Opinion

WIGGINS v. SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

Court
District Court, W.D. Pennsylvania
Filed
Nov 3, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.3%

The opinion

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

AARON L. WIGGINS, )

)

Plaintiff, )

) Civil Action No. 21-1413

vs. )

)

KILOLO KIJAKAZI,1 ) )

Acting Commissioner of Social Security, )

Defendant.

ORDER

AND NOW, this 3rd day of November 2022, the Court has considered the parties’

summary judgment motions and will order judgment in Defendant’s favor except as to costs.2

The Administrative Law Judge’s (“ALJ”) decision finding Plaintiff’s disability ended on January

1, 2018, and that Plaintiff had not become disabled again since that date, is supported by

substantial evidence and will be affirmed. Biestek v. Berryhill, 139 S. Ct. 1148, 1152 (2019).3

1 Kilolo Kijakazi is hereby substituted as Defendant pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 25(d). There is no impact on the case. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). The Clerk is directed to

amend the docket to reflect the substitution.

2 Defendant has asked not only for a favorable determination of her summary judgment

motion, but also that costs be taxed against Plaintiff. Because the latter request is not supported

by argument in her accompanying brief, the Court’s Order excludes an award of costs. Pa. Dep’t

of Pub. Welfare v. U.S. Dep’t of Health & Hum. Servs., 101 F.3d 939, 945 (3d Cir. 1996).

3 Plaintiff was previously found to be disabled due to diabetic neuropathy as of October 30,

2002 and received benefits from 2003 to 2018. (R. 15, 67). Upon periodic review, the Social

Security Administration (“SSA”) found Plaintiff to be no longer disabled as of January 1, 2018.

(R. 15). That decision was upheld on reconsideration and Plaintiff sought a hearing before an

ALJ who returned an unfavorable decision. (R. 15, 27). Before the Court, Plaintiff purports to

raise at least four arguments challenging that decision, which became the final agency decision

in this matter when the Appeals Council denied his request for review (R. 1). 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.981. For the reasons explained herein, the Court will affirm the agency’s final decision.

The Court reviews this decision to determine whether the findings therein are supported

by “substantial evidence” and to ensure there are no errors of law. Biestek, 139 S. Ct. at 1152;

Schaudeck v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 181 F.3d 429, 431 (3d Cir. 1999) (citation omitted).

Substantial evidence is not a demanding evidentiary standard. Biestek, 139 S. Ct. at 1154. It

requires only “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a

conclusion,” that is “more than a mere scintilla.” Id. (quoting Consolidated Edison Co. v. NLRB,

305 U.S. 197, 229 (1938)). The decision subject to the Court’s review in this instance is a

decision finding Plaintiff to be no longer disabled after a continuing disability review (“CDR”)

pursuant to 20 C.F.R. § 404.1589. When a CDR results in termination of benefits, the claimant

may challenge that decision. Id. § 404.1597. An ALJ considering a claimant’s challenge to an

unfavorable re-evaluation of his or her disability “uses a sequential evaluation process similar to

the one used initially in determining whether a claimant is disabled.” Dorgan v. Saul, No. CV

19-919, 2021 WL 663200, at *2 (W.D. Pa. Feb. 19, 2021); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1594(f).

At step one of the eight-step sequential evaluation process, the ALJ asks “whether the

claimant is currently engaging in substantial gainful activity [(“SGA”)].” Dorgan, 2021 WL

663200, at *2. If the claimant is engaged in SGA, disability will be denied. Id. For a claimant

who is not engaged in SGA, the ALJ “must determine whether the claimant’s impairments meet

or equal the criteria for a listed impairment.” Id. If the claimant’s impairments do not satisfy

criteria for a listed impairment, then the ALJ must decide “whether there has been medical

improvement in the claimant’s impairments compared to the ‘comparison point decision,’”

which is “the most recent favorable finding that the claimant is disabled.” Id. If there is medical

improvement, the ALJ moves to step four, but if not, the ALJ moves to step five. Id. At step

four, the ALJ determines whether a claimant’s medical improvement “is related to the claimant’s

ability to work.” Id. at *3. If the medical improvement is related to work ability, then the ALJ

must determine at step six “whether the claimant’s current impairments are ‘severe.’” Id. If the

claimant has a severe impairment(s), then the analysis proceeds to steps seven and eight where

the ALJ makes a finding of the claimant’s residual functional capacity (“RFC”) to determine

whether it permits a return to past relevant work, or whether it and the claimant’s other

vocational characteristics permit adjustment to “other available work in the national economy.”

Id. If the claimant is capable of “such work, he or she is no longer disabled.” Id.

In this matter, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff had not been engaged in SGA and that he

continued to have the same medically determinable impairment as he had at the time of the 2003

comparison point decision. (R. 17). The ALJ further found that Plaintiff had not acquired any

additional severe impairments, though he had developed several non-severe impairments. (Id.).

These other impairments included “[s]tatus post-hip fracture surgery, major depressive disorder,

and generalized anxiety disorder.” (Id.). Considering Plaintiff’s impairments, the ALJ

determined that Plaintiff had no “impairment or combination of impairments which met or

medically equaled the severity of” a listed impairment. (R. 20). Next, the ALJ found medical

improvement related to Plaintiff’s ability to work and assessed Plaintiff’s RFC to include light

work with limitations such as requiring that Plaintiff have “the opportunity to alternate sitting

and standing every thirty minutes.” (R. 21, 25). Because Plaintiff had no past relevant work, the

ALJ considered whether Plaintiff’s RFC and other vocational characteristics—age, education,

and work experience—permitted adjustment to other work. He determined that Plaintiff “ha[d]

been able to perform a significant number of jobs in the national economy” and thus found his

disability had ended. (R. 25—27).

