Opinion

McLain v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, S.D. Ohio
Filed
Aug 30, 2019
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 28.1%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION AT DAYTON

EDWARD MCLAIN, : Case No. 3:18-cv-257

:

Plaintiff, :

: District Judge Walter H. Rice

vs. :

Magistrate Judge Sharon L. Ovington

:

COMMISSIONER OF THE SOCIAL :

SECURITY ADMINISTRATION, :

:

Defendant. :

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATIONS1

I. Introduction

Plaintiff Edward Mclain brings this case challenging the Social Security

Administration’s denial of his application for period of disability and Disability Insurance

Benefits. He applied for benefits on October 4, 2015, asserting that he could no longer

work a substantial paid job. After a hearing, Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) Elizabeth

A. Motta concluded that he was not eligible for benefits because he is not under a

“disability” as defined in the Social Security Act.

The case is before the Court upon Plaintiff’s Statement of Errors (Doc. #7), the

Commissioner’s Memorandum in Opposition (Doc. #8), Plaintiff’s Reply (Doc. #9), and

the administrative record (Doc. #6).

1 Attached is a NOTICE to the parties regarding objections to this Report and Recommendations.

Plaintiff seeks a remand of this case for payment of benefits or, at a minimum, for

further proceedings. The Commissioner asks the Court to affirm ALJ Motta’s non-

disability decision.

II. Background

Plaintiff asserts that he has been under a “disability” since September 18, 2015.

He was thirty-four years old at that time and was therefore considered a “younger person”

under Social Security Regulations. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1563(c). He has at least a high

school education. See id. § 404.1564(b)(4).

A. Plaintiff’s Testimony

Plaintiff testified at the hearing before ALJ Motta that his blood disorder—

hypogammaglobinemia—affects his ability to work. (Doc. #6, PageID #92). He

provided a cogent explanation of the disorder:

It affects about 1 in 25,000 people and … there’s two different

types. There’s specific and non-specific. I have non-specific

which means that all of my immunoglobulins are impacted by

the disease. Immunoglobulins are a type of blood cell that

fights off infections. [W]hen I have blood work done, mine do

not register so it’s general hypogammaglobulinemia. It causes

frequent infections mostly respiratory and bronchial infections

as well as digestive tract infections and stomach infections. I

spend quite a portion of my life being incredibly ill to the point

where I can’t even get out of bed where I have to … have my

food prepared and brought to me if I could eat. I can’t drive

when … I’m very ill so I rely very heavily on my mother as a

caregiver at this time.

Id. at 92-93.

For over three years, Plaintiff has had gamma-globulin infusion therapy every four

weeks. Id. at 93. “Essentially what they do is over a four-hour to five-hour period, they

infuse my blood with gamma globulins and what that does is that helps create an artificial

immune system in place of the immunoglobulins that my body would normally produce

to help fight off infections.” Id. After a transfusion, he is usually nauseated for the next

twenty-four hours. Id. at 100. He has anti-nausea medicine that sometimes helps. Id. If

it is really bad during the infusion, they will give him an anti-nausea injection. Id. He

also gets a headache and his arm hurts for the rest of the day. Id.

Although the infusions help, Plaintiff still gets infections “quite often”—every

four to six weeks. Id. at 93, 105. They are sometimes gastrointestinal infections but are

more often respiratory-related infections such as acute bronchitis or a sinus, ear, or upper-

respiratory infection. Id. at 105. When he has a respiratory-related infection, he

generally has a difficult time breathing. Id. He also has a hard time focusing because he

is so sick. Id. Most of the time, he is in bed. Id. “[A] lot of times I can’t get out of bed.

If I do attempt to get out of bed, … the room will kind of spin.” Id.

Plaintiff has asthma and uses inhalers. Id. at 94. At the time of the hearing, he

still smoked but was down to three or four cigarettes a day. Id. at 95. He has some other

health problems for which he takes medication, including simvastatin for high cholesterol

and lisinopril for high blood pressure. Id. He also takes medication to help digest food.

Id. at 94.

