Opinion

Kenneth Steven Tuma, Sr. & Deborah Ann Tuma

Court
United States Tax Court
Filed
Jul 11, 2024
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Marshall
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.3%

“Tax preparation software is only as good as the information one puts into it.”

How later courts described this case

  • “Tax preparation software is only as good as the information one puts into it.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

United States Tax Court

T.C. Memo. 2024-71

KENNETH STEVEN TUMA, SR., AND DEBORAH ANN TUMA,

Petitioners

v.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent

__________

Docket Nos. 15535-18, 18978-19. Filed July 11, 2024.

__________

Kenneth Steven Tuma, Sr., and Deborah Ann Tuma, pro sese.

Rebekah A. Myers, Brenn C. Bouwhuis, and Inga C. Plucinski-Holbrook,

for respondent.

MEMORANDUM FINDINGS OF FACT AND OPINION

MARSHALL, Judge: In a notice of deficiency issued with respect

to petitioners’ 2015 tax year (2015 NOD), respondent determined that

petitioners are liable for a federal income tax deficiency of $11,555 and

a section 6662(a) accuracy-related penalty of $2,311. 1 In a notice of

deficiency issued with respect to petitioners’ 2016 tax year (2016 NOD),

respondent determined that petitioners are liable for a federal income

tax deficiency of $12,741 and a section 6662(a) accuracy-related penalty

of $2,548. Respondent subsequently conceded the penalties, and the

issue remaining for decision in these cases is whether the railroad

retirement and Social Security benefits petitioners received from the

1 Unless otherwise indicated, statutory references are to the Internal Revenue

Code, Title 26 U.S.C. (Code), in effect at all relevant times, Rule references are to the

Tax Court Rules of Practice and Procedure, and monetary amounts are rounded to the

nearest dollar.

Served 07/11/24

2

[*2] U.S. Railroad Retirement Board (RRB) in 2015 and 2016 (years in

issue) are taxable to the extent determined by respondent.

FINDINGS OF FACT

These cases were tried during a standalone remote trial session

of the Court. 2 The following findings are based on the testimony and

Exhibits admitted at trial. The parties did not execute a joint

stipulation of facts.

I. Mr. Tuma

Mr. Tuma, a career railroad worker with at least 30 years of

railroad service, was born in late-summer of 1953. Before the years in

issue, Mr. Tuma retired because of disability and began receiving

monthly annuity benefits from the RRB. During the years in issue, Mr.

Tuma’s benefits consisted of a Tier 1 benefit (which included both Social

Security equivalent (SSE) and non-Social Security equivalent (NSSE)

benefits), a Tier 2 benefit, and a supplemental annuity benefit. 3 We

describe the RRB’s calculation and reporting of Mr. Tuma’s benefits

below.

A. 2015

The RRB issued Mr. Tuma a letter dated December 22, 2014,

which provided the calculation of his monthly benefit for 2015 (2015

RRB benefit letter). The calculation provided was as follows:

2 Petitioner Deborah Ann Tuma did not appear at trial. Petitioner Kenneth

Steven Tuma, Sr., did appear at trial, but he did not have authority to represent Mrs.

Tuma, and no other appearance was made on her behalf. As such, the Court, on its

own motion, will dismiss Mrs. Tuma from these cases for lack of prosecution. See Rules

123, 149. We will enter decisions with respect to Mrs. Tuma that are the same as the

decisions that we will enter with respect to Mr. Tuma.

3 Tier 1 of a railroad employee annuity is an amount similar to the Social

Security benefit the employee would receive on the basis of combined railroad and

Social Security earnings. See 20 C.F.R. § 226.10 (2016). Tier 2 of a railroad employee

annuity is based only on the employee’s railroad service. See 20 C.F.R. § 226.11 (2016).

A supplemental annuity is an additional benefit with respect to railroad service. See

20 C.F.R. §§ 216.41, 226.16 (2016).

3

[*3] Tier 1 $2529.00

Tier 2 $1509.97

Supplemental Annuity $43.00

Gross RRB Benefit $4081.97

(less Federal income taxes withheld) $0.00

(less other deductions) $0.00

RRB Benefit (before Medicare) $4081.97

Less Medicare premium(s) $0.00

Benefit Amount $4081.97

The RRB also issued Mr. Tuma a Form RRB–1099, Payments by the

Railroad Retirement Board, for 2015. This form reported the SSE

portion of the Tier 1 benefit (SSE Tier 1 benefit) paid to Mr. Tuma for

the year, listing the amount as $5,625.

In addition, the RRB issued Mr. Tuma a Form RRB–1099–R,

Annuities or Pensions by the Railroad Retirement Board, for 2015. This

form reported Mr. Tuma’s contributory amount paid for the year, which

consisted of the NSSE portion of his Tier 1 benefit (NSSE Tier 1 benefit)

together with his Tier 2 benefit, as well as his supplemental annuity

benefit paid. These amounts were listed as $42,843 and $516,

respectively, for a total reported amount paid of $43,359. Mr. Tuma’s

2015 Form RRB–1099–R also reported an employee contribution of

$51,393.

B. 2016

For the calculation of his monthly benefit for 2016, the RRB

issued Mr. Tuma a letter dated December 22, 2015 (2016 RRB benefit

letter). This letter provided the same benefit calculation as did the 2015

RRB benefit letter, with monthly Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental

annuity benefits of $2,529, $1,509.97, and $43, respectively, and a total

monthly benefit of $4,081.97. As it had for 2015, the RRB also issued

Mr. Tuma Forms RRB–1099 and RRB–1099–R for 2016.

