“The ALJ must do more than offer his conclusions. He must set forth his own interpretations and explain why they, rather than the doctor’s, are correct.”
How later courts described this case
- “The ALJ must do more than offer his conclusions. He must set forth his own interpretations and explain why they, rather than the doctor’s, are correct.”
- “This Court has repeatedly asserted that the mere fact that a Plaintiff has carried on certain daily activities, such as grocery shopping, driving a car, or limited walking for exercise, does not in any way detract from her credibility as to her overall disability.”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
. IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON
MEDFORD DIVISION
‘SHELLEY LEE P.,!
Plaintiff, Civ. No. 6:18-cv-01219-CL
V. OPINION AND ORDER
COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,
Defendant.
MARK D. CLARKE, Magistrate Judge.
Plaintiff Shelley P. (“Plaintiff”) seeks judicial review of the final decision of the
Commissioner of the Social Security Administration denying her claims for a period of disability
and disability insurance benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act. For the reasons
provided below, the Commissioner’s decision is REVERSED and REMANDED for further
proceedings.” □
‘In the interest of privacy, this Opinion and Order uses only the first name and the initial of the last name
of the non-governmental party or parties in this case.
The parties have consented to Magistrate Judge jurisdiction over this action pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §
636(c)(1).
Page 1 of 14-— OPINION AND ORDER
BACKGROUND
Plaintiff was born April 20, 1963, and was 53 years old at the time her coverage period
for disability insurance expired on December 31, 2016. Tr. 18, 27, 144. She has past relevant
work experience as a police officer. Tr. 27. In 2010, while working as a police officer, Plaintiff
was in a bike crash that injured her knees. Tr. 536. Plaintiff underwent knee surgery in 2011
and again in 2016. Tr. 338-40, 401-04, 410-13. Plaintiff's primary allegations of disability stem
from impairment of her knees and pain from fibromyalgia. Tr. 157.
Plaintiff filed an application for disability insurance benefits on April 14, 2014, alleging
disability beginning April 5, 2011. Tr. 18. Plaintiffs claim for disability was denied initially
and upon reconsideration. Tr. 18. A hearing was held on March 3, 2017, before Administrative
Law Judge (“ALJ”) Katherine Weatherly. Tr. 40-60. On April 24, 2017, the ALJ issued a
decision finding Plaintiff not disabled at any point through her date last insured. Tr. 18-29. On
May 7, 2018, the Appeals Council denied review, making the ALJ’s decision the final decision
of the Commissioner. Tr. 1. Plaintiff now appeals that final decision.
DISABILITY ANALYSIS
A claimant is disabled if he or she is unable to “engage in any substantial gainful activity
by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which . . . has lasted or
can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months[.]” 42 U.S.C.
§ 423(d)(1)(A). “Social Security Regulations set out a five-step sequential process for
determining whether an applicant is disabled within the meaning of the Social Security Act.”
Keyser v. Comm □□□ Soc. Sec. Admin., 648 F.3d 721, 724 (9th Cir. 2011). Each step is potentially
dispositive. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4), 416.920(a)(4). The five-step sequential process asks
the following series of questions:
Page 2 of 14 -OPINION AND ORDER
1, Is the claimant performing “substantial gainful activity’? 20 C.F.R.
§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(i); 416.920(a)(4)7). This activity is work involving
significant mental or physical duties done or intended to be done for pay or
profit. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1510; 416.910. If the claimant is performing such
work, she is not disabled within the meaning of the Act. 20 C.F.R.
§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(); 416.920(a)(4)(i). If the claimant is not performing
substantial gainful activity, the analysis proceeds to step two.
2. Is the claimant’s impairment “severe” under the Commissioner’s
regulations? 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(ii); 416.920(a)(4)(ii). Unless
expected to result in death, an impairment is “severe” if it significantly
limits the claimant’s physical or mental ability to do basic work activities.
20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1521(a); 416.921(a). This impairment must have lasted or
must be expected to last for a continuous period of at least 12 months. 20
C.F.R. §§ 404.1509; 416.909. If the claimant does not have a severe
impairment, the analysis ends. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(ii);
416.920(a)(4)Gi). If the claimant has a severe impairment, the analysis
proceeds to step three.
