Opinion

Taylor, Lauren v. John & Stephanie Ingram, LLC

  • 2024 TN WC App. 30
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Aug 9, 2024
Status
Published
On the bench
Conner, Weaver, Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.4%

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Lauren Taylor ) Docket No. 2020-06-0517

)

v. ) State File No. 34641-2019

)

John & Stephanie Ingram, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

Affirmed and Certified as Final

This is the second appeal in this case involving severe injuries. The employee worked at a

horse farm located in Franklin, Tennessee. The position required the employee to travel to

horse shows in other states, and, while in South Carolina for such a show, a horse kicked

the employee in the head. The employee received immediate emergency medical treatment

as well as extensive rehabilitation for her traumatic brain injury at facilities located in

Georgia and Nebraska. During the course of the employee’s treatment and recovery,

disputes arose over the employee’s competency and who should represent her interests. A

Georgia probate court ultimately appointed a conservator and a guardian ad litem for the

employee. The conservator hired a lawyer in Tennessee to represent the employee in her

workers’ compensation claim, and the conservator, the employee’s attorney, and the

employer’s attorney reached an agreement to settle the employee’s workers’ compensation

claim under Tennessee law. Following a hearing at which the employee was not present,

the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims approved the settlement. Thereafter, upon

receipt of the settlement documents, the employee, acting in a self-represented capacity,

filed a motion to set aside the settlement. The trial court denied the motion, determining

the employee did not have standing to make the motion as she was still a ward in an active

conservatorship in Georgia and was represented by counsel in Tennessee. The employee

appealed, and we remanded the case to the trial court to determine whether Tennessee could

exercise subject matter jurisdiction over the workers’ compensation case. After a hearing,

the trial court determined it did have subject matter jurisdiction. We then dismissed the

appeal, agreeing with the trial court that the employee did not have standing under the facts

of the case. Two years later, the employee again filed a motion to set aside the settlement,

averring that the conservatorship had been terminated and the guardianship extinguished

by a Missouri court and presenting the trial court with court orders to that effect. The trial

1

court determined that although the employee was no longer in an active conservatorship

and was no longer incapacitated, the employee had not filed her motion to set aside the

settlement within a reasonable time and thus denied the motion. The employee has

appealed. Upon careful consideration of the record, we affirm the trial court’s order and

certify it as final.

Judge Meredith B. Weaver delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

Lauren Taylor, Foristell, Missouri, employee-appellant, pro se

John Barringer, Nashville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, John and Stephanie

Ingram, LLC

Factual and Procedural Background

This case has a long and complicated history. Lauren Taylor (“Employee”) was

originally hired in 2018 to work as an intern on a horse farm operated by John and

Stephanie Ingram, LLC (“Employer”), in Franklin, Tennessee. The following year,

Employer offered her full-time employment as a groom, which she accepted. Employee’s

work duties consisted of grooming, caring for, and exercising the horses, both at the farm

in Franklin and at horse shows in various other states.

On May 12, 2019, Employee was at a horse show in Aiken, South Carolina, when a

horse “double-barrel” kicked her in the head, causing a severe traumatic brain injury. 1

Following emergency medical care, Employee was transferred to the Shepherd Center in

Atlanta, Georgia, for further care and rehabilitation. Employee’s mother, Elaine Taylor

(“Mother”), joined her there, and in June 2019, petitioned the Fulton County Georgia

Probate Court (“the Probate Court”) to establish a conservatorship on behalf of Employee

with Mother as conservator and guardian. On September 10, the Probate Court issued

Letters of Guardianship to Mother. It subsequently issued an order appointing Mother as

conservator for Employee as well as issued Letters of Conservatorship in October 2019.

On November 19, 2019, over Mother’s objection, Employee was transferred to a

rehabilitation center in Omaha, Nebraska called Quality Life, Inc. In April 2020, while

Employee was still treating at Quality Life, Employer’s insurer filed a petition with the

Probate Court asking for a temporary substitute guardian for Employee and alleging that

Mother was not acting in Employee’s best interests as conservator and guardian. One week

later, the Probate Court appointed a Guardian ad Litem (“GAL”) and instructed her to

prepare a report advising the court as to whether Mother was acting in Employee’s best

1

Employee was later diagnosed with traumatic brain injury, neurocognitive disorder with memory deficit,

and adjustment disorder, among other conditions.

