“[T]he court has plenary review of all legal issues . . . .”
How later courts described this case
- “[T]he court has plenary review of all legal issues . . . .”
- remanding where ALJ created an evidentiary deficit when the ALJ rejected treating physician’s opinion and then made a RFC determination without supporting medical evidence
- “In making a residual functional capacity determination, the ALJ must consider all evidence before him.”
- “The Secretary’s determination as to the status of a claim requires the correct application of the law to the facts.”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA
MICHAELA MILLER, ) CIVIL ACTION NO. 4:19-CV-871
Plaintiff )
)
v. )
) (ARBUCKLE, M.J.)
ANDREW SAUL,1 )
Defendant )
MEMORANDUM OPINION
I. INTRODUCTION
Plaintiff Michaela Miller, an adult individual who resides within the Middle
District of Pennsylvania, seeks judicial review of the final decision of the
Commissioner of Social Security (“Commissioner”) denying her applications for
disability insurance benefits and supplemental security income under Titles II and
XVI of the Social Security Act. Jurisdiction is conferred on this Court pursuant to
42 U.S.C. §405(g) and 42 U.S.C. §1383(c)(3).
This matter is before me, upon consent of the parties pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 636(c) and Rule 73 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. After reviewing the
parties’ briefs, the Commissioner’s final decision, and the relevant portions of the
certified administrative transcript, I find the Commissioner's final decision is not
1 Andrew Saul is now the Commissioner of Social Security and is automatically
substituted as a party pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 25(d). See also section 205(g) of
the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (action survives regardless of any
change in the person occupying the office of Commissioner of Social Security).
Page 1 of 19
supported by substantial evidence. In evaluating Plaintiff’s physical capacity, the
ALJ arrived at a physical capacity assessment that was more robust than the
physical limitations assessed by all physicians to offer an opinion on the subject.
Accordingly, the Commissioner’s final decision will be VACATED and this case
REMANDED to the Commissioner to conduct a new administrative hearing.
II. BACKGROUND & PROCEDURAL HISTORY
On June 23, 2015, Plaintiff protectively filed applications for disability
insurance benefits and supplemental security income under Titles II and XVI of the
Social Security Act. (Admin. Tr. 17; Doc. 8-2, p. 18). In these applications,
Plaintiff alleged she became disabled as of January 1, 2009, when she was 36 years
old, due to the following conditions: depression, migraines, blood pressure, neck
pain, back pain, fibromyalgia, bone spurs, asthma, and anxiety. (Admin. Tr. 260;
Doc. 8-8, p. 6). Plaintiff alleges that the combination of these conditions affects her
ability to lift, squat, bend, stand, reach, walk, sit, kneel, and climb stairs. (Admin.
Tr. 290; Doc. 8-8, p. 36). Plaintiff has obtained her GED. (Admin. Tr. 25; Doc. 8-
2, p. 26). Before the onset of her impairments, Plaintiff worked as a motor vehicle
assembler. (Admin. Tr. 24; Doc. 8-2, p. 25).
Page 2 of 19
On December 18, 2015, Plaintiff’s applications were denied at the initial
level of administrative review. (Admin. Tr. 17; Doc. 8-2, p. 18). On February 8,
2016, Plaintiff requested an administrative hearing. Id.
On January 8, 2018, Plaintiff, assisted by her counsel, appeared and testified
during a hearing before Administrative Law Judge Howard Kauffman (the “ALJ”).
Id. On March 29, 2018, the ALJ issued a decision denying Plaintiff’s applications
for benefits. (Admin. Tr. 17-26; Doc. 8-2, pp. 18-27). On May 24, 2018, Plaintiff
requested review of the ALJ’s decision by the Appeals Council of the Office of
Disability Adjudication and Review (“Appeals Council”). (Admin. Tr. 226; Doc.
8-6, p. 3).
On April 26, 2019, the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for
review. (Admin. Tr. 1-3; Doc. 8-2, pp. 2-4).
