Opinion

McMahon v. Saul

Court
District Court, M.D. Pennsylvania
Filed
Dec 16, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.1%

“We examine the ALJ's conclusions as to [the claimant's] residual functional capacity with the deference required of the substantial evidence standard of review.”

How later courts described this case

  • “We examine the ALJ's conclusions as to [the claimant's] residual functional capacity with the deference required of the substantial evidence standard of review.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

TRISTA L. McMAHON, : CIVIL NO: 1:20-cv-02038

:

Plaintiff, : (Magistrate Judge Schwab)

:

v. :

:

KILOLO KIJIKAZI,1 :

Acting Commissioner of Social :

Security, :

:

Defendant. :

:

MEMORANDUM OPINION

I. Introduction.

This is a social security action brought under 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g) and

1383(c)(3). Plaintiff Trista McMahon seeks judicial review of the final decision of

the Commissioner of Social Security denying her social security benefits under

Titles II and XVI of the Social Security Act. Because the Commissioner’s

decision is supported by substantial evidence, we will affirm her decision.

1 Kilolo Kijakazi is now the Acting Commissioner of Social Security, and

she is automatically substituted as the defendant in this action. See Fed. R. Civ. P.

25(d) (providing that when a public officer sued in his or her official capacity

ceases to hold office while the action is pending, “[t]he officer’s successor is

automatically substituted as a party”); 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (“Any action instituted

in accordance with this subsection shall survive notwithstanding any change in the

person occupying the office of Commissioner of Social Security or any vacancy in

such office.”).

II. Background and Procedural History.

We refer to the administrative transcript provided by the Commissioner. See

docs. 15-1 to 15-8.2 On January 16, 2018, McMahon filed an application for

child’s insurance benefits (“CIB”). Admin Tr. at 13.3 McMahon also protectively

filed4 a Title XVI application for Supplementary Security Income (“SSI”) on

December 15, 2017. Id. Both claims alleged disability beginning on April 20,

2014. Id. After McMahon’s claims were initially denied, she requested a hearing.

Id. Administrative Law Judge Frank Barletta (“ALJ”) held an administrative

hearing on October 30, 2019, in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. Id. McMahon and

2 Because the facts of this case are well known to the parties, we do not

repeat them here in detail. Instead, we recite only those facts that bear on

McMahon’s claims.

3 CIB is payable to a child “of an individual entitled to old-age or disability

insurance benefits, or of an individual who dies a fully or currently insured

individual” in several circumstances. 42 U.S.C. § 402(d)(1)(B); see also 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.350(a). Here, McMahon’s application for CIB appears to be based on her

father’s status. See Admin. Tr. at 137.

4 “Protective filing is a term for the first time an individual contacts the

Social Security Administration to file a claim for benefits.” Stitzel v. Berryhill, No.

3:16- CV-0391, 2017 WL 5559918, at *1 n.3 (M.D. Pa. Nov. 9, 2017). “A

protective filing date allows an individual to have an earlier application date than

the date the application is actually signed.” Id. Here, December 15, 2017, is the

date identified by the ALJ as the date that McMahon protectively filed her

application for SSI. Admin. Tr. at 13.

her husband appeared and testified at the hearing; an impartial vocational expert

was also present and testified. Id.

On December 11, 2019, the ALJ determined that McMahon had not been

disabled prior to November 29, 2015, the date she attained the age of 22,5 as

defined in § 223(d) of the Social Security Act, and he denied her CIB accordingly.

Id. at 31. Finding her not disabled under § 1614(a)(3)(A) of the Social Security

Act, the ALJ also denied her application for SSI. Id. McMahon appealed the

ALJ’s decision to the Appeals Council, which denied her request for review on

August 31, 2020. Id. at 9. This makes the ALJ’s decision the final decision of the

Commissioner, subject to judicial review by this court.

McMahon initiated this action on November 3, 2020, by filing a complaint

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) and 42 U.S.C. § 1383(c)(3). See doc. 1. McMahon

claims that the Commissioner’s decision “was not supported by substantial

evidence.” Id. ¶ IV (15). She also asserts the Commissioner’s decision “is

erroneous and contrary to settled law.” Id. at ¶ IV (16). In her prayer for relief,

McMahon requests that this court reverse the administrative decision and award

her CIB and SSI benefits, or remand this case to the Commissioner for a new

5 One of the circumstances when an individual is entitled to CIB is when the

individual is over 18 years of age and was disabled before she turned 22 years old.

See 42 U.S.C. § 402(d)(1)(B), 20 C.F.R. § 404.350(a)(5).

hearing, or grant such further relief as the court deems to be justified. Id. ¶ V (1)–

(3).

The Commissioner filed an answer and the administrative transcript on May

17, 2021. See docs. 14, 15. The parties consented to proceed before a magistrate

judge pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(c), and the case was referred to the undersigned.

Doc. 18. McMahon filed her brief in support of her complaint on October 27,

2021. See doc. 19. Defendant filed its brief in opposition on November 16, 2021.

Doc. 20. Thus, the parties have filed their respective briefs, and this matter is ripe

for decision.

III. Legal Standards.

A. Substantial Evidence Review—The Role of This Court.

When reviewing the Commissioner’s final decision denying a claimant’s

application for benefits, “the court has plenary review of all legal issues decided by

the Commissioner.” Ficca v. Astrue, 901 F. Supp. 2d 533, 536 (M.D. Pa. 2012).

