Opinion

Bruce E. Shell, of the Estate of Jeffrey Michael Murphy v. Ginger Dills

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Nov 6, 2006
Status
Published
On the bench
Presiding Judge Herschel P. Franks
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.4%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT KNOXVILLE

September 18, 2006 Session

BRUCE E. SHELL, Executor of the Estate of JEFFREY MICHAEL

MURPHY, v. GINGER DILLS

Direct Appeal from the Chancery Court for Union County

No. 4837 Hon. Billy Joe White, Chancellor

No. E2005-02636-COA-R3-CV - FIELD NOVEMBER 6, 2006

In a dispute over death benefits from employer, the Trial Court held designated beneficiary who later

divorced decedent, was entitled to benefits rather than the Estate. We affirm.

Tenn. R. App. P.3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Chancery Court Affirmed.

HERSCHEL PICKENS FRANKS, P.J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which CHARLES D. SUSANO ,

JR., J., and D. MICHAEL SWINEY , J., joined.

Dan D. Rhea, Knoxville, Tennessee, for appellant.

David H. Stanifer, and Lindsey Cole, Tazewell, Tennessee, for appellee.

OPINION

The Executor of the Estate of Jeffrey Michael Murphy, filed a Complaint against

Ginger Dills, Murphy’s former spouse, seeking reimbursement to the Estate for a death benefit Dills

received from Murphy’s employer, the Knox County School Board, after Murphy’s death.

The Complaint alleged that Dills had been named beneficiary of Murphy’s death

benefits during their marriage, and that after their divorce in 1989, Murphy had inadvertently failed

to change the beneficiary designation. Further that Murphy had remarried and had a child with his

new wife, and that said wife and child were his natural and testamentary beneficiaries at the time of

his death.

Dills Answered, and admitted that she had received the funds, as designated

beneficiary, and that she was entitled to the funds. Plaintiff then filed an Amended Complaint,

setting forth that Murphy and Dills had entered into a Marital Dissolution Agreement which provided

in pertinent part:

It is mutually understood and agreed by and between the parties hereto that this is a

complete and final Marital Dissolution Agreement between them; and that in the

event a divorce is granted, neither of them will ever hereafter have any property

claims whatsoever against the other, except as provided for and described herein.

At trial, the parties stipulated that Murphy worked for the Knox County School

System in the maintenance department beginning in 1987, and that he participated in the System’s

retirement plan, and that a certain amount of money was withheld from Murphy’s paychecks and put

in the plan. It was further stipulated that Murphy had died in October 2004.

It was further stipulated that Murphy had remarried, and that his wife had a child from

a previous relationship that was 13, and she and Murphy had a child together who was 6. The parties

stipulated that Murphy was married to Dills from 1985 to 1988, and that he had designated Dills,

who was his wife at the time, as beneficiary. The Marital Dissolution Agreement was stipulated into

evidence, and the parties stipulated that Murphy never changed the beneficiary designation. Also

stipulated into evidence was The Application of Member for Refund of Defined Benefit

Contributions, which was signed by Dills, and excerpts from the System’s retirement plan were also

entered into evidence.

At the conclusion of the trial, the Court ruled in defendant’s favor, stating the case

was controlled by the Supreme Court’s decision in Bowers v. Bowers, 637 S.W.2d 456 (Tenn. 1982).

On appeal, these issues are presented:

1. Whether the “designated beneficiary” rule controlling the distribution of

proceeds payable at death under a contract with a third party overrides the

claimed continuing obligations of the deceased’s divorced spouse to refrain

from claiming the property of the decedent under their marital dissolution

agreement?

2. Whether a formal claim by the divorced spouse of a decedent for a refund of

pension plan contributions made by the decedent during his lifetime, pursuant

to the decedent’s pre-divorce designation of that spouse as his pension plan

beneficiary, violated the divorced spouse’s promise in the marital dissolution

agreement that “neither of them will ever hereafter have any property claims

whatsoever against the other”?