3. Does the claimant’s severe impairment “meet or equal” one or more of the
impairments listed in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1? If so, then
the claimant is disabled. 20 CFR. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(iii);
416,920(a)(4)(ii1). If the impairment does not meet or equal one or more of
the listed impairments, the analysis proceeds to the “residual functional
capacity” (“RFC”) assessment.
a. The ALJ must evaluate medical and other relevant evidence to assess
and determine the claimant’s RFC. This is an assessment of work-
related activities that the claimant may still perform on a regular and
continuing basis, despite any limitations imposed by his or her
impairments. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(e); 404.1545(b)-(c); 416.920(e);
416.945(b)-(c). After the ALJ determines the claimant’s RFC, the
analysis proceeds to step four.
4. Can the claimant perform his or her “past relevant work” with this RFC
assessment? If so, then the claimant is not disabled. 20 C.F.R.
§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(iv); 416.920(a)(4)(iv). If the claimant cannot perform his
or her past relevant work, the analysis proceeds to step five.
5. Considering the claimant’s RFC and age, education, and work experience,
is the claimant able to make an adjustment to other work that exists in
significant numbers in the national economy? If so, then the claimant is not
Page 3 of 14 -OPINION AND ORDER
disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(v); 416.920(a)(4)(v); 404.1560(c);
416.960(c). Ifthe claimant cannot perform such work, he or she is disabled.
Id.
See also Bustamante v. Massanari, 262 F.3d 949, 954-55 (9th Cir. 2001).
The claimant bears the burden of proof at steps one through four. Jd. at 954. The
Commissioner bears the burden of proof at step five. Id. at 953-54. At step five, the
Commissioner must show that the claimant can perform other work that exists in significant
numbers in the national economy, “taking into consideration the claimant’s residual functional
capacity, age, education, and work experience.” Tackett v. Apfel, 180 F.3d 1094, 1100 (9th Cir.
1999) (internal citations omitted); see also 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1566; 416.966 (describing “work
which exists in the national economy”). If the Commissioner fails to meet this burden, the
claimant is disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(v); 416.920(a)(4)(v). If, however, the
Commissioner proves that the claimant is able to perform other work existing in significant
numbers in the national economy, the claimant is not disabled. Bustamante, 262 F.3d at 954-55;
Tackett, 180 F.3d at 1099,
THE ALJ’S FINDINGS
Applying the five-step analysis, the ALJ made the following findings:
1. Plaintiff last met the insured status requirements of the Social Security Act on
December 31, 2016. Plaintiff did not engage in substantial gainful activity during the
period from her alleged onset date of April 5, 2011 through her date last insured on
December 31, 2016. Tr. 20.
2. Through the date last insured, Plaintiff has the following severe impairments:
fibromyalgia, possible carpal tunnel syndrome (CTS), bilateral patellofemoral
chondromalacia status post April 2011 right arthroscopic surgery and December 2016
right knee partial meniscectomy, and adjustment disorder with depressed mood. Tr.
20.
3. Through the date last insured, Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination of
impairments that met or medically equaled the severity of one of the listed
impairments in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. Tr. 21.
Page 4 of 14 - OPINION AND ORDER
4. Through the date last insured, Plaintiff had the RFC to perform a range of light work
as defined in 20 C.F.R. 404.1567(b). Specifically, Plaintiff can lift and/or carry 20
pounds occasionally and 10 pounds frequently; she can stand and/or walk for six
hours out of an eight-hour workday with regular breaks; she can sit for six hours out
of an eight-hour workday with regular breaks. Plaintiff is unlimited with respect to
pushing and/or pulling, other than as indicated for lifting and/or carrying. Plaintiff □□
limited to no more than occasional climbing of ramps and stairs, but is precluded
from climbing ladders, ropes, or scaffolds. Plaintiff is limited to no more than
frequent balancing, occasional stooping and crouching, but she can never kneel or
~ crawl. Plaintiff is limited to performing frequent bilateral upper extremity handling.
Plaintiff can understand, remember, and carry out simple, routine and repetitive tasks.
Tr. 23
5. Through the date last insured, Plaintiff was unable to perform any past relevant work.
Tr. 27.
6. Transferability of job skills is not material to the determination of disability because
using the Medical-Vocational Rules as a framework supports a finding that Plaintiff is
“not disabled,” whether or not Plaintiff has transferable job skills. Tr. 27.
7. Through the date last insured, considering Plaintiff's age, education, work experience,
and RFC, there were jobs that existed in significant numbers in the national economy
that Plaintiff could have performed. Tr. 28.