But the court’s review of the Commissioner’s factual findings is limited to whether

substantial evidence supports those findings. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); Biestek v.

Berryhill, 139 S. Ct. 1148, 1152 (2019). “[T]he threshold for such evidentiary

sufficiency is not high.” Biestek, 139 S. Ct. at 1154. Substantial evidence

“means—and means only—‘such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might

accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Id. (quoting Consol. Edison Co. of

New York v. N.L.R.B., 305 U.S. 197, 229 (1938)).

Substantial evidence “is less than a preponderance of the evidence but more

than a mere scintilla.” Jesurum v. Sec’y of U.S. Dep’t of Health & Human Servs.,

48 F.3d 114, 117 (3d Cir. 1995). A single piece of evidence is not substantial

evidence if the ALJ ignores countervailing evidence or fails to resolve a conflict

created by the evidence. Mason v. Shalala, 994 F.2d 1058, 1064 (3d Cir. 1993).

But in an adequately developed factual record, substantial evidence may be

“something less than the weight of the evidence, and the possibility of drawing two

inconsistent conclusions from the evidence does not prevent [the ALJ’s] finding

from being supported by substantial evidence.” Consolo v. Fed. Maritime Comm’n,

383 U.S. 607, 620 (1966). “In determining if the Commissioner’s decision is

supported by substantial evidence the court must scrutinize the record as a whole.”

Leslie v. Barnhart, 304 F. Supp. 2d 623, 627 (M.D. Pa. 2003).

The question before this court, therefore, is not whether McMahon is

disabled, but whether substantial evidence supports the Commissioner’s findings

that she is not disabled and whether the Commissioner correctly applied the

relevant law.

B. Initial Burdens of Proof, Persuasion, and Articulation for the ALJ.

To receive benefits under Title II6 or Title XVI of the Social Security Act, a

claimant must generally be “unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity by

reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be

expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a

continuous period of not less than twelve months.” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A); see

also 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(A); 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1505(a), 416.905(a). To satisfy

this requirement, a claimant must have a severe physical or mental impairment that

makes it impossible to do his or her previous work or any other substantial gainful

work that exists in the national economy. 42 U.S.C. §§ 423(d)(1)(A),

1382c(a)(3)(A).

The ALJ follows a five-step sequential-evaluation process to determine

whether a claimant is disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a), 416.920(a). Under this

6 CIB falls under Title II of the Social Security Act. And the same definition

of disability that applies to disability insurance benefits applies to CIB. See 20

C.F.R. § 404.1505(a) (“We will use this definition of disability if you are applying

for a period of disability, or disability insurance benefits as a disabled worker, or

child's insurance benefits based on disability before age 22 . . . .”). Further, the

same rules, including the same five-step sequential evaluation process, that apply

to disability insurance benefits apply to CIB. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(2)

(“Theses rules apply to you if you file an application for a period of disability or

disability insurance benefits (or both) or for child's insurance benefits based on

disability.”).

process, the ALJ must sequentially determine: (1) whether the claimant is engaged

in substantial gainful activity; (2) whether the claimant has a severe impairment;

(3) whether the claimant’s impairment meets or equals a listed impairment; (4)

whether the claimant is able to do his or her past relevant work; and (5) whether

the claimant is able to do any other work, considering his or her age, education,

work experience, and residual functional capacity (“RFC”). 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(i)–(v), 416.920(a)(4)(i)–(v).

The ALJ must also assess a claimant’s RFC at step four. Hess v. Comm’r of

Soc. Sec., 931 F.3d 198, 198 n.2 (3d Cir. 2019). The RFC is ‘“that which an

individual is still able to do despite the limitations caused by his or her

impairment(s).’” Burnett v Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 220 F.3d 112, 121 (3d Cir. 2000)

(quoting Hartranft v. Apfel, 181 F.3d 358, 359 n.1 (3d Cir. 1999)); see also 20

C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(1), 416.945(a)(1). In making this assessment, the ALJ

considers all the claimant’s medically determinable impairments, including any

non-severe impairment identified by the ALJ at step two of his or her analysis. 20

C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(1), 416.945(a)(2).

“The claimant bears the burden of proof at steps one through four” of the

sequential-evaluation process. Smith v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 631 F.3d 632, 634 (3d

Cir. 2010). But at step five, “the burden of production shifts to the Commissioner,

who must . . . show there are other jobs existing in significant numbers in the

national economy which the claimant can perform, consistent with her medical

impairments, age, education, past work experience, and residual functional

capacity.” Fargnoli v. Massanari, 247 F.3d 34, 39 (3d Cir. 2001).

The ALJ’s disability determination must also meet certain basic substantive

requirements. Most significantly, the ALJ must provide “a clear and satisfactory”

explanation of the basis on which their decision rests. Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d

700, 704 (3d Cir. 1981). “The ALJ must indicate in his decision which evidence

he has rejected and which he is relying on as the basis for his finding.” Schaudeck

v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 181 F. 3d 429, 433 (3d Cir. 1999). The “ALJ may

not reject pertinent or probative evidence without explanation.” Johnson v.

Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 529 F.3d 198, 204 (3d Cir. 2008). Otherwise, ‘“the

reviewing court cannot tell if significant probative evidence was not credited or

simply ignored.’” Burnett, 220 F.3d at 121 (quoting Cotter, 642 F.2d at 705).

