Opinion

Dakota Girls, LLC v. Philadelphia Indemnity Insurance Company

Court
District Court, S.D. Ohio
Filed
Mar 8, 2021
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 28.2%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

DAKOTA GIRLS, LLC, et al.,

Plaintiffs, :

Case No. 2:20-cv-2035

Judge Sarah D. Morrison

v.

Magistrate Judge Kimberly A.

Jolson

PHILADELPHIA INDEMNITY

INSURANCE CO., :

Defendant.

OPINION AND ORDER

This case was filed by owner-operators of private preschools against their

insurer over a dispute regarding insurance coverage for losses stemming from the

COVID-19 global pandemic. As a result of the pandemic, Plaintiffs’ operations were

shut down and/or suspended following orders, issued by the State of Ohio, aimed at

limiting the spread of the virus. One or more of those orders interrupted Plaintiffs’

businesses and prohibited access to and operation of their business premises. The

Second Amended Complaint (“SAC”) alleges that Defendant Philadelphia Indemnity

Insurance Co. (“PIIC”) improperly denied coverage for lost business income, extra

expense, and interruption by civil authority caused by those orders. (SAC, ECF No.

22.)

Currently pending before the Court are three motions. First, is PIIC’s Motion

to Dismiss the SAC. (Mot. to Dismiss, ECF No. 24.) Plaintiffs responded to that

Motion (Resp. in Opp’n, ECF No. 32) and PIIC filed a reply (Reply, ECF No. 36). An

amicus curiae brief was filed by United Policyholders on the issues raised in the

Motion to Dismiss. (ECF No. 30-1.) Second is PIIC’s Motion to Sever. (ECF No. 25.)

Plaintiffs also oppose this Motion (ECF No. 27) and PIIC filed a reply (ECF No. 28).

The third motion is the Motion of American Property Casualty Insurance

Association (“APCIA”) and National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies

(“NAMIC”) for Leave to File Amicus Curiae Brief. (ECF No. 67.) Plaintiffs oppose

this motion (ECF No. 69) and the proposed amici replied. (ECF No. 70.)

All three motions are ripe for consideration. For the reasons that follow,

PIIC’s Motion to Dismiss is GRANTED. PIIC’s Motion to Sever is, accordingly,

DENIED AS MOOT. Finally, APCIA and NAMIC’s Motion for Leave to File

Amicus Curiae Brief is DENIED.

I. BACKGROUND

The following summary is drawn from the factual allegations in the SAC. On

a Motion to Dismiss, all such factual allegations are taken as true.

A. The Policies

Plaintiffs own and operate private preschools in Ohio. (SAC, ¶ 1.) Each

Plaintiff purchased commercial insurance policies1 from PIIC (“the Policies”), which

Policies were in place during the relevant time periods. (Id., ¶¶ 1, 6–7.)

1 The Court may properly consider the Policies without converting the instant motion to one

for summary judgment. See Com. Money Ctr., Inc. v. Illinois Union Ins. Co., 508 F.3d 327, 336 (6th

Cir. 2007) (citation omitted) (a court may consider matters outside the complaint when ruling on a

motion to dismiss “when the document outside the complaint is referred to or attached to the

pleadings and is integral to plaintiff’s claims”).

The Policies are “all-risk policies” that “covered all risks of loss except for

risks that are expressly and specifically excluded.” (Id., ¶ 8.) The Policy provisions

relevant to this action are as follows:

• Building and Personal Property Coverage. Covers “direct physical

loss of or damage to Covered Property at the premises described

in the Declarations caused by or resulting from any Covered

Cause of Loss.”2 (Id., ¶ 10.)

• Business Income Coverage. Covers actual lost Business Income

sustained due to the necessary “‘suspension’ of [their] ‘operations’

during the ‘period of restoration’ caused by direct physical loss of

or damage to” the property described in the Policies. (Id., ¶ 15.)