With respect to his SSE Tier 1 benefit, Mr. Tuma’s 2016 Form

RRB–1099 reported the amount paid as $22,500, a larger amount than

for the prior year. As to his NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits, Mr. Tuma’s

2016 Form RRB–1099–R reported a correspondingly smaller

contributory amount paid of $25,968. And as to his supplemental

4

[*4] annuity benefit, Mr. Tuma’s 2016 Form RRB–1099–R reported the

same $516 amount, for a total reported amount paid of $26,484. Mr.

Tuma’s 2016 Form RRB–1099–R also reported the same employee

contribution amount of $51,393.

II. Mrs. Tuma

Mrs. Tuma is a retiree. She received monthly annuity benefits

from the RRB during 2015 and 2016 as Mr. Tuma’s spouse. These

benefits consisted of Social Security and Tier 2 benefits paid by the

RRB. 4 In addition to these benefits, Mrs. Tuma received private pension

benefits during the years in issue. We describe below the calculation

and reporting of Mrs. Tuma’s benefits paid by the RRB as well as the

reporting of her private pension benefits.

A. 2015

The RRB calculated Mrs. Tuma’s monthly benefit in the same

manner for both 2015 and 2016. The RRB issued Mrs. Tuma a letter

dated December 22, 2015 (Mrs. Tuma’s RRB benefit letter), which set

forth this calculation as follows:

Tier 2 $679.48

Gross RRB Benefit $679.48

(less Federal income taxes withheld) $130.00

(less other deductions) $62.00

RRB Benefit (before Medicare) $487.48

SS Benefit Paid by RRB (before Medicare) 5 $2059.00

Less Medicare Premium(s) $104.90

Benefit Amount $2441.58

4 If a spouse is entitled to receive Social Security benefits and the railroad

employee has been credited with at least 120 months of service, the spouse’s Social

Security benefits are paid by the RRB. See 20 C.F.R. § 235.3 (2016). A spouse Tier 2

benefit is computed as 45% of the railroad employee’s Tier 2 benefit. See 20 C.F.R.

§ 226.32 (2016).

5 We note that the Social Security Administration (SSA) is responsible for the

determination of the amount of Social Security benefits to be paid by the RRB. See 20

C.F.R. § 235.4 (2016).

5

[*5] The RRB also issued Mrs. Tuma a Form RRB–1099–R for 2015.

Mrs. Tuma’s 2015 Form RRB–1099–R reported the contributory amount

of her benefit, which consisted of the Tier 2 benefit she received, as

$8,154. The form also reported repayments of $429 and federal income

tax withheld of $2,660.

With respect to the Social Security benefits the RRB paid for

2015, the SSA issued Mrs. Tuma a Form SSA–1099, Social Security

Benefit Statement. Mrs. Tuma’s 2015 Form SSA–1099 reported the

Social Security benefit amount paid as $24,708. The Internal Revenue

Service (IRS) Wage and Income Transcript for Mrs. Tuma’s 2015 tax

year identifies this amount as attributable to disability.

Mrs. Tuma was also issued a Form 1099–R, Distributions From

Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit Sharing Plans, IRAs,

Insurance Contracts, etc., with respect to a private pension paid to her

during 2015 by AXA Equitable. The 2015 Form 1099–R reported a gross

distribution to Mrs. Tuma of $16,993 and characterized the entire

amount as taxable.

B. 2016

Calculated the same as for 2015, Mrs. Tuma’s 2016 monthly RRB

benefit was likewise based on a Tier 2 benefit of $679.48, a Social

Security benefit of $2,059, and certain deductions and withholdings.

Also as with the prior year, the RRB issued Mrs. Tuma a Form

RRB–1099–R with respect to the Tier 2 benefits it paid for 2016. And,

the SSA issued her a Form SSA–1099 with respect to the Social Security

benefits that the RRB paid for the year.

Mrs. Tuma’s 2016 Form RRB–1099–R reported the same total

contributory, or Tier 2, amount paid of $8,154, along with slightly

increased repayments and federal income tax withholding of $744 and

$1,560, respectively. Mrs. Tuma’s 2016 Form SSA–1099 reported the

same Social Security benefit amount paid of $24,708. The IRS Wage

and Income Transcript for Mrs. Tuma’s 2016 tax year also identified the

Social Security benefit as attributable to disability.

In addition, Mrs. Tuma was issued a Form 1099–R with respect

to a private pension paid to her by AXA Equitable during 2016. Again

as with 2015, Mrs. Tuma’s 2016 Form 1099–R reported a gross

distribution of $16,993 and characterized the entire amount as taxable.

6

[*6] III. Petitioners’ Income Tax Reporting

Petitioners jointly filed a Form 1040, U.S. Individual Income Tax

Return, for each year in issue. Mr. Tuma prepared the returns using

the TurboTax computer program.

A. 2015

On their 2015 Form 1040, petitioners reported a taxable pension

distribution of $16,993, the amount of Mrs. Tuma’s private pension

distribution. They also reported total Social Security benefits of

$30,333, the combined amount of Mr. Tuma’s SSE Tier 1 benefit and

Mrs. Tuma’s Social Security benefit, and taxable Social Security benefits

of $80. Petitioners did not report any of Mr. Tuma’s NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2,

and supplemental annuity benefits. Neither did they report Mrs.

Tuma’s Tier 2 benefit.

B. 2016

On their 2016 Form 1040, petitioners reported a taxable pension

distribution of $16,993, again the amount of Mrs. Tuma’s private

pension distribution. Petitioners also reported total Social Security

benefits of $24,708, the amount of Mrs. Tuma’s Social Security benefits,

and taxable Social Security benefits of zero. Consistent with their 2015

Form 1040, petitioners did not report on their 2016 return any of Mr.

Tuma’s NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity benefits, or Mrs.

Tuma’s Tier 2 benefit. For this year, however, they also did not report

Mr. Tuma’s SSE Tier 1 benefit, such that the Social Security benefits

they did report for 2016 reflected only Mrs. Tuma’s benefits.