Consequently, the ALJ concluded Plaintiff was not disabled as defined by the Social
Security Act at any time from April 5, 2011, the alleged onset date, through December 31, 2016,
the date last insured. Tr. 29. .
STANDARD OF REVIEW
The reviewing court must affirm the Commissioner’s decision if it is based on the proper
legal standards and the legal findings are supported by substantial evidence in the record. 42
U.S.C. § 405(g); Batson v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 359 F.3d 1190, 1193 (9th Cir. 2004); see
also Hammock v. Bowen, 879 F.2d 498, 501 (9th Cir. 1989). ““Substantial evidence’ means
‘more than a mere scintilla but less than a preponderance,’ or more clearly stated, ‘such relevant
evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.”” Bray v.
Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 554 F.3d 1219, 1222 (9th Cir. 2009) (quoting Andrews v. Shalala, 53
Page 5 of 14 -OPINION AND ORDER
F.3d 1035, 1039 (9th Cir. 1995)). In reviewing the Commissioner’s alleged errors, this Court
must weigh “both the evidence that supports and detracts from the [Commissioner’s]
conclusions.” Martinez v. Heckler, 807 F.2d 771, 772 (9th Cir. 1986). Variable interpretations
of the evidence are insignificant if the Commissioner’s interpretation is rational. Burch v. □
Barnhart, 400 F.3d 676, 679 (9th Cir. 2005).
Where the evidence before the ALJ is subject to more than one rational interpretation, the
Commissioner’s conclusion must be upheld. Batson, 359 F.3d at 1198 (citing Andrews, 53 F.3d
at 1041). “However, a reviewing court must consider the entire record as a whole and may not
affirm simply by isolating a ‘specific quantum of supporting evidence.’” Robbins v. Soc. Sec.
Admin., 466 F.3d 880, 882 (9th Cir. 2006) (quoting Hammock, 879 F.2d at 501). Additionally, a
reviewing court “cannot affirm the [Commissioner’s] decision on a ground that the □
[Administration] did not invoke in making its decision.” Stout v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 454
F.3d 1050, 1054 (9th Cir. 2006) (citations omitted). Finally, a court may not reverse an ALJ’s
decision on account of an error that is harmless. Jd. at 1055-56. “[T]he burden of showing that
an error is harmful normally falls upon the party attacking the agency’s determination.” Shinseki
v. Sanders, 556 U.S. 396, 409 (2009).
Even where findings are supported by substantial evidence, “the decision should be set
aside if the proper legal standards were not applied in weighing the evidence and making the
decision.” Flake v. Gardner, 399 F.2d 532, 540 (9th Cir. 1968). Under sentence four of 42
U.S.C. § 405(g), the reviewing court has the power to enter, upon the pleadings and transcript
record, a judgment affirming, modifying, or reversing the decision of the Commissioner, with or
without remanding the case for a rehearing.
Page 6 of 14 -OPINION AND ORDER
DISCUSSION
Plaintiff presents the following issues for review: (1) whether the ALJ improperly
rejected the opinion of treating doctor, Dr. Gingold; (2) whether the ALJ improperly rejected
Plaintiff's subjective symptom complaints; (3) whether the RFC assessment properly accounted
for all of Plaintiff s limitations.
L The ALJ failed to provide specific and legitimate reasons for discounting
treating physician, Dr. Gingold’s, medical opinion.
The ALJ must consider all medical opinion evidence. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(b). The
opinion of a treating physician is given “controlling weight” if it is “well-supported by medically
acceptable clinical laboratory techniques and is not inconsistent with the other substantial
evidence in the record.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2). Generally, the opinion of a treating
physician is entitled to more weight than that of a physician who did not treat the patient. Lester
v. Chater, 81 F.3d 821, 830 (9th Cir. 1995). Ifa treating physician’s opinion is uncontradicted,
the ALJ must state clear and convincing reasons, supported by substantial evidence, for rejecting
it. Lester, 81 F.3d at 830-31. Ifthe treating physician’s opinion is in dispute, the ALJ must
provide “specific and legitimate reasons that are supported by substantial evidence” for rejecting
it. Jd. For example, objective clinical tests can constitute.“substantial evidence” to support the
opinion of a nontreating physician over that of a treating physician. Magallanes v. Bowen, 881
F.2d 747, 751 (9th Cir. 1989).
Here, Dr. Gingold was Plaintiffs treating physician for several years, so the ALJ was □
required to provide at least specific and legitimate reasons for discounting his medical opinion.