IV. The ALJ’s Decision Denying McMahon’s Claim.

The ALJ determined that McMahon was not disabled as defined in § 223(d)

of the Social Security Act from her alleged onset date, April 20, 2014, through

November 29, 2015, when she reached age 22. Admin. Tr. at 14, 31. Additionally,

the ALJ found that McMahon was not disabled under § 1614(a)(3)(A) of the Social

Security Act. Id. at 31.

The ALJ evaluated McMahon’s claim at each step of the sequential

evaluation process. Admin. Tr. at 15–27. Before beginning the five-step analysis,

the ALJ found that McMahon was born on November 30, 1993, and that she had

not reached the age of 22 as of April 20, 2014, the alleged onset date. Id. at 15. At

step one of the sequential-evaluation process, the ALJ found that McMahon had

not been engaged in substantial gainful activity since the alleged onset date. Id.

At step two, the ALJ found that McMahon had severe impairments

consisting of “generalized anxiety disorder, depressive disorder, bipolar I disorder,

attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), learning disorder, and mild

intellectual disorder.” Id. at 16. The ALJ further found that these medically

determinable impairments significantly limited McMahon’s ability to perform

basic work activities. Id.

At step three of the sequential-evaluation process, the ALJ found that

McMahon did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that meets

or medically equals the severity of one of the listed impairments in 20 CFR Part

404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. Id. As relevant to this case, the ALJ found that

McMahon did not satisfy the requirements of listing 12.05 because her adaptive

functioning was not at the extreme level of limitation required in one area listed in

listing 12.05 paragraph B, or alternatively at a marked limitation in two of

paragraph B’s areas. Id. at 20.

In this regard, the ALJ determined that McMahon had a moderate limitation

in “understanding, remembering, or applying information.” Id. at 16. The ALJ

acknowledged that “[t]he claimant reported problems with memory, understanding,

following instructions and completing tasks.” Id. McMahon’s husband also

testified that he has to constantly repeat directions in order for her to complete

“daily tasks and household chores.” Id. The ALJ further acknowledged that

McMahon’s educational records revealed an “intervention for learning disorder

and ADHD,” and recent intelligence testing with an IQ score of 67. Id. at 358. She

was able to read at a seventh-grade level, and she graduated high school. Id. And

the ALJ found that “two consultative examinations and current treatment records

did not identify a significant impairment with memory.” Id. at 16. At an

examination in March of 2013, her memory, both recent and remote, was adequate.

Id. She further was able to recall four objects after they were spoken to her, and

two out of the same four after five minutes. Id. at 17. She could also recall six

digits forward and four digits backwards. Id. At the second examination in April

2018, McMahon had “intact recent and remote memory.” Id. Mental status

findings also included in the record indicated “normal recent, remote, and present

memory,” as well as “stable thought, fair attention and concentration, and fair

judgment.” Id. She could also recall three objects immediately and after five

minutes, she could recall two objects. Id. She further could repeat digits forwards

and backwards. Id. The ALJ also considered the fact that when McMahon was

undertaking standardized intelligence testing, she was “observed to be relaxed and

comfortable, able to recall and understand the instructions, and respond in an

appropriate manner and work with reflection.” Id. McMahon also said that she

could operate a cash register in a grocery store with some problems remembering

the categories of food, could follow written instructions, keep things written down

to stay organized, use public transit, and pay some bills. Id. Her husband

mentioned that she could follow directions on a box when cooking. Id. In sum, the

ALJ found that after balancing the objective and clinical evidence and McMahon’s

level of functioning, it supported no greater than a moderate level of impairment.

The ALJ also determined that McMahon had a moderate limitation in

“interacting with others.” Id. at 17. The ALJ began by acknowledging that

McMahon reported having problems getting along with others, sticking to herself,

and freezing up around authority figures. Id. The ALJ noted that despite this,

educational records showed that she could maintain herself in high school classes

“80% of the time.” Id. at 291. At a 2013 medical examination, she was reported to

have a “varied affect,” and maintained that she had periods of depression and

crying and isolating herself. Id. at 17. Despite this, her expressive language was

appropriate for the situation, and she could maintain good eye contact and fluid

speech. Id. At a 2018 medical examination, she was cooperative and her manner

of relating was fair with normal posture, motor behavior, good eye contact and

clear and fluid speech. Id. McMahon also had a coherent and goal-oriented

thought process and fair judgment. Id. The ALJ also noted that while McMahon’s

mental health records revealed issues with anger and frustration, such issues were

mainly within family relationships, and he noted that during treatment she was in a

neutral or good mood. Id. According to the ALJ, McMahon was also able to have

worked in a grocery store part time and “interact with coworkers, supervisors, and

the public.” Id. She was also able to use public transportation and take care of her

three children, as well as her husband, who has health issues. Id. The ALJ decided

that after balancing the objective and diagnostic evidence as well as McMahon’s

level of functioning, the evidence supported no greater than a moderate limitation.

Id.

The ALJ further determined that McMahon had a moderate limitation

regarding her “concentrating, persisting, or maintaining pace.” Id. McMahon

testified that she had problems concentrating, following instructions, and

completing tasks. Id. She also said that her concentration was “lower,” and that

she works at a “slower pace.” Id. McMahon’s husband testified that “she gets off

track and misses the public bus schedule or is late getting ready.” Id. The ALJ also

noted that the record revealed a history of ADHD dating to a young age, and

interventions as well as extra time on school assignments. Id. But the ALJ also

noted that by her senior year of high school, McMahon could write effectively

staying focused on content. Id. at 18. At a 2013 medical examination, her

attention and concentration were adequate. Id. Calculations were difficult for

McMahon, but she could count backwards by series of threes. Id. At a 2018

medical examination, she had a mild impairment to her concentration, and was

unable to divide or to perform serial-7s, but she could do serial-3s and count by 2s.

