“For purposes of SSI, which is not retroactive, the relevant period here is . . . the date [Plaintiff] filed his protective application.”
How later courts described this case
- “For purposes of SSI, which is not retroactive, the relevant period here is . . . the date [Plaintiff] filed his protective application.”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
WESTERN DIVISION AT DAYTON
JURRAUN P.,1 : 20 00424
:
Plaintiff, : CMaaseg iNstora. t3e: Jud-cgve- Caroli ne H. Gentry
: (by full consent of the parties)
vs.
:
:
COMMISSIONER OF THE SOCIAL
:
SECURITY ADMINISTRATION,
:
Defendant. :
DECISION AND ORDER
I. INTRODUCTION
Plaintiff filed an application for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) on June 20,
2016. Plaintiff’s claim was denied initially and upon reconsideration. After a hearing at
Plaintiff’s request, the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) concluded that Plaintiff was not
eligible for benefits because he was not under a “disability” as defined in the Social
Security Act. The Appeals Council granted Plaintiff’s request for review and issued a
corrective, unfavorable decision that updated the exhibit list but adopted the ALJ’s
material findings. (Doc. 10-4, PageID 205-08.) Plaintiff subsequently filed this action.
Plaintiff seeks an order remanding this matter to the Commissioner for the award
of benefits or, in the alternative, for further proceedings. The Commissioner asks the
1 See S.D. Ohio General Order 22-01 (“The Committee on Court Administration and Case Management
of the Judicial Conference of the United States has recommended that due to significant privacy concerns
in social security cases federal courts should refer to claimants only by their first names and last
initials.”).
Court to affirm the non-disability decision. This matter is before the Court on Plaintiff’s
Statement of Errors (Doc. 13), the Commissioner’s Memorandum in Opposition (Doc.
17), Plaintiff’s Reply (Doc. 18), and the administrative record (Doc. 10).
II. BACKGROUND
Plaintiff asserts that he has been under a disability since December 2, 1999.2 He
was thirty-four years old on the SSI application filing date. Accordingly, Plaintiff was
considered a “younger person” under Social Security Regulations. See 20 C.F.R.
§ 416.963(c). Plaintiff has a “limited education.” See 20 C.F.R. § 416.964(b)(3).
The evidence in the administrative record is summarized in the ALJ’s decision
(Doc. 10-3, PageID 107-120), Plaintiff’s Statement of Errors (Doc. 13), the
Commissioner’s Memorandum in Opposition (Doc. 17), and Plaintiff’s Reply (Doc. 18).
Rather than repeat these summaries, the Court will discuss the pertinent evidence in its
analysis below.
III. STANDARD OF REVIEW
The Social Security Administration provides SSI to individuals who are under a
“disability,” among other eligibility requirements. Bowen v. City of New York, 476 U.S.
467, 470 (1986); see 42 U.S.C. §§ 402, 423(a)(1), 1382(a). The term “disability” means
“the inability to do any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically
2 Regardless of the actual or alleged onset of disability, an SSI claimant is not entitled to SSI benefits
prior to the date that the claimant files an SSI application. Thus, the relevant period of consideration in
this case begins June 20, 2016. See 20 C.F.R. § 416.335; Koster v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 643 Fed. Appx.
466, 478 (6th Cir. 2016) (“For purposes of SSI, which is not retroactive, the relevant period here is . . . the
date [Plaintiff] filed his protective application.”).
determinable physical or mental impairment which . . . has lasted or can be expected to
last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.” 20 C.F.R. § 416.905(a).
This Court’s review of an ALJ’s unfavorable decision is limited to two inquiries:
“whether the ALJ applied the correct legal standards and whether the findings of the ALJ
are supported by substantial evidence.” Blakley v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 581 F.3d 399,
406 (6th Cir. 2009); see 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (“The findings of the Commissioner of Social
Security as to any fact, if supported by substantial evidence, shall be conclusive.”).
“Unless the ALJ has failed to apply the correct legal standards or has made findings of
fact unsupported by substantial evidence,” this Court must affirm the ALJ’s decision.
