Opinion

Ragle v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, S.D. Ohio
Filed
Mar 30, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 28.3%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

MICHELLE R.,1 Case No. 1:20-cv-785

Plaintiff, Bowman, M.J.

v.

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff Michelle R. filed this Social Security appeal in order to challenge the

Defendant’s finding that she is not disabled. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Proceeding through

counsel, Plaintiff presents two claims of error for this Court’s review. The Commissioner’s

finding of non-disability will be REVERSED and REMANDED because it is not supported

by substantial evidence in the record as a whole.2

I. Summary of Administrative Record

Plaintiff applied for disability insurance benefits and supplemental security income

on June 21, 2017, alleging disability since October 1, 2014. (Tr. 240-46, 249-55). After

her claim was denied initially and upon reconsideration, Plaintiff requested an evidentiary

hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”). At a hearing held on November 14,

2019, Plaintiff appeared with counsel and gave testimony before ALJ James E.

MacDonald; a vocational expert (“VE”) also testified. On November 14, 2019, the ALJ

1The Committee on Court Administration and Case Management of the Judicial Conference of the United

States has recommended that, due to significant privacy concerns in social security cases, federal courts

should refer to claimants only by their first names and last initials. See General Order 22-01.

2The parties have consented to the jurisdiction of the undersigned magistrate judge. See 28 U.S.C. §636(c).

issued an adverse written decision, concluding that Plaintiff was not disabled. (Tr. 12-

30). The Appeals Council declined further review, leaving the ALJ’s decision as the final

decision of the Commissioner. Plaintiff then filed this judicial appeal.

Plaintiff was 20 years old on her alleged date of disability. She completed high

school and has no past relevant work. The ALJ determined that Plaintiff has severe

impairments of “autism spectrum disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)

and a neurodevelopmental disorder.” (Tr. 18). Although Plaintiff argued at the hearing

that her impairments were of listing level severity, the ALJ found that none of the

impairments, alone or in combination, met or medically equaled any Listing in 20 C.F.R.

Part 404, Subpart P, Appx. 1, such that Plaintiff would be entitled to a presumption of

disability. (Id.)

The ALJ determined that Plaintiff could perform a full range of work at all exertional

levels, subject to the following limitations:

She is able to understand and remember simple instructions and carryout

simple tasks with simple work-related decisions and judgments performing

these tasks with adequate pace, persistence and concentration with two-

hour segments allowing for normal breaks. She is to engage in low stress

work, such as no assembly lines and no hourly quotas, but can handle

occasional changes in a routine work setting if these settings are explained

in advance and introduced slowly and gradual throughout the workday or

workweek. She cannot be responsible for the health and safety of others.

She is not to perform any work that deals with negotiation, confrontation or

influencing others in their opinions, attitudes or judgments and is not to

direct, control, or plan activities for others. Last, she is limited to occasional

interaction with supervisors and coworkers, no interaction with the general

public, as part of job duties and no tandem tasks.

(Tr. 19).

Based upon her RFC and testimony from the vocational expert, the ALJ concluded

that Plaintiff could perform jobs that exist in significant numbers in the national economy,

including cleaner, laundry laborer, and assembler. (Tr. 29). Therefore, the ALJ

determined that Plaintiff was not under a disability. (Tr. 30). Plaintiff urges this Court to

reverse, arguing that ALJ erred by: (1) formulating Plaintiff’s RFC; and (2) weighing the

medical opinions. Upon careful review, the undersigned finds that Plaintiff’s contentions

are well-taken.

II. Analysis

A. Judicial Standard of Review

To be eligible for benefits, a claimant must be under a “disability.” See 42 U.S.C.

§1382c(a). Narrowed to its statutory meaning, a “disability” includes only physical or

mental impairments that are both “medically determinable” and severe enough to prevent

the applicant from (1) performing his or her past job and (2) engaging in “substantial

gainful activity” that is available in the regional or national economies. See Bowen v. City

of New York, 476 U.S. 467, 469-70 (1986).