On May 21, 2019, Plaintiff initiated this action by filing a Complaint. (Doc.
1). In the Complaint, Plaintiff alleges that the ALJ’s decision denying the
applications is not supported by substantial evidence, and improperly applies the
relevant law and regulations. (Doc. 1, p. 3). As relief, Plaintiff requests that the
Court reverse the decision at the administrative level below, and award Plaintiff
disability, disability insurance benefits, and supplemental security income, or,
alternatively, remand. Id.
Page 3 of 19
On July 23, 2019, the Commissioner filed an Answer. (Doc. 7). In the
Answer, the Commissioner maintains that the decision denying Plaintiff’s
applications for benefits was made in accordance with the law and regulations and
is supported by substantial evidence. (Doc. 7, pp. 3-4). Along with his Answer, the
Commissioner filed a certified transcript of the administrative record. (Doc. 8).
Plaintiff’s Brief (Doc. 11), the Commissioner’s Brief (Doc. 12), and
Plaintiff’s Reply (Doc. 13) have been filed. This matter is now ripe for decision.
III. STANDARDS OF REVIEW
A. SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE REVIEW – THE ROLE OF THIS COURT
When reviewing the Commissioner’s final decision denying a claimant’s
application for benefits, this Court’s review is limited to the question of whether
the findings of the final decision-maker are supported by substantial evidence in
the record. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); 42 U.S.C. § 1383(c)(3); Johnson v. Comm’r of
Soc. Sec., 529 F.3d 198, 200 (3d Cir. 2008); Ficca v. Astrue, 901 F. Supp. 2d 533,
536 (M.D. Pa. 2012). Substantial evidence “does not mean a large or considerable
amount of evidence, but rather such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might
accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Pierce v. Underwood, 487 U.S. 552,
565 (1988). Substantial evidence is less than a preponderance of the evidence but
more than a mere scintilla. Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971). A
Page 4 of 19
single piece of evidence is not substantial evidence if the ALJ ignores
countervailing evidence or fails to resolve a conflict created by the evidence.
Mason v. Shalala, 994 F.2d 1058, 1064 (3d Cir. 1993). But in an adequately
developed factual record, substantial evidence may be “something less than the
weight of the evidence, and the possibility of drawing two inconsistent conclusions
from the evidence does not prevent [the ALJ’s decision] from being supported by
substantial evidence.” Consolo v. Fed. Maritime Comm’n, 383 U.S. 607, 620
(1966).
“In determining if the Commissioner’s decision is supported by substantial
evidence the court must scrutinize the record as a whole.” Leslie v. Barnhart, 304
F. Supp. 2d 623, 627 (M.D. Pa. 2003). The question before this Court, therefore, is
not whether Plaintiff is disabled, but whether the Commissioner’s finding that
Plaintiff is not disabled is supported by substantial evidence and was reached based
upon a correct application of the relevant law. See Arnold v. Colvin, No. 3:12-CV-
02417, 2014 WL 940205, at *1 (M.D. Pa. Mar. 11, 2014) (“[I]t has been held that
an ALJ’s errors of law denote a lack of substantial evidence.”) (alterations
omitted); Burton v. Schweiker, 512 F. Supp. 913, 914 (W.D. Pa. 1981) (“The
Secretary’s determination as to the status of a claim requires the correct application
of the law to the facts.”); see also Wright v. Sullivan, 900 F.2d 675, 678 (3d Cir.
Page 5 of 19
1990) (noting that the scope of review on legal matters is plenary); Ficca, 901 F.
Supp. 2d at 536 (“[T]he court has plenary review of all legal issues . . . .”).
