Opinion

Hernandez v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, S.D. Ohio
Filed
Jul 13, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 28.3%

The opinion

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION AT DAYTON

GAIL S. o/b/o ANTHONY H.,1 : Case No. 3:17-cv-00419

:

Plaintiff, : District Judge Walter H. Rice

: Magistrate Judge Caroline H. Gentry

vs. :

:

COMMISSIONER OF THE SOCIAL

:

SECURITY ADMINISTRATION,

:

Defendant. :

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATIONS2

I. INTRODUCTION

Plaintiff filed an application for Disability Insurance Benefits and Supplemental

Security Income in April 2018. Plaintiff’s claims were denied initially and upon

reconsideration. After a hearing at Plaintiff’s request, an Administrative Law Judge

(ALJ) concluded that Plaintiff was not eligible for benefits because he was not under a

“disability” as defined in the Social Security Act. After the Appeals Council denied

Plaintiff’s request for review of that decision, Plaintiff filed this lawsuit without the

assistance of counsel. United States District Judge Walter H. Rice remanded the case to

the Commissioner under Sentence Six of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). The Appeals Council

1 See S.D. Ohio General Order 22-01 (“The Committee on Court Administration and Case Management

of the Judicial Conference of the United States has recommended that due to significant privacy concerns

in social security cases federal courts should refer to claimants only by their first names and last

initials.”).

2 See 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1). The notice at the end of this opinion informs the parties of their ability to file

objections to this Report and Recommendations within the specified time period.

thereafter remanded the case pursuant to the District Court’s order. Another ALJ held a

hearing pursuant to the remand order and again concluded that Plaintiff was not under a

“disability” as defined in the Social Security Act. The instant case was reopened on

October 27, 2021. Unfortunately, Plaintiff died on November 4, 2021. This Court

subsequently granted the motion of Plaintiff’s mother to intervene as an interested party.

This matter is before the Court on Intervenor Plaintiff’s Statement of Errors (Doc.

23), the Commissioner’s Memorandum in Opposition (Doc. 25), the administrative

record (Doc. 6), and the supplemental administrative record (Doc. 18).

II. BACKGROUND

Intervenor Plaintiff asserts that Plaintiff was under a disability from January 2,

2012, through the date of Plaintiff’s death on October 27, 2021. Plaintiff was 38 years old

on the alleged disability onset date, and he was 47 years old at the time of his death.

Accordingly, Plaintiff was considered a “younger person” under Social Security

Regulations for the relevant time period. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1563(d), 416.963(d).3

Plaintiff had a “high school education and above.” See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1564(b)(3).

The evidence in the administrative record is summarized in the ALJ’s decision

(Doc. 18-2, PageID 649-659 ), Intervenor Plaintiff’s Statement of Errors (Doc. 23), and

the Commissioner’s Memorandum in Opposition (Doc. 25). Rather than repeat these

summaries, the Court will discuss the pertinent evidence in its analysis below.

3 The remaining citations will identify only the pertinent Disability Insurance Benefits Regulations, as

they are similar in all relevant respects to the corresponding Supplemental Security Income Regulations.

III. STANDARD OF REVIEW

The Social Security Administration provides Disability Insurance Benefits and

Supplemental Security Income to individuals who are under a “disability,” among other

eligibility requirements. Bowen v. City of New York, 476 U.S. 467, 470 (1986); see 42

U.S.C. §§ 402, 423(a)(1), 1382(a). The term “disability” means “the inability to do any

substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental

impairment which . . . has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not

less than 12 months.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1505(a).

This Court’s review of an ALJ’s unfavorable decision is limited to two inquiries:

“whether the ALJ applied the correct legal standards and whether the findings of the ALJ

are supported by substantial evidence.” Blakley v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 581 F.3d 399,

406 (6th Cir. 2009); see 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (“The findings of the Commissioner of Social

Security as to any fact, if supported by substantial evidence, shall be conclusive.”).

“Unless the ALJ has failed to apply the correct legal standards or has made findings of

fact unsupported by substantial evidence,” this Court must affirm the ALJ’s decision.

Emard v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 953 F.3d 844, 849 (6th Cir. 2020). Thus, the Court “may

not try the case de novo, nor resolve conflicts in evidence, nor decide questions of

credibility.” Id.

“Under the substantial-evidence standard, a court looks to an existing

administrative record and asks whether it contains ‘sufficien[t] evidence’ to support the

agency’s factual determinations.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 139 S. Ct. 1148, 1154 (2019)

(citation omitted). This limited standard of review does not permit the Court to weigh the

evidence and decide whether the preponderance of the evidence supports a different

conclusion. Instead, the Court is confined to determining whether the ALJ’s decision is

supported by substantial evidence, which “means—and means only—‘such relevant

evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Id.

(citation omitted).

The other line of judicial inquiry—reviewing the correctness of the ALJ’s legal

criteria—may result in reversal even when the record contains substantial evidence

supporting the ALJ’s factual findings. Rabbers v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 582 F.3d 647, 651

(6th Cir. 2009). “[E]ven if supported by substantial evidence, ‘a decision of the

Commissioner will not be upheld where the SSA fails to follow its own regulations and

where that error prejudices a claimant on the merits or deprives the claimant of a

substantial right.’” Id. (citations omitted). Such an error of law will require reversal even

if “the outcome on remand is unlikely to be different.” Cardew v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec.,

896 F.3d 742, 746 (6th Cir. 2018) (internal quotations and citations omitted).

IV. THE ALJ’S DECISION

The ALJ was tasked with evaluating the evidence related to Plaintiff’s application

for benefits. In doing so, the ALJ considered each of the five sequential steps set forth in

the Social Security Regulations. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. The ALJ made the following

findings of fact:

Step 1: Plaintiff did not engage in substantial gainful activity after January

2, 2012, the alleged onset date.