Plaintiff has a history of seizures. He takes medication, Keppra. Id. at 95. His

neurologist and psychiatrist diagnosed stress seizures. Id. at 102. He described what sort

of events raise his stress to that level:

[T]he most recent experience was on June 5 when my mother

quit her job over the phone and told me that she was moving to

Tennessee. She was originally going to move at the end of this

month which would have left me with six months of a lease to

pay with no job and no income to support myself. I had three

seizures back to back. They lasted maybe 45 seconds to a

minute/minute and a half. During the course of one of the

seizures, a bookcase did fall over on me. All the books fell on

me. Everything else in the bookcase fell on me. Really, the

frequency of the seizures depends on how stressed I get. I keep

track as per instructions by my neurologist. I keep a seizure

log to show when I have the seizures, what happened during

the seizure, whether or not I went to the hospital or the ER or

for how long afterwards I was postictal.

Id.

Plaintiff struggles with depression and anxiety. He has panic attacks “very

frequently.” Id. at 100. They last anywhere from ten to forty-five minutes. Id. at 101.

When asked what they feel like, Plaintiff responded, “How I feel right now. I sweat, I get

real bad dry mouth, … I can’t communicate effectively, sometimes I will feel like … I

can’t breathe and will have to either breathe into a bag or put my head between my knees

and try to breathe that way, I’m unable to focus on anything at all.” Id. at 100-01.

Additionally, Plaintiff has crying spells one or two times a week. Id. at 101. They

always last at least twenty to thirty minutes and sometimes more. Id. He has a hard time

getting out of bed ten to fifteen days a month. Id.

He began treatment with his psychiatrist, Dr. Barclay, and his therapist, Christine

Farens, in 2012. Id. at 107. Dr. Barclay has spent five years fine-tuning Plaintiff’s

medications. Id. at 94. Plaintiff takes two medications for depression, two for anxiety,

and one for sleeping. Id. The medications “keep things at bay.” Id. at 95. However,

when he has high anxiety, his medications do not help. Id. Likewise, there are times he

is depressed or cannot sleep. Id. For example, there are some days when he is awake for

twenty-four hours ruminating or feeling depressed and anxious. Id. After he spends that

much time awake, if the issue causing anxiety is resolved, he is able to get some sleep.

Id. at 98-99. Unfortunately, he still cannot sleep for eight hours at one time. Id. at 99.

Instead, he sleeps for about an hour, gets up for a few hours, and then goes back to sleep

for another hour. Id. If the issue is not resolved, he is not able to sleep during the day

and, instead, he watches TV, chain smokes, and sometimes paces. Id. When he has not

slept, he has a hard time concentrating and forming cohesive thoughts. Id.

Plaintiff lives in an apartment with his mother. Id. at 86-87. However, Plaintiff’s

mother planned to move to Tennessee in August 2017. Id. at 93. Plaintiff drives about

once a week. Id. at 87. He goes to the grocery store once a month. Id. at 97. Plaintiff’s

only contact with his friends is through Facebook. Id. at 98. If he is not doing

schoolwork and is not sick, he watches TV. Id.

Plaintiff completed his bachelor’s degree and began an online master’s program in

April 2015. Id. at 87. He anticipated graduating in August 2017. Id. at 87-88. It took

him two and a half years to complete the program because he was only able to take one

class per semester. Id. He estimated that, on average, he spent six to eight hours per

week on his online studies. Id. at 95-96. He had a disability accommodation that

allowed him 150-percent extra time for tests and an additional 24 hours to turn in

assignments. Id. at 106. His professors usually allowed him additional time—up to a full

week to turn in late assignments. Id.

In the past, Plaintiff worked as a manager at Journey Shoes, Pacific Sunwear, and

Family Video and as an assistant manager at Super Pets. Id. at 89. He also worked at the

call center for Victoria Secret direct catalog and as a student cashier at Sinclair

Community College. Id. at 89-90. He worked in a call center for GMB Servicing

Company/Synchrony Financial for three and a half years. Id. at 90-91. Plaintiff resigned

in lieu of being fired due to attendance issues. Id. at 91. He attempted to work part-time

at JP Morgan Chase but had the same attendance issues and resigned. Id.

