determining a party “incurs” an expense when a professional preforms the relevant legal services
How later courts described this case
- determining a party “incurs” an expense when a professional preforms the relevant legal services
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI
In re: )
) Case No. 18-50046
Patricia A. Roe, )
) Chapter 13
Debtor. )
ORDER ALLOWING IN PART AND DISALLOWING IN PART FARMERS
BANK OF NORTHERN MISSOURI’S NOTICE OF POSTPETITION
MORTGAGE FEES, EXPENSES, AND CHARGES
Creditor Farmers Bank of Northern Missouri filed the present Notice of
Postpetition Mortgage Fees, Expenses, and Charges on January 14, 2021. Debtor
Patricia Roe objected, arguing the notice does not comply with Federal Rule of
Bankruptcy Procedure 3002.1 because it contains notice of fees, expenses, and
charges the bank incurred more than 180 days before the bank filed its notice.
The court concludes (1) Rule 3002.1 governs; (2) Rule 3002.1(i) acts as an
enforcement mechanism for Rule 3002.1(c); and (3) Rule 3002.1(i) affords the court
discretion either to preclude the bank from presenting information about the
untimely filed notice of fees, expenses, and charges, or to grant other appropriate
relief. Thus, the court will exercise its discretion (1) to preclude the bank from
presenting as evidence information about the fees, expenses, and charges the bank
incurred more than 180 days before filing its notice; and (2) to disallow the fees,
expenses, and charges the bank incurred more than 180 days before filing its notice.
With respect to the invoice containing fees incurred both before and after the 180-day
deadline, the court will allow the bank to present as evidence information from all
fees, expenses, and charges listed on that invoice. Ultimately the court concludes
that all fees, expenses, and charges the bank incurred within 180 days of filing the
notice, as well as additional fees on the August 31, 2020, invoice, are reasonable and
should be allowed. The court, therefore, will allow the bank’s request for $9394.60 in
fees, expenses, and charges, but disallow the bank’s remaining request for $4244.40
in fees, expenses, and charges.
JURISDICTION
The court has jurisdiction over this matter under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1334 and 157(a).
This matter is statutorily core under 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(2)(B) and is constitutionally
core. The court, therefore, has the authority to hear this matter and make a final
determination. No party has contested jurisdiction or the court’s authority to make
a final determination.
BACKGROUND
The debtor, Patricia Roe, filed her chapter 13 petition in 2018. In her Schedule
D, Roe listed Farmers Bank of Northern Missouri as a secured creditor. The bank’s
claim was secured by six contiguous parcels of real property, one of which includes
Roe’s principal residence. Counsel for the bank entered his appearance shortly after
Roe filed her case. The court confirmed Roe’s 100% chapter 13 plan in May 2018.
In late 2020, Roe filed a motion to sell one parcel of her real estate. Roe
intended this sale to produce sufficient proceeds to pay off the bank’s loan and satisfy
her remaining payment obligations under the plan. The court granted the motion,
and Roe completed the sale, leaving her with five parcels including the parcel
containing her principal residence. The sale order, which the bank submitted and
Roe approved, reflects that Roe and the bank believed the sale proceeds were
sufficient to pay off the bank in full.
A short time later, on January 14, 2021, the bank filed its Notice of Post-
petition Mortgage Fees, Expenses, and Charges—the only such notice the bank has
filed in this case. The notice included $13,639 in attorney’s fees and charges the bank
incurred between February 19, 2018, and December 16, 2020. The bank attached
invoices in support of all requested fees.
Roe objected, arguing the bank violated Bankruptcy Rule 3002.1 by failing to
file and serve its notice of fees, expenses, and charges within 180 days of incurring
the fees, as required under Rule 3002.1(c). Because the bank filed the notice on
January 14, 2021, the portion of the fees, expenses, and charges the bank incurred on
or after July 18, 2020, fall within the 180-day deadline Rule 3002.1(c) imposes. Roe
objects to $5705.40 of the fees, expenses, and charges as having been incurred before
July 18, 2020.
Further complicating matters, the invoice dated August 31, 2020, contains
time entries from both before and after the 180-day deadline. That invoice includes
pre-July 18, 2020, time entries totaling $1463.00.
The bank argues that Rule 3002.1 does not apply here because the bank’s lien
was secured by more than Roe’s principal residence and that, even if the rule applies,
Rule 3002.1(c) does not specify, and the court should not impose, any consequences
for failing to comply with the 180-day deadline.
Having outlined the relevant background information, the court will now turn
to the merits of the case.
