in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party and must also draw all reasonable inferences in the nonmoving

party’s favor. Staples v. CBL & Assocs. Inc., 15 S.W.3d 83, 89 (Tenn. 2000). If both

the facts and conclusions to be drawn therefrom permit a reasonable person to reach

only one conclusion, then summary judgment is appropriate. Seavers v. Methodist

Med. Ctr. of Oak Ridge, 9 S.W.3d 86, 91 (Tenn. 1999).

Lee, 90 S.W.3d at 620.

Law and Analysis

In their first issue on appeal, the Lowes maintain that the lower court erred in granting

Tennessee Farmer’s summary judgment regarding Ms. Lowe’s claim under the uninsured motorist

policy. The Lowes argue that summary judgment was inappropriate because there remain genuine

issues of material fact as to whether insuror dealt “fairly and in good faith” in settling Ms. Lowe’s

claim. Having reviewed the record in light of the relevant authority, we agree.

In MFA Mut. Ins. Co. v. Flint, 574 S.W.2d 718 (Tenn. 1978), the Tennessee Supreme Court

noted the general duty owed by insurance companies to their insureds:

Insurance policies are contracts of the utmost good faith and must be administered

and performed as such by the insurer. Good faith “demands that the insurer deal with

laymen as laymen and not as experts in the subtleties of law and underwriting.”

(citations omitted). In all insurance contracts, particularly where the language

expressing the extent of the coverage may be deceptive to the ordinary layman, there

is an implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing that the insurer will not do

anything to injure the right of its policyholder to receive the benefits of his contract.

This covenant goes deeper than the mere surface of the writing. When a loss occurs

which because of its expertise the insurer knows or should know is within the

coverage, and the dealings between the parties reasonably put the company on notice

that the insured relies upon its integrity, fairness and honesty of purpose, and expects

-3-

his right of payment to be considered, the obligation to deal with him takes on the

highest burden of good faith.

Flint, 574 S.W.2d at 720-21 (quoting Bowler v. Fid. & Cas. Co. of N.Y., 250 A.2d 580, 587 (N.J.

1969)). The Court then specifically considered an insurer’s duty to its insureds when settling claims

made under uninsured motorist provisions of automobile insurance policies. The Court held that,

although no fiduciary duty exists under such circumstances, the insurer is, nevertheless, under a duty

to deal with its insured “fairly and in good faith” when settling a claim under an uninsured motorist

provision. Flint, 574 S.W.2d at 721.

In the present case, the Lowes maintain that Tennessee Farmer’s failed to deal with Ms. Lowe

fairly and in good faith because it obtained her signature on the release through misrepresentation.

Ms. Lowe testified that David Brown, the insurance representative with whom she dealt on August

10, 1999, described the Agreement as a receipt for payments made on her car and her medical bills,

rather than a settlement and release of her claims. She also testified that Mr. Brown stated that the

$2500 check tendered that day was to cover existing medical bills and to serve as an advance on any

future expenses, making no mention of a settlement offer. Ms. Lowe further stated that she was

deceived by the title of the Agreement, “Uninsured Motorist Coverage Receipt and Subrogation

Agreement,” which contains no prominent language indicating that the document is a release, rather

than a receipt. Ms. Lowe maintains that, but for the misrepresentations of Tennessee Farmer’s, she

would not have signed the Agreement and thereby released insuror from further liability. By way

of response, Mr. Brown testified that it would have been his standard practice to notify Ms. Lowe

that she was signing a release, though he would not have read the release to her. However, Mr.

Brown admitted that he could not specifically recall his meeting with Ms. Lowe on August 10, 1999

and could not, therefore, provide an exact account of their conversation.

Viewing the foregoing evidence in the light most favorable to the Lowes, and making all

reasonable inferences on their behalf, we find that the trial court erred in granting Tennessee

Farmer’s motion for summary judgment. We note, as an initial matter, that “[i]f there is any doubt

about whether a genuine issue of material fact exists, summary judgment should not be awarded.”

Metro. Gov’t of Nashville and Davidson County v. Hudson, No. M2002-02847-COA-R3-CV, 2003

WL 23093862, at *2 (Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 30, 2003) (citing McCarley v. W. Quality Food Serv., 960

S.W.2d 585, 588 (Tenn. 1998)). Here, Ms. Lowe testified that Mr. Brown misrepresented the nature

of the Agreement and that she was misled by the title of the document, which seemed to corroborate

the alleged misrepresentation that the Agreement was merely a receipt. Mr. Brown, by contrast, was

unable to recall the exact substance of his meeting with Ms. Lowe and could only describe his

normal course of conduct during such a meeting. Having considered this testimony, we find that a

genuine issue exists as to whether Ms. Lowe was induced to sign the Agreement through

misrepresentation and that summary judgment is, therefore, inappropriate.

We note that our holding disposes of the remaining issue on appeal, as the trial court

predicated its dismissal of Mr. Lowe’s derivative claims on the validity of the Agreement and its

-4-

release provision. Accordingly, we reverse the lower court’s determination as to Mr. Lowe’s claim

and remand for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we reverse the ruling of the trial court and remand for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion. Costs of this appeal are taxed to the Appellee, Tennessee

Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, for which execution may issue if necessary.

___________________________________

ALAN E. HIGHERS, JUDGE

-5-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.