Step 2: He had the severe impairments of “lumbar and cervical spine

degenerative disc disease with radiculopathy; syringomyelia (also

known as a syrinx, a spinal cord cyst); congenital clubbing of the

fingers; mild carpal tunnel syndrome; eczema; cellulitis; chronic

obstructive pulmonary disease (“COPD”); alcoholic neuropathy;

alcoholic cirrhosis of the liver; anxiety; depression; tobacco abuse;

and alcohol abuse.”

Step 3: He did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that

met or equaled the severity of one in the Commissioner’s Listing of

Impairments, 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1.

Step 4: His residual functional capacity, or the most he could do despite his

impairments, see Howard v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 276 F.3d 235, 239

(6th Cir. 2002), consisted of light work as defined in 20 CFR

§ 404.1567(b), subject to the following limitations: “never climb

ladders, ropes, or scaffolds; never crawl; occasionally climb ramps

and stairs; occasionally balance, stoop, crouch, and kneel; avoid

concentrated exposure to environmental irritants, poorly ventilated

areas, and industrial chemicals; avoid hazardous machinery and

unprotected heights; work is limited to simple, routine, and repetitive

tasks; performed in a work environment free of fast paced

production requirements; involving only simple, work-related

decisions; with few, if any, workplace changes; can be around

coworkers throughout the day, but with only occasional interaction

with coworkers.”

He was unable to perform any of his past relevant work.

Step 5: Considering Plaintiff’s age, education, work experience, and residual

functional capacity, there were jobs that existed in significant

numbers in the national economy that he could have performed.

(Doc. 18-2, PageID 651-658.) These findings led the ALJ to conclude that Plaintiff did

not meet the definition of disability and was not entitled to benefits. (Id. at PageID 659.)

V. ANALYSIS

In her Statement of Errors, Intervenor Plaintiff outlined many hardships in her life

and in Plaintiff’s life, as well as alleged inaccuracies in Plaintiff’s medical record. (Doc.

23.) She also included several pictures of Plaintiff and Plaintiff’s death certificate. (Id. at

PageID 2612-43.) Because Intervenor Plaintiff is proceeding pro se and does not identify

any specific errors with the ALJ’s decision currently before the Court, the Court has

carefully reviewed the ALJ's decision to determine whether the ALJ's critical findings of

fact were made in compliance with the applicable law and whether substantial evidence

supports those findings.

For the reasons discussed more fully below, the ALJ committed reversible error by

inadequately evaluating the opinions of Plaintiff’s family physician and the consultative

physician, inadequately evaluating Plaintiff’s symptom severity and treatment history

pursuant to the applicable legal requirements, and identifying an RFC that is not

supported by substantial evidence in the record.

A. Opinion Evidence

1. Applicable Law

Because Plaintiff’s claim was filed before March 27, 2017, the opinion evidence

rules set forth in 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527 apply. These regulations require ALJs to adhere to

certain standards when weighing medical opinions. First, the ALJ is required to consider

and evaluate every medical opinion in the record. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(b), (c).

Further, “greater deference is generally given to the opinions of treating physicians than

to those of non-treating physicians, commonly known as the treating physician rule.”

Rogers v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 486 F.3d 234, 242 (6th Cir. 2007) (citations omitted).

The regulations define a “treating source” as a claimant’s “own acceptable medical

source who provides . . . medical treatment or evaluation and who has . . . an ongoing

treatment relationship” with a claimant. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(a)(1). The “treating

physician” rule is straightforward: “Treating-source opinions must be given ‘controlling

weight’ if two conditions are met: (1) the opinion “is well-supported by medically

acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic techniques”; and (2) the opinion “is not

inconsistent with the other substantial evidence in [the] case record.’” Gayheart v.

Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 710 F.3d 365, 376 (6th Cir. 2013) (quoting in part 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1527(c)(2)); see Gentry v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 741 F.3d 708, 723 (6th Cir. 2014).

If the treating physician’s opinion is not controlling, “the ALJ, in determining how

much weight is appropriate, must consider a host of factors, including the length,

frequency, nature, and extent of the treatment relationship; the supportability and

consistency of the physician’s conclusions; the specialization of the physician; and any

other relevant factors.” Rogers, 486 F.3d at 242 (citing Wilson v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec,

378 F.3d 541, 544 (6th Cir. 2004)).

“Separate from the treating physician rule, but closely related, is the requirement

that the ALJ ‘always give good reasons’ for the weight ascribed to a treating-source

opinion.” Hargett v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 964 F.3d 546, 552 (6th Cir. 2020) (citing 20

C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2); other citation omitted)); see Wilson, 378 F.3d at 544. This

mandatory “good reasons” requirement is satisfied when the ALJ provides “specific

reasons for the weight placed on a treating source’s medical opinions.” Hargett, 964 F.3d

at 552 (quoting SSR 96-2p, 1996 WL 374188, at *5 (July 2, 1996))4. The goal is to make

clear to any subsequent reviewer the weight given and the reasons for giving that weight.