Plaintiff was looking for jobs but stopped in February 2017 “when [he] realized …

there was just no possible way for [him] to hold a job. No one was willing to

accommodate the time that [he] needed to have off.” Id. at 96.

B. Medical Opinions

i. James Barclay, M.D.

In November 2015, Dr. Barclay, Plaintiff’s treating psychiatrist, diagnosed panic

disorder with agoraphobia. Id. at 1387. He explained that Plaintiff has panic attacks that

“come out of the blue without warning, and involve physical symptoms which make it

impossible for him at times to carry on with work.” Id. When he has to work with the

public, certain triggers can bring on a panic attack. Id. For example, Plaintiff fears that if

he brings up his physical symptoms at work, it will trigger a panic attack and he will have

to leave work. Id. He is afraid this will result in a reprimand or cause other issues. Id.

Mr. Barclay’s office assistant, Sheri Kaldor-McConaughy, provided a statement

regarding Plaintiff’s psychiatric treatment. She noted that he sees Dr. Barclay on a

monthly to bimonthly basis for medication management and psychotherapy. Id. at 1967.

Plaintiff also sees a therapist, Christine Ferens, on a monthly basis for psychotherapy. Id.

at 1968.

Plaintiff was being treated for major depressive disorder, panic disorder with

agoraphobia, insomnia, and borderline-personality disorder. Id. at 1967. His treatment

included four medications—fluvoxamine, quetiapine, alprazolam, and estazolam. Id.

Ms. Kaldor-McConaughy concluded,

Our providers cannot state that Mr. McLain is permanently

disabled for psychiatric reasons. He is still very young.

However, currently it has become apparent that due to

increased anxiety, depression, and stress this patient is having

a very hard time with overcoming his diagnosis. At this current

time, he is not fully well enough to be able to work on a steady

basis. It is believed that the prognosis is good if the patient

continues psychotherapy and medication which is prescribed

by Dr. Barclay and also additional therapy with his therapist

Christine Ferens.

Id.

ii. Satheesh Kathula, M.D.

Plaintiff’s treating hematologist, Dr. Kathula, indicated in February 2017 that

Plaintiff has hypogammaglobulinemia with frequent infections. Id. at 1964-65. “These[]

infections can occur monthly, every 4 – 6 weeks. The flare up of these infections can last

up to 1 – 2 weeks.” Id. at 1065.

iii. Courtney Zeune, Psy.D., & Paul Tangeman, Ph.D.

Dr. Zeune reviewed Plaintiff’s records in November 2015 and found he has four

severe impairments—hemolytic anemias, affective disorders, anxiety disorders, and

personality disorders. Id. at 123. He has a moderate restriction in activities of daily

living; moderate difficulties in maintaining social functioning; moderate difficulties in

maintaining concentration, persistence, or pace; and no repeated episodes of

decompensation. Id. at 124. Dr. Zeune opined that Plaintiff “is able to perform simple

and some multi-step tasks in a setting with flexible pace and productions requirements.”

Id. at 128. Because he has pressured speech at times, displays anxiety at times, and does

not leave the house for fear of crowds, “He should only work in an environment without

exposure to the public, and only infrequent superficial contact with supervisors and

coworkers.” Id. He is able to adapt to a routine work setting. Id. at 129.

In January 2016, Dr. Tangeman reviewed Plaintiff’s records and affirmed Dr.

Zeune’s assessment. Id. at 133-48.

III. Standard of Review

The Social Security Administration provides Disability Insurance Benefits to

individuals who are under a “disability,” among other eligibility requirements. Bowen v.

City of New York, 476 U.S. 467, 470 (1986); see 42 U.S.C. § 423(a)(1). The term

“disability”—as defined by the Social Security Act—has specialized meaning of limited

scope. It encompasses “any medically determinable physical or mental impairment” that

precludes an applicant from performing a significant paid job—i.e., “substantial gainful

activity,” in Social Security lexicon. 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A); see Bowen, 476 U.S. at

469-70.

