Opinion

Steele v. Commissioner Social Security Administration

Court
District Court, D. Oregon
Filed
Mar 31, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 28.7%

The opinion

_ IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON

KIM S.!

Plaintiff, Civ. No. 3:20-cv-00715-CL

v. OPINION AND ORDER

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY

ADMINISTRATION,

Defendant.

MARK D. CLARKE, Magistrate Judge.

Plaintiff Kim S. (“Plaintiff”) seeks judicial review of the final decision of the

Commissioner of the Social Security Administration denying her claim for social security

disability insurance benefits. Full consent to magistrate jurisdiction was entered on May 29,

- 2020 (Dkt. #7). For the reasons provided below, the Commissioner’s decision is AFFIRMED.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiff is a 52-year-old woman who alleges she is unable to work due toa variety of

conditions including multilevel spondylosis with foraminal stenosis, kyphoscoliosis, pseudo □

meningocele, fibromyalgia, migraines, vertigo, hypertension, irritable bowel syndrome, chronic

neck pain, and restless leg syndrome.

On October 26, 2016, Plaintiff filed a Title I] application for a period of disability and

disability insurance benefits alleging disability on August 15, 2017. Tr. 13. The claim was

'In the interest of privacy, this Opinion and Order uses only the first name and the initial of the last name

of the non-governmental party or parties in this case. oe

1 - Opinion and Order :

initially denied on August 21, 2017. She requested a hearing before an ALJ on September 20,

2017.. Plaintiff appeared and testified at a hearing held on April 30, 2019. She was represented

at the hearing by an attorney. The ALJ Kimberly O. Wyatt found Plaintiff not disabled on July

25,2019. Tr. 26. The Appeals Council denied review, making the ALJ’s decision the final

agency decision. Tr. 1. This appeal followed.

DISABILITY ANALYSIS | .

A claimant is disabled if he or she is unable to “engage in any substantial gainful activity

by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which . . . has lasted or

can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months[.]” 42 U.S.C.

§ 423(d)(1)(A). “Social Security Regulations set out a five-step sequential process for

determining whether an applicant is disabled within the meaning of the Social Security Act.”

Keyser v. Comm’r. Soc. Sec. Admin. , 648 F.3d 721, 724 (9th Cir. 2011). Each step is potentially

dispositive. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4), 416.920(a)(4). The five-step sequential process asks

the following series of questions:

1, Is the claimant performing “substantial gainful activity’? 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(); 416.920(a)(4)@). This activity is work involving

significant mental or physical duties done or intended to be done for pay or

profit. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1510; 416.910. Ifthe claimant is performing such

work, she is not disabled within the meaning of the Act. 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(@); 416.920(a)(4)(). If the claimant is not performing

substantial gainful activity, the analysis proceeds to step two.

2. Is the claimant’s impairment “severe” under the Commissioner’s .

regulations? 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(ii); 416.920(a)(4)Gi). Unless □

expected to result in death, an impairment is “severe” if it significantly

limits the claimant’s physical or mental ability to do basic work activities.

20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1521(a); 416.921(a). This impairment must have lasted or

must be expected to last for a continuous period of at least 12 months. 20

C.F.R. §§ 404.1509; 416.909. If the claimant does not have a severe

. impairment, the analysis ends. 20 C.F.R. 9§ 404.1520(a)(4)qD;

2 ~ Opinion and Order

416.920(a)(4)(ii). If the claimant has a severe impairment, the analysis

"proceeds to step three. . .

3. Does the claimant’s severe impairment “meet or equal” one or more of the

impairments listed in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1? If so, then

the claimant is disabled. 20 CFR. §§ .404.1520(a)(4)dii);

416.920(a)(4)(ili). If the impairment does not meet or equal one or more of

the listed impairments, the analysis proceeds to the “residual functional

capacity” (“RFC”) assessment.

