Opinion

COCKERILL v. CORTEVA, INC.

Court
District Court, E.D. Pennsylvania
Filed
Jun 17, 2024
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.0%

plaintiffs pled “same facts” in ERISA denial of benefits and fiduciary duty claims

How later courts described this case

  • plaintiffs pled “same facts” in ERISA denial of benefits and fiduciary duty claims
  • holding that fiduciary breach claims still lie when defendants “affirmatively and systematically” misrepresent the plan terms, even when the plan terms “clearly permitted” the complained of action
  • “we recognize that the one-year statute of limitations of [Delaware’s analogous state law] is short, but we cannot say that it is inconsistent with ERISA policy.”
  • applying Title VII burden shifting framework to ERISA § 510 claims

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

ROBERT F. COCKERILL et al., CIVIL ACTION

Plaintiffs,

NO. 21-3966

v.

CORTEVA, INC. et al.,

Defendants

Baylson, J. June 17, 2024

MEMORANDUM

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY AND FACTUAL SUMMARY

In its previous Class Certification Memorandum, this Court recited the lengthy and

complex factual and procedural history of this action. Cockerill v. Corteva, Inc., 345 F.R.D. 81

(E.D. Pa. 2023). In brief, this lawsuit sprouts from two corporate actions Defendants executed on

August 31, 2017, and June 1, 2019.

On August 31, 2017, E.I. Du Pont De Nemours and Company (“Historical DuPont”) and

Dow, Inc. merged, creating a new combined entity, DowDuPont. Id. at 92–94. Then, on June 1,

2019, the corporation DowDuPont spun-off into three independent companies: Corteva Inc. (a new

entity), Dow Inc., and DuPont De Nemours (“New DuPont”). Id. Critically, at spin-off, Historical

DuPont, and the Pension and Retirement Plan (“the Plan”) it had sponsored for over 100 years

became a subsidiary of Corteva, not New DuPont. Id. at 97–98.

The rub, according to Plaintiffs, is that while thousands of Historical DuPont employees

kept the same job, at the same location, with the same pay, Defendants (New DuPont, Historical

DuPont, and Corteva) surreptitiously “terminated” these employees on paper. That is, as of the

spin-off, these employees were no longer Historical DuPont’s (a Corteva subsidiary) employees—

they became employees of the brand-new corporate form, New DuPont, which did not participate

in the Historical DuPont retirement Plan. As a result of this alleged paper-only termination,

Plaintiffs claim they lost valuable retirement benefits, in violation of the Employment Retirement

Income Security Act (“ERISA”).

Two specific defined benefits are at issue here—Early Retirement and Optional Retirement

Benefits. Defined benefits are set monthly payouts employees may receive under a retirement plan,

akin to Social Security, but sponsored by a private company. The Early Retirement Benefit entitled

employees who were reached age 50 with at least 15 years of employment with Historical DuPont

to receive a monthly payment, at retirement, given their age and years of service. Cockerill, 345

F.R.D. at 93. The Optional Retirement Benefit functioned similarly (eligible for over age

50 employees with 15 years of experience) but was slightly more generous in its payout structure.

Id. The Optional Retirement Benefit was available when an employee lost his job with Historical

DuPont, due to no fault of his own. Id.

A. Description of Plaintiff’s Claims

Plaintiffs initiated this suit on September 3, 2021. On November 17, 2023, this Court

certified two Plaintiffs classes, one for employees seeking the Optional Retirement Benefit, and

one for employees seeking the Early Retirement Benefit. ECF 137. Below are the Plaintiffs’

remaining claims, and the defined classes.

• Count I and Count II: Plaintiffs seek clarification and enforcement of the Plan’s Early

Retirement and Optional Retirement Benefits under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B) (“ERISA

Benefit Denial Claims”).

o Count I (Early Retirement Class) asserts, that under the language of the Plan, the

Early Retirement Benefit is available to those who were under age 50 with at least

15 years of service with Historical DuPont and transferred to New DuPont at the

time of spin-off.

o Count II (Optional Retirement Class) asserts, that under the language of the Plan,

that the spin-off, by terminating employment with Historical DuPont, entitled

eligible employees to Optional Retirement Benefits at spin-off.

• Counts IV, V and VI: In the alternative to the ERISA Benefit Denial Claims (Counts I and

II), Plaintiffs argue that the Defendants violated several provisions of ERISA.

o Count IV (both classes) asserts Defendants breached ERISA fiduciary duties by

misinforming and omitting information that would have explained the effect of the

spin-off on Early Retirement and Optional Retirement Benefits to Plaintiffs. 29

U.S.C. §§ 1104–05.

o Count V (both classes) asserts that Defendants’ purpose in assigning Historical

DuPont class employees to New DuPont at spin-off, even though Historical DuPont

continued to sponsor their Plan, was to prevent Plaintiffs from attaining Optional

and Early Retirement Benefits, in violation of 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

o Count VI (Optional Retirement Class) asserts that Defendants impermissibly

amended the Optional Retirement Benefit to cut back Plaintiffs’ accrued Benefit.

29 U.S.C. § 1054(g).

The classes are:

• Early Retirement Class (Count I, IV and V): Historical DuPont Plan employees who

were under age 50 with at least 15 years of experience at the spin-off and continued to work

for New DuPont until they reached age 50. Plaintiff Robert Cockerill is the class

representative.

• Optional Retirement Class (Counts II, IV, V, and VI): Historical DuPont Plan

employees who were over 50 with at least 15 years of experience when they were assigned

to New DuPont at spin-off. Plaintiffs Oliver Major and Darrell Benson are class

representatives.

On May 31, 2024, Defendants moved for summary judgment on all remaining claims with

a submitted Statement of Material Facts. Defs. Summ. J., ECF 196. Plaintiffs responded on June

7, 2024, and Defendants replied on June 14, 2024. Pls. Resp. to Summ. J., ECF 206; Defs. Reply,

ECF 219. This Court, before issuing this Memorandum, has reviewed over 4,000 pages of record

evidence.

B. Undisputed Facts

The parties agree on much of what transpired before and after the spin-off. Moreover, the

facts presented at summary judgment are nearly identical to the record this Court exhaustively

reviewed and recounted in its Class Certification Memorandum. Cockerill, 345 F.R.D. at 92–98,

99–102. In summary, the relevant undisputed facts, are that before the spin-off, DowDuPont

decided that thousands of Historical DuPont employees would continue employment under New

DuPont post-spin-off. Id. Because those employees were no longer employed by Historical

DuPont, a Corteva subsidiary, Defendants interpreted the Plan to mean those employees were no

longer participating in the Plan and could not accrue any additional benefits. Id.

