Opinion

Williams, Judy v. Tennessee Farmers Cooperative Risk Management d/b/a Smoky Mountain Farmers Cooperative

  • 2024 TN WC App. 29
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Jul 25, 2024
Status
Published
On the bench
Godkin, Conner, Weaver
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.3%

The opinion

FILED

Jul 25, 2024

01:07 PM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Judy Williams ) Docket No. 2023-03-3926

)

v. ) State File No. 114475-2019

)

Tennessee Farmers Cooperative Risk )

Management d/b/a Smoky Mountain )

Farmers Cooperative, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Lisa A. Lowe, Judge )

Affirmed as Modified and Remanded

This interlocutory appeal presents an issue of first impression concerning statutory

construction. We are asked in this case to determine whether an employer is entitled to the

Social Security offset outlined in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(4)(A)(i) if

the effect of applying the offset lowers an employee’s weekly workers’ compensation rate

to below the “minimum weekly benefit” as defined by statute. The employee was already

receiving Social Security retirement benefits when she fell and injured her right arm at

work. Following medical treatment, she alleged she was permanently and totally disabled

as a result of the injury. Although the employer accepted the compensability of the claim,

it filed a motion for partial summary judgment asking the court to set the appropriate

compensation rate because, if the Social Security offset was applied, the employee’s

weekly benefit amount would be less than the statutory minimum compensation rate. The

trial court determined that even though the statute provided an offset, the employer must

nonetheless pay the minimum weekly benefit for the employee’s permanent disability. The

employer has appealed. Upon careful consideration of the record, we affirm the trial

court’s order as modified and remand the case.

Judge Meredith B. Weaver delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

Lee Anne Murray and Taylor R. Pruitt, Brentwood, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant,

Tennessee Farmers Cooperative Risk Management d/b/a Smoky Mountain Farmers

Cooperative

1

George R. Garrison, Sevierville, Tennessee, for the appellee, Judy Williams

Factual and Procedural Background

The facts in this case are largely undisputed. Judy Williams (“Employee”) was

working for Tennessee Farmers Cooperative Risk Management d/b/a Smoky Mountain

Farmers Cooperative (“Employer”) on December 2, 2019, when she tripped and fell,

injuring her right arm. Employer accepted the claim as compensable, and Employee

received authorized medical treatment. On April 24, 2023, Dr. Edwin Spencer, Jr., opined

Employee was at maximum medical improvement for a non-union of a humerus fracture

and assigned a 5% permanent impairment rating. Shortly thereafter, Employee filed a

petition for benefit determination seeking permanent disability benefits.

At the time of the injury, Employee was 63 years old and was already receiving

Social Security retirement benefits of $1,003.00 per month, or $231.46 per week. 1 Due to

Employee’s age, the parties agreed that the most Employee could receive in workers’

compensation permanent disability is 260 weeks of benefits pursuant to Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-207(4)(A)(i). They further agreed that Employee’s average weekly

wage is $150.79, sixty-six and two-thirds of which is $100.53. However, the parties

acknowledged that the minimum weekly benefit for Employee’s date of injury is $144.00.

Moreover, also pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(4)(A)(i), the

parties agreed that if the Social Security offset applies, Employer would be entitled to a

weekly offset of 50% of Employee’s retirement benefits, or $115.73 per week. If applied,

this offset would lower Employee’s weekly benefit to $28.27. Given these calculations,

the parties disagreed as to whether Employer was entitled to the Social Security offset.

Based on this disagreement and the unanswered question of law, Employer filed a

motion for partial summary judgment. The trial court, relying on our recent decision in

Oldham v. Freeman Webb Co. Realtors, determined it could rule on the motion without

waiting for the compensation hearing, as the motion did not involve questions regarding

the credibility of witnesses or the compensability of the claim. See Oldham, No. 2022-03-

0420, 2024 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 8, at *12 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd.