.

a. The ALJ must evaluate medical and other relevant evidence to assess

and determine the claimant’s RFC. This is an assessment of work-

related activities that the claimant may still perform on a regular and

continuing basis, despite any limitations imposed by his or her

impairments. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(e); 404.1545(b)-(c); 416.920(e);

_ 416.945(b)-(c). After the ALJ determines the claimant’s RFC, the

analysis proceeds to step four.

4, Can the claimant perform his or her “past relevant work” with this RFC

assessment? If so, then the claimant is not disabled. 20 CFR.

§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(iv); 416.920(a)(4)(iv). If the claimant cannot perform his

or her past relevant work, the analysis proceeds to step five.

5. Considering the claimant’s RFC and age, education, and work experience,

is the claimant able to make an adjustment to other work that exists in

significant numbers in the national economy? If so, then the claimant is not

disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(v); 416.920(a)(4)(v); 404.1560(c);

416.960(c). If the claimant cannot perform such work, he or she is disabled.

See also Bustamante v. Massanari, 262 F.3d 949, 954-55 (9th Cir. 2001).

The claimant bears the burden of proof at steps one through four. Jd. at 954. The

Commissioner bears the burden of proof at step five. Jd. at 953-54. At step five, the

Commissioner must show that the claimant can perform other work that exists in significant

numbers in the national economy, “taking into consideration the claimant’s residual functional

capacity, age, education, and work experience.” Tackett v. Apfel, 180 F.3d 1094, 1100 (9th Cir.

1999) (internal citations omitted); see also 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1566; 416.966 (describing “work °

which exists in the national economy”). If the Commissioner fails to meet this burden, the

3 - Opinion and Order □

claimant is disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(v); 416.920(a)(4)(v). If, however, the

_ Commissioner proves that the claimant is able to perform other work existing in significant

numbers in the national economy, the claimant is not disabled. Bustamante, 262 F.3d at 954-55; .

Tackett, 180 F.3d at 1099.

. THE ALJ’S FINDINGS

Applying the above analysis, the ALJ made the following findings:

1. Plaintiff meets the insured status requirements of the Social Security Act through

December 31, 2020. Tr. 15.

2. Plaintiff has not engaged in substantial gainful activity since August 15, 2017, the

alleged onset date. Tr. 15.

3. Plaintiff has the following severe impairments: lumbar degenerative disc disease,

irritable bowel disorder, obesity, major depressive disorder, generalized anxiety

disorder, and insomnia. Tr. 15. .

4, Plaintiff does not have an impairment or combination of impairments that meets or

medically equals the severity of one of the listed impairments in 20 CFR Part 404,

Subpart P, Appendix 1. Tr. 16.

5. Plaintiff has the residual functional capacity to perform sedentary work as defined in

20 CFR 404.1567(a). She can occasionally balance, stoop, kneel, crouch, crawl, and

climb ramps and stairs, but can never climb ladders, ropes, or scaffolds. She can

perform tasks that do not require rapid, physical movement or production-paced

work. She can perform tasks that require no more than occasional exposure to

extreme heat or cold, but never require exposure to hazards, such as machinery that

requires agility to evade, or to unprotected heights. She can never transverse wet or

slippery surfaces. Plaintiff can understand, remember, and carry out simple

- instructions and perform simple tasks. Within this context, she can maintain attention

for two-hour blocks throughout an eight-hour work day; communicate and interact

adequately with the public, supervisors, and coworkers; complete assigned tasks with

ordinary supervision; exercise sufficient judgment to make work-related decisions;

adapt to changes in a routine work setting; and adhere to a normal schedule. Tr. 18.

6. Plaintiffis unable to perform any past relevant work. Tr. 24.

7. Plaintiff was born on December 6, 1969, and was 47 years old, which is defined as a

younger individual age 18-49, on the alleged disability onset date. Tr. 24.

4 - Opinion and Order

8. Plaintiff has at least a high school education and is able to communicate in English.

Tr. 24. . .

