Opinion

VLIET v. LIBERTY MUTUAL PERSONAL INSURANCE COMPANY

Court
District Court, E.D. Pennsylvania
Filed
Mar 14, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 28.9%

“Pennsylvania courts have often stressed that the insured has both the capacity and the duty to inquire about the scope of insurance coverage, rather than rely on ‘hand holding and substituted judgment.’”

How later courts described this case

  • “Pennsylvania courts have often stressed that the insured has both the capacity and the duty to inquire about the scope of insurance coverage, rather than rely on ‘hand holding and substituted judgment.’”
  • “An agreement to agree is incapable of enforcement, especially when it is stipulated that the proposed compact shall be mutually agreeable.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

KRISTINE VLIET CIVIL ACTION

v. NO. 21-3766

LIBERTY MUTUAL PERSONAL

INSURANCE COMPANY

MEMORANDUM RE: DEFENDANT’S MOTION TO DISMISS

Baylson, J. March 14, 2022

Defendant Liberty Mutual Personal Insurance Company has filed a Motion to Dismiss

(ECF 13) in this case arising from a dispute over insurance coverage. Plaintiff Kristine Vliet brings

claims alleging breach of contract, negligence, negligent misrepresentation, and violation of

Pennsylvania’s Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law (UTPCPL). Defendant

seeks to dismiss all but one of these claims. The Court will grant Defendant’s Motion.

I. Background and Factual Allegations

As alleged by Plaintiff, the events giving rise to this case are as follows. Kristine Vliet is

a Pennsylvania resident who purchased a property insurance policy from Liberty Mutual Personal

Insurance Company. (Am. Compl. ¶¶ 1–5.) Some time after purchasing the policy, the insured

property was damaged by a fallen tree. (Id. ¶ 6.) Upon notifying Liberty Mutual of the damage

and seeking benefits under the policy, Vliet learned that the policy would not fully cover her loss.

(Id. ¶¶ 8–9.)

Plaintiff filed suit against Defendant in Pennsylvania state court, alleging that Liberty

Mutual had misled her into purchasing an inadequate insurance policy and failed to pay benefits

she is owed. (Id. ¶¶ 8–29.) Defendant removed the action to federal court (ECF 1). Plaintiff filed

an Amended Complaint (ECF 11), bringing the following claims:

1. Count I: Breach of contract for failure to pay insurance benefits;

2. Count II: Breach of contract for failure to obtain adequate insurance;

3. Count III: Negligence;

4. Count IV: Negligent misrepresentation; and

5. Count V: Violation of the UTPCPL, 73 P.S. § 201-1, et seq.

Defendant seeks to dismiss Counts II, III, IV, and V for failure to state a claim. Plaintiff

filed a Response (ECF 14), and Defendant filed a Reply (ECF 15).

II. Legal Standard

In considering a motion to dismiss under Rule 12(b)(6), the Court must “accept all factual

allegations as true [and] construe the complaint in the light most favorable to the plaintiff.” Warren

Gen. Hosp. v. Amgen, Inc., 643 F.3d 77, 84 (3d Cir. 2011) (quoting Pinker v. Roche Holdings

Ltd., 292 F.3d 361, 374 n.7 (3d Cir.2002). To survive the motion, a plaintiff must “plead

‘sufficient factual matter to show that the claim is facially plausible,’ thus enabling ‘the court to

draw the reasonable inference that the defendant is liable for misconduct alleged.’” Warren Gen.

Hosp., 643 F.3d at 84 (quoting Fowler v. UPMC Shadyside, 578 F.3d 203, 210 (3d Cir.2009)).

Importantly, “threadbare recitals of the elements of a cause of action, supported by mere

conclusory statements, do not suffice.” Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662, 678 (2009).

III. Discussion

a. Breach of Contract (Count II)

“It is well-established that three elements are necessary to plead a cause of action for breach

of contract: (1) the existence of a contract, including its essential terms, (2) a breach of the contract;

and, (3) resultant damages.” Meyer, Darragh, Buckler, Bebenek & Eck, P.L.L.C. v. L. Firm of

Malone Middleman, P.C., 137 A.3d 1247, 1258 (Pa. 2016).

Plaintiff alleges that Defendant violated a contractual duty “to procure and provide proper

and sufficient insurance coverage for Plaintiff in accordance with her request and needs.” (Am.