Plaintiff Cockerill, prior to the spin-off, was 49 years old and had worked for Historical

DuPont for over 26 years. Id. at 102 After spin-off, he became a New DuPont employee. Because

he was not 50 years old when he lost employment with Historical DuPont, Defendants determined

he could never become eligible for the Early Retirement Benefit. Id. Cockerill learned this fact

when he applied for an Early Retirement Benefit, and Defendants denied it to him. Id.

Before the spin-off, Plaintiffs Major and Benson were both over age 50 and had worked

for Historical DuPont for over 20 years. Id. at 103–04. After the spin-off, they too became New

DuPont employees. Id. They seek the Optional Retirement Benefit. Id. Their logic is that if

employment with Historical DuPont did terminate, then they are entitled to Optional Retirement

under the Plan. In Major’s administrative appeal, Defendants denied that the spin-off triggered the

Optional Retirement Benefit. Id. Instead, Defendants interpreted the spin-off as an exempted

corporate action. Id. Under the Plan, when, due to a joint venture agreement, company sale, or

subsidiary transfer, an employee was no longer employed by Historical DuPont, but continued the

same functional job with the new entity, Optional Retirement did not apply (“Business

Exceptions”). Id. at 95.

Beyond the relevant Plan documents, it is undisputed that Defendants generated and

distributed several class wide communications in the months and years leading up to the spin-off.

While the meaning of those communications is hotly disputed, their existence is not. Id. at 93–97.

Some of those pre-spin-off communications that discuss how the spin-off would affect Plan

benefits include emails from DowDuPont CEO Ed Breen, emails from Defendants’ Human

Resources Department, a website created by Defendants, PowerPoint presentations circulated to

employees, and Question and Answer documents. Id.

Both parties have also unearthed a few new exhibits at summary judgment. Plaintiffs

supplement the record with some more class communications, in which Defendants’ generally,

albeit vaguely, reassure class members that the spin-off will not harm their benefits. Pls. Ex. 3

(“Breen September 1, 2017 Email”), ECF 206-4; Pls. Ex. 7, 206-8 (“Pension Question and

Answer”); Pls. Ex. 8, 206-9 (“Human Resources February 9, 2018 Email”). Plaintiffs also

produced a pre-spin-off email exchange among the Human Resources Department, showing that

several employees were unsure how the spin-off was going to affect their Early Retirement

accruals. Pls. Ex. 9 at 3-4, 206-10.

The final new material exhibit sheds light on the financial effects of Defendants’ Plan

interpretation. According to Defendants’ internal calculations, before the spin-off, and subsequent

elimination of benefits to both classes, the Plan’s liabilities had exceeded its assets, by billions of

dollars every year, for a decade. Pls. Ex. 13 at 34, ECF 206-14. After the spin-off—and elimination

of potential benefits for thousands of class members—Defendants projected its absolute Plan

obligations to drop by some four billion dollars and the Plan deficit to narrow by nine hundred

million dollars over the following three years. Id.

U.S. Plan by the Numbers (caap)

Wy LO) Eile APACE Cee male ol LUM ITEC

a ee eee see Cares)

as of December 31, 2018

MS Benefit Obligations lm Plan Assets —— Discount Rate

Actives? 11,457 $2.6B 6.25%

Def Vest 16,781 12 aan

Retirees 84,496 148 200

Total 112,734 $18.6B ay, 4.80% so

Key Driver: Discount Rate & Mortality Table 0 9 □□ □□□□□

GY YO son

© $15.7B Assets ws 4777

GY ZY 2.00%

as of December 31, 2018 Gy Uy

Key Driver: Equity/Bond Market, 6 7) 7 □□

Ee ,

Asset Allocation Gy GY un

Se ge se gt s gt ge se ge of ~

6 ($2.98) Underfunded eS

Underfunded =. 2.1 3.4) (3.5) (3.4) (6.8) 6.6 3.6) 7.1. 6.7, 6.4) (3.6) 2.9) (2.5) (2.0

as of December 31, 2018 Inderfunde (3.4) (3.5) (3.4) (6.8) (6.6) (3.6) (7.1) (6.7) (6.4) (3.6) (2.9) (2.5) (2.0)

2019 — 2022 Forecast assumes 6.25% asset return, improving discount rate

' Headcount data is as of 1/1/2018.

2 ~6,700 of active plan participants will become deferred vested or retirement eligible post spin |

Id.

C. Disputed Facts

Most disputed facts center around the interpretation of the class communications. Were the

various corporate bromides reassuring class members that they would not lose their accrued

benefits misleading? Was the language in Defendants’ PowerPoints misleading? Plaintiffs, of

course, argue they were, while Defendants contend the communications clearly explained the

effects of the spin-off on benefits. Defs. Statement of Fact, ¶¶ 31, 33, 35, 37, ECF 196-3; Pls. Resp.

Statement of Fact, ¶¶ 31, 33, 35, 37, ECF 207. In that vein, both parties trade deposition excerpts

to support their position. Defs. Statement of Fact, ¶¶ 53, 111; Pls. Resp. Statement of Fact, ¶¶ 53,

111.

Parties also dispute that the Plan distinguishes between former and current employees when

describing the Early and Optional Retirement Benefits. Defs. Statement of Fact, ¶ 17; Pls. Resp.

Statement of Fact, ¶ 17.

Another dispute arises from the Plan Administrator Meeting on November 1, 2018. The

parties disagree whether classifying the spin-off as one of the Business Exceptions outlined in the

Plan, such that it would not trigger the Optional Retirement Benefit, is consistent with past practice.

Defs. Statement of Fact, ¶ 29; Pls. Resp. Statement of Fact, ¶ 29.

The last major dispute revolves around the financial implications of Defendants’ Plan

interpretation. For thousands of over age 50 Historical DuPont employees, the spin-off, by

“terminating” them from Historical DuPont and assigning them to New DuPont, allowed them to

begin their Early Retirement benefits immediately, while still working for New DuPont and

earning a salary. Defs. Statement of Fact, ¶¶ 39–44; Pls. Resp. Statement of Fact, ¶¶ 39–44.

Defendants point this out to show that the spin-off multiplied its immediate payouts—thousands

of employees began receiving their benefits earlier than they would have because they could both

continue working and receive pension simultaneously. Defs. Statement of Fact, ¶¶ 43–44; Pls.