4 SSR 96-2p has been rescinded. However, this rescission is effective only for claims filed on or after March 27,

2017. See SSR 96-2p, 2017 WL 3928298 at *1. Because Plaintiff filed his application for benefits prior to March 27,

2017, SSR 96-2p still applies in this case.

(Id.) Substantial evidence must support the reasons provided by the ALJ. (Id.)

As for medical opinions from sources that are not “treating sources” as defined in

20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(a)(1), the ALJ must consider the following factors set forth for the

evaluation of medical opinions: examining relationship; treatment relationship;

supportability; consistency; specialization; and other factors. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c).

The Social Security regulations, rulings, and Sixth Circuit precedent charge the

ALJ with the final responsibility for determining a claimant’s RFC. See, e.g., 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1527(d)(2) (the final responsibility for deciding the RFC “is reserved to the

Commissioner.”). Moreover, the Social Security Act and agency regulations require an

ALJ to determine a claimant’s RFC based on the evidence as a whole. 42 U.S.C.

§ 423(d)(5)(B); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iv) (“the administrative law judge . . . is

responsible for assessing your [RFC]”). The ALJ’s RFC assessment must be “based on

all of the relevant evidence in the case record, including information about the

individual’s symptoms and any ‘medical source statements’—i.e., opinions about what

the individual can still do despite his or her impairment(s)—submitted an individual’s

treating source or other acceptable medical sources.” Id. (footnote omitted).

Section 404.1527(a)(1) of Title 20 of the Code of Federal Regulations defines

“medical opinions” as “statements from acceptable medical sources that reflect

judgments about the nature and severity” of a claimant’s impairments, including

“symptoms, diagnosis and prognosis, what you can still do despite impairment(s), and

your physical or mental restrictions.” The regulations require ALJs to consider and

evaluate every medical opinion in the record, regardless of its source. 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1527(c) (emphasis added). Further, if the RFC assessment conflicts with an opinion

from a medical source, “the adjudicator must explain why the opinion was not adopted.”

SSR 96-8p, 1996 WL 374184, at *7 (July 2, 1996).

2. Dr. Rose

Family physician Bernard Rose, M.D. opined in a note dated July 16, 2014, that

Plaintiff had a cervical neuropathy which “require[d] “working only 20 hours a week.”

(Doc. 6, PageID 513.) The ALJ did not address or assign weight to Dr. Rose’s opinion in

the decision. (Doc. 18-2, PageID 649-659.) The ALJ’s RFC conflicts with Dr. Rose’s

opinion, because the ALJ found Plaintiff capable of performing a reduced range of light

work on a full-time basis. (Doc. 18-2, PageID 654.)

The ALJ committed reversible error because he failed to address Dr. Rose’s

opinion. As discussed above, the regulations require ALJs to consider and evaluate every

medical opinion in the record, regardless of its source. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)

(emphasis added). The ALJ must also give “good reasons” for the weight assigned to a

treating source opinion. Hargett, 964 F.3d at 552, citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2).

Because the ALJ failed to address or assign weight to Dr. Rose’s opinion, he also failed

to provide any reasons—much less any “good reasons”—for not adopting the opinion.

The Court may that find a violation of the “good reasons” requirement constitutes

harmless error if any of the following criteria are met: “(1) a treating source's opinion is

so patently deficient that the Commissioner could not possibly credit it; (2) if the

Commissioner adopts the opinion of the treating source or makes findings consistent with

the opinion; or (3) where the Commissioner has met the goal of § 1527(d)(2) . . . even

though she has not complied with the terms of the regulation.” Cole v. Astrue, 661 F.3d

931, 940 (6th Cir. 2011) (citation omitted).

In this case, the ALJ’s violation of the good reasons rule is not harmless error. Dr.

Rose’s opinion is not patently deficient, because the ALJ agreed with Dr. Rose’s category

of diagnosis (cervical neuropathy) and found that it was a “severe” impairment. (Doc. 18-

2, PageID 651.) Likewise, the ALJ did not adopt Dr. Rose’s assessment or make findings

consistent with it. (Id. at PageID 654.) Nor did the ALJ meet the goal of 20 C.F.R.

§ 1527(d)(2), because the ALJ’s silence leaves this Court without a clear understanding

of why the ALJ did not credit Dr. Rose’s opinion. See Cole, 661 F.3d at 940.

The ALJ violated Social Security’s procedural rules by failing to address Dr.

Rose’s opinion. Thus, reversal is warranted.

3. Dr. Oza

Similarly, the ALJ erred by failing to address the full opinion of consultative

physician Amita Oza, M.D. Dr. Oza performed a consultative physical examination on

January 21, 2021, which notably occurred after the June 2020 hearing and at the ALJ’s

request. (Doc. 18-11, PageID 2547-59.) Dr. Oza diagnosed several medical conditions in

her medical report, including “peripheral neuropathy due to alcoholism.” (Id. at PageID

2548.) She opined that “[d]ue to [a] combination” of these conditions “along with . . .

cognitive impairment, work related activities are affected at this time.” (Id.)