B. STANDARDS GOVERNING THE ALJ’S APPLICATION OF THE FIVE-STEP
SEQUENTIAL EVALUATION PROCESS
To receive benefits under the Social Security Act by reason of disability, a
claimant must demonstrate an inability to “engage in any substantial gainful
activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment
which can be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to
last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A);
42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(A); see also 20 C.F.R. § 404.1505(a); 20 C.F.R. §
416.905(a).2 To satisfy this requirement, a claimant must have a severe physical or
mental impairment that makes it impossible to do his or her previous work or any
other substantial gainful activity that exists in the national economy. 42 U.S.C. §
423(d)(2)(A); 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(B); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1505(a); 20 C.F.R. §
416.905(a). To receive benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act, a claimant
must show that he or she contributed to the insurance program, is under retirement
2 Throughout this Report, I cite to the version of the administrative rulings and
regulations that were in effect on the date the Commissioner’s final decision was
issued. In this case, the ALJ’s decision, which serves as the final decision of the
Commissioner, was issued on March 29, 2018.
Page 6 of 19
age, and became disabled prior to the date on which he or she was last insured. 42
U.S.C. § 423(a); 20 C.F.R. § 404.131(a).
In making this determination at the administrative level, the ALJ follows a
five-step sequential evaluation process. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a); 20 C.F.R. §
416.920(a). Under this process, the ALJ must sequentially determine: (1) whether
the claimant is engaged in substantial gainful activity; (2) whether the claimant has
a severe impairment; (3) whether the claimant’s impairment meets or equals a
listed impairment; (4) whether the claimant is able to do his or her past relevant
work; and (5) whether the claimant is able to do any other work, considering his or
her age, education, work experience and residual functional capacity (“RFC”). 20
C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4).
Between steps three and four, the ALJ must also assess a claimant’s RFC.
RFC is defined as “that which an individual is still able to do despite the
limitations caused by his or her impairment(s).” Burnett v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec.,
220 F.3d 112, 121 (3d Cir. 2000) (citations omitted); see also 20 C.F.R. §
404.1520(e); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(1); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(e); 20 C.F.R. §
416.945(a)(1). In making this assessment, the ALJ considers all the claimant’s
medically determinable impairments, including any non-severe impairments
Page 7 of 19
identified by the ALJ at step two of his or her analysis. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(2);
20 C.F.R. § 416.945(a)(2).
At steps one through four, the claimant bears the initial burden of
demonstrating the existence of a medically determinable impairment that prevents
him or her in engaging in any of his or her past relevant work. 2 U.S.C. §
423(d)(5); 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(H)(i) (incorporating 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(5) by
reference); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1512(a); 20 C.F.R. § 416.912(a); Mason, 994 F.2d at
1064. Once this burden has been met by the claimant, it shifts to the
Commissioner at step five to show that jobs exist in significant number in the
national economy that the claimant could perform that are consistent with the
claimant’s age, education, work experience and RFC. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1512(b)(3);
20 C.F.R. § 416.912(b)(3); Mason, 994 F.2d at 1064.
The ALJ’s disability determination must also meet certain basic substantive
requisites. Most significant among these legal benchmarks is a requirement that the
ALJ adequately explain the legal and factual basis for this disability determination.
Thus, to facilitate review of the decision under the substantial evidence standard,
the ALJ's decision must be accompanied by “a clear and satisfactory explication of
the basis on which it rests.” Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d 700, 704 (3d Cir. 1981).
Conflicts in the evidence must be resolved and the ALJ must indicate which
Page 8 of 19
evidence was accepted, which evidence was rejected, and the reasons for rejecting
certain evidence. Id. at 706-707. In addition, “[t]he ALJ must indicate in his
decision which evidence he has rejected and which he is relying on as the basis for
his finding.” Schaudeck v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 181 F. 3d 429, 433 (3d Cir. 1999).
IV. DISCUSSION
Plaintiff raised the following issues in her Brief:
(1) Substantial Evidence does not support the ALJ’s evaluation of treating
physician Dr. Kramer’s opinion; and,
(2) The ALJ’s multiple errors with symptom evaluation compel reversal.
(Doc. 11, p. 1).
