Opinion

Allstate Insurance Company v. Diana Lynn Tarrant

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Oct 21, 2010
Status
Published
On the bench
Presiding Judge Herschel Pickens Franks
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.3%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT KNOXVILLE August 30, 2010 Session

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY, v. DIANA LYNN TARRANT, et al.

Appeal from the Chancery Court for Sevier County No.

08-10-463 Hon. Telford E. Forgety, Jr., Chancellor

No. E2009-02431-COA-R3-CV - FILED OCTOBER 21, 2010

Plaintiff insurer brought this declaratory judgment action to determine which of the two policies

issued to defendants insured and their corporation, covered a van which had been involved in an

accident. Plaintiff named the insureds as defendants, as well as the third party who had filed a tort

action against the insureds for personal injuries. The Trial Court conducted an evidentiary hearing

and ruled that the insureds had told the agency plaintiff to keep the van in dispute on the commercial

policy, but it had transferred the van to the insureds' personal policy. The Court further ruled that a

notice of the transfer was sent to the insureds by plaintiff, and plaintiff sent at least five bills to the

insureds that reflected the van was then insured under the personal policy and not the commercial

policy. The Court concluded that the insureds ratified the change and ruled that the van was insured

under the insureds personal policy. On appeal, we reverse and dismiss the action.

Tenn. R. App. P.3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Chancery Court Reversed and the

Case Dismissed.

HERSCHEL PICKENS FRANKS , P.J., delivered the opinion of the Court, in which CHARLES D.

SUSANO , JR ., J., and. D. MICHAEL SW INEY , J., joined.

Billy J. Stokes and Jon M. Cope, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the appellants.

David L. Franklin, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the appellee.

OPINION

-1

In this Declaratory Judgment action brought by plaintiff/appellee Allstate Insurance Company

(Allstate) on October 17, 2008, the complaint for declaratory judgment asked the Court to determine

which of two insurance policies covered the defendants’ 2002 Chrysler Town & Country van that

had been involved in an accident. The defendants, who owned the Town & Country van, are Diana

Tarrant, John Tarrant, and Blue Ribbon Cleaning, Inc. The Tarrants are the sole shareholders in Blue

Ribbon Cleaning, and the accident giving rise to this action occurred on June 17, 2005 when a

motorcycle driven by defendant Charles E. Leatherwood and the Town & Country van driven by

Diane Tarrant collided. Leatherwood then filed suit against the Tarrants on May 11, 2006.

At the time of the accident the Tarrants owned several vehicles individually, which were used

by their business, Blue Ribbon. The Town & Country van at issue was leased by Blue Ribbon. In

March, 2005, the Tarrants and/or Blue Ribbon insured six vehicles, including the Town & Country

van,under an Allstate commercialpolicywith liabilitypolicy limits of $500,000.00 combined single

limits. At the same time, Mr. Tarrant insured two other vehicles, a camper and a 1993 BMW, under

an Allstate personal lines policy that provided liability coverage of $100,000.00 per person and

$300,000 per accident. The complaint alleged that in the latter part of March 2005 the commercial

policy came up for renewal and Mr. Tarrant asked the Lonnie Jones Agency of Knoxville, an agent

for Allstate, to move several vehicles from the commercial policy to the personal policy in an effort

to decrease the premiums. The Lonnie Jones Agency complied with this request and moved three

vehicles, including the Town & Country van, from the commercial policy to the personal policy. The

complaint alleges that the change was effected bya policyendorsement on April 4, 2005. Mr. Tarrant

maintains that he never instructed the Lonnie Jones Agency to move the Town & Country van to the

personal policy from the commercial policy and that the agency did so without his knowledge,

permission or consent. The Tarrants insisted that their liability coverage is $500,000.00 for the

accident with Mr. Leatherwood, which is the policy limits of the commercial policy. Plaintiff, on the

other hand, believes the coverage provided to the Tarrants is $100,000.00 pursuant to the personal

policy. Accordingly, Allstate asked for a declaratory judgment for a determination of which policy

applies to this loss.