Dr. Gingold provided numerous opinions regarding Plaintiff's limitations throughout the
provided medical records and also completed a questionnaire provided by Plaintiff's
representative. See Tr. 326-57; 442-44. The ALJ provided a narrative summary of Dr.
Page 7 of 14 - OPINION AND ORDER
Gingold’s opinions and then stated, “Some weight is given to these opinions, which are not
inconsistent with the decisions made herein. However, just because the claimant cannot work as
a police officer does not render her disabled pursuant to Social Security regulations.” Tr. 26.
This explanation lacks any specific or legitimate reasons for discounting Dr. Gingold’s medical
opinions. Stating that Dr. Gingold’s opinions were “not inconsistent with decisions made
herein” is insufficient when a review of Dr. Gingold’s opinions quickly reveals that several of
Dr. Gingold’s opined limitations are in fact inconsistent with the RFC determination. The ALJ
was required to do more than just set out a detailed summary of the medical evidence and then
state her conclusions. See Embrey v. Bowen, 849 F.2d 418, 421-22 (9th Cir. 1988) (“The ALJ
must do more than offer his conclusions. He must set forth his own interpretations and explain
why they, rather than the doctor’s, are correct.”).
Defendant’s argument for why the ALJ’s explanation is reasonable is unpersuasive.
Defendant argues that the ALJ found Dr. Gingold’s assessed severe limitations “not consistent
with the record as a whole,” and then points to details in other medical opinions that are
inconsistent with Dr. Gingold’s opinion. However, the ALJ never stated that Dr. Gingold’s
opinion was inconsistent with the record as a whole, nor did she note the inconsistencies that
Defendant described. Defendant’s reliance on these inconsistencies is a post-hoc rationalization,
not a ground invoked by the ALJ. The Court may only review the reasons provided by the ALJ
in the disability decision, and therefore, may not affirm the ALJ on a ground upon which the ALJ
did not rely. Burrell y. Colvin, 775 F.3d 1133, 1141 (9th Cir. 2014) (citations omitted).
i. The ALJ erred in rejecting Plaintiff's subjective symptom complaints
without adequate discussion.
When deciding whether to accept the subjective symptom testimony of a claimant, the
ALJ must perform a two-stage analysis. In the first stage, the claimant must produce objective
Page 8 of 14 - OPINION AND ORDER
medical evidence of one or more impairments which could reasonably be expected to produce
some degree of symptom. Lingenfelter v. Astrue, 504 F.3d 1028, 1036 (9th Cir. 2007). The
claimant is not required to show that the impairment could reasonably be expected to cause the
severity of the symptom, but only to show that it could reasonably have caused some degree of
the symptom. Jd.
In the second stage of the analysis, the ALJ must consider the intensity, persistence, and
limiting effects of the alleged symptoms based on the entire record. SSR 16-3p at *7-8. The
ALJ will consider the “[l]ocation, duration, frequency, and intensity of pain or other symptoms”
reported by the claimant, any medical sources, and any non-medical sources. Jd. The ALJ’s
decision must contain “specific reasons for the weight given to the individual’s symptoms, be
consistent with and supported by the evidence, and be clearly articulated so the individual and
any subsequent reviewer can assess how the adjudicator evaluated the individual’s symptoms.”
Id. Additionally, the evidence upon which the ALJ relies must be substantial. See Reddick, 157
F.3d at 724; Holohan v. Massinari, 246 F.3d 1195, 1208 (9th Cir. 2001); Sullivan, 947 F.2d 341,
345-46 (9 Cir. 1991). The ALJ must also “state specifically which symptom testimony” is
being rejected and what facts lead to that conclusion. Smolen v. Charter, 80 F.3d 1273, 1284 (9th
Cir. 2009) (citing Dodrill, 12 F.3d at 918). In rejecting claimant’s testimony about the severity
of her symptoms, the ALJ must give “specific, clear and convincing reasons for doing so.”
Brown-Hunter v. Colvin, 806 F.3d 487, 493 (9th Cir. 2015) (quoting Lingenfelter v. Astrue, 504
F.3d 1029, 1036 (9th Cir. 2007)).
An ALJ may use activities of daily living to discredit a claimant’s testimony where the
activities (1) meet the threshold for transferable work skills or (2) contradict the claimant’s
testimony. Orn, 495 F.3d at 639. A claimant, however, need not be utterly incapacitated to
Page 9 of 14 -OPINION AND ORDER
receive disability benefits, and sporadic completion of minimal activities is insufficient to
support a negative credibility finding. Vertigan v. Halter, 260 F.3d 1044, 1050 (9th Cir. 2001);
see also Reddick, 157 F.3d at 722 (requiring the level of activity to be inconsistent with the
claimant’s alleged limitations to be relevant to his or her credibility).