Judicial review of an ALJ’s non-disability decision proceeds along two lines:

“whether the ALJ applied the correct legal standards and whether the findings of the ALJ

are supported by substantial evidence.” Blakley v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 581 F.3d 399,

406 (6th Cir. 2009); see Bowen v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 478 F.3d 742, 745-46 (6th Cir.

2007). Review for substantial evidence is not driven by whether the Court agrees or

disagrees with the ALJ’s factual findings or by whether the administrative record

contains evidence contrary to those factual findings. Gentry v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 741

F.3d 708, 722 (6th Cir. 2014); Rogers v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 486 F.3d 234, 241 (6th Cir.

2007). Instead, the ALJ’s factual findings are upheld if the substantial-evidence standard

is met—that is, “if a ‘reasonable mind might accept the relevant evidence as adequate to

support a conclusion.’” Blakley, 581 F.3d at 407 (quoting Warner v. Comm’r of Soc.

Sec., 375 F.3d 387, 390 (6th Cir. 2004)). Substantial evidence consists of “more than a

scintilla of evidence but less than a preponderance . . . .” Rogers, 486 F.3d at 241

(citations and internal quotation marks omitted); see Gentry, 741 F.3d at 722.

The other line of judicial inquiry—reviewing the correctness of the ALJ’s legal

criteria—may result in reversal even when the record contains substantial evidence

supporting the ALJ’s factual findings. Rabbers v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 582 F.3d 647,

651 (6th Cir. 2009); see Bowen, 478 F.3d at 746. “[E]ven if supported by substantial

evidence, ‘a decision of the Commissioner will not be upheld where the SSA fails to

follow its own regulations and where that error prejudices a claimant on the merits or

deprives the claimant of a substantial right.’” Rabbers, 582 F.3d at 651 (quoting in part

Bowen, 478 F.3d at 746, and citing Wilson v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 378 F.3d 541, 546-47

(6th Cir. 2004)).

IV. The ALJ’s Decision

As noted previously, it fell to ALJ Motta to evaluate the evidence connected to

Plaintiff’s application for benefits. She did so by considering each of the five sequential

steps set forth in the Social Security Regulations. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. She

reached the following main conclusions:

Step 1: Plaintiff has not engaged in substantial gainful employment since

September 18, 2015.

Step 2: He has the severe impairments of hypogammaglobulinemia, asthma,

stress-related seizures, obesity, depressive/mood disorder, anxiety

disorder (obsessive-compulsive disorder and panic disorder with

agoraphobia), insomnia, and personality disorder.

Step 3: He does not have an impairment or combination of impairments that

meets or equals the severity of one in the Commissioner’s Listing of

Impairments, 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1.

Step 4: His residual functional capacity, or the most he could do despite his

impairments, see Howard v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 276 F.3d 235, 239

(6th Cir. 2002), consists of “light work … subject to the following

limitations: (1) lifting and carrying up to 20 pounds occasionally and

10 pounds frequently; (2) sitting, standing, and walking six hours each

during an 8-hour-hour workday; (3) occasional postural activities,

such as balancing, stooping, kneeling, crouching, crawling, or

climbing ramps and/or stairs; (4) no climbing ladders, ropes, or

scaffolds; (5) no exposure to hazards, such as dangerous machinery or

working at unprotected heights, and no driving as part of job duties;

(6) no exposure to vibration; (7) no concentrated exposure to extremes

of heat, cold, wetness, humidity, or dust, fumes, odors, gases, or

poorly ventilated areas; (8) simple, repetitive tasks with simple

decision-making; (9) low stress work, defined as work with no strict

production quotas or fast pace, such as assembly line work, and only

routine work with few changes in the work setting; (10) no contact

with the public as part of job duties; (11) occasional contact with

coworkers and supervisors, including no teamwork or over-the-

shoulder supervision; and (12) no jobs requiring conflict resolution,

persuading others, or sales jobs.”

Step 4: He is unable to perform any of his past relevant work.

Step 5: He could perform a significant number of jobs that exist in the

national economy.

(Doc. #6, PageID #s 46-66). These main findings led the ALJ to ultimately conclude that

Plaintiff was not under a benefits-qualifying disability. Id. at 65.