- 9, Transferability of job skills is not material to the determination of disability because

using the Medical-Vocational Rules as a framework supports a finding that Plaintiff is

“not disabled,” whether or not Plaintiff has transferable job skills. Tr. 24.

10, Considering Plaintiffs age, education, work experience, and RFC, there are jobs that

exist in significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff can perform,

including surveillance system monitor, information clerk, and final assembler. Tr. 25.

11. Plaintiff has not been under a disability, as defined in the Social Security Act, from

August 15, 2017, through the date of this decision. Tr. 25.

STANDARD OF REVIEW .

The reviewing court must affirm the Commissioner’s decision if it is based on the proper

legal standards and the legal findings are supported by substantial evidence in the record. 42

U.S.C. § 405(g); Batson v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 359 F.3d 1190, 1193 (9th Cir. 2004); see

also Hammock v. Bowen, 879 F.2d 498, 501 (9th Cir. 1989), ““Substantial evidence’ means

‘more than a mere scintilla but less than a preponderance,’ or more clearly stated, ‘such relevant

evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Bray v.

Comm 'r Soc. Sec. Admin., 554 F.3d 1219, 1222 (9th Cir. 2009) (quoting Andrews v. Shalala, 53

F.3d 1035, 1039 (9th Cir. 1995)). In reviewing the Commissioner’s alleged errors, this Court

must weigh “both the evidence that supports and detracts from the [Commissioner’s]

conclusions.” Martinez v. Heckler, 807 F.2d 771, 772 (9th Cir. 1986). Variable interpretations

of the evidence are insignificant if the Commissioner’s interpretation is rational. Burch v.

Barnhart, 400 F.3d 676, 679 (9th Cir. 2005).

If the decision of the Appeals Council is the final decision of the Commissioner, this

Court must review the decision of the Appeals Council to determine whether that decision is

supported by substantial evidence. Howard v. Heckler, 782 F.2d 1484 (9th Cir. 1986). Where

5 - Opinion and Order

the evidence before the ALJ or Appeals Council is subject to more than one rational

interpretation, the Commissioner’s conclusion must be upheld. Batson, 359 F.3d at 1198 (citing

Andrews, 53 F.3d at 1041). “However, a reviewing court must consider the entire record as a

whole and may not affirm simply by isolating a ‘specific quantum of supporting evidence.’”

Robbins v. Soc. Sec. Admin., 466 F.3d 880, 882 (9th Cir. 2006) (quoting Hammock, 879 F.2d at

501). Additionally, a reviewing court “cannot affirm the [Commissioner’s] decision on a ground

that the [Administration] did not invoke in making its decision.” Stout v. Comm’r Soc. Sec.

Admin., 454 F.3d 1050, 1054 (9th Cir. 2006) (citations omitted). Finally, a court may not reverse

the Commissioner’s decision on account of an error that is harmless. /d. at 1055-56. “[T]he

burden of showing that an error is harmful normally falls upon the party attacking the agency’s

determination.” Shinseki v. Sanders, 556 U.S. 396, 409 (2009).

Even where findings are supported by substantial evidence, “the decision should be set

aside if the proper legal standards were not applied in weighing the evidence and making the . □

decision.” Flake v. Gardner, 399 F.2d 532, 540 (9th Cir. 1968). Under sentence four of 42

U.S.C. § 405(g), the reviewing court has the power to enter, upon the pleadings and transcript

record, a Judgment affirming, modifying, or reversing the decision of the Commissioner, with or

without remanding the case for a rehearing.

. DISCUSSION

Plaintiff presents the following issues for review:

1. Whether the ALJ properly evaluated the medical opinion of Dr. Ramirez and other _

medical evidence.

2. Whether the ALJ properly evaluated Plaintiff's subjective symptom testimony.

For the following reasons, the Court finds that the ALJ properly evaluated the evidence. The

RFC is supported by substantial evidence. The decision of the Commissioner is affirmed.