2

interest as her guardian and conservator. Meanwhile, on May 2, 2020, Quality Life

released Employee to live with Mother in Missouri and receive outpatient medical

treatment there.

On May 7, 2020, the Probate Court issued an order appointing a temporary

substitute conservator, William Jenkins (“Conservator Jenkins”), and then issued another

order on July 9, 2020, naming Sharon Gorman as temporary substitute guardian (“Guardian

Gorman”). 2 Conservator Jenkins then retained Jeffrey S. Roberts (“Attorney Roberts”) to

serve as Employee’s legal counsel in Tennessee to pursue her workers’ compensation

claim. Attorney Roberts filed a petition for benefit determination on July 8, 2020, seeking

modifications to the home in Missouri, and Employer filed a petition regarding Employee’s

failure to comply with medical treatment on August 24, 2021. The Probate Court continued

to reappoint Conservator Jenkins and Guardian Gorman throughout 2020 and 2021.

Although the record does not reflect that Employee had been placed at maximum

medical improvement by any medical providers, Attorney Roberts and Employer

negotiated an agreement for settlement of her workers’ compensation claim. The

agreement called for a settlement equal to ninety-nine percent of permanent total disability,

or 2,202 weeks at Employee’s compensation rate, to be administered through a special

needs trust. The agreement also provided for the closure of medical benefits for an

additional amount of $410,000, also to be administered through an annuity within the same

special needs trust. Employer’s counsel and Attorney Roberts signed the agreement, as did

Conservator Jenkins and Guardian Gorman. Neither Employee nor Mother were present

at the settlement approval hearing, and they did not sign the agreement. They both later

alleged they were unaware of the settlement approval hearing. 3 Following a hearing at

which the terms of the proposed settlement were presented and discussed, the Court of

Workers’ Compensation Claims (“the trial court”) approved the settlement agreement on

August 24, 2021. The Probate Court then approved the settlement on August 26, 2021, in

its supervisory capacity over the conservatorship.

Thereafter, Mother sent correspondence to the trial court on September 15, 2021,

indicating she and Employee had just received copies of the workers’ compensation

settlement agreement. She then filed a notice of appeal with us on September 23, 2021,

indicating that the orders from the Probate Court reappointing Conservator Jenkins and

Guardian Gorman, as well as approving the workers’ compensation settlement, were being

appealed. Employee also filed a motion to set aside the settlement with the trial court, and

2

According to the May 7 order, the Probate Court’s reasoning for removing Mother as conservator was her

failure to post a bond and file an Inventory and Asset Management Plan as required by Georgia law and her

purported interference with Employee’s medical care.

3

Although there is a purported transcript of the settlement approval hearing in the record, there is no

indication it was prepared by a certified court reporter as required by Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 0800-02-

22-.05(1). As such, we have not considered it in this appeal.

3

Employer filed a motion asking us to remand the case to the trial court for it to consider

Employee’s motion. We granted the motion to remand and held the appeal in abeyance.

The trial court issued an order on October 7, 2021, denying the motion to set aside filed by

Employee, finding Employee lacked standing as a ward of the state of Georgia and giving

full faith and credit to the orders of the Probate Court pursuant to the United States

Constitution. 4 At that point, the appeal before us proceeded, and we remanded the case a

second time for the trial court to determine whether it could exercise subject matter

jurisdiction over Employee’s claim for workers’ compensation benefits. Because

Employee lived in Missouri at the time of the appeal, the injury happened in South

Carolina, and treatment was rendered in Georgia and Nebraska, we asked the trial court to

address whether Tennessee law afforded Employee a remedy as provided in Tennessee

Code Annotated section 50-6-115(b)(2).