Dr. Oza also completed a “Medical Source Statement of Ability to Do Work-

Related Activities (Physical)” form. (Id. at PageID 2554-59.) Dr. Oza opined that

Plaintiff was unable to lift any amount of weight and that he could sit, stand, and/or walk

for no more than ten minutes at a time. (Id. at PageID 2554-55.) According to Dr. Oza,

Plaintiff could only occasionally use his hands, and he could never operate foot controls,

due to peripheral neuropathy. (Id. at PageID 2556.) Dr. Oza opined that Plaintiff could

never perform postural activities and could not tolerate any exposure to environmental

conditions. (Id. at PageID 2557-58.) She further opined that Plaintiff was unable to take

care of his activities of daily living. (Id. at PageID 2559.)

The ALJ addressed Dr. Oza’s opinion and gave it “some weight.” (Doc. 18-2,

PageID 657.) The ALJ summarized and analyzed Dr. Oza’s opinion as follows:

On January 21, 2021, the claimant presented to Dr. Oza for physical

consultative examination (27F). Dr. Oza examined the claimant and gave

somewhat vague conclusions regarding his functioning. Dr. Oza concluded

that the claimant’s work activities are affected, but she did not give specific,

functional limitations. However, Dr. Oza’s examination findings were

mostly consistent with other findings throughout the record, of which other

opinions were based (1A; 7A). Therefore, Dr. Oza’s opinion is afforded some

weight.

(Id.)

As discussed above, the regulations require ALJs to consider and evaluate every

medical opinion in the record, regardless of its source. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)

(emphasis added). In her Medical Source Statement, Dr. Oza provided specific,

functional limitations regarding Plaintiff’s ability to lift, carry, sit, stand, walk, and

perform other postural and manipulative functions in that form. (Id. at PageID 2554-59.)

These limitations constitute “medical opinions” as defined in the regulations. The ALJ

was required to evaluate Dr. Oza’s opinion about these limitations in the decision.

But the ALJ did not even acknowledge any of the limitations identified by Dr.

Oza. Instead, the ALJ evaluated only Dr. Oza’s narrative opinion that Plaintiff’s “work

activities are affected.” (See Doc. 18-2, PageID 657 and Doc. 18-11, PageID 2548.) And

it appears that the ALJ was unaware of these limitations, since the ALJ wrongly stated

that Dr. Oza “did not give specific, functional limitations.” (Doc. 18-2, PageID 657.)

Because the ALJ summarized Dr. Oza’s opinion in the narrative report but did not

mention the limitations in the Medical Source Statement form—and in fact wrongly

stated that there were no such limitations—the Court must conclude that the ALJ did not

consider or weigh this portion of her opinion. By failing to consider the entirety of Dr.

Oza’s opinion, the ALJ violated the applicable regulations. Thus, reversal is warranted.

B. Symptom Severity

1. Applicable Law

When a claimant alleges symptoms of disabling severity, the Social Security

Administration uses a two-step process for evaluating an individual’s symptoms. See 20

C.F.R. § 404.1529(c)(1); Soc. Sec. R. 16-3p, 2017 WL 5180304, *3 (Oct. 25, 2017)

(effective March 28, 2016). First, the ALJ must determine whether an individual has a

medically determinable impairment that could reasonably be expected to produce the

individual’s alleged symptoms. Id. Second, the ALJ must evaluate the intensity and

persistence of the individual’s symptoms and determine the extent to which the

individual’s symptoms limit her ability to perform work-related activities. Id. at *4. The

ALJ must examine “the entire case record, including the objective medical evidence; the

individual’s relevant statements; statements and other information provided by medical

sources and others; and any other relevant evidence in the record.” Id. at *4-5.

In addition to this evidence, the ALJ should consider the following factors:

1. Daily activities;

2. The location, duration, frequency, and intensity of pain or other symptoms;

3. Factors that precipitate and aggravate the symptoms;

4. The type, dosage, effectiveness, and side effects of any medication an individual

takes or has taken to alleviate pain or other symptoms;

5. Treatment, other than medication, an individual receives or has received for

relief of pain or other symptoms;

6. Any measures other than treatment an individual uses or has used to relieve pain

or other symptoms (e.g., lying flat on his or her back, standing for 15 to 20

minutes every hour, or sleeping on a board); and

7. Any other factors concerning an individual's functional limitations and

restrictions due to pain or other symptoms.

Id. at *7-8; see also 20 C.F.R. § 404.1529(c)(3). However, an ALJ does not necessarily

need to discuss every factor in every case—for example, if there is no evidence regarding

one of the factors, that factor will not be discussed because it is not relevant to the case.

SSR 16-3p at *8. Although an ALJ is not required to analyze all seven factors, an ALJ's

decision nevertheless “must contain specific reasons for the weight given to the

individual's symptoms, be consistent with and supported by the evidence, and be clearly

articulated so the individual and any subsequent reviewer can assess how the adjudicator

evaluated the individual's symptoms.” Id. at *10.

Further, “if the individual fails to follow prescribed treatment that might improve

symptoms, [the ALJ] may find the alleged intensity and persistence of an individual’s

symptoms are inconsistent with the overall evidence of record.” Id. at *9. However, an

ALJ “will not find an individual’s symptoms inconsistent [] on this basis without

considering possible reasons he or she may not comply with treatment or seek treatment

consistent with the degree of his or her complaints.” Id. An ALJ may even need to

“contact the individual regarding the lack of treatment or, at an administrative

proceeding, ask why he or she has not complied with or sought treatment in a manner

consistent with his or her complaints.” Id.