6 - Opinion and Order

I. The ALJ properly evaluated the medical opinion of Dr. Ramirez and other

medical evidence and did not err in formulating the RFC. □

Plaintiff's RFC is the most she can still do despite her impairments and is determined by

“assessing all relevant evidence. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(1). RFC is “an assessment of an

individual’s ability to do sustained work-related physical and mental activities in a work setting

on a regular and continuing basis. A ‘regular and continuing basis’ means 8 hours a day, for 5

days a week.” Social Security Ruling (“SSR”) 96-8p. The RFC must identify the individual’s

functional limitations and assess their work-related abilities on a function-by-function basis. Jd.

Here, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was capable of performing a reduced range of sedentary

work with postural and environmental limitations. Tr. 18. In coming to this conclusion, the ALI

relied somewhat on the opinion of the State agency consultant, and rejected the opinion of

Plaintiffs treating provider, Dr. Ramirez. Tr. 24.

Plaintiff filed her application for the present matter on October 26, 2016, prior to the

implementation of new regulations regarding evaluation of medical opinion evidence. The

regulations of the SSA set forth the proper'considerations to be used for claims filed prior to

March 27, 2017. They provide that, generally, “we give more weight to the opinion ofasource

who has examined you than to the opinion of a source who has not examined you.” 20 C.F.R. §

404.1527(c)(1). In order to determine what weight to assign the opinion, the ALJ must consider

the following factors: length, nature, and extent of the treating relationship; supportability of the

opinion; consistency of the opinion with’ other evidence in the record; the specialization of the

source; and any other factors that support or contradict the opinion. 20 CFR. § 404.1527(c)(2)-

(6). Under the old rules, in order to reject the opinion of a treating physician, an ALJ is required

to provide “specific and legitimate reasons that are supported by substantial evidence.” Esparza

v. Colvin, 631 F. App'x 460, 462 (9th Cir. 2015) (quoting Burrell v. Colvin, 775 F.3d 1133, 1137

7- Opinion and Order .

(9th Cir. 2014)). This is so even if the treating source is contradicted by another doctor. Orn v.

Astrue, 495 F.3d 625, 632 (9th Cir. 2007).

The ALJ’s rationale for affording Dr. Ramirez’s opinion “little weight” was that it was

neither supported nor consistent with the evidence which “shows that [Plaintiffs] physical

impairments are treatable with medications such that her limitations are not as severe as Dr.

Ramirez’s opined.” Tr. 24 (citing Exhibits 9F, 15F, and 19F, generally). Plaintiff argues that the

records from South Texas show that Plaintiff did gain some relief from the plethora of treatments

she underwent, but often that relief was short-lived. For example, at her first examination at

South Texas on February 5, 2018. Plaintiff told staff that her stimulator did help relieve her pain,

. but that she was still at a six out of ten pain level on average. Tr. 546. Before both of Plaintiff's

branch block procedure in April of 2018, she reported a five out of ten pain level. Tr. 767, 772.

Plaintiff reported 100 percent pain relief after the procedures, however, her pain gradually came

back to a six out of ten level. Tr. 761. Plaintiff also received radiofrequency ablations and

thizotomies on April 23 and May 8, 2018, but continued to report the same six out often pain

levels on June 4, 2018. Tr. 746. Similarly, injections in her L4, LS, and S1 levels provided

- significant relief for a few months, but she was back to her standard pain level after these wore

off. Tr. 720, 945.

Plaintiff argues here that her treatments actually became less effective as time went on,

and she asserts that the ALJ’s characterization of the evidence disregards the long-term results,

‘which were not successful. She claims that the ALJ cherry-picked the evidence to show that the

treatments improved her conditions. The Court disagrees. A review of the ALJ’s report shows

that the ALJ thoroughly discussed both the Plaintiff's improvement with treatments, and the

eventual return of her pain as well. Moreover, the fact that the treatments did not fully cure

8 - Opinion and Order

Plaintiff with no return of her symptoms does not mean they were not effective or not useful in

. helping Plaintiff manage her pain. The ALJ was not unreasonable in concluding that Plaintiffs

significant, if temporary, improvement with treatments was contradictory to the assessment of

Dr. Ramirez that she would be off-task 70% of the time and must lie down for three to four hours

in an eight-hour day. oo

Il. The ALJ properly evaluated Plaintiff's subjective symptom testimony.