Resp. Statement of Fact, ¶¶ 43–44. Plaintiffs dispute that the number and demographics of post-

spin-off Early Retirement electees is known, and thus argues that the financial implications are

murky. Id.

II. PARTY CONTENTIONS

A. Defendants’ Contentions

1. Statute of Limitations

Defendants argue that the statute of limitations has run on Counts I, II, and V. First,

Defendants insist that Delaware provides the statute of limitations for these counts. Defs. Summ.

J. at 9–11. Using Pennsylvania’s choice of law analysis, Defendants assert that Delaware trumps

other jurisdictions because the Plan was “drafted, offered, and administered in Delaware,” and

Delaware was the corporate headquarters for Historical DuPont and Corteva through 2021. Id. at

10. Then, under Delaware’s one-year statute of limitations, Defendants continue, both classes

received a statement with their post-spin-off benefits by July 2019, triggering the limitations

period. Id. at 10–11. Because Plaintiffs did not file suit until September 3, 2021, over two years

later, their actions are time-barred. Id.

2. Counts I and II—Benefit Denial Claims

Defendants explain that under ERISA § 502(a)(1)(B), in Benefit Denial claims where the

Plan codifies discretion to the Plan Administrator, this Court must review the Defendants’ decision

to deny Early Retirement (Count I) and Optional Retirement (Count II) Benefits with an “arbitrary

and capricious” standard of review. Defs. Summ. J. at 3–4. Through that lens, Defendants argue,

only denials that rise to an “abuse of discretion,” are actionable. Id. Moreover, Defendants contend

that the ordinary rules of summary judgment give way to a tighter frame in § 502(a)(1)(B) claims,

where this Court may only look to whether the Defendants’ interpretation of the Plan was

reasonable given the administrative record, and only the administrative record. Id. at 4–5.

For the Early Retirement determination, Defendants conclude that their interpretation of

“employee” of Historical DuPont as “current employee” followed the unambiguous language of

the Plan, and alternatively, was reasonable if interpreting an ambiguous term. Because the Plan

provides the Early Retirement Benefit to “an employee” of Historical DuPont who has reached

age 50 with over 15 years of experience, Defendants argue, employees under age 50 are not

eligible. Id. 5–6. “Employee,” moreover, unambiguously only includes current, not former

employees. Id. Defendants support this assertion based on the word’s “plain, natural meaning,”

and because other sections of the Plan explicitly distinguish between employees and former

employees, indicating “employee” must exclude past employees. Id. at 6. Finally, Defendants

claim no evidence shows their interpretation of employee as inconsistent with past practice. Id.

Second for the Optional Retirement decision, Defendants appear to concede ambiguity in

the Plan, but argue their interpretation of the spin-off as a qualifying Business Exception was

reasonable. Id. at 7. Defendants contend that interpreting the spin-off as an exception is consistent

with the Plan’s purpose and past practice. Id. While the spin-off does not expressly fit into any of

the Business Exceptions listed in the Plan (i.e. sale, transfer, or joint venture), Defendants argue

that the purpose of the Optional Retirement Benefit was to insure employees who lost work as a

result of corporate restructuring, not to protect employees who continued to work in the same

position, at the same site after a corporate transaction. Id. 7–9. Defendants further state that they

treated a prior corporate spin-off in the same way as this one—denying Optional Retirement to

employees at the spun-off company, so long as they did not lose their position. Id. at 8. As such,

Defendants argue that interpreting the Plan to deny Optional Retirement Benefits to the class was

reasonable. Id.

3. Count IV—Breach of Fiduciary Duty Claim

Defendants move for judgment on Count IV under two theories—liability and damages.

As to liability, Defendants argue they communicated the spin-off’s effect on both the Early and

Optional Retirement Benefits clearly and without omission. Id. at 13–17. Defendants specifically

highlight CEO Ed Breen’s email on November 1, 2018, the two PowerPoints circulated in March

2019 discussing Early Retirement Benefits at spin-off, a question-and-answer document

explaining Early Retirement eligibility after spin-off, and the Summary Plan Description’s

(“SPD”) explanation of benefits as clear communications. Id. Defendants characterize Plaintiffs’

countervailing interpretations as subjective and unreasonable. Id. 15–17. Finally, Defendants

support their position by pointing out that thousands of employees who were over 50 at spin-off

have begun their benefits, suggesting they understood the spin-off effects. Id.

Moreover, even if some representations were inaccurate, Defendants argue, those

infirmities were mitigated by the clear language of the Plan describing that under 50 employees at

spin-off would be ineligible for Early Retirement Benefits. Id. at 18

Onto remedies, Defendants argue that the evidence cannot show Plaintiffs are entitled to

(1) plan reformation, (2) surcharge, or (3) equitable estoppel. Id. at 19. For reformation, Defendants

essentially repeat the same reasoning underpinning their liability arguments—the communications

and Plan language are sufficiently clear that no reasonable employee would believe either class

could receive the Benefit sought. Id. at 19–21. For surcharge, Defendants argue that Plaintiffs need

to show actual harm, that but for the misrepresentations or omissions, class members would have

elected to receive their benefit. Id. at 21–23. Plaintiffs cannot do so, Defendants argue. Id.

Additionally, Defendants contend surcharge is unavailable as a remedy for ERISA fiduciary

breaches when the harm is simply a redux of Plaintiffs’ Benefits Denial claims (Counts I and II).

Id. Finally, Plaintiffs cannot obtain equitable estoppel relief because that requires proving

detrimental reliance, which is not possible on a class wide basis. Id. at 23–24.

4. Count V—Prevention of Benefit Attainment Claim

Defendants argue they prevail on Count V because no evidence shows that any of

Defendants’ business decisions were made specifically to stop the classes from Early or Optional

Retirement Benefits. Id. at 24–27. Rather, Defendants made the decision to spin-off the three

companies for sound business reasons. Id. That the classes were no longer eligible for Optional

and Early Retirement Benefits were incidental effects, not motivating reasons, requiring judgment

for Defendants. Id.

5. Count VI—Anti-Cutback Claim

Defendants move for summary judgment on Count VI because there was no Plan

amendment, in connection with the spin-off, that affected the Optional Retirement Benefit. Id. at

27-28.

6. Count VII—State Promissory Estoppel Claim

Defendants advance two reasons to grant them judgment on Count VII. First, Defendants

contend that ERISA § 514(a) “supersede[s] any and all State laws insofar as they . . . relate to any

employee benefit plan.” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(A); Defs. Summ. J. at 28. This far-reaching provision

preempts Plaintiffs’ state law promissory estoppel claims, which require analyses largely

redundant of, and therefore “relate[d] to” the ERISA causes of action. Defs. Summ. J. at 28.