Emard v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 953 F.3d 844, 849 (6th Cir. 2020). Thus, the Court “may
not try the case de novo, nor resolve conflicts in evidence, nor decide questions of
credibility.” Id.
“Under the substantial-evidence standard, a court looks to an existing
administrative record and asks whether it contains ‘sufficien[t] evidence’ to support the
agency’s factual determinations.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 139 S. Ct. 1148, 1154 (2019)
(citation omitted). This limited standard of review does not permit the Court to weigh the
evidence and decide whether the preponderance of the evidence supports a different
conclusion. Instead, the Court is confined to determining whether the ALJ’s decision is
supported by substantial evidence, which “means—and means only—‘such relevant
evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Id.
(citation omitted). This standard “presupposes that there is a zone of choice within which
the decisionmakers can go either way, without interference by the courts.” Mullen v.
Bowen, 800 F.2d 535, 545 (6th Cir. 1986). Thus, the Court may be required to affirm the
ALJ’s decision even if substantial evidence in the record supports the opposite
conclusion. Key v. Callahan, 109 F.3d 270, 273 (6th Cir.1997).
The other line of judicial inquiry—reviewing the correctness of the ALJ’s legal
criteria—may result in reversal even when the record contains substantial evidence
supporting the ALJ’s factual findings. Rabbers v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 582 F.3d 647, 651
(6th Cir. 2009). “[E]ven if supported by substantial evidence, ‘a decision of the
Commissioner will not be upheld where the SSA fails to follow its own regulations and
where that error prejudices a claimant on the merits or deprives the claimant of a
substantial right.’” Id. (citations omitted). Such an error of law will require reversal even
if “the outcome on remand is unlikely to be different.” Cardew v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec.,
896 F.3d 742, 746 (6th Cir. 2018) (internal quotations and citations omitted).
IV. THE ALJ’S FINDINGS OF FACT
The ALJ was tasked with evaluating the evidence related to Plaintiff’s application
for benefits. In doing so, the ALJ considered each of the five sequential steps set forth in
the regulations. See 20 C.F.R. § 416.920. The ALJ made the following findings of fact:
Step 1: Plaintiff has not engaged in substantial gainful activity since June
20, 2016, the SSI application date.
Step 2: He has the severe impairments of migraines, obesity, bipolar
disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and adult antisocial
behavior.
Step 3: He does not have an impairment or combination of impairments that
meets or equals the severity of one in the Commissioner’s Listing of
Impairments, 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1.
Step 4: His residual functional capacity (RFC), or the most he can do despite
his impairments, see Howard v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 276 F.3d 235,
239 (6th Cir. 2002), consists of medium work as defined in 20 CFR
§ 416.967(c), subject to the following limitations: “No more than
frequent stooping, kneeling, crouching, or crawling. No climbing of
ladders, ropes, or scaffolds. No work involving any exposure to
unprotected heights, dangerous moving machinery, or commercial
driving. [Plaintiff] is able to understand, remember, and carry out
simple tasks with simple instructions in a routine work setting. No
more than occasional interaction with supervisors and co-workers,
but with no tandem or team work. No interaction with the general
public. No production-rate work requirements or strict production
quotas. [Plaintiff] is likely to be off-task for 10% of the workday.”
He has no past relevant work.
Step 5: Considering Plaintiff’s age, education, work experience, and residual
functional capacity, there are jobs that exist in significant numbers in
the national economy that he can perform.
(Doc. 10-3, PageID 109-119.) These findings led the ALJ to conclude that Plaintiff does
not meet the definition of disability and so is not entitled to benefits. (Id. at PageID 119-
20.)
V. LAW AND ANALYSIS
Plaintiff contends that the ALJ reversibly erred “in evaluating the medical record,
medical source opinions, and symptom severity.” (Doc. 13, PageID 1370.) The Court
disagrees and concludes that the ALJ’s findings are supported by substantial evidence.
Therefore, the ALJ’s decision is affirmed.
A. Applicable Law
1. Evaluation of medical opinion evidence
Because Plaintiff’s claim was filed before March 27, 2017, the opinion evidence
rules set forth in 20 C.F.R. § 416.927 apply. These regulations require ALJs to adhere to
certain standards when weighing medical opinions. First, the ALJ is required to consider
and evaluate every medical opinion in the record, regardless of its source. See 20 C.F.R.