When deciding whether to accept the subjective symptom testimony of a claimant, the’

ALJ must perform a two-stage analysis. In the first stage, the claimant must produce objective

medical evidence of one or more impairments which could reasonably be expected to produce

some degree of symptom. Lingenfelter v. Astrue, 504 F.3d 1028, 1036 (9th Cir. 2007). The

claimant is not required to,show that the impairment could reasonably be expected to cause the

severity of the symptom, but only to show that it could reasonably have caused some degree of

the symptom.

In the second stage of the analysis, the ALJ must consider the intensity, persistence, and

limiting effects of the alleged symptoms based on the entire record. SSR 16-3p at *7-8. The

ALJ will consider the “[lJocation, duration, frequency, and intensity of pain or other symptoms”

reported by the claimant, any medical sources, and any non-medical sources. Jd. The ALJ’s

decision must contain “specific reasons for the weight given to the individual’s symptoms, be

consistent with and support by the evidence, and be clearly articulated so the individual and any

subsequent reviewer can assess how the adjudicator evaluated the individual’s symptoms.” Jd.

Additionally, the evidence upon which the ALJ relies must be substantial. See Holohan v.

Massinari, 246 F.3d 1195, 1208 (9th Cir. 2001); Sullivan, 947 F.2d 341, 345-46 (9" Cir. 1991).

In rejecting claimant’s testimony about the severity of her symptoms, the ALJ must give

9 - Opinion and Order

“specific, clear and convincing reasons for doing so.” Brown-Hunter v. Colvin, 806 F.3d 487,

493 (9th Cir. 2015).

Here, the ALJ walked through Plaintiffs extensive record of complaints, treatments, and

results. Ultimately the ALJ found that Plaintiff's “statements concerning the intensity,

persistence and limiting effects of [her] symptoms are not entirely consistent with the medical □

evidence and other evidence in the record for the reasons explained in this decision.” Tr. 20. The

ALJ explained in detail how the medical record was contrary to the severity of symptoms

Plaintiff alleged. Tr. 20-24. For instance, the ALJ thoroughly discussed the treatment modalities

used, and concluded that “her pain has been relieved with treatments, including injections,

medial branch blocks, and radiofrequency ablations (Exs. 9F, 15F, and 19F). In fact, the

claimant has reported 100% relief in some cases (Exs. 9F/23 and 15F/48).” Tr. 24. As discussed

above, if treatment relieves Plaintiff's symptoms, it is not necessary for the relief to be

permanent in order to be effective. Therefore this was a clear and convincing reason for rejecting

the alleged severity of Plaintiff's symptoms. .

Plaintiff discusses the same evidence reviewed by the ALJ, but she comes to a different

conclusion. The Court finds that the ALJ exhaustively reviewed all of the evidence propounded,

and while Plaintiff may disagree with the ALJ’s ultimate conclusions about the evidence, the

ALJ's interpretation and conclusions are not unreasonable as a matter of law. The court will

uphold the ALJ's conclusion when the evidence is susceptible to more than one rational

interpretation. Tommasetti Astrue, 533 F.3d 1035, 1038 (9th Cir. 2008). Here, Plaintiff's

interpretation of the evidence is réasonable, but so is the ALJ’s interpretation. The ALJ gave

clear and convincing reasons, and substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s assessment regarding

Plaintiff’s subjective symptom testimony. .

10 - Opinion and Order

ORDER

The ALJ properly evaluated the evidence, and the RFC is suppofttedby substantial

evidence. The final decision of the Commissioner is affirmed:

It is so ORDERED and DATED this Zo . ZA

CLARKE

“ United States Magistrate Judge

\

- Opinion and Order _ : □□

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.