Opinion

Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund v. Workers Comp. App. Bd.

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jul 15, 2024
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.3%

The opinion

Filed 7/15/24

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION SIX

SUBSEQUENT INJURIES 2d Civ. No. B333633

BENEFITS TRUST FUND, (W.C.A.B. No. ADJ11362885)

(Santa Barbara District Office)

Petitioner,

v.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD et al.,

Respondents.

Petitioner Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund (Fund)

pays additional compensation to workers who suffer an industrial

injury that, when combined with pre-existing disabilities, causes

permanent disability equal to 70 percent or more. (Labor Code,

§ 4751. 1) Section 4753 requires this additional compensation to

“be reduced to the extent of any monetary payments received by

the employee, from any source whatsoever, for or on account of

such preexisting disability or impairment.” This reduction or

“credit” preserves state resources by ensuring applicants receive

1 All statutory references are to the Labor Code unless

stated otherwise.

benefits commensurate with their combined disabilities—no

more, no less.

Respondent Nancy Vargas applied for subsequent injury

benefits when she injured her foot at work. The Fund

acknowledged Vargas qualified for benefits but claimed section

4753 credit for a significant portion of the Social Security

Disability Insurance (SSDI) payments she began receiving after

her latest injury. Respondent Workers’ Compensation Appeals

Board (Board) determined the Fund was not entitled to credit,

concluding the Fund had not proven Vargas’s SSDI payments

were awarded “for or on account of” her pre-existing disabilities.

This petition for review challenges the Board’s decision.

The Fund contends the Board erred by placing the burden of

proof on the Fund to show Vargas received SSDI benefits “for or

on account of” her pre-existing disabilities. We affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Respondent Nancy Vargas drove a bus for the Santa

Barbara Metropolitan Transit District (district) for 25 years. She

injured her foot in March of 2018 while stepping off the driver’s

pedestal. Vargas settled her claim against the district in

December of 2020. They stipulated the injury caused permanent

disability of 26 percent and agreed on the amount of her weekly

indemnity payments going forward.

Vargas applied for subsequent injury benefits from the

Fund while her workers’ compensation case was pending. She

listed pre-existing disabilities to her back, upper extremities, left

knee, and right ankle. She disclosed filing one prior workers’

compensation case. Vargas confirmed she had applied for SSDI

in January of 2018 and was currently receiving monthly SSDI

payments of $940. The Board granted Vargas’s motion to join the

2

Fund as a defendant in her worker’s compensation case in July of

2021.

The Fund agreed Vargas was eligible for benefits. The

parties stipulated: (1) that Vargas had a “preexisting labor-

disabling disability”; (2) her subsequent injury, i.e., the March

2018 foot injury, caused permanent disability of 26 percent; and

(3) her combined disabilities meant she was now 100 percent

totally disabled. They also agreed Vargas met the “opposite

member” eligibility threshold for subsequent injury benefits

because she suffered injuries to both feet. The parties disputed,

however, the Fund’s right to section 4753 credit for Vargas’s

SSDI payments. 2 The issue went to trial in May of 2023. The

workers’ compensation judge (WCJ) admitted the parties’

stipulated facts and exhibits as evidence but heard no live

testimony.

Vargas introduced three medical reports as exhibits:

(1) one from an agreed medical examiner (AME) evaluating her

March 2018 foot injury; (2) one from a qualified medical examiner

(QME) “assess[ing] her nonindustrial internal medicine

disabilities,” both current and pre-existing; and (3) one from a

second QME evaluating her combined disabilities to determine

eligibility for subsequent injury benefits. The AME report rated

the March 2018 injury as causing whole person impairment

(WPI) of 15 percent. The first QME report rated internal

conditions such as liver disease, varicose veins, and COPD

(chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) as causing 51 percent

2 The parties’ pre-trial conference statement indicates the

Fund initially sought credit for both “SSDI and [disability

retirement] monies received by applicant.” The Fund’s petition

and supplemental briefs, however, refer only to credit for SSDI

payments.

3

WPI. The second QME report rated her pre-existing

impairments at 160 percent WPI. It concluded “the overall

combined effects of the previous pre-existing

disability/impairment and the subsequent impairment/disability

. . . is greater than that which would have resulted from the

subsequent injury alone and, goes well beyond the 70 [percent]

disability threshold pursuant [to] Labor Code [section] 4751.”

The Fund introduced an award letter from the Social Security

Administration (SSA) as an exhibit along with 1099 forms

reflecting the SSDI paid to date. The letter stated SSA

considered Vargas disabled as of April 18, 2018 and eligible to

receive payments starting in October of 2018.

Vargas’s pre-trial brief argued the Fund bore the burden to

prove what amount or percentage of the SSDI award was

attributable to her pre-existing disabilities. The Fund rebutted

the argument in a post-trial brief. “[I]n the absence of contrary

evidence,” the Fund wrote, “the Board should simply deduct the

permanent disability percentage attributed to the subsequent

compensable injury from the 100 percent permanent disability

found [by SSA].” The Fund thus proposed a 74 percent reduction

of benefits: her stipulated 26 percent subsequent injury rating

subtracted from her 100 percent SSDI disability award.