The Tarrants filed an answer,denying that theyever intended to have the Chrysler van

moved from the commercial policy to a personal policy as the van was leased in the name of

Blue Ribbon Cleaning, Inc., paid for by Blue Ribbon and used for the business purposes of Blue

Ribbon and they claimed they had not authorized the change in coverage for the van. The

Tarrants requested that the Court declare that the Chrysler van was covered by the

commercialpolicyand thatanymodifications made to the policybythe Lonnie Jones Agency was by

mistake of the agent and that they had no knowledge of the change in coverage until after the

accident occurred. The answer contains a general pray for relief of “further and general relief as

justice in this cause may require upon the hearing of this matter.”

The Tarrants did not ask the Court to reform the policy in their answer, and defendant

Leatherwood likewise filed an answer and he did not request reformation of the contract of insurance

either.

-2

Leatherwood,in his answer,stated thatthe change in coverage was based on a mistake made

by the Lonnie Jones Agency and that Tarrant had not instructed the agency to make the change.

Leatherwood argued that “an insurance company is estopped to take advantage of a condition which

its agent by mistake or negligence has failed to handle properly in a policy”, citing, Henry v.

Southern Fire & Cas. Co., 330 S.W.2d 18, 32-33 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1958.)

The case was tried on September 22, 2009, and an order of judgment was entered on October

22, 2009. The Court sustained Allstate’s declaratory judgment action and held that the 2002 Chrysler

Town & Country van was covered by the Allstate personal lines policy when the accident occurred.

The Court incorporated its Memorandum Opinion as part of the judgment.

The Tarrants and Leatherwood have appealed.

At the time of the trial the Tarrants were the sole shareholders of Blue Ribbon Cleaning,

Inc. (Blue Ribbon). The Tarrants had operated this business for twenty-eight years, and had a

personal lines insurance policy with Allstate Insurance Company, and before purchasing the

Town & Country van at issue, all of the Tarrants’ vehicles were registered to John Tarrant and

insured under the personal policy. The Chrysler Town & Country van was leased in Blue

Ribbons’ name and Tarrant was told by an Allstate Agent that “anything that we used for

employees or business was to be put under the commercial line. . . .”. Thereafter, Allstate created

a commercial policy with Blue Ribbon as the named insured, and Tarrant explained that based on

the information he received from Allstate, he “realized that we needed to have everything that is

commercial under that policy.” Most of his vehicles were switched over to the commercial policy

which was converted to a fleet policy.

At the time the Town & Country van was leased and put on the commercial policy, Allstate’s

agents acquired all information on the van from the dealership, including the names of the lien holder

and lessee, as well as the type of vehicle it was, the amount of the lien, the name of the lessor, and

the value of the vehicle at the time of sale. However, Allstate’s computerized records did not show

that there was a lien holder and showed that the van was owned by John Tarrant, rather than showing

it was leased to Blue Ribbon.

In early 2005, Mr. Tarrant received a renewal notice from Allstate that showed an increase

in his premium rates. Jones, owner of the Lonnie Jones Agency, testified that it was Mr. Tarrant’s

custom to place a call to him each year when the renewal notice went out to seek a reduction in

premiums. Jones said that Tarrant was always very open with him that if Allstate could not reduce

the premiums to Tarrant’s satisfaction, he would take his insurance business elsewhere. Jones stated

that Tarrant was “real adamant about that and kind of takes a threatening position to me.” True to

form, Tarrant called Jones after receiving the renewalnotice and,followingadiscussionregarding

whetherthe premium rates could be decreased, Jones transferred Mr. Tarrant to one of the licensed

insurance agents in his office, Patricia Smith, to continue the discussion.

Tarrant recalls that he and Ms. Smith discussed several possible ways the premiums could

-3

be decreased. Ms. Smith testified at trial that she had absolutelyno recollection of this

conversation and she could only state what her customary practices were when discussing

changes in policies with an insured. She stated that her usual practice was to take notes during

the conversation and then run a proposal based on the scenario that was decided upon. She said

she would not have retained the notes she took of the discussion.