The trial court held an evidentiary hearing on November 18, 2021, during which

Employer’s financial assistant and a “barn manager” testified. 5 The trial court allowed

Employee and Mother to listen to the hearing, but it did not allow them to participate. The

financial assistant testified that Employer’s principal office is in Nashville, Tennessee, as

listed on the articles of organization. The barn manager testified that Employee began

working for Employer as an intern in 2018 and was offered full time work in 2019. During

that time, Employee resided with other employees in a home on a property next to

Employer’s farm in Franklin. When she accepted the position to be a groom, Employee

completed an IRS Form W-4, an employee eligibility verification form, and a new

employee form. Employee wrote the same address in Franklin, Tennessee on all three

forms. The barn manager also testified he and Employee intended to live in a condominium

in Brentwood, Tennessee, when they returned from the trip to South Carolina.

Based on these documents and the testimony summarized above, the trial court

determined Tennessee law provided Employee a remedy and it could exercise subject

matter jurisdiction over Employee’s claim for benefits. Specifically, the court found that

the employment was principally located in Tennessee and that, at the time of injury,

Employee was a Tennessee resident and that there were substantial connections between

the state of Tennessee and the employment relationship. Once it made that determination,

the trial court reiterated its rationale for denying the motion to set aside the settlement.

Thereafter, the appeal before us proceeded, and Conservator Jenkins filed a motion to

dismiss the appeal, arguing Employee filed the appeal in a pro se capacity even though she

was represented by counsel. In a December 20, 2021 order, we agreed and dismissed the

appeal, stating, “When a party is represented by counsel, courts are only bound to recognize

filings submitted by counsel.”

4

Article IV, section 1 of the United States Constitution states, “Full Faith and Credit shall be given in each

State to the public Acts, Records, and judicial Proceedings of every other State.”

5

There is not a transcript of the hearing contained in the record. The statements regarding the testimony

at the hearing are reflected in the trial court’s November 24, 2021 order.

4

Over two years later, on January 24, 2024, Employee filed another motion to set

aside the settlement under Rule 60.02 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure. At that

time, she alleged fraud on the part of Employer, Conservator Jenkins, and Guardian

Gorman, as well as other people and organizations involved in her workers’ compensation

claim. She also argued the settlement was approved based, in part, on void judgments of

other courts or on court orders that have been or will be vacated. Employee stated the

conservatorship had been terminated by a court in Missouri and that she therefore had

standing to contest the settlement. Employer filed a response in opposition to the motion

and requested sanctions. The trial court issued an order on February 26, 2024, stating no

documentation of the termination of the conservatorship had been filed and instructing

Employee to file any such documentation within thirty days. Employee filed both an

October 25, 2022 order terminating the conservatorship from a circuit court in Missouri

and a November 11, 2022 order from the same court discharging the conservator and

guardian. She also filed a letter to Employer, Conservator Jenkins, and Guardian Gorman,

as well as GAL and all attorneys involved, indicating she had been notified the entity

holding her special needs trust had filed for bankruptcy and both her “lost wages” account

and her medical expenses account had been “compromised by a shortfall of assets.”

Employer did not file a response to these filings.

Upon receipt of these documents, the trial court issued another order dated March

21, 2024, in which it determined that although Employee had standing to file the motion,

the settlement would not be set aside. The court reasoned that under Rule 60.02, an order

can only be set aside due to fraud within one year of its entry, and Employee had filed this

motion well over a year after the settlement had been approved and after the initial

unsuccessful appeal, as well as over a year after her conservatorship was terminated and

she regained capacity to act on her own behalf. It further found that the remaining

circumstances of Rule 60.02 allowing the settlement to be set side did not apply because

they require the motion to be filed within a reasonable time, and Employee’s motion was

not filed within a reasonable time. Finally, it denied Employer’s Rule 11 request for

sanctions due to procedural errors in the request. Employee has appealed. 6

Standard of Review

The standard we apply in reviewing a trial court’s decision presumes that the court’s

factual findings are correct unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. See

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(7) (2023). When the trial judge has had the opportunity

to observe a witness’s demeanor and to hear in-court testimony, we give considerable

deference to factual findings made by the trial court. Madden v. Holland Grp. of Tenn.,

Inc., 277 S.W.3d 896, 898 (Tenn. 2009). However, “[n]o similar deference need be

6

Employee also filed a motion to reconsider with the trial court on the same date as filing her notice of

appeal. Both Employer and Attorney Roberts filed responses opposing the motion, and the trial court

denied the motion while this appeal was pending.