The SSR identifies possible reasons for not pursing treatment that an ALJ can

consider when evaluating an individual’s treatment history. 2017 WL 5180304, *10. The

SSR clarifies that the reasons listed are merely examples and that an ALJ “will consider

and address reasons for not pursuing treatment that are pertinent to an individual’s case.”

Id. (emphasis added). Moreover, the ALJ “will explain how [he or she] considered the

individual’s reasons” in the evaluation of the individual’s symptoms. Id. (emphasis

added). The Sixth Circuit has confirmed that, pursuant to SSR 16-3p, the ALJ should

consider possible reasons why a claimant failed to seek medical treatment consistent with

the degree of his or her complaints “before drawing an adverse inference from the

claimant’s lack of medical treatment.” Dooley v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 656 F. App'x 113,

119 (6th Cir. 2016).

2. Analysis

In this case, when evaluating the severity of Plaintiff’s symptoms, the ALJ made

numerous references to Plaintiff’s treatment history and non-compliance. The ALJ stated:

• [Plaintiff’s] alcohol use is non-compliant with his treatment plan (SSR

16-3p) (Doc. 18-2, PageID 652);

• [Plaintiff’s] poor insight and judgment is related to his ongoing non-

compliance with sobriety (SSR 16-3p) (Id. at PageID 653);

• [Plaintiff] also has alcohol-induced neuropathy due to his non-

compliance with alcohol cessation, per his treatment plan and his

physician’s advice (SSR 16-3p) (Doc. 18-2, PageID 655);

• [Plaintiff] does have alcohol-induced cirrhosis of the liver due to non-

compliance with alcohol cessation (SSR 16-3p). The claimant’s

treatment for his cirrhosis includes alcohol cessation, however, the

claimant testified that he drinks at least six beers per day (Testimony)

(SSR 16-3p) (id.); and

• [Plaintiff] has a long history of non-compliance with substance abuse

(SSR 16-3p). [Plaintiff’s] providers have indicated that the claimant’s

non-compliance with alcohol cessation affects his memory (SSR 16-

3p). The severity of the claimant’s complaints are [sic] not supported

by objective evidence, or with his own actions, including a lack of

treatment plan compliance. The overall objective evidence most

consistent indicates that the claimant has intact memory. . . . Other

notes indicate that the claimant has poor recall, but only “due to

drinking” . . . The claimant’s alcohol use is non-compliant with his

treatment plan (SSR 16-3p). (Id. at PageID 656.)

The ALJ concluded that although Plaintiff’s medically determinable impairments could

reasonably be expected to cause the symptoms alleged, Plaintiff’s statements about the

intensity, persistence, and limiting effects of his symptoms were “not entirely consistent

with the medical evidence and other evidence in the record.” (Id. at PageID 654-55.)

To support this conclusion, the ALJ relied heavily on Plaintiff’s noncompliance

and consistently cited to SSR 16-3p. However, the ALJ did not develop the record to

consider any possible reasons for the noncompliance as required by SSR 16-3p. The

transcript of the hearing indicates that the ALJ asked Plaintiff some questions about his

drinking; specifically, he asked how much and how frequently Plaintiff drank alcohol.

(Doc 18-2, PageID 677-78.) But the ALJ did not ask Plaintiff whether he had sought any

treatment for his addiction or why he continued to drink contrary to treatment

recommendations. (Id. at PageID 670-95.)

In sum, although the ALJ repeatedly cited to SSR 16-3p, he did not comply with

that rule because he failed to consider any possible reasons for Plaintiff’s failure to

comply with treatment or seek treatment consistent with the degree of complaints alleged.

Nor did the ALJ develop the record by inquiring about why Plaintiff was noncompliant or

failed to seek additional treatment. The ALJ’s heavy reliance on Plaintiff’s

noncompliance, coupled with the ALJ’s failure to evaluate Plaintiff’s treatment history

pursuant to the applicable legal requirements, is an error of law warranting reversal.

C. Alcoholism

The ALJ erred by identifying an RFC that is not supported by substantial evidence

in the record. Specifically, the RFC that the ALJ identified did not adequately account for

Plaintiff’s alcoholism and its effects. The ALJ’s analysis also does not comply with SSR

13-2p. For these reasons, too, the Commissioner’s decision must be reversed.

1. Applicable Law

The Social Security Act provides that “[a]n individual shall not be considered to

be disabled . . . if alcoholism or drug addiction would . . . be a contributing factor

material to the Commissioner's determination that the individual is disabled.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 1382c(a)(3)(J). Social Security Ruling 13–2p interprets this regulation and governs the

evaluation of cases involving drug addiction and alcoholism (DAA). 2013 WL 621536

(Feb. 20, 2013) (effective March 22, 2013).

SSR 13-2p applies if “evidence from acceptable medical sources … establish[es]

that DAA is a medically determinable impairment(s).” 2013 WL 621536 at *3. The ALJ

will determine materiality if: (1) there is “medical evidence from an acceptable medical

source establishing that a claimant has a Substance Use Disorder,” and (2) the claimant is

found to be disabled “considering all impairments, including the DAA.” Id. at *4; see

also 20 C.FR. § 404.1535. The ALJ must decide “whether the claimant would continue to

be disabled if he or she stopped using drugs or alcohol, that is … whether DAA is

material to the finding that the claimant is disabled.” Id. (emphasis in original). If the

claimant were to stop using drugs or alcohol, DAA is material if he would not be disabled

in that circumstance, and is not material if he would be disabled in that circumstance. Id.