IV. The Notices of Deficiency

Respondent issued petitioners notices of deficiency for the years

in issue. The 2015 NOD was dated May 14, 2018, and the 2016 NOD

was dated July 22, 2019. In the notices, respondent determined that

petitioners are liable for federal income tax deficiencies of $11,555 and

$12,741 for 2015 and 2016, respectively. These determinations were

based on adjustments respondent made to petitioners’ income with

7

[*7] respect to the railroad retirement and Social Security benefits paid

by the RRB. 6

A. 2015

In the 2015 NOD, respondent increased petitioners’ gross income

from their SSE Tier 1 and Social Security benefits by $25,703.

Respondent also increased petitioners’ gross income from their NSSE

Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity benefits by $51,511, for a total

increase in gross income of $77,214. With respect to these increases, the

2015 NOD explained that the IRS had received RRB and SSA

information returns reporting information different from what

petitioners had reported.

More specifically, as to petitioners’ SSE Tier 1 and Social Security

benefits, the 2015 NOD stated that the IRS received “Form[s] 1099–

SSA” from the RRB and the SSA reporting distributions of $5,625 and

$24,708, respectively, for a total of $30,333. And as to petitioners’ NSSE

Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity benefits, the 2015 NOD

explained that the IRS received “Form[s] 1099–R” from the RRB

reporting total distributions of $51,511 as follows: $24,723 with

distribution code “X” (DC X); $18,119 with distribution code “Y” (DC Y);

$8,153 also with DC Y; and, $516 with distribution code “Z” (DC Z). The

notice used DC X to reflect the NSSE Tier 1 benefit, DC Y to reflect the

Tier 2 benefit, and DC Z to reflect the supplemental annuity benefit.

The 2015 NOD treated the entire $51,511 of petitioners’ NSSE

Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity benefits reported by the RRB

as taxable. In connection with this increase to petitioners’ gross income,

the 2015 NOD also treated $25,783 of the SSE Tier 1 and Social Security

benefits reported by the RRB and the SSA as taxable.

B. 2016

In the 2016 NOD, respondent increased petitioners’ gross income

from their SSE Tier 1 and Social Security benefits by $32,548.

Respondent also increased their gross income from their NSSE Tier 1,

Tier 2, and supplemental annuity benefits by $34,636, for a total

6 In connection with the adjustments to petitioners’ income, respondent also

made certain computational adjustments to medical deductions and premium tax

credits that petitioners claimed on their returns for the years in issue. These

computational adjustments will be resolved in the Rule 155 computations that the

Court will direct in accordance with this Opinion.

8

[*8] increase of $67,184. As with the increases for 2015, the 2016 NOD

explained that the IRS had received RRB and SSA information returns

reporting information different from what petitioners had reported.

As to petitioners’ SSE Tier 1 and Social Security benefits, the

2016 NOD specified that the IRS received “Form[s] 1099–SSA” from the

RRB and the SSA reporting distributions of $22,500 and $24,708,

respectively, for a total of $47,208. Using the same distribution codes

as the 2015 NOD, the 2016 NOD also explained that the IRS received

“Form[s] 1099–R” from the RRB reporting $34,636 of NSSE Tier 1,

Tier 2, and supplemental annuity benefit distributions as follows:

$7,848 with DC X; $18,119 with DC Y; $8,153 also with DC Y; and $516

with DC Z.

Also as with the 2015 NOD, the 2016 NOD treated the entire

amount of petitioners’ NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity

benefits reported by the RRB, here $34,636, as taxable. And, in

connection with this increase to their gross income, the 2016 NOD also

treated $32,548 of petitioners’ SSE Tier 1 and Social Security benefits

reported by the RRB and the SSA as taxable.

V. Procedural Matters

On August 9, 2018, petitioners timely petitioned the Court with

respect to the 2015 NOD, and the case was assigned Docket No. 15535-

18. See § 6213(a). On October 21, 2019, petitioners timely petitioned

the Court with respect to the 2016 NOD, and that case was assigned

Docket No. 18978-19. See §§ 6213(a), 7503. In each Petition, petitioners

identified Idaho as their state of residence. On December 13, 2019,

petitioners moved that their cases be consolidated. On January 8, 2020,

the Court granted petitioners’ Motion and consolidated the cases for

trial, briefing, and opinion.

OPINION

I. Jurisdiction

We are a Court of limited jurisdiction. It is well established that

we may exercise our jurisdiction only to the extent authorized by

Congress. See § 7442; Naftel v. Commissioner, 85 T.C. 527, 529 (1985).

In a deficiency case, our jurisdiction is predicated on a valid notice of

deficiency and a timely filed petition. See §§ 6212–6214; Dees v.

Commissioner, 148 T.C. 1, 3–4 (2017); see also Sanders v. Commissioner,

9

[*9] No. 15143-22, 161 T.C. (Nov. 2, 2023); Hallmark Rsch. Collective v.

Commissioner, 159 T.C. 126 (2022).

There is no doubt that we have notices of deficiency and timely

filed Petitions in these cases. Mr. Tuma contends, however, that the

notices of deficiency contain such “egregious errors” as to render them

invalid and deprive the Court of jurisdiction. Relying on Scar v.

Commissioner, 814 F.2d 1363, 1370 (9th Cir. 1987), rev’g 81 T.C. 855

(1983), and Dees, respondent counters that the notices of deficiency

provide determinations for particular years and amounts based on

information related to petitioners and are therefore valid. Because the

question of the Court’s jurisdiction is fundamental, we consider Mr.

Tuma’s challenge to our jurisdiction before proceeding to the merits of

the cases. See Naftel, 85 T.C. at 530.