When a court is asked to review the Commissioner’s denial of benefits, the court’s

first inquiry is to determine whether the ALJ’s non-disability finding is supported by

substantial evidence. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Substantial evidence is “such relevant

evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.”

Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971) (additional citation and internal quotation

omitted). In conducting this review, the court should consider the record as a whole.

Hephner v. Mathews, 574 F.2d 359, 362 (6th Cir. 1978). If substantial evidence supports

the ALJ’s denial of benefits, then that finding must be affirmed, even if substantial

evidence also exists in the record to support a finding of disability. Felisky v. Bowen, 35

F.3d 1027, 1035 (6th Cir. 1994). As the Sixth Circuit has explained:

The Secretary’s findings are not subject to reversal merely because

substantial evidence exists in the record to support a different conclusion....

The substantial evidence standard presupposes that there is a ‘zone of

choice’ within which the Secretary may proceed without interference from

the courts. If the Secretary’s decision is supported by substantial evidence,

a reviewing court must affirm.

Id. (citations omitted).

In considering an application for supplemental security income or for disability

benefits, the Social Security Agency is guided by the following sequential benefits

analysis: at Step 1, the Commissioner asks if the claimant is still performing substantial

gainful activity; at Step 2, the Commissioner determines if one or more of the claimant’s

impairments are “severe;” at Step 3, the Commissioner analyzes whether the claimant’s

impairments, singly or in combination, meet or equal a Listing in the Listing of

Impairments; at Step 4, the Commissioner determines whether or not the claimant can

still perform his or her past relevant work; and finally, at Step 5, if it is established that

claimant can no longer perform his or her past relevant work, the burden of proof shifts to

the agency to determine whether a significant number of other jobs which the claimant

can perform exist in the national economy. See Combs v. Com’r of Soc. Sec., 459 F.3d

640, 643 (6th Cir. 2006); 20 C.F.R. §§404.1520, 416.920.

A plaintiff bears the ultimate burden to prove by sufficient evidence that she is

entitled to disability benefits. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1512(a). A claimant seeking benefits must

present sufficient evidence to show that, during the relevant time period, she suffered an

impairment, or combination of impairments, expected to last at least twelve months, that

left her unable to perform any job. 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A).

B. The ALJ’s Decision is not Substantially Supported

Plaintiff challenges the ALJ’s RFC assessment. Specifically, Plaintiff argues that

the ALJ’s RFC determination cannot be sustained because he failed to adopt the findings

of Dr. Rotundo, failed to properly consider Plaintiff’s use of a job coach and her inability

to work in a competitive full-time work environment. Plaintiff’s contentions are well-taken.

The RFC is the most activity Plaintiff can do despite the physical and mental

limitations resulting from her impairments. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1545(a), 416.945(a); Poe v.

Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 342 F. App’x 149, 155-56 (6th Cir. 2009) (citing the regulations). It

is a determination based on all of the relevant medical and other evidence and is

ultimately an administrative determination reserved to the Commissioner. See 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1545(a)(3), 416.945(a)(3); Social Security Ruling (SSR) 96-8p, 1996 WL 374184

(July 2, 1996). Plaintiff has the burden to provide evidence to establish the RFC. See 20

C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(3); SSR 96-8p.

Here, in formulating Plaintiff’s RFC, the ALJ acknowledged Plaintiff’s testimony

that her autism spectrum disorder and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)

cause difficulties with memory, concentration, completing tasks, handling stress, adapting

to change, and getting along with others. (Tr. 21; Tr. 49-57). He also summarized the

subjective reports of Plaintiff’s parents, set forth in a detailed letter dated August 2019,

as well as Plaintiff’s mother’s testimony at the hearing (Tr. 20-21; 59-67, 345-47). The

ALJ specifically acknowledged her parents’ reports that she struggled in college, had

meltdowns in stressful situations, and tried to work a 40-hour week but found it too

stressful. (Tr. 20-21; Tr. 60-61, 67, 345-47).