The WCJ found the Fund “ha[d] not met their burden to

show an entitlement to credit for social security disability award

nor any other disability retirement benefit.” The Board denied

the Fund’s petition for reconsideration, finding “section [4753]

does not state that credit is absolute. [The Fund] would need to

show that the monetary payment received is for or on account of

such pre-existing disability or impairment. [It] did not show that

in this case.” The Board noted Vargas’s award letter and

subsequent SSDI statements “did not describe the basis of the

4

benefit.” It concluded “[w]hat is before the court without

assumptions does not establish credit and therefore no credit was

awarded.”

We granted the Fund’s petition for a writ of review.

(§ 5950.)

DISCUSSION

The Fund contends the Board misinterpreted section 4753

by placing the burden on the Fund to prove its right to credit for

Vargas’s SSDI payments.

“‘In reviewing an award or decision made by the [Board],

we are governed by familiar principles. The [Board]’s factual

findings, when supported by substantial evidence, are binding on

us. [Citations.]’ [Citation.] ‘“‘“Questions of statutory

interpretation are, of course, for [a] court to decide.

[Citations.]”’”’ [Citation.] ‘However, although the [Board’s]

conclusions on questions of law are not binding on this court

[citation], and the interpretation of a labor statute is a legal

question subject to our independent review [citation], we

nevertheless “generally defer to the [Board’s] interpretation of

labor statutes unless clearly erroneous” [citation].’ [Citation.]”

(Meadowbrook Ins. Co. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (2019) 42

Cal.App.5th 432, 436.)

The provisions of the Worker’s Compensation Act “shall be

liberally construed by the courts with the purpose of extending

their benefits for the protection of persons injured in the course of

their employment.” (§ 3202.) “This command governs all aspects

of workers’ compensation; it applies to factual as well as

statutory construction.” (Arriaga v. County of Alameda (1995)

9 Cal.4th 1055, 1065.)

5

Burden of Proof

The Fund “is funded and administered by the state for the

purpose of compensating workers with prior disabilities who

suffer subsequent industrial injuries.” (Baker v. Workers’ Comp.

Appeals Bd. (2011) 52 Cal.4th 434, 439.) Section 4751 states

such workers “shall be paid” additional compensation when their

combined disabilities meet certain criteria. Section 4753 provides

that Fund benefits “shall be reduced to the extent of any

monetary payments received by the employee, from any source

whatsoever, for or an account of such preexisting disability or

impairment.” (§ 4753.) 3 This includes SSDI payments based on a

prior injury. (Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Industrial Acc. Com.

(Hanson) (1963) 217 Cal.App.2d 322, 328.) Section 4753 “was

enacted to avoid depletion of the funds in order to encourage the

employment of physically handicapped persons and to prevent

double recovery for the same disabilities.” (Ibid.)

We agree with the Board that the Fund must prove its

entitlement to a credit for SSDI and other “monetary payments”

received by applicants. The burden of proof in workers’

compensation proceedings “rests upon the party . . . holding the

affirmative of the issue.” (§ 5705.) Applicants must initially

show they are entitled to subsequent injury benefits under

section 4751 by proving: (1) they were “permanently partially

disabled” and (2) they “receive[d] a subsequent compensable

injury resulting in additional permanent partial disability.” 4 The

3 Section 4753 includes several exceptions to mandatory

reduction, including payments received for disabilities incurred

in the armed forces. These exceptions are not at issue.

4 Section 4751 states in relevant part: “If an employee who

is permanently partially disabled receives a subsequent

6

Fund must then show it is entitled to reduce the applicant’s

subsequent injury benefit under section 4753, and, if so, the

“extent” it may reduce those payments. Both sides must meet

their burden by a preponderance of the evidence. (See § 3202.5

[“All parties and lien claimants shall meet the evidentiary burden

of proof on all issues by a preponderance of the evidence in order

that all parties are considered equal before the law”].) Section

4753’s mandate that compensation “shall be reduced” does not, as

the Fund contends, relieve the Fund of this burden. Nor does

section 4751’s similar language relieve applicants of their burden

to prove eligibility for benefits.

The Fund argues public policy justifies placing the burden

of proof on applicants. It first cites applicants’ greater access to

information about the basis of their disability payments. We are

not persuaded. The Fund may conduct discovery before trial into

compensable injury resulting in additional permanent partial

disability so that the degree of disability caused by the

combination of both disabilities is greater than that which would

have resulted from the subsequent injury alone, and the

combined effect of the last injury and the previous disability or

impairment is a permanent disability equal to 70 percent or more

of total, he shall be paid in addition to the compensation due

under this code for the permanent partial disability caused by the

last injury compensation for the remainder of the combined

permanent disability existing after the last injury as provided in

this article; . . .” The subsequent injury must meet one of two

disability rating thresholds: (1) 5 percent for “opposite member”

injuries, i.e., when an applicant has an existing injury to “a hand,

an arm, a foot, a leg, or an eye, and the permanent disability

resulting from the subsequent injury affects the opposite and

corresponding member”, or (2) 35 percent “when considered alone

and without regard to or adjustment for the occupation or the age

of the employee, . . .”