Section 6212(a) provides that, if the Commissioner “determines

that there is a deficiency in respect of any tax imposed . . . he is

authorized to send notice of such deficiency to the taxpayer.” In Scar,

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, the court to which

appeal in these cases would presumably lie, see § 7482(b)(1)(A),

concluded that, to make such a determination with respect to a

particular taxpayer, “the Commissioner must consider information that

relates to [that] taxpayer,” Scar v. Commissioner, 814 F.2d at 1368. And

in Dees, 148 T.C. at 6, we explained that to determine whether a notice

of deficiency is valid, “we look to see whether the notice objectively put

a reasonable taxpayer on notice that the Commissioner determined a

deficiency in tax for a particular year and amount,” and that “if the

notice is sufficient to inform a reasonable taxpayer that the

Commissioner has determined a deficiency, our inquiry ends there; the

notice is valid.”

In the 2015 NOD, respondent determined that petitioners are

liable for a federal income tax deficiency of $11,555 for the 2015 tax year

on the basis of information returns issued with respect to petitioners by

the RRB and the SSA. In the 2016 NOD, respondent determined that

petitioners are liable for a federal income tax deficiency of $12,741 for

their 2016 tax year also on the basis of information returns issued with

respect to petitioners by the RRB and the SSA. We thus inquire no

10

[*10] further in this regard. 7 We agree with respondent that the notices

of deficiency are valid, and we have jurisdiction over these cases.

II. Railroad Retirement and Social Security Benefits, In General

Under the Railroad Retirement Act of 1974, Pub. L. No. 93-445,

88 Stat. 1305 (codified as amended at 45 U.S.C. §§ 231–231v), a railroad

employee and his spouse may be entitled to receive certain types of

annuity benefits from the RRB, including Tier 1, Tier 2, and

supplemental annuity benefits as described above. Absent disability, no

benefits are paid to the employee by the RRB until he reaches age 62,

reaches age 60 and completes 30 years of service, or reaches Social

Security retirement age as defined by 42 U.S.C. § 416(l) (2012).

45 U.S.C. § 231a(a) (2012). The railroad employee’s spouse may receive

an annuity from the RRB based on age but not on disability. 45 U.S.C.

§ 231a(c); 20 C.F.R. § 216.50 (2016). A railroad employee and his spouse

may also be entitled to have their Social Security benefits paid by the

RRB. 20 C.F.R. §§ 235.1–235.4 (2016). If the SSA determines that the

employee or his spouse is entitled to Social Security benefits and the

employee has been credited with at least 120 months of service, the SSA

certifies such benefits to the RRB for payment by the RRB. 20 C.F.R.

§ 235.4.

Section 61(a) provides that gross income means all income from

whatever source derived, including pensions and annuities, unless such

income has been specifically excepted from inclusion by the Code. See

§ 61(a)(9), (11); Commissioner v. Glenshaw Glass Co., 348 U.S. 426, 430

(1955). At one time, railroad retirement and Social Security benefits

were generally tax exempt. See Ernzen v. United States, 875 F.2d 228,

229 (9th Cir. 1989); Reimels v. Commissioner, 123 T.C. 245, 247 (2004),

aff’d, 436 F.3d 344 (2d Cir. 2006). Because of fiscal necessities, however,

Congress has imposed income tax on these benefits for the last 40 years.

Ernzen, 875 F.2d at 229; Reimels, 123 T.C. at 247; see also Railroad

Retirement Solvency Act of 1983, Pub. L. No. 98-76, 97 Stat. 411; Social

Security Amendments of 1983, Pub. L. No. 98-21, 97 Stat. 65. The

applicable tax treatment depends upon the type of benefit.

Social Security benefits are taxed under section 86. Section 86

requires the inclusion in gross income of up to 85% of the Social Security

benefits received, including Social Security disability benefits. Reimels,

7 See infra Part V for a more detailed discussion of the relationship between

the 2015 and the 2016 NODs and the information returns issued to petitioners.

11

[*11] 123 T.C. at 247–48; Brady v. Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2013-1,

at *4–5. The includible amount is based on the taxpayer’s gross income,

as determined without regard to section 86 and modified by certain

adjustments not relevant here. See § 86(a) and (b). SSE Tier 1 benefits

are taxed at the same rate and in the same manner as Social Security

benefits. See § 86(d)(1)(B), (4); Ernzen, 875 F.2d at 229; Bradley v.

Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 1991-578, 62 T.C.M. (CCH) 1311, 1311.

In contrast, NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits are taxed under

section 72 in the same manner as section 401(a) qualified plan

distributions. See § 72(r)(1); Ernzen, 875 F.2d at 229; Bradley, 62 T.C.M.

(CCH) at 1311. Like private pension benefits, these benefits are thus

generally taxed as annuities and included in gross income except to the

extent of the taxpayer’s own contributions, which may be recovered

ratably. See § 72(a)(1), (d), (r)(1) and (2); Ernzen, 875 F.2d at 229;

Bradley, 62 T.C.M. (CCH) at 1311. Supplemental annuity benefits are

also taxed under section 72. See § 72(r)(1), (3). Employee contributions

cannot be allocated to these benefits, however, such that they are fully

taxable. See § 72(r)(2)(C).

III. Burden of Proof

In general, the Commissioner’s determinations in a notice of

deficiency are presumed correct, and the taxpayer bears the burden of

proving that the determinations are erroneous. See Rule 142(a); Welch

v. Helvering, 290 U.S. 111, 115 (1933). In cases of unreported income,

however, the Commissioner must establish an evidentiary foundation

connecting the taxpayer with the income-producing activity or otherwise

demonstrate that the taxpayer actually received income for the

presumption to attach. See Walquist v. Commissioner, 152 T.C. 61, 67

(2019); see also Edwards v. Commissioner, 680 F.2d 1268, 1270–71 (9th

Cir. 1982); Weimerskirch v. Commissioner, 596 F.2d 358, 361–62 (9th

Cir. 1979), rev’g 67 T.C. 672 (1977). Once the Commissioner makes the

required threshold showing, the burden shifts to the taxpayer to prove

by a preponderance of the evidence that the Commissioner’s

determinations are arbitrary or erroneous. Helvering v. Taylor, 293 U.S.