7. Releases of Liability

Some class members, including named Plaintiff Major, signed general releases of liability

when they ended employment with New DuPont. Id. at 30–31. Defendants contend these releases

bar Counts IV and VII for all members who signed the release. Id. at 31. Specific to Plaintiff Major,

Defendants argue that his claim for Optional Retirement does not fall under the only relevant

carve-outs in his signed release, thus precluding all his claims. Id. at 31–32.

8. Exhaustion of Internal Plan Remedies

Defendants further argue that Plaintiffs Major and Benson have not exhausted Defendants’

internal claims and appeals procedure for benefits and, therefore, must fail on Counts II and VI.

Id. at 32–34. Defendants first argue that the exhaustion procedure outlined in the SPD are binding

on all class members. Id. at 32–33. Therefore, Benson and Major, Defendants assert, who did not

exhaust their claim for the Optional Retirement Benefit internally, cannot now bring claims for

benefits into federal court. Id. at 33–34.

B. Plaintiffs’ Contentions

1. Statute of Limitations

Plaintiffs counter Defendants’ statute of limitations argument two ways. First, they submit

that Pennsylvania provides the proper statute of limitation for Counts I, II, and V. Pls. Resp. to

Summ. J. at 11–12. Federal choice of law, not state jurisprudence, governs federal statutes. Id.

Because the limitations period from the forum state statute applies to federal laws, like ERISA,

Pennsylvania limitations, not Delaware, apply. Id. Second, even if Delaware limitations were

applicable, Plaintiffs assert several reasons why the limitations period has not run. Id. at 12–13.

2. Counts I and II—Denial of Benefits Claims

Regarding Count I, Plaintiffs submit that the term “employee,” as used in the Early

Retirement provision of the Plan, is ambiguous, citing to this Court’s previous discussion of the

term’s ambiguity when denying Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss. Id. at 5–7; Cockerill v. Corteva,

Inc., 2022 WL 3099771 at *6–8 (E.D. Pa. Aug. 4, 2022).

Firmly in the realm of ambiguity, Plaintiffs then argue that interpreting “employee” to refer

only to “current employees” was arbitrary and capricious because the Plan, in other sections and

descriptions of benefits—including the cousin-Optional Retirement provision—implicitly

encompasses “former employees” within the umbrella of “employee.” Pls. Resp. to Summ. J. at

5–6. Plaintiffs buttress their arbitrary and capricious argument by highlighting Defendants’

financial incentive to deny Early Retirement and exposing inconsistent rationales for denying

Early Retirement to class members. Id. at 6–7.

On Count II, Plaintiffs argue that the plain language of the Plan specifies three—and only

three—Business Exceptions for the Optional Retirement Benefit. Id. at 7. Further, Plaintiffs assert

that the exception Defendants rely on, when an employee continues employment at the same site

in conjunction with a joint venture enterprise or sales agreement, unambiguously does not apply

to the spin-off. Id. at 7–8

Assuming, arguendo, that the language was ambiguous, Plaintiffs attack the reasonableness

of Defendants’ interpretation on several grounds. First, their interpretation conflicts with the

express language of the Plan. Id. at 8. Second, Defendants’ purported rationale, that Optional

Retirement was for employees who lose employment, is unpersuasive. Id. The Benefit remained

available for employees who re-gained employment, even higher income employment, with

another firm, which undercuts the employment-insurance motive. Id. At any rate, Plaintiffs

emphasize, the class members did not retain comparable employment at spin-off because they lost

significant benefits. Id. Third, Plaintiffs cast doubt that Defendants’ interpretation was consistent

with past practice. Id. at 9. Defendants only evidence to support this claim comes from a one-line

description of a prior “spin-off,” ripped from a document prepared for this litigation, which is

simply too flimsy, without elaboration, to support Defendants’ argument. Id. Finally, Plaintiffs

respond that the Defendants changed their reason for denying Optional Retirement from their

initial proffered basis to the arguments advanced in this suit. Id. at 9–10.

3. Count IV—Breach of Fiduciary Duty Claim

Count IV boils down to whether Defendants misled class members with respect to the two

Benefits at bar. In response, Plaintiffs refer to several class wide communications describing how

the spin-off would (or would not) affect Early and Optional Retirement Benefits to underscore

their key contention—whether these communications would mislead a reasonable employee is a

fundamental question of disputed fact. Id. at 13–17. Plaintiffs quote CEO Ed Breen’s reassuring

emails to class members pre-spin-off, as well as communications from Defendants’ Human

Resources Department underscoring that “regardless of which company administers your pension

in the future, the amount of the pensioner’s existing benefits will not change.” Id. at 14. Rather

than plainly stating how the class members would lose their eligibility for Early and Optional

Retirement Benefits, Defendants cloaked their decision in euphemism. Id. at 14–15.

To rebut Defendants’ remedies arguments, Plaintiffs return to crux of their substantive

fiduciary claim. The remedies of surcharge and reformation, Plaintiffs assert, flow naturally from

liability for fiduciary breaches because the required showings of harm, mutual mistake, and/or

inequitable conduct by Defendant mirror the elements for the underlying cause of action. Id. at

17–20. In other words, since disputed material facts preclude summary judgment on liability, they

necessarily prevent summary judgment for remedy as well. Id.

4. Count V—Prevention of Benefit Attainment Claim

Plaintiffs argue the illegal decision was not the spin-off in and of itself, but Defendants

choosing to decouple the Plan sponsor (Corteva), from the class members’ employer (New

DuPont). Id. at 21. Applying the burden shifting framework, Plaintiffs argue that the spin-off

benefits decision allowed Defendants to alleviate some multi-billions of dollars of liability under

the Plan, offering sufficient circumstantial evidence that their motivation was to prevent class

members from gaining benefits eligibility. Id. at 21–22. Given their prima facie case, Plaintiffs

submit, summary judgment is inappropriate.

5. Count VI—Anti-Cutback Claim

Plaintiffs argue the impermissible cut-back of the Optional Retirement Benefit, the core of

Count VI, was when Defendants erroneously interpreted the spin-off to fall under a Business

Exception in the Plan. Id. at 23–24. Thus, Plaintiffs’ Count VI claim largely tracks Count II.