Id. The ALJ also noted that she had a coherent and goal-directed thought process

and fair judgment. Id. Her treatment records note that she had fair concentration

and attention. Id. Additionally, the ALJ observed that McMahon said she had the

ability to follow written instructions and writes things down to stay organized. Id.

And he noted that her husband also testified that she could follow directions on a

box when cooking. Id. The ALJ further noted that McMahon reported doing

chores and shopping with some difficulties, paying some bills, coloring, and

watching television. Id. The ALJ decided that after balancing the objective and

diagnostic evidence as well as McMahon’s level of functioning, the evidence

supported no more than a moderate limitation. Id.

The ALJ concluded that McMahon also had a moderate limitation in

“adapting or managing oneself.” Id. at 18. He noted that McMahon “did not report

problems with her personal care,” and that despite one report to the contrary, she

was “generally found to be dressed appropriately or casually and neatly groomed.”

Id. McMahon, however, reported problems with handling stress and changes in

routine. Id. At the consultative exam in March 2013, McMahon reported that she

sometimes gets angry to the point where she throws things and yells. Id. And her

educational records revealed that McMahon could become easily frustrated,

negative, and she struggled with changes in her day. Id. But these same records

noted that McMahon would respond to redirection. Id. McMahon’s mental health

records also revealed that she struggled with anger and frustration, but again that

this was mainly constrained to familial relationships. Id. Otherwise, the records

show that McMahon was generally in a good mood when participating in therapy

sessions. Id. At another consultative exam in 2018, McMahon was “cooperative

and her manner of relating was fair with normal posture, motor behavior and eye

contact and clear and fluid speech.” Id. She also displayed a coherent and goal-

directed thought process and fair judgment. Id. Other evidence the ALJ considered

was that she was able to perform at standardized testing under stress while

remaining “relaxed and comfortable,” and that she could “respond to questions in

an appropriate manner, work with reflection, have good attention, and showed no

signs of significant emotional distress.” Id. Finally, the ALJ also considered that

McMahon could take care of her husband and three children, and she could follow

written instructions, use public transit, shop, and work a cash register. Id. The ALJ

determined that after considering and balancing all the objective and clinical

evidence, as well as the McMahon’s level of functioning, no greater than a

moderate impairment was warranted. Id.

Thus, the ALJ concluded that McMahon’s “adaptive functioning is not at an

extreme level of limitation in one or a marked limitation in two of the areas

discussed in the ‘paragraph B’ criteria above.” Id. at 20. McMahon therefore did

not meet or equal one of the listed impairments. Id.

At step four of the sequential-evaluation process, the ALJ found that

McMahon had the RFC to perform a full range of work at all exertional levels but

with some non-exertional limitations. Id.7 He found McMahon to be limited to

“unskilled work involving only simple tasks that are not performed in a fast-paced

production environment,” and “occupations with only occasional, simple, decision-

making and occasional changes in the work duties or work setting,” with the

further limitation that she “can tolerate only occasional interaction with

supervisors, coworkers, and the public.” Id.

7 RFC limitations “can be either exertional or non-exertional.” Morel v.

Colvin, No. 4:16-CV-0476, 2017 WL 1162946, at *2 (M.D. Pa. Mar. 29, 2017).

Exertional limitations are defined as limitations in “sitting, standing, walking,

lifting, carrying, pushing, and pulling.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1569a(b). “To determine

the physical exertion requirements of work in the national economy, [the ALJ]

classif[ies] jobs as sedentary, light, medium, heavy, and very heavy.” 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1567. Non-exertional limitations include “manipulative or postural

functions” like “reaching, handling, stooping, climbing, crawling, or crouching,”

along with mental impairments and other limitations. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1569a(c).

The ALJ found the state agency mental assessments of Francis Murphy,

Ph. D. to be “generally persuasive.” Admin. Tr. at 25. Dr. Murphy opined that

McMahon had “mild to moderate levels of impairment that did not prevent her

from engaging in simple, repetitive activities on a sustained basis.” Id. This was

the only medical opinion that the ALJ considered to be generally persuasive in his

RFC determination, as he found the medical opinions of Drs. Cole and Smock to

be “not persuasive” and “only persuasive to an extent,” respectively. See Admin.

Tr. at 23, 24. The ALJ also considered McMahon’s work history, home life,

medical history, and history of dealing with others. Id. at 20–26.

At step five of the sequential-evaluation process, considering McMahon’s

age, education, work experience, and RFC, the ALJ found that there are jobs that

exist in significant numbers in the national economy that she could perform. Id. at

26. The vocational expert testified at the hearing that given the above factors, an

individual with McMahon’s limitations would be able to perform the requirements

of representative occupations such as “an inserter (DOT# 920.687-138, with

58,000 jobs in the national economy), a cleaner/polisher (DOT# 709.687-010, with

31,000 jobs in the national economy) and a bench worker (DOT# 715.684-026,

with 24,000 jobs in the national economy).” Id.

In sum, the ALJ found that McMahon had “not been under a disability, as

defined in the Social Security Act, from April 20, 2014, through the date of this

decision[.]” Id. at 27.