2. Analysis

The ALJ found that Plaintiff’s alcohol abuse was a severe impairment at Step 2.

(Doc. 18-2, PageID 651.) But instead of fully considering the cumulative effect of

Plaintiff’s alcoholism on his alcoholic neuropathy, cirrhosis, and other impairments—as

required by SSR 16-3p—the ALJ only considered whether Plaintiff’s alcoholism

detracted from the consistency of his reported symptoms. (See id. at PageID 654-56.)

For example, the ALJ stated that Plaintiff’s alcohol use was “non-compliant with

his treatment plan (SSR 16-3p)” (id. at PageID 652), and concluded that Plaintiff’s “poor

insight and judgment is related to his ongoing non-compliance with sobriety (SSR 16-

3p).” (Id. at PageID 653.) The ALJ subsequently discussed Plaintiff’s alcoholism in the

RFC analysis, specifically related to the evaluation of Plaintiff’s symptom severity. (Id. at

PageID 652-66.) The ALJ repeatedly commented on Plaintiff’s history of non-

compliance with alcohol cessation and concluded that Plaintiff’s reports of the intensity,

persistence, and limiting effects of his symptoms were “not entirely consistent with the

medical evidence and other evidence in the record.” (Id. at PageID 654-56.)

The ALJ explained that he accounted for Plaintiff’s cirrhosis, “despite [Plaintiff]

being non-compliant with treatment,” by including a limitation in the RFC for Plaintiff to

“avoid certain work hazards due to any associated fatigue.” (Doc. 18-2, PageID 655.) The

ALJ also concluded that considering the combined effects of Plaintiff’s alcoholism

(which the ALJ again noted was “non-compliant with his treatment plan”) and his other

severe mental impairments, Plaintiff was limited to “simple, routine, and repetitive tasks,

with additional limitations to work pace, social interaction, and workplace stress

including only few, if any, workplace changes.” (Id. at PageID 656.)

A review of the entire record indicates that the ALJ’s RFC assessment is not

supported by substantial evidence and did not fully account for Plaintiff’s alcoholism.

Although the ALJ cited to several examination findings to support his conclusions, the

ALJ failed to acknowledge numerous hospitalizations, many of which lasted more than

one week. The ALJ therefore did not fully account for Plaintiff’s alcoholism and its

effects on his other impairments when assessing Plaintiff’s RFC.

For example, Plaintiff was hospitalized three times in August 2017 (August 1-7,

2017; August 11-17, 2017; and August 18-21, 2017) for a principal diagnosis of alcoholic

cirrhosis of the liver with ascites. (Doc. 18-8, PageID 1298-1351, 1354-98, 1403-48). He

was thereafter referred to hospice care. (Id. at PageID 170.) While Plaintiff was a hospice

patient, he was hospitalized for a few days in February 2018 for liver failure, where he

was noted to have end-stage liver disease. This was followed by another hospitalization

in March 2018 for alcoholic liver cirrhosis with ascites. (Id. at PageID 1249-50, 1294.)

Plaintiff was discharged from hospice care in July 2018, apparently because his insurer

would no longer cover the treatment. (Id. at PageID 1744.)

Plaintiff subsequently sought emergency room treatment in July 2019 for falling

while carrying groceries, and he was hospitalized for over a week beginning on July 23,

2019, for blood in his urine. (Id. at PageID 1204-06, 1107-1200.) After another week-

long hospitalization in August 2019, he was discharged to a rehabilitation center. (Id. at

PageID 1015-1104.) Doctors referred to severe alcoholic liver disease in the discharge

summary. (Id. at 1015.) Plaintiff was re-hospitalized in October 2019, again for alcoholic

cirrhosis of the liver with ascites. (Id. at PageID 936-51.)

An ALJ is not required to directly address every piece of evidence submitted by a

party. Kornecky v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 167 F. App’x 469, 508 (6th Cir. 2006). But the

ALJ’s failure to acknowledge any of these hospitalizations or complications leads the

Court to conclude that the RFC is not supported by substantial evidence. Reversal is

therefore required.

The Court further finds that the ALJ did not consider Plaintiff’s alcoholism in the

manner required by SSR 13-2p. Based on the ALJ’s numerous comments about

Plaintiff’s non-compliance with alcohol cessation, it appears that the ALJ essentially

considered the net effects of Plaintiff’s severe impairments in the sequential evaluation

process. This was incorrect. The ALJ should have first considered the full effects of

Plaintiff’s severe impairments, including alcoholism, and then proceeded to determine

whether Plaintiff’s alcoholism was material—that is, whether he would or would not

have been disabled if he had stopped the alcohol abuse. See SSR 13-2p. Thus, the ALJ

failed to apply the correct legal standard for evaluating Plaintiff’s alcoholism. This failure

constitutes reversible error and is another reason why the case should be remanded.