In this case, the ALJ included only standard template language to discount Plaintiffs
subjective complaints: ,
After careful consideration of the evidence, I find that the claimant’s medically
determinable impairments could reasonably be expected to cause some of the
alleged symptoms; however, the claimant’s statements concerning the intensity,
persistence and limiting effects of those symptoms are not entirely consistent with
the medical evidence and other evidence in the record for the reasons explained in
this decision.
Tr. 24 (emphasis in original). The ALJ then proceeded to summarize the medical evidence in the
record and weigh medical opinions without revisiting the topic of Plaintiff's subjective symptom
testimony.
The closest the ALJ gets to explaining why she discounted Plaintiff's symptom testimony
is a sentence that reads, “Despite her impairments, the claimant reported she prepared meals for
herself and her child, did light exercise, met with others for bible study, wash dishes, do laundry,
ironing, help her son with his homework, watch television and read.” Tr. 24. Defendant argues
that by referencing Plaintiffs statements about her ability to perform various activities, the ALJ
provided sufficient analysis for the Court to conclude that these were the reasons why the ALJ
discounted Plaintiff's subjective testimony. However, Defendant’s argument requires this Court
to make assumptions about the ALJ’s decision when Social Security Ruling 16-3p requires the
ALJ’s reasoning to be specific and “clearly articulated so the individual and any subsequent
reviewer can asses how the [ALJ] evaluated the individual’s symptoms.” Moreover, even if the
ALJ had clearly invoked these activities as grounds for discounting Plaintiffs subjective
Page 10 of 14 -OPINION AND ORDER
symptom testimony, the ALJ failed to explain how these activities contradict Plaintiffs
testimony or which symptom complaints were being rejected due to Plaintiff's ability to perform
these daily activities. Nor did the ALJ explain why a person able to perform these activities
could not also be as limited as Plaintiff testified that she was. See Vertigan, 260 F.3d at 1050
(“This Court has repeatedly asserted that the mere fact that a Plaintiff has carried on certain daily
activities, such as grocery shopping, driving a car, or limited walking for exercise, does not in
any way detract from her credibility as to her overall disability.”) (quoting Fair v. Bowen, 885
F.2d 597, 603 (9th Cir. 1989)).
The Court cannot find the ALJ’s reasoning “specific, clear and convincing” when the
ALJ failed to provide any reasoning for the Court to consider. On this record, the ALJ erred in
rejecting Plaintiff's subjective complaints without adequate discussion.
WI. The RFC determination is inconsistent with the ALJ’s step three findings.
The RFC reflects the most an individual can do. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1545, 416.945. In
formulating an RFC, the ALJ must consider all medically determinable impairments, including
those that are not “severe,” and evaluate “all of the relevant medical and other evidence,”
including the claimant’s testimony. Jd; SSR 96-8p, available at 1996 WL 374184. An ALJ
may rely on the testimony of a vocational expert (“VE”) to determine whether a claimant retains
the ability to perform past relevant work at step four, or other work in the national or regional
economy at step five. Osenbrock v. Apfel, 240 F.3d 1157, 1162 (9th Cir. 2001). The ALJis_—
required to include only those limitations that are supported by substantial evidence in the
hypothetical posed to a VE. See id. at 1163-65. “Conversely, an ALJ is not free to disregard
properly supported limitations.” Robbins v. Soc. Sec. Admin., 466 F.3d 880, 886(9th Cir. 2006).
In other words, limitations supported by substantial evidence must be incorporated into the RFC
Page 11 of □□□ OPINION AND ORDER
and, by extension, the dispositive hypothetical question posed to the VE. Osenbrock, 240 F.3d at
1163-65.
Plaintiff challenges the RFC determination in this case because it contains no social
limitations despite the ALJ finding that Plaintiff had moderate difficulties in interacting with
others at step three of the disability analysis. Defendant argues that any error here was harmless
because the finding of moderate social limitations was a “scrivener’s error” due to the fact that
no medical source opined that Plaintiff had any social limitations. Def.’s Br. at 12 (#16). In
other words, Defendant is saying that the ALJ actually erred at step three in finding a moderate
social limitation because there is nothing in the record to support such a finding, so it was
actually correct not include a social limitation in the RFC or in the hypothetical posed to the VE.