• Civil Authority Coverage. Triggered by damage to property other

than property at the premises described in the Policies, covers

“actual loss of Business Income [Plaintiffs] sustain and necessary

Extra Expense caused by action of civil authority that prohibits

access to the described premises, provided that both of the

following apply: (1) Access to the area immediately surrounding

the damaged property is prohibited by civil authority as a result

of the damage, and the described premises are within that area

but are not more than one mile from the damaged property; and

(2) The action of civil authority is taken in response to dangerous

physical conditions resulting from the damage or continuation of

the Covered Cause of Loss that caused the damage, or the action

is taken to enable a civil authority to have unimpeded access to

the damaged property.” (Id., ¶ 21.)

• Communicable Disease Coverage. Covers “actual loss of ‘business

income’ you sustain and necessary ‘extra expense’ you incur

during a ‘period of restoration’ as a result of having your entire

‘operations’ temporarily shut down or suspended. The shutdown

or ‘suspension’ must be ordered by a local, state or federal Board

of Health having jurisdiction over your ‘operations.’ Such

shutdown must be due directly to an outbreak of a ‘communicable

disease’ or a ‘water-borne pathogen’ that causes an actual illness

at the insured premises described in the Declarations. An actual

business shutdown must occur.” (Id., ¶ 25.)

2 Any terms defined in the Policies (such as capitalized terms or terms set off by quotation

marks) will take on the definitions given in the Policy. The Court will only recite the definitions

herein to the extent necessary.

The Building and Personal Property Coverage and the Business Income

Coverage both generally provide that, when an insured experiences a “direct

physical loss of or damage” to covered property, the loss is covered. (ECF No. 24-1,3

PAGEID # 5477, 5493.) Likewise, the Civil Authority Coverage kicks in when a civil

authority bars access to covered property in response to “direct physical loss or

damage to other property.” (ECF No. 24-20, 7.) The Policies do not define the term

“direct physical loss of or damage to,” nor do they explain the distinction between

“physical loss” and “damage.” (SAC, ¶ 11.) Plaintiffs also have Communicable

Disease Coverage. (SAC, ¶ 24. See also ECF No. 24-21.) That coverage does not

require physical loss or damage, but will cover losses incurred during a Period of

Restoration when a local, state, or federal Board of Health shuts down or

suspends operations due to an outbreak of a communicable disease that causes

an actual illness at the insured premises. (ECF 24-21.)

Plaintiffs assert that their losses caused by the COVID-19 pandemic are

covered losses under the Policies. To that end, Plaintiffs allege that they have each

submitted or attempted to submit a claim with PIIC, but PIIC has either refused to

pay the claims or failed to adequately investigate the claims. (SAC, ¶¶ 36, 60-64.)

B. COVID-19 shutdown of Plaintiffs’ operations

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, Plaintiffs’ operations were shut down

as of 11:59 p.m. on March 25, 2020. (Id., ¶¶ 28, 34, 49.) This shutdown was a result

3 Citations to the Policies herein are to the policy held by Dakota Girls, LLC (ECF No. 24-1).

All of the Plaintiffs policies contain the same operative language other than the Virus Exclusion,

which is discussed infra.

of two orders from the State of Ohio (the “Closure Orders”). First, on March 22,

2020, Governor Mike DeWine ordered that “all day care programs must close by

11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, March 25, 2020.” (Id.. ¶ 46.) On March 24, then-Director

of the Ohio Department of Health, Amy Acton, MD, MPH, signed a Director’s Order

to “Close Facilities Providing Child Care Services,” stating that facilities providing

child care services were being closed “to avoid an imminent threat with a high

probability of widespread exposure to COVID-19 with a significant risk of

substantial harm to a large number of people in the general population.” (Id., ¶ 47.)

Childcare providers were permitted to re-open in May of 2020, with reduced staff-

to-child ratios and other restrictions. (Id., ¶ 51.)