V. Discussion.

McMahon presents three arguments on appeal. First, she argues that the

ALJ’s finding that she did not meet the criteria of paragraph B of the Intellectual

Disorder impairment listing was not supported by substantial evidence. Doc. 19 at

6. Second, she argues that the ALJ erred in his RFC determination, and that it was

not supported by substantial evidence. Doc. 19 at 5. Third and finally, McMahon

argues that her condition should have been evaluated by a medical expert to further

determine whether a listing was met or equaled. Id. at 12.

A. Substantial Evidence Supports the ALJ’s Step Three Evaluation.

The appendices to Part 404, Subpart P, of the Social Security Regulations

(“the listing of impairments”), describe, for each major body system, the severity

of impairment that is considered to be severe enough to prevent a claimant from

doing any gainful activity regardless of the claimant’s age, education, or work

experience. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(d), 416.925(a). At step three of the

sequential-evaluation process, the ALJ considers whether the combination of the

claimant’s medically determinable impairments meets the severity of one of the

impairments in the listing of impairments. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(iii),

416.920(a)(4)(iii). If a claimant has an impairment that meets the twelve-month

duration requirement and meets or equals all the criteria of an impairment in the

listing of impairments, the claimant is found disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§

404.1520(a)(4)(iii), 416.920(a)(4)(iii).

“The Listings are a regulatory device used to streamline adjudication of

benefits by identifying those claimants whose medical impairments are so severe

that they are considered presumptively disabled, making further inquiry into their

vocational background unnecessary.” Illig v. Comm’r Soc. Sec., 570 F. App’x 262,

264 n.6 (3d Cir. 2014). To qualify for benefits by showing that an impairment, or

combination of impairments, is equivalent to a listed impairment, the claimant

bears the burden of presenting “medical findings equivalent in severity to all the

criteria for the one most similar impairment.” Sullivan v. Zebley, 493 U.S. 521, 531

(1990). A claimant whose impairment meets or equals one of the listed

impairments is per se disabled and thus should be awarded benefits. See Burnett v.

Comm'r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 220 F.3d 112 (3d Cir. 2000). An impairment, no

matter how severe, that meets or equals only some of the criteria for a listed

impairment is not sufficient. Id.

McMahon argues that the ALJ erred in finding that she did not meet the

requirements of listing 12.05. Doc. 19 at 6. The requirements of listing 12.05 are

satisfied by meeting the conditions listed in either its paragraph A or paragraph B.

20 C.F.R. § Pt. 404, Subpt. P, App. 1, listing 12.05. In this case, McMahon alleges

the ALJ erred by not finding she met the requirements of paragraph B of that

listing. Id. At the time of the ALJ’s decision, listing 12.05, paragraph B required

that three conjunctive elements be met:

1. Significantly subaverage general intellectual functioning

evidenced by a or b:

a. A full scale (or comparable) IQ score of 70 or below on an

individually administered standardized test of general

intelligence; or

b. A full scale (or comparable) IQ score of 71–75 accompanied

by a verbal or performance IQ score (or comparable part score)

of 70 or below on an individually administered standardized

test of general intelligence; and

2. Significant deficits in adaptive functioning currently

manifested by extreme limitation of one, or marked limitation

of two, of the following areas of mental functioning:

a. Understand, remember, or apply information (see 12.00E1);

or

b. Interact with others (see 12.00E2); or

c. Concentrate, persist, or maintain pace (see 12.00E3); or

d. Adapt or manage oneself (see 12.00E4); and

3. The evidence about your current intellectual and adaptive

functioning and about the history of your disorder demonstrates

or supports the conclusion that the disorder began prior to your

attainment of age 22.

See 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1, listing 12.05, paragraph B.

The ALJ found that the requirements of paragraph B were not met because

McMahon did not have one extreme area of limitation or two areas of marked

limitation. See Admin. Tr. at 20.

McMahon alleges that the ALJ provided no analysis of the requirements of

listing 12.05(B)(1), even though in her words there is “clearly support in the record

to demonstrate” that the requirements are met. Doc. 19 at 7. McMahon also

alleges that the ALJ “did not evaluate” listing 12.05(B)(3), and she argues that

these conditions existed before age 22. Id. at 9. Even assuming arguendo that the

requirements of both listing 12.05(B)(1) and 12.05(B)(3) were met, there must be

“medical findings equal in severity to all the criteria for the one most similar listed

impairment.” Zebley, 493 U.S. at 531. In other words, the requirements of

12.05(B)(2) must be met regardless of whether the other two requirements are met,

and indeed 12.05(B)(2) was at the crux of the ALJ’s decision.

McMahon asserts that the ALJ’s determination that she does not meet the

listing 12.05(B)(2) requirements is not supported by substantial evidence. Doc. 19

at 6. More specifically, she offers that the ALJ was in error because he found that

she suffers from the severe impairments of “generalized anxiety disorder,

depressive disorder, bipolar 1 disorder, attention deficit, hyperactivity disorder

(ADHD), learning disorder and mild intellectual disorder.” Id.; see also Admin. Tr.

at 16. But a finding that McMahon had these severe impairments does not equate

to finding that she met the criteria of listing 12.05(B)(2).

Moreover, as mentioned above, the ALJ found that McMahon had a

moderate limitation in understanding, remembering, or applying information; a

moderate limitation in concentrating, persisting, or maintaining pace; a moderate

limitation in interacting with others; and a moderate limitation in adapting or

managing oneself. Admin. Tr. at 16–20. The ALJ made his decision regarding

McMahon’s level of impairments in all four areas after balancing all of the

objective and clinical diagnostic evidence, as well as her own level of functioning.

