Opinion

Gillar v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield of South Carolina

Court
District Court, M.D. Pennsylvania
Filed
Aug 30, 2019
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.0%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

RONALD GILLAR and :

STEPHANIE GILLAR,

: CIVIL ACTION NO. 3:17-2128

Plaintiffs

: (JUDGE MANNION)

v.

:

BLUE CROSS/BLUE SHIELD

OF SOUTH CAROLINA, :

Defendant :

MEMORANDUM

Pending before the court are the defendant’s motion for summary

judgment (Doc. 12) and the plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment (Doc. 19).

Based upon the court’s review of the record in this action, the defendant’s

motion will be granted and the plaintiffs’ motion will be denied.

The plaintiffs filed this action pursuant to 29 U.S.C. §1132(a) to recover

benefits under an ERISA regulated plan. In due course, the parties filed cross

motions for summary judgment. Summary judgment is appropriate “if the

pleadings, the discovery [including, depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file] and disclosure materials on file, and any affidavits

show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the

movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); see

also Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23 (1986); Turner v.

Schering-Plough Corp., 901 F.2d 335, 340 (3d Cir. 1990). A factual dispute

is genuine if a reasonable jury could find for the non-moving party, and is

material if it will affect the outcome of the trial under governing substantive

law. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986); Aetna Cas.

& Sur. Co. v. Ericksen, 903 F.Supp. 836, 838 (M.D. Pa. 1995). At the

summary judgment stage, “the judge’s function is not himself to weigh the

evidence and determine the truth of the matter but to determine whether there

is a genuine issue for trial.” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 249; see also Marino v.

Indus. Crating Co., 358 F.3d 241, 247 (3d Cir. 2004) (a court may not weigh

the evidence or make credibility determinations). Rather, the court must

consider all evidence and inferences drawn therefrom in the light most

favorable to the non-moving party. Andreoli v. Gates, 482 F.3d 641, 647 (3d

Cir. 2007).

To prevail on summary judgment, the moving party must affirmatively

identify those portions of the record which demonstrate the absence of a

genuine issue of material fact. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323-24. The moving party

can discharge the burden by showing that “on all the essential elements of its

case on which it bears the burden of proof at trial, no reasonable jury could

find for the non-moving party.” In re Bressman, 327 F.3d 229, 238 (3d Cir.

2003); see also Celotex, 477 U.S. at 325. If the moving party meets this initial

burden, the non-moving party “must do more than simply show that there is

some metaphysical doubt as to material facts,” but must show sufficient

evidence to support a jury verdict in its favor. Boyle v. County of Allegheny,

139 F.3d 386, 393 (3d Cir. 1998) (quoting Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586 (1986)). However, if the non-moving

party “fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the existence of an

element essential to [the non-movant’s] case, and on which [the non-movant]

will bear the burden of proof at trial,” Rule 56 mandates the entry of summary

judgment because such a failure “necessarily renders all other facts

immaterial.” Celotex Corp., 477 U.S. at 322-23; Jakimas v. Hoffmann—La

Roche, Inc., 485 F.3d 770, 777 (3d Cir. 2007).

The summary judgment standard does not change when the parties

have filed cross-motions for summary judgment. Appelmans v. City of Phila.,

826 F.2d 214, 216 (3d Cir. 1987). When confronted with cross-motions for

summary judgment, as in this case, “the court must rule on each party’s

motion on an individual and separate basis, determining, for each side,

whether a judgment may be entered in accordance with the summary

judgment standard.” Marciniak v. Prudential Financial Ins. Co. of America, 184

Fed.Appx. 266, 270 (3d Cir. 2006) (citations omitted) (not precedential). If

review of cross-motions reveals no genuine issue of material fact, then

judgment may be entered in favor of the party deserving of judgment in light

of the law and undisputed facts. Iberia Foods Corp. v. Romeo, 150 F.3d 298,

302 (3d Cir. 1998) (citation omitted). See Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v. Roth,

2006 WL 3069721, at *3 (M.D. Pa. Oct. 26, 2006) aff’d, 252 Fed.Appx. 505

(3d Cir. 2007).