Mr. Tarrant testified that he requested a quote for leaving all of the four vans on the

commercial policy but transferring all other vehicles to his personal policy. He stated that Ms. Smith

provided him with a quote based on his request. He then instructed her to retain all of the vans on

the commercial policy and to place the other vehicles on the personal policy. Despite Ms. Smith’s

unequivocal testimony that she had absolutely no recollection of any of the conversations with Mr.

Tarrant and no recollection of her making the actual changes to the policy, she then stated that Mr.

Tarrant told her to put the Town & Country van on the personal policy. She explained to the Court

this statement was based on the fact that she moved the Town & Country van to the personal policy

and that she would not have transferred it if she had not been instructed to do so. On the other hand,

Mr. Tarrant testified that he clearly remembered that he told Ms. Smith to retain all of the vans on

the commercial policy. The Trial Judge stated that he found Mr. Tarrant’s testimony on this issue

credible and uncontradicted as neither Mr. Jones nor Ms. Smith had any recollection of these

conversations and there was no other evidence to rebut Mr. Tarrant’s statements.

Ms. Smith transferred the Town & Country van to the personal policy along with the Lexus

car and the Dodge truck. Ms. Smith and Mr. Jones both admitted on cross examination, after being

impeached with their testimony, that the Town & Country van, which was leased, registered and

licensed to Blue Ribbon, should not have been placed on a personal lines policy. However, because

of apparent faulty computer record keeping on the part of Allstate, Ms. Smith stated that she did not

know at the time of the transfer that the Town & Country van was leased or that it was registered to

Blue Ribbon and not to Mr. Tarrant even though Allstate had acquired this information at the time

of the lease. Ms. Smith conceded that this information should have been in the computer record she

consulted when she made the policy transfers.

Tarrant testified that he did not learn that the Town & Country van had been transferred to

the personal line policy until Mr. Leatherwood filed suit against the Tarrants in October 2008 and

he consulted an attorney. At that time he found out that the insurance coverage on the van was

limited to $100,000.00, and at trial Allstate showed that Mr. Tarrant had been sent a packet from

Allstate that included notification of changes to his motor vehicle policy and his premium. The letter

is undated and Mr. Tarrant claimed that he had no recollection of receiving it.1The letter, which

makes no reference to a particular policy states in part:

We’ve sent along this mailing to verify the changes to your policy that you recently

1

An Allstate representative testified that the letter was mailed on March 25, 2005.

-4

requested. The changes took effect on 04/04/05. Please look over all the information in this

mailing and call us right away if you have any questions or if anything isn’t exactly right.

The accompanying Amended Policy Declarations includes these changes: The

addition of you 03 Dodge Trk Dr3500 2wd The addition of your 95 Lexus

Es300 A change in insurance coverage for your 02 Chrysler Town-Country.

A change in description for your 02 Chrysler Town-Country The addition of

the passive restraint discount 02 Chrysler Town-Country The deletion of one

or more operators

Your premium for the current policy period has been increased by a total of $573.26.

The letter goes on to reference an Amended PolicyDeclarations and urges the insured to

compare the enclosed Amended Policy Declarations to a previous Policy Declaration to see “any

changes in detail.” In closing, the insured was again asked to contact the agent with any questions

or concerns and is signed “Lonnie Jones, Jr. Your Allstate Agent”.

The Amended Policy Declarations that was included in the packet with the above quoted

letter lists the 02 Chrysler Town-Country.

Allstate also presented evidence that Mr. Tarrant had received and paid several bills for

premiums on each Allstate policy between the time the Chrysler Town & Country van was

transferred to personal policy and the accident on June 17, 2005. The bills for the commercial policy

describe the vehicles covered as “01 Econoline, 98 Ram Van 1500 and 84 Ram Wag 8150". The

Town & Country van is not listed as a covered vehicle on the bills associated with the commercial

policy.

Mr. Tarrant claimed that he had received and paid these bills but that he had not looked at

the bills. He explained that it was the practice at Blue Ribbon for his daughter and secretary to

receive the bills, tear off the payment stubs from the bills, prepare a check and hand the stub and

check to him for signature. She would then mail the check and stub and file the bill.