VI. REMAND

A remand is appropriate when the ALJ’s decision is unsupported by substantial

evidence or when the ALJ failed to follow the Administration’s own regulations and that

shortcoming prejudiced the plaintiff on the merits or deprived the plaintiff of a substantial

right. Bowen, 478 F.3d at 746. Remand may be warranted when the ALJ failed to provide

“good reasons” for rejecting a treating medical source’s opinions, see Wilson, 378 F.3d at

545-47; failed to consider certain evidence, such as a treating source’s opinions, see

Bowen, 478 F.3d at 747-50; failed to consider the combined effect of the plaintiff’s

impairments, see Gentry, 741 F.3d at 725-26; or failed to provide specific reasons

supported by substantial evidence for finding that the plaintiff lacks credibility, see

Rogers, 486 F.3d at 249. Remand may also be warranted when new and material

evidence is presented and there is “reasonable probability” that the ALJ would have

rendered a differing decision if presented with the new evidence. Foster v. Halter, 279

F.3d 348, 357 (6th Cir. 2001).

A. Sentence Four Remand

Under Sentence Four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), the Court has authority to affirm,

modify, or reverse the Commissioner’s decision “with or without remanding the cause for

rehearing.” Melkonyan v. Sullivan, 501 U.S. 89, 99 (1991). Consequently, a remand

under Sentence Four may result in the need for further proceedings or an immediate

award of benefits. E.g., Blakley, 581 F.3d at 410; Felisky v. Bowen, 35 F.3d 1027, 1041

(6th Cir. 1994). The latter is warranted only “if all essential factual issues have been

resolved and the record adequately establishes a plaintiff’s entitlement to benefits.”

Faucher v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 17 F.3d 171, 176 (6th Cir. 1994) (citations

omitted). In other words, a judicial award of benefits is proper “only where the proof of

disability is overwhelming or where the proof of disability is strong and evidence to the

contrary is lacking.” Id.

A judicial award of benefits pursuant to Sentence Four of Section 405(g) is

unwarranted in the present case because all factual issues have not been resolved, and the

record does not adequately establish Plaintiff’s entitlement to benefits. Faucher, 17 F.3d

at 176. As discussed above, the ALJ did not adequately evaluate Plaintiff’s alcoholism

under SSR 13-2p. The record does not clearly show whether Plaintiff’s cirrhosis, which

ultimately led to his death (Doc. 23-2, PageID 2643), would have improved to the point

of rendering Plaintiff non-disabled if he had stopped using alcohol.

However, Plaintiff is entitled to an Order remanding this case to the Social

Security Administration pursuant to Sentence Four of Section 405(g) for the reasons

stated above. On remand, the ALJ should evaluate the evidence of record under the

applicable legal criteria mandated by the Commissioner’s regulations and rulings and

governing case law. The ALJ should evaluate Plaintiff’s disability claim under the

required five-step sequential analysis to determine anew whether Plaintiff was under a

disability and whether his application for Disability Insurance Benefits should be granted.

Because the record documents no significant periods of abstinence from alcohol, the

Court recommends that the ALJ obtain testimony from a medical expert to determine

whether Plaintiff’s impairments would have improved in the absence of alcohol abuse,

pursuant to SSR 13-2p.

B. Sentence Six Remand

Pursuant to Sentence Six of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), the Court has the authority to

“remand the case for further administrative proceedings in light of the new evidence, if a

claimant shows that the evidence is new and material, and that there was good cause for

not presenting it in the prior proceeding.” Cline v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 96 F.3d 146, 148

(6th Cir. 1996) (citing Cotton v. Sullivan, 2 F.3d 692, 695-96 (6th Cir. 1993)). Evidence

is “new” only if it was “not in existence or available to the claimant at the time of the

administrative proceeding.” Foster v. Halter, 279 F.3d 348, 357 (6th Cir. 2001) (citation

omitted). Such evidence is “material” only if there is a reasonable probability that the

[Commissioner] would have reached a different disposition of the disability claim if

presented with the new evidence.” Id. Further, a claimant shows “good cause” by

demonstrating “a reasonable justification for the failure to acquire and present the

evidence for inclusion in the hearing before the ALJ.” Id. Plaintiff bears the burden of

demonstrating that a Sentence Six remand is appropriate. Id.; see also Allen v. Comm’r of

Soc. Sec.561 F.3d 646, 653 (6th Cir. 2009).

As discussed above, Intervenor Plaintiff’s Statement of Errors consists of an

outline of hardships, alleged inaccuracies in Plaintiff’s medical record, several pictures of

Plaintiff, and Plaintiff’s death certificate, which documents the reasons for his death.

(Doc. 23.) The ALJ did not have the opportunity to review this evidence, specifically

Plaintiff’s death certificate.

This presents the question of whether the Court should remand the case to the ALJ

for consideration of the evidence submitted after the ALJ’s decision. As an initial matter,

Intervenor Plaintiff did not specifically request a Sentence Six remand. However, this

Court noted in the prior Sentence Six remand that Plaintiff “‘proceed[ed] without the

assistance of an attorney’ and his status ‘dictate[d] a liberal construction of his

submissions in his favor.’” (Doc. 18-3, PageID 740.) Intervenor Plaintiff’s pro se status,

then, also warrants a liberal interpretation of submissions in her favor.

The Court finds that the evidence submitted by Intervenor Plaintiff is new and

material, and that good cause exists for the failure to present the evidence to the ALJ.