6. Count VII—State Promissory Estoppel Claim

Plaintiffs essentially concede that they will not present a state promissory estoppel cause

of action at trial and do not substantively respond to Defendants’ arguments. Id. at 24.

7. Releases of Liability

Plaintiffs contend that Major’s signed Release does not bar his claims for two reasons.

First, by its own language, the General Release only applies to Major’s employer and its parent

company—New DuPont and DuPont Specialty Products—but not any other named Defendant. Id.

at 24. Second, even if the Release applied, it could not bar Major’s claim for vested Optional

Retirement Benefits under Count II, which is non-forfeitable under ERISA and carved out from

the Release. Id. at 25.

8. Exhaustion of Internal Plan Remedies

Plaintiffs point this Court toward its prior discussion and ruling that exhausting the internal

appeals process is unnecessary before bringing their federal claims. Id. at 24–26; Cockerill, 345

F.R.D. at 115–17.

III. LEGAL STANDARD

Summary judgment is appropriate “if the movant shows that there is no genuine dispute as

to any material fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(a). An issue is “genuine” if the evidence is such that a reasonable jury could return a verdict

for the non-moving party. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). A factual

dispute is “material” if it might affect the outcome of the case under governing law. Id.

A party seeking summary judgment always bears the initial responsibility for informing

the district court of the basis for its motion and identifying those portions of the record that it

believes demonstrate the absence of a genuine issue of material fact. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

U.S. 317, 322 (1986). Where the non-moving party bears the burden of proof on a particular issue

at trial, the moving party’s initial burden can be met simply by “pointing out to the district court

that there is an absence of evidence to support the non-moving party’s case.” Id. at 325. After the

moving party has met its initial burden, the adverse party’s response must, by “citing to particular

parts of materials in the record,” show that a fact is “genuinely disputed.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)(1).

Summary judgment is appropriate if the non-moving party fails to rebut by making a factual

showing “sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential to that party’s case, and on

which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial.” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322. Under Rule 56,

the Court must view the evidence presented on the motion in the light most favorable to the

opposing party. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 255.

IV. DISCUSSION

A. Where ERISA is Silent, Pennsylvania Statute of Limitations Apply

Defendants apply an erroneous (and needlessly convoluted) framework for their statute of

limitations argument. Selecting the “appropriate statute of limitations” for a federal statute “is a

question of federal law.” Syed v. Hercules Inc., 214 F.3d 155, 160 (3d Cir. 2000). Generally, courts

“presume that Congress intended courts to apply the most closely analogous state statute of

limitations,” essentially “borrowing” the limitations period from the forum state. Id. That

presumption gives way only when “a party can make a compelling showing that the application of

that [the forum state’s] time bar would seriously frustrate federal labor policy or work severe

hardship to the litigants.” Consol. Exp., Inc. v. New York Shipping Ass’n, Inc., 602 F.2d 494, 508

(3d Cir. 1979), vacated on other grounds.

Defendants have not argued, let alone shown that applying Pennsylvania’s statute of

limitations would do either. Rather, to the extent the Third Circuit has suggested inapplicable state

limitations for ERISA claims, their potential qualm was with Delaware’s shorter limitations period,

not longer time bars. Syed, 214 F.3d at 161 (“we recognize that the one-year statute of limitations

of [Delaware’s analogous state law] is short, but we cannot say that it is inconsistent with ERISA

policy.”).

B. Counts I and II Must Proceed to Trial

Under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B), a plan participant may sue for reinstatement of a specific

benefit that the Plan entitled him to, but employers improperly denied. When, as here, the plan

documents “give[ ] the administrator or fiduciary discretionary authority to determine eligibility

for benefits or to construe the terms of the plan, then the Court reviews the administrator’s decision

on a more deferential basis.” Dowling v. Pension Plan For Salaried Emps. of Union Pac. Corp. &

Affiliates, 871 F.3d 239, 245 (3d Cir. 2017) (internal quotations and citations omitted).

A court’s review of plan interpretation flows along two paths. First, the court must decide,

as a matter of law, whether the relevant plan language is unambiguous. Id. If so, then the

administrator’s interpretation of “unambiguous plan language” controls “as long as those

interpretations are reasonably consistent with the plan’s text.” Id. (internal quotations and citations

omitted). Or, more plainly put, “when plan terms are clear, they have only one meaning” and a

court considers only “whether the administrator acted within the scope of the plan’s unambiguous

terms while engaging in straightforward Plan execution.” Bergamatto v. Bd. of Trustees of the

NYSA- ILA Pension Fund, 933 F.3d 257, 264 n.12 (3d Cir. 2019) (internal quotations and citations

omitted).

If the plan language is ambiguous, however, then courts defer to the administrator’s

interpretation so long as it is not “arbitrary and capricious.” Id. Some factors that guide the

“arbitrary and capricious” or “abuse of discretion” analysis include:

(1) whether the interpretation is consistent with the goals of the Plan; (2) whether

it renders any language in the Plan meaningless or internally inconsistent; (3)

whether it conflicts with the substantive or procedural requirements of the ERISA

statute; (4) whether the relevant entities have interpreted the provision at issue

consistently; and (5) whether the interpretation is contrary to the clear language of

the Plan.

Howley v. Mellon Fin. Corp., 625 F.3d 788, 795 (3d Cir. 2010).

“When the same entity administers a plan and pays the benefits due under the plan, it has

a structural conflict of interest.” Noga v. Fulton Fin. Corp. Emp. Benefit Plan, 19 F.4th 264, 276

(3d Cir. 2021). Moreover, while courts are generally bound to the administrative record in ERISA

Benefit Denial claims, that rule yields when “the record may lack information about a fiduciary’s

potential biases and conflicts of interest.” Id. at 273 (internal quotations and citations omitted).

The Third Circuit recognizes that “[d]espite its potential relevance, information regarding a

structural conflict may be omitted from the administrative record due to the combination of

information asymmetry and financial incentives: the participant may not know of the conflict, and

the fiduciary has no financial incentive to disclose it.” Id. So, when financial conflicts of interest

are present, a reviewing court may consider evidence of the structural conflict beyond the

administrative record. Id. at 273–74.

But the structural conflict scenarios do more than alter evidentiary review—they affect the

substantive analysis. Importantly, a “conflict alone does not render a fiduciary’s adverse benefit

determination an abuse of discretion.” Id. at 276. But, it “must be weighed as [one] factor” and its

presence inflects procedural irregularities that align with an administrator’s financial incentives

with greater significance.” Id. (quoting Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115

(1989)).