In its memorandum opinion issued orallyfrom the bench at the conclusion of the trial, the

Trial Court made the following findings to support its conclusion that the Chrysler Town & Country

van was covered by the personal policy and not the commercial policy:

1. The court found that all of the witnesses were credible, honest and straight

forward.

2. Mr. Tarrant told Ms. Smith to keep the vans on the commercial policy.

3. Ms. Smith transferred the Chrysler Town & Country van to the personal policy.

4. The court stated that “the case may boil down to just nothing more than a

misunderstanding about whatone side meantone thing aboutthe word van and the other side

-5

honestly understood another thing about it.”2

5. The notice of transfer of the Chrysler Town & Country van was sent to Mr.

Tarrant by Allstate and he received it, although he claims to not recall getting it.

6. Between the mailing of the notification of transfer and the underlying accident

involving Mr. Leatherwood, Allstate sent at least five bills to Mr. Tarrant, which show on

their face that the Chrysler Town & Country van was insured under the personal policy and

not the commercial policy.

7. The fact that Mr. Tarrant told Ms. Smith to keep the vans on the commercial policy

and that she transferred the Chrysler Town & Country van to the personal police was a “good

faith” “misunderstanding” about what the meaning of “van” was.

8. Mr. Tarrant was notified of the transfer by letter of March 23, 2005 and he should

have known of the “misunderstanding” at that time.

9. Mr. Tarrant should have known of the “misunderstanding” based on the

multiple bills sent to him by Allstate that showed that the Chrysler Town &

Country van was transferred to the personal policy.

10. The court found that Mr. Tarrant ratified the “misunderstanding’ because he was

notified of the transfer by the March letter and the numerous bills.

The issues presented for review are:

A. Whether the Trial Court erred when it did not reform the insurance contract

B. Whether the Trial Court erred when it found that the insured ratified the mistake

made by the insurer?

C. Whether the Trial Court erred when it found that the insurer was not estopped from

denying coverage to the insured under the commercial policy due to the insured’s ratification

of the mistake?

In a non-jury trial, our standard of review is de novo. Wright v. City of Knoxville, 898

S.W.2d 177, 181 (Tenn.1995). There is a presumption of correctness as to the trial court's

findings of fact, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise. Tenn. R. App. P. 13(d).

With respect to the trial court's legal conclusions, however, there is no presumption of

correctness. Bowden v. Ward, 27 S.W.3d 913, 916 (Tenn. 2000); Tenn. R. App. P. 13(d). This

Court reviews credibility determinations made by the trial court with great deference. Keaton v.

Hancock County Bd. of Educ., 119 S.W.3d 218, 223 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2003). This is because trial

courts, unlike appellate courts, can observe witnesses as they testify and can draw inferences

from theirappearanceanddemeanor. Hopper v.Moling,No.W2004-02410COA-R3-CV,2005 WL

2077650 at*7,(Tenn.Ct.App.Aug.26,2005)(citing State v.Pruett, 788 S.W.2d 559, 561 (Tenn.

2

There was no evidence at trial that there was such a misunderstanding.

-6

1990). Thus, the trial court is in the best position to resolve factual issues that hinge on

credibility and the appellate court will not re-evaluate a trial court’s assessment of a witness’s

credibility absent clear and convincing evidence to the contrary. Hopper, 2005 WL 2077650 at

*7.

Appellants’ first issue is that the Trial Court erred when itfailed to reform the contract of

insurance based on a mutual mistake of the insurer and the insured. This Court recently discussed

the remedy of reformation of contract in Peatross v. Shelby County, No. W200802385-COA-R3-CV,

2009 WL 2922797 (Tenn. Ct. App. Sep. 10, 2009) as follows:

“[C]ourts have the power to alter the terms of a written contract where, at the time it was

executed, both parties were operating under a mutual mistake of fact or law regarding a

basic assumption underlying the bargain.” Sikora v. Vanderploeg, 212 S.W.3d 277, 286

(Tenn. Ct. App.2006). Courts may also “modify the provisions of a written contract where

only one of the parties was operating under a mistake of fact or law if the mistake was

influenced by the other party's fraud.” Id. The goal of reformation is to “make the contract

‘conform to the real intention of the parties.’ “ Id. at 287 (quoting Lebo v. Green, 221 Tenn.