V. Discussion

Plaintiff contends that the ALJ erred in weighing his treating physicians’ opinions

and in omitting the restriction to superficial contact. The Commissioner maintains that

substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s decision.

A. Medical Opinions

Social Security Regulations require ALJs to adhere to certain standards when

weighing medical opinions. “Key among these is that greater deference is generally

given to the opinions of treating physicians than to those of non-treating physicians,

commonly known as the treating physician rule.” Rogers, 486 F.3d at 242 (citations

omitted). The rule is straightforward:

Treating-source opinions must be given “controlling weight”

if two conditions are met: (1) the opinion “is well-supported by

medically acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic

techniques”; and (2) the opinion “is not inconsistent with the

other substantial evidence in [the] case record.”

Gayheart v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 710 F.3d 365, 376 (6th Cir. 2013) (quoting in part 20

C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2)); see Gentry, 741 F.3d at 723.

If the treating physician’s opinion is not controlling, “the ALJ, in determining how

much weight is appropriate, must consider a host of factors, including the length,

frequency, nature, and extent of the treatment relationship; the supportability and

consistency of the physician’s conclusions; the specialization of the physician; and any

other relevant factors.” Rogers, 486 F.3d at 242 (citing Wilson, 378 F.3d at 544).

The Regulations also require ALJs to provide “good reasons” for the weight

placed upon a treating source’s opinions. Wilson, 378 F.3d at 544. This mandatory

“good reasons” requirement is satisfied when the ALJ provides “specific reasons for the

weight placed on a treating source’s medical opinions.” Id. (quoting Soc. Sec. R. 96-2p,

1996 WL 374188, at *5 (Soc. Sec. Admin. July 2, 1996)). The goal is to make clear to

any subsequent reviewer the weight given and the reasons for that weight. Id.

Substantial evidence must support the reasons provided by the ALJ. Id.

ALJ Motta assigned the opinion of Plaintiff’s treating hematologist, Dr. Kathula,

“partial weight, to the extent of her diagnosis and minimal clinical findings, but no

weight to the extent that her opinion purports to establish a condition of disability or

greater functional limitations than set forth above.” (Doc. #6, PageID #63). The ALJ

provided two reasons.

The ALJ concluded, “the record does not support Dr. Kathula’s statement that

[Plaintiff] experienced infections every four to six weeks that lasted between one and two

weeks.” Id. (“nor do her records reflect clinical or objective findings to support her

statement that the claimant experiences frequent infections.”). She found only one

extended episode of pneumonia in early 2016 “but no other significant or extended

treatment for ‘infections’ that could reasonably be expected to cause the degree of

symptoms or limitations alleged by [Plaintiff].” Id. Further, Dr. Kathula treatment

records “are generally remarkable only for [Plaintiff’s] allegations of frequent

infections.” Id.

Substantial evidence does not support this reason. Not only does Dr. Kathula

document objective symptoms on several occasions in his treatment notes, but Plaintiff’s

treating family-care physician, Dr. Watson, noted many objective symptoms and clinical

findings that strongly support his opinion.

For example, in July 2014, Dr. Kathula noted that Plaintiff had at least three

upper-respiratory infections in the previous six months. Id. at 1063. One infection lasted

almost two months and required two to three courses of antibiotics. Id. Because of the

frequency of Plaintiff’s infections, Dr. Kathula started his IVIG infusions. Id.

Dr. Watson’s treatment notes document several infections, including one that

required two to three courses of antibiotics. Specifically, on March 20, 2014, Dr. Watson

noted that Plaintiff had a “[h]arsh raspy rattley cough” during the whole exam. Id. at

653. He had purulent (pus) drainage and soft expiratory wheezes. Id. She assessed

sinobronchitis with pharyngeal involvement and prescribed Augmentin and Tussionex

Pennkinetic ER. Id. at 653-54. Less than one month later, on April 14, 2014, Dr. Watson

noted that Plaintiff had little improvement with antibiotics. Id. at 650. She observed,

“Injection posterior pharynx still with purulent drainage ….” Id. On May 1, 2014, Dr.