In reviewing the parties’ cross-motions for summary judgment, the

following facts are undisputed.1 The defendant provided a Master Group

Contract to Ronald Gillar’s employer, United Sporting Companies, which was

effective January 1, 2017 (“Contract”). Pursuant to the Contract, Blue Cross

administered the Plan of Benefits to employees of United Sporting Companies

(“Plan”). The Plan provides coverage for medical benefits but in Section IV

specifically delineates a list of benefits that are excluded from coverage under

the Plan. One of these specific exclusions from the Plan is:

INTOXICATION OR DRUG USE

Any service (other than Substance Use Disorder Services),

Medical Supplies, charges, or losses resulting from a Member

being Legally Intoxicated or under the influence of any drug or

other substance, or taking some action the purpose of which is to

create a euphoric state or alter consciousness. The Member, or

Member’s representative, must provide any available test results

1These statements combine the defendant’s statement of material facts

to which the plaintiffs have responded (Doc. 13, Doc. 17), the plaintiffs’

statement of material facts to which the defendant has not responded and are

therefore deemed admitted (Doc. 20), and the defendant’s supplemental

statement of material facts to which the plaintiffs have not responded and are

also deemed admitted (Doc. 23).

4

showing blood alcohol and/or drug/substance levels upon request

of the Corporation. If the Member refuses to provide these results,

no benefits will be provided.

The Plan defines “Legal Intoxication/Legally Intoxicated” as occurring when

“the Member’s blood alcohol level was at or in excess of the amount

established under applicable state law to create a presumption and/or

inference that the Member was under the influence of alcohol, when

measured by law enforcement or medical personnel.”

While the Plan provides that the employer, United Sporting Companies,

is charged with the administration of the Plan, as indicated earlier, the

Contract between United Sporting Companies and Blue Cross provides that

Blue Cross has the final discretionary authority to determine whether plan

participants are eligible for benefits. Specifically, the Contract provides:

5. Corporation Authority. As claims fiduciary, the Corporation

shall have the final discretionary authority to determine the

eligibility for Covered Expenses and to construe the terms

of the Plan represented by this Plan of Benefits. All

decisions by the Corporation in this regard are conclusive

and binding, and any judicial review of such a decision shall

be conducted under the arbitrary and capricious standard

of review with deference given to the Corporation’s

decision.

Ronald Gillar was a Member covered by the Plan. According to Mr.

Gillar’s medical records, on or about June 9, 2017, he was found

unresponsive lying face down in the middle of a road approximately 100 yards

5

from an all-terrain vehicle (“ATV”). Having suffered significant injuries2, the

plaintiff was life-flighted to Danville Medical Center (“Danville”). Records show

that the trauma transport reported a blood alcohol level of 130 milligrams per

deciliter as of 23:48 on June 9, 2017, a level approximately 1.63 times the

legal limit for a person to be deemed intoxicated and materially and

appreciably impaired under either South Carolina law3, as made applicable by

the Plan, or Pennsylvania law4, where the accident occurred. The plaintiff

remained inpatient at Danville for 22 days.

At some point in time, a claim for benefits was submitted to the

defendant on Mr. Gillar’s behalf. According to a Notice of Denial dated June

20, 2017, from Medical Management BCBSSC to Geisinger Medical Center,

Mr. Gillar’s contract did not cover his inpatient admission on June 10, 2017,

because of the intoxication exclusion discussed previously. It was indicated

that Mr. Gillar could appeal the denial by completing an appeal form which

was included with the denial letter.

2The plaintiff provides that he suffered severe facial fractures, left and

right rib fractures, pulmonary contusions, fronto-temporal subdural

hemorrhage with right temporal lobe contusions and right temporal subdural

hematomas.

3S.C. Code of Laws Section 56-5-2933.

475 Pa.C.S. §3802.

6

On July 21, 2017, Mr. Gillar appealed the denial and, on August 4,

2017, the defendant upheld the exclusion of benefits. In denying Mr. Gillar’s

appeal, in conjunction with his blood alcohol concentration noted at the time

of trauma transport, the defendant considered the fact that Mr. Gillar was

found face down in the middle of the road having been in an accident

involving an ATV. Dr. Lena Bretous, the reviewer on appeal, opined based on

her education, training and experience, that with a blood alcohol content level

of 130 milligrams per deciliter, Mr. Gillar was severely intoxicated and “all of

his mental, physical and sensory functions, including, but not limited to, his

judgment, balance, motor coordination and vision were significantly impaired

due to alcohol intoxication, this impairment resulted in the member being

unable to drive and operate the ATV vehicle and avoid being thrown from the

vehicle and found face down over 100 yards from the ATV, thereby causing

the member’s injuries.”5 The administrative record, however, contains no

statement regarding the direct cause of the accident.

At all relevant times, there is no dispute that Mr. Gillar provided all the

5The plaintiff’s counsel denies this statement, in part, arguing that there

is no evidence in the record to show that the plaintiff was operating his ATV

at the time of his injuries. However, the plaintiff’s own allegations in his

amended complaint reflect “[o]n June 9, 2017, while operating an all terrain

vehicle, Plaintiff, Ronald Gillar, was involved in an accident . . .” (Doc. 10, ¶6)

(emphasis added). The plaintiff’s admission makes his counsel’s argument

somewhat disingenuous.