Foster, 279 F.3d at 357. The evidence satisfies the “new” requirement because it was

“not in existence or available” at the time of the prior hearing. Id. Intervenor Plaintiff also

established “good cause,” as Plaintiff did not die until after the hearing. Id. Finally, the

evidence is material, because there is a reasonable probability that the ALJ would have

reached a different disposition if presented with the new evidence. Id. Had the ALJ

known that Plaintiff’s liver disease and cirrhosis were serious enough to ultimately result

in Plaintiff’s death, the ALJ may have included additional limitations in the RFC. The

ALJ may also have found that Plaintiff’s condition would not have improved, even in the

absence of alcohol abuse, and that Plaintiff’s alcoholism was therefore not material.

For all of these reasons, a Sentence Six remand is warranted.

C. Remand Under Both Sentence Four and Sentence Six

For the reasons discussed above, this case involves both a Sentence Four and

Sentence Six remand under Section 405(g). Under Sentence Four of Section 405(g), the

Court is authorized to enter “a judgment affirming, modifying, or reversing the decision

of the Secretary, with or without remanding the cause for a rehearing.” In a Sentence Six

remand, the Court does not rule on the correctness of the administrative decision as in a

Sentence Four determination. Faucher, 17 F.3d at 174 (citing Melkonyan v. Sullivan, 501

U.S. 89 (1991)). Instead, following a Sentence Six remand, “the Secretary must return to

the district court to ‘file with the court any such additional or modified findings of fact

and decision, and a transcript of the additional record and testimony upon which his

action in modifying or affirming was based.’” Melkonyan, 501 U.S. at 98 (citations

omitted).

The Sixth Circuit has not addressed the situation where a remand is warranted

under both Sentence Four and Sentence Six. However, this Court has followed Eleventh

Circuit precedent and held that a case may be remanded on both grounds:

To summarize, after reviewing § 405(g) and the applicable case law . . . if

both sentence-four and sentence-six grounds for remand exist in a disability

case, the case may be remanded on both grounds. District court jurisdiction

over the case continues after the entry of the remand judgment as a result of

the sentence-six prong of the remand. If a claimant achieves a remand on

both sentence-four and sentence-six grounds, and thereafter succeeds on

remand in part due to the sentence-six ground, the claimant may return to

district court to request entry of judgment after remand proceedings have

been completed. In such a case, the claimant may wait until the post-remand

judgment is entered before filing his EAJA application.

Reeves v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., No. 1:13-CV-325, 2014 WL 2434112, at *8–9 (S.D. Ohio

May 29, 2014) (Litkovitz, M.J.) (citing Jackson v. Chater, 99 F.3d 1086, 1097-98 (11th

Cir. 1996), report and recommendation adopted, No. 1:13-CV-325, 2014 WL 2773258

(S.D. Ohio June 19, 2014) (Spiegel, D.J.); see also Banik v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No.

1:11-CV-342, 2012 WL 2190816 (S.D. Ohio June 14, 2012) (Litkovitz, M.J.), report and

recommendation adopted, No. 1:11-CV-342, 2012 WL 2890890 (S.D. Ohio July 16,

2012) (Barrett, D.J.)

Accordingly, a “dual basis” remand is appropriate in this case pursuant to both

Sentence Four and Sentence Six of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). It is recommended that this

matter be reversed and remanded for further proceedings consistent with this decision

under Sentence Four of Section 405(g). It is also recommended that this matter be

remanded under Sentence Six of Section 405(g) for consideration of the additional

medical evidence submitted after the hearing.

IT IS THEREFORE RECOMMENDED THAT:

1. Plaintiff’s Statement of Errors (Doc. 23) be GRANTED;

2. The Court VACATE the Commissioner’s non-disability determination;

3. No finding is made as to whether Plaintiff was under a “disability” within

the meaning of the Social Security Act;

4. This matter be REMANDED to the Social Security Administration under

Sentence Four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) for further consideration consistent

with this Report and any Decision and Entry adopting this Report and

Recommendations;

5. This matter be REMANDED to the Social Security Administration under

Sentence Six of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) for further consideration consistent with

this Report and any Decision and Entry adopting this Report and

Recommendations; and

6. This case be administratively processed, but not terminated, on the Court’s

docket.

/s/ Caroline H. Gentry

Caroline H. Gentry

United States Magistrate Judge

NOTICE REGARDING OBJECTIONS

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 72(b), any party may serve and file specific, written

objections to the proposed findings and recommendations within FOURTEEN days after

being served with this Report and Recommendations. Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 6(d),

this period is extended to SEVENTEEN days if this Report is being served by one of the

methods of service listed in Fed. R. Civ. P. 5(b)(2)(C), (D), or (F). Such objections shall

specify the portions of the Report objected to and shall be accompanied by a

memorandum of law in support of the objections. If the Report and Recommendation is

based in whole or in part upon matters occurring of record at an oral hearing, the

objecting party shall promptly arrange for the transcription of the record, or such portions

of it as all parties may agree upon or the Magistrate Judge deems sufficient, unless the

assigned District Judge otherwise directs. A party may respond to another party’s

objections within FOURTEEN days after being served with a copy thereof.

Failure to make objections in accordance with this procedure may forfeit rights on

appeal. See Thomas v. Arn, 474 U.S. 140 (1985); United States v. Walters, 638 F.2d 947,

949-50 (6th Cir. 1981).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.