ANALYSIS
I. Rule 3002.1 applies in this case.
As a threshold matter, the court must first determine whether Rule 3002.1
applies. Among other things, Rule 3002.1 requires a claim holder with a security
interest in a debtor’s principal residence to notify the debtor and the court when the
claim holder incurs fees, expenses, and charges that are recoverable against the
debtor. The rule further requires the claim holder to provide the required notice
within 180 days of incurring the fees, expenses, and charges.
Rule 3002.1 applies to “claims (1) that are secured by a security interest in the
debtor’s principal residence, and (2) for which the plan provides that either the
trustee or the debtor will make contractual installment payments.”1 Fed. R. Bankr.
P. 3002.1(a). The purpose of Rule 3002.1 is to promote transparent and timely notice
and prevent the debtor from finding out near the end of the chapter 13 case that the
mortgage lender is holding the debtor responsible for years of accumulated legal fees
and other charges. In re Lescinskas, No. 15-13801, 2021 WL 623698 at *1, 4 (Bankr.
D. Mass. Feb. 17, 2021).
The bank argues Rule 3002.1 applies to a lender’s request for fees, expenses,
and charges exclusively in situations when the lender’s claim is secured only by a
debtor’s principal residence. Here, the bank held liens against six parcels of real
1 There is no dispute that Roe’s confirmed plan satisfies the second requirement by
providing the trustee will make installment payments postpetition.
estate, one of which includes Roe’s principal residence. Consequently, the bank
argues Rule 3002.1 does not govern its request for fees, expenses, and charges. The
court disagrees.
Our task of resolving this dispute begins with the plain language of the rule.
United States v. Ron Pair Enters., 489 U.S. 235, 242 (1989); Nicolaus v. United States
(In re Nicolaus), 963 F.3d 839, 843–44 (8th Cir. 2020). Rule 3002.1 applies to claims
“secured by a security interest in the debtor’s principal residence.” Fed. R. Bankr. P.
Rule 3002.1(a). To adopt the bank’s proposed reading of Rule 3002.1, the court would
have to graft the word “only” onto the rule. Because the word “only” is simply not
present in Rule 3002.1, by its plain language Rule 3002.1 is not limited to claims
secured only by a debtor’s principal residence. The court declines to adopt the bank’s
interpretation because reading Rule 3002.1 as though it includes the word “only”
conflicts with the plain language of the rule.
Reading the word “only” into Rule 3002.1(a) would also violate a cardinal
principle of statutory construction. “It is ‘a cardinal principle of statutory
construction’ that ‘a statute ought, upon the whole, to be construed that, if it can be
prevented, no clause, sentence, or word shall be superfluous, void, or insignificant.’”
TRW Inc. v. Andrews, 534 U.S. 19, 31 (2001) (citing Duncan v. Walker, 533 U.S. 167,
174 (2001). Rule 3002.1(a) applies to claims “secured by a security interest in the
debtor’s principal residence.” In contrast, 11 U.S.C. § 1322(b)(2) applies to claims
other than those “secured only by a security interest in real property that is the
debtor’s principal residence.” 11 U.S.C. § 1322(b)(2) (emphasis added). To read both
§ 1322(b)(2) and Rule 3002.1(a) as referring to claims secured only by the debtor’s
principal residence would render the word “only” in § 1322(b)(2) superfluous—an
outcome that violates a cardinal principle of statutory construction. The drafters of
Rule 3002.1 undoubtedly were aware of the similar language in 11 U.S.C.
§ 1322(b)(2)—because it provides a key protection for home mortgage lenders in
chapter 13 cases—and would have included the word “only” in Rule 3002.1 if they
meant to limit the reach of Rule 3002.1. They did not. And the court will not
unilaterally impose such a restriction.
Finally, the court has found no authority suggesting a claim must be secured
only by the debtor’s principal residence for Rule 3002.1 to apply. Lacking any
authority to do so, the court will not read the word “only” into this rule.
For that reason, and because Rule 3002.1(a) does not contain the word “only”
and reading it in would violate a principle of statutory construction, the court
determines Rule 3002.1 applies if a claim is secured by the debtor’s principal
residence—even if that claim is also secured by other property. Because, here, the
bank’s claim is secured by the Roe’s principal residence, Rule 3002.1 applies in this
case.
II. Rule 3002.1(i) provides enforcement mechanisms for Rule 3002.1(c).
Having determined Rule 3002.1 governs, the court must next consider what
consequences—if any—exist when a claim holder fails to file a timely notice of fees,
expenses, and charges under Rule 3002.1(c). The bank argues that because
subdivision (c) does not specify a consequence for noncompliance, Rule 3002.1 imposes
no consequence. The court disagrees with this reading for two reasons: first, the
plain language of Rule 3002.1(i) contravenes this interpretation, and second, the
bank’s proposed interpretation would render subdivision (c) ineffective.