7

information necessary to evaluate his claim including authorizations for

access to his medical and emergency medical treatment records. Moreover,

the defendant has never asserted that Mr. Gillar failed to cooperate, provide

information, supply authorizations, statements, records or any other

information requested of him. In reviewing the claim for benefits, the

defendant provided that it had sufficient information to evaluate Mr. Gillar’s

claim and his appeal.

As a result of the defendant’s denial of coverage, Mr. Gillar provides

that he has already incurred medical expenses totaling $518,483.58. Further,

Mr. Gillar provides that, without coverage for treatment, his injuries prevented

him from returning to his job as a receiver for United Sporting Companies and,

as a result, his employment was terminated and he lost the health coverage

provided by his employer. Without coverage, Mr. Gillar states that he has

been unable and will continue to be unable to pay for future medical care. The

plaintiffs are seeking to have the court enter judgment against the defendant

declaring that Mr. Gillar is entitled to benefits under the Plan and ordering the

defendant to pay Mr. Gillar the requested benefits along with interest and

reasonable attorney’s fees and costs.

In considering the plaintiffs’ claim, §1132(a)(1)(B) of ERISA provides the

plaintiff a right of action “to recover benefits due to him under the terms of his

8

plan.” 29 U.S.C. §1132(a)(1)(B). To prevail on a claim under §1132(a)(1)(B),

the plaintiff must demonstrate that he has “a right to benefits that is legally

enforceable against the plan, and that the plan administrator improperly

denied those benefits.” Fleisher v. Standard Ins. Co., 679 F.3d 116, 120 (3d

Cir. 2012) (internal quotations omitted).

The Supreme Court has instructed that courts are to review the denial

of benefits challenged under §1132(a)(1)(B) “under a de novo standard

unless the benefit plan gives the administrator or fiduciary discretionary

authority to determine eligibility for benefits or to construe the terms of the

plan.” Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989)

(emphasis added). When a plan grants its administrator or fiduciary the

discretion to determine eligibility or to construe the plan terms, “we review a

denial of benefits under an ‘arbitrary and capricious’ standard.” Orvosh v.

Program of Grp. Ins. for Salaried Employees of Volkswagen of Am., Inc., 222

F.3d 123, 129 (3d Cir. 2000).

Here, although the Plan lists the employer, United Sporting Companies,

as the plan administrator, the Contract between United Sporting Companies

and Blue Cross provides that, in exchange for the premium and applicable

fees, “the Corporation [Blue Cross] has agreed to administer this Plan of

Benefits and provide the Services set forth in this Contract (“Services”).”

9

Moreover, the Contract identifies Blue Cross as the claims fiduciary and

provides that “as claims fiduciary, [Blue Cross] shall have the final

discretionary authority to determine eligibility for Covered Expenses and to

construe the terms of the Plan represented by this Plan of Benefits.” Blue

Cross was expressly designated as the fiduciary and given discretionary

authority to determine eligibility for covered expenses and construe the terms

of the plan, as well as making a final decision on any appeal. Thus, the court

finds that the arbitrary and capricious standard of review applies in this case.

The plaintiffs argue that a heightened level of scrutiny applies because

there is a structural conflict of interest that exists in light of the fact that Blue

Cross both pays benefits due and makes eligibility determinations. However,

the standard of review does not change where a structural conflict of interest

exists, namely when an insurance company both funds and administers

benefits. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Glenn, 554 U.S. 105 (2008);

Davies v. First Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co., 713 Fed. Appx. 129 (3d Cir.

2017) (citing Estate of Schwing v. The Lilly Health Plan, 562 F.3d 522, 525

(3d Cir. 2009)). “Instead, courts reviewing the decisions of ERISA plan

administrators or fiduciaries in civil enforcement actions brought pursuant to

29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B) should apply a deferential abuse of discretion

standard of review across the board and consider any conflict of interest as

10

one of several factors in considering whether the administrator or the fiduciary

abused its discretion.” Id.

“An administrator’s decision is arbitrary and capricious ‘if it is without

reason, unsupported by substantial evidence or erroneous as a matter of

law.’” Miller v. Am. Airlines, Inc., 632 F.3d 837, 845 (3d Cir. 2011) (quoting

Abnathya v. Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc., 2 F.3d 40, 45 (3d Cir. 1993)) (internal

quotation marks omitted). The Third Circuit has defined “substantial evidence”

as “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate

to support a conclusion.” Fleisher, 679 F.3d at 121.