Id. This analysis suffices for all four of the criteria of listing 12.05(B)(2).

McMahon further argues that the ALJ erred by failing to ensure that her

impairments were evaluated to investigate whether they met or equaled a listing.

Doc. 19 at 13. To the ALJ’s credit, he correctly concluded that the record did

fairly raise the question of whether McMahon’s impairment met or was equivalent

to a listing. Admin. Tr. at 17–21. Social Security proceedings are inherently

inquisitorial, not adversarial, and “it is the ALJ's duty to investigate the facts and

develop the arguments both for and against granting benefits.” Massey v. Astrue,

No. CIV. A. 07-426, 2008 WL 4425853, at *2 (W.D. Pa. Sept. 30, 2008) (quoting

Sims v. Apfel, 530 U.S. 103, 120 (2000)). An ALJ has a duty to develop a full and

fair record in social security cases. See Smith v. Harris, 644 F.2d 985, 989 (3d

Cir.1981). Sometimes, the ALJ’s duty to develop the record requires the ALJ to

order an additional consultative exam to more fully develop the record.

Robaczewski v. Colvin, No. 4:14-CV-01686, 2015 WL 4930115, at *9 (M.D. Pa.

Aug. 18, 2015). A consultative examination is required when “[a] conflict,

inconsistency, ambiguity or insufficiency in the evidence must be resolved, . . . or

[t]here is an indication of a change in [the claimant's] condition that is likely to

affect [his or her] ability to work, but the current severity of [the] impairment is not

established.” Id.; see also C.F.R. § 404.1519(a)(b)(4)-(5).

McMahon cites with approval Maniaci v. Apfel, a case hailing from the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania. See Maniaci v. Apfel, 27 F. Supp. 2d 554 (E.D.

Pa. 1998). There, the court held that:

The ALJ’s failure to determine the extent of plaintiff's

orthopedic injuries was a failure to fulfill her duty to develop

the record under 20 C.F.R. § 404.1512(d)–(f). Thus, the Court

must vacate the ALJ's decision to deny benefits and remand the

case for further development of the record.

Id. at 559 (internal citations omitted). In that case, however, the court found that

the ALJ did not receive any testimony from an orthopedist on the extent of

McMahon’s orthopedic injuries. Id. at 558. Indeed, the only “medical testimony

presented at the administrative hearing was provided by Dr. Rothkopf, a

cardiologist, who repeatedly limited his testimony to the plaintiff's heart

condition.” Id. “When asked about plaintiff's orthopedic condition, Dr. Rothkopf

gave only a general response without specifically testifying about plaintiff's

orthopedic condition.” Id.

The situation differs in the case presently before us now, when compared to

Maniaci. In that case, the only medical testimony presented regarding the

claimant’s orthopedic problems was the report of one cardiologist. Mariaci, 27 F.

Supp. 2d at 558. In the instant matter, the ALJ allowed into evidence the opinions

of Drs. Cole, Smock, and Murphy, thus meeting his duty to develop the record.

There is no evidence of a conflict, inconsistency, ambiguity, or insufficiency in the

ALJ’s evaluation of consistency for Drs. Cole, Smock, and Murphy, and there has

been no change in McMahon’s condition warranting a further exam. Substantial

evidence thus supports the ALJ’s Step Three evaluation.

B. Substantial Evidence Supports the ALJ’s finding that McMahon had

the RFC to perform unskilled work involving simple tasks not

performed in a fast-paced production environment, occasional,

simple decision-making, and occasional interpersonal interaction.

McMahon’s next argument is that the ALJ erred in his determination of her

RFC. Doc. 19 at 12. As a rule, “[t]he ALJ—not treating or examining physicians

or State agency consultants—must make the ultimate disability and RFC

determinations.” Chandler v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 667 F.3d 356, 361 (3d Cir.

2011). As mentioned above, a claimant’s RFC is “that which an individual is still

able to do despite the limitations caused by his or her impairment(s).” Burnett, 220

F.3d at 121 (quoting Hartranft, 181 F.3d at 359 n. 1. In assessing a claimant's

RFC, the ALJ must consider all the evidence of record. Burnett, 220 F.3d at 121.

“When a conflict in the evidence exists, the ALJ may choose whom to credit but

‘cannot reject evidence for no reason or for the wrong reason.’” Plummer v. Apfel,

186 F.3d 422, 429 (3d Cir. 1999) (quoting Mason, 994 F.2d at 1066). The court's

“review of the ALJ's assessment of the plaintiff's RFC is deferential, and that RFC

assessment will not be set aside if it is supported by substantial evidence.” Wilder

v. Kijakazi, 1:20-CV-492, 2021 WL 4145056, at *6 (M.D. Pa. Sept. 9, 2021); see

also Burns v. Barnhart, 312 F.3d 113, 129 (3d Cir. 2002) (“We examine the ALJ's

conclusions as to [the claimant's] residual functional capacity with the deference

required of the substantial evidence standard of review.”). Applying the above

standard to the present record, the ALJ’s RFC determination is supported by

substantial evidence.