As a matter of law, the Optional and Early Retirement provisions do not unambiguously

comport with Defendants’ interpretations. First, the term “employee” remains subject to multiple

reasonable interpretations—former and/or current employees. The Plan defines an employee as

“all employees of [Historical DuPont] hired on or before December 31, 2006.” Defs. Statement of

Fact, ¶ 16. That language is a plug-and-play version of ERISA’s statutory definition of “employee,”

which the Supreme Court unsparingly wrote “is completely circular and explains nothing.”

Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v. Darden, 503 U.S. 318, 323 (1992). And specifically, the Supreme

Court and subsequent district court decisions have found that the term “employee” is ambiguous

with respect to current or former employees. Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337, 341–44

(1997); see Colburn v. Hickory Springs Mfg. Co., 448 F. Supp. 3d 512, 525–27 (E.D.N.C. 2020)

(grafting Robinson’s holding in the ERISA context). Importantly, simply because the term may

have a “plain meaning in the context of a particular section” of a text, does not demonstrate “that

the term has the same meaning in all other sections and all other contexts.” Robinson, 332 F.3d at

343. Rather, once “it is established that the term ‘employees’ includes former employees in some

sections, but not in others, the term standing alone is necessarily ambiguous.” Id.

Defendants thus plead themselves into ambiguity. Their main argument that “employees”

only refer to current employees is that some sections of the Plan distinguish between employees

and former employees. However, those sections are not the ones at issue—and reinforce, rather

than resolve the ambiguity. As Plaintiffs point out, Section IV of Historical DuPont’s Plan

specifically refers to some “employees” who have retired, linguistically rendering some “former”

employees within the definition. Defs. Ex. 1, Title I §§ IV.D, E, ECF 196-5.

Confronted with ambiguous language, summary judgment is not appropriate for Count I.1

And because Defendants had a financial interest in denying Early and Optional Retirement, a

structural conflict exists, and the evidentiary record properly expands to potential biases and

financial incentives. Moreover, genuine disputes of fact bear on both the procedural irregularities

throughout administering Cockerill’s claim and the structural conflict of interest affecting the

administrator, namely the billions of dollars in projected savings. Pls. Ex. 13 at 34.

Onto Count II, Defendants’ interpretation is far from unambiguous. The Plan excepts

certain corporate events from triggering Optional Retirement, meticulously listing several past

1 In their Reply Brief, Defendants advance a forceful argument. Defs. Reply at 4–7. Namely, if

“employees,” for Early Retirement, extended to former employees then judgment for Plaintiffs would

grant benefits to not only the class members, but also any former Historical DuPont employee with fifteen

years of experience once reach 50. Id. Their reasoning is persuasive and appropriate for trial, where this

Court will balance the five Howley factors and extant conflict-of-interest. Interpreting ambiguous

contracts—in this case weighing extrinsic evidence of bias and prejudice and engaging in a balancing

test—is a quintessential question of fact, not law. Einhorn v. Fleming Foods of Pennsylvania, Inc., 258

F.3d 192, 195 (3d Cir. 2001).

actions that are exempt. Defs. Ex. 1 Title I § XIII. Nowhere, however, does the Plan refer to

corporate spin-off events as qualifying events. Id. at § IV.D. This Court cannot say Defendants did

not abuse their discretion, as a matter of law, considering the factual disputes over the structural

conflict of interest present and potential procedural irregularities in claims administration.

C. Count IV Must Proceed to Trial

In drafting and enacting ERISA, Congress “relied upon the common law of trusts to define

the general scope of [the fiduciaries’] authority and responsibility.” In re Unisys Corp. Retiree

Med. Benefits ERISA Litig., 579 F.3d 220, 227 (3d Cir. 2009) (internal quotations and citations

omitted). Several of those fiduciary responsibilities, codified in ERISA § 404,2 prohibit a fiduciary,

“in the performance of its duties,” from “materially mislead[ing] those to whom the duties of

loyalty and prudence are owed.” Id. at 228 (quoting Adams v. Freedom Forge Corp., 204 F.3d 475,

492 (3d Cir. 2000)). Its responsibility is “not only a negative duty not to misinform, but also an

affirmative duty to inform when the [fiduciary] knows that silence might be harmful.” Id. (quoting

Bixler v. Cent. Pennsylvania Teamsters Health & Welfare Fund, 12 F.3d 1292, 1300 (3d Cir.

1993)). In summation, the Third Circuit holds, “when a fiduciary speaks, it must speak truthfully,

and when it communicates with plan participants and beneficiaries it must convey complete and

accurate information that is material to their circumstance.” Id. (internal quotations and citations

omitted).

2 The text states that: “[A] fiduciary shall discharge his duties with respect to a plan solely in the interest

of the participants and beneficiaries and—

(A) for the exclusive purpose of: (i) providing benefits to participants and their beneficiaries; and

(ii) defraying reasonable expenses of administering the plan;

(B) with the care, skill, prudence, and diligence under the circumstances then prevailing that a prudent

man acting in a like capacity and familiar with such matters would use in the conduct of an enterprise of a

like character and with like aims”

29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1).

Stripped to the relevant elements in this cause of action, Plaintiffs must prove that

Defendants (1) acted in their fiduciary capacity; (2) that they made “affirmative misrepresentations

or failed to adequately inform plan participants and beneficiaries;” and (3) that the

misrepresentations or omissions were material. Id. The second and third elements are objective

evaluations—the question is whether “there is a substantial likelihood that [the misrepresentations

or omissions] would mislead a reasonable employee in making an adequately informed retirement

decision,” or detrimental decision about his benefits. Harte v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 214 F.3d

446, 452 (3d Cir. 2000).3

In this Court’s Class Certification Memorandum, we identified a non-exhaustive list of

class-wide communications that may have been misleading or omissions. Cockerill, 345 F.R.D. at

108. Now at summary judgment, this Court re-acquaints itself with essentially the same

evidence—the same pre-spin-off emails, FAQs, websites, PowerPoint presentations, SPDs, and

post-spin-off documents comprise the evidentiary corpus of Plaintiffs’ fiduciary claims. Id.

And these communications present genuine disputes that precludes summary judgment.

Would a reasonable fiduciary know their communications were not clear? Would the reasonable

class member recognize that these communications altered their accrual of Optional and Early

Retirement Benefits? Those questions are unanswerable without weighing evidence and assessing

witness credibility, which must commence at trial, not summary judgment.4

3 Prior to the Supreme Court’s decision in CIGNA Corp. v. Amara, the Third Circuit required plaintiffs to

prove detrimental reliance in addition to the first three elements. 563 U.S. 421 (2011); see In re Uniysis,

579 F.3d at 228. As discussed in the Class Certification Memorandum, this Court finds that, post-Amara,

detrimental reliance is no longer an element of an ERISA § 404(a)(1) cause of action. Cockerill, 345

F.R.D. at 109–110.