301, 426 S.W.2d 489, 494 (Tenn.1968)). Because the law favors the validity of written

agreements, the party seeking to reform the agreement must prove the mistake by clear and

convincing evidence. Id. at 287.

Peatross at * 5 (emphasis added).

Allstate contends that the issues of reformation of the insurance contract and of mutual

mistake are not appropriate matters for appeal as they were never raised in the trial court. A

review of the record confirms Allstate's position. The issue of reformation was neverraised in the

complaint,the answers,Leatherwood’s trialbrief,the transcriptof the trial or the Trial Court’s

judgment or memorandum opinion. For a court to reform a contract, there must be evidence of a

mutual mistake of both parties or fraud on the part of one party in the making of the contract.

Here there was no such evidence. In fact, Mr. Tarrant was adamant that he had told Ms. Smith to

leave the Town & Country van on the commercial policy and Ms. Smith testified that Mr. Tarrant

must have told her to transfer the van to the personal policy or she would not have done so. The

Trial Court did not find a mutual mistake. Instead it found that Ms. Smith, perhaps by

misunderstanding Mr. Tarrant’s use of the word “van”, had made the “good faith” mistake of

transferring the Chrysler Town & Country van to the personal policy. Thus, the mistake here was

one sided and not mutual. Nor was there any evidence to support a finding of fraud on the part of

either party. Accordingly, the issue of reformation was not raised in the pleadings or in argument

and it was not supported by the evidence. It is well established in Tennessee that issues not raised

in the trial court cannot be raised for the first time on appeal. Correll v. E.I. DuPont de Nemours

& Co., 207 S.W.3d 751, 757 (Tenn. 2006)(citing Simpson v. Frontier Cmty. Credit Union, 810

S.W.2d 147, 153 (Tenn.1991).

-7

Appellants contend thatthe TrialCourterred when itheld thatMr.Tarranthad ratified Ms.

Smith’s mistake of transferring the Town & Country van to the personal policy. Appellee’s

support the Trial Court’s finding of ratification by relying on Webber v. State Farm Mutual

Automobile Ins. Co., 49 S.W.3d 265 (Tenn. 2001) wherein the Supreme Court held that an

insured had ratified his mother-in-law’s selection of low uninsured motorist coverage on his

policybased on agencyprinciples. However, for the holdings of Webber and the other ratification

cases relied on by Allstate to support a finding that Mr. Tarrant ratified Ms. Smith’s transfer of

the van to the personal policy, there must first be a finding that an agency relationship existed

between Ms. Smith and Mr. Tarrant or that Ms. Smith included the Town & Country van on the

personal insurance policy for the benefit of Mr. Tarrant. A finding of an principal/agent

relationship between Mr. Tarrant and Ms. Smith is statutorily precluded by Tenn. Code Ann. §

56-6-115 (b) as follows:

An insurance producer who solicits or negotiates an application for insurance shall be

regarded, in any controversy arising from the application for insurance or any policy issued

in connection with the application between the insured or insured's beneficiary and the

insurer, as the agent of the insurer and not the insured or insured's beneficiary. This

subsection (b) shall not affect the apparent authority of an agent.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-115 (b)(emphasis added).

The purpose of § 56-6-115(b) is to prevent an insurance company from denying responsibility

for the representations and actions of its agent from whom an application for insurance is voluntarily

accepted and to protect an applicant who relies on such representations and actions of the insurer's

agent. Acuity Mut. Ins. Co. v. Frye, 699 F. Supp.2d 975, 986 (E. D. Tenn. 2010)3. The statute is

liberally construed in the insured's favor. Id. (citing Bill Brown Construction Co., Inc. v. Glens Falls

Ins. Co., 818 S.W.2d 1, 4 (Tenn.1991) (discussing former Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-147, the

predecessor to Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-115(b)); Ralph v. Pipkin, 183 S.W.3d 362, 371 (Tenn.