A. THE ALJ’S DECISION DENYING PLAINTIFF’S APPLICATIONS
In his March 2018 decision, the ALJ found that Plaintiff met the insured
status requirement of Title II of the Social Security Act through December 31,
2016. (Admin. Tr. 19; Doc. 8-2, p. 20). Then, Plaintiff’s applications were
evaluated at steps one through five of the sequential evaluation process.
At step one, the ALJ found that Plaintiff did not engage in substantial
gainful activity at any point between May 1, 20113 and December 31, 2016
(Plaintiff's date last insured) (“the relevant period”). (Admin. Tr. 22; Doc. 8-2, p.
3 Although Plaintiff alleged an onset date of January 1, 2009, she also indicated
that her medical condition did not prevent her from working until April 30, 2011.
The ALJ therefore found that she engaged in substantial gainful activity from
January 1, 2009 to April 30, 2011. (Admin. Tr. 19-20; Doc. 8-2, pp. 20-21).
Page 9 of 19
23). At step two, the ALJ found that, during the relevant period, Plaintiff had the
following medically determinable severe impairments: obesity, degenerative disc
disease, and migraines. (Admin. Tr. 20; Doc. 8-2, p. 21). At step three, the ALJ
found that, during the relevant period, Plaintiff did not have an impairment or
combination of impairments that met or medically equaled the severity of an
impairment listed in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. (Admin. Tr. 21;
Doc. 8-2, p. 22).
Between steps three and four, the ALJ assessed Plaintiff’s RFC. The ALJ
found that, during the relevant period, Plaintiff retained the RFC to engage in light
work as defined in 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567(b) and 20 C.F.R. § 416.967(b) except:
claimant can lift and/or carry up to 20 pounds occasionally and 10
pounds frequently; can sit, stand or walk for a total of six hours each
in an eight-hour work day; can engage in occasional postural
maneuvers; and cannot use ladders ropes or scaffolds. Additionally,
due to the effects of her pain, the claimant is limited to the
performance of simple routine and repetitive tasks, and should have
only occasional interaction with coworkers, supervisors or the public.
(Admin. Tr. 21-22; Doc. 8-2, pp. 22-23).
At step four, the ALJ found that, during the relevant period, Plaintiff could
not engage in her past relevant work. (Admin. Tr. 24; Doc. 8-2, p. 25). At step five,
the ALJ found that, considering Plaintiff’s age, education and work experience,
Plaintiff could engage in other work that existed in the national economy. (Admin.
Page 10 of 19
Tr. 25; Doc. 8-2, p. 26). To support his conclusion, the ALJ relied on testimony
given by a vocational expert during Plaintiff’s administrative hearing and cited the
following three (3) representative occupations: Bakery Racker, DOT #524.687-
018; Small Products Assembler, DOT #739.687-030; Housekeeping Cleaner, DOT
#323.687-014. (Admin. Tr. 26; Doc. 8-2, p. 27).
B. WHETHER SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE SUPPORTS THE ALJ’S RFC
ASSESSMENT IS SUPPORTED BY SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE
Two sources provided medical opinions concerning Plaintiff’s physical
functional capacity: Dr. Kramer (“Plaintiff’s primary care physician); and Dr.
Long (a consultative examiner retained by the Social Security Administration).
On December 8, 2015, Dr. Long examined Plaintiff and completed a
narrative report and check-box medical source statement. In his narrative report,
Dr. Long made the following observations:
General Appearance, Gait, Station: The claimant is right handed. The
claimant appeared to be in no acute distress. Gait normal. Cannot
walk on heels and toes. Cannot squat. Stance normal. Used no
assistive devices. Needed no help changing for exam or getting on and
off exam table. Able to rise from chair without difficulty.
. . . .
Musculoskeletal: No scoliosis, kyphosis, or abnormality in thoracic
spine. [Straight leg raise] to 70 degrees bilaterally produces back pain.
No evident joint deformity. Joints stable and nontender. No redness,
heat or effusion. 10 out of 18 trigger points are positive.