Each Plaintiff alleges that there had been individuals on their premises with

symptoms consistent with COVID-19, including, but not limited to, fever or chills,

cough, shortness of breath, fatigue, muscle or body aches, sore throat, congestion, or

runny nose, or who potentially had contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-

19. (Id., ¶ 29.) However, due to the unavailability of widespread testing, in

combination with the fact that children under age 2 were not being tested, Plaintiffs

represent that it was impossible or impractical to receive a positive COVID-19

confirmation for those individuals. (Id., ¶ 29.)

Because of the closures and the nature and extent of the COVID-19 disease,

Plaintiffs’ facilities were rendered uninhabitable and unusable for periods of time

in 2020. (Id., ¶ 54.)

C. Procedural Background

The original Complaint was filed in this matter by Dakota Girls, LLC dba

The Goddard School of Grove City and Elliott Care, LLC dba The Goddard School of

Worthington on April 22, 2020. (ECF No. 1.) A First Amended Complaint was filed

to add 13 more plaintiffs, each a preschool with substantively similar allegations.

(ECF No. 8). The currently operative pleading is the SAC, which joined two more

plaintiffs and certain additional allegations. (ECF No. 20.) The SAC seeks a

declaratory judgment and asserts claims for bad faith and breach of contract. (See

generally, SAC.) PIIC’s Motion to Dismiss and Motion to Sever were filed in

response to the SAC.

II. SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION

Plaintiffs assert that this Court has jurisdiction over their claims under 28

U.S.C. § 1332. (SAC, ¶ 3.) Because the SAC did not include sufficient information to

determine whether complete diversity existed among the parties, the Court ordered

Plaintiffs to file a notice supplementing its jurisdictional allegations. (ECF No. 48.)

In response, Plaintiffs provided sufficient information for the Court to establish that

complete diversity of citizenship in fact exists among the parties. (ECF No. 66.) This

Court has jurisdiction over the claims.

III. MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF

The APCIA and the NAMIC moved for leave to file Amicus Curiae brief on

February 5, 2021— more than six months after PIIC filed its Motion to Dismiss and

more than five months after PIIC filed its Reply. (ECF No. 67.) As this Court

recently stated, one of the factors relevant to the determination of amicus status is

whether the proffered information is timely. (See ECF No. 49, 2 (citing U.S. v. City

of Columbus, No. 2:99-CV-1097, 2000 WL 1745293, at *1 (S.D. Ohio Nov. 20, 2000)

(Holschuh, J.).) Yet, APCIA and NAMIC moved to file an amicus brief long after

the Motion to Dismiss was filed and after the Court ordered that “[n]o further

briefing will be allowed.” (Id., 3.) If the issues raised in PIIC’s Motion to Dismiss

were of such great importance to the proposed amici, they should have sought leave

to file their brief simultaneous with (or at least close in time to) the briefing that

mattered to them. For example, and in contrast to their conduct, amicus United

Policyholders sought leave to file its brief promptly after PIIC’s Motion to Dismiss

was filed. Additional briefing at the eleventh hour will unduly delay the Court’s

ruling on PIIC’s Motion to Dismiss and Motion to Sever. The Motion for Leave to

File Amicus Curiae Brief is DENIED.

IV. MOTION TO DISMISS

PIIC now moves to dismiss Plaintiffs’ breach of contract and bad faith claims,

as set out in the SAC. However, the SAC does not plausibly allege any “direct

physical loss or damage” caused by COVID-19, as is required to trigger application

of the Building Personal Property Coverage, Business Income Coverage, or Civil

Authority Coverage. Nor does it plausibly allege that the Communicable Disease

Coverage properly applies. Because the breach of contract claim fails, so too must

the bad faith claim.

A. Standard of Review

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12 authorizes dismissal of a lawsuit for

“failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6).

To meet this standard, the complaint must allege sufficient facts to state a claim

that is “plausible on its face.” Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544, 570 (2007).

“A claim has facial plausibility when the plaintiff pleads factual content that allows

the court to draw the reasonable inference that the defendant is liable for the

misconduct alleged.” Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 556 U.S. 662, 678 (2009). In considering a

Rule 12(b)(6) motion, the Court construes the complaint in the light most favorable

to the non-moving party, accepting as true all of plaintiff’s factual allegations.

Gunasekera v. Irwin, 551 F.3d 461, 466 (6th Cir. 2009).

Nonetheless, the Court must read Rule 12 in conjunction with Federal Rule

of Civil Procedure 8(a), which requires a short and plain statement of the claim

showing that the plaintiff is entitled to relief. Ogle v. BAC Home Loans Servicing

LP, 924 F. Supp. 2d 902, 907 (S.D. Ohio 2013) (Smith, J.). Thus, the pleading’s

factual allegations, assumed to be true, must do more than create mere speculation

or suspicion of a legally cognizable claim; they must show entitlement to relief.

League of United Latin Am. Citizens v. Bredesen, 500 F.3d 523, 527 (6th Cir. 2007).

See also Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a)(2). Further, “the tenet that a court must accept a

complaint’s allegations as true is inapplicable to threadbare recitals of a cause of

action’s elements, supported by mere conclusory statements.” Iqbal, 556 U.S. at 678.

As such, while a plaintiff is not required to set forth detailed factual allegations at

the pleading stage, the complaint must contain a basis upon which relief can be

granted; a recitation of facts intimating the “mere possibility of misconduct” will not

suffice. Id. at 679.

B. Declaratory Judgment and Breach of Contract Claims

The Court begins with a review of the rules of insurance policy

interpretation. Under Ohio law,4 insurance contracts are construed like any other

written contract. Scott v. Allstate Indem. Co., 417 F. Supp. 2d 929, 932 (N.D. Ohio

2006). “The court’s role in interpreting a contract is to give effect to the intent of the

parties.” Fujitec Am., Inc. v. AXIS Surplus Ins. Co., 458 F. Supp. 3d 736, 743 (S.D.

Ohio 2020) (Litkovitz, M.J.) (quotation omitted). To give such effect, “[c]ontract

terms are generally to be given their ordinary meaning when the terms are clear on

their face,” and courts must “apply the plain language of the contract when the

intent of the parties is evident from the clear and unambiguous language in a

provision.” CoMa Ins. Agency v. Safeco Ins. Co., 526 F. App’x 465, 468 (6th Cir.

2013) (citations omitted). See also Foster Wheeler Enviresponse, Inc. v. Franklin

Cnty. Convention Facilities Auth., 678 N.E.2d 519, 526 (Ohio 1997). “An insurance

contract will only require interpretation if the applicable language is ambiguous—

that is, open to more than one interpretation.” Scott, 417 F.Supp.2d at 932. When

an insurance contract contains ambiguous language, such language must be

“construed strictly against the insurer and liberally in favor of the insured.” Id.

However, “liberal construction cannot be used to create an ambiguity where one

does not exist.” Id. “If the terms of a policy are clear and unambiguous, a court must

enforce the contract as written, giving words used in the contract their plain and

ordinary meaning.” Id. at 933. It follows then, that “where an exclusionary clause in

an insurance contract is unambiguous, Ohio law requires that the plain language of

4 “When an insurance contract predicated upon diversity jurisdiction is before [the] Court,

the substantive law of the forum state, the state in which the lawsuit was filed, must be applied.”

Nat’l Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, PA v. Paterson, 417 F. Supp. 3d 888, 893 (N.D. Ohio 2019)

(citation omitted).

the clause be given effect.” Id.

The Court will analyze the Building Personal Property and Business Income

Coverages, the Civil Authority Coverage, and the Communicable Disease Coverage

in accordance with these principles, and in turn.

1. Building Personal Property and Business Income

Coverages

PIIC first argues that Plaintiffs failed to plead sufficient facts to bring their

claims under the Policies’ Building Personal Property and Business Income

Coverages. (Mot. to Dismiss, 10–12.) Specifically, PIIC argues that those Coverages

require a “direct physical loss of or damage to” covered property, yet Plaintiffs fail to

plead facts describing any physical change, alteration, or damage to any covered

property. Plaintiffs do not dispute that the Policies require “direct physical loss or

damage” to property. Rather, Plaintiffs argue that PIIC’s definition of that term is

unduly restrictive because, under the Policies, “direct physical loss” can reasonably

be interpreted to include the loss of use of the property. (Resp. in Opp’n, 13–14.) It is

Plaintiffs’ position that they have plausibly alleged a claim when this broader

definition is employed.

Plaintiffs are not the first litigants to adopt this argument. Our sister Court

in the Northern District5 has considered the precise question here at issue—

5In Neuro-Communication Services, Inc. v. The Cincinnati Ins. Co., the Court certified two

questions to the Ohio Supreme Court:

Does the general presence in the community, or on surfaces at a premises, of the novel

coronavirus known as SARS-CoV-2, constitute direct physical loss or damage to

property; or does the presence on a premises of a person infected with COVID-19

constitute direct physical loss or damage to property at that premises?

whether loss of use resulting from COVID-19 business shutdowns constitutes

“direct physical loss of or damage” to property—on several recent occasions. See,

e.g., Santo’s Italian Café LLC v. Acuity Ins. Co., __ F. Supp. 3d __, 2020 WL 7490095

(N.D. Ohio Dec. 21, 2020) (Barker, J.); Family Tacos, LLC v. Auto Owners Ins. Co.,

__ F. Supp. 3d __, 2021 WL 615307 (N.D. Ohio Feb. 17, 2021) (Calabrese, J.). See

also Brunswick Panini’s, LLC v. Zurich Am. Ins. Co., No. 1:20-CV-1895, 2021 WL

663675 (N.D. Ohio Feb. 19, 2021) (Boyko, J.). But see Henderson Rd. Rest. Sys., Inc.

v. Zurich Am. Ins. Co., No. 1:20-CV-1239, 2021 WL 168422 (N.D. Ohio Jan. 19,

2021) (Polster, J.) (concluding that the phrase “direct physical loss of or damage to

property” is ambiguous). This Court finds the analysis by Judges Barker and

Calabrese persuasive here.

It is true, the Policies do not define “direct physical loss or damage.”

However, the fact that the Policies do not define the terms does not make them

ambiguous. Penton Media, Inc. v. Affiliated FM Ins. Co., No. 1:03-CV-2111, 2005

WL 8171363, at *6 (N.D. Ohio Sept. 30, 2005) (citing Chicago Title Ins. Co. v.

Huntington Nat’l Bank, 719 N.E.2d 955, 959 (Ohio 1999)). Rather, the Court will

give common words “their ordinary meaning unless manifest absurdity results, or

unless some other meaning is clearly evidenced from the face or overall contents of

No. 4:20-CV-1275, 2021 WL 274318, at *1 (N.D. Ohio Jan. 19, 2021). Plaintiffs submitted argument

to the Ohio Supreme Court opposing acceptance of the certified questions, in part because “[w]ell-

established Ohio precedent already directs the U.S. District Court how to interpret the particular

commercial liability insurance policy at issue . . . .” Prelim. Mem. of Amici Curiae Interested

Businesses Throughout Ohio Opposing Acceptance of Certified Questions filed Feb 18, 2021, in

Neuro-Communications Services, Inc. v. The Cincinnati Ins. Co., Ohio Supreme Court Case No. 2021-

0130. This Court agrees with Plaintiffs: the law in this area is well-established. Accordingly, this

Court need not delay its decision.

the instruments.” Foster Wheeler Enviresponse, 678 N.E.2d at 526 (quotation

omitted). Looking at the ordinary meaning of the operative words, in view of the

context, “physical” means “having material existence: perceptible especially through

the senses and subject to the laws of nature.” Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary,

https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/physical (last visited March 5, 2021).

In turn, “loss” means “destruction, ruin” or “the act of losing possession:

deprivation.” Id., https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/loss (last visited

March 5, 2021). And, finally, “damage” means “loss or harm resulting from injury to

person, property, or reputation.” Id., https://www.merriam-

webster.com/dictionary/damage (last visited March 5, 2021). As Judge Calabrese

reasoned in Family Tacos:

[t]aking these words together according to their ordinary meanings,

“physical loss of” property means material, perceptible destruction or

deprivation of possession. “Physical damage to” property means

material, perceptible harm. In other words, the phrase intends a

tangible loss of or harm to the insured property, in whole or in part. As

the trigger for coverage, this policy language excludes financial or

monetary losses resulting from the novel coronavirus, SARS-CoV-2,

which occasioned this dispute for the simple reason that the virus did

not work any perceptible harm to the properties at issue, even if

(construing the allegations in Plaintiff’s favor) the virus may be found

on surfaces there.

2021 WL 615307, at *5. Accordingly, the Policies require more than a simple “loss of

use” of the property. For coverage under the Policies, there must be a material or

perceptible destruction, harm, or ruin to covered property.

Plaintiffs’ proposed interpretation of the language at issue is simply not

supported by the ordinary meaning of that language, or Ohio courts’ past

interpretation of it. See Santo’s Italian Café, 2020 WL 7490095 at *8 (citing

Mastellone v. Lightning Rod Mut. Ins. Co., 884 N.E.2d 1130, 1143 (Ohio Ct. App.

2008)); Family Tacos, 2021 WL 615307 at *6–8 (discussing Ohio case law

interpreting “physical loss of or damage to” property). Namely,

[t]he requirement that the loss be ‘physical,’ given the ordinary

definition of that term, is widely held to exclude alleged losses that are

intangible or incorporeal, and, thereby, to preclude any claim against

the property insurer when the insured merely suffers a detrimental

economic impact unaccompanied by a distinct, demonstrable, physical

alteration of the property.

Mastellone, 884 N.E.2d at 1143 (quoting 10A COUCH ON INSURANCE (3d Ed. 1998),

§ 148:46).

Reading the term “physical loss” to mean material or perceptible destruction,

harm, or ruin is also consistent with other provisions of the Policies. See Russcher v.

Outdoor Underwriters, Inc., 821 F. App’x 509, 514 (6th Cir. 2020) (“Courts review

insurance policy terms in the context of the whole policy so as to read the terms in

harmony.”). For example, when there is coverage for Business Income and Extra

Expense, the Policies contemplate that such coverage will occur only during the

Period of Restoration. See, e.g., ECF No. 24-1, PAGEID # 5493 (“We will pay for the

actual loss of Business Income you sustain due to the necessary ‘suspension’ of your

‘operations’ during the ‘period of restoration’.”). The Period of Restoration is defined

as the period of time that begins after direct physical loss or damage and ends “on

the earlier of (1) The date when the property at the described premises should be

repaired, rebuilt or replaced . . . ; or (2) The date when business is resumed at a new

permanent location.” (Id, , PAGEID # 5501.) To interpret the Policies as requiring

anything other than that the covered premises be destroyed, ruined, or otherwise

materially or perceptibly altered would make the Period of Restoration definition

nonsensical.

In the SAC, Plaintiffs generically allege that they have experienced “direct

physical loss of or damage to Plaintiffs’ Covered Properties and business

operations.” (SAC, ¶¶ 54, 56.) However, these allegations are conclusory statements

mimicking the requirements of the Policies. Plaintiffs have not alleged any facts

that, if proven to be true, would establish that their property was destroyed, ruined,

or otherwise materially or perceptibly altered. Rather, the allegations make clear

that, at all times, Plaintiffs remained in possession of the insured premises and

those premises remained in their ordinary condition; it was only that the ways in

which they could operate on those premises was limited. Accordingly, Plaintiffs

have failed to allege facts sufficient to bring them under the Policies’ Building

Personal Property Coverage or Business Income Coverage.

2. Civil Authority Coverage

Plaintiffs also allege that the Policies require coverage of their losses under

the Civil Authority Coverage, which is separate from and in addition to the other

coverages under the Policies. The Civil Authority Coverage provides coverage when

a civil authority prohibits access to the insured’s premises due to “direct physical

loss of or damage to” property other than the insured’s premises. PIIC argues that

Plaintiffs failed to plausibly allege that the Closure Orders were directly in

response to any physical loss or damage to another property, which is a necessary

condition for such coverage.

Because the Civil Authority Coverage also depends on the meaning of the

“direct physical loss of or damage to” property, the above analysis applies here as

well. Under the plain and ordinary meaning of the Policies’ language, “direct

physical loss or damage” is not implicated by COVID-19 conditions that occurred

without material or perceptible destruction or alteration of property. Plaintiffs have

not alleged that the Closure Orders were issued in response to any actual physical

loss or damage to the property of others; they allege only that the Closure Orders

were issued “in response to dangerous physical conditions.” (SAC, ¶ 34).

The language of the Closure Orders does not rescue Plaintiffs’ claims. While

Plaintiffs cite to the fact that a subsequent Ohio Department of Health Order

recognized COVID-19’s “propensity to physically impact surfaces and personal

property” (Resp. in Opp’n, 26), that undisputed propensity is not a substitute for

factual allegations of direct physical loss of property. Not a one of the Closure

Orders provides that it was issued “due to any direct loss of or damage to property.”

Plaintiffs have therefore not alleged facts sufficient to invoke the Civil Authority

Coverage of the Policy.

3. Communicable Disease Coverage

Finally, PIIC argues that Plaintiffs failed to allege that there was an actual

outbreak or illness at any of the insured premises as is necessary for coverage under

the Policies’ Communicable Disease Coverage. Unlike the coverages previously

discussed, PIIC’s Communicable Disease Coverage does not require direct physical

loss or damage to property. Rather, by its terms, this coverage protects against

losses of business income resulting from the outbreak of a communicable disease.

Specifically, it covers losses caused

as a result of having your entire “operations” temporarily shut down

or suspended. The shutdown or “suspension” must be ordered by a

local, state or federal Board of Health having jurisdiction over your

“operations.” Such shutdown must be due directly to an outbreak of

a “communicable disease” or a “waterborne pathogen” that causes an

actual illness at the insured premises . . . . An actual business

shutdown must occur.

(Doc. 24-21, PAGEID # 10009.)

PIIC does not dispute that COVID-19 is a “communicable disease” or that

there was an order from a local or state Board of Health with jurisdiction over the

Plaintiffs that shut down or suspended their operations. The dispute is whether the

Policies require that the shutdown must be due to an “outbreak of a ‘communicable

disease’ . . . that causes an actual illness at the insured premises.” PIIC argues that

they do.

Plaintiffs argue that, applying the last antecedent rule, the Policies provide

coverage if the shutdown was due to either “an outbreak of a communicable

disease” or “a waterborne pathogen that causes actual illness at the insured

premises.” (Resp. in Opp’n, 29–30.) In other words, they argue that the language

“that causes actual illness at the insured premises” describes “waterborne

pathogen” and not “communicable disease.”

The Ohio Supreme Court has held that the last antecedent rule cannot be

used to contravene the intent of an insurance policy “if there is contrary evidence

that demonstrates that a qualifying phrase was intended to apply to more than the

term immediately preceding it[.]” Wohl v. Swinney, 888 N.E.2d 1062, 1065 (Ohio

2008). Accordingly, the Court must examine the contract as a whole to determine

whether any contrary intent appears. Id. (citing Westfield Ins. Co. v. Galatis, 797

N.E.2d 1256, 1261 (Ohio 2003) (“When confronted with an issue of contractual

interpretation, the role of a court is to give effect to the intent of the parties to the

agreement. We examine the insurance contract as a whole and presume that the

intent of the parties is reflected in the language used in the policy.”)).

When read as a whole, it becomes clear that the Communicable Disease

Coverage endorsement covers those losses arising from a communicable disease

outbreak at the insured premises – not for an outbreak occurring elsewhere. The

endorsement specifies covered expenses including those for cleaning equipment and

disinfecting the insured premises (see ECF 24-21, PAGEID # 10009), work that

would not be necessary unless there were an outbreak at the insured premises. The

endorsement also contemplates coverage for “extra expenses” incurred to minimize

the suspension of business if operations cannot continue (see id., PAGEID # 10010),

also steps that also would be irrelevant if the suspension of business was due to an

outbreak of illness in the general population. Similarly, benefits are payable under

the Communicable Disease Coverage for expenses incurred during a Period of

Restoration. The Period of Restoration begins when the insured’s operations are

closed and its “premises are evacuated due to illness caused by an outbreak of a

‘communicable disease . . .” (Id., PAGEID # 10011.) There would be no Period of

Restoration, as that term is defined in the endorsement, unless there was an actual

illness at the insured premises. These provisions contemplate an outbreak of

communicable disease on the insured’s premises, not an outbreak affecting the

public at large.

Accordingly, if interpreted as Plaintiffs propose, the last antecedent rule

would render other provisions of the Communicable Disease Coverage meaningless.

The rule therefore does not apply. The Policies can only be read to require that any

shutdown must be due to an outbreak of a communicable disease causing an actual

illness at the insured premises.

Nowhere in the SAC do Plaintiffs allege that COVID-19 was actually present

in or on its premises, or that anyone on premises was actually infected with COVID-

19. Instead, Plaintiffs allege that individuals on their premises exhibited symptoms

“consistent with COVID-19” but that such individuals were not tested for the

disease. (SAC, ¶¶ 29, 30.) Even construing these allegations in the light most

favorable to Plaintiffs, they fall short of a plausible allegation that there was “an

actual [COVID-19] illness at the insured premises.” There are no factual allegations

that raise a right to relief above the speculative level. Accordingly, Plaintiffs have

failed to allege facts sufficient to bring them under the Policies’ Communicable

Disease Coverage.

4. Virus Exclusion

According to PIIC, seven of the Plaintiffs’ Policies were subject to a Virus

Exclusion. (Mot. to Dismiss, p. 7.) However, because the SAC fails to plausibly

allege that benefits are otherwise payable under the Policies, there is no need for

the Court to analyze whether an exclusion applies.

C. Bad Faith Claim

PIIC also moves to dismiss Plaintiffs’ bad faith claim. “To successfully assert

a bad-faith claim, the insured must show that the insurer failed to exercise good

faith in processing a claim by refusing to pay or to defend the claim, when not based

upon circumstances that furnish reasonable justification therefor.” Wright State

Physicians, Inc. v. Doctors Co., 78 N.E.3d 284, 290 (Ohio Ct. App. 2016) (internal

quotations and citations omitted). Because Plaintiffs have failed to state a claim for

breach of contract, their bad faith claim necessarily fails as well. See Gehrisch v.

Chubb Grp. of Ins. Cos., 645 F. App’x. 488, 494 (6th Cir. 2016) (noting that, if an

insured’s breach of contract claim fails, so does his bad faith claim).

V. CONCLUSION

While there is no doubt that COVID-19 and the Closure Orders have had a

devastating impact on many businesses, Plaintiffs cannot plausibly allege that this

impact is covered under the Policies as written.

For the reasons set forth above, APCIA and NAMIC’s Motion for Leave to

File Amicus Curiae Brief (ECF No. 67) is DENIED. PIIC’s Motion to Dismiss the

SAC is GRANTED. PIIC’s Motion to Sever is DENIED AS MOOT.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ Sarah D. Morrison

SARAH D. MORRISON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.