App.2005); Industrial Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Trinkle, 30 Tenn. App. 243, 204 S.W.2d 827

(1947)).

Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-102(6) provides the definition of “[i]nsurance producer” as a person

required to be licensed under the laws of this state to sell, solicit or negotiate insurance. Patricia

Smith is an “insurance producer” under this statute as she is licensed under Tennessee law to sell,

solicit and negotiate insurance which she does as an associate of the Lonnie Jones Insurance Agent

on behalf of Allstate. According to Tenn. Code Ann. 56-6-115(b), in the context of this litigation,

which arose from an application for insurance and the policy issued, Ms. Smith is the agent of

Allstate and cannot be considered the agent of the insured, Mr. Tarrant or Blue Ribbon.

3

Acuity Mut. Ins. Co. v. Frye was decided based on Tennessee law.

-8

Tennessee law provides, however, that a principal can ratify a contract made by a person

not his agent under certain circumstances. This Court, in Monumental Life Ins. Co.

v. Puckett, No. W2005-00083-COA-R3- CV, 2006 WL 44037 (Tenn. Ct. App. Jan.9, 2006)

discussed ratification of a non-authorized contract as follows:

A fundamental principle of agency law is that "[a] principal is bound neither by contracts

made by a person not his agent, nor by those of his agent beyond the scope of his actual and

apparent authority, which he has not ratified and is not estopped to deny." See, e.g., Bells

Banking Co. v. Jackson Ctr., Inc., 938 S.W.2d 421, 425 (Tenn. Ct. App.1996). Although an

unauthorized contract is generally voidable by the principal, a principal who ratifies that

contract is bound by its terms as if he or she had executed it originally. See 12 Williston on

Contracts § 35.22 (4th ed.1999) (stating that ratification by a principal "relates back and

supplies original authority to execute the contract"). Ratification of a contract occurs when

one approves, adopts, or confirms a contract previously executed "by another[,] in his

stead and for his benefit, but without his authority." James v. Klar & Winterman, 118

S.W.2d 625, 627 (Tex. Ct. App.1938); see also Gay v. City of Somerville, 878 S.W.2d 124,

127 (Tenn. Ct. App.1994) (defining "ratification" as "the express or implied adoption and

confirmation by one person of an act or contract performed or entered into in his behalf by

another who assumed to act as his agent without authority so to do"). Simply stated,

"ratification is confirmation after conduct." Gay, 878 S.W.2d at 127. Before ratification of

an unauthorized transaction will be considered valid and binding, the principal must have "

'full knowledge, at the time of the ratification, of all material facts and circumstances relative

to the unauthorized act or transaction.' " Gough v. Insurance Co. of N. Am., 157 Tenn. 546,

549-50, 11 S.W.2d 887, 888 (1928) (quoting 2 C.J. § 476). Because ratification is usually a

question of the principal's intent, this issue is generally regarded as a question of fact to be

determined from all of the surrounding circumstances. See Absar v. Jones, 833 S.W.2d 86,

89 (Tenn. Ct. App.1992); Stainback v. Junk Bros. Lumber & Mfg. Co., 98 Tenn. 306, 311,

39 S.W. 530, 531 (1897). However, ratification may be established "from the conductof the

purported principal manifesting that he consents to be a party to the transaction or from

conduct justifiable only if there is a ratification." Osborne Co. v. Baker, 35 Tenn.App. 300,

305, 245 S.W.2d 419, 421 (1951). Webber v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 49 S.W.3d 265,

269-70 (Tenn.2001) (footnote omitted). "As a general rule, when a knowledge of the

unauthorized transaction of the agent comes to the principal, he must with reasonable

promptness disaffirm the acts of the agent, or he will be held bound thereby." Whitfield v.

May, 19 Tenn.App. 431, 89 S.W.2d 764, 769 (1935) (citations omitted). "Silence can amount

to a ratification where a party with knowledge of the transaction fails for a reasonable time

to protest or dissent." Valley Fid. Bank & Trust Co. v. Cain P'ship, Ltd., 738 S.W.2d 638,

640 (Tenn.Ct.App.1987)(citing McClurev.Evartson and Mottley,82 Tenn.495 (1884)).