Page 11 of 19
Neurologic: [Deep tendon reflexes] physiologic and equal in upper
and lower extremities. No sensory deficit noted. Strength 5/5 in the
upper and lower extremities.
Extremities: No cyanosis, clubbing or edema. Pulses physiologic and
equal. No significant varicosities or trophic changes. No muscle
atrophy evident.
(Admin. Tr. 531-532; Doc. 8-13, pp. 67-68). In his medical source statement, Dr.
Long assessed that Plaintiff could: occasionally lift or carry up to ten pounds; sit
up to one hour at a time, and for a total of eight hours per workday; stand up to ten
minutes at a time, for a total of twenty minutes per eight-hour workday; and walk
up to fifteen minutes at one time, and for a total of thirty minutes per eight-hour
workday; frequently reach (in all directions except overhead), handle, finger, feel,
and operate foot controls; occasionally reach (overhead), push/pull, balance, stoop,
kneel, crouch, and crawl. (Admin. Tr. 534-539; Doc. 8-13, pp. 71-75).
In his decision, the ALJ gave “limited” weight to Dr. Long’s medical source
statement. In doing so the ALJ explained:
In forming the residual functional capacity assessment the
undersigned has given limited weight to the opinion of consultative
examiner Dr. Long in Exhibit 5F. Dr. Long’s opinion that the claimant
would be limited to a range of sedentary work activity was not clearly
supported by his own documented clinical observations of the
claimant’s functioning on the date of the evaluation and is not
consistent with the claimant’s reported capabilities and demonstrated
performance in treatment notes over the course of the period
beginning May 2011.
Page 12 of 19
(Admin. Tr. 24, Doc. 8-2, p. 25).
On November 11, 2017, Dr. Kramer completed a check-box/fill-in-the-blank
questionnaire about Plaintiff’s physical functional capacity. (Admin. Tr. 647-651;
Doc. 8-15, pp. 30-34). In that questionnaire, Dr. Kramer assessed that Plaintiff
could: sit for up to twenty minutes at one time, and for less than two hours total per
eight-hour workday; stand up to fifteen minutes at one time, and stand or walk for
less than two hours total per eight-hour workday; occasionally lift or carry up to
ten pounds; rarely twist, stoop (bend) crouch/squat, climb ladders, or climb stairs.
He also assessed that Plaintiff would need to get up and walk every twenty
minutes, must be permitted to shift positions at will, will frequently require
unscheduled work breaks lasting up to one hour at a time, and would be absent
from work more than four days per month. Dr. Kramer identified the following
clinical findings and objective signs to support his assessment: anxious
mood/depressed affect/[illegible word] focus/ decreased neck roll, and tenderness
with palpation.
The ALJ gave “little” weight to Dr. Kramer’s physical RFC assessment. In
doing so, he explained:
[t]he degree of restriction reflected in [Dr. Kramer’s] opinion
(including an inability to sit or stand/walk for a total of even two
hours per day, and a likelihood of more than four work absences per
month) is clearly inconsistent with Dr. Kramer’s contemporaneous
Page 13 of 19
treatment notes and examination findings, as well as with the nature of
the claimant’s longitudinal treatment history during the period at
issue.
(Admin. Tr. 24; Doc. 8-2, p. 25).
Plaintiff argues:
Lastly, the ALJ rejected all opinions regarding Miller’s functional
limits—“limited weight” was assigned to the opinion of consultative
examiner Dr. Long and “little weight” was assigned to treating
physician Dr. Kramer’s opinion. (Tr. 24) The ALJ’s rejection of all of
the opinion evidence regarding Miller’s impairments created an
“evidentiary deficit” that he could not reasonably fill with his lay
medical opinion. See Suide v. Astrue, 371 Fed.Appx. 684, 690 (7th
Cir. 2010) (remanding where ALJ created an evidentiary deficit when
the ALJ rejected treating physician’s opinion and then made a RFC
determination without supporting medical evidence); Knier v.