Before the Court, Plaintiff has challenged that conclusion and has argued that the

evidence of record proves he is no less disabled than he was at the time of his 2003 comparison

point decision. In furtherance of this general argument, Plaintiff has purported to more

specifically argue that: (1) the ALJ failed to appropriately consider his age; (2) his 2019 injuries

from two motor vehicle accidents (“MVA”) were not afforded proper weight and should have

been found to have exacerbated his pre-existing physical limitations; (3) the ALJ failed to

consider his depression; and (4) there was not an adequate showing that work was available for

an individual with his RFC, age, education, and work experience. (Doc. No. 13, pg. 5).

Defendant has argued that Plaintiff waived these arguments by stating them with

excessive brevity. “Waiver . . . is the intentional relinquishment or abandonment of a known

right.” Barna v. Bd. of Sch. Directors of Panther Valley Sch. Dist., 877 F.3d 136, 147 (3d Cir.

2017) (quoting United States v. Olano, 507 U.S. 725, 733 (1993)). While Defendant is correct

that “conclusory assertions” do not adequately assist reviewing courts in their evaluation of a

party’s arguments, Com. of Pa. Dep’t of Pub. Welfare, 101 F.3d at 945, the Court hesitates to

infer an “intentional relinquishment” of the arguments in Plaintiff’s brief. Brown v. Saul, No.

2:19-CV-01590, 2020 WL 6566221, at *3 (W.D. Pa. Nov. 9, 2020) (quoting Barna, 877 F.3d at

147) (explaining that district courts may grant summary judgment even on grounds that are not

raised by the parties so long as the parties are afforded “notice and an opportunity to be heard on

the issue”); Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(f). Defendant having addressed Plaintiff’s contentions on their

merits, the Court herein opts to address those arguments rather than finding that Plaintiff waived

his challenges to the ALJ’s decision.

Having considered Plaintiff’s arguments, the Court has determined that these are merely

requests to re-weigh evidence that the ALJ already considered toward the underlying decision.

Of course, the Court is not empowered to “re-weigh the evidence or impose [its] own factual

determinations.” Chandler v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 667 F.3d 356, 359 (3d Cir. 2011). Plaintiff’s

first argument—that the ALJ failed to appropriately consider his age—is flatly contradicted by

the decision wherein the ALJ considered that Plaintiff “was an individual closely approaching

advanced age,” i.e., an individual age 50—54 pursuant to 20 C.F.R. § 404.1563(d). (R. 26).

Plaintiff’s argument that the ALJ failed to give proper weight to his injuries from two MVAs in

2019 must also fail. The ALJ specifically considered Plaintiff’s injuries arising from those

accidents but found only non-severe impairments. (R. 17—18). In support of that finding, the

ALJ reviewed the medical evidence related to Plaintiff’s injuries and treatment and found that

Plaintiff’s injuries “ha[d] not significantly limited the claimant’s ability to engage in work

activity.” (R. 18). The ALJ subsequently considered Plaintiff’s injuries (R. 22) with all the other

relevant evidence in his formulation of Plaintiff’s light-work RFC. (R. 21). Accordingly,

Plaintiff’s argument that the ALJ failed to afford appropriate weight to his MVA injuries is

Therefore, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment

(Doc. No. 10) is DENIED and Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment (Doc. No. 14) is

GRANTED as specified above.

s/ Alan N. Bloch

United States District Judge

ecf: Counsel of Record

merely a request for this Court to substitute its own evaluation of those injuries and their limiting

effect(s) for that of the ALJ. That request is incompatible with the deferential standard of review

applicable here.

Likewise, Plaintiff’s argument that the ALJ failed to consider his depression is just an

expression of Plaintiff’s dissatisfaction with findings the ALJ drew from the evidence. The ALJ

specifically acknowledged Plaintiff suffered from major depressive disorder but found that this

was a non-severe impairment because it caused him no more than mild limitations. (R. 17, 19).

Plaintiff points to no evidence of functional limitations arising from Plaintiff’s non-severe

impairment of depression that the ALJ overlooked; therefore, the Court finds Plaintiff’s

argument that the ALJ failed to account for his depression to be meritless.

Plaintiff’s final argument—that the ALJ failed to show there was work available for an

individual with his RFC and vocational characteristics (especially age)—appears to be a

restatement of his other arguments. It, like Plaintiff’s other arguments, is unavailing. The ALJ

relied on a vocational expert’s (“VE”) testimony that an individual with Plaintiff’s RFC, “age,

education, [and] work experience” could meet the work requirements of at least three

occupations that corresponded to over 90,000 jobs nationally. (R. 26—27, 60—61). The Court

having found no error in the ALJ’s formulation of Plaintiff’s RFC, and the ALJ having

accurately presented Plaintiff’s RFC and vocational characteristics to the VE, it was appropriate

for the ALJ to rely on the VE’s testimony about the work that would be available to Plaintiff.

Plummer v. Apfel, 186 F.3d 422, 431 (3d Cir. 1999) (“The vocational expert’s testimony was in

response to a hypothetical that fairly set forth every credible limitation established by the

physical evidence. As such, it can be relied upon as substantial evidence supporting the ALJ’s

conclusion that [the claimant] is not totally disabled.”). Accordingly, the ALJ’s decision is

supported by substantial evidence. For this and the foregoing reasons, the Court will award

judgment to Defendant and affirm the underlying decision.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.