The ALJ discussed educational records showing that while Plaintiff had an

individualized education plan (IEP) in school, her intellectual functioning was within

average range (Tr. 22; Tr. 360-62, 422, 458-61 (intelligence testing from 2001 and 2016,

with scores in average range)). The ALJ also discussed the report of Dr. Amie Duncan,

who evaluated Plaintiff in July 2016. (Tr. 23-24; Tr. 420-31). The ALJ acknowledged the

statements of Plaintiff’s parents to Dr. Duncan that she struggled with sudden and

unexpected changes, but that she had shown improvement in managing her emotions.

(Tr. 23; Tr. 420). He also noted their reports that she was independent in managing her

personal care, cooked, cleaned, did laundry, paid her own bills, got along well with them,

occasionally attended social events, and attended an autism support group. (Tr. 23; Tr.

421).

The ALJ found persuasive the opinion of Dr. Jeffrey Baker, who examined Plaintiff

in June 2015. (Tr. 22; Tr. 368-69). Dr. Baker opined that Plaintiff would have intermittent

impairment and would not always perform satisfactorily. (Tr. 368). He opined that she

would function best and would be able to sustain concentration if given very short and

simple instructions. (Tr. 368). He further opined that Plaintiff should be able to make

simple work-related decisions, and function at a normal pace but may need more brief

rest periods. (Tr. 368). Additionally, he found Plaintiff had the ability to accept simple

instructions and respond appropriately to supervisors, would not respond well to criticism,

could be distracted when working alongside coworkers, would not respond to change

well, but would be able to set realistic goals if they were simple and concretely described.

(Tr. 368). The ALJ found the opinion was consistent with the evidence showing Plaintiff

had worked at near substantial gainful activity (SGA) levels during the relevant period,

and the numerous reports that she expressed a desire for more hours or was looking for

more work (Tr. 22; Tr. 264, 265, 266-67 (earnings records), Tr. 506, 619, 915, 1355

(Plaintiff’s statements that she wanted more hours at work)).

The ALJ also found persuasive the opinion of the psychiatric consultative

examiner, Dr. James Rosenthal, who evaluated Plaintiff in November 2017 and March

2018 and opined in March 2018 that she was “functioning adequately” in terms of

understanding, remembering and completing directions, maintaining attention and

concentration, maintaining persistence and pace for simple and multi-step tasks, and also

noted no difficulties in responding appropriately to supervision and co-workers and

responding appropriately to work pressure. (Tr. 24-25; Tr. 674- 79; 680-86).

The ALJ also found persuasive the opinions of the State agency psychological

consultants, Dr. Katherine Reid and Dr. Patricia Kirwin, both of whom opined that Plaintiff

would be capable of routine one to four step tasks, with occasional prompts needed for

more complex tasks, and no strict pace or production demands. (Tr. 26-27; Tr. 88, 127).

They further found Plaintiff would be limited to occasional superficial interaction with the

general public and occasional needs-based interaction with fellow coworkers, and any

feedback given by a supervisor would need to be given in a calm and clear manner. (Tr.

26-27; Tr. 89, 128). Finally, they also found Plaintiff would be limited to a static work

environment that only undergoes occasional changes to the type of work that is

conducted or the procedures necessary to complete the work that is assigned, and any

changes would need to be known in advance so that Plaintiff could prepare to adapt. (Tr.

26-27; Tr. 89, 128). The ALJ found these opinions were consistent with Plaintiff’s

educational history and work history at near SGA levels, the reports that she was doing

well at her job and interacting appropriately with others, and her daily activities including

managing her finances and driving herself to and from work. (Tr. 27; Tr. 22; Tr. 58, 61-

62, 264, 265, 266-67, 299-306, 354-46, 421, 1034).

The ALJ also considered the report of Dr. Kimberly Rotundo, who examined

Plaintiff in March 2016. (Tr. 22-23; Tr. 456-62). Dr. Rotundo found that performance

testing reflected borderline average-to-low-average intellectual skills and academic

abilities. She noted that Plaintiff struggled with language-based tasks that required her

to infer meaning and align responses to open ended questions. Id. Dr. Rotundo also

noted that relative weaknesses were also found in activities that required planning,

organizing, recalling, and initiating activities (controlled executive functioning and working

memory). Dr. Rotundo opined that Plaintiff “will require a highly structured and supportive

learning or vocational environment to address difficulties relative to Autism.” (Tr. 461). Dr.