Mar. 6, 2024). The court then examined the wording of Tennessee Code Annotated section

50-6-207(4)(A)(i) and found that, in reviewing the statutory construction, “when the offset

rate falls below the minimum rate, the minimum rate applies.” It went on to state that it

would be “inconsistent” and “unreasonable” to interpret the statute otherwise. Finally, it

determined that if Employee “is entitled to permanent total disability benefits, then those

benefits should be paid at the statutory minimum rate.” Employer has appealed.

1

This weekly amount is calculated by multiplying her monthly Social Security benefit by 12, then dividing

by 52.

2

Standard of Review

The interpretation and application of statutes and regulations are questions of law

that we review de novo with no presumption that the trial court’s conclusions are correct.

See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn.

2013). The grant or denial of a motion for summary judgment is also a question of law

that we review de novo with no presumption that the trial court’s conclusions are correct.

See Rye v. Women’s Care Ctr. of Memphis, MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250 (Tenn. 2015).

As such, we must “make a fresh determination of whether the requirements of Rule 56 of

the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied.” Id. We are also mindful of

our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and in

accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not favor

either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2023).

Analysis

In its brief, Employer argues that the Workers’ Compensation Law mandates its

entitlement to the Social Security offset identified in Tennessee Code Annotated section

50-6-207(4)(A)(i). The statute provides, in relevant part:

[W]ith respect to disabilities resulting from injuries that occur less than five

(5) years before the date when the employee is eligible for full benefits in the

Old Age Insurance Benefit Program . . . or after the employee is eligible for

such benefits, permanent total disability benefits are payable for a period of

two hundred sixty (260) weeks. The compensation payments shall be

reduced by the amount of any old age insurance benefit payments attributable

to employer contributions that the employee may receive under title 42,

chapter 7, title II of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. § 401 et seq.).

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-207(4)(A)(i) (2023) (emphasis added).

Thus, in the present case, Employer argues that the intent of this statute is to prevent

a “windfall” to an employee by prohibiting an employee from contemporaneously

receiving permanent disability benefits at his or her weekly compensation rate and the

benefit of employers’ contributions to his or her Social Security retirement benefit. In

Employer’s view, requiring it to pay the minimum weekly benefit in this case would

provide such a windfall and, in effect, allow Employee to receive duplicate benefits. 2 In

2

Employer also disputes a statement in the trial court’s order suggesting that it had stipulated Employee is

permanently totally disabled. Specifically, in the order that is the subject of this appeal, the trial court

stated: “the parties purport to have resolved all issues in this case ([Employee] is permanently totally

disabled).” We did not find that stipulation in the record, and Employee states in her brief on appeal that

although the parties have reached a tentative agreement regarding the extent of vocational disability, they

have “not yet announced [it] to the court.” As such, we conclude there is no stipulation in the record on

3

her brief on appeal, Employee argues that the statutory definition of the minimum

compensation rate, as well as the other provisions of the statute, make Employer’s payment

of the minimum weekly benefit mandatory, regardless of the offset.

“The benefits conferred by our Workers’ Compensation Act are purely statutory, and

the circumstances under which they are paid and the manner in which they are calculated

depend solely upon statutory authority.” Leatherwood v. United Parcel Service, 708

S.W.2d 396, 399 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1985). There are several important components of the

Act to consider in analyzing the legislative intent regarding this issue. First, the “minimum

weekly benefit” is defined as the “minimum compensation rate per week payable to the

worker . . . .” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(16) (2023). The required minimum weekly

benefit is referenced extensively in the schedule of compensation set out in Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-207, which governs how benefits are calculated, including

temporary total disability, temporary partial disability, permanent partial disability, and

permanent total disability. In relation to temporary total disability, the statute provides the

following benefits:

For injury producing temporary total disability, sixty-six and two-thirds

percent (66 2/3%) of the average weekly wages . . ., subject to the maximum

weekly benefit and minimum weekly benefit; provided that if the employee’s

average weekly wages are equal to or greater than the minimum weekly

benefit, the employee shall receive not less than the minimum weekly benefit;

and provided further that if the employee’s average weekly wages are less

than the minimum weekly benefit, the employee shall receive the full amount

of the employee’s average weekly wage, but in no event shall the

compensation paid be less than the minimum weekly benefit.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-207(1)(A) (2023) (emphases added). In relation to temporary

partial disability benefits, the statute states:

[T]he compensation shall be sixty-six and two-thirds percent (66 2/3%) of

the difference between the average weekly wage of the worker at the time of

the injury and the wage the worker is able to earn in the worker’s partially

disabled condition. . . . In no event shall the compensation be less than the

minimum weekly benefit.

appeal with respect to the extent of Employee’s permanent disability. However, our Supreme Court has

determined that the social security offset contained in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-207(4)(A)(i)

applies to both permanent total and permanent partial disability benefits. See McCoy v. T.T.C. Illinois, Inc.,

14 S.W.3d 734 (Tenn. 2000). Thus, our determination in this case applies to both types of permanent

benefits.

4

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-207(2)(A) (2023) (emphasis added). 3 Finally, in addition to the

Social Security offset language quoted above, Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-

207(4)(A)(i) also states that a permanently totally disabled employee is to receive the

following:

[S]ixty-six and two-thirds percent (66 2/3%) of the wages received at the

time of the injury, subject to the maximum weekly benefit and [the]

minimum weekly benefit; provided, that if the employee’s average weekly

wages are equal to or greater than the minimum weekly benefit, the employee

shall receive not less than the minimum weekly benefit; provided, further, that

if the employee’s average weekly wages are less than the minimum weekly

benefit, the employee shall receive the full amount of the employee’s average

weekly wages, but in no event shall the compensation paid be less than the

minimum weekly benefit.

(Emphases added.)

Thus, the critical question in this appeal is: if the “compensation paid” cannot be

less than the minimum weekly benefit, but it “shall be reduced” by employer contributions

to the employee’s old age benefits, did the legislature intend for the weekly amount of

permanent disability benefits paid by the employer ever to be reduced below the minimum

weekly benefit? We conclude it did not.

The most important objective of statutory construction is to determine the intent of

the legislature and give effect to that intent. Walker v. Sunrise Pontiac-GMC Truck, Inc.,

249 S.W.3d 301, 309 (Tenn. 2008). To achieve this objective, we begin by examining the

language of the statute in question. Curtis v. G.E. Capital Modular Space, 155 S.W.3d 877,

881 (Tenn. 2005). We must presume that “every word in a statute has meaning and

purpose.” Lanier v. Rains, 229 S.W.3d 656, 661 (Tenn. 2007). It is also well-settled that

“statutes ‘in pari materia’ -- those relating to the same subject or having a common purpose

-- are to be construed together, and the construction of one such statute, if doubtful, may

be aided by considering the words and legislative intent indicated by the language of

another statute.” Wilson v. Johnson Cnty, 879 S.W.2d 807, 809 (Tenn. 1994). As we have

previously stated,

[w]hen construing a statute, our goal is to ascertain and give effect to the

legislative intent without unduly restricting or expanding a statute’s coverage

beyond its intended scope. We determine legislative intent from the natural

and ordinary meaning of the statutory language within the context of the

3

Our analysis of this issue only addresses the statutory construction of this language in the context of

permanent total and permanent partial disability benefits.

5

entire statute without any forced or subtle construction that would extend or

limit the statute’s meaning.

Thompson v. Comcast Corp., No. 2017-05-0639, 2018 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS

1, at *24 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 30, 2018) (internal citations and quotation

marks omitted).

Here, when reviewing the Workers’ Compensation Law in toto, we note the

legislature repeatedly stated that “in no event” should the compensation paid for disability,

whether temporary or permanent, be less than the minimum weekly benefit. Yet, we must

also consider that most cases in which appellate courts have discussed the calculation of

compensation rates are pre-reform, and the courts often emphasized the remedial nature of

the statutes at issue. For example, in Mackie v. Young Sales Corp., 51 S.W.3d 554 (Tenn.