[Berryhill], No. 3:16cv457[, 2017 WL 2882289] (M.D. Pa. Jul. 5,
2017). .[sic] Rather than using one of the resources available to him to
properly support his finding, the ALJ erred by forgoing ahead with his
independent assessment of Miller’s abilities to fill the evidentiary gap
based on his own interpretation of the medical evidence, which was
not grounded in the medical record or otherwise properly supported.
Instead, the ALJ should have requested the presence of a medical
expert at the hearing or sent interrogatories to a medical expert,
following the hearing to obtain a supported opinion. By filing the
evidentiary gap with his own lay assessment that lacked record
support, the ALJ reversibly erred.
(Doc. 11, p. 9).
In response, the Commissioner argues:
Consistent with governing regulations and policy, the Third Circuit
Court of Appeals reiterated in Chandler, 667 F.3d at 359, that it is
“[t]he ALJ – not treating or examining physicians or State agency
consultants – [who] must make the ultimate disability and RFC
Page 14 of 19
determinations . . . The law is clear that the opinion of a treating
physician does not bind the ALJ on the issue of functional capacity.”
Id. at 361 (quoting Brown v. Astrue, 649 F.3d 193, 197 n.2 (3d Cir.
2011)). Because it is the ALJ who has primary responsibility for
making the RFC determination “based on the medical evidence, [sic]
he is not required to seek a separate medical opinion.” Mays v.
Barnhart, 78 F. App’x 808, 813 (3d Cir. 2003) (emphasis added).
Thus, the ALJ was not bound by any opinion in the record. The ALJ
nevertheless considered the opinion evidence in accordance with the
regulation, and articulated appropriate reasons for affording them less
weight.
(Doc. 12, pp. 16-17).
It appears that Plaintiff’s argument falls within the growing number of cases
that require the Court to compare the language offered in two Third Circuit
opinions: Chandler v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. 667 F.3d 356 (3d Cir. 2012), and Doak
v. Heckler, 790 F.2d 26 (3d Cir. 1986). Plaintiff argues that the ALJ’s RFC
assessment is not supported by the medical opinion evidence of record, and indeed
my review of the ALJ’s opinion confirms that they ALJ gave “little” weight to
both medical opinions about Plaintiff’s physical limitations. My review of those
opinions also reveals that both of those medical opinions include much more
restrictive limitations than set by the ALJ in his RFC assessment. In response, the
Commissioner argues that the ALJ is permitted to reach RFC determinations
without outside medical expert review of each fact incorporated into the decision.
Page 15 of 19
There is no dispute that it is the ALJ’s duty to assess a claimant’s RFC. 20
C.F.R. § 404.1546(c); 20 C.F.R. § 416.946(c). Further, the Commissioner’s
regulations and Third Circuit caselaw are clear that an ALJ must consider more
than just medical opinions when evaluating a claimant’s RFC. 20 C.F.R. §
404.1545(a)(3) (“We will assess your residual functional capacity based on all of
the relevant medical and other evidence.”); 20 C.F.R. § 416.945(a)(3) (same as 20
C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(3)); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1513 (explaining that “evidence” is
“anything you or anyone else submits to us or that we obtain that relates to your
claim.”); 20 C.F.R. § 416.913 (same as 20 C.F.R. § 404.1513); Burnett v. Comm’r
of Soc. Sec. , 220 F.3d 112, 121 (3d Cir. 2000) (“In making a residual functional
capacity determination, the ALJ must consider all evidence before him.”).
Although objective medical evidence and treatment records are relevant to an
ALJ’s RFC assessment and, if they include findings about a claimant’s functional
abilities may be enough to support specific findings in an RFC assessment on their
own, as a practical matter such documents do not always contain this information.
Thus, the reality in Social Security cases is that “[r]arely can a decision be made
regarding a claimant’s residual functional capacity without an assessment from a
physician regarding the functional abilities of the claimant.” McKean v. Colvin,
150 F. Supp.3d 406, 418 (M.D. Pa, 2015).
Page 16 of 19
As this Court has explained:
It is well established that an ALJ “is not free to set his own expertise
against that of a physician who presents competent evidence.