Plaintiff argues that when Dills filled out the Application of Member for Refund of

-2-

Defined Benefit Contributions, she violated her continuing obligation under the MDA to refrain from

making any property claims against the husband. Plaintiff argues that Bowers and its progeny are

not dispositive, because in those cases, the MDA did not contain an obligation of future conduct after

the divorce, as found in this MDA. Further, that this situation should be regarded as a property claim

by Dills against Murphy.

The body of case law applicable to this controversy arose in the seminal case of

Bowers v. Bowers, 637 S.W.2d 456 (Tenn. 1982). In that case, the decedent’s sister brought an

action on behalf of his children against his former wife seeking the benefits from a life insurance

policy which named his former wife as beneficiary, even though the parties had divorced. The trial

court awarded the proceeds of the policy to the former wife as named beneficiary, and the Supreme

Court affirmed, and quoted with approval the dissenting opinion in the Court of Appeals written by

Judge Cantrell, which stated:

Being a beneficiary of the life insurance of her ex-husband was not a “property

right”, a result of an “obligation to support a wife”, a “right”, or “a claim” which was

waived and relinquished by the property settlement agreement. The husband was

under no duty by law or contract to have life insurance in the first place or to

designate the defendant as the beneficiary of it; he could have changed the

beneficiary at any time without encountering any of the defendant’s rights; she

simply had no claim with respect to the life insurance. Therefore the terms of the

property settlement agreement do not affect the life insurance policy at all.

Id. at 457-458.

The Supreme Court also quoted with approval from the Ohio case of Hergenrather

v. State Mutual Life Assurance Co. of Worcester, 68 N.E.2d 833 (Ohio Ct. App. 1946), which stated:

The right of the wife to recover the proceeds of the policy does not hinge on the

existence of a relationship of husband and wife, but rather on the well established

principles of contract law . . .. Her right did not arise out of the relation of husband

and wife. True, she was his wife at the time the policy was issued and this fact

undoubtedly was the reason why she was named as beneficiary, but her property

interest in the policy did not arise out of the marriage relation.

Id. at 458-459.

The Supreme Court thus concluded that the property settlement agreement and

divorce had no force or effect on the life insurance policy, and that the former wife should receive

the proceeds.1

1

The Property Settlement Agreement incorporated in the Divorce Decree released the

husband from all claims arising out of the marital relationship, and waived any of the rights not

-3-

The deceased’s agreement with his employer in the Knox County Employee Benefits

System provides in pertinent part:

Definitions, Beneficiary:

Beneficiary shall mean a recipient or recipients last designated by a Participant in

writing on forms provided by the Board, who shall receive any benefits payable

under the System upon the death of the Participant . . . (emphasis added).

Death Benefits Before Retirement

Upon the death of any Employee who is a Participant, a pre-retirement death benefit

equal to the amount of group term life insurance provided and paid for by Knox

County shall be paid to his Beneficiary. This provision shall remain in effect so long

as the County of Knox elects to provide such coverage to the extent required by law.

...

If the death of a vested Participant occurs prior to such time that he could have

immediately received a benefit in accordance with Subsection III-4.02 [normal

retirement] or III-4-.03 [early retirement] the surviving Beneficiary shall be eligible

to receive a benefit equal to the contributions with which the Participant has been

credited in his Individual Retirement Contributions account, as referenced in

Subsection III-3.04 Accounts, herein, accumulated with interest at the rate of three

percent (3%) compounded annually plus an equivalent amount representing what

would have been a matching contribution made by the Employer accumulated with

interest at the same rate through the date of death.

While plaintiff argues that the Bowers case was purely an insurance claim, which is

not the exact nature of the benefit here, Teachers Insurance & Annuity Assoc. v. Harris, 709 S.W.2d

592 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1985), involved a situation similar to the case before us regarding a retirement

annuity that provided death benefits.2 The first wife was named as beneficiary on decedent’s

provided for therein.

2

The Divorce Decree in Harris, provided:

It is agreed by the parties that this Agreement shall be a final settlement of the

property rights of the respective parties, and it is a full discharge of Husband from all

other claims arising out of the marital relationship, that each party hereby waives and

relinquishes to the other party all rights or claims which he or she may have or

hereafter acquire under the law of any jurisdiction to the other’s property, including

-4-

retirement annuity, who remarried.