Watson described symptoms of Plaintiff’s recurrent respiratory-tract infections: “He

coughs harshly, has expiratory wheezes right lung field and anterior lung fields, has

course inspiratory crackles/upper airway noises, left: posterior lung field, that seems to

clear intermittently with cough.” Id. at 647. She prescribed levofloxacin and Tussionex,

noting that Augmentin and a Z-pak did not work. Id.

Less than three months later, in October 2014, Dr. Kathula noted that Plaintiff had

an active upper-respiratory infection, had been coughing thick yellow to gray sputum,

and was short of breath upon exertion. Id. at 1062. On December 22, 2014, Plaintiff

reported to Dr. Kathula that he had three courses of antibiotics in the last two months and

was starting a Z-pak that day. Id. at 1060. Dr. Watson’s notes support Plaintiff’s report

to Dr. Kathula.

On November 7, 2014, she noted that Plaintiff had sinus congestion, cold, cough,

drainage, and throat clearing for a week. Id. at 644. He had rare wheezes in his upper

anterior lung field, atopy, and bronchospasm. Id. Further, she noted “workup and EGD

reveal ulcer disease ….” Id. She also assessed GERD and gastritis. Id. She prescribed

Levaquin. Id. A little less than a month later, on December 4, 2014, Dr. Watson

indicated Plaintiff had sinus congestion, moderated HA, and pressure for one week and

then felt nauseated. Id. at 638. Upon exam, he had sinus tenderness. Id. She diagnosed

acute maxillary sinusitis and nausea and prescribed Levaquin. Id. And, again, on

December 19, 2014, Dr. Watson noted recurrent respiratory tract infections with

symptoms such as purulent drainage, intermittent cough, and occasional expiratory

wheezes. Id. at 635. She also diagnosed gastritis. Id. She prescribed a Z-pak. Id.

In the beginning of 2015, both Dr. Kathula and Dr. Watson documented several

infections. For instance, in January 2015, Dr. Watson noted that Plaintiff had a fever, GI

distress, nausea followed by vomiting, and diarrhea. Id. at 1148. She indicated that the

fever suggested gastroenteritis. Id. In February 2015, Dr. Kathula indicated Plaintiff had

diarrhea, etiology unknown. Id. at 1058-59. He was also having headaches and low-

grade fevers. Id. at 1058. In March 2015, Dr. Watson noted that Plaintiff was

experiencing migraines and acute gastritis. Id. at 1145.

Dr. Kathula indicated in July 2015 that Plaintiff had had two upper-respiratory

infections since his last appointment (in April 2015). Id. at 1054. Dr. Watson’s notes

support this. On April 15, 2015, Dr. Watson noted Plaintiff had a rash on his hand. Id. at

1142. Shortly thereafter, on April 28, 2015, Dr. Watson indicated Plaintiff had acute

gastritis and a cold with coughing. Id. at 1139. He had expiratory wheezes and copious

drainage posterior pharynx. Id. She indicated he had sinobronchial syndrome. Id. In

June 2015, Plaintiff had sinus congestion, cold, and cough for three days. Id. at 1136.

Dr. Watson noted purulent drainage and course expiratory wheezes. Id. She assessed

sinobronchitis. Id.

In October 2015, Dr. Kathula indicated Plaintiff had bronchitis the month before

and was given antibiotics and a steroid injection. Id. at 1052. And, one month before, in

September 2015, Dr. Watson noted that upon exam, he had “deep injection posterior

pharynx with purulent yellow drainage …. Lungs expiratory wheeze R anterior lung

field.” Id. at 1126. Further, “Sinobronchitis with other concerns, pharyngeal

involvement, now some degree of laryngitis.” Id. She diagnosed acute sinusitis and

upper respiratory infection. Id. She administered an injection of Kenalog and prescribed

Tussionex Pennkinetic ER and Augmentin. Id.