5

afforded the trial court’s findings based upon documentary evidence.” Goodman v.

Schwarz Paper Co., No. W2016-02594-SC-R3-WC, 2018 Tenn. LEXIS 8, at *6 (Tenn.

Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 18, 2018). Similarly, the interpretation and application of

statutes and regulations are questions of law that are reviewed de novo with no presumption

of correctness afforded the trial court’s conclusions. See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone

N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn. 2013). We are also mindful of our

obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2023).

Analysis

On appeal, Employee raises a multitude of issues regarding the validity of the

various orders from the Probate Court, as well as the trial court’s decision to give full faith

and credit to those orders. Employee also avers that the trial court lacked both personal

and subject matter jurisdiction over her claim for workers’ compensation benefits. For its

part, Employer contends several of the issues Employee raises on appeal have been waived,

as they were not raised at the trial court level. Furthermore, Employer argues the orders

from the Probate Court are valid and that, even if they were invalid, Employee’s current

attempt to set aside the settlement based on the allegedly invalid orders is untimely.

Personal and Subject Matter Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction is a threshold issue in this appeal. Employer contends that the trial court

previously resolved the issue of subject matter jurisdiction, and it should not be re-litigated.

Although the trial court held a hearing on subject matter jurisdiction, we did not address

that issue in the first appeal because we dismissed the appeal on other grounds. Further, it

still remains that “the issue of subject [] matter jurisdiction may be raised at any time during

the proceedings, by the parties or by the court.” Wilken v. Wilken, No. W2012-00989-

COA-R3-CV, 2012 Tenn. App. LEXIS 907, at *10-11 (Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 27, 2012)

(citations omitted). Also, “[w]hether a court has subject matter jurisdiction over a case is

a question of law that we review de novo with no presumption of correctness.” Morgan

Keegan & Co., Inc. v. Smythe, 401 S.W.3d 595, 602 (Tenn. 2013).

Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-115(b)(2) addresses a Tennessee court’s

authority to exercise jurisdiction over workers’ compensation cases involving multiple

states:

If an employee, while working outside the territorial limits of this state other

than temporarily, suffers an injury on account of which the

employee . . . would have been entitled to the benefits provided by this

chapter had the injury occurred within this state, the employee . . . shall be

6

entitled to the benefits provided by this chapter; provided, that at the time of

the injury:

(A) The employment was principally localized within this state;

(B) The contract of hire was made in this state; or

(C) If at the time of the injury the injured worker was a Tennessee resident

and there existed a substantial connection between this state and the

particular employer and employee relationship.

The parties here agreed that the contract of hire was not made in Tennessee,

rendering subsection (B) inapplicable. However, Employer contends, based on witness

testimony and documentation completed by Employee at the time of hire, that the

employment was principally localized within the state of Tennessee, that Employee was a

Tennessee resident at the time of the injury, and that there were substantial connections

between the state of Tennessee and the employment relationship. For her part, Employee

argues that the Probate Court in Georgia did not have the requisite jurisdiction to continue

to deem Employee incompetent and maintain her status as a ward of the state of Georgia

given that she resided in Missouri once her treatment in Georgia had concluded. Therefore,

according to Employee, the orders of the Probate Court were invalid, and Conservator

Jenkins had no authority to hire a Tennessee attorney and present a proposed workers’

compensation settlement to a Tennessee court.

We conclude Employee conflates the issues of subject matter jurisdiction and

personal jurisdiction in her argument. Prior to the current appeal, Employee did not assert

that the trial court improperly exercised personal jurisdiction over the parties in this case.

It is well settled that personal jurisdiction can be agreed to or waived. See, e.g., Powers v.

Franklin Cnty., No. 01-A-01-9002-CH-00081, 1990 Tenn. App. LEXIS 518 (Tenn. Ct.

App. Aug. 1, 1990) (“jurisdiction of the person may be waived or conferred by consent”).