§ 416.927(b), (c) (emphasis added). The regulations define “medical opinions” as
“statements from acceptable medical sources that reflect judgments about the nature and
severity” of a claimant’s impairments, including “symptoms, diagnosis and prognosis,
what you can still do despite impairment(s), and your physical or mental restrictions.” 20
C.F.R. § 416.927(a)(1).
For medical opinions from sources that are not “treating sources” as defined in 20
C.F.R. § 416.967(a)(1), the ALJ must consider the following factors: examining
relationship; treatment relationship; supportability; consistency; specialization; and other
factors. 20 C.F.R. § 416.927(c). The ALJ must consider the same factors when evaluating
opinions from medical sources who are not “acceptable medical sources” and from
nonmedical sources, although “not every factor for weighing opinion evidence will apply
in every case.” 20 C.F.R. § 416.927(f)(1). The ALJ “generally should explain the weight
given to opinions … or otherwise ensure that the discussion of the evidence … allows a
claimant or subsequent reviewer to follow the adjudicator's reasoning, when such
opinions may have an effect on the outcome of the case.” 20 C.F.R. § 416.927(f)(2).
2. RFC
A claimant’s residual functional capacity (RFC) is the most she can do in a work
setting despite her physical and mental limitations. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(1). The RFC
determination is reserved for the ALJ. 20 C.F.R. § 416.946(c). When formulating the
RFC, the ALJ must consider the claimant’s “ability to meet the physical, mental, sensory,
and other requirements of work.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(4). The ALJ must base the
RFC assessment on all relevant evidence in the record. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(1).
Relevant evidence includes “information about the individual’s symptoms and any
‘medical source statements’—i.e., opinions about what the individual can still do despite
his or her impairment(s)—submitted by an individual’s treating source or other
acceptable medical sources.” SSR 96-8p, 1996 SSR LEXIS 5, *5-6 (July 2, 1996). “If the
RFC assessment conflicts with an opinion from a medical source, the adjudicator must
explain why the opinion was not adopted.” Id. at *20.
3. Evaluation of Symptom Severity
When a claimant alleges symptoms of disabling severity, the Social Security
Administration uses a two-step process for evaluating an individual’s symptoms. SSR 16-
3p, 2017 WL 5180304, *3 (revised and republished Oct. 25, 2017).
First, the ALJ must “determine whether the individual has a medically
determinable impairment that could reasonably be expected to produce the individual’s
alleged symptoms.” SSR 16-3p at *3. The ALJ must make this determination based upon
objective medical evidence in the form of medical signs or laboratory findings. Id.
Medical signs are “anatomical, physiological, or psychological abnormalities established
by medically acceptable clinical diagnostic techniques that can be observed apart from an
individual’s symptoms.” Id. The ALJ will not, however, consider whether the objective
medical evidence supports the alleged severity of the individual’s symptoms. Id.
Second, the ALJ must “evaluate the intensity and persistence of an individual’s
symptoms … and determine the extent to which an individual’s symptoms limit his or her
ability to perform work-related activities.” SSR 16-3p at *9. The Social Security
Administration “recognize[s] that some individuals may experience symptoms differently
and may be limited by symptoms to a greater or lesser extent than other individuals with
the same medical impairments, the same objective medical evidence, and the same non-
medical evidence.” Id. The ALJ must therefore examine “the entire case record, including
the objective medical evidence; an individual’s statements about the intensity,
persistence, and limiting effects of symptoms; statements and other information provided
by medical sources and other persons; and any other relevant evidence in the individual’s
case record.” Id.
When evaluating the intensity, persistence and limiting effects of the claimant’s
alleged symptoms, the ALJ must consider the following factors:
1. Daily activities;
2. The location, duration, frequency, and intensity of pain or other symptoms;
3. Factors that precipitate and aggravate the symptoms;
4. The type, dosage, effectiveness, and side effects of any medication an
individual takes or has taken to alleviate pain or other symptoms;
5. Treatment, other than medication, an individual receives or has received for
relief of pain or other symptoms;
6. Any measures other than treatment an individual uses or has used to relieve
pain or other symptoms (e.g., lying flat on his or her back, standing for 15
to 20 minutes every hour, or sleeping on a board); and
7. Any other factors concerning an individual's functional limitations and
restrictions due to pain or other symptoms.