Compl. ¶ 30). Plaintiff has not properly alleged, however, that any contract existed between Vliet

and Liberty Mutual that imposed this duty on Liberty Mutual prior to Vliet even purchasing a

Liberty Mutual insurance policy. What Plaintiff describes is, at most, more akin to an “agreement

to agree” than an enforceable contract. See Moody v. Allegheny Valley Land Tr., 976 A.2d 484,

495 n.5 (Pa. 2009) (“An agreement to agree is incapable of enforcement, especially when it is

stipulated that the proposed compact shall be mutually agreeable.”). The Court will therefore

dismiss Count II, without prejudice and with leave to amend.

b. Negligence

To plead a negligence claim, a plaintiff must establish that 1) the defendant owed the

plaintiff a duty of care, 2) the defendant failed to uphold that duty of care, and 3) the defendant’s

failure to uphold the duty of care injured the plaintiff. R.W. v. Manzek, 888 A.2d 740, 746 (Pa.

2005). “[A] duty consists of one party's obligation to conform to a particular standard of care for

the protection of another.” Id.

Plaintiff contends that Liberty Mutual had a “duty of care to properly investigate Plaintiff’s

insurance needs and to make proper recommendations for insurance coverage in accordance with

Plaintiff’s needs.” (Am. Compl. ¶ 38.) The Court disagrees. The alleged negligence occurred

prior to Vliet becoming a Liberty Mutual customer and consisted of Liberty Mutual allegedly

recommending an insurance policy to Vliet that was ultimately not well-suited for Vliet’s needs.

At that time, Vliet’s relationship to Liberty Mutual appears to have been simply that of a

prospective customer visiting Liberty Mutual’s website and exploring policy options.

Based on the facts alleged, the Court concludes that Liberty Mutual did not owe Vliet the

substantial affirmative duty that Plaintiff alleges. See Wisniski v. Brown & Brown Ins. Co. of PA,

906 A.2d 571, 579 n.6 (Pa. 2006) (“Pennsylvania courts have often stressed that the insured has

both the capacity and the duty to inquire about the scope of insurance coverage, rather than rely

on ‘hand holding and substituted judgment.’”). The Court will therefore dismiss Count III, without

prejudice and with leave to amend.

c. Negligent Misrepresentation

To sustain a claim for negligent misrepresentation, a plaintiff must plead “(1) a

misrepresentation of a material fact; (2) made under circumstances in which the actor should have

known of its falsity; (3) with an intent to induce another to act on it; (4) thereby causing injury to

a party who justifiably relied upon the misrepresentation.” Gregg v. Ameriprise Fin., Inc., 245

A.3d 637, 646 (Pa. 2021)

Plaintiff’s allegations on this point are highly conclusory. (See Am. Compl. ¶¶ 41–42.)

Plaintiff does not allege specific false factual assertions made by Liberty Mutual, nor does she

make non-conclusory allegations to support the premise that Liberty Mutual made these alleged

misrepresentations with the intent that Vliet purchase the particular policy at issue rather than one

that would have adequately served Vliet’s needs. Because the Amended Complaint does not

contain “sufficient factual matter” to enable “the court to draw the reasonable inference that the

defendant is liable for misconduct alleged,” Fowler, 578 F.3d at 210, the Court will dismiss Count

IV, without prejudice and with leave to amend.

d. Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law

To state a claim under the UTPCPL, a plaintiff must establish that 1) they purchased or

leased goods or services for a personal, family or household purpose; 2) they suffered a loss of

money or property; 3) the loss occurred because of a method, act, or practice unlawful under the

UTPCPL; and 4) the plaintiff justifiably relied upon the unlawful practice when making the

purchasing decision. Gregg, 245 A.3d at 646 (citing 73 P.S. § 201-9.2(a)).

Plaintiff’s allegations regarding her UTPCPL claim are very conclusory. Plaintiff appears

to be bringing her UTPCPL claim pursuant to the statute’s “catchall provision,” which makes it

unlawful to “engag[e] in any other fraudulent or deceptive conduct which creates a likelihood of

confusion or of misunderstanding.” 73 P.S. § 201-2(4)(xxi); see also Gregg, 245 A.3d at 646–47

(discussing the catchall provision). Plaintiff does not allege with any particularity what deceptive

acts Liberty Mutual engaged in. See Home Loan Servs., Inc., 647 F. Supp. 2d 451, 470 (E.D. Pa.

2009) (Yohn, J.) (“First, [to state a UTPCPL claim,] a plaintiff must allege facts showing a

‘deceptive act,’ that is ‘conduct that is likely to deceive a consumer acting reasonably under similar

circumstances.’ (quoting Black's Law Dictionary 455 (8th ed. 2004)). The Court will therefore

dismiss Count V, without prejudice and with leave to amend.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the Court will grant Plaintiff’s Motion, without prejudice and

with leave to amend. An appropriate Order follows.

O:\CIVIL 21\21-3766 Vliet v. Liberty Mutual Personal Ins. Co\21cv3766 Memorandum re MtD.docx

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.