Rule 3002.1(c) specifies the requirements a claim holder must abide by when
filing a notice of fees, expenses, and charges, and, under its plain language, Rule
3002.1(i) provides the enforcement mechanisms for subdivision (c). Rule 3002.1(c)
requires a claim holder to file and serve a notice itemizing all fees, expenses, and
charges it asserts are recoverable against a debtor. The claim holder must file and
serve its notice within 180 days of the date the claim holder incurs the fees, expenses,
and charges. Rule 3002.1(i) gives the court discretion to impose consequences when
“the holder of a claim fails to provide any information as required by subdivision (b),
(c), or (g) of this rule.” Fed. R. Bankr. P. 3002.1(i); see In re Lescinskas, 2021 WL
623698 at *4 (stating Rule 3002.1(i) authorizes the court to punish the party who
violates Rule 3002.1(c)). The notice is the vehicle for providing the “information as
required by subdivision . . . (c).” Thus, the bank’s failure to timely file the notice is,
by extension, a failure to provide the information subdivision (c) requires. Contra In
re Salazar, No. 14-34691 2016 WL 6068819 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. Oct. 14, 2016)
(concluding Rule 3002.1(i) only references the itemization of the charges and thus
untimely notice cannot qualify as failing to provide the information). Therefore, by
its plain language, Rule 3002.1(i) provides enforcement mechanisms for Rule
3002.1(c).
The bank’s proposed reading of Rule 3002.1(c) as having no consequences for
violation would render the rule ineffective—an outcome the drafters could not have
intended. It would be odd, indeed, to adopt a rule with its intended purpose of
preventing these late-in-the-case surprises but provide no consequences for
noncompliance. And, as discussed above, Rule 3002.1(i) clearly provides the
consequences the court may impose when a party violates Rule 3002.1(c).
III. The court will exercise its discretion to impose consequences under
Bankruptcy Rules 3002.1(i)(1) and (2).
Because the bank failed to file timely notice of a portion of its fees, expenses,
and charges under Rule 3002.1(c), Rule 3002.1(i) affords the court discretion to
impose consequences against the bank under either or both Rule 3002.1(i)(1) and (2).
Here, the court determines it is appropriate to exercise its discretion to impose
consequences against the bank. The court will preclude the bank from presenting as
evidence $4244.40 in fees, expenses, and charges from the notice as “omitted
information” under Rule 3002.1(i)(1). And, even if the untimely information does not
constitute “omitted information,” the court will disallow the bank’s fees, expenses,
and charges it incurred more than 180 days before the notice as “other appropriate
relief” under Rule 3002.1(i)(2).
A. The court will exercise its discretion under both Rule 3002.1(i)(1) and (2).
Under the facts of this case, it is appropriate for the court to exercise its
discretion to impose consequences against the bank under both Rule 3002.1(i)(1) and
(2). The drafters enacted Rule 3002.1 to prevent a creditor from unfairly surprising
a debtor, near the end of a chapter 13 case, with years of accumulated legal fees and
other charges the debtor must pay. Here, Roe proposed to sell one parcel of real estate
to fully satisfy the bank’s claim and pay off her Chapter 13 case. After preparing and
submitting a sale order stating the sale would satisfy the bank’s claim in full, the
bank filed the present notice requesting an additional $13,639 in fees, expenses, and
charges. The late-filed notice made the sale proceeds insufficient to pay off the bank’s
claim and Roe’s case. Because the bank’s late-filed notice unfairly surprised Roe at
the end of her case—which is precisely the situation the drafters sought to prevent
when they enacted the rule—the court determines it is appropriate to exercise its
discretion to prevent the bank from presenting as evidence information about
$4244.40 of the late-filed fees, expenses, and charges under Rule 3002.1(i)(1) and
disallow those late-filed fees, expenses, and charges under Rule 3002.1(i)(2).
B. The court will exercise its discretion under Rule 3002.1(i)(1) to preclude the
bank from presenting the untimely information about the costs and fees
incurred outside the 180-day deadline.
When a claim holder fails to file its notice as Rule 3002.1(c) requires, Rule
3002.1(i)(1) gives the court discretion to “preclude the [claim] holder from presenting
the omitted information, in any form, as evidence in any contested matter or
adversary proceeding in the case.” Fed. R. Bankr. P. Rule 3002.1(i)(1). But under
the safe harbor provision in Rule 3002.1(i)(1), the court may not preclude the claim
holder from presenting the omitted information if the court “determines that the
failure was substantially justified or is harmless.” Id.