4 This decision interacts with our interpretation of the Plan in Counts I and II—if the Plan language

unambiguously prevented employees from obtaining either Benefit at spin-off, then supplementary

representations are less important, although still not dispositive. Compare Bicknell v. Lockheed Martin

Grp. Benefits Plan, 410 F. App’x 570, 574 (3d Cir. 2011) (stating “it is unreasonable for a plan participant

to rely upon an employer’s representation as to the contents of the Plan where the participant is in

Defendants are incorrect that Plaintiffs’ fiduciary claims are mere recasts of their Benefit

Denial actions. Defendants are correct that a plan participant cannot “repackage” the same facts to

bring a denial of benefits and fiduciary breach claim. Varity Corp. v. Howe, 516 U.S. 489, 513

(1996). But Plaintiffs do no such thing—Plaintiffs fiduciary breach claims rest on fundamentally

different evidence, elements, and actions than their Benefits Denial claims. Cf. Dean v. Nat’l Prod.

Workers Union Severance Tr. Plan, 46 F.4th 535, 544 (7th Cir. 2022) (plaintiffs pled “same facts”

in ERISA denial of benefits and fiduciary duty claims). Their argument is that even if Defendants

properly interpreted the Plan in denying Optional and Early Retirement (losing on Counts I and

II), Defendants breached their fiduciary obligations by not informing and/or actively misleading

Plaintiffs in how the spin-off would affect them.5 Indeed, by pleading Count IV in the alternative,

Plaintiffs “may proceed under subsection 1132(a)(3)” for equitable remedies because they are

“seek[ing] a remedy for injuries not available under” the Benefits Denial cause of action. Doe v.

Indep. Blue Cross, --- F. Supp. 3d ---, 2023 WL 8050471, at *8 (E.D. Pa. 2023) (Savage, J.).

D. Count V Must Proceed to Trial

Section 510 of ERISA prohibits an employer from discharging or discriminating against

“a participant or beneficiary” of a pension plan “for the purpose of interfering with the attainment

of any right to which such participant” may accrue in the future. 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

possession of a plan document containing express terms regarding the subject of representation”) (non-

precedential) with In re Unisys Corp. Retiree Med. Ben. ERISA Litig., 57 F.3d 1255, 1264 (3d Cir. 1995)

(holding that fiduciary breach claims still lie when defendants “affirmatively and systematically”

misrepresent the plan terms, even when the plan terms “clearly permitted” the complained of action).

Regardless, as discussed, supra, both the term “employee,” as used in the Plan to describe the Early

Retirement Benefit (Count I) and the scope of the Optional Retirement Business Exception (Count II) are

ambiguous.

5 The communications about the spin-off’s effects, not the decision to spin-off, are the gravamen of

Plaintiffs’ fiduciary claim. And “when explaining plan benefits and business decisions about plan benefits

to its employees,” employers act in their “fiduciary,” not business, capacity. Adams, 204 F.3d at 492.

The Third Circuit has been clear that pension liability avoidance programs—corporate

plans to fire certain employees specifically to prevent them from vesting pension benefits—are

illegal under ERISA § 510. Gavalik v. Cont’l Can Co., 812 F.2d 834, 852–57 (3d Cir. 1987) (“we

agree, that the maintenance of the [liability avoidance program] with the specific intent to interfere

with class members’ pension eligibility was in itself a classwide violation of ERISA”). An

employee need not “prove that the only reason that he or she was terminated was an intent to

interfere with pension benefits,” just that the employer made a “conscious decision to interfere”

with them. Jakimas v. Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc., 485 F.3d 770, 785 (3d Cir. 2007) (internal

quotations and citations omitted) (emphasis added). Importantly, neither proof that an employee

“lost benefits because of termination” or that “termination prevented the employee from accruing

benefits” alone is probative of intent. Id. (citing Turner v. Schering-Plough Corp., 901 F.2d 335,

348 (3d Cir. 1990)). However, when terminations result in “savings to the employer . . . of

sufficient size,” they “may be realistically viewed as a motivating factor.” Turner, 901 F.2d at 348.

Circumstantial evidence of this vintage is especially important in ERISA § 510 causes of actions,

where “smoking gun” proof of intent evidence is often rare. Gavalik, 812 F.2d at 852.

Plaintiffs have presented sufficient evidence of a prima facie ERISA § 510 violation, and

this Court cannot rule, without a fact-finding endeavor, whether Defendants’ spin-off rationale

was pretextual. See DiFederico v. Rolm Co., 201 F.3d 200, 204–05 (3d Cir. 2000) (applying Title

VII burden shifting framework to ERISA § 510 claims). Critically, the record evidence is far closer

to Gavalik than Turner. Plaintiffs have shown much more than that mere termination from

Historical DuPont prevented the classes from receiving benefits; they have submitted the billions

of dollars—sufficiently sized, in this Court’s view—in savings that Defendants reaped by splitting

the atom of class members’ employment between New DuPont, for paycheck purposes, and

Corteva (Historical DuPont’s parent company at spin-off), for retirement benefits. Pls. Ex. 13. In

the decade before spin-off, the Plan was a significant liability to Historical DuPont. Id. at 34. The

Plan’s assets were consistently billions of dollars short of their obligations to employees, requiring

Historical DuPont, and then DowDuPont post-merger, to divert four billion dollars from its

business to fund Plan benefits in 2017 and 2018. Id. Then post-spin-off, the Plan’s projected deficit

shrank by hundreds of millions of dollars. Id.

Defendants’ main counterargument, while appealing at first blush, betrays reason.

Defendants explain that plan participant employees who were already eligible for Early Retirement

at spin-off (at least age 50 with 15 years of service) could begin the Benefit immediately while

still working for New DuPont. Pre-spin-off, on the other hand, employees would have had to retire

to start this Benefit. But the spin-off allowed these employees to significantly increase their

monthly earnings—they received their normal salary plus Early Retirement. Therefore,

Defendants suggest, the firms’ motives must have been pure, ask the happy employees.