In her brief, McMahon argues that even if she does not meet the

requirements of a listing, it would be error to find that she can perform “any

gainful employment.” Doc. 19 at 12. To support this proposition, she argues that

she “suffers unquestionably from with [sic] ADHD, depression, bipolar-2, anxiety,

and intellectual disability and has since she was at least a teenager.” Id. Again,

though McMahon may have a number of severe impairments, the mere fact of their

existence does not mean that the ALJ erred in his RFC determination.

She also argues she is disabled because she has not been successful in

“many, many employment attempts.” Id. When determining substantial gainful

employment, generally “work that you are forced to stop after a short time because

of your impairment” is “an unsuccessful work attempt.” 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1574(a)(1). Earnings “from an unsuccessful work attempt will not show that

you are able to do substantial gainful activity.” Id. An unsuccessful work attempt

is when “you . . . [stop] working or reduc[e] your work and earnings below the

substantial gainful activity earnings level because of your impairment,” 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1574(c)(2). Here, the ALJ acknowledged McMahon’s alleged difficulties in

keeping a job, noting that McMahon “testified that she could not keep up at a

packing job or in the deli department at a grocery store job.” Admin. Tr. at 25.

But the ALJ noted that McMahon “reported that when she was moved to the

cash register job, she had some difficulties with remembering the food categories,

but left that job due to childcare issues.” Id. In sum, McMahon’s failed job

attempts do not support a conclusion that the ALJ’s RFC is not supported by

substantial evidence. The ALJ also considered McMahon’s activities of daily

living and the other evidence in the record.

C. The ALJ did not err in evaluating the opinion evidence.

McMahon also argues that the ALJ erred in dismissing the medical findings

of Drs. Cole and Smock. Doc. 19 at 7, 9.

1. Overview of the Regulations Regarding Opinion Evidence.

Because McMahon’s claim concerns the ALJ’s handling of opinion

evidence, we start with a brief overview of the regulations regarding opinion

evidence. The regulations in this regard are different for claims filed before March

27, 2017, on the one hand, and for claims filed on or after March 27, 2017, like

McMahon’s, on the other hand. Specifically, the regulations applicable to claims

filed on or after March 27, 2017, (“the new regulations”) changed the way the

Commissioner considers medical opinion evidence and eliminated the provision in

the regulations applicable to claims filed before March 27, 2017, (“the old

regulations”) that granted special deference to opinions of treating physicians.

Here, McMahon filed her initial claims on January 16, 2018, and December 15,

2017, and so the new regulations govern in this case. See Admin. Tr. at 13.

The new regulations have been described as a “paradigm shift” in the way

medical opinions are evaluated. Densberger v. Saul, No. 1:20-CV-772, 2021 WL

1172982, at *7 (M.D. Pa. Mar. 29, 2021). Under the old regulations, “ALJs were

required to follow regulations which defined medical opinions narrowly and

created a hierarchy of medical source opinions with treating sources at the apex of

this hierarchy.” Id. But under the new regulations, “[t]he range of opinions that

ALJs were enjoined to consider were broadened substantially and the approach to

evaluating opinions was changed from a hierarchical form of review to a more

holistic analysis.” Id.

Under the old regulations, the ALJ assigns the weight he or she gives to a

medical opinion. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1527(c), 416.927(c). And if “a treating

source’s medical opinions on the issue(s) of the nature and severity of [a

claimant’s] impairments is well-supported by medically acceptable clinical and

laboratory diagnostic techniques and is not inconsistent with the other substantial

evidence in [the claimant’s] case record,” the Commissioner “will give it

controlling weight.” 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1527(c)(2), 416.927(c)(2). Under the old

regulations, where the Commissioner does not give a treating source’s medical

opinion controlling weight, it analyzes the opinion in accordance with a number of

factors: the “[l]ength of the treatment relationship and the frequency of

examination,” the “[n]ature and extent of the treatment relationship,” the

“[s]upportability” of the opinion, the “[c]onsistency” of the opinion with the record

as whole, the “[s]pecialization” of the treating source, and any other relevant

factors. Id. at §§ 404.1527(c)(2)–(c)(6), 416.927(c)(2)–(c)(6).

Under the new regulations, however, the Commissioner “will not defer or

give any specific evidentiary weight, including controlling weight, to any medical

opinion(s) or prior administrative medical finding(s), including those from [the

claimant’s] medical sources.” 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520c(a), 416.920c(a). Rather

than assigning weight to medical opinions, the Commissioner will articulate “how

persuasive” he or she finds the medical opinions. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520c(b),

416.920c(b). And the Commissioner’s consideration of medical opinions is guided

by the following factors: supportability; consistency; relationship with the claimant

(including the length of the treatment relationship, the frequency of examinations,

the purpose of the treatment relationship, the extent of the treatment relationship,

and the examining relationship); specialization of the medical source; and any

other factors that tend to support or contradict the opinion. 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520c(c), 416.920c(c). The most important of these factors are the

“supportability” of the opinion and the “consistency” of the opinion. 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520c(b)(2), 416.920c(b)(2). As to supportability, the new regulations

provide that “[t]he more relevant the objective medical evidence and supporting

explanations presented by a medical source are to support his or her medical

opinion(s) or prior administrative medical finding(s), the more persuasive the

medical opinions or prior administrative medical finding(s) will be.” 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520c(c)(1), 416.920c(c)(1). And as to consistency, those regulations

provide that “[t]he more consistent a medical opinion(s) or prior administrative

medical finding(s) is with the evidence from other medical sources and nonmedical

sources in the claim, the more persuasive the medical opinion(s) or prior

administrative medical finding(s) will be.” 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520c(c)(2),

416.920c(c)(2).