507, 515 (1935); Walquist, 152 T.C. at 67–68.

Respondent introduced into evidence the RRB benefit letters

issued to petitioners. Respondent also introduced into evidence the

information returns issued to petitioners by the RRB and the SSA. Mr.

Tuma admits that he is a retired railroad worker and that petitioners

received railroad retirement and Social Security benefits from the RRB

12

[*12] during both of the years in issue. Mr. Tuma raises no dispute with

the calculation of their benefits in the RRB benefit letters and concedes

that the amounts reported in the information returns are correct.

Cf. § 6201(d). Accordingly, the burden is on petitioners to prove that

respondent’s determinations are arbitrary or erroneous. 8

IV. Mr. Tuma’s Arguments

Throughout the litigation of these cases, Mr. Tuma has asserted

as his “primary” argument that respondent incorrectly determined the

adjustments to petitioners’ income on the basis of benefit amounts that

were not reported in the information returns issued by the RRB and the

SSA. Mr. Tuma has also consistently asserted that respondent

improperly failed to account for Mr. Tuma’s employee contributions in his

determinations with respect to Mr. Tuma’s NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2

benefits. At trial, Mr. Tuma further seemed to assert that at least some

portion of the benefits paid by the RRB should be treated as nontaxable

due to his and Mrs. Tuma’s being disabled. In his posttrial brief, however,

Mr. Tuma’s disability argument appeared to take instead the form of a

request for a section 22 disability credit with respect to Mrs. Tuma. 9

We address each of these arguments in turn.

V. Petitioners’ Benefit Amounts

We first consider Mr. Tuma’s primary argument—that

respondent incorrectly adjusted petitioners’ income on the basis of

benefit amounts that were not reported in the information returns

8 Petitioners contend that the burden of proof should shift to respondent under

section 7491(a). Petitioners, however, have failed to demonstrate that they meet the

requirements for such a shift, and the burden of proof remains with them. See

§ 7491(a)(1) and (2); see also Rolfs v. Commissioner, 135 T.C. 471, 483 (2010)

(“A taxpayer bears the burden of proving that he or she has met the requirements of

section 7491(a).”), aff’d, 668 F.3d 888 (7th Cir. 2012).

9 Also in his posttrial brief, Mr. Tuma asserted for the first time that the IRS

issued the 2016 NOD after the period of limitations for assessment had passed for their

2016 return. See § 6501. Parties must set forth the defense of the statute of limitations

in their pleadings. Rule 39. As petitioners failed to properly plead this issue, we do

not consider it other than to note that, even if it had been pleaded properly, petitioners

also failed to provide any evidence as to when they filed their 2016 return. See

Sundstrand Corp. & Subs. v. Commissioner, 96 T.C. 226, 349 (1991); see also Soni v.

Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 2021-137, at *21 (“To establish this defense, taxpayers

must make a prima facie case showing the date they filed their return, the expiration

date of the period of limitations based on that filing date, and receipt or mailing of the

SNOD after the running of that period.”), aff’d, 76 F.4th 49 (2d Cir. 2023).

13

[*13] issued by the RRB and the SSA. With respect to this argument,

respondent contends that the notices properly separated the amounts

into petitioners’ Social Security, SSE Tier 1, NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and

supplemental annuity benefits, and that when added together, “they

clearly equal the amounts in the 1099s that petitioners agree are

accurate.” 10 As we explain, we conclude that the benefit amounts on

which the determinations in the notices of deficiency are based are

consistent with the RRB and the SSA information returns issued to

petitioners.

A. 2015

In the 2015 NOD, respondent increased petitioners’ gross income

by $77,214. Of this amount, $25,703 was with respect to petitioners’

SSE Tier 1 and Social Security benefits. The remaining $51,511 was

with respect to petitioners’ NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental

annuity benefits.

1. Petitioners’ SSE Tier 1 and Social Security Benefits

As to petitioners’ SSE Tier 1 and Social Security benefits, the

2015 NOD specified that the IRS received “Form[s] 1099–SSA” from the

RRB and the SSA reporting distributions of $5,625 and $24,708,

respectively, for a total of $30,333. The 2015 NOD included $25,783 of

this amount, or 85%, in petitioners’ gross income. This is the amount

that results under section 86 by virtue of including in petitioners’ gross

income the $51,511 of NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity

benefits as determined in the 2015 NOD, along with Mrs. Tuma’s

$16,993 private pension distribution as petitioners reported. See

§ 86(a)–(c).

a. Mr. Tuma’s SSE Tier 1 Benefit

Although the 2015 NOD does refer to a “Form 1099–SSA,” a form

which Mr. Tuma did not receive, it is clear that this reference is intended

with respect to Mr. Tuma’s 2015 Form RRB–1099, which reported

$5,625 as his SSE Tier 1 benefit amount. This amount of SSE Tier 1

benefit is also consistent with both Mr. Tuma’s 2015 RRB benefit letter

and his 2015 Form RRB–1099–R. Mr. Tuma’s 2015 RRB benefit letter

10 Respondent concedes, however, that Mrs. Tuma’s Tier 2 benefit amounts

reported on her 2015 and 2016 Forms RRB–1099–R should have been adjusted,

before tax was applied, by the corresponding repayments and federal income tax

withheld for each of the years in issue.