Monumental Life at * 3.

Based on the foregoing analysis of the principles underlying ratification, the Trial Court erred

when it held that Mr. Tarrant had ratified Ms. Smith’s mistake of transferring the Town & Country

-9

van to the personal policy. First, the act of transfer of the van from one policy to another policy by

Ms. Smith would have to have been performed in Mr. Tarrant’s “stead” and for his “benefit”. There

was no evidence that Ms. Smith’s actions were undertaken in the place of Mr. Tarrant. The testimony

from Mr. Tarrant, which the Court found to be credible, was that he told her to keep the vans on the

commercial policy, thus he acted on behalf of himself. Further, Ms. Smith never testified that she

acted in the place of Mr. Tarrant, she testified that she must have been instructed by him to move the

van to the personal policy or she would not have done so. The evidence also does not support a

finding that Ms. Smith was acting for the “benefit” of Mr. Tarrant when she transferred the van to

the personal policy. The testimony of Mr. Jones and Mr. Tarrant was that it was understood between

them that if Allstate could not deliver lower premiums, Mr. Tarrant would solicit bids from other

insurers, thus Ms. Smith’s actions in this transaction were designed to lower Mr. Tarrant’s premiums

so that Allstate and the Lonnie Jones Agency could keep his business. Therefore, Ms. Smith’s

transfer of the van without Mr. Tarrant’s agreement was not subject to ratification by Mr. Tarrant.

Appellee relies on Webber v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 49 S.W.3d 265 (Tenn.

2001) to support its contention that Mr. Tarrant had ratified Ms. Smith’s mistaken transfer of the

van to the personal policy. Appellee’s reliance on Webber, however is misplaced because of one

important difference. The facts of Webber are as follows: In July 1986, Ms. Brenda Southard

applied to have her daughter's then current automobile insurance policy reissued under her

daughter’s married name. At the same time, Ms. Southard requested coverage

forherson-in-law,Randal Webber’s automobile,which was previouslyuninsured, in amounts

identical to her daughter's policy. Ms. Southard requested the statutoryminimum amounts of UM

coverage on both policies. Thus, Ms. Southard applied for insurance for Mr. Webber’s vehicle

for his benefit. These policies remained unaltered since 1986. Id. at 268. In 1996, Mr. Webber

was involved in an automobile accident with an uninsured motorist and he made a claim under

the minimum coverage limits of his UM policy, however he requested the standard coverage

limits, arguing that he did not authorized his mother-in-law to get minimum limits and was not

aware that she had done so. Id. at 270. The Supreme Court noted that “[r]atification of a contract

occurs when one approves, adopts, or confirms a contract previously executed “by another [ ] in

his stead and for his benefit, but without his authority.” Id. (emphasis added). In Webber the

facts were clear that Ms. Southard had obtained the policyof insurance for her uninsured

son-in-law in his stead and for his benefit. The Supreme Court held that irrespective of whether

Ms. Southard was authorized by the plaintiff to apply for automobile insurance on his behalf, the

plaintiff, by bringing a suit to obtain benefits under this policy, has ratified the contract with the

defendant as a matter of law. Id. at 272. Thus, Webber is distinguished from the instant case,

as the contract of insurance was undertaken by Ms. Southard in the place of Mr. Webber doing so

for himself and she did so for his benefit. Ms. Smith’s actions were not in the “stead” of Mr.

Tarrant nor were they for his benefit.

The Trial Court’s finding of ratification was error and is reversed.

Appellants’ contend that the Trial Court erred when it did not find that Allstate was estopped

-10

from denying coverage under the commercial policy. Tennessee law is clear that an insurance

company cannot take advantage of a situation brought by its own agent’s mistake in writing

insurance policies. Henry v. Southern Fire & Cas. Co., 46 Tenn. App. 335, 360, 330 S.W.2d 18

(Tenn. App.1958). The Henry court stated: “ [i]n an action on a contract of insurance, the insurance

company is generally considered estopped to deny liability on any matter arising out of the fraud,

misconduct, or negligence of an agent of the company. If either party must suffer from an insurance

agent's mistake, it must be the insurance company, his principal.” Id. at 30. However, appellants have

ignored the fact that Allstate never denied coverage to the insured, thus the Trial Court could not

have ruled that Allstate be estopped from denying coverage. Allstate’s position is that the Town &

Country van was insured by the personal policy and that the insureds were due coverage up to the

limits of that policy. Appellants’ reliance on the doctrine of estoppel is, accordingly misplaced.