Under the arbitrary and capricious standard, the “scope of review is

narrow and ‘the court is not free to substitute its own judgment for that of the

defendants in determining eligibility for plan benefits.’” Abnathya, 2 F.3d at 45

(quoting Lucash v. Strick Corp., 602 F.Supp. 430, 434 (E.D. Pa. 1984)).

Therefore, the court is limited to considering only the evidence that was

before Blue Cross at the time it reviewed and decided Mr. Gillar’s claim.

Mitchell v. Eastman Kodak Co., 113 F.3d 433, 440 (3d Cir. 1997).

The court concludes in this case that the evidence in the record

substantially supports the defendant’s finding that Mr. Gillar was legally

intoxicated at the time of the accident putting into play the intoxication

exclusion. Under the intoxication exclusion, coverage can be denied for any

11

service, medical supplies, charges, or losses resulting from a member being

legally intoxicated or under the influence of any drug or other substance.

There is no indication in the Plan that the injuries have to result solely from

intoxication but only that the injuries be a result of intoxication.

In this case, the plaintiff was found unconscious, laying face down in the

middle of a road with a crashed ATV approximately 100 yards away. Upon

being life-flighted to Danville, the plaintiff’s blood alcohol content was noted

by trauma transport to be 130 milligrams per deciliter.6 An inference of

intoxication under both South Carolina law, which applies under the Plan, and

Pennsylvania law7, where the accident occurred, arises at a blood alcohol

6The plaintiff argues that the blood alcohol content finding at 23:48 on

June 9, 2017 does not demonstrate that he was intoxicated at the actual time

of his injuries, which is unknown. It defies logic to argue that the plaintiff’s

blood alcohol level was 1.63 times the legal limit after his injuries while he was

unconscious in the middle of the road, but that he was not intoxicated at an

earlier time when his injuries were actually incurred.

7Citing to Coughlin v. Massiquoi, 170 A.3d 399 (Pa. 2017), the plaintiff

argues that, in Pennsylvania, evidence of blood alcohol content for the

purpose of establishing negligence is dependent upon corroborating evidence

such as the observations of a police officer or other eye witness to describe

the behavior and actions of the person including slurred speech, staggered

gate, glazed eyes, or odor of alcohol. Initially, the Plan in this case provides

that South Carolina law applies, not Pennsylvania law. Moreover, this is not

a negligence case. Finally, the court in Coughlin actually rejected the standard

requiring independent corroborating evidence of intoxication before blood

alcohol content evidence may be admitted emphasizing that in a pedestrian

(continued...)

12

level of 80 milligrams per deciliter. Thus, Mr. Gillar’s blood alcohol content

was 1.63 times the legal limit for an individual to be deemed intoxicated and

materially and appreciably impaired. Mr. Gillar’s initial application for benefits

was denied based on the finding that the ATV accident and his resulting

injuries were a result of his intoxication. Mr. Gillar appealed the initial denial

of benefits based upon the intoxication exclusion. In conjunction with that

appeal, Mr. Gillar could have presumably pointed to something other than his

intoxication as the cause of the accident and his resulting injuries, if such

were the case. No such evidence exists in the record. Given the evidence

before her, Dr. Lena Bretous opined within a reasonable degree of medical

certainty, based upon her education, training, and experience, that with a

blood alcohol content of 130 milligrams per deciliter, Mr. Gillar, including his

judgment, balance, motor coordination and vision, were significantly impaired

due to alcohol intoxication which resulted in him being unable to operate the

ATV and avoid the accident which caused his injuries. Given the

circumstances under which the plaintiff was found and his blood alcohol

content at the time, and the fact that there is nothing in the record presented

by Mr. Gillar that his intoxication was not a cause of his injuries, there is at

7(...continued)

case (which this is not) such evidence may be challenged by cross-

examination or with testimony from an expert. Id. at 410.

13

least some evidence from which a reasonable mind might accept as adequate

to support the conclusion that the plaintiff’s intoxication was a cause of the

ATV accident and his resulting injuries. Therefore, the court finds that the

defendant’s decision applying the intoxication exclusion to deny Mr. Gillar

benefits was not arbitrary and capricious.

In light of the foregoing, the defendant’s motion for summary judgment

will be granted and the plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment will be denied.

An appropriate order shall issue.

s/ Malachy E. Mannion

MALACHY E. MANNION

United States District Judge

Date: August 30, 2019

17-2128-01.wpd

14

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.