Here, the trial court was presented with orders from another jurisdiction evidencing the

appointment of a conservator and a guardian over Employee. Employee has not established

those orders were fraudulent, invalid, or otherwise improperly considered by the trial court.

The attorney retained by the conservator filed a petition for benefits on Employee’s behalf

in July 2020 and presented the proposed settlement to the trial court for its consideration,

subjecting Employee and the conservatorship to the personal jurisdiction of the trial court.

Thus, we conclude the issue of personal jurisdiction has been waived.

Furthermore, neither we nor the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims has the

authority to ascertain the jurisdictional authority of a court in another state with respect to

the appointment of conservators and/or guardians. “The Tennessee Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims is a court of statutorily defined, limited jurisdiction. The court was

created as of July 1, 2014, to have ‘original and exclusive jurisdiction over all contested

7

claims for workers’ compensation benefits.’” Martinez v. ACG Roofing, Inc., No. 2021-

08-0059, 2023 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 31, at *10-11 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp.

App. Bd. July 12, 2023). The Workers’ Compensation Law, itself, limits its scope to

“[e]very employer and employee subject to this chapter” who are obligated to “pay and

accept compensation for personal injury or death by accident arising primarily out of and

in the course and scope of employment.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-103 (2023). As such,

the jurisdiction of the Probate Court and the legal validity of orders issued by that court are

questions for Georgia courts. However, irrespective of the orders from the Probate Court

establishing Employee’s conservatorship, it is still our role to address the threshold

question of whether the trial court had subject matter jurisdiction over Employee’s

workers’ compensation claim pursuant to Tennessee law.

As noted above, Employee was under a conservatorship and did not have an

opportunity to testify or provide any evidence at the initial hearing on subject matter

jurisdiction. However, on appeal, she has not argued that the evidence presented at that

hearing was false or that the trial court erred in considering it. Among other things, the

proof contains three documents completed by Employee just before her injury indicating a

home address in Tennessee. There was undisputed testimony that Employee resided with

other employees at a Tennessee location during her employment in Tennessee and planned

to return to Tennessee following the trip to South Carolina. Articles of organization

identified Nashville, Tennessee as the principal place of business for Employer. Our

review of this documentary evidence leads us to conclude the trial court did not err in

determining Employee was a Tennessee resident at the time of the injury and that there was

a substantial connection between the state of Tennessee and Employee’s relationship with

Employer. Thus, we conclude the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims properly

determined it had subject matter jurisdiction over Employee’s claim for workers’

compensation benefits in accordance with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-115(b)

and could consider the proposed settlement.

Rule 60 Motion to Set Aside

Employee next contends the settlement approved by the court in August 2021

should be set aside pursuant to Rule 60.02 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure,

which states in part:

On motion . . ., the court may relieve a party or the party’s legal

representative from a final judgment . . . for the following reasons: (1)

mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable neglect; (2)

fraud . . ., misrepresentation, or other misconduct of an adverse party; (3) the

judgment is void; (4) the judgment has been satisfied, released or discharged,

or a prior judgment upon which it is based had been reversed or otherwise

vacated, or it is no longer equitable that a judgment should have prospective

application; or (5) any other reason justifying relief from the operation of the

8

judgment. The motion shall be made within a reasonable time, and for

reasons (1) and (2) not more than one year after the judgment, order[,] or

proceeding was entered or taken.

Employee argued in her motion to set aside the settlement that all of the grounds contained

in Rule 60.02 existed in this case, with the exception of “mistake, inadvertence, surprise,

or excusable neglect.” Employee makes numerous statements in both her brief on appeal

and her affidavit filed with the trial court alleging fraud and collusion on the part of

Employer, Employer’s counsel, Conservator Jenkins, Guardian Gorman, and GAL.

Employee also posits that the determinations of the Probate Court are void due to either

the alleged fraud or fatal defects in the procedures of that court, and as such, the trial court

erred in giving full faith and credit to the orders.