The Harris Court held that Bowers controlled in that case as well, since the divorce

and the property settlement agreement had no effect on the beneficiary designation, and there was

no material distinction between annuity agreements and a life insurance policy. Id. at 595.

In the case of Mathews v. Harris, 713 S.W.2d 311 (Tenn. 1986), the contending

parties were seeking the decedent’s state employee retirement fund, who had named his ex-wife as

beneficiary. The Chancellor awarded the retirement benefits to the ex-wife, and this Court reversed.

However, the Supreme Court reversed the judgment of this Court, and reinstated the Chancellor’s

judgment, relying on the Bowers decision.

The Harris Opinion out of the Supreme Court recites that the decedent became a

member of the retirement system in 1947, and named his then-wife as his beneficiary. In 1965, he

executed another form, again naming his wife as beneficiary. He then divorced his first wife in

1982, and remarried in July 1982 and soon thereafter died.

After his death, the ex-wife filed a claim with the TCRS for a refund of the

accumulated contributions of decedent. Since the ex-wife and the deceased had a property settlement

agreement which contained a waiver of any rights of either spouse against the other, the retirement

system filed an interpleader action, and the trial court ruled that the beneficiary designation was not

affected by the subsequent divorce proceedings which made no reference to the fund. The Supreme

Court affirmed the Trial Judge.

Plaintiff further argues that this case should be distinguished from Bowers and its

progeny because the parties’ MDA contains a “continuing” obligation of “future” conduct, and thus

the wife’s contractual obligation to refrain from making a claim should be enforced such that she

could not accept a refund of contributions made by the husband.

Considering the language contained in the various agreements, however, this is a

distinction without a difference. In Bowers, the parties simply agreed to relinquish “to the other any

rights or claims not provided for herein”, and the Court held that the beneficiary of a life insurance

policy was not a “right” or a “claim” and did not necessarily arise out of the marriage relationship.

In the Harris cases, the agreement was much more comprehensive, and stated that each party waived

and relinquished “all rights or claims which he or she may have or hereafter acquire under the law

of any jurisdiction to the other’s property”, and went on to state that it applied to property currently

without limitation, dower, curtesy, [sic] statutory allowance, homestead rights, right

to take against the will of the other, inheritance, descent or distribution, and the right

to act as administrator or executor of the other’s estate. This instrument applies to

all property now owned by the parties, either jointly or individually, or any property

which either of them may acquire in the future.

-5-

owned or later acquired. The Harris agreement explicitly contemplates current and future claims

to current and future property. The Harris agreement states the same obligation that is in the MDA

before us in a different way, i.e. the obligation to refrain from making future claims to the other’s

property.

Next, plaintiff argues that this case is distinguishable because it does not deal with

a life insurance policy or other benefit that is payable only upon death, but rather involves money

that decedent earned and contributed to the retirement plan. Once again, this is the factual situation

as we noted in Mathews v. Harris, 713 S.W.2d 311 (Tenn. 1986). In Harris, decedent had

designated his then-wife to receive the benefits which the system provided, i.e., to pay her, “in the

event of my death before retirement the total amount of the accumulated contributions and allowable

interest standing to my credit in the Retirement System.” The Harris opinion states that after his

death, his ex-wife filed a claim for a “refund” of decedent’s “accumulated contributions”, and the

Supreme Court held that the beneficiary designation was not affected by the subsequent divorce

proceedings nor the parties’ property settlement agreement waiving future claims.

We find no basis to distinguish the precedents in the Bowers and its progeny from

the facts of this case. We are therefore constrained to affirm the Judgment of the Trial Court.

For the foregoing reasons, the Judgment of the Trial Court is affirmed and the cause

remanded, with the cost of the appeal assessed to the Estate of Jeffrey Michael Murphy.

______________________________

HERSCHEL PICKENS FRANKS, P.J.

-6-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.