The ALJ must explain how he or she considered the “supportability” and

“consistency” of a medical source’s opinion. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520c(b)(2),

416.920c(b)(2). Generally, the ALJ may, but is not required to, explain his or her

consideration of the other factors. Id. But if there are two equally persuasive

medical opinions about the same issue that are not exactly the same, then the ALJ

must explain how he or she considered the other factors. 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520c(b)(3), 416.920c(b)(3).

2. The ALJ’s Handling of the Opinion Evidence in this case.

McMahon asserts that the ALJ wrongly dismissed the findings of Andrew

Cole, PhD (“Dr. Cole”). Doc. 19 at 7. The ALJ found that the opinions of Dr. Cole

were “not persuasive.” Admin. Tr. at 25. The ALJ stated:

Dr. Cole opined the claimant would have only a mild

limitation with understanding, remembering and carrying out

simple instructions and making simple work-related decisions,

but that she would have a marked degree of limitation with

understanding, remembering and carrying our complex

instructions and making simple work-related decisions. Dr.

Cole opined the claimant would have a moderate to marked

level of impairment with interacting appropriately with

coworkers, supervisors and the public and a marked level of

impairment responding appropriately to usual work situations

and to changes in a routine work setting.

Id. at 24–25. The ALJ went on to say that Dr. Cole’s opinion that McMahon had a

marked limitation was “based more on subjective reports of the claimant during a

one-time examination than any objective findings.” Id. at 24. He also concluded

Dr. Cole’s opinion was inconsistent with McMahon’s levels of daily activity,

“including childcare and chores, which show greater ability to adapt and manage

herself.” Id. The ALJ also found inconsistency in that McMahon had been able to

work in a “public setting as a cashier in a grocery store, which involves significant

interaction with coworkers, supervisors, and the public, and thus shows a greater

ability to interact appropriately with others.” Id. Finally, the ALJ noted that Dr.

Cole’s conclusions were inconsistent with his own findings, namely that McMahon

was cooperative, relaxed, and comfortable during testing, worked deliberately and

with good attention, and did not evidence significant emotional distress even under

the stimulus of stressful testing conditions. Id. at 23–24. Because the ALJ clearly

articulated what he found to be persuasive about Dr. Cole’s opinion and how it was

consistent with the record as a whole as well as the opinion’s internal consistency,

the ALJ’s findings are supported by substantial evidence.

McMahon also alleges that the ALJ erred in finding that the opinions of

David Smock, PhD. (“Dr. Smock”) were persuasive “only to an extent.” Doc. 19 at

9. McMahon had previously gone to Dr. Smock as part of a prior application for

Social Security benefits. Admin. Tr. at 23. The ALJ found that the opinions of Dr.

Smock were “persuasive only to an extent.” Id. at 23–24. In his disability

evaluation of McMahon on March 21, 2013, Dr. Smock noted that she “would

have some mild to moderate attention problems.” Id. at 312. Additionally, Dr.

Smock noted that she “would have some moderate difficulty following or

understanding directions [and] in making appropriate decision[s] in a job setting.”

Id. Dr. Smock further opined that:

[McMahon] would have difficulty dealing with the stress

at the workplace, so she probably would become overwhelmed

cognitively, fairly quickly. She would have some difficulty

doing simple task[s] independently and would be likely

overwhelmed by complex tasks. She would have problems

learning new tasks. She would have some difficulty relating

effectively to peers, supervisors and customers because of her

limited cognitive ability.

Id. McMahon asserts that the fact that the ALJ’s decision “dismisses this aspect of

the report is a further indication the decision is not supported by substantial

evidence.” Doc. 19 at 10. Regarding Dr. Smock’s opinions, the ALJ found that the

determination of a mild to moderate level of impairment regarding attention was

persuasive because it was “well supported by his clinical findings and results done

during the investigation.” Id. at 22. Other than the findings regarding attention,

however, Dr. Smock’s opinion was not persuasive as a whole. Id. at 23. Indeed,

the ALJ also found that Dr. Smock did not “quantify many of the areas he

identified.” Id. at 22–23. Because the ALJ articulated what he found to be

persuasive about Dr. Smock’s opinion and how it was consistent with clinical

findings and investigative results as well as the record as a whole, the ALJ’s

findings are supported by substantial evidence.

As mentioned above, the ALJ also considered the state agency medical

assessments of Francis Murphy, PhD. (“Dr. Murphy”). Id. at 25. The assessments

found that McMahon had mild to moderate levels of impairment that did not

prevent her from engaging in simple and repetitive activities on a sustained basis.

Id. The ALJ found this opinion persuasive because it was supported by

explanations of evidence available at the time of the opinions. Id. Dr. Murphy’s

opinion was supported by and consistent with objective clinical findings from

treatment records and consultative exam findings, including intellectual testing and

educational records. Id. The ALJ also observed that the clinical medical records

consistent with Dr. Murphy’s assessments were mainly conservative with no

significant abnormal clinical findings regarding mental status. Id. Because the ALJ

clearly articulated the bases for his findings of consistency, his findings are

supported by substantial evidence.

VI. Conclusion.

For the foregoing reasons, we will affirm the Commissioner’s decision and

deny McMahon’s appeal for social security benefits. An appropriate order follows.

S/Susan E. Schwab

Susan E. Schwab

United States Magistrate Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.