A “scrivener’s error” is a clerical error such as a misplaced quotation mark or when there is a
discrepancy between the Court’s oral pronouncement and the written record. See Gonzalez v.
Sherman, 873 F.3d 763, 772 (9th Cir. 2017); Amalgamated Transit, Local 1309 v. Laidlaw
Transit, 448 F.3d 1092, 1097 (9th Cir. 2006).
Upon review of the ALJ’s findings, the Court cannot conclude that the ALJ’s finding of a
moderate social limitation was a “scrivener’s error.” In making the moderate social limitation
finding, the ALJ stated, .
There is some evidence to establish that the claimant’s ability to relate to and work
with supervisors, coworkers, or the public independently, appropriately,
effectively, and on a sustained basis was somewhat limited. Based on this evidence
and other evidence detailed below, the claimant’s ability to interact with other
individuals supports the finding of moderate limitation.
Tr. 22. The ALIJ’s statement is free of grammatical errors and can be fully understood as a
finding of moderate social limitation. However, it remains unclear what evidence the ALJ was
referring to as support for this finding. Defendant argues there is no medical evidence to support
Page 12 of 14 -OPINION AND ORDER
such a finding and Plaintiff did not point to any specific evidence in either her opening or reply
briefs to counter Defendant’s assertion.
Upon remand, the ALJ is ordered to determine what evidence, if any, supports a finding
of moderate social limitation. If such a finding is supported by the record, then the ALJ must
include an appropriate social limitation in the RFC determination and in the hypothetical posed
to the vocational expert.
REMAND
Within a court’s discretion under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) is the “decision whether to remand
for further proceedings or for an award of benefits.” Holohan, 246 F.3d at 1210 (citation
omitted). Although a court should generally remand to the agency for additional investigation or
explanation, a court has discretion to remand for immediate payment of benefits. Treichler v.
Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 775 F.3d 1090, 1099-1100 (9th Cir. 2014), The issue turns on the
utility of further proceedings. A court may not award benefits punitively and must conduct a
“credit-as-true” analysis on evidence that has been improperly rejected by the ALJ to determine
if a claimant is disabled under the Social Security Act. Strauss v. Comm’r of the Soc. Sec.
Admin., 635 F.3d 1135, 1138 (9th Cir. 2011).
In the Ninth Circuit, the “credit-as-true” doctrine is “settled” and binding. Garrison, 759
F.3d at 999, The court first determines whether the ALJ made a legal error and then reviews the
record as a whole to determine whether the record is fully developed, the record is free from
conflicts and ambiguities, and there is any useful purpose in further proceedings. Dominguez v.
Colvin, 808 F.3d 403, 407 (9th Cir. 2015). Only if the record has been fully developed and there
are no outstanding issues left to be resolved does the district court consider whether the ALJ
would be required to find the claimant disabled on remand if the improperly discredited evidence
Page 13 of 14 - OPINION AND ORDER
were credited as true. /d. If so, the district court can exercise its discretion to remand for an
award of benefits. Jd The district court retains flexibility, however, and is not required to credit
statements as true because the ALJ made a legal error. Jd. at 408.
Due to inconsistencies between the medical opinions, the court declines to credit Dr.
Gingold’s opinion as true. Additionally, further proceedings are necessary to determine whether
the ALJ’s finding of a moderate social limitation is supported by the record. Therefore,
remanding this case for further administrative procedures is the appropriate remedy.
ORDER
Based on the foregoing, and pursuant to sentence four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), the decision
of the Commissioner is REVERSED and the matter is REMANDED for further administrative
proceedings. Upon remand, the agency is ordered to (1) reconsider the opinions of Dr. Gingold
and either include his opined limitations for Plaintiff in Plaintiff's RFC or provide specific and
legitimate reasons for discounting his opined limitations; (2) reconsider the subjective symptom
statements provided by Plaintiff and either credit Plaintiff's statements or provide specific, clear
and convincing reasons for discounting them; and (3) determine what evidence, if any, supports a
finding of moderate social limitation. If such a finding is supported by the record, then the ALJ
must include an appropriate social limitation in the RFC determination and in the hypothetical
to the vocational expert.
IT IS SO ORDERED.
DATED this day-6f December7Z019. “
FARK D. CLAR
United States Magistrate Judge
Page 14 of 14 -OPINION AND ORDER