Dr. Kathula and Dr. Watson’s treatment notes also track several infections in the

first three months of 2016. On January 7, 2016, Dr. Watson noted that Plaintiff had an

upper respiratory infection. Id. at 1723. He reported ten days of congestion and cold

followed by cough. Id. She noted injection posterior pharynx with purulent yellow

drainage and expiratory wheezes. Id. She prescribed Tussionex and Augmentin. Id. On

January 11, 2016, Dr. Kathula noted Plaintiff had an upper respiratory infection and was

taking Augmentin. Id. at 1569. He had a cough with green sputum for weeks and

although he started antibiotics four days before his appointment, there was no significant

improvement. Id. Less than a month later, on February 4, 2016, Plaintiff was short of

breath and was coughing and wheezing. Id. at 1567. His inhaler was not significantly

helping. Id. Further, he finished doxycycline a week before without significant

improvement. Id. Dr. Kathula prescribed a Z-pak and Symbicort inhaler. Id. at 1568.

About two weeks later, Plaintiff had a persistent cough with green to brown sputum. Id.

at 1565. Dr. Kathula noted expiratory wheezing in his right upper lobe. Id. He had

taken three rounds of antibiotics. Id. The Symbicort inhaler helped him breath but he

still had shortness of breath. Id. He also had thrush. Id.

Dr. Kathula referred Plaintiff to Gabriel J. Hays, DO at Pulmonary & Critical Care

Consultants. Id. at 1393. Dr. Hays noted that Plaintiff had eight to ten upper-respiratory

infections in the last year. Id. at 1394. He diagnoses asthma, asthma attack, and asthma

exacerbation. Id. at 1393. In March 2016, Dr. Hays noted that Plaintiff was still

coughing and had chest discomfort that he called tightness. Id. at 1391. By April 2016,

Plaintiff was still coughing and had sinus drainage. Id. at 1388. Dr. Hays assessed

pneumonia. Id. He performed a bronchoscopy on April 11, 2016. Id. at 1495-96.

This evidence strongly supports Dr. Kathula’s opinion that Plaintiff had infections

every four to six weeks that can last one to two weeks. Accordingly, substantial evidence

does not support the ALJ’s conclusion to the contrary.

The ALJ gave one additional reason for discounting Dr. Kathula’s opinion.

“[Plaintiff’s] treatment has remained IVIG infusion every four weeks. Dr. Kathula’s

records document no other significant treatment for this condition (and claimant denied at

the hearing any other treatment for that condition) ….” Id. at 63. Plaintiff correctly

points out that the ALJ does not suggest what other treatments would have been

appropriate or available for this condition. Further, although his treatment has been

consistently every four weeks for several years, after Plaintiff’s negative reaction to it,

Dr. Kathula extended the time for each treatment to four or five hours. Id. at 1256.

Additionally, Plaintiff correctly observes that ALJ Motta referred to Dr. Kathula

as his “treating family physician” rather than acknowledging his specialty in hematology.

This constitutes error. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(5) (“We generally give more weight

to the medical opinion of a specialist about medical issues related to his or her area of

specialty than to the medical opinion of a source who is not a specialist.”). Further, in

ignoring Dr. Kathula’s specialty, the ALJ ignores that nature and extent of their treatment

relationship. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2)(ii) (Generally, the more knowledge a

treating source has about your impairment(s) the more weight we will give to the source’s

medical opinion…. For example, if your ophthalmologist notices that you have

complained of neck pain during your eye examinations, we will consider his or her

medical opinion with respect to your neck pain, but we will give it less weight than that

of another physician who has treated you for the neck pain.”).

Likewise, the ALJ ignores the length of their treatment relationship—over four

years—and frequency of exam—on average, five times per year. See 20 C.F.R. §

404.1527(c)(2)(i) (“Generally, the longer a treating source has treated you and the more

times you have been seen by a treating source, the more weight we will give to the

source's medical opinion.”).

In sum, ALJ Motta did not provide good reasons, supported by substantial

evidence, for assigning Dr. Kathula’s opinion no weight or partial weight. “The failure to

provide ‘good reasons’ for not giving [a treating physician’s] opinions controlling weight

hinders a meaningful review of whether the ALJ properly applied the treating-physician

rule that is at the heart of this regulation.” Gayheart, 710 F.3d at 377 (citing Wilson, 378

F.3d at 544); see Soc. Sec. R. 96-2p, 1996 WL 374188, at *5 (July 2, 1996) (“[T]he

notice of the determination or decision must contain specific reasons for the weight given

to the treating source’s medical opinion ….”).