7

the basis of any source of payments subject to credit. (See § 5502,

subd. (c) [“The case shall be set for trial when discovery is

complete, or when the . . . judge determines that the parties have

had sufficient time in which to complete reasonable discovery”].)

This includes SSDI benefits. (See Angell v. Subsequent Injuries

Benefits Trust Fund (2021) 86 Cal.Comp.Cases 419 (Angell) [WCJ

properly ordered applicant to disclose information about SSDI

payments when Fund sought credit under section 4753].)

The Fund next cites the Legislature’s aim of conserving

government resources as supporting its position. This aim is

balanced, if not outweighed, by section 3202’s mandate that

workers’ compensation “shall be liberally construed by the courts

with the purpose of extending their benefits for the protection of

persons injured in the course of their employment.” The Fund

should direct its concerns about the administration of section

4753 to the Legislature or the appropriate rulemaking body

instead of the judiciary.

The Fund cites Hanson to argue the Board must reduce

benefits unless an applicant can prove an SSDI award is based

solely on a subsequent injury. We read the case differently. In

Hanson, the hearing officer attributed 68 percent of an

applicant’s SSDI payments to “pre-existing disability or

impairment” after taking evidence on the issue. The Board

vacated the hearing officer’s decision. The appellate court in

Hanson reinstated that decision, holding the Fund was entitled

to reduce subsequent injury benefits by that portion of SSDI the

hearing officer found attributable to pre-existing disabilities.

(See Hanson, supra, 217 Cal.App.2d at p. 329 [“if it can

reasonably be said that the social security disability payments

are in some part accountable to the preexisting liability . . . then

some credit should be allowed”].) While Hanson confirmed the

8

Fund’s right to seek credit for SSDI payments received by

applicants, it did not hold the Fund was presumptively entitled to

credit unless the applicant could prove otherwise.

Finally, the Fund contends the 26 percent permanent

disability rating in the stipulated award creates an inference that

74 percent of her SSDI benefits are attributable to pre-existing

disabilities. This is not so. “[T]he Fund is not bound by the prior

adjudication of the employer’s liability relative to the

determination of its own obligation to make life pension benefit

payments when it has not been joined.” (Subsequent Injuries

Fund v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd. (Royster) (1974) 40

Cal.App.3d 403, 408, italics omitted.) “[W]hile the Fund may not

relitigate the issue of the employer’s liability in an attempt to

increase [the employer’s] obligation, it may litigate the question

of the employer’s liability so as to properly determine the extent

of its obligation to the applicant.” (Id. at p. 409.) The Fund was

joined as a defendant six months after Vargas and her employer

settled her worker’s compensation case. We decline to read

section 4753 as entitling the Fund to a presumptive SSDI credit

based on a rating negotiated in a different context with a

different party.

The Board’s Findings on Section 4753 Reductions

The Fund notes that Vargas had many pre-existing medical

conditions and applied for SSDI benefits several months before

injuring her foot in March of 2018. These facts do not establish

she received SSDI benefits primarily “for or on account of” her

pre-existing disabilities. The award letter Vargas received from

SSA in December of 2018 said she “became disabled under our

rules on April 18, 2018.” This date fell less than three weeks

after her March 2018 injury. The evidence at trial about Vargas’s

pre-existing disabilities came from medical reports prepared long

9

after she received her SSDI award letter. Neither this letter nor

any other exhibit states the basis of the award.

The Fund joined this case almost two years before trial and

five months after the Board decided Angell. In Angell, the

applicant contended a discovery order directing her to obtain

additional information from the SSA shifted the burden of proof

to establish whether the Fund was entitled to a credit pursuant

to 4753. The Board disagreed. It stated: “[The Fund] is simply

seeking discovery of information and documentary evidence

related to applicant's admitted receipt of SSD benefits in order to

meet its burden of proof regarding the section 4753 credit.”

(Angell, supra, 86 Cal. Comp. Cases at p. 428.) There is no record

here of the Fund deposing Vargas or seeking her SSDI

application materials. The Fund declared ready for trial in

March of 2023, received Vargas’s pre-trial brief in April of 2023,

and agreed to proceed without live testimony in May of 2023. Its

post-trial brief did not request additional discovery in the event

the WCJ found the Fund bore the burden of proving section 4753

credit. Having assumed it need not carry the issue, it did not

shepherd the evidence required to prevail on the merits.

DISPOSITION

We affirm the Board’s order of October 20, 2023, denying

the Fund’s petition for reconsideration. Vargas is awarded costs.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION.

CODY, J.

We concur:

GILBERT, P. J. BALTODANO, J.

10

Deborah Rothschuller

Santa Barbara District Office

______________________________

Department of Industrial Relations, Ken Lau, Chief

Counsel, Steven A. McGinty, Assistant Chief Counsel, and

Thomas G. Routson, Staff Counsel, for Petitioner.

Ghitterman, Ghitterman & Feld, Russell R. Ghitterman

and Benjamin P. Feld, for Respondent Nancy Vargas.

Allison J. Fairchild and Eric D. Ledger for Respondent

Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board.

11

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.