noting the ALJ’s decision is read “as a whole”
How later courts described this case
- noting the ALJ’s decision is read “as a whole”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA
MARLENA LOUISE HEMENWAY, )
)
Plaintiff, )
)
v. ) Civil Action No. 22-345-E
)
MARTIN O’MALLEY,1 )
Commissioner of Social Security, )
)
Defendant. )
)
O R D E R
AND NOW, this 8th day of March, 2024, upon consideration of the parties’ cross-
motions for summary judgment, the Court, upon review of the Commissioner of Social
Security’s final decision denying Plaintiff’s claim for disability insurance benefits under
Subchapter II of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 401 et seq., finds that the
Commissioner’s findings are supported by substantial evidence and, accordingly, affirms.
See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); Biestek v. Berryhill, 139 S. Ct. 1148, 1153-54 (2019); Jesurum v.
Secretary of U.S. Dep’t of Health & Human Servs, 48 F.3d 114, 117 (3d Cir. 1995) (citing
Brown v. Bowen, 845 F.2d 1211, 1213 (3d Cir. 1988)). See also Berry v. Sullivan, 738 F.
Supp. 942, 944 (W.D. Pa. 1990) (if supported by substantial evidence, the Commissioner’s
1 Martin O’Malley is substituted as the defendant in this matter, replacing former Acting
Commissioner Kilolo Kijakazi pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 25(d) and 42 U.S.C. §
405(g). The Clerk is directed to amend the docket to reflect this change.
1
decision must be affirmed, as a federal court may neither reweigh the evidence, nor reverse,
merely because it would have decided the claim differently) (citing Cotter v. Harris, 642
F.2d 700, 705 (3d Cir. 1981)).2
2 Plaintiff’s underlying argument is that the decision of the Administrative Law
Judge (“ALJ”) is not supported by substantial evidence because the ALJ failed to analyze
the consistency and supportability of Dr. Brooke Kelly, D.O.’s treating source opinion in
accordance with the governing regulations. (Doc. No. 15). As explained herein, the
Court disagrees and will affirm the ALJ’s non-disability determination.
The ALJ analyzed Dr. Kelly’s opinion when crafting Plaintiff’s residual functional
capacity (“RFC”). This analysis resulted in the following RFC finding:
After careful consideration of the entire record, the undersigned finds that,
through the date last insured, the claimant had the residual functional
capacity to perform sedentary work as defined in 20 CFR 404.1567(a)
except that she would be limited to occasional climbing of ramps and stairs;
no climbing of ladders, ropes, and scaffolds; and occasional balancing,
stooping, kneeling, crouching, and crawling. She would be limited to
frequent left upper extremity reaching, handling, and fingering; occasional
left upper extremity overhead reaching; and no concentrated exposure to
excessive cold, wetness, vibration, or workplace hazards, including
unprotected machinery and unprotected heights. She would be limited to
no greater than a moderate noise level, as defined in the Select
Characteristics of Occupations. Work would also be limited to SVP 1 and
2 jobs, consisting of simple, routine, and repetitive tasks; involving only
simple, work-related decisions; with few, if any, workplace changes. The
claimant would be limited to no production rate or pace work, such as
assembly line work. She is capable of frequent interaction with the public,
coworkers, and supervisors.
(R. 15). Relying on this RFC, the ALJ determined Plaintiff could not perform past
relevant work, but that there were other jobs within the national economy that Plaintiff
could perform given these limitations. (R. 19-20).
Plaintiff argues the ALJ failed to properly evaluate the supportability and
consistency of Dr. Kelly’s treating source statement. (Doc. No. 15 at 6-11). Dr. Kelly
is a pain specialist who consistently treated Plaintiff for chronic pain and provided a
medical source statement based on Plaintiff’s scoliosis, myofascial pain, and chronic
thoracic pain. (Id. at 6; R. 437). Plaintiff argues the ALJ did not compare Dr. Kelly’s
2
ultimate medical opinion to her articulated support for such an opinion. (Doc. No. 15 at
8-9). Plaintiff is particularly concerned with Dr. Kelly’s opined limitations that Plaintiff
would be off-task 10% of an eight-hour work day and miss about two days per-month.
(Id. at 9-11). Plaintiff argues that the ALJ improperly rejected this opinion because these
limitations would render Plaintiff disabled. (Id. at 10). For all these reasons, Plaintiff
argues that this Court should remand this case. (Id. at 11).
The Court first notes that for cases such as this one, filed on or after March 27,
2017, the regulations have eliminated the “treating physician rule.” Compare 20 C.F.R.