This Court has noted that “it is a universal general rule that an agent or broker of insurance

who,with a view to compensation forhis services,undertakes to procure insurance for another, and

unjustifiably and through his fault or neglect, fails to do so, will be held liable for any damage

resulting therefrom.” Ralph v. Pipkin, 183 S.W.3d 362, 371 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2005)(citing

Massengale v. Hicks, 639 S.W.2d 659, 660 (Tenn. Ct. App.1982)). As discussed, the Tennessee

Code, moreover, provides that an insurance agent who solicits or negotiates an application for

insurance shall be regarded as the agent of the insurer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-115(b)(2004 Supp.).

This statute has been liberally construed in favor of the insured, moreover, in order to “prevent the

insurance company from denying responsibility for representations and actions from the agent from

whom applications are voluntarily accepted and to protect an applicant who relies on such

representations or actions.” Ralph v. Pipkin at 371 (citing Bill Brown Const. v. Glens Falls Ins., 818

S.W.2d 1, 4 (Tenn.1991) (quoting 15 Tenn. Jurisprudence, Insurance, § 9 at 180-81(1984)(quoting

Industrial Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Trinkle, 30 Tenn.App. 243, 204 S.W.2d 827 (1947))).

The preponderance of the evidence is that Mr. Tarrant told Ms. Smith to leave all of the vans

on the commercial policy. The evidence also preponderates in favor of a finding that Ms. Smith, by

mistake or negligence, transferred the Chrysler Town & Country van to the personal policy. Her

failure to carry out the instructions of the insured to keep the van on the commercial policy resulted

in a decrease in the amount of insurance funds available to pay a judgment in Leatherwood tort

action. The difference in coverage between the personal policy and the commercial policy was

$400,000.00. Allstate is responsible for the

actions or failure to act of Ms. Smith. But for the actions of Ms. Smith, the insured would

have insurance coverage as provided in the commercial policy to apply to the Leatherwood suit.

Further, the fact that Mr. Tarrant received notice of the transfer of the Town & Country van

and that he paid invoices that indicated that the Town & Country van was covered by the personal

policy cannot absolve Allstate from liability. The Court in Allstate Ins. Co. v. Fox, No. 134, 1990

WL 8058 (Tenn. App. Feb/ 6, 1990) stated that the fact that a purchaser of an insurance policy did

not read the liability policy tendered to him did not preclude a recovery by the insured. The Court

noted that courts will take judicial notice of the fact that it is customary for insureds to accept

policies and keep them without reading them. The Court went on to state that it would take judicial

notice of the fact that it is customary for insureds to accept insurance policies, read them, keep them,

and not understand the policy and the coverage they afford. Generally people who purchase an

insurance policy put their faith in the agents to sell them the desired coverage. Fox at *3 (citing

Henry v. Southern Fire & Cas. Co., 330 S.W.2d 18, 32 - 33 (Tenn. App. 1958)). As in Fox this Court

takes judicial notice that insureds often do not read the policies provided to them by their insurers.

In fact, Mr. Tarrant testified that he trusted the Lonnie Jones agency to do what he asked as he had

dealt with that agency for almost twenty years.

Taking Mr. Tarrant's testimony as true, as we must, as he was found credible by the Trial

Court, the agent of Allstate failed to follow his directions as to the insurance coverage on the van at

issue. The evidence preponderates that Allstate, through its agent, failed to insure the van as directed

by the insured.

Accordingly, the Judgment of the Trial Court is reversed and the case dismissed without

prejudice to any of the parties, with the cost of the appeal taxed to Allstate Insurance Company.

_________________________________

HERSCHEL PICKENS FRANKS, P.J.

-13

-12

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.