Rotundo also referred Plaintiff to follow up with the Vocational Education and Disabilities

Services at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. Id. The ALJ found that Dr.

Rotundo’s findings were not persuasive “as the claimant lives by herself and has worked

since the alleged onset date without a highly structured environment.” (Tr. 23). The ALJ’s

finding in this regard is not substantially supported by the record.

The record contains statements from Plaintiff’s parents noting that after graduating

high school, Plaintiff went to college and was enrolled in a disability services program.

However, she quit school because it was too demanding. In 2017, with her autism

diagnosis, qualified for services through Butler County Board of Developmental

Disabilities. (Tr. 24). Plaintiff was then able to obtain a job coach and a vocational

specialist to help her find a job and remain employable. (Tr. 20-21). The record indicates

that Plaintiff met with the job coach regularly and that the coach visited the job site to

observe Plaintiff and give her guidance and feedback on her job performance. (Tr. 934-

1157).

As noted above, the ALJ afforded great weight to the findings of state agency

psychologists because they were “consistent with the evidence that Plaintiff has been

able to work since the alleged onset date at a grocery store and with children.” (Tr. 27).

The ALJ also discounted Dr. Rotundo’s opinion because Plaintiff lives by herself and has

worked since the alleged onset date without a highly structured environment.” (Tr. 23).

Such findings are erroneous. Although the ALJ found that record indicates that Plaintiff

worked near SGA levels in 2018 and 2019, he failed to note that she did so with significant

assistance from a job coach and services from the Butler County Board of Developmental

Disabilities.

Furthermore, the ALJ discussed records from Plaintiff’s job coach, specifically

noting her coach’s observations that Plaintiff was generally respectful and appropriate to

coworkers, that she showed “excellent” customer service, that when she became

stressed, she would take deep breaths to calm down, and that her supervisor said she

was doing well. (Tr. 25- 26; Tr. 934, 942, 945, 946, 955, 958, 960, 961). However, he

failed to include any discussion regarding his decision to exclude her use of a job coach

from her RFC. As noted by Plaintiff, the vocational expert testified at the hearing that an

individual who needed a job coach to check performance would be considered a sheltered

work environment and would be unable to sustain competitive employment. (Tr. 71).

Thus, with an assessment of this key piece of evidence missing, it is impossible

for the Court to determine whether the ALJ's decision is supported by substantial

evidence. Therefore, remand is necessary for the ALJ to properly determine Plaintiff’s

need for a job coach in order to sustain gainful employment.

III. Conclusion and Order

This matter is herein remanded pursuant to Sentence Four of § 405(g) for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion. A sentence four remand under 42 U.S.C. §

405(g) provides the required relief in cases where there is insufficient evidence in the

record to support the Commissioner's conclusions and further fact-finding is

necessary. See Faucher v. Secretary of Health and Human Servs., 17 F.3d 171, 174 (6th

Cir. 1994) (citations omitted). In a sentence four remand, the Court makes a final

judgment on the Commissioner's decision and “may order the Secretary to consider

additional evidence on remand to remedy a defect in the original proceedings, a defect

which caused the Secretary's misapplication of the regulations in the first place.” Faucher,

17 F.3d at 175. All essential factual issues have not been resolved in this matter, nor does

the current record adequately establish Plaintiff's entitlement to benefits as of her alleged

onset date. Id. at 176.

For the reasons explained herein, IT IS ORDERED THAT: the decision of the

Commissioner to deny Plaintiff disability benefits is REVERSED and REMANDED under

sentence four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) consistent with this opinion. As no further matters

remain pending for the Court's review, this case is CLOSED.

s/Stephanie K. Bowman

Stephanie K. Bowman

United States Magistrate Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.