But Defendants’ argument is smokescreen. As the Plan balance sheet makes clear,

Defendants were legally and financially responsible for the total value of the Early Retirement

Benefit the moment Historical DuPont employees reached age 50, regardless of when they decided

to commence the Benefit. Pls. Ex. 13 at 34. In other words, it was irrelevant, from a financial

perspective, when already vested early retirees started their payout, be it the day of spin-off, a year

later, or ten. Id. So, while it is true that some New DuPont employees likely enjoyed receiving an

augmented income post-spin-off, their wellbeing has no bearing on Defendants’ intent. Their

windfall appears, at best, an incidental effect of Defendants’ cost-saving measures.

Instead, Defendants have a rather striking question to answer at trial—why would a

corporation, Corteva in this case, take on billions of dollars of underfunded liabilities to

unaffiliated, unrelated employees, the New DuPont class members, for any legitimate profit-

reaping business reason?

E. Count VI is Co-Extensive with Count II

Summary judgment is not appropriate for Count VI. ERISA § 204(g) states that “[t]he

accrued benefit of a participant under a plan may not be decreased by an amendment of the plan.”

29 U.S.C. § 1054(g)(1). Accordingly, even without formal amendment, “[a]n erroneous

interpretation of a plan provision that results in the improper denial of benefits to a plan participant

may be construed as an ‘amendment’” under § 204(g). Cottillion v. United Ref. Co., 781 F.3d 47,

58 (3d Cir. 2015) (internal quotations and citations omitted). Plaintiffs argue that because

Defendants erroneously interpreted the spin-off to fall under the Business Exceptions, their denial

of Optional Retirement was an impermissible “amendment” under ERISA § 204(g).

Thus, as a practical matter, Plaintiffs’ “erroneous interpretation” claim is co-extensive with

Count II, the Benefit Denial for Optional Retirement. If Defendants erroneously interpreted the

Business Exceptions to cover the spin-off, thus forfeiting the Optional Retirement Benefit for class

members, then Plaintiffs win on Count II as well as Count VI. However, if Defendants’

interpretation was reasonable, then Defendants never “amended” the Plan; they simply interpreted

it.6

F. Whether General Releases Bar Claims Requires Factual Development

Valid releases can bar an individual from bringing certain ERISA causes of action. See

Romero v. Allstate Ins. Co., 1 F. Supp. 3d 319, 367 (E.D. Pa. 2014) (Buckwalter, J.). But for three

reasons, they do not bar Major from this lawsuit.

6 Plaintiffs’ second ERISA § 204(g) theory of liability is a non-starter. The post spin-off Plan amendment

is irrelevant because the critical event that either did or did not accrue the Optional Retirement Benefit for

class members, the spin-off, occurred beforehand.

First, it is factual dispute whether Major’s agreement released any of the Defendants,

notwithstanding New DuPont and DuPont Specialty Products. By its language, the contract

released Major’s “Employer, its parent corporation, affiliates, subsidiaries, divisions, predecessors,

insurers, successors, and assigns, and their current and former employees, attorneys, officers,

directors and agents, whether now in existence or hereafter created, both individually and in their

business capacities, and their employee benefit plans and programs and their administrators and

fiduciaries” from “any and all claims, known or unknown,” including ERISA claims “(except for

any vested benefits under any tax qualified plan)[.]” Defs. Ex. 14 at 1–2, ECF 196-18. Major

signed this release on July 31, 2021, after the spin-off. Id. at 9. Defendants have offered no

evidence that Defendants Corteva, Historical DuPont, the Pension and Retirement Plan, or the

Benefits Plans Administrative Committee qualify as New DuPont’s parent, affiliate, subsidiary,

division, insurer, successor, or assign. Perhaps, some qualify as New DuPont’s “predecessor,” but

proving that term of art requires evidence not before this Court.7

Second, the Release cannot apply to Counts II or IV. By its plain terms, the Release does

not—and legally could not—bar Major’s claim for vested Optional Retirement in Count II.

Moreover, releases like this one, also cannot bar Count IV, ERISA’s § 502(a)(2) breach of fiduciary

duty cause of action. Those claims, “are, by their nature, plan [not individual] claims.” In re

Schering Plough Corp. ERISA Litig., 589 F.3d 585, 594 (3d Cir. 2009). Construed this way, “as a

matter of law, an individual cannot release the plan’s claims, and so for that reason an individual

release cannot bar an individual from bringing a claim on behalf of an ERISA plan under ERISA

§ 502(a)(2).” Id.

7 For instance, both New DuPont and Corteva are creatures of the spin-off. Even the name, Corteva, was a

newfangled innovation of DowDuPont, without etymological roots in either Historical Dupont or Dow

Inc. Can either entity properly be understood as “predecessors” or “successor” of the other?

And even were the release to apply to all Defendants, it is a disputed fact whether Major’s

Count V and VI claims are carved-out “vested benefits” under the terms of the Release. See Stanley

v. George Washington Univ., 394 F. Supp. 3d 97, 109 (D.D.C. 2019), aff’d, 801 F. App’x 792 (D.C.

Cir. 2020) (surveying how contract “carve-out[s]” apply to ERISA causes of action).

G. Exhaustion of Remedies Does Not Preclude Any of Plaintiffs’ Claims

Briefly, this Court rejects Defendants’ argument that Plaintiffs Benson, Major, and any

unnamed class members, need to and have not properly exhausted their administrative remedies

for Optional and Early Retirement Benefits. As discussed at length in this Court’s Class

Certification Memorandum, Counts IV and V never require exhaustion, the Plan does not require

exhaustion for any claims, and, alternatively, exhaustion would be futile for all class members

because Defendants have adopted a fixed policy to deny the benefits at issue to all class members.

Cockerill, 345 F.R.D. at 115–17.

H. ERISA Preempts Count VII

Defendants are correct that Plaintiffs’ promissory estoppel claims are preempted by ERISA

because they “relate to” plan benefits. New York State Conf. of Blue Cross & Blue Shield Plans

v. Travelers Ins. Co., 514 U.S. 645, 656 (1995). In fact, they are seeking them. Plaintiffs do not

dispute this point and summary judgment is appropriate.

V. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court GRANTS in part (Count VII) and DENIES in part

(all other Counts) Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment.8

8 Defendants’ Motion to Decertify will also be DENIED. As concluded above, Defendants will need to

prove, at trial, facts that render the release binding on Plaintiff Major. Supra, at 26–27. Because they have

thus far failed to do so, the class has at least one appropriate representative for trial. Additionally, this

Court is quite familiar with the contours of this action, including Major’s Release, and does not anticipate

it will become a “major focus” of litigation.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.