14

[*14] provided for monthly Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits of $2,529 and

$1,510, respectively, which when multiplied by 12 months, equal

$30,348 and $18,120, respectively. The total calculated Tier 1 amount,

$30,348, less the SSE Tier 1 amount reported on Mr. Tuma’s 2015 Form

RRB–1099, $5,625, equals $24,723. This $24,723 amount plus the Tier 2

benefit amount calculated for the year, $18,120, equals $42,843, which

is the contributory amount, or combined NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefit

amount, reported on Mr. Tuma’s 2015 Form RRB–1099–R.

b. Mrs. Tuma’s Social Security Benefit

The “Form 1099–SSA” to which the 2015 NOD refers as reporting

a distribution of $24,708 is clearly in reference to Mrs. Tuma’s 2015

Form SSA–1099, which reported a Social Security benefit of that

amount. The $24,708 amount is also consistent with Mrs. Tuma’s RRB

benefit letter. The letter provided for a monthly Social Security benefit

paid by the RRB of $2,059, which multiplied by 12 months equals

$24,708.

2. Petitioners’ NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and Supplemental

Annuity Benefits

As to petitioners’ NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity

benefits, the 2015 NOD explained that the IRS received “Form[s] 1099–

R” from the RRB reporting $51,511 of taxable distributions as follows:

$24,723 with DC X; $18,119 with DC Y; $8,153 also with DC Y; and $516

with DC Z. The 2015 NOD used DC X to reflect petitioners’ NSSE Tier 1

benefit, DC Y their Tier 2 benefit, and DC Z their supplemental annuity

benefit. Mr. Tuma contends that these distribution codes provide

particularly compelling evidence that the 2015 NOD is incorrect, as they

do not appear on the information returns issued by the RRB. We

disagree that respondent’s use of these codes compels such a conclusion.

a. Mr. Tuma’s NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 Benefits

The 2015 NOD refers to “Form[s] 1099–R” reporting distributions

of $24,723 and $18,119 with DC X and DC Y, respectively. We discern

this to refer to Mr. Tuma’s 2015 Form RRB–1099–R, which reported Mr.

Tuma’s contributory amount, or NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits, as

$42,843—the sum of $24,723 and $18,119. We further discern these

individual amounts to be consistent with Mr. Tuma’s 2015 RRB benefit

letter and 2015 Form RRB–1099. As discussed, Mr. Tuma’s 2015 RRB

benefit letter provided for monthly Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits of $2,529

and $1,510, respectively, which when multiplied by 12 months, equal

15

[*15] $30,348 and $18,120, respectively. The total calculated Tier 1

amount, $30,348, less the SSE Tier 1 amount reported on Mr. Tuma’s

2015 Form RRB–1099, $5,625, equals $24,723, the amount included in

the 2015 NOD under DC X. And, the total calculated Tier 2 amount is

equal to the $18,119 amount included in the 2015 NOD under DC Y.

b. Mrs. Tuma’s Tier 2 Benefit

The 2015 NOD also refers to a “Form 1099–R” reporting a

distribution of $8,153 with DC Y. This clearly refers to Mrs. Tuma’s

2015 Form RRB–1099–R, which reported her contributory, or Tier 2,

benefit as $8,154. This amount is also consistent with her RRB benefit

letter, which provided for a monthly Tier 2 benefit of $679.48, as that

amount multiplied by 12 months equals $8,153.76.

c. Mr. Tuma’s Supplemental Annuity Benefit

The 2015 NOD additionally refers to a “Form 1099–R” reporting

a distribution of $516 with DC Z. This is equally clear in its reference

to Mr. Tuma’s 2015 Form RRB–1099–R, which reported a supplemental

annuity benefit paid of $516. This amount is also consistent with Mr.

Tuma’s 2015 RRB benefit letter, which provided for a monthly

supplemental annuity benefit of $43, as this amount multiplied by

12 months equals $516.

B. 2016

In the 2016 NOD, respondent increased petitioners’ gross income

by $67,184. Of this amount, $32,548 was with respect to petitioners’

SSE Tier 1 and Social Security benefits. The remaining $34,636 was

with respect to their NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity

benefits.

1. Petitioners’ SSE Tier 1 and Social Security Benefits

As to petitioners’ SSE Tier 1 and Social Security benefits, the

2016 NOD specified that the IRS received “Form[s] 1099–SSA” from the

RRB and the SSA reporting distributions of $22,500 and $24,708,

respectively, for a total of $47,208. The 2016 NOD included $32,548 of

this amount, or 69%, in petitioners’ gross income. This is the amount

that results under section 86 by virtue of including in petitioners’ gross

income the $34,636 of NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity

benefits as determined in the 2016 NOD, along with Mrs. Tuma’s

16

[*16] $16,993 private pension distribution as reported by petitioners.

See § 86(a)–(c).

a. Mr. Tuma’s SSE Tier 1 Benefit

Like the 2015 NOD, the 2016 NOD refers to a “Form 1099–SSA,”

a form which, as Mr. Tuma points out, he did not receive. Also as with

the 2015 NOD, however, it is clear that this reference is intended with

respect to Mr. Tuma’s 2016 Form RRB–1099, which reported $22,500 as

his SSE Tier 1 benefit. This amount of SSE Tier 1 benefit is also

consistent with both Mr. Tuma’s 2016 RRB benefit letter and his 2016

Form RRB–1099–R. Mr. Tuma’s 2016 RRB benefit letter provided for the

same monthly Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits of $2,529 and $1,509.97,

respectively, as his 2015 RRB benefit letter, which when multiplied by

12 months, equal $30,348 and $18,120, respectively. The total

calculated Tier 1 amount, $30,348, less the SSE Tier 1 amount reported

on Mr. Tuma’s 2016 Form RRB–1099, $22,500, equals $7,848. This

$7,848 amount plus the Tier 2 benefit amount calculated for the year,

$18,120, equals $25,968, which is the contributory amount, or combined

NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefit amounts, reported on Mr. Tuma’s 2016

Form RRB–1099–R.

b. Mrs. Tuma’s Social Security Benefit

The “Form 1099–SSA” to which the 2016 NOD refers as reporting

a distribution of $24,708 clearly refers to Mrs. Tuma’s 2016 Form SSA–

1099, which reported a Social Security benefit of that amount. The

$24,708 amount is again consistent with Mrs. Tuma’s RRB benefit

letter. As we have discussed, the letter provided for a monthly Social

Security benefit paid by the RRB of $2,059, which when multiplied by

12 months equals $24,708.