Here, the bank has presented no evidence showing its failure to timely notify
Roe of the fees was substantially justified or harmless. Nor has the court has found
any evidence suggesting that was the case. Thus, the bank has not triggered the safe
harbor provision in Rule 3002.1(i)(1). As a result, the court has discretion to preclude
the bank from presenting the information as evidence in any contested matter or
adversary proceeding if the unfiled notices constitute “omitted information” under
subdivision (i)(1).
Rule 3002.1(c) required the bank to file notices of fees, expenses, and charges
within 180 days of incurring them. Because the bank appears to have continuously
worked on this case since the petition date, the court would have expected the bank
to file notices of fees, expenses, and charges approximately every 180 days. Instead,
after preparing and submitting a sale order leading Roe and the court to believe the
sale would fully satisfy the bank’s claim (including fees, expenses, and charges), the
bank filed one notice—nearly three years into the case—seeking fees in excess of the
sale proceeds. It is no wonder, then, that Roe and her counsel were surprised and
objected to the notice.
The bank filed its notice of fees, expenses, and charges on January 14, 2021.
Thus, under Rule 3002.1(c), the bank provided timely notice with respect to any fees,
expenses, and charges it incurred after July 18, 2020 (the date 180 days before
January 14, 2021).
The bank attached to its notice seventeen invoices spanning February 19,
2018, to December 31, 2020. Of the attached invoices, thirteen did not comply with
the 180-day deadline set forth in Rule 3002.1(c). Additionally, one invoice—the
August 31, 2020 invoice—included two entries containing fees preceding the July 18,
2020 deadline (the fees the bank incurred on July 16 and 17, 2020).
The following table reflects the thirteen untimely invoices. The dates listed in
the third column are the latest dates the bank could have timely filed its notices with
respect to each invoice. The court calculated the dates in the third column (the “Due
Dates”) by adding 180 days to each invoice date.
INVOICE DATE AMOUNT DUE DATES
3/30/2018 $773.10 9/26/2018
4/30/2018 $731.50 10/27/2018
5/31/2018 $1084.30 11/27/2018
6/29/2018 $115.00 12/26/2018
10/31/2018 $385.00 4/29/2019
4/30/2019 $115.50 10/27/2019
5/31/2019 $269.50 11/27/2019
10/31/2019 $77.00 4/28/2020
11/29/2019 $192.50 5/27/2020
12/31/2019 $77.00 6/28/2020
1/31/2020 $192.50 7/29/2020
2/28/2020 $77.00 8/26/2020
6/30/2020 $154.00 12/27/2020
This table reflects the bank did not timely notify Roe and the court of the $4244.40 in
fees listed on the invoices dated March 30, 2018, to June 30, 2020.
With respect to any notices the bank did not file within 180 days of incurring
the fees, the court will treat the information in those notices as “omitted information”
under Rule 3002.1(i)(1). Although the bank did eventually file the notices—albeit
untimely and without justification for the lateness—because the bank failed to file
the notices as of their due dates, the information became “omitted information” on
those dates. Thus, the court will exercise its discretion to preclude the bank from
presenting any omitted information from the thirteen invoices for which there was
no timely notice.
With respect to the August 31, 2020 invoice, which contains time entries from
both before and after July 18, 2020 (180 days before the bank filed its notice), the
court declines to impose any consequence under 3002.1(i). These time entries range
from July 16, 2020, to August 13, 2020. The court is aware of, and generally agrees
with, cases determining that a creditor incurs fees on the date the professional
renders the services. See In re Raygoza, 556 B.R. 813, 819–20 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 2016)
(determining a party “incurs” an expense when a professional preforms the relevant
legal services). But in reality, most professionals do not invoice on a daily basis. In
this case, the bank’s counsel consistently invoiced monthly for services in months
when it provided services. Under these circumstances, the court believes it is
appropriate to exercise the discretion provided under Rule 3002.1(i) to permit the
bank to present information for the two time entries from July 16 and 17, along with
all subsequent time entries, in support of the bank’s request for fees, expenses, and
charges.
C. Alternatively, the court will disallow the untimely fees, expenses, and
charges as “other appropriate relief” under Rule 3002.1(i)(2).