SSR 16-3p at *7-8; cf. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1529(c)(3), 416.929(c)(3). The ALJ need only
discuss those factors that are pertinent based upon the evidence in the record. Id. The
ALJ's discussion of the applicable factors “must contain specific reasons for the weight
given to the individual's symptoms, be consistent with and supported by the evidence,
and be clearly articulated so the individual and any subsequent reviewer can assess how
the adjudicator evaluated the individual's symptoms.” Id. at *10.
B. The ALJ Did Not Reversibly Err In Evaluating The Medical Source
Opinions, Medical Record, And Symptom Severity
Plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred by basing her decision on a 2000 treatment note
that described Plaintiff as a malingerer. (Doc. 13, PageID 1374.) This argument does not
fairly characterize the ALJ’s opinion. While the ALJ did cite that evidence, she also cited
other evidence to support her findings regarding the consistency of Plaintiff’s subjective
complaints with other evidence in the record. For example, the ALJ cited Dr. Bonds’
observation that Plaintiff did not appear to put forth a significant effort. (Doc. 10-3,
PageID 111 (citing Exhibit 7F at 7).) The ALJ cited her observation that Plaintiff “acted
as if he were incapable of answering questions” during the hearing, which conflicted with
his criminal history and ability to complete his GED. (Id., PageID 115.) The ALJ noted
that Dr. Bonds “indicated that [Plaintiff] ‘tried to present himself in a very negative light
with regards to mental health and intellectual abilities,’ positing that this may have been a
strategy to assist in his disability benefits application.” (Id.) Based on this and other
evidence, the ALJ found that there was an “inconsistency between the level of limitation
alleged and medical documentation of the claimant’s limitations.” (Id., PageID 116.) This
finding is supported by substantial evidence and therefore must be affirmed by this Court.
Next, Plaintiff argues that there is significant evidence of his mental health
impairments. (Doc. 13, PageID 1374-75.) But the ALJ acknowledged this evidence,
deferred to Plaintiff’s subjective complaints when finding that he was moderately limited
in certain areas of mental functioning, and included a number of mental limitations in the
RFC. (Doc. 10-7, PageID 110-12.) While Plaintiff argues that the ALJ “cited very few
objective mental status exam findings in support of [her] findings,” and further argues
that the ALJ should not have found that he “has not always fully engaged in mental
health treatment,” the Court cannot reweigh the evidence. Instead, it can only determine
whether the ALJ’s findings are supported by substantial evidence. Based upon the
evidence cited in the decision, the Court must answer the question in the affirmative.
Finally, Plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred by deciding to give little weight to
treating counselor Ms. Duff’s opinion that Plaintiff would be off task more than fifteen
percent of the workday. (Doc. 10-9, PageID 1206.) The Court disagrees. The ALJ
reasoned that Ms. Duff uncritically accepted Plaintiffs’ complaints despite evidence that
he is capable of functioning on a higher level. (Doc. 10-3, PageID 117-18.) The ALJ
concluded: “In short, Ms. Duff appears to have been "taken in" by [Plaintiff’s]
presentation of himself as an individual incapable of normal functioning, and did not
offer a critical assessment as to whether or not this represented his actual level of
capability, or if it was merely an attempt to manipulate the system in his favor.” (Id.,
PageID 118.) The ALJ’s reasoning “represents a credibility determination which this
court may not disturb absent compelling reason.” Smith v. Halter, 307 F.3d 377, 379 (6th
Cir. 2001). No such reason exists here. Therefore, the Court cannot find that the ALJ
erred in her assessment of Ms. Duff’s opinion.
IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT:
1. Plaintiff’s Statement of Errors (Doc. 13) is OVERRULED;
2. The Court AFFIRMS the Commissioner’s non-disability determination; and
3. The case is terminated on the Court’s docket.
/s/ Caroline H. Gentry
Caroline H. Gentry
United States Magistrate Judge