2001), the Tennessee Supreme Court, in addressing the calculation of the proper weekly

compensation rate, explained as follows:

This Court must interpret those statutes in a manner designed to protect

workers and their families from the economic devastation that, in many

instances, can follow on-the-job injuries. Furthermore, Tennessee’s

workers’ compensation laws must be construed so as to ensure that injured

employees are justly and appropriately reimbursed for debilitating injuries

suffered in the course of service to the employer.

Id. at 556; see also Cantrell v. Carrier Corp., 193 S.W.3d 467, 472 (Tenn. 2006) (citing

Mackie and stating “[o]ne of the purposes of the statute is to ‘provide injured workers with

periodic payments as a substitute for lost wages in a manner consistent with the worker’s

regular wage’” in holding that the dates an employee missed due to illness or disability

should be excluded in calculating the average weekly wage). Following the passage of the

2013 Workers’ Compensation Reform Act, however, courts can no longer interpret

workers’ compensation statutes “remedially or liberally,” and the law “shall not be

construed in a manner favoring either the employee or employer.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-116.

It is significant to note that, when enacting the reforms in 2013, the legislature did

not change the language of subsection 207(4)(A)(i) regarding either the Social Security

offset or the minimum weekly benefit. Moreover, we have found no evidence of a

legislative intent to subject employers to the requirements of the minimum weekly benefit

in every case except for cases in which the employee will be eligible for Social Security

retirement benefits in the five year period after maximum medical improvement, which is

the interpretation required to accept Employer’s argument. 4 Instead, we conclude that the

4

Specifically, in this case and similarly situated cases, Employer’s interpretation would result in a

significant windfall for the employer or its insurer, given that Employee was already receiving Social

6

language “in no event shall the compensation paid be less than the minimum weekly

benefit” is inclusive of those circumstances in which an employer can claim the benefit of

a Social Security offset. To accept Employer’s interpretation of the statutes would result

in certain employees being deprived of some or all permanent disability benefits despite

the Workers’ Compensation Law’s admonition that in no event shall an employer pay less

than the minimum weekly benefit. In sum, we find no support in the statute or binding

precedent for Employer’s argument that permanent disability benefits can be decreased by

the Social Security offset to the extent that the payments would be less than the minimum

weekly benefit. Therefore, we affirm the trial court’s denial of the motion for partial

summary judgment.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we modify the trial court’s order to reflect that there has

been no stipulation at this time regarding the extent of Employee’s permanent vocational

disability; we affirm the court’s order in all other respects; and we remand the case. Costs

on appeal are taxed to Employer.

Security retirement benefits at the time she began working for Employer and only worked for 24 weeks

before her injury. Thus, this employer made little to no contribution to Employee’s Social Security

retirement. Although case law is clear that an employer is given the benefit of all prior employers’

contributions when applying the Social Security offset, the statute also clearly states “in no event” can the

compensation paid be less than the minimum weekly benefit. See Cummings v. Express Courier Int’l, Inc.,

No. E2020-00548-SC-R3-WC, 2021 Tenn. LEXIS 55, at *14-15 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Feb. 17,

2021). As noted by the trial court, Employer’s interpretation would also lead to scenarios in which an

employee could be permanently totally disabled from an injury yet receive no workers’ compensation

disability benefits if that benefit were erased by the Social Security offset.

7

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Judy Williams ) Docket No. 2023-03-3926

)

v. ) State File No. 114475-2019

)

Tennessee Farmers Cooperative Risk )

Management d/b/a Smoky Mountain )

Farmers Cooperative, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Lisa A. Lowe, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 25th day

of July, 2024.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

George R. Garrison X georgegarrison@volsfirm.net

Lee Anne Murray X leeamurray@feeneymurray.com

Taylor R. Pruitt trp@feeneymurray.com

Lisa A. Lowe, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Matthew Keene

Acting Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-532-1564

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.