Even if the information does not constitute “omitted information,” the court
still has discretion to disallow the fees, charges, and expenses the bank incurred
outside the 180-day deadline. Rule 3002.1(i)(2) gives the court discretion to “award
other appropriate relief, including reasonable expenses and attorney’s fees” when a
claim holder violates subsection (c). Among other appropriate relief the court could
award under Rule 3002.1(i)(2), the court may exercise its discretion to disallow the
bank’s fees, expenses, and charges for which the bank did not file and serve a timely
notice. See In re Lescinskas, No. 15-13801, 2021 WL 623698 at *5 (Bankr. D. Mass.
Feb. 17, 2021) (determining, under similar facts, Rule 3002.1(i)(2) authorized the
court to limit a claim holder’s recovery to attorney’s fees and other charges it incurred
during the 180-day period prior to the date of the notice).
Here, the bank incurred fees, expenses, and charges over nearly a three-year
period but waited until recently to file its notice detailing those fees, expenses, and
charges. Because the bank was required to file its notices within 180 days from
incurring the fees, expenses, and charges, any attached invoices detailing fees
incurred before July 18, 2020, were not timely. Thus, for the reasons set forth in
Lescinskas, the court will exercise its discretion to disallow all fees, expenses, and
charges the bank incurred prior to July 16, 2020—thus giving the bank the benefit of
two extra days for the reasons set forth in section III.B above.
IV. The court determines the bank may recover $9394.60 in fees,
expenses, and charges.
Section 506(b) permits an over-secured creditor to recover any reasonable fees,
costs, or charges provided for under the agreement giving rise to the claim.2 To
recover attorney’s fees, costs, and other charges, an over-secured creditor must
establish that: (1) is claim is secured by property with a value in excess of the amount
2 Because the bank’s claim is secured by more than just Roe’s principal residence, the anti-
modification provision in 11 U.S.C. § 1322(b)(2) does not apply. See 11 U.S.C. § 1322(b)(2) (“the plan
may modify the rights of holders of secured claims, other than a claim secured only by a security
interest in real property that is the debtor’s principal residence”). Thus, the bank’s right to recover its
attorney’s fees stems from 11 U.S.C. § 506(b) and its underlying loan documents.
of its claim; (2) the fees, costs, and other charges it requests are reasonable; and (3)
the agreement giving rise to the claim authorizes the secured creditor to recover the
fees, costs, and charges. 11 U.S.C. § 506(b); White v. Coors Distributing Company (In
re White), 260 B.R. 870, 880 (B.A.P. 8th Cir. 2001). As the party seeking to recover
the fees, the bank bears the burden of proof on each of these elements. In re Okafor,
595 B.R. 903, 909 (Bankr. W.D. Mo. 2018); In re Woods Auto Gallery, Inc., 379 B.R.
875, 885 (Bankr. W.D. Mo. 2007).
No party disputes the bank is over-secured, thus the first element is not at
issue. And no party disputes that the loan documents authorize the bank to recover
attorney’s fees, costs, and expenses the bank incurred in enforcing its rights under
the loan documents, liquidating its collateral, and collecting the amounts due under
the loan documents, so the third element is not at issue either.
But the question remains: are the attorney’s fees reasonable? The bank relies
on the invoices attached to the notice as the only evidence to prove its requested fees
are reasonable. Roe does not dispute their reasonableness. Nevertheless, the court
has an independent duty to review a creditor’s fees for reasonableness under § 506(b).
Absent the precluded evidence about the amounts of the bank’s requested fees
and how the bank incurred them, the court cannot determine whether those fees are
reasonable. Thus, the court cannot determine the reasonableness of any fees the
bank incurred before July 18, 2020. Because the court cannot make this
determination under § 506(b), the bank cannot recover $4244.40 of its requested fees,
expenses, and charges—which is the portion the bank incurred more than 180 days
before the bank filed its notice.
The court must also determine the reasonableness of the timely-filed fees,
expenses, and charges (including the fees incurred on July 16, 2020, and July 17,
2020). After reviewing the invoices attached to the notice and, based on court’s
experience and knowledge of the hourly rates charged by both bankruptcy and non-
bankruptcy attorneys in the Kansas City area, the court determines that $9394.60 of
the requested fees, expenses, and charges are reasonable, and are thus recoverable
by the bank.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons explained above, the court ALLOWS Farmers Bank’s notice of
$9394.60 in fees, expenses, and charges, but the court DISALLOWS Farmers Bank’s
notice of $4244.40 in fees, expenses, and charges. The chapter 13 trustee shall
disburse $9394.60 to Farmers Bank for its allowed fees, expenses, and charges.
Dated: 7/13/2021 /s/ Brian T. Fenimore___________
United States Bankruptcy Judge