To be successful, a motion to set aside pursuant to Rule 60.02 must be supported

by clear and convincing evidence. McCracken v. Brentwood United Methodist Church,

958 S.W.2d 792, 795 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1997). “Clear and convincing evidence means

evidence in which there is no serious or substantial doubt about the correctness of the

conclusions drawn from the evidence.” Hodges v. S. C. Toof & Co., 833 S.W.2d 896, 901

n.3 (Tenn. 1992). “In other words, the evidence must be such that the truth of the facts

asserted [is] ‘highly probable.’” Goff v. Elmo Greer & Sons Constr. Co., 297 S.W.3d 175,

187 (Tenn. 2009) (quoting Teter v. Republic Parking Sys., Inc., 181 S.W.3d 330, 341 (Tenn.

2005)). In general, “the bar for attaining relief is set very high and the burden borne by the

movant is heavy.” Johnson v. Johnson, 37 S.W.3d 892, 895 n.2 (Tenn. 2001). For the

reasons noted below, we conclude Employee has not met this burden.

Allegations of Fraud

First, Employee asserts numerous fraudulent acts occurring from the date of injury

through the date of settlement approval involving Employer, Employer’s attorneys,

Conservator Jenkins, Guardian Gorman, GAL, the Probate Court, medical providers, and

others. She does so through an affidavit completed by herself and Mother, but she did not

offer any evidence to support the accusations. Mere allegations are not evidence. See, e.g.,

Akers v. Dale, 1988 Tenn. App. LEXIS 706 (Tenn. Ct. App. Nov. 4, 1988) (“[M]ere

allegations of an act of fraud . . . [are] insufficient without facts evidencing a fraudulent

intent.”). Here, there is simply no clear and convincing evidence in the record of any such

acts of fraud or fraudulent intent.

Moreover, Employee’s motion also fails with respect to timeliness. The trial court

approved the settlement on August 24, 2021, and Employee’s conservatorship was

terminated on October 25, 2022. Employee did not file her motion to set aside the

settlement until January 24, 2024, over two years after the settlement approval and fifteen

months after she regained capacity as determined by the Missouri court. As such, even if

the record contained evidence of fraud, which it does not, we agree with the trial court that

9

this order cannot be set aside pursuant to Rule 60.02(2) of the Tennessee Rules of Civil

Procedure, which requires a motion to set aside based on fraud to be filed within one year

of the entry of the judgment.

Validity of Order Approving Settlement

Next, Employee argues that the trial court’s order approving the settlement is invalid

because it was based, in part, on the orders of the Probate Court establishing her

conservatorship and thus taking away her legal standing in her workers’ compensation

case, which she claims are void. She lists numerous reasons why the Probate Court’s orders

were void, but her arguments hinge on whether those orders are unconstitutional or

otherwise contravene Georgia law in appointing and reappointing Conservator Jenkins,

Guardian Gorman, and GAL. She further questions the timing of several orders of the

Probate Court. She argues that, because these orders are legally void, Attorney Roberts

was not properly retained, the involvement of Conservator Jenkins and Guardian Gorman

was improper, and the settlement agreement and order approving the settlement are invalid.

For its part, Employer asserts that any challenges to the Probate Court’s orders are within

the jurisdiction of Georgia courts and that the trial court was correct in giving those orders

full faith and credit under Tennessee law and the United States Constitution. Employer

argues in the alternative that even if the orders were invalid, Employee did not file her

motion to set aside within a reasonable time within the meaning of the Tennessee Rules of

Civil Procedure. We agree with Employer on both counts.

As the trial court correctly noted in its initial denial of the motion to set aside, dated

October 7, 2021, it did not have authority to determine the validity of court orders issued

in another state in another cause of action. It, and we, are compelled pursuant to the United

States Constitution and the statutes of the state of Tennessee to give full faith and credit to

the “public Acts, Records, and judicial Proceedings” of other states when they are properly

authenticated. See U.S. Const., art. IV, §1; see also Tenn. Code Ann. § 26-6-101 et seq.

These mandates apply to all courts in the state of Tennessee. The record on appeal contains

no evidence whatsoever that a Georgia court has invalidated or declared void any order

issued by the Probate Court in this case. Thus, we conclude that there is no evidence in the

record supporting Employee’s contention that Conservator Jenkins and Guardian Gorman

were improperly appointed and/or that Attorney Roberts was improperly retained to

represent Employee’s interests and present the negotiated settlement to the trial court for

approval.