2. Petitioners’ NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and Supplemental

Annuity Benefits

As to petitioners’ NSSE Tier 1, Tier 2, and supplemental annuity

benefits, the 2016 NOD explained that the IRS received “Form[s] 1099–

R” from the RRB reporting $34,636 of taxable distributions as follows:

$7,848 with DC X; $18,119 with DC Y; $8,153 also with DC Y; and $516

with DC Z. Like the 2015 NOD, the 2016 NOD used DC X to reflect

petitioners’ NSSE Tier 1 benefit, DC Y their Tier 2 benefit, and DC Z

their supplemental annuity benefit. Also as with the 2015 NOD, Mr.

Tuma contends that these distribution codes demonstrate that the

notice is incorrect. Again, we disagree.

17

[*17] a. Mr. Tuma’s NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 Benefits

The 2016 NOD refers to “Form[s] 1099–R” reporting distributions

of $7,848 and $18,119 with DC X and DC Y, respectively. We discern

this to refer to Mr. Tuma’s 2016 Form RRB–1099–R, which reported Mr.

Tuma’s contributory amount, or NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits, as

$25,968—the sum of $7,848 and $18,119. We further discern these

individual amounts to be consistent with Mr. Tuma’s 2016 RRB benefit

letter and 2016 Form RRB–1099. As we have discussed, Mr. Tuma’s

2016 RRB benefit letter provided for monthly Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits

of $2,529 and $1,510, respectively, which when multiplied by 12 months,

equal $30,348 and $18,120, respectively. The total calculated Tier 1

amount, $30,348, less the SSE Tier 1 amount reported on Mr. Tuma’s

2016 Form RRB–1099, $22,500, equals $7,848, i.e., the amount included

in the 2016 NOD under DC X. And, the total calculated Tier 2 amount is

equal to the $18,119 included in the 2016 NOD under DC Y.

b. Mrs. Tuma’s Tier 2 Benefit

As with the 2015 NOD, the 2016 NOD also refers to a “Form

1099–R” reporting a distribution of $8,153 with DC Y. This clearly

refers to Mrs. Tuma’s 2016 Form RRB–1099–R, which reported her

contributory, or Tier 2, benefit amount as $8,154. As it was for 2015,

this amount is also consistent with her RRB benefit letter.

c. Mr. Tuma’s Supplemental Annuity Benefit

Also as with the 2015 NOD, the 2016 NOD refers to a “Form

1099–R” reporting a distribution of $516 with DC Z. This is equally clear

in its reference to Mr. Tuma’s 2016 Form RRB–1099–R, which reported

a supplemental annuity benefit of $516. This amount is also consistent

with Mr. Tuma’s 2016 RRB benefit letter, which provided for a monthly

supplemental annuity benefit amount of $43, which multiplied by

12 months equals $516.

VI. Mr. Tuma’s Employee Contributions

Having concluded that the benefit amounts on which the

determinations in the notices of deficiency are based are consistent with

the RRB and the SSA information returns issued to petitioners, as well

as their RRB benefit letters, we turn next to Mr. Tuma’s argument that

respondent’s determinations with respect to his NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2

benefits improperly failed to account for his employee contributions.

18

[*18] With respect to this argument, respondent conceded at trial that

an employee contribution amount of $51,393 was reported on Mr.

Tuma’s 2015 and 2016 Forms RRB–1099–R. He also conceded that this

amount “is recovered ratably over the period of time that Mr. Tuma

receives the benefit. And so that’ll be a computation that is done once

we determine what is or isn’t gross income. And that recovery will be

computed.” On posttrial brief, however, respondent asserted that,

although Mr. Tuma would “ordinarily be permitted to exclude a portion

of” the contributory amounts shown on his Forms RRB–1099–R from his

gross income, Mr. Tuma failed to provide information with respect to his

annuity starting date and his age on that date needed to compute the

proper recovery. And on this ground, respondent further asserted that

Mr. Tuma should therefore be allowed no offset for contributions or,

“[a]ssuming the Court is inclined to provide some offset,” an offset that

assumes the facts most favorable to respondent.

Mr. Tuma generally testified that that he was entitled to receive

benefits from the RRB as early as 2009 but that he did not receive any

payments until sometime in 2010. Mr. Tuma did not testify to any

specific dates, however, or introduce any documentary evidence to

support the testimony that he did provide. We therefore agree with

respondent that the record is lacking in regard to Mr. Tuma’s annuity

starting date and his age on that date. Given, however, that respondent

conceded at trial that Mr. Tuma made employee contributions and is

entitled to a ratable recovery of those contributions over the period he

receives his NSSE Tier 1 and Tier 2 benefits, we are also inclined to allow

Mr. Tuma an offset for the contributions.

Section 72(d) generally provides that gross income does not

include so much of a monthly annuity payment under a qualified plan

as does not exceed the amount obtained by dividing (I) the annuitant’s

investment in the contract as of the annuity starting date by (II) the

number of anticipated payments as determined according to the age of

the annuitant on that date. See § 72(d)(1)(A) and (B). As relevant here,

it further provides that, if the annuity is payable over the life of a single

individual, the number of anticipated payments is determined as

follows:

19

[*19]

If the age of the annuitant on the annuity The number of anticipated

starting date is: payments is:

Not more than 55 360

More than 55 but not more than 60 310

More than 60 but not more than 65 260

More than 65 but not more than 70 210

More than 70 160

§ 72(d)(1)(B)(iii). To determine a taxpayer’s rate of recovery, his

investment in the contract, annuity starting date, and age as of that

date, are thus required.