§ 404.1527(c)(2) (applying to cases prior to the amendment of the regulations) with 20
C.F.R. § 404.1520c(a) (applying to later cases). See also 82 Fed. Reg. 5844-01, at 5853
(Jan. 18, 2017). While the medical source’s treating relationship with the claimant is still
a valid and important consideration, “the two most important factors for determining the
persuasiveness of medical opinions are consistency and supportability.” 82 Fed. Reg. at
5853. See also 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520c(b) and (c). One court has explained the
distinction between supportability and consistency as follows: “supportability relates to the
extent to which a medical source has articulated support for the medical source’s own
opinion, while consistency relates to the relationship between a medical source’s opinion
and other evidence within the record.” Cook v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 6:20-CV-1197,
2021 WL 1565832, at *3 (M.D. Fla. Apr. 6, 2021).
Here, the ALJ sufficiently analyzed the consistency and supportability factors in
relation to Dr. Kelly’s opinion. The ALJ stated:
The undersigned finds [Dr. Kelly’s] opinion to be partially persuasive, in
that it calls for a reduced range of work, as that is generally consistent with
and supported by the medical evidence of record. Dr. Kelly relies on the
claimant’s longitudinal history of pain and treatment for pain in fashioning
her opinion (e.g., Exhibit B7F). The claimant consistently sought
treatment throughout the relevant period for chronic pain (e.g., Exhibit
B4F). Dr. Kelly’s function-by-function portion of her medical source
statement is essentially consistent with a capacity for work at the light
exertional level.
However, the record fails to support an off-task or excessive absenteeism
provision opined by Dr. Kelly, and the undersigned does not find that
portion of Dr. Kelly’s opinion to be particularly persuasive. Though the
claimant has a longitudinal treatment [history] for chronic pain, the medical
evidence of record fails to provide support for a degree of off-task behavior
and absenteeism that would render the claimant disabled. Her mental
status examinations are routinely within normal limits. Her physical
examinations indicated functional range of motion and motor strength, as
3
Therefore, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary
Judgment (Doc. No. 14) is DENIED and that Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment
(Doc. No. 18) is GRANTED.
well as normal gait and success with conservative interventions. As such,
the undersigned finds that Dr. Kelly’s medical opinion is only partially
persuasive, as it is not fully supported by her own treatment notes. Her
opinion is generally consistent with the remainder of the medical evidence,
which generally indicates an ability to perform a restricted range of light
work.
(R. 18). As this shows, the ALJ found Dr. Kelly’s opinion consistent by comparing it to
other evidence of record and found this opinion was not supported by comparing it to Dr.
Kelly’s treatment notes and Plaintiff’s longitudinal history. (Id.) This consistency and
supportability analysis is sufficient and addresses these factors in their appropriate
contexts. See Cook, 2021 WL 1565832, at *3.
Moreover, the ALJ sufficiently analyzed Dr. Kelly’s opinion as to Plaintiff’s off-
task time and absenteeism. The ALJ considered the consistency of Dr. Kelly’s opinion
in regard to her opined off-task time and absenteeism by analyzing the record evidence,
which showed normal mental status examinations and physical examination findings of
functional range of motion and motor strength, and normal gait. (R. 13-19); see Jones v.
Barnhart, 364 F.3d 501, 505 (3d Cir. 2004) (noting the ALJ’s decision is read “as a
whole”). Further, as the second paragraph of the above quoted portion shows, the ALJ
analyzed the supportability of Dr. Kelly’s opined off-task time and absenteeism by noting
that the medical evidence of record did not support this finding and that Dr. Kelly’s own
treatment notes, which showed routinely normal mental status examinations, did not
support this opinion. (R. 18). Ultimately, as Defendant notes, Plaintiff is asking this
Court to reweigh the evidence. (Doc. No. 19 at 17).
The Court also rejects Plaintiff’s argument that the ALJ discounted Dr. Kelly’s
opinion because it supports a finding of disability. (Doc. No. 15 at 10). As Defendant
notes, the ALJ’s statement was an explanation that although Plaintiff had longitudinal
treatment for chronic pain, the medical evidence of record failed to support the degree of
off-task behavior and absenteeism that would render her disabled. (Doc. No. 19 at 16-17;
R. 18). This was not a rejection of Dr. Kelly’s opinion because it rendered Plaintiff
disabled, but a rejection of this opinion based on Plaintiff’s medical record. Accordingly,
Plaintiff’s argument as to this point is without merit.
For these reasons, the Court affirms the decision of the ALJ.
4
s/Alan N. Bloch
United States District Judge
ecf: Counsel of record
5