Furthermore, for a judgment to be set aside due to voidness or for “any other reason

justifying relief,” as stated in Rule 60.02, the party seeking the relief must file the motion

within a “reasonable time.” The trial court concluded that the fifteen months that elapsed

10

between the termination of Employee’s conservatorship and her filing the motion to set

aside was not a reasonable time. 7

“Whether a Rule 60.02[] motion is filed within a reasonable time is a question of

fact for the trial court, and [we] will review the trial court’s determination under the abuse

of discretion standard.” Walker v. Nissan N. Am., Inc., No. M2009-00273-COA-R3-CV,

2009 Tenn. App. LEXIS 585, at *6 (Tenn. Ct. App. Aug. 21, 2009) (citing Rogers v. Estate

of Russell, 50 S.W.3d 441, 445 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2001)). An abuse of discretion occurs if

the trial court “applied incorrect legal standards, reached an illogical conclusion, based its

decision on a clearly erroneous assessment of the evidence, or employ[ed] reasoning that

causes an injustice to the complaining party.” Konvalinka v. Chattanooga-Hamilton Cnty.

Hosp. Auth., 249 S.W.3d 346, 358 (Tenn. 2008). Here, the order terminating the

conservatorship was entered by a Missouri court on October 25, 2022, but the most recent

motion to set aside the workers’ compensation settlement was not filed until January 24,

2024, approximately fifteen months later. Employee has offered no explanation for this

delay. Thus, we conclude the trial court did not abuse its discretion in finding that the

amount of time that passed between Employee’s regaining legal capacity and the filing of

her motion to set aside the settlement was not reasonable. As such, the court’s

determination in that regard is also affirmed.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order in all respects and certify

it as final. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

7

There has been at least one workers’ compensation settlement set aside after a longer period of time. In

Dennis v. Erin Truckways, Ltd., the employee sought to have his workers’ compensation settlement set

aside twenty-two months after the initial settlement agreement had been approved. Dennis v. Erin

Truckways, Ltd., 188 S.W.3d 578, 585-586 (Tenn. 2006). However, the employee in that case requested

the settlement be deemed void for a lack of compliance with Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-206,

which at the time required the Commissioner’s designee, if the settlement was not being approved in a court

of law, to confirm “the employee is receiving, substantially, the benefits provided by the Workers’

Compensation Law.” Id. at 587; see also Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-206(c)(1)(B) (2005). Further, the

employee in Dennis was not informed of his right to have his settlement approved by a judge in a court of

law rather than a designee at the Tennessee Department of Labor. Id. at 587; see also Tenn. Code Ann. §

50-6-206(c)(3)(B) (2005). The Supreme Court agreed that the approval of the settlement did not comply

with the procedural safeguards mandated by Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-206 and set aside the

settlement. Dennis, at 588-589. Furthermore, it specifically determined it need not analyze whether the

settlement could be set aside under Rule 60.02 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure as “the trial court

did not rely on [that] rule in setting aside the settlement.” Id. at 589. Tennessee Code Annotated section

50-6-206 has since been repealed, and now the sole authority to approve workers’ compensation settlements

lies with the judges of the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated

sections 50-6-238(a)(3) and 50-6-240. In circumstances such as are present in this case, they are required

to determine the settlement provides “substantially” the benefits to which the employee is entitled under

the Workers’ Compensation Act. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-240(a) (2023). The trial court’s order approving

the settlement confirms that it made that determination in this case.

11

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Lauren Taylor ) Docket No. 2020-06-0517

)

v. ) State File No. 34641-2019

)

John & Stephanie Ingram, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 9th day

of August, 2024.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Lauren Taylor X laurentaylor135@hotmail.com

Elaine Taylor rosewood321@icloud.com

John Barringer X jbarringer@manierherod.com

Jenna Macnair jmacnair@manierherod.com

sknack@manierherod.com

Jeffrey S. Roberts X jeff@middletninjury.com

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Matthew Keene

Acting Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-532-1564

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.