Ferguson v. Schweiker, 765 F.2d 31, 37 (3d Cir. 1985). In cases where
the ALJ does not give any significant or great weight to any medical
opinion, the Court has found that the ALJ “seemingly interpreted the
medical evidence of record, and substituted her own opinion for that
of a medical one in arriving at [a] Plaintiff's RFC.” McKay v. Colvin,
No. 3:14-CV-2020, 2015 WL 5124119, *17 (M.D. Pa. Aug. 13,
2015). McKean is particularly on point in this matter, as there the
Court found the ALJ's RFC not supported by substantial evidence
where the ALJ dismissed the only medical opinion in the record
rendered in regard to the claimant's physical limitations. See McKean,
150 F. Supp. 3d at 418.
Decker v. Berryhill, No. 1:17-cv-00945, 2018 WL 4189662 at *6 (M.D. Pa. June 8,
2018) report and recommendation adopted 2018 WL 4184304 (M.D. Pa. Aug. 31,
2018).
“It is not error in and of itself to disagree with the opinion of a medical
professional.” Id. An RFC assessment, however, is not supported by substantial
evidence where an ALJ assesses a lesser degree of limitation than found by any
medical professional without citing to another type of evidence that supports his or
her assessment. Id. (listing cases). The ALJ in this case fails to cite any evidence
consistent with his ultimate conclusion that Plaintiff is able to lift up to twenty
pounds, stand six hours per day, or walk six hours per day. Unlike in this case,
where the ALJ found that Plaintiff had a lesser degree of physical limitation than
Page 17 of 19
any medical source, the ALJ in Chandler crafted RFC assessments that reflected a
greater degree of limitation than was contemplated by the physician’s findings.
Chandler, 667 F.3d at 361-63. “[W]hen an ALJ is saying that a claimant can
do more than the medical source opinion states, courts exercise caution and suggest
that only rarely can an ALJ unilaterally impose an RFC on a claimant that is less
restrictive than the residual functional capacity found by the medical professional.”
Metzgar v. Colvin, No. 3:16-CV-1929, 2017 WL 1483328 (M.D. Pa. Mar. 29,
2017) (emphasis in original), report and recommendation adopted 2017 WL
1479426 (M.D. Pa. Apr. 21, 2017).
In exercising that caution, I find that the facts of this case compel remand.
Both Dr. Kramer and Dr. Long assessed that Plaintiff could not lift 20 pounds and
could not stand or walk for up to six hours per day—as is required to perform light
work pursuant to 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567(b) and 20 C.F.R. § 416.967(b). There is no
treatment record that affirmatively states that Plaintiff is able to lift 20 pounds or is
able to stand or walk for up to six hours per day. Instead, the ALJ appears to rely
on the lack of specific evidence on that subject to discount the opinions of Doctors
Kramer and Long. While that lack may be a proper basis to choose between two
competing medical opinions that reach different conclusions under 20 C.F.R. §
404.1527 and 20 C.F.R. § 416.927, it is not enough by itself to support an RFC
Page 18 of 19
assessment when all medical opinions of record contradict it. Accordingly, I find
that the ALJ’s RFC assessment is not supported by substantial evidence. On
remand, the ALJ should reevaluate the existing medical opinion evidence, and may
develop the record as he or she deems necessary.
V. CONCLUSION
Accordingly, Plaintiff’s request for reversal and disability insurance benefits
or, alternatively, remand will be GRANTED as follows:
(1) The final decision of the Commissioner will be VACATED.
(2) This case will be REMANDED to the Commissioner to conduct a new
administrative hearing pursuant to sentence four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).
(3) An appropriate Order shall issue
Date: May 4, 2020 BY THE COURT
s/William I. Arbuckle
William I. Arbuckle
U.S. Magistrate Judge
Page 19 of 19