In these cases, the parties have agreed that Mr. Tuma’s

investment is his $51,393 of employee contributions. As to Mr. Tuma’s

annuity starting date and age as of that date, respondent invites us to

conclude that Mr. Tuma was age 55 when he began receiving his benefits

such that Mr. Tuma would have a longer recovery period based on 360

anticipated payments. Mr. Tuma makes no argument in this regard,

contending only that respondent should have accounted for his

contributions. In light of Mr. Tuma’s general testimony that he was

entitled to receive benefits with respect to 2009, when he would have

been age 55 for most of the year, and his failure to provide any specific

evidence as to his annuity starting date, we accept respondent’s

invitation and conclude that Mr. Tuma was age 55 on his annuity

starting date. As such, we hold that Mr. Tuma’s employee contributions

shall be recovered on the basis of 360 anticipated payments in the Rule

155 computations that the Court will direct.

VII. Petitioners’ Disability Status

Lastly, we turn to Mr. Tuma’s arguments with respect to

petitioners’ disability status. At trial, Mr. Tuma seemed to argue that at

least some portion of petitioners’ benefits paid by the RRB should be

treated as nontaxable because both he and Mrs. Tuma are disabled. In

his posttrial brief, however, Mr. Tuma’s disability argument appeared to

take the form of a request for a section 22 disability credit with respect to

Mrs. Tuma. As to the latter argument, we address it only insofar as to

note that it is raised too late for consideration. See Aero Rental v.

Commissioner, 64 T.C. 331, 338 (1975). And, as to the former, although

we liberally construe Mr. Tuma’s brief not to have abandoned it, see

Erickson v. Pardus, 551 U.S. 89, 94 (2007), we reject it as well.

20

[*20] We have found it to be true that Mr. Tuma retired on the basis of

disability, which is consistent with our conclusion that Mr. Tuma began

receiving benefits from the RRB at age 55. See 45 U.S.C. § 231a. We

have also found it to be true that Mrs. Tuma’s Social Security benefits

were designated as paid on the basis of disability. And we assume for

purposes of this analysis that Mr. and Mrs. Tuma were indeed disabled

during the years in issue. Mr. Tuma, however, has not alleged any basis

in the law for his position that these facts require some portion of

petitioners’ benefits be tax free.

As we have discussed, section 61(a) provides that gross income

means all income from whatever source derived, including pensions and

annuities, unless such income has been specifically excepted from

inclusion by the Code. See § 61(a)(9), (11); Commissioner v. Glenshaw

Glass Co., 348 U.S. at 430. The Supreme Court has long reiterated the

sweeping scope of section 61, and it is well established that statutory

exclusions from income are to be narrowly construed. Commissioner v.

Schleier, 515 U.S. 323, 327–28 (1995). It is equally well established that

taxpayers seeking an exclusion must bring themselves within its “clear

scope.” Dobra v. Commissioner, 111 T.C. 339, 349 n.16 (1998); Graves v.

Commissioner, 89 T.C. 49, 51 (1987), supplementing 88 T.C. 28 (1987).

As respondent points out, compensation paid for injuries or

sickness may be excludable from gross income under section 104 if

certain designated requirements are met, such as the compensation’s

having been received under a workmen’s compensation act or through

accident or health insurance. See § 104(a). But, as he also points out,

petitioners have failed to prove that any such requirement has been met

in these cases. Rather than demonstrate that petitioners’ benefits fall

under section 104, or any other specific statutory exclusion, Mr. Tuma

instead seems only to have argued for a general exclusion based on

disability for which he provides no support in the Code and for which we

have found none. 11 We have previously held both railroad retirement

and Social Security benefits paid due to disability includible in gross

income and see no reason to hold differently here. See Reimels, 123 T.C.

at 247–48; Bradley, 62 T.C.M. (CCH) at 1312. Petitioners may not

exclude any portion of the benefits they received from the RRB from

their gross income on the basis of disability. Cf. Gibson v.

11 In an effort to bolster his position, Mr. Tuma does point to his use of

TurboTax to prepare petitioners’ returns along with his reading of various IRS

publications. But, neither of these has the force of law. See Miller v. Commissioner,

114 T.C. 184, 195 (2000); see also Bunney v. Commissioner, 114 T.C. 259, 267 (2000)

(“Tax preparation software is only as good as the information one puts into it.”).

21

[*21] Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 1996-140, 71 T.C.M. (CCH) 2526, 2526

(“[The taxpayers] argue that benefits received from the [RRB] are not

taxable. This, however, is simply not the case.”).

VIII. Conclusion

Petitioners received railroad retirement and Social Security

benefits from the RRB during each of the years in issue. Petitioners

have failed to prove that respondent incorrectly determined the

adjustments to petitioners’ income on the basis of amounts that were

not reported in the information returns issued by the RRB and the SSA

with respect to these benefits. They have also failed to prove that any

portions of these benefits are nontaxable on account of disability.

Petitioners have therefore failed to demonstrate that respondent’s

income determinations are arbitrary or erroneous, and, except to the

extent of respondent’s concessions and our holding with respect to the

recovery of Mr. Tuma’s employee contributions, we conclude that the

benefits petitioners received from the RRB are includible in their gross

income as determined in the 2015 and the 2016 NODs.

We have considered all of the parties’ arguments and, to the

extent they are not discussed herein, find them to be irrelevant, moot,

or without merit.

To address respondent’s concessions and to reflect the foregoing,

An order of dismissal as to petitioner Deborah Ann Tuma will be

entered, and decisions will be entered under Rule 155.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.