Accordingly, for the above reasons, Plaintiff’s Statement of Errors is well taken.2

B. Remand

A remand is appropriate when the ALJ’s decision is unsupported by substantial

evidence or when the ALJ failed to follow the Administration’s own regulations and that

2 In light of the above discussion, and the resulting need to remand this case, an in-depth analysis of

Plaintiff’s other challenges to the ALJ’s decision is unwarranted.

shortcoming prejudiced the plaintiff on the merits or deprived the plaintiff of a substantial

right. Bowen, 478 F.3d at 746. Remand may be warranted when the ALJ failed to

provide “good reasons” for rejecting a treating medical source’s opinions, see Wilson,

378 F.3d at 545-47; failed to consider certain evidence, such as a treating source’s

opinions, see Bowen, 478 F.3d at 747-50; failed to consider the combined effect of the

plaintiff’s impairments, see Gentry, 741 F.3d at 725-26; or failed to provide specific

reasons supported by substantial evidence for finding the plaintiff lacks credibility, see

Rogers, 486 F.3d at 249.

Under sentence four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), the Court has authority to affirm,

modify, or reverse the Commissioner’s decision “with or without remanding the cause for

rehearing.” Melkonyan v. Sullivan, 501 U.S. 89, 99 (1991). Consequently, a remand

under sentence four may result in the need for further proceedings or an immediate award

of benefits. E.g., Blakley, 581 F.3d at 410; Felisky v. Bowen, 35 F.3d 1027, 1041 (6th

Cir. 1994). The latter is warranted where the evidence of disability is overwhelming or

where the evidence of disability is strong while contrary evidence is lacking. Faucher v.

Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 17 F.3d 171, 176 (6th Cir. 1994).

A judicial award of benefits is unwarranted in the present case because the

evidence of disability is not overwhelming and the evidence of disability is not strong

while contrary evidence is lacking. However, Plaintiff is entitled to an Order remanding

this case to the Social Security Administration pursuant to sentence four of § 405(g) due

to the problems discussed above. On remand, the ALJ should be directed to evaluate the

evidence of record, including the medical source opinions, under the applicable legal

criteria mandated by the Commissioner’s Regulations and Rulings and by case law; and

to evaluate Plaintiff’s disability claim under the required five-step sequential analysis to

determine anew whether Plaintiff was under a disability and whether his application for

Disability Insurance Benefits should be granted.

IT IS THEREFORE RECOMMENDED THAT:

1. The Commissioner’s non-disability finding be vacated;

2. No finding be made as to whether Plaintiff Edward Mclain was

under a “disability” within the meaning of the Social Security

Act;

3. This matter be REMANDED to the Social Security

Administration under sentence four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) for

further consideration consistent with this Report and

Recommendations, and any decision adopting this Report and

Recommendations; and

4. The case be terminated on the Court’s docket.

August 30, 2019 s/Sharon L. Ovington

Sharon L. Ovington

United States Magistrate Judge

NOTICE REGARDING OBJECTIONS

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 72(b), any party may serve and file specific, written

objections to the proposed findings and recommendations within FOURTEEN days after

being served with this Report and Recommendations. Such objections shall specify the

portions of the Report objected to and shall be accompanied by a memorandum of law in

support of the objections. If the Report and Recommendation is based in whole or in part

upon matters occurring of record at an oral hearing, the objecting party shall promptly

arrange for the transcription of the record, or such portions of it as all parties may agree

upon or the Magistrate Judge deems sufficient, unless the assigned District Judge

otherwise directs. A party may respond to another party’s objections within

FOURTEEN days after being served with a copy thereof.

Failure to make objections in accordance with this procedure may forfeit rights on

appeal. See Thomas v. Arn, 474 U.S. 140 (1985); United States v. Walters, 638 F.2d 947,

949-50 (6th Cir. 1981).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.