Opinion

Morell v. Board of Ret. of the Orange County Employees' Ret. etc.

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jul 10, 2024
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.3%

The opinion

Filed 7/10/24

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

JAMES B. MORELL, B331080

Plaintiff and Respondent, (Los Angeles County

Super. Ct. No. 22STCP02345)

v.

BOARD OF RETIREMENT OF

THE ORANGE COUNTY

EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT

SYSTEM,

Defendant and Appellant.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of Los

Angeles County, Mary H. Strobel, Judge. Reversed and

remanded with directions.

Reed Smith, Maytak Chin, Mariah K. Fairley, and Kathryn

M. Bayes for Defendant and Appellant.

James B. Morell, in propria persona, for Plaintiff and

Respondent.

__________________________________

When respondent James Morell retired from his position as

a research attorney for the Orange County Superior Court, he

was entitled to a pension under the County Employees

Retirement Law of 1937 (CERL). To determine the amount of his

pension, the appellant board of retirement of the Orange County

Employees’ Retirement System (OCERS) needed to first calculate

Morell’s “compensation,” a legal term codified in Government

Code section 31460.1 At issue in this appeal is whether the board

correctly excluded certain amounts from the calculation of

“compensation.”

In the years relevant to this appeal, research attorneys

working for the Orange County Superior Court could participate

in an “Optional Benefit Program” (OBP). The OBP provided a

$3,500 benefit that an attorney could allocate in a variety of

ways, such as taxable cash (paid to the attorney in their first

paycheck of the year) or a healthcare reimbursement account

from which the attorney could be reimbursed on a pre-tax basis

for certain medical expenses not covered by insurance. If no

election were made, the entire $3,500 would be paid to the

attorney as taxable cash. In each year relevant to this appeal,

Morell allocated a portion of the $3,500 OBP benefit to a

healthcare reimbursement account and the remainder to cash.

When the board of retirement calculated Morell’s “compensation”

in 2014, it omitted the $3,500 OBP payments. In the decade

since, the parties have been litigating whether the board was

right to do so.

1 Undesignated statutory references are to the Government

Code.

2

In 2022, the board denied Morell’s latest appeal, citing

Orange County Resolution 90-1551, which the board contended

required exclusion of the OBP payment from the calculation of

“compensation.” During a brief window in which the Legislature

enacted the now-repealed section 31460.1—which expressly

excluded payments made by an employer to an employee who

elected to participate in a flexible benefits program—the Orange

County board of supervisors passed Resolution 90-1551, adopting

the statute’s provisions. When the Legislature later repealed

section 31460.1 in 1992, it also provided that “Nothing in this act

is intended to, or shall be construed to, affect the validity of any

action taken by a county pursuant to Section 31460.1 of the

Government Code, prior to the effective date of this act.” In

granting Morell’s latest petition for writ of mandate, the trial

court ordered the board to set aside and reconsider its decision

without relying on Resolution 90-1551, because the court found

the resolution had been invalidated.

In this appeal, the board of retirement advances three

separate arguments on why it believes the trial court erred: (1)

including the OBP payments in the pension calculation would

constitute “pension-spiking,” which the Legislature sought to

eliminate with the Public Employees’ Pension Reform Act of

2013; (2) Resolution 90-1551 is still valid even though section

31460.1 has since been repealed; and (3) in 2002, as part of a

settlement agreement between OCERS and a settlement class of

which Morell was a member, the parties agreed that OBP

payments would not be included in pension calculations.

Because we conclude that Resolution 90-1551 is still valid

despite the repeal of section 31460.1, we need not consider the

3

board’s other arguments. We reverse the trial court’s judgment

and remand with directions to deny Morell’s petition.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND2

A. The Definition of Compensation

“Counties maintain employee retirement plans under

CERL. (§ 31450 et seq.) CERL requires retirement boards to

determine whether the remuneration paid in cash qualifies as

‘compensation’ under section 31460 and ‘compensation earnable’

pursuant to section 31461, and therefore must be included as

part of a retiring employee’s ‘final compensation’ (§ 31462 or

31462.1) for purposes of calculating the amount of a pension.” (In

re Ret. Cases (2003) 110 Cal.App.4th 426, 435.)

1. The Legislature Enacts Section 31460.1

Section 31460.1—enacted in 1990 and effective at the

beginning of 1991—read: “ ‘Compensation’ shall not include

employer payments, including cash payments, made to, or on

behalf of, their employees who have elected to participate in a

flexible benefits program, where those payments reflect amounts

that exceed[] their employees’ salaries. [¶] This section shall not

be operative in any county until the time the board of supervisors

shall, by resolution adopted by a majority vote, makes this

section applicable in that county.”

In December 1990, the Orange County board of supervisors

passed Resolution 90-1551, which read in pertinent part: “BE IT

RESOLVED this Board does hereby adopt the provisions of

2 We limit our summary to the facts and procedural history

relevant to the issues raised on appeal.

4

Government Code section 31460.1 pertaining to the definition of

Compensation in the County Employees Retirement Law of 1937,

effective January 1, 1991.”

2. The Legislature Repeals Section 31460.1

In 1992, the Legislature passed Senate Bill 193, repealing

section 31460.1. Section 3 of the bill explained that “The County

Employees Retirement Law has, since its original enactment . . . ,

conferred upon the county retirement boards the duty and power

to determine which of the items of compensation paid to county

employees . . . would constitute ‘compensation earnable,’ ” and

that section 31460.1 “has been erroneously construed as

implicitly requiring counties maintaining retirement systems . . .

to include in ‘compensation’ those flexible benefits payments until

the board of supervisors elect pursuant to that section to exclude

those flexible benefits payments from ‘compensation.’ ” The

Legislature proclaimed that the intent of enacting section

31460.1 was “merely to accord to each county board of

supervisors, at its option, the power either to preclude its county

retirement board from including those flexible benefits payments

in ‘compensation,’ if the county retirement board had not

previously taken such action, or to supersede any previous

decision of their county retirement board to include those flexible

benefits payments in ‘compensation.’ ”

Therefore, “[i]n order that the source of misconstruction of

legislative intent regarding the enactment of Section 31460.1 of

the Government Code may be eliminated at the earliest possible

time, and that any county actions taken on the basis of that

misconstruction may be reversed or terminated at the earliest

possible time, the Legislature finds that it is necessary to repeal

Section 31460.1 of the Government Code.” However, Section 2 of

5

Senate Bill 193 provided that “Nothing in this act is intended to,

or shall be construed to, affect the validity of any action taken by

a county pursuant to Section 31460.1 of the Government Code,

prior to the effective date of this act.” The act took effect in May

1992.

3. Resolution No. 98-001

In February 1998, OCERS’s Board of Retirement adopted

Resolution 98-001, which provided in pertinent part that

“Flexible Benefits (‘Cafeteria Plan’) to the Extent paid in Cash

(applicable to members retiring before January 1, 1991)” would

be included in the calculation of “compensation earnable” but

that “Flexible Benefits (‘Cafeteria Plan’) provided in-kind” and

“Flexible Benefits (‘Cafeteria Plan’) paid in cash to the extent

paid to members retiring on and after January 1, 1991” would be

excluded from the calculation, as would be items “substantially

similar.” (Emphasis in original.) It also provided that the board

of retirement “shall apply these policies and guidelines . . .

automatically for all members retiring” after October 1, 1997.

B. The 2002 Settlement Agreement

In 2002, a settlement agreement was entered into by

Orange County Employees’ Association; Retired Employees’

Association of Orange County, Inc.; Orange County Attorneys’

Association; Jan J. Nolan and Eric W. Snethen (collectively the

“Class Representatives”), individually and as members and

representatives of a class consisting of all past, present, and

future members of the OCERS; the County of Orange; and

OCERS. The agreement stated that the Class Representatives

had been selected by the Superior Court of San Francisco “to

represent a certified no-opt-out class . . . consisting of all Class

6

Members.” The agreement provided, in pertinent part, that each

party thereto “agrees to accept as final and binding the inclusions

in and exclusions from compensation, compensation earnable,

and final compensation as more particularly set forth in

OCERS’[s] Resolution 98-001, as amended by OCERS’[s]

Resolution 98-009, and as further amended by OCERS’[s] action

adopting its Resolution 00-003 on or about December 18, 2000.3

It further provided that the agreement was “intended to be

complete and final with respect to the issues that it has resolved,

and that the terms or applicability of the Agreement will not be

changed on behalf of any of the Parties, including the Class

Members, in response to later court decisions, whether favorable

or unfavorable, to any of the Parties hereto” and that any future

cases “that enlarge, define, narrow or in any other way relate to

the scope of the decision of the California Supreme Court in

Ventura County Deputy Sheriffs’ Association v. Board of

Retirement, 16 Cal. 4th 483 (1997) (‘Ventura County’) or the items

of compensation to be included or excluded for benefit purposes

under CERL shall have no effect on the terms or applicability of

this Agreement.”

In November 2002, the San Francisco Superior Court

approved the settlement agreement and entered a judgment

expressly providing that “all of the terms and provisions of the

approved Settlement Agreement . . . shall be binding upon and

implemented by all parties to these actions, including all

members of the class consisting of all past, present and future

members of the Orange County Employees Retirement System.”

3 Resolution 98-009 deleted portions of Resolution 98-001

irrelevant to this appeal. Resolution 00-003 does not appear to be

in the record.

7

C. The Optional Benefit Plan

The purpose of “Third Amended and Restated County of

Orange Section 125 Plan”—which was effective as of June 1,

2011—was “to offer the eligible employees of the Employer an

opportunity to forgo taxable income in exchange for paying

premiums for health care coverage on a tax-free basis and for

paying for certain health care and dependent care on a tax-free

basis.”

In the Plan, “OBP” was defined as an “Optional Benefits

Program” that was “offered to judges, attorneys who are

employed in the ‘Attorney Unit’, elected officials, executive

management, and administrative management where OBP

credits can be allocated to pay for certain benefits, including

Benefits offered under this Section 125 Plan.” Section 3.1 of the

plan provided that once an employee elected to participate in the

Section 125 Plan, “his or her OBP will be allocated and his or her

Compensation will be reduced in an amount equal to the amount

of contributions elected pursuant to Section 4.” “Compensation”

was defined as “the total cash payment received by the

Participant from the Employer during a Contribution Period

prior to any reductions pursuant to a Salary Redirection

Agreement authorized hereunder.”

Section 4.3 provided that an “OBP Eligible Employee may

elect to receive in taxable cash compensation, the total amount or

any portion of OBP Dollars if such OBP Eligible Employee elects

to receive all or part of his or her OBP Dollars as taxable cash in

his or her Enrollment Documentation each year. Additionally, if

an OBP Eligible Employee fails to complete and submit

Enrollment Documentation, such OBP Eligible Employee shall be

deemed to have elected all of his or her OBP Dollars as taxable

8

cash. Taxable Cash Benefits shall be paid in one lump sum

amount on the first paycheck of the Plan Year.” These provisions

remained unchanged in the Fourth Amended and Restated

County of Orange Section 125 Plan, which was effective as of

January 1, 2013.

In a 2007 version of the Orange County Superior Court

Personnel Policies and Regulations, Article X was entitled

“Reimbursement Programs,” and Section 4 thereunder was

entitled “Optional Benefit Plan.” This section stated that

“Effective January 1, 2008, each eligible employee shall be

entitled to select benefits from those listed below not to exceed

three thousand five hundred (3,500) dollars” and provided the

following options: (1) “cash”; (2) “professional conferences which

are job related (employee only) including fees and other expenses

while attending”; (3) “professional memberships, licenses and

certificates which are job related (employee only);” (4)

“professional journals and periodicals (employee only) which are

job related”; (5) “health/accident” (which included health

programs not completely covered by insurance, the employee’s

share of health insurance premiums including accidental death

and dismemberment coverage, and other health care expenses

not completely covered by insurance); and (6) the county-

administered “457 Deferred Compensation Plan.” To participate,

an eligible employee was required to file an “Intent to

Participate” statement. If the employee did not file such a form

before the plan began, “the employee may only receive cash for

any period prior to the first of the month following the date the

employee files an Intent to Participate.” The section provided

that the “purpose of the plan is to provide options to individual

employees to best meet the needs of themselves and dependents

9

while enhancing the employee’s expertise and skills on the job.”

A 2013 version of the plan contained the same provisions, except

that the professional conference, membership, and journals

options were removed.

D. The Board of Retirement Excludes OBP

Payments From Morell’s Pension Calculation

In the beginning of 2014, Morell filed an application for

service retirement and received a “Retirement Benefit Estimate,”

setting forth his monthly pension amount and how that amount

was calculated. In June 2014, he disputed the calculation,

claiming “a $3,500 annual ‘optional benefit’ was erroneously

excluded from the calculation of ‘compensation’ and/or

‘compensation earnable’ in determining [his] monthly retirement

allowance.” Morell explained that the $3,500 was a benefit made

available to attorneys working for the Orange County Superior

Court and, at the attorney’s election, could be allocated in

several, non-exclusive ways during an “open enrollment” period:

it could be (1) included in the attorney’s first paycheck of the

year; (2) used to reimburse the attorney for certain medical

expenses not covered by insurance on a pre-tax basis; (3) used to

pay for supplemental accidental death and dismemberment

coverage on a pre-tax basis; or (4) allocated to the attorney’s

section 457 deferred compensation plan. Should the attorney fail

to allocate any part of the funds during open enrollment, the

unallocated portion would automatically be paid to the employee

in their first paycheck of the year. He argued that regardless of

how the $3,500 was allocated, it should be included in the

definition of “compensation” for purposes of calculating the

employee’s retirement benefit.

10

In September 2014, OCERS denied Morell’s claim,

asserting that “Resolution No. 98-001 as adopted by the Board of

Retirement in February 1998 specifically identifies the categories

of pay that are included and excluded from a retiring member’s

compensation earnable” and “specifically excludes flexible benefit

payments for employees retiring after January 1, 1991 from

being considered compensation earnable.” The letter asserted

that the OBP payments Morell received constituted a flexible

benefit payment and thus was properly excluded from the

calculation of compensation earnable.

In a letter that Morell sent in late 2014, he countered that

Resolution 98-001’s exclusion of the $3,500 OBP payment was at

odds with Ventura County Deputy Sheriffs’ Assn. v. Board of

Retirement (1997) 16 Cal.4th 483 (Ventura County) and other

decisional law. He argued that inasmuch as the resolution was

based on former section 31460.1—providing that the definition of

“compensation” would “not include employer payments, including

cash payments, made to, or on behalf of, their employees who

have elected to participate in a flexible benefits program”—that

language was inapplicable because the OBP was not a program

that he had “elected to participate in.” Morell contended the OBP

was an “integral part of the overall compensation package

provided to research attorneys at the Superior Court” and was

not a plan that was “elective and which provided payments in

excess of employees’ normal compensation.” Morell also pointed

out that section 31460.1 had been repealed.

In a March 2015 letter, OCERS reiterated its stance that

the OBP payments were properly excluded under the resolution.

It added that because “the Board of Retirement did not anticipate

inclusion of flexible benefits in compensation earnable, . . .

11

OCERS did not collect employee or employer contributions based

on those benefits” and therefore including the OBP in the

calculation of compensation earnable “would have a negative

effect on OCERS’[s] actuarial soundness.” OCERS also

referenced the 2002 settlement agreement in which the

settlement class agreed to Resolution 98-001 and argued that

“the class represented in the Settlement Agreement includes all

past, present, and future members of OCERS,” including Morell.

In June 2015, Morell sent another letter to OCERS, asking

that his appeal be placed on the board of retirement’s agenda to

be discussed at a future meeting. The matter was heard at the

August 2015 meeting where the board unanimously denied

Morell’s appeal. Morell appealed this decision and his appeal

was heard by a hearing officer in May 2017.

In late 2017, the hearing officer recommended that Morell’s

appeal be denied, finding that the board of retirement’s

calculations were correct “in light of the 2002 agreement that

settled the litigation between OCERS and its membership class

and associations.” While the hearing officer found that many of

Morell’s arguments had merit regarding whether the legal

definition of “compensation earnable” should include OBP

payments and whether the definition could be changed by a

settlement agreement, he concluded that “the Hearing Officer is

not empowered to void the settlement agreement in a manner

that would enable the Board to recalculate Applicant’s retirement

benefit allowance in his favor.” The hearing officer recommended

the board of retirement “reexamine the portion of the settlement

that excludes from pensionability flexible benefits received by

employees as taxable cash, and that the Board consider pursuing

an amendment of the Superior Court judgment on the basis that

12

it precludes taxable cash received under the Optional Benefit

Plan from counting in the determination of final compensation.”

In an August 2018 meeting, the board of retirement

unanimously voted to set aside the Hearing Officer’s report and

recommendation and directed its staff to prepare “Proposed

Findings, Conclusions of Law and Recommended Decision”

limited to the board’s determination that: (a) OCERS and Morell

were bound by the 2002 settlement agreement and judgment; and

(b) Morell’s retirement allowance was correctly calculated in

accordance with the settlement agreement. In an October 2018

meeting, the board adopted the prepared findings and

conclusions.

E. Morell Files a Petition for Writ of Mandate

In January 2019, Morell filed a petition for writ of mandate

under Code of Civil Procedure section 1094.5.4 In May 2021, the

court granted Morell’s petition in part. It found that “[blecause

retirement boards and systems have no authority to enter an

agreement that would require them to pursue a policy that

conflicts with CERL, Petitioner [Morell] could not waive—in a

settlement agreement with OCERS—an argument that

OCERS’[s] calculation of Petitioner’s pensionable compensation

contravenes CERL” and therefore the “Board prejudicially abused

4 The petition was originally filed in Orange County

Superior Court. In June 2019, the Orange County Superior

Court transferred it to Los Angeles Superior Court pursuant to

section 69740, subdivision (b), which provides in pertinent part:

“In appropriate circumstances, upon agreement of the presiding

judges of the courts, and in the discretion of the court, the

location of a session may be outside the county . . . .”

13

its discretion by upholding OCERS’[s] calculation of Petitioner’s

retirement allowance based solely on the Settlement Agreement

and Judgment.” The court ordered the board of retirement “to set

aside its decision dated October 18, 2018, and to reconsider the

case in light of this court’s ruling and judgment.” The court also

ordered that the “Board shall not limit the issues for

consideration to (1) whether OCERS and Petitioner were bound

by the 2002 Settlement Agreement and the judgment entered

thereon, and (2) whether Petitioner’s retirement allowance had

been calculated in accordance with the Settlement Agreement

and judgment” but instead should “decide Petitioner’s contentions

that OCERS improperly excluded OBP benefits from the

calculation of his final compensation separate and apart from the

Settlement Agreement.” In July 2021, the court issued a

judgment and a writ to this effect. The board did not appeal.

F. The Board Again Denies Morell’s Appeal

At a December 2021 meeting, in arguing that the OBP

payments should be included in the calculation of compensation,

Morell contended that he did not “elect” to participate in the

OBP. He explained that the OBP payments were a “benefit,” that

when he was hired, he was told, “you get this salary plus you get

this $3500.” He also admitted that if he had not chosen to

allocate the $3,500 to various categories, he would have received

the $3,500 “as cash.”

After hearing argument presented by both Morell and the

OCERS staff attorney, the board of retirement again

unanimously voted to find that it properly excluded all OBP

payments from the calculation of Morell’s compensation and

directed its staff to prepare proposed findings and a decision to

14

that effect. In a January 2022 meeting, the board adopted the

prepared findings and conclusions.

The board found that “the Orange County Board of

Supervisor’s [sic] Resolution 90-1551 . . . remains valid and

continues the validity of Section 31460.1 currently in the County

of Orange” and that “[b]y adopting Section 31460.1 by Resolution

90-1551, the County precluded the OCERS Board from including

flexible benefit payments such as OBP benefits in a member’s

compensation, compensation earnable and final average salary.”

It also found that Morell “elected to participate in the OBP

program by allocating the $ 3,500 OBP Dollars to the Health

Care Reimbursement Account and to lump sum taxable cash

payments each year during his measuring period.” It therefore

concluded that OCERS’s “exclusion of OBP benefits (both for

health and dental reimbursements and taxable cash payments

within the three year measuring period) from the Applicant’s

compensation and compensation earnable complied with the

CERL at the time the Applicant retired in 2014, according to

Section 31460.1, the County’s Resolution 90-1551, SB 193’s

savings clause, and the Board’s Resolution 98-001 (which is based

in part on County’s Resolution 90-1551), notwithstanding the

2002 Settlement Agreement.”

G. Morell Files a Second Petition for Writ of

Mandate

In April 2022, Morell filed a second petition for writ of

mandate against the board of retirement.5 He alleged that he

worked for the Orange County Superior Court from August 1992

5 The petition was again filed in Orange County and

transferred to Los Angeles County.

15

to February 2014, during which time he participated in the OBP.

In 2012, Morell allocated $700 to a healthcare reimbursement

account and $2,800 to cash; in 2013, he allocated $2,500 to the

healthcare reimbursement account and $1,000 to cash; and in

2014, he allocated $1,100 to the healthcare reimbursement

account and $2,400 to cash. However, when Morell retired in

2014, the entire $3,500 benefit was excluded from “compensation”

and “compensation earnable” in determining Morell’s pension

payments. Morell asked the court to order the board “to perform

its duty to include all cash OBP payments in ‘compensation

earnable’ and ‘final compensation,’ and to recalculate Petitioner’s

retirement allowance accordingly.” The board answered the

petition in November 2022.

In January 2023, Morell filed his opening brief, arguing

that CERL required the inclusion of flexible benefit payments

paid in cash into the calculation of a retirement benefit

allowance. Morell disagreed that the exclusion of the OBP

payments could be justified by Resolutions 90-1551 or 98-001

because the Legislature had repealed section 31460.1 on which

those two resolutions were based, and the “savings clause” of

Senate Bill 193 did not “save” either resolution. Morell also

pointed out that section 31460.1 was applicable only to employees

who “elected to participate in a flexible benefits program,” and

that he had not done so.

In its opposition, the board maintained that the “Orange

County Board of Supervisors’ Resolution 90-1551 adopted the

exclusion of OBP payments from the definition of ‘compensation’

pursuant to former Government Code § 31460.1’s ‘carve-out’

provision and the 1992 Senate Bill 193’s savings clause, and that

resolution remains valid and enforceable to this day.” It also

16

argued that, by submitting enrollment documentation and

electing how to allocate his OBP money, Morell elected to

participate in the program. In his reply, Morell countered that

electing how to allocate the OBP benefit was not the same as

electing to participate in the OBP—he maintained that he had no

choice but to participate in the OBP, he did not elect to do so.

In March 2023, the court granted Morell’s second petition

for writ of mandate. It found that the phrase “any action taken

by a county” in section 2 of Senate Bill 193 referred to “the

processing and payment of retirement benefits” and not, as

OCERS insisted, to the Board of Supervisors’ passing of

Resolution 90-1551. The court rejected OCERS’s argument that

“the county board of supervisors, at its option, retained the power

either to preclude its county retirement board from including

flexible benefits payments in ‘compensation,’ ” finding that such

an interpretation “cannot be squared with the subsequent

holdings in Ventura, supra, 16 Cal.4th at 487, requiring items of

compensation paid in cash to be included in the final

compensation on which an employee’s pension is based, and

Alameda [County Deputy Sheriff’s Association v. Alameda

County Employees’ Retirement Association (2002)] . . . 9 Cal.5th .

. . [1032,] 1067, finding that it is the Legislature that has final

authority to establish the provisions governing the award of

pension benefits under CERL.”

The court therefore found that OCERS “prejudicially

abused its discretion in concluding that ‘Resolution 90-1551, as

action taken by the county prior to May 11, 1992, remains valid

and continues the validity of Section 31460.1 currently in the

County of Orange’ ” and “also prejudicially abused its discretion

in finding that ‘OCERS’[s] staff’s exclusion of OBP benefits . . .

17

complied with the CERL at the time the Applicant retired in

2014, according to Section 31460.1, the County’s Resolution 90-

1551, SB 193’s savings clause, and the Board’s Resolution 98-001

(which is based in part on County’s Resolution 90-1551).’ ”6 The

court stated it would issue a writ “directing [the OCERS] Board

to set aside its final decision dated January 20, 2022, and to

reconsider that decision in light of this court’s ruling.” It

specified that “[o]n reconsideration, Board shall not rely on

repealed Government Code section 31460.1, County Resolution

90-1551, or Board Resolution 98-001 in its calculation of

Petitioner’s ‘compensation’ and ‘compensation earnable’ ” and

“shall recalculate Petitioner’s retirement allowance in

conformance with the definitions of ‘compensation earnable’ and

‘final compensation’ in CERL, as interpreted in Ventura County

Deputy Sheriffs’ Association v. Board of Retirement (1997) 16

Cal.4th 483, and in a manner not inconsistent with this court’s

ruling.” In April 2023, the court issued such a writ. The board

timely appealed.

6 The inquiry in a petition for writ of mandate brought

under Code of Civil Procedure section 1094.5 “shall extend to the

questions whether the respondent has proceeded without, or in

excess of, jurisdiction; whether there was a fair trial; and

whether there was any prejudicial abuse of discretion.” (Code

Civ. Proc., § 1094.5, subd. (b).)

18

DISCUSSION

A. Senate Bill 193’s Savings Clause Includes

Actions Taken by the Board of Supervisors

In addition to repealing section 31460.1, Senate Bill 193

also provided that “[n]othing in this act is intended to, or shall be

construed to, affect the validity of any action taken by a county

pursuant to Section 31460.1 of the Government Code, prior to the

effective date of this act.”

OCERS contends that “any action taken by a county

pursuant to Section 31460.1” included the board of supervisors’

passing of Resolution 90-1551. It argues that because section 2 of

Senate Bill 193 referred to actions taken pursuant to section

31460.1 and “the only action stated in the statute was for the

county board of supervisors, not the county board of retirement,”

the “county” in the clause must refer to actions taken by the

board of supervisors.

The trial court rejected this view, finding that when section

3 of Senate Bill 193 was “read in full,” it demonstrated that “the

Legislature equated ‘county actions,’ at least in some instances,

with the processing and payment of retirement benefits.”

Presumably, the court found that “county actions” therefore did

not include the board of supervisors’ passing of Resolution 90-

1551.

Morell argues that “county” “cannot be read exclusively as

‘county board of supervisors’ when ‘county’ is clearly given other

meanings in subsections (1) and (4) of Section 3” in Senate Bill

19

193.7 He points out that the “Legislature chose to omit ‘board of

supervisors’ from Section 2 even though that term had been

employed in section 31460.1, utilizing instead the broader terms

‘any action’ and ‘county’ and thereby indicating an intent for the

saving clause to include actions other than a board of supervisors’

prior adoption of the statute.”

The question of whether section 2 of Senate Bill 193

“saved” Resolution 90-1551 is a question of law that we review de

novo. (Molina v. Board of Administration, etc. (2011) 200

Cal.App.4th 53, 61.) We agree with Morell that the term “county”

in section 2 is not limited to the “county board of supervisors.”

However, we do not see why the term must exclude “county board

7 Subdivision (1) of section 3 in Senate Bill 193 reads: “The

County Employees Retirement Law has, since its original

enactment in 1937 by Chapter 677 of the Statutes of 1937,

conferred upon the county retirement boards the duty and power

to determine which of the items of compensation paid to county

employees who are members of the county retirement

associations or systems would constitute ‘compensation earnable,’

which, in turn, generally determines the amounts of the

retirement allowances of retiring members (see Guelfi v. Marin

County Employees’ Retirement Assn., 145 Cal.App.3d 297 at

pages 303, 305, and 307 fn. [sic]).”

Subdivision (4) of section 3 in Senate Bill 193 reads: “That

interpretation was not intended by the Legislature when it

enacted that section. Had that been the intent of the Legislature

when it enacted Assembly Bill 3146, it would have been a

substantial departure from the long-standing practice of the

Legislature of not intruding into the county decisionmaking

process regarding compensation determinations with respect to

those county retirement systems (see Sections 31460 and

following, Government Code).”

20

of supervisors” or be limited to “county board of retirement,” as

the trial court seems to have found. Indeed, subdivision (6) of

section 3 of Senate Bill 193 provides that the Legislature’s intent

in enacting section 31460.1 was “merely to accord to each county

board of supervisors, at its option, the power either to preclude its

county retirement board from including those flexible benefits

payments in ‘compensation,’ if the county retirement board had

not previously taken such action, or to supersede any previous

decision of their county retirement board to include those flexible

benefits payments in ‘compensation.’ ” (Italics added.) Given

that the Legislature referred both to the “county board of

supervisors” and the “county retirement board” in Senate Bill 193

and thus clearly knew how to delineate a specific entity when it

wished, we conclude that the term “county” in section 2 includes

both the county board of supervisors and the county retirement

board. As such, it includes actions taken by the board of

supervisors pursuant to section 31460.1.

B. Resolution 90-1551 Preserves Section 31460.1’s

Definition of “Compensation”

Morell “has never disputed that SB 193 preserved the

validity of Resolution 90-1551.” Instead, citing Ransome-

Crummey Co. v. Bennett (1918) 177 Cal. 560, Morell argues that

“the OBP exclusion authorized by former Government Code

section 31460.1 became inoperative in Orange County following

the repeal of section 31460.1 in 1992, even though Resolution 90-

1551 itself may have remained retrospectively.” We find

Ransome-Crummey inapposite.

San Jose’s city charter incorporated a state statute; a

portion of that statute was later repealed. Ransome-Crummey

dealt—in part—with whether the city’s charter still included the

21

repealed portion. Specifically, San Jose’s city charter had

incorporated the “general street law, commonly known as the

Vrooman Act,” where not inconsistent with the charter itself.

(Ransome-Crummey Co. v. Bennett, supra, 177 Cal. at p. 563.)

Section 20 of the Vrooman Act “substantially provided that

whenever any street or portion thereof has been or shall be fully

constructed to the satisfaction of the superintendent of streets

and of the city council, and is in good condition throughout, etc.,

the same shall be accepted by the city council, by ordinance, and

thereafter shall be kept in repair and improved by the city.”

(Ransome-Crummey Co., at p. 566.) Our Supreme Court found

that the Legislature’s repealing of section 20 of the Vrooman Act

“struck dead the ordinance of acceptance.” (Ransome-Crummey

Co., at p. 567.)

The respondent in Ransome-Crummey argued that because

“the charter of San Jose in 1897 adopted the Vrooman Act as part

of itself, that act became a part of the charter, beyond legislative

control, and that consequently the repeal by the legislature of

section 20 did not affect the validity and vitality of that section,

so made a part of the charter, which continued to be the

subsisting law of San Jose.” (Ransome-Crummey Co. v. Bennett,

supra, 177 Cal. at p. 567.) Our Supreme Court rejected this

argument. While acknowledging that San Jose’s charter was

amendable only as provided by the California Constitution, it

noted that San Jose’s charter had adopted the Vrooman Act “ ‘as

since amended and as hereafter shall be amended.’ ” (Ibid., italics

added.) Thus, because the charter “expressly provides that that

enactment as thereafter it may be modified by the general

legislature shall still be the controlling law of the municipality,

such modification by way of amendment of the general law which

22

the legislature may enact is not within the prohibition of the

constitution, . . . and it is therefore held that the legislative

repeal of section 20 of the Vrooman Act operated to repeal the

power conferred upon the city of San Jose in the matter under

consideration.” (Ibid.)

There was no mention in Ransome-Crummey that the bill

repealing section 20 of the Vrooman Act contained a savings

clause as was in Senate Bill 193. Moreover, Resolution 90-1551

adopted the “provisions of Government Code section 31460.1

pertaining to the definition of Compensation”—not those

provisions “as hereafter shall be amended.” In other words,

unlike San Jose’s city charter that made clear it was adopting not

only the Vrooman Act as it existed at that time but also any

future modifications, the Orange County board of supervisors

adopted only the definition of “Compensation” contained in

section 31460.1 at the time the resolution was passed. And,

because Senate Bill 193 provided that nothing in the bill would

affect actions taken by a county under section 31460.1—such as

the adoption of the definition of compensation provided therein—

that definition survived the repeal of section 31460.1 itself.8

8 Morell argues that the “savings clause” of Senate Bill 193

“cannot reasonably be construed in a manner consistent with

statutory amendment, when the remainder of SB 193 clearly

reflects an intent to repeal.” We do not see why it would be

unreasonable for the Legislature to permit counties who had

enacted resolutions adopting section 31460.1’s definition of

“Compensation” to keep such resolutions. Such an action would

be precisely in line with the stated intent behind enacting section

31460.1: “[T]o accord to each county board of supervisors, at its

option, the power . . . to preclude its county retirement board

from including those flexible benefits payments in

(Fn. is continued on the next page.)

23

Ventura County does not state otherwise. There, our

Supreme Court distinguished between benefits provided “in-kind”

and those paid in cash and generally held that, “[t]he Legislature

has recognized that some employees receive remuneration other

than wages or salary but has concluded that if those ‘advantages’

are not paid in cash, their value need not be included in

‘compensation’ for purposes of computing a pension. It has not

done so for cash payments made in lieu of providing the same

advantages in kind. When paid in cash, the payment is

remuneration and, as it is not excluded, it is ‘compensation’

under section 31460.” (Ventura County, supra, 16 Cal.4th at p.

497.)

But it is undisputed that CERL contains provisions

excluding benefits potentially paid to the employee in cash from

the calculation of “compensation.” For example, section 31461.1

provides that, for “a county of the first class”—currently, only Los

Angeles County—“Notwithstanding Sections 31460 and 31461,

neither ‘compensation’ nor ‘compensation earnable’ shall include

any of the following: cafeteria or flexible benefit plan

contributions, transportation allowances, car allowances, or

security allowances, as enumerated in a resolution adopted

‘compensation.’ ” (Stats. 1992, ch. 45, § 3(6).) Moreover, the

Legislature repealed section 31460.1 not because it wanted those

flexible benefits payments included in the “Compensation”

calculation, but because the section had been “erroneously

construed as implicitly requiring counties maintaining

retirement systems under the 1937 act to include in

‘compensation’ those flexible benefits payments until the board of

supervisors elect pursuant to that section to exclude those

flexible benefits payments from ‘compensation.’ ” (Stats. 1992,

ch. 45, § 3(3).)

24

pursuant to subdivision (c).”9 (See also §§ 31461.4 & 31461.45

[further defining “compensation” and “compensation earnable” for

“a county of the first class”].) Neither Ventura County nor any

case of which we are aware has held that these provisions are

invalid. Thus, while local ordinances cannot contradict CERL,

inasmuch as Resolution 90-1551 was authorized by CERL when

it was passed and preserved by Senate Bill 193, it does not

contradict CERL, and has not been invalidated by Ventura

County or any other case.10

9 Subdivision (c) discusses how the section can become

operative. (§ 31461.1, subd. (c).) While the statute discusses

“cafeteria or flexible benefit plan contributions,” these

contributions are typically paid back to an employee in cash.

“Cafeteria plan selections include . . . flexible spending

accounts . . . and cash benefits.” (Investopedia

<https://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/cafeteriaplan.asp> [as of

July 9, 2024], archived at <https://perma.cc/Q3SC-KEQ3>.) A

flexible spending account “allows you to contribute a portion of

your regular earnings before tax; employers also can contribute to

employees’ FSAs. Distributions from the account must be used to

reimburse the employee for qualified expenses related to medical

and dental services.” (Investopedia

<https://www.investopedia.com/terms/f/flexiblespendingaccount.a

sp> [as of July 9, 2024], archived at <https://perma.cc/3W8U-

WGPX>.)

10 Morell also argues that Resolution 90-1551 is not “self-

executing” in that it “does not by its terms exclude OBP

payments from the calculation of retirement allowances” and

“could only be given effect through the further actions of”

OCERS, which occurred after the enactment of Senate Bill 193.

We are unpersuaded. While it is true that the processing of

Morell’s retirement application occurred well after Senate Bill

(Fn. is continued on the next page.)

25

C. Resolution 90-1551 Applies to Morell

As discussed above, Resolution 90-1551 excludes only

“payments, made to, or on behalf of, . . . employees who have

elected to participate in a flexible benefits program, where those

payments reflect amounts that exceed[] their employees’

salaries.” Having concluded that Resolution 90-1551 is still valid,

we must determine whether Morell elected to participate in the

OBP, and whether the payments therefrom reflected amounts

that exceeded his salary. We answer both questions

affirmatively.

1. Morell Elected to Participate in the OBP

Morell argues that because he had no choice but to

participate in the OBP, he cannot be considered to have “elected”

to participate in the plan. But the record belies his claim.

Although the OBP was a benefit offered to Morell, it was

not mandatory; he had to elect to participate in it. Once he

elected to participate, he further had to elect how to allocate the

$3,500 he had chosen yearly to be placed in the OBP. It is

undisputed that, for each year relevant to this appeal, Morell

allocated some of the $3,500 in OBP payments to a healthcare

reimbursement account, and the rest to cash. Morell also admits

that if he had not made these allocations, then he would have

“received the full annual benefit under the OBP program [i.e., the

193, the board of supervisors’ passing of Resolution 90-1551—

excluding OBP payments from the definition of compensation—

occurred before. The board of supervisors validly excluded

certain payments from the definition of compensation, and

Senate Bill 193 preserved that exclusion. We do not know what

other “execution” was required.

26

$3,500], even though he did not ‘elect’ to do so or to otherwise

participate in the program.” In other words, Morell had a

choice—he could choose to participate in the program and save on

taxes by having certain medical expenses reimbursed on a pre-

tax basis (thereby reducing his taxable salary), or he could, in

essence, “opt out” of the program by making no elections, in

which case he would have received the $3,500 in taxable cash as

part of his first paycheck of the year. We need not and do not

decide whether “opting out” in this fashion would cause the

$3,500 OBP benefit to fall out from the auspices of Resolution 90-

1551, because Morell did not “opt out.” Instead, he elected to

participate in the OBP by allocating the $3,500 into permissible

categories.

2. The OBP Payments Reflect Amounts That

Exceeded His Salary

Orange County’s Section 125 Plan provided that after an

eligible employee elected to participate in the OBP, “his or her

Compensation will be reduced in an amount equal to the amount

of contributions elected pursuant to Section 4.” As discussed

above, Morell elected to participate in the OBP by allocating the

$3,500 between a healthcare reimbursement account and taxable

cash. His “Compensation”—defined as the total cash payment

received by the Participant from the Employer during a

Contribution Period before any reductions pursuant to a Salary

Redirection Agreement—was thus reduced by $3,500. Therefore,

the payments he received under the OBP reflect amounts that

exceeded his salary. Morell himself admitted this when he

informed the board of retirement that, when he was hired, he was

told that “you get this salary plus you get this $3500.”

27

Morell admits that the requirement that the OBP payment

reflect an amount that exceeds his salary “might be construed to

have been met in this case, on the ground that the OBP payments

received by Respondent were not paid regularly and therefore

technically were not salary.” Nevertheless, he urges us to focus

on the fact that the payments were required to “reflect” amounts

that exceeded his salary, arguing that the use of that word

“suggests that the clause was intended to refer not to the salaries

actually paid to employees with flexible benefit plans, but rather

to the salaries which would have been paid in the absence of the

flexible benefit plan.” In other words, Morell appears to be

arguing that, if the OBP did not provide a $3,500 benefit to him,

then his salary would have been $3,500 higher, and therefore the

$3,500 OBP payment does not “reflect” an amount that exceeded

his salary.

We reject Morell’s contention. Morell provides no authority

to support his theory that the Legislature’s choice of the word

“reflect” had any special meaning. Nor do we see how use of

“reflect” transforms “amounts that exceed[] their employees’

salaries,” which Morell concedes the OBP payments were, into

“amounts that exceed[] what their employees’ salaries would

have been had they not elected to participate in the flexible

benefit program.” Further, as explained above, Morrell elected to

participate in the flexible benefit program, and we thus need not

analyze a speculative fact pattern that does not apply to his

case. We therefore conclude that the OBP payments in question

reflected amounts that exceeded Morell’s salary.

28

DISPOSITION

The judgment in favor of Morell is reversed. On remand,

the trial court is directed to enter a judgment denying his

petition. Appellant is awarded its costs on appeal.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

CHANEY, J.

We concur:

ROTHSCHILD